England v Pakistan | 2nd Test | Manchester | Jul 23-26, 2016 | Day 3

Cook has so much respect for pakistan that hes doing everything in his power to let pak get a draw. However, he doesnt realise how limited pak side are!

England are in no hurry.

Looks like Pakpassion is more worried about rain than England captain.

One thing this tour is definitely proving.

That without helpful conditions, Amir is no match for potential Wasim or Marshall.

I know he will improve from here, but he doesn't have the X-factor we were all talking about.

He might have had it at 18, but it's long gone now.

And now the detractors will say, "how dare you". He has just been unlucky.

Amir bhi koi khaas nahi hai.. all hype. If you can't beat the bat in these conditions then you suck.

Yasir had a match of his life in the last match that is why we won. IF we have to win somemore on this tour then he would need to have another match of his life

Poor Rahat, could have got both of the openers out instead it's cost him eight runs.

Yasir had a match of his life in the last match that is why we won. IF we have to win somemore on this tour then he would need to have another match of his life

If you want to win in England, you need your pacers to play well. Spinners are normally not very effective outside of Asia so we can't rely on Yasir that much.

A couple of myths being cleared on this tour:

1. Amir is a good bowler. Not true

2. Azhar can bat outside of UAE. Not true

That without helpful conditions, Amir is no match for potential Wasim or Marshall.

I know he will improve from here, but he doesn't have the X-factor we were all talking about.

Amir may never be the bowler he could have been due to be out of the game for 5 years, but i still think he will become one of the best of his generation albeit not as good as wasim.

A couple of myths being cleared on this tour:

1. Amir is a good bowler. Not true

2. Azhar can bat outside of UAE. Not true

A bit harsh.

Amir is a good bowler.

He just isn't the exceptional bowler as claimed by his legion of fans.

We can't even keep the runs down and our seamers aren't even threatening in these helpful conditions

Pakistan A are 258/9. Need 67 off 29.

They play a cricket of very high standard. We don't have players who meet the requirements of international players. Inzi and Afrdi was right, there is no talent in Pakistan. There are just a few like Asad, Haris, Nawaz, Asghar, Babar, Sami, Sharjeel, Hassan Ali, etc.

Just give England this match.. This is getting boring

Pakistan A are 258/9. Need 67 off 29.

They play a cricket of very high standard. We don't have players who meet the requirements of international players. Inzi and Afrdi was right, there is no talent in Pakistan. There are just a few like Asad, Haris, Nawaz, Asghar, Babar, Sami, Sharjeel, Hassan Ali, etc.

Actually Pakistan A were well ahead of the rate and playing quite well until they lost a flurry of wickets in the last half hour

When will England declare? Should give 10 overs to bat for Pakistan. They will get a wicket or two, for sure!

The English conditions in 2010 were unusually great for fast bowling.

It gave people skewed expectations regarding Amir's potential.

Good bowler, but not a once in a generation talent sent from the heavens.

Asif was a better bowler than Amir

Asif was ideal for English conditions

Amir has been hanging around wahab for too long with all the short bowling

Pakistani bowlers should sign petition against the selection of Hafeez.He has literally done nothing rather than smiling after dropping every catch

Cook is an ATG. People don't agree but I think he is.

Have huge respect for him. Thinking of bumping some Cook thread soon.

As I have said many times before, we will be able to find Amir's replacement but we will never be able to find Asif's replacement.

Asif was a genuis.

Sent from my Lenovo A6000 using Tapatalk

Amir - the next Wasim or the next Junaid?

Amir will be the next wasim when pak find him the next waqar to partner him.

Wasim would have been as successful as amir if he didnt have first imran, then waqar and finally akthar as his strike partners.

Same way since 2014 the wickets has been unusually great for batting

It gives people skewed expectations regarding potential of Smith and Root

Good batsmen, but not once in a generation talents sent from the heavens.

Root is and Smith are better batsman than Amir is as a bowler.

Still averages 45 odd..

An average of 46-47 for a Test opener playing so many matches in England is as good as a 50+ average for a middle-order batsman.

Not to mention, he has won England series in Australia and India, and let them to a win in South Africa as captain, and he still has 6-7 years left.

What a career.

Smith and Root especially Root is an ATG.

I don't know how you could say they just can bat in batting conditions.

England can declare overnight.

England would have liked 500 but they will settle for 450 now too, if it comes down to that.

England can declare overnight.

England would have liked 500 but they will settle for 450 now too, if it comes down to that.

Why would they declare?

They will let Pakistan wondering and sleepless night by declaring early morning.

I think they will call play off for the day soon.

And Cook will just let Misbah and Pakistan team wondering tonight.

Tomorrow morning, he will declare bright and early and Pakistan will have to face the music.

Cricinfo

Hi Gnasher, before anyone starts to celebrate the rain, can we just clarify. Rain rules: we get an extra 8 overs tomorrow to make up lost time, yes or no?" Yes, we can add eight overs on to the next two days.

Sadly the Pakistan seam bowlers look toothless. Not one of them would make the english side, both of englands all rounders bowl faster and swing the ball more than the Pakistan seamers.
Amir is not what he was 5 years ago sadly, but is there best seamer.
Rahat must be replaced, he is slow and has no control, bowls a short ball every over.
Wahab should be persisted with as he can reverse it.

think Pakistan should select 4 seamers + the leg spinner and be agressive for the next test.

I think they will call play off for the day soon.

And Cook will just let Misbah and Pakistan team wondering tonight.

Tomorrow morning, he will declare bright and early and Pakistan will have to face the music.

Imagine if tomorrow it becomes super sunny and the pitch becomes an absolute phatta..

A hundred run opening partnership and the cat will definitely be amongst the pigeons (even though we will still end up losing)

Imagine if tomorrow it becomes super sunny and the pitch becomes an absolute phatta..

A hundred run opening partnership and the cat will definitely be amongst the pigeons (even though we will still end up losing)

Lol what bothers me is Pakistan might win this if they bat well two days in a row.

But they will bat at Run Rate of 1.5 and lose all the wickets going nowhere.

May be or may be not but the thing is akram did not have to come back to top class cricket after 6 years. Amir is no match of akram but we should wait a little bit more before final conclusions.

Are you kidding me :facepalm: Cricinfo is reporting bright sunshine breaking into the ground at this very moment :(

May be or may be not but the thing is akram did not have to come back to top class cricket after 6 years. Amir is no match of akram but we should wait a little bit more before final conclusions.

We should have waited more, before labelling his once in a generation bowler.

When he can be labelled potential ATG, then why can't his fans face the harsh truth that he MAY NOT be as good AS THEY ORIGINALLY CLAIMED.

IF he wasn't hyped up by his followers as potential ATG, then no one would say anything.

Everyone knows Rahat is ordinary but no one is pointing fingers at him, because we all know his limitations.

If pitch stays flat, 2 days is good enough to chase 500. But Pakistan will succumb to pressure