England vs India | 2nd Test | Lord's | Aug 9-13, 2018 | Day 1 & 2 Thread

Congratulations to Anderson,he must love India touring England, probably boosts his moral a lot.

Why are there more Pakistanis on this thread, compared to Indians? ������

This is the part when we realize it's a Pakistani forum after all. :batman:

Almost all the team will struggle in this condition against this attack. Even Ponting's Australia were bundled for only 84 in England against Pakistan.This happens in cricket.India did very well in first test.

Right Test cricket sucks because of that. We scored 282+382 in Eng back in 2010.

"five for Anderson, and 99 wickets for Jimmy Anderson at Lord's" the lord of Lord's :virat

Most wickets at a venue:
166 M Muralitharan in SSC
117 M Muralitharan in Kandy
111 M Muralitharan in Galle
99 R Herath in Galle
99 J Anderson at Lord's

No one can pass Sir Murali...He was literally unplayable in Srilanka.Nobody could exploit home condition better than him.

This Indian Batting line up and Kohli will always be tested in favorable bowling conditions.

Most wickets at a venue:
99 R Herath in Galle
99 J Anderson at Lord's

No one can pass Sir Murali...He was literally unplayable in Srilanka.Nobody could exploit home condition better than him.

That's 344 wickets out of the 800 wickets he took at 3 venues, wow!

Why are there more Pakistanis on this thread, compared to Indians? ������

Situation demands....it is good to enter into a hole for hiding for a while :>

Opposite IMO.

I was referring to why India has done better in Australia and Pakistan in England.

Although conditions are much tougher to score in England, ultimately, it is a shoot-out to who can take 20 wickets the fastest.

In Australia, it is about who can score faster and put up big scores.

Until our most recent tour to Australia, our misfortunes were attributed to poor batting on good pitches. And even when we did score 300, it was either too little or too slow in comparison to the Aussies.

Most wickets at a venue:
99 R Herath in Galle
99 J Anderson at Lord's

Damn these Lankan spinners really love Lanka

May be not in your book but he is.550 test wickets in any era is not an easy task.

He has a superb record but he’s not been a match-winner in Asia.

And he just took his first five-fer in Australia after four tours while the likes of Ambrose and Akram took ten-fer’s in their first.

He has a superb record but he’s not been a match-winner in Asia.

And he just took his first five-fer in Australia after four tours while the likes of Ambrose and Akram took ten-fer’s in their first.

He did bowl well in 2012 Series win (IND), but yes - Jimmy is an ATG in English condition and a great swing bowler overall. English cricket glory ended mostly with WW2 (Since then only Botham & may be KP would make all-time ENG XII), hence most of their greats were from the novice era of cricket. Since Truman, Jimmy has to be the best English fast bowler.

Conditions in Eng demands a balanced team. Pak batting of course can get bundled out on a low score which usually means conditions are good for bowling and then bowling comes around to save them. A good bowling can never recover the damages done by a bad batting. Pak batting, when horrific, would never result in a victory - it just has to be at least mediocre for bowlers to do their job.

In AU, bounce does play a role but more than that, it is discipline. Bowlers stick to a good line and length and batsmen leaving good balls. We lack discipline in batting and bowling a lot of time and start experimenting instead. It is the biggest reason of our poor record in AU.

AUS requires better batting while ENG requires better bowling.

In AUS a 1st innings score of 500 is par whereas in ENG 350 can be a winning total.

Hence India are more equipped, given their historical batting strength, to compete in AUS. Their batsmen have also dealt with the pace of the wickets better than we have.

Whereas Pakistan's bowling strength comes into play in ENG, especially with the Dukes ball, and the pitches here don't have much pace. Spin and reverse also comes into play at venues like Lord's and The Oval.

I think this Australia - England / India - Pakistan dichotomy deserves its own thread.

Conditions in Eng demands a balanced team. Pak batting of course can get bundled out on a low score which usually means conditions are good for bowling and then bowling comes around to save them. A good bowling can never recover the damages done by a bad batting. Pak batting, when horrific, would never result in a victory - it just has to be at least mediocre for bowlers to do their job.

In AU, bounce does play a role but more than that, it is discipline. Bowlers stick to a good line and length and batsmen leaving good balls. We lack discipline in batting and bowling a lot of time and start experimenting instead. It is the biggest reason of our poor record in AU.

We lost last time because we had:

1) Two 40+ batsmen in the middle-order

2) Rahat “Destroyer” Ali, Imran “FAST” Khan, and Sohail “Mein Hero Hoon” Khan were part of the attack. (Wahab was our best bowler and Amir was decent without being great).

3) Yasir was forced to bowl a leg-side line and forced to accept responsibility for it.

Field day for these jealous Pakistanis seeing Kohli fail.

No ones jealous.

Indians have been beating their chests of how Pakistan “fluked” 1-1 two months ago and India were going to demolish this poor English side.

Kohli has received bucket loads of praise on beee except one or two posters here and there.

I think this Australia - England / India - Pakistan dichotomy deserves its own thread.

Apka bhai hai na phir pioneer naye naye topics nikalne mein

Tabdeeli ah nahi rahi tabdeeli agayi hai :pmik

It's all about good bowling and fielding. England batsmen are no genious of playing swinging balls. They were all out 58 against New Zealand 5 months ago.

This is quite normal in ENG actually.

These days ICC is against Test cricket, hence in every opportunity they try to stop the game, and today at least 15 overs was lost for that "extra caution" (but they can play T20 under rain & thunderstorm - no issues there). In ENG, Test cricket has been played in much inferior condition in past. For example, in 1976 WIN tour, probably at Manchester ENG's 2, 40+ openers batted for 18 overs, without helmet against Holding & Roberts at their fastest - innings started when street lights were on and umpires carried on playing, while ENG batsmen didn't complain after being hit almost every over.

Most people these days judge condition or wicket from score card - that's CricInfo cricket. Today, most of last 7 IND wicket fell under scorching sun on English standard - main reason being batsmen struggling to figure out where off-stick is - an useless skill that isn't required in the grand format of cricket. There was absolutely no reason why Kohli should flick that out swinger, Rahne after batting for 2 hours would give a catching practice, Pandeya would poke at the very next ball after being dropped and least said bout Kartick is better. Only Vijay was really unlucky and Pujara was run-out - KL's push at harmless out-swinger won't last long unless wicket is absolute road - he could have easily shoulder-armed that ball.

Certainly not 500+ condition/wicket, but after ENG dropped Rahne, it was possible to reach 300+ even from 15/3 with better application, as the sun was out by 20th over.

If it does not rain, there is no way England are losing this test. 107 is a match losing 1st inning score. Conditions will be much easier tomorrow. They have to score just 307 to get a lead of 200 which will result in most probably an innings defeat.

The standard of fielding in this series has been extremely poor so far. I do not remember England dropping these many catches in any series. Almost, half of the catches have been dropped.

They can learn fielding and catching from Pakistan.

Who thought that sentence would be uttered three years ago...

Steve Rixon is available.

These days ICC is against Test cricket, hence in every opportunity they try to stop the game, and today at least 15 overs was lost for that "extra caution" (but they can play T20 under rain & thunderstorm - no issues there).

There was nowhere you were going to safely squeeze in anywhere close to 15 overs today.

This is quite normal in ENG actually.

These days ICC is against Test cricket, hence in every opportunity they try to stop the game, and today at least 15 overs was lost for that "extra caution" (but they can play T20 under rain & thunderstorm - no issues there). In ENG, Test cricket has been played in much inferior condition in past. For example, in 1976 WIN tour, probably at Manchester ENG's 2, 40+ openers batted for 18 overs, without helmet against Holding & Roberts at their fastest - innings started when street lights were on and umpires carried on playing, while ENG batsmen didn't complain after being hit almost every over.

Most people these days judge condition or wicket from score card - that's CricInfo cricket. Today, most of last 7 IND wicket fell under scorching sun on English standard - main reason being batsmen struggling to figure out where off-stick is - an useless skill that isn't required in the grand format of cricket. There was absolutely no reason why Kohli should flick that out swinger, Rahne after batting for 2 hours would give a catching practice, Pandeya would poke at the very next ball after being dropped and least said bout Kartick is better. Only Vijay was really unlucky and Pujara was run-out - KL's push at harmless out-swinger won't last long unless wicket is absolute road - he could have easily shoulder-armed that ball.

Certainly not 500+ condition/wicket, but after ENG dropped Rahne, it was possible to reach 300+ even from 15/3 with better application, as the sun was out by 20th over.

No chance for this Indian batting line up and for every other batting line up today apart from perhaps the Saffers if Amla and Faf were in good form as they have the defence and intelligence to play the swing.

The Duke ball would have continued swinging in such conditions all the way through to 80 overs and it was swinging both ways. Add to this the seam movement when the ball gripped the grass, you have to be a great batting line up to get near 300.

However India should have got nearer 200 with some application but simply dont have the quality of players do deliver.

They can learn fielding and catching from Pakistan.

Who thought that sentence would be uttered three years ago...

Steve Rixon is available.

I believe PAK dropped just one catch in the series (Hasan’s unfortunately off Butler) as Shafiq took some screamers at slip.

If it does not rain, there is no way England are losing this test. 107 is a match losing 1st inning score. Conditions will be much easier tomorrow. They have to score just 307 to get a lead of 200 which will result in most probably an innings defeat.

Another disadvantage for IND tomorrow is that, it's a make up day - 98 overs or 7.5 hours, if it's sunny whole day, they'll be bowling full day and close to 40 overs in last session, which is extremely tiring for 2 spinner strategy in ENG. Kohli can't use both spinners for 50+ overs effectively just in Day 2 to keep his 2 pacers fresh, he'll have to use the All-rounder, and that's a potential flood gate opener.

No chance for this Indian batting line up and for every other batting line up today apart from perhaps the Saffers if Amla and Faf were in good form as they have the defence and intelligence to play the swing.

The Duke ball would have continued swinging in such conditions all the way through to 80 overs and it was swinging both ways. Add to this the seam movement when the ball gripped the grass, you have to be a great batting line up to get near 300.

However India should have got nearer 200 with some application but simply dont have the quality of players do deliver.

Indian team of 2011 would have easily scored 250+ on this pitch. Kohli has replaced Tendulkar but none has been able to replace Dravid and VVS.

PAK did score 350+ despite Babar's injury (otherwise ENG's drops could have let PAK to 450), in May when condition was much, much difficult (Check FC scores that time, I did post it some where), because of couple of hours real good work by Azhar & Asad. ENG did drop catches, but they did here as well. In Test cricket, you have to grind it out - IND is all-out inside 35 overs here - make it 80/3 after 35, equation changes completely.

I do agree with "today" part - cricket has come to modern era and batting has become dynamic indeed.

There was nowhere you were going to safely squeeze in anywhere close to 15 overs today.

It was 2nd Day, not the start of Test, and they knew the weather forecast - is this Bible that Test has to start at 11 AM, when they could have easily stared at 10 AM under sun, knowing that there is a certain mid day rain delay? Then, the 3:10PM restart could have been done 20 minutes earlier.

Indian team of 2011 would have easily scored 250+ on this pitch. Kohli has replaced Tendulkar but none has been able to replace Dravid and VVS.

Not in my opinion. India scored 286 in 2011 at Lords with Dravid making a century on a good track where England scored 450+ in the first innings. India didn't score near 300 in the fourth innings either and it was nothing to do with the ball turning sqaure which it often does in the 4th innings, as Swann only picked up 1 wicket.

However yes Dravid and Tendu had better techniques against the moving red ball.

PAK did score 350+ despite Babar's injury (otherwise ENG's drops could have let PAK to 450), in May when condition was much, much difficult (Check FC scores that time, I did post it some where), because of couple of hours real good work by Azhar & Asad. ENG did drop catches, but they did here as well. In Test cricket, you have to grind it out - IND is all-out inside 35 overs here - make it 80/3 after 35, equation changes completely.

I do agree with "today" part - cricket has come to modern era and batting has become dynamic indeed.

Summer started early in England, May was a decent time for batting. Now with cloud cover and the heat, the atmosphere is perfect for swing bowling in England. If this cloudy/rainy/sunny/warm on/off weather continues for the next month, India will be humiliated again and again in the next 3 tests.

It was 2nd Day, not the start of Test, and they knew the weather forecast - is this Bible that Test has to start at 11 AM, when they could have easily stared at 10 AM under sun, knowing that there is a certain mid day rain delay?

Because where does it stop? If it's forecast for a washout with rain starting at 11am do we start at 4am? What chance of rain do you have to have to change the timings of the day? If you have open, subjective rules such as this you're regularly going to have one of the sides feel it's unfair.

Then, the 3:10PM restart could have been done 20 minutes earlier.

Only by risking the fielders safety given there was still puddles on the outfield.

Because where does it stop? If it's forecast for a washout with rain starting at 11am do we start at 4am? What chance of rain do you have to have to change the timings of the day? If you have open, subjective rules such as this you're regularly going to have one of the sides feel it's unfair.

Only by risking the fielders safety given there was still puddles on the outfield.

Remember, I am telling it after 1st Day of a Test was washed out, there is a good chance that further rain interruptions will take place (which eventually, despite one innings of 35 overs might result this Test in a Draw, and a good reason for calling Test cricket boring). If there is no subjective rule, then why we extend playing time, use artificial light? Before toss, if both teams agree for an early start, what's the problem?

Players safety I understand & I have seen the condition - my problem is, when 10 of the 11 fielders are stationed within 35 metres of batsmen and mostly waiting for catches, it's a safety issue .... but we have absolutely no problem playing T20/ODI under drizzle when every player is busy/running/sliding in field and batsmen often runs more in an over than almost a Test session.

No need to turn this thread into Ind-Pak.
Pak>>>>>>>Ind and Indian fans would not hesitate to accept it.

Not in my opinion. India scored 286 in 2011 at Lords with Dravid making a century on a good track where England scored 450+ in the first innings. India didn't score near 300 in the fourth innings either and it was nothing to do with the ball turning sqaure which it often does in the 4th innings, as Swann only picked up 1 wicket.

However yes Dravid and Tendu had better techniques against the moving red ball.

Summer started early in England, May was a decent time for batting. Now with cloud cover and the heat, the atmosphere is perfect for swing bowling in England. If this cloudy/rainy/sunny/warm on/off weather continues for the next month, India will be humiliated again and again in the next 3 tests.

Middlesex's home game scores at that time doesn't suggest to be decent time to be honest - and in a decent time for batting, all 3 visitors opted to field first in County games, which is a bit surprising.

IND didn't win the 1st Test, when the wicket was more Indian than English and weather was sunny - Ashwin took 4 for in 1st innings, while last time, last 3 Test were one sided, even at hot & dry Southampton; therefore judging batting condition from India's result might be a bit mis-leading.

The discussion started regarding condition - not about what one team is doing (or both teams, we haven't seen Poms batting yet). I stick to my initial assessment - condition wasn't "merry" enough to hit through the line with planted feet & tight wrist, but "sacrificing" couple of early hours could have allowed to bat for 3.5 sessions here, particularly after Sun was out since last break. That's Test cricket batting - judgement, application & shot selection according to condition & context.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] bro can you please give your expertise on what happened in the BD/WI Tests thread too. Genuine query. Was it the batting, bowling, team selection etc?

There you have it as I have said all along India put in to bat score a paltry 107! The world's number one Test side again looking abysmal away from home! It is easy to win in home conditions when the crowd is behind you and pitches are made to suit India. Here as we have it when the shoe is on the other foot England are making India look like a pub side. Even Kohli couldn't help them today:misbah

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] bro can you please give your expertise on what happened in the BD/WI Tests thread too. Genuine query. Was it the batting, bowling, team selection etc?

I can, but it's already over.

I am really surprised that after knowing me for almost 10 years in PP, few of you are still trying get some mileage out that 43 (I hardly care to be honest), which is a bit silly and clutching straw effort. I spent entire month on Soccer WC in our short summer and was busy for a professional certification, hence left PP for 3 weeks, starting from the day WC final ended. Besides, cricket in WI or ZIM wasn't quality enough to spend time on it - you should have noticed that, in a limited capacity, I am back in PP the day real cricket started - ENG-IND Test series.

Regarding that series, I actually believe we over achieved - where BD & WI stands in cricket, combined format, I think I have explained that many times. In fact, it's me who wrote long back before 43, what'll happen between WI-BD Test series in WIN, you might have missed that.

Our batsmen are groomed on slow turners and low bounce, that too in T20 era, hence there is very little surprise that they'll struggle on a damp green wicket, being put in by WI. And, they played the 1st Test 6 days after landing with one joke of a practice game. By the 2nd Test, from Day 2 it was quite close and that gives me confidence enough that WI'll lose the return Test Series in BD this winter.

We are better ODI team, and as expected won the series, though it should have been 3-0. The bonus of the tour was unexpected T20 series win, therefore it wasn't that bad a tour.

Regarding team selection & others - since Hathura left in a sudden, team did struggle for lack direction without any coaching staff for almost 9 months and Shakib himself was a new Captain settling with his team. I understand, it's OK for IND-PAK captains to struggle at the start, but it can't happen for minnows - obviously, 5-0 in NZ was made up immediately for the T20 series, but 43 will remain for ever and MMHS did hide for that in shame (remember 43 - it's indeed a significant number, when it comes to WIN .... if you drag back a little in history). Since Rhodes has joined, he has taken few steps in right direction, we should see how much effective those are in Asia Cup.

Still, if you wish to share your expertise on the issue further, I am here - at the start of weekend, we have 2 days.

I can, but it's already over.

I am really surprised that after knowing me for almost 10 years in PP, few of you are still trying get some mileage out that 43 (I hardly care to be honest), which is a bit silly and clutching straw effort. I spent entire month on Soccer WC in our short summer and was busy for a professional certification, hence left PP for 3 weeks, starting from the day WC final ended. Besides, cricket in WI or ZIM wasn't quality enough to spend time on it - you should have noticed that, in a limited capacity, I am back in PP the day real cricket started - ENG-IND Test series.

Regarding that series, I actually believe we over achieved - where BD & WI stands in cricket, combined format, I think I have explained that many times. In fact, it's me who wrote long back before 43, what'll happen between WI-BD Test series in WIN, you might have missed that.

Our batsmen are groomed on slow turners and low bounce, that too in T20 era, hence there is very little surprise that they'll struggle on a damp green wicket, being put in by WI. And, they played the 1st Test 6 days after landing with one joke of a practice game. By the 2nd Test, from Day 2 it was quite close and that gives me confidence enough that WI'll lose the return Test Series in BD this winter.

We are better ODI team, and as expected won the series, though it should have been 3-0. The bonus of the tour was unexpected T20 series win, therefore it wasn't that bad a tour.

Regarding team selection & others - since Hathura left in a sudden, team did struggle for lack direction without any coaching staff for almost 9 months and Shakib himself was a new Captain settling with his team. I understand, it's OK for IND-PAK captains to struggle at the start, but it can't happen for minnows - obviously, 5-0 in NZ was made up immediately for the T20 series, but 43 will remain for ever and MMHS did hide for that in shame (remember 43 - it's indeed a significant number, when it comes to WIN .... if you drag back a little in history). Since Rhodes has joined, he has taken few steps in right direction, we should see how much effective those are in Asia Cup.

Still, if you wish to share your expertise on the issue further, I am here - at the start of weekend, we have 2 days.

I have no ill intentions man. Was just wondering what went wrong. No need to get so defensive. Just wanted to know what went spectacularly wrong and how to resolve the issue.

There you have it as I have said all along India put in to bat score a paltry 107! The world's number one Test side again looking abysmal away from home! It is easy to win in home conditions when the crowd is behind you and pitches are made to suit India. Here as we have it when the shoe is on the other foot England are making India look like a pub side. Even Kohli couldn't help them today:misbah
Kohli might have saved India again today had Malan been in the slips. He still managed to have a drop chance in that little innings of his

I have no ill intentions man. Was just wondering what went wrong. No need to get so defensive. Just wanted to know what went spectacularly wrong and how to resolve the issue.

If I were defensive, I won't have bothered to write 1 page essay to respond, so relax - I don't carry baggage, but neither tolerate trolls ... and few here has quite good experience of that.

It takes 10 balls to get a side all-out and these things happen in some particular days - even today, IND got exposed on a difficult condition. Besides our batting is never equipped to survive such attack on such conditions. There are examples of 20 wickets going down for 58 & 54 in some days, therefore it's rare but not impossible to suffer a batting collapse. I actually am surprised that, before 43, our lowest was 100+.

Any way, resolving the issue is a long term effort - one word solution could be to find some "talunt" immediately, which I don't think is in our book - it has to be a lengthy effort. For a quick fix, I might suggest to play at least 3 games before 1st Test on tours and a 15 days buffer to acclimatize with the condition. However, I don't think batting is our biggest challenge, but adopting diversity in batting condition is the next step. More than 43, I was concerned that on same wicket, very next 2 sessions WIN reached like 200/1 or so.

Damn..... on a batting paradise India got all out for 107.

I would hold my horses before having field day on our guys. Everybody could see ball swinging and seaming square. Not ideal condition for batters. So, I will have judgement after England finish batting.

In 2002 tour, at Leeds, India scored 630+/6 or so, after scoring like 220/2 in Day 1 (& 400+ @ 5/over on Day 2) - and I can assure you, that wicket was greener, condition was gloomier ..... and it was Hedingley under cloud, with wind .... and END had Gough, Caddick, Hoggard, Flintoff. What Dravid & Bangar did on Day 1, a similar effort by just one batsman in top 5 could have changed the entire game. IND's bad luck also was that Pujara got run-out - he is one player who can spend hours in middle without bothering to score and leaving balls on length; he did that at J'burg last time.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Let’s not forget these are the players who got India to the number 1 ranking. How about being little supportive when the going gets tough. This is our team</p>— Rohit Sharma (@ImRo45) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImRo45/status/1027985996061790208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 10, 2018</a></blockquote>

Rohit should play the next match :azhar2

So, my trolling question would be, if Pakistan were playing vs England would they have been dismissed for 107.?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Let’s not forget these are the players who got India to the number 1 ranking. How about being little supportive when the going gets tough. This is our team</p>— Rohit Sharma (@ImRo45) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImRo45/status/1027985996061790208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 10, 2018</a></blockquote>

Rohit should play the next match :azhar2

He may actually make a come back. You never know. There are plenty of spots available in the middle order.

5-0 for England seems on the cards.

India have checked out.

It's actually something Indian fans and media should think about.

Now I know Azhar and Shafiq are limited players, but barring Kohli, I haven't seen a single Indian player who's put the same price on their wicket this series. These are batsman who are far more talented than Azhar (Who is literally a tailender with endless grit with his lack of shots) but have no application, or desire to stay on the crease.

I would hold my horses before having field day on our guys. Everybody could see ball swinging and seaming square. Not ideal condition for batters. So, I will have judgement after England finish batting.

That is called homes advantage like India would have packed the side with spinners had they been at home. England rightfully prepared the pitch to their own strengths. There is no guarantee that India would have bowled England out for 107.

There’s been some work done on that already. About Pakistan being England’s bogey side vs India for Australia

I think if India are not careful, this could be a very embarrassing series outcome.

As for this match, if England make 250 - game over. I will be surprised if it goes to the 5th day - unless we have more rain. India’s batting is incredibly overrated.

In 2002 tour, at Leeds, India scored 630+/6 or so, after scoring like 220/2 in Day 1 (& 400+ @ 5/over on Day 2) - and I can assure you, that wicket was greener, condition was gloomier ..... and it was Hedingley under cloud, with wind .... and END had Gough, Caddick, Hoggard, Flintoff. What Dravid & Bangar did on Day 1, a similar effort by just one batsman in top 5 could have changed the entire game. IND's bad luck also was that Pujara got run-out - he is one player who can spend hours in middle without bothering to score and leaving balls on length; he did that at J'burg last time.

Seems like a bygone era now. We can't even do those things at home nowadays.

He may actually make a come back. You never know. There are plenty of spots available in the middle order.

Knowing Kohli he'll go back to Dhawan LOL next game. Then Rohit for the test after. Inevitably, both will fail within their first 15 balls in both innings.

India the worst number one team in the world rely on one player who is selfish and a liar and is their captain LOL.

Where are all our Indian friends who wanted to humiliate India(sorry England) in England?? - This does not look like no 1 team 🤭🤭🤭

Humary chooti see, masoom see team hai, Lakin London hum ha phir bhiee Dharalay say fatha kiya Hoya hai 🤩🤩🤩

India's performance yesterday was poor, no two ways about it. Conditions were definitely tough for batting because of the rain and the cloud cover but that's no excuse for playing so poorly. Goes to show how misleading the test rankings are. They are far from the number one side in the world.

We lost last time because we had:

1) Two 40+ batsmen in the middle-order

2) Rahat “Destroyer” Ali, Imran “FAST” Khan, and Sohail “Mein Hero Hoon” Khan were part of the attack. (Wahab was our best bowler and Amir was decent without being great).

3) Yasir was forced to bowl a leg-side line and forced to accept responsibility for it.

1. The 2 40+ bats: Unfortunately those were indispensable bats and we did not try younger bats to replace them sooner. We kept on trying the dead beats.

2. Rahat is the most over rated bowler of all the Pak bowlers. The guy can't bowl 2 balls on same lengths and line. His whole persona as a bowler is puke worthy. The way this guy runs to the wicket is a shame to our bowling tradition. I would rather watch Mudassar nazar gentle medium pace run up than him. Imran has bowled well in middle east - his bowling does lack byte but he is a decent support bowler. Sohail khan is only good for t20 for his fitness.

3. That was the most pathetic strategy I ever witnessed from a leggie. What was the captain's strategy? The little cricket I get to watch these days, I hardly ever see a leg spinner bowling with a defensive line let alone one of the teams strike bowlers.

1. The 2 40+ bats: Unfortunately those were indispensable bats and we did not try younger bats to replace them sooner. We kept on trying the dead beats.

2. Rahat is the most over rated bowler of all the Pak bowlers. The guy can't bowl 2 balls on same lengths and line. His whole persona as a bowler is puke worthy. The way this guy runs to the wicket is a shame to our bowling tradition. I would rather watch Mudassar nazar gentle medium pace run up than him. Imran has bowled well in middle east - his bowling does lack byte but he is a decent support bowler. Sohail khan is only good for t20 for his fitness.

3. That was the most pathetic strategy I ever witnessed from a leggie. What was the captain's strategy? The little cricket I get to watch these days, I hardly ever see a leg spinner bowling with a defensive line let alone one of the teams strike bowlers.

The strategy had worked to perfection against another dominant left-handed scorer by the name of Alastair Cook BUT in the U.A.E.

Misbah was a very astute captain who was gifted with the ability of defensive warfare. However, he failed to take into account the distinct difference of terrane in Australia compared to that of the United Arab Emirates. Also, not being bold enough to take harsh decisions such as dropping YK or adding a pace-bowling all-rounder.

Where as in the UAE, the opposition looks to defend against the spin, slowly smothering it with a closed face of the bat, and grind out a two-per-over Run Rate over the course of two days (ideally), it is the opposite in Australia.

A lot of people will say that the pitches did not offer spin, which is true if compared to the ones in Abu Dhabi or Sharjah. However, for a SCG or MCG pitch, it certainly offered enough turn and drift, as early as Day Three!

The difference was intent. Where as Cook would leave the occasional half-volley outside off-stump, Warner relished it as an opportunity to put pressure on Pakistan’s match-winner. He was relentless, scoring three centuries I believe along with Steve Smith. Part of the Australian plan for Yasir was to punish him for his negative line and score at least four or more runs-per-over.

Yet the most horrifying thing about the entire facade was Yasir publicly having to accept that he chose to bowl the leg-side line. As a professional leg-spin bowler for a decade, Yasir can understand comprehensively when a batsman is in rhythm against a certain line or length. For him to continue, would simply be against everything he has been taught and or practiced in his career. Yet he took it for his captain, proving his unwavering loyalty to him. Due to that unfateful tour, Yasir now averages close to 30 where as before he was averaging close to 26.