Gautam Gambhir joins BJP, says "influenced by PM's vision"

ahsan17

https://www.dawn.com/news/1471206/f...hir-joins-modis-bjp-in-run-up-to-indian-polls

Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir joins Modi's BJP in run-up to Indian polls

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir has joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the upcoming general election in India, Times of India reported on Friday.

According to ToI the former opening batsman joined the ruling political party in Delhi in the presence of Union ministers Arun Jaitley and Ravi Shankar Prasad.

"I am joining this party (BJP) after getting influenced by PM Narendra Modi's vision. I am honoured to get the opportunity to join this platform," Gambhir was quoted as saying.

An intellectual giant like Gambhir joining the BJP again goes to show that BJP is the natural destination of genuine intellectuals, humanitarians and patriots.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Former Cricketer <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GautamGambhir?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GautamGambhir</a> likely to join <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BharatiyaJanataParty?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BharatiyaJanataParty</a> today</p>— ABP News (@abpnewstv) <a href="https://twitter.com/abpnewstv/status/1108972220825530368?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 22, 2019</a></blockquote>

Ex-Cricketer Gautam Gambhir Joins BJP, Says "Influenced By PM's Vision"

NEW DELHI: Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir joined the BJP today, just days before the national election and with several candidates still to be announced, ending months of speculation. "It is a significant induction," said Arun Jaitley, one of the two union ministers who addressed a press conference to make the announcement.
"I have been influenced by the PM, his vision for the country. This is a fabulous platform for me to do something for the country," Gautam Gambhir, 37, said.

The former cricketer may contest the April-May national election as a BJP candidate from Delhi. The 37-year-old may contest from the prestigious New Delhi constituency, currently held by the party's Meenakshi Lekhi, sources have said.

He is a resident of Delhi's Rajinder Nagar, which falls within the constituency.

Arun Jaitley refused to confirm anything, said "Leave the decision to the party's election committee".

Gautam Gambhir was recently awarded the Padma Shri. He was a high-profile campaigner for Arun Jaitley's 2014 contest in Punjab's Amritsar; Arun Jaitley lost the election to Congress's Amarinder Singh, now Chief Minister of Punjab.

The former India opening batsman retired from cricket in December after a 15-year stint. He runs a community kitchen, besides appearing as a commentator.

His social media posts with strong comments on contemporary politics and incidents had inspired talk about his joining politics. His Twitter account is full of posts on the Pulwama terror attack, in which 40 soldiers were killed by a suicide bomber of the Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammed.

Gautam Gambhir joins more cricketers-turned-politicians like Kirti Azad, Mohammad Azharuddin, Navjot Sidhu and Mohammad Kaif.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/gau...joins-bjp-ahead-of-national-elections-2011212

An intellectual giant like Gambhir joining the BJP again goes to show that BJP is the natural destination of genuine intellectuals, humanitarians and patriots.

:maqsood

as expected from u and gambhir...self proclaimed giants, rubbish in reality :stokes

Predicted this long time ago. Now it makes complete sense. He doesn't hate Pakistan as much as he was showing it. It's just politics. :inti

Hero and a role model. Their is no other way to define this guy. He was a hero on the field helping his country to win 2 world tournaments and now serving nation post retirement. Heros and patriots like him come very rarely. Cricketers to koi bhi ban jaata hai but to become selfless like Gambhir is tough.

Welcome to BJP young man....hope you win the election from Delhi and become a MP.

What "vision" is he influenced by? Killing people for consuming beef or rape being an epidemic in his country to name a few?

Hero and a role model. Their is no other way to define this guy. He was a hero on the field helping his country to win 2 world tournaments and now serving nation post retirement. Heros and patriots like him come very rarely. Cricketers to koi bhi ban jaata hai but to become selfless like Gambhir is tough.

Welcome to BJP young man....hope you win the election from Delhi and become a MP.

lol

It is probably more difficult to play cricket for India than becoming a MP in India or get hired by BJP.

All he had to do was to bash Pakistan, sent out few tweets, advocate war and you are given the ticket, a proper text book definition of opportunistic career politician for personal gains.

He has no interest of serving the people of India.

lol

It is probably more difficult to play cricket for India than becoming a MP in India or get hired by BJP.

All he had to do was to bash Pakistan, sent out few tweets, advocate war and you are given the ticket, a proper text book definition of opportunistic career politician for personal gains.

He has no interest of serving the people of India.

Politics is all about ideology and conviction. People like Gambhir who believe in hindutva/majoritarian ideology (Right wing) will indeed join the party that support those ideologies. Similarly, people who supports left ideology (Siddhu, Hardik Patel, Prakash Raj etc.) have all joined congress. Its a part and parcel of any democracy. A person that has no ideology should never be in politics.

You need to learn more my man and then debate rather than typing 'lol' multiple types in a forum.

HAHAHAHA i am shocked.

NOT.

Most of the people saw this coming miles away when he was selling his dukan of Pakistan hatred and "nationalism". Gambhir, you lejund.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1471206/f...hir-joins-modis-bjp-in-run-up-to-indian-polls

Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir joins Modi's BJP in run-up to Indian polls

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir has joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the upcoming general election in India, Times of India reported on Friday.

According to ToI the former opening batsman joined the ruling political party in Delhi in the presence of Union ministers Arun Jaitley and Ravi Shankar Prasad.

"I am joining this party (BJP) after getting influenced by PM Narendra Modi's vision. I am honoured to get the opportunity to join this platform," Gambhir was quoted as saying.

billi thailay say bahar aa gayi

Politics is all about ideology and conviction. People like Gambhir who believe in hindutva/majoritarian ideology (Right wing) will indeed join the party that support those ideologies. Similarly, people who supports left ideology (Siddhu, Hardik Patel, Prakash Raj etc.) have all joined congress. Its a part and parcel of any democracy. A person that has no ideology should never be in politics.

You need to learn more my man and then debate rather than typing 'lol' multiple types in a forum.

LOL

My response was why it is probably more difficult to get selected for Indian cricket team than to join any radicalized extremists nationalist hindu party.

And you went on to explain self explanatory about what ideology has to do with joining a party?

that leave me with no option but to LOL again.

Gambhir finds perfect home for his bigoted views. BJP and Gambhir are perfect couple, made for each other.

He campaigned for Jaitley in last LS elections from Amritsar and the latter lost by over 1.5L votes.

A serious question for the Indians here.

What exactly does Ghambir bring to the table? What are his skills? e.g a vote bank, social initiatives, diplomacy?

Don't all answer at once.

Same in Pakistan, all the "intellectuals: are in one party PPP, under the leadership of Billo.

A serious question for the Indians here.

What exactly does Ghambir bring to the table? What are his skills? e.g a vote bank, social initiatives, diplomacy?

Don't all answer at once.

Antidote for Sidhu.

Right and left ideology are just (western) words. You will be surprised that how many people are hiding under "left" ideology with pure hatred.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/lok...s-gautam-gambhir-2016580?pfrom=home-topscroll

So easy and bloody predictable for BJP wallahs to ask anyone to go to Pakistan if they dare to disagree with their views.

I think this is covered in the first semester of their course. If you don't have anything else to say ask the other person to move to Pakistan or prove that the other person is a traitor. Same thing is followed by the bhakts too. I am pretty sure the number of Pakistan related statements Gambhir is giving everyday he will win the elections. He knows it is pretty easy to fool our public. He mentions Pakistan in 9 out of his 10 statements. He is good at finding the gaps. :inti

Agreed.

I assume you know about Delhi, do you know kind of MPs Delhi electorate chose during last LS elections? Lekhi, Udit, Tiwari, Bidhuri, Pravesh...Hope Delhites won't have to bear the brunt of these MPs again.

On second thoughts we may have to bear with Gambhir, what a horrendous thing would that be?

Talking about Gambhir, he had already given away his ideological leanings even before he joined BJP. Its mandatory for their inductees to give anti Pakistan statements or better still, ask non believers to move to Pakistan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gautam,I never played much cricket because I knew I wasn’t very good at it. You don’t know very much about J&K,it’s history or the role of <a href="https://twitter.com/JKNC_?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@jknc_</a> in shaping that history yet you insist on displaying that ignorance for all to see. Stick to stuff you know about, tweet about the IPL <a href="https://t.co/2ZSHJclWkt">https://t.co/2ZSHJclWkt</a></p>— Omar Abdullah (@OmarAbdullah) <a href="https://twitter.com/OmarAbdullah/status/1113001838662410240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 2, 2019</a></blockquote>

Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir, who recently joined the BJP, on Tuesday suggested NC leader Omar Abdullah should shift to Pakistan over his remarks that his party would strive to restore Jammu and Kashmir’s autonomy that could include having a ‘Wazir-e-Azam’ (prime minister).

Reacting sharply to Gambhir’s comments, the National Conference (NC) leader said the former opening batsman of the Indian team should only talk about cricket, which is the thing he knows.

“Omar Abdullah wants a separate prime minister for Jammu and Kashmir and I want to walk on oceans! Omar Abdullah wants a separate prime minister for Jammu and Kashmir and I want pigs to fly,” Gambhir tweeted.
He said the former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister needs “some sleep and a strong coffee” and if he still fails to understand then he needs “a green Pakistan passport”.

Hitting back, Abdullah in a tweet said, “Gautam, I never played much cricket because I knew I wasn’t very good at it. You don’t know very much about Jammu and Kashmir, its history or the role of National Conference in shaping that history, yet you insist on displaying that ignorance for all to see.”

He said that Gambhir should stick to the things he knows and “tweet about the Indian Premier League (IPL)”.
Addressing a public meeting on Monday at Bandipora in north Kashmir, the former chief minister said Jammu and Kashmir’s accession to the Union of India was accomplished in lieu of various constitutional safeguards for the state and if these are tampered with, the entire scheme of accession will be under question.

He also said that his party will work towards getting back the coveted posts of ‘Sadr-e-Riyasat’ (president) and ‘Wazir-e-Azam’ (prime minister) for Jammu and Kashmir. — PTI

https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/n...s-remarks-for-separate-pm-for-j-k/752224.html

Gambhir's contributions to Indian cricket and his straight approach to everything will always be valued. However, regarding joining the BJP, everyone's allowed a few mistakes. He can be forgiven :)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gautam,I never played much cricket because I knew I wasn’t very good at it. You don’t know very much about J&K,it’s history or the role of <a href="https://twitter.com/JKNC_?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@jknc_</a> in shaping that history yet you insist on displaying that ignorance for all to see. Stick to stuff you know about, tweet about the IPL <a href="https://t.co/2ZSHJclWkt">https://t.co/2ZSHJclWkt</a></p>— Omar Abdullah (@OmarAbdullah) <a href="https://twitter.com/OmarAbdullah/status/1113001838662410240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 2, 2019</a></blockquote>
lol at BJP's 'retort'.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/lok...t-gautam-gambhir-2017089?pfrom=home-topscroll

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most welcome <a href="https://twitter.com/MehboobaMufti?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MehboobaMufti</a> Ma’am, happy to be blocked by a callous individual. By the way, at the time of writing this tweet there are 1,365,386,456 Indians. How will you block them?</p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1115494279433064448?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

Ooof. Man GG keeps tarnishing his own reputation, what has this guy become. Full of so much deceit and unnecessary malice and rage.

Him feuding like that with Kohli like that in that IPL game pretty much was the final proof of how small minded and petty he is.

Hope to see him as a Prime Minister some day. Will bring dignity, grace and intelligence to the highest office.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most welcome <a href="https://twitter.com/MehboobaMufti?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MehboobaMufti</a> Ma’am, happy to be blocked by a callous individual. By the way, at the time of writing this tweet there are 1,365,386,456 Indians. How will you block them?</p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1115494279433064448?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 9, 2019</a></blockquote>
Following the footsteps of Modi-Shah in being uncouth.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Election Commission directs East Delhi Returning Officer to file an FIR against Gautam Gambhir, BJP's candidate from East Delhi parliamentary constituency for "holding a rally in East Delhi without permission." (file pic) <a href="https://t.co/TyvztxOqv3">pic.twitter.com/TyvztxOqv3</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1122047871463739392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

Nothing will happen to him as EC is in BJP'S pocket.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gautam Gambhir, BJP's East Delhi candidate: If they can get a proof, I'll resign right now & if they get a proof by 23rd I'll resign on that particular day. But if Arvind Kejriwal does not get the proof, does he accept the challenge that he will leave politics forever on 23rd? <a href="https://t.co/qAdH6W9cW0">pic.twitter.com/qAdH6W9cW0</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1126462508431282178?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

What's with giving out Pakistani passport to others? Who has given Gautam this right? Absolute idiot person.

He is racist, bigoted, repulsive, and hate driven person who look down upon on Pakistan and Pakistani.

Any Indian Muslim were to criticize him, like many other Hindutva, he would resort to saying go to "Pakistan" to get some applause from gullible and educated hindutva, the ignorance of this comment shows the mindset and idiocy of this person and many other hindutva.

Kejriwal again sued for defamation. The guy is shameless. He has had to apologise so many times for making false allegations. This time Sisodia and Marlena will also be dragged to court.

He is racist, bigoted, repulsive, and hate driven person who look down upon on Pakistan and Pakistani.

Any Indian Muslim were to criticize him, like many other Hindutva, he would resort to saying go to "Pakistan" to get some applause from gullible and educated hindutva, the ignorance of this comment shows the mindset and idiocy of this person and many other hindutva.

I am happy that he joined politics and stands exposed today.

Kejriwal again sued for defamation. The guy is shameless. He has had to apologise so many times for making false allegations. This time Sisodia and Marlena will also be dragged to court.

New Delhi: BJP's East candidate Gautam Gambhir has sent a defamation notice to rival Atishi after she held a press conference on Thursday alleging that Gambhir had distributed a pamphlet containing "obscene and derogatory" remarks against her in the constituency.

The BJP candidate has also sent notices to Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy CM Manish Sisodia. The legal notice demands that the noticees apologise and withdraw their statements or face legal action.

"The Noticees vide the statements in the press conference and on social media websites ('impugned statement') have in a calculated and coordinated manner, wrongly and erroneously alleged that these pamphlets have been distributed by our client/ or at his behest," the legal notice said.

The notice further states that the false statements have been alleged keeping in view the impending elections on Sunday.

Aam Aadmi Party’s East Delhi candidate Atishi on Thursday alleged that her opponent, BJP’s Gautam Gambhir, had distributed lakhs of pamphlets that questioned her morals and were full of very objectionable and deeply offensive remarks about her.

Reading out the contents of the pamphlet, Atishi broke down twice at a press conference and said she very pained on seeing it. She asked how women would feel safe if men like him get elected.

Gambhir denied the allegation in strong terms and said would quit politics if the charge is proven. In a series of tweets, he told CM Arvind Kejriwal he “abhors his act of outraging a woman’s modesty and that too his own colleague. And all this for winning elections?”

“I declare that if it’s proven that I did it, I will withdraw my candidature right now. If not, will u quit politics?” he asked Kejriwal.

The leaflet, which AAP claimed was distributed with newspapers in east Delhi societies, called Atishi a "prostitute", “beef eater” and a “very good example of a mixed breed”.

It also contains scurrilous personal allegations of a sexual relationship between her and Delhi deputy CM Manish Sisodia.

https://www.news18.com/news/politic...over-obscene-pamphlet-accusation-2135315.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shocked to hear about yesterday's developments. Having known <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@GautamGambhir</a> for nearly 2 decades, I can vouch for his integrity, character and the respect he has for women.</p>— VVS Laxman (@VVSLaxman281) <a href="https://twitter.com/VVSLaxman281/status/1126748693133025281?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

New Delhi: BJP's East candidate Gautam Gambhir has sent a defamation notice to rival Atishi after she held a press conference on Thursday alleging that Gambhir had distributed a pamphlet containing "obscene and derogatory" remarks against her in the constituency.

The BJP candidate has also sent notices to Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy CM Manish Sisodia. The legal notice demands that the noticees apologise and withdraw their statements or face legal action.

"The Noticees vide the statements in the press conference and on social media websites ('impugned statement') have in a calculated and coordinated manner, wrongly and erroneously alleged that these pamphlets have been distributed by our client/ or at his behest," the legal notice said.

The notice further states that the false statements have been alleged keeping in view the impending elections on Sunday.

Aam Aadmi Party’s East Delhi candidate Atishi on Thursday alleged that her opponent, BJP’s Gautam Gambhir, had distributed lakhs of pamphlets that questioned her morals and were full of very objectionable and deeply offensive remarks about her.

Reading out the contents of the pamphlet, Atishi broke down twice at a press conference and said she very pained on seeing it. She asked how women would feel safe if men like him get elected.

Gambhir denied the allegation in strong terms and said would quit politics if the charge is proven. In a series of tweets, he told CM Arvind Kejriwal he “abhors his act of outraging a woman’s modesty and that too his own colleague. And all this for winning elections?”

“I declare that if it’s proven that I did it, I will withdraw my candidature right now. If not, will u quit politics?” he asked Kejriwal.

The leaflet, which AAP claimed was distributed with newspapers in east Delhi societies, called Atishi a "prostitute", “beef eater” and a “very good example of a mixed breed”.

It also contains scurrilous personal allegations of a sexual relationship between her and Delhi deputy CM Manish Sisodia.

https://www.news18.com/news/politic...over-obscene-pamphlet-accusation-2135315.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shocked to hear about yesterday's developments. Having known <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@GautamGambhir</a> for nearly 2 decades, I can vouch for his integrity, character and the respect he has for women.</p>— VVS Laxman (@VVSLaxman281) <a href="https://twitter.com/VVSLaxman281/status/1126748693133025281?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

He may not have done it himself but its not something unexpected from BJP goons working on the ground.

They took Gambhir's name, they have to prove it or face legal action. AAP is known for making wild allegations and then apologising in courts.

This may be another stunt.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Challenger Number 3 to <a href="https://twitter.com/ArvindKejriwal?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ArvindKejriwal</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/aap?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@aap</a>. If he can prove that I have anything to do with this pamphlet filth, then I will hang myself in public. Otherwise <a href="https://twitter.com/ArvindKejriwal?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ArvindKejriwal</a> should quit politics. Accepted?</p>— Chowkidar Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1126778687993499648?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

Gambhir can be triggered so easily. Welcome to Indian Politics Gambhir. :inti

Just type 'chowkidar gautam gambhir hired a duplicate' in the google and see the magic. :misbah

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chowkidar <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@GautamGambhir</a> hired a 'duplicate' to stand for him in the heat and campaign for him!<br><br>&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834; <a href="https://t.co/uBIqFw5x9J">pic.twitter.com/uBIqFw5x9J</a></p>— Kapil (@kapsology) <a href="https://twitter.com/kapsology/status/1126744497230991361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

Oops :afridi

They took Gambhir's name, they have to prove it or face legal action. AAP is known for making wild allegations and then apologising in courts.

This may be another stunt.

Lol. Mr Pradhan Sewak himself is known for making wild allegations, and not even apologizing after getting caught red handed. Remember Nehru not meeting Bhagat Singh drama?

List is endless...

Like none other than MMS hobnobbing with Pakistan to ensure 56" defeat in Gujarat assembly elections.

Like Rajiv Gandhi using INS Vikrant for his vacations, which again has proved to be big lie.

List is endless...

Like none other than MMS hobnobbing with Pakistan to ensure 56" defeat in Gujarat assembly elections.

Like Rajiv Gandhi using INS Vikrant for his vacations, which again has proved to be big lie.

It amazes me that these people can't even see it.

So will Mr big mouth win a seat in this election?
4c70f53c6a065ad08845a3fec0a36c71.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chowkidar <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@GautamGambhir</a> hired a 'duplicate' to stand for him in the heat and campaign for him!<br><br>���������������������������������������������������������������� <a href="https://t.co/uBIqFw5x9J">pic.twitter.com/uBIqFw5x9J</a></p>— Kapil (@kapsology) <a href="https://twitter.com/kapsology/status/1126744497230991361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

Oops :afridi

NEW DELHI: Gautam Gambhir, the BJP's East Delhi candidate, has placed his "duplicate" to campaign for him as he has a problem with the heat, Delhi's Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia alleged on Friday, amid the ongoing tussle between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the BJP over the controversial pamphlet against AAP candidate Atishi. The AAP leader, in a couple of tweets, also shared the pictures of the alleged impersonator, who, he says, is a Congress leader.
"Have heard about a stunt double in movies, a runner in cricket, but have seen a duplicate in campaign for the first time," Mr Sisodia tweeted in Hindi.

"This is the mahamilawat between the Congress and the BJP. Gautam Gambhir is sitting in an air conditioned car. He has problem with the heat. In his place, a duplicate wearing a cap is standing. Workers are garlanding the duplicate Gambhir. And this duplicate is a Congress leader in reality," he added.

The East Delhi constituency is turning out to be the most hard-fought seat in Delhi, with a pitched battle raging on between the two candidates-- Gautam Gambhir and Atishi.

The AAP candidate had recently raised technical objections, seeking Mr Gambhir's nomination. The requests were turned down by the Election Commission.

On Thursday, Atishi broke down at a press conference called by the AAP, where leaders displayed a pamphlet full of religious and sexist attacks on the candidate. "If Gambhir can stoop so low to defeat a strong woman like me, how can he ensure security for women as an MP?" asked the 37-year-old Oxford alumnus.

On Friday, Mr Gambhir, who had denied the allegation, sent a defamation notice through Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley's daughter Sonali Jaitley to AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and Atishi. The AAP candidate also filed a complaint against her BJP rival with the Delhi Commission For Women.The women's body had asked the police whether it had filed a First Information Report or FIR over the circulation of the derogatory pamphlets.

Mr Sisodia has also warned Mr Gambhir that he would send a defamation suit.

"How is he filing a defamation case? We are the ones being defamed, we will file a defamation case against him. We will try to send a defamation notice to him today. His party has endorsed the pamphlets and he has not questioned that," the Delhi Education Minister told NDTV.

Delhi will vote in the sixth phase of the national election on May 12. The counting of votes will begin on May 23.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/lok...r-campaigning-claims-aap-tweets-photo-2035799

It amazes me that these people can't even see it.
Some more outright lies from 56",

Lie No. 1: "There would have been no Kashmir problem if Sardar Patel, and not Nehru, had become India's first PM." (Truth: Patel was ready to give the entire Kashmir Valley to Pakistan.)

Lie No. 2: "When Nehru visited Kumbh in 1954, he tried to hush up the stampede that killed a large number of pilgrims." (Truth: There was no media or official cover-up of the tragedy. Nehru himself spoke about it in parliament. His government set up a high-level judicial probe.)

Lie No. 3: "Nehru gifted Kartarpur Sahib to Pakistan at the time of Partition." (Truth: In trying to retain Kartarpur Sahib, India could have lost both Amritsar and a key road link to Kashmir.)

Lie No. 4: "Rajiv Gandhi died as Bhrashtachari No. 1." (Delhi High Court quashed Bofors-related corruption charges against Rajiv.)

Some more outright lies from 56",

Lie No. 1: "There would have been no Kashmir problem if Sardar Patel, and not Nehru, had become India's first PM." (Truth: Patel was ready to give the entire Kashmir Valley to Pakistan.)

Lie No. 2: "When Nehru visited Kumbh in 1954, he tried to hush up the stampede that killed a large number of pilgrims." (Truth: There was no media or official cover-up of the tragedy. Nehru himself spoke about it in parliament. His government set up a high-level judicial probe.)

Lie No. 3: "Nehru gifted Kartarpur Sahib to Pakistan at the time of Partition." (Truth: In trying to retain Kartarpur Sahib, India could have lost both Amritsar and a key road link to Kashmir.)

Lie No. 4: "Rajiv Gandhi died as Bhrashtachari No. 1." (Delhi High Court quashed Bofors-related corruption charges against Rajiv.)

These people have been completely brainwashed by him. Its a cult.

What vision is that he's talking about? All Modi and his cronies know is winning elections in the name of hating Muslim's. Even retired Indian General's openly encourage violence against minorities by feeding them mythical stories. Those people listening will naturally become Muslim haters and fascists.

BJP's Gautam Gambhir Leads From East Delhi, AAP's Atishi Trailing Behind

NEW DELHI: Former cricketer and BJP candidate Gautam Gambhir is leading from East Delhi, early trends at 9.30 am for the Lok Sabha election results show. Mr Gambhir is contesting against AAP's Atishi and Congress's Arvinder Singh Lovely in the constituency.
During the campaign for the Lok Sabha elections in East Delhi, Atishi had accused Mr Gambhir of circulating derogatory pamphlets that attacked her personally.

The BJP candidate denied the allegations and responded with a defamation notice, to which Delhi Deputy Chief Minister and AAP leader Manish Sisodia also shot a similar counter-threat.

Mr Gambhir put out a series of tweets accusing AAP of making up the allegations in a desperate plan to try and win the election. Speaking to NDTV, he alleged that AAP had circulated the pamphlets.

He also sent a notice to Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and Atishi demanding an "unconditional apology" after the Aam Aadmi Party accused him of circulating the pamphlets.

Atishi broke down at a press conference called by AAP, where leaders displayed a pamphlet full of religious and sexist attacks on the candidate. "If Gambhir can stoop so low to defeat a strong woman like me, how can he ensure security for women as an MP?" asked the 37-year-old Oxford alumnus.

"If you prove your allegations, then this moment I will give up politics. If some say I can't withdraw from the case now, then even if I win, I will resign on the first day. Will Kejriwal accept the same challenge," Mr Gambhir had said.

In the weeks before voting day in Delhi, Atishi and Gautam Gambhir's battle intensified as the AAP sought his candidature's disqualification on allegations that the former cricketer was registered as a voter at two different places in the national capital. Gautam Gambhir had hit back, saying he only has a single voter identity card from Rajendra Nagar.

Gautam Gambhir joined the BJP in March when the party was yet to announce the names of several candidates. "It is a significant induction," Union Minister Arun Jaitley had said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/del...lhi-aaps-atishi-trailing-behind-2041649?amp=1

Ex-cricketer and BJP candidate Gautam Gambhir, who is leading in East Delhi, took a dig at his AAP and Congress rivals. "Neither it's a 'Lovely' cover drive and nor it is an 'Atishi Ballebaaz'। It's just the BJP's 'Gambhir' ideology which people have supported."

Really lowlife this creature is. Never ever (not even 56") has behaved like this after winning.