Gautam Gambhir wants complete boycott on Pakistan, says no problem in forfeiting final of WC19

In the wake of the dastardly Pulwama terror attack, there were calls for a complete boycott on Pakistan on the cricket pitch. Several state cricket associations and the BCCI took down pictures and memorabilia of former Pakistani cricketers from the stadiums and headquarters to protest against the ghastly attack - which saw 40 CRPF soldiers attaining martyrdom, in what was termed as one of the deadliest terror attacks in the history of Jammu and Kashmir.

Several former and current cricketers, including the likes of Harbhajan Singh, Mohammad Azharuddin and Sourav Ganguly also called for a boycott on Pakistan at the upcoming 2011 World Cup. Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir is the latest to join the bandwagon as he voiced his opinion on the sensitive issue. The hero of India's 2011 World Cup and 2007 T20 World Cup final said India should boycott Pakistan not only at the World Cup, but in all major ICC tournaments.

The arch-rivals last played a bilateral series in 2012-13 when Pakistan travelled to India for a three-match ODI and a two-match T20I series. The two teams have since met only in major ICC tournaments like the World Cup, Asia Cup and the Champions Trophy. However, Gambhir believes India should take a stern step and impose a complete ban on Pakistan. He also urged the countrymen to support the Men in Blue if they fail to make it to the knockout stages at the 2019 World Cup after boycotting Pakistan at the tournament, as it will come at the cost of dropping two crucial points.

"We should also boycott the Asia cup so we don’t play Pakistan. No problem in forfeiting 2 points India-Pak match but the entire country should then stand behind the team and not blame them for not making it to the semis or finals," Gambhir told Times Now.

Gambhir, who has often shown his love for the armed forces, said those who are playing politics over the martyrdom of the soldiers, should not be considered and their opinions should not matter. "That certain section who say sport is over politics need not be considered. Nothing is bigger than the loves of the soldiers for me. We can’t put conditional bans on Pakistan, we should stop everything," Gambhir reckoned.

Gambhir was one of the first sportspersons to come out in open and support the families of the Pulwama martyrs through his foundation, which looks after the children and families of the martyrs. He announced that his foundation will take care of the education of the children of the affected families, a move which was appreciated by many.

With the political tensions escalating between the two countries, dark clouds of uncertainties hover over the World Cup tie between India and Pakistan, which is scheduled to take place at Old Trafford, Manchester on June 16. The two teams last met in the Asia Cup last year - where Rohit Sharma & Co defeated Sarfraz Ahmed's men twice before lifting the trophy by beating Bangladesh in the final.

Earlier, BCCI had written a letter to the ICC asking for a ban on countries supporting terrorism, indirectly referring to Pakistan. However, the international board turned down BCCI's request, making it clear that such matters are not in ICC's control and the organisation cannot ask any member nations to sever ties with a particular country.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...em-in-forfeiting-2-points-at-world-cup/384725

is this clown even relevant? India walay ussay ghaas nahin daal rahay, aur yahan is ki bakwaas ko har doosray din highlight ki jaata hai.

Bollywood should cast this midget in a film in which 2 PAK F16s are downed..give this guy some hosla :)

After the Christchurch terrorist attack he tweeted something about being one and not letting people spread hatred and division and now he says this crap...the hypocrisy and stupidity of these people :facepalm:

Why do these Indian cricketers always encourage hatred and war against Pakistan. Look at the Pakistani people always talking peace and wanting dialogue.

NEW DELHI: Former India opener Gautam Gambhir on Monday said the BCCI should either snap all cricketing ties with Pakistan, including multi-lateral events, or engage with the arch-rivals at every level as "there can't be conditional bans".

Gambhir, who called for snapping ties with Pakistan after the Pulwama terror attack which killed more than 40 CRPF personnel, said the Indian Board has to decide and be prepared for the consequences. The responsibility of the Pulwama attack was taken by Pakistan-based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammed.

"There can't be conditional bans. Either you ban everything with Pakistan or open everything with Pakistan. What has happened in Pulwama is absolutely not acceptable," Gambhir, who was recently conferred the Padma Shri, said.

"I am sure it's going to be difficult for India to boycott them in ICC tournaments but stop playing Pakistan in the Asia Cup," said the left-hander.

Outspoken in his support for the armed forces on social media, Gambhir reiterated that there should be a blanket ban on engagement with Pakistan even if it comes at the cost of being ostracised by the sporting community.

The BCCI had appealed to the ICC to snap ties with countries from where terror-emanates in a veiled reference to Pakistan. But the request was turned down at the ICC Board meeting in Dubai.

Gambhir cited England's forfeiture of their 2003 World Cup round-robin fixture against Zimbabwe in protest of the Robert Mugabe regime.

"England decided in 2003 and they wouldn't go to Zimbabwe, they forfeited. If BCCI decides not to play against Pakistan, everyone should be mentally ready to give those two points," he said.

"There could be repercussions and we may not qualify for the semi-finals. No media should blame the Indian team if they plan to boycott playing Pakistan," he said.

Asked what should be done if the two teams meet in the final, Gambhir said in that case, India should forfeit the final.

"Two points are not that important. Country is important, those 40 soldiers who lost their lives are far more important than a cricket match. If we let go of a World Cup final, the country should be ready for it.

"Certain section of society says that don't mix sports with politics but Jawans are far more important than a game of cricket."
India drew the International Olympic Committee's (IOC) ire after Pakistani shooters were denied visas for the Delhi World Cup owing to the Pulwama attack. The IOC suspended all discussion on hosting of major events in India and told other international federations to halt interactions with the country.

The IOC demanded that the Indian Olympic Association must provide government assurance that none of the participating countries would be denied visa in case India host any event. Recently, wrestling wold body withdrew the Asian junior championship from India owing to the unresolved matter.

Asked if India's stand could lead to a sporting boycott of the nation in the near future, Gambhir said that he wouldn't mind that.

"All of us need to decide if sport is more important or lives of our soldiers? I am all for facing backlash if the international sporting federations decide to ostracise us. Sentiment of the country is far more important than sports, Bollywood, art or culture.
"If we get boycotted at sports events, we should be ready for it," the 37-year-old said.

Amid speculation that he would be getting a BJP ticket to fight the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, Gambhir said he is still undecided on taking the political plunge.

"All my life I have only played cricket and and my family needs to be convinced. I have heard from people that full time politics can change people.

"But I have two little daughters. I need to spend time with them. I have also heard rumours but right now, I will be doing commentary for Star Sports during IPL."

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...othing-with-pakistan/articleshow/68467114.cms

Stick to Cricket, India Pakistan matches etc

He was a good cricketer and helped india win 2011 World Cup but he is acting like a fool now. During his playing years he never skipped or asked team management to drop him against Pakistan. Forget about boycotting a match he couldn't even say no to a news channel where Afridi was also giving his expert opinion.

I have heard he wants to become a politician. He wants cheap votes? He will get it because we have no shortage of people who love his fake bravado. :inti

Former India opener Gautam Gambhir has said that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has to have a firm stand on cricketing relations with Pakistan. Gautam Gambhir, who was speaking to reporters on the side of a promotional event, stressed that BCCI should either snap all cricketing ties with Pakistan, including multi-lateral events, or engage with the arch-rivals at every level as "there can't be conditional bans". Gambhir had been vocal about snapping all cricketing ties with Pakistan after the Pulwama terror attack and said that cricket board has to decide and be prepared for the consequences.

"There can't be conditional bans. Either you ban everything with Pakistan or open everything with Pakistan. What has happened in Pulwama is absolutely not acceptable," Gambhir said.

"I am sure its going to be difficult for India to boycott them in ICC tournaments but stop playing Pakistan in the Asia Cup," said the left-hander.

Gambhir reiterated that there should be a blanket ban on engagement with Pakistan even if it comes at the cost of being ostracised by the sporting community.

The BCCI had appealed to the ICC to snap ties with countries from where terror-emanates in a veiled reference to Pakistan. But the request was turned down at the ICC board meeting in Dubai.

Gambhir cited England's forfeiture of their 2003 World Cup round-robin fixture against Zimbabwe in protest of the Robert Mugabe regime.

"England decided in 2003 and they wouldn't go to Zimbabwe, they forfeited. If BCCI decides not to play against Pakistan, everyone should be mentally ready to give those two points," he said.

"There could be repercussions and we may not qualify for the semi-finals. No media should blame the Indian team if they plan to boycott playing Pakistan," he said.

Asked what should be done if the two teams meet in the final, Gambhir said in that case, India should forfeit the final.

"Two points are not that important. Country is important, those 40 soldiers who lost their lives are far more important than a cricket match. If we let go of a World Cup final, the country should be ready for it," Gambhir said.

Asked if India's stand could lead to a sporting boycott of the nation in the near future, Gambhir said that he wouldn't mind that.

"All of us need to decide if sport is more important or lives of our soldiers? I am all for facing backlash if the international sporting federations decide to ostracize us. Sentiment of the country is far more important than sports, Bollywood, art or culture," he said.

https://sports.ndtv.com/world-cup-2...it-pakistan-match-says-gautam-gambhir-2009426

Never thought I would agree with this chap but he does have a point about ‘conditional’ bans.

Either you stop this nonsense about taking a so called principled stance on playing Pakistan or at least be consistent and stick to your principles firmly - not this childishness where India is willing to forget their principled stand and play with Pakistan on Monday but not the rest of the week, or will play in this tournament but not that tournament , or will play with them only in the presence of other teams , not bilaterally <—- is that how much your principles count for and moral ground you hold that you are prepared to sacrifice them for a day to avoid the risk of losing 2 points in a tournament?

Agree with Gautam Gambhir here, can't have conditional boycott on Bilateral series and play in World Cup...

Desperate attempts continue from Gambhir in his failing bid to remain relevant.

He has been saying the same thing over and over again for weeks now. Instead of stoking tensions, he should stick to cricket and use his time more effectively.

Apparently there is no shortage of former Indian cricketers/angry hobbits with delusions of grandeur

All this is drama. My friends in Delhi have said that Gambhir is going to be contesting/campaigning in the general elections on a BJP ticket this year. Which also explains why he got the Padma Shri award this hear too, the top civilian award after the Bharat Ratna.

Please by all means boycott the group game but if somehow the teams met in the knockouts, do not come back saying that it is for tbe country that we need to play....

Sri Lankan Navy has killed 800+ Indian Fishermen. Why didn't he forfeit the 2011 WC final ? :inti

Gambhir has every right to voice his opinion. If you think about it, it is not without reason.

I have no opinion on Gautam Gambhir's 'conditional bans' on Pakistan comment: Sourav Ganguly

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly on Tuesday said he has "no opinion" on Gautam Gambhir's comment on "conditional bans" against Pakistan.

Gambhir recently opined that the BCCI should either snap all cricketing ties with Pakistan or engage at every level after the Pulwama attack, which killed over 40 CRPF personnel. Pakistan-based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM) claimed responsibility for the attack.

"It's his [Gambhir's] opinion and to be honest I don't have an opinion on this [boycott of Pakistan at World Cup]," said Ganguly.

The former captain added, "I don't know how they [BCCI] will avoid."

India will start their World Cup campaign against South Africa on June 5 at Hampshire Bowl in Southampton, England.

On being asked whether India will be his favourite team in the upcoming tournament, the former captain said that he does not believe in such tags.

However, he pointed out that "this team is extremely talented".

"Although I don't believe in favourites tag, a team which comprises [Shikhar] Dhawan, Rohit [Sharma], [Virat] Kohli, MS [Dhoni], [Jasprit] Bumrah, Kuldeep [Yadav], Bhuvi [Bhuvneshwar Kumar] like players, it'll be one of the favourites in any tournament."

"It'll be a good and competitive World Cup because the format is really good. Every team and player has to play against everyone. Best four will qualify for semi-finals. I believe it's a strong format for World Cup," he said.

Ganguly further said captain Kohli is a "huge cricketer" who "can play at any position but I believe number three is the best-suited place for him" and the game produces such players in every generation.

"Kohli is an absolute champion. Every generation has produced champions. In our time, we'd Sachin [Tendulkar], in Ricky's [Ponting] generation it was Ricky himself and West Indies had Brian Lara."

Ganguly also acknowledged that the team can win even when Kohli does not perform.

"Honestly, I believe if Virat doesn't perform then also the team can win. Look at Rohit, Dhawan, MS Dhoni... I find Kedar [Jadhav] very competent at number six as he knows his role. And then bowling attack -- Bumrah, Bhuvi who did exceptionally well in whatever little bit opportunity he got in the Australia series. India is a very good side; it doesn't have too many weaknesses. It's just that they have to be at top of the game," Ganguly said.

With less than three months left for the World Cup, India players are set to compete in the 12th edition of the IPL. Delhi Capitals, which roped in Ganguly as its advisor, would be hoping to get a good start when the team will take on Mumbai Indians in Mumbai on March 24.

https://www.dnaindia.com/cricket/re...ns-on-pakistan-comment-sourav-ganguly-2731423

Gambhir has already won his world cup and T20 world cup. Its easy for him to try and rob the current Indian crop of youngsters from also winning the world cup. He needs to move on!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi responds to Gautam Gambhir's suggestion that India should forfeit any World Cup matches versus Pakistan "Does this look like something which a sensible person would say? Do educated people talk like this?" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://t.co/wYgtoOMI5k">pic.twitter.com/wYgtoOMI5k</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1132018886533107713?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

Afridi is right lmao so work your *** off and get to the final just to forfeit it so smart from gsmbhir

ok so i want to know if the match is happening or not?

This is a World Cup India vs Pakistan game. This 1 game will rake in more money than at least 30-40 COMBINED in terms of broadcasting, sponsorship and everything being sold on a match day.

Without a shadow of a doubt it will happen.

This is a World Cup India vs Pakistan game. This 1 game will rake in more money than at least 30-40 COMBINED in terms of broadcasting, sponsorship and everything being sold on a match day.

Without a shadow of a doubt it will happen.

But Ghambir is a a MP now of ruling party he should try to spot it!

He is just an mp not a pm of india.
At best he can lead some social media campaigns against it but it's beyond his powers to stop the game because general public wants to watch cricket between two nations at worldcup events.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi responds to Gautam Gambhir's suggestion that India should forfeit any World Cup matches versus Pakistan "Does this look like something which a sensible person would say? Do educated people talk like this?" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://t.co/wYgtoOMI5k">pic.twitter.com/wYgtoOMI5k</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1132018886533107713?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

lmao, lala destroyed gauti there

its a vicious cycle :afridi

It is hard for me to agree with Afridi on anything but he is spot on here :faheem

Does anyone believe that Afridi understands what he speaks? It is quite evident that he doesn't understand what he writes.

The game will happen. All these ex Indian players and media should stop saying such stuff like this. Indian team will want to play the game and BCCI have never given seriously indication that they will pull out of the game.

So Chowkidar Gautam Gambhir was commentating and giving his expert opinion during Pak vs Aus match today. He wanted India to boycott their match against Pakistan but he can't even say no to commentating in a match involving Pakistan. What a hypocrite. :inti

Complete jingoistic idiot. He is an MP so no longer need to chest thump on Pakistan. Large majority want to see this game happen, and GG is part of a ridiculously small minority

So Chowkidar Gautam Gambhir was commentating and giving his expert opinion during Pak vs Aus match today. He wanted India to boycott their match against Pakistan but he can't even say no to commentating in a match involving Pakistan. What a hypocrite. :inti

These kinds of comments and a good "donation" to party fund got him to be MP :).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Here comes the biggest battle we all look out for. Play 'Star Contest' with me for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvsPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvsPAK</a> match on <a href="https://twitter.com/CricPlay?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CricPlay</a>. Let's see if you can score more than me, follow the <a href="https://twitter.com/CricPlay?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CricPlay</a> page, download the App & create your team now! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CricPlay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CricPlay</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FantasyCricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FantasyCricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/StarContest?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#StarContest</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbIndiaKhelega?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AbIndiaKhelega</a> <a href="https://t.co/eKRWa8iLYF">pic.twitter.com/eKRWa8iLYF</a></p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1140083152297140224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

What happened :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Here comes the biggest battle we all look out for. Play 'Star Contest' with me for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvsPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvsPAK</a> match on <a href="https://twitter.com/CricPlay?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CricPlay</a>. Let's see if you can score more than me, follow the <a href="https://twitter.com/CricPlay?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CricPlay</a> page, download the App & create your team now! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CricPlay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CricPlay</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FantasyCricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FantasyCricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/StarContest?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#StarContest</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbIndiaKhelega?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AbIndiaKhelega</a> <a href="https://t.co/eKRWa8iLYF">pic.twitter.com/eKRWa8iLYF</a></p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1140083152297140224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

Hypocrisy and besharmi happened. :inti

Disgraceful. But he got what he wanted from the earlier comments. He is a MP now so he can get back to his hypocrisy.

I liked gambhir for being stand up for his beliefs but his hypocrisy here is clearly showing. I lost respect for him

Disgraceful. But he got what he wanted from the earlier comments. He is a MP now so he can get back to his hypocrisy.

I liked gambhir for being stand up for his beliefs but his hypocrisy here is clearly showing. I lost respect for him

It was pretty clear from the start he was giving statementa after statements just to become a chowkidar. :inti

The BJP can turn even a man of principles (however offensive or odd) into a hypocrite.

Saw him in the studio analyzing the game with KP :modiji

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Runs, Rain and total domination.. It’s #7-0 &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819; Jai hind.</p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1140336335246352384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Runs, Rain and total domination.. It’s #7-0 ���� Jai hind.</p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1140336335246352384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

Oh shut up Gautam.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Runs, Rain and total domination.. It’s #7-0 ���� Jai hind.</p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1140336335246352384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

Poor guy - understands where money to be made - forgotten all about by now.

Chalo shaba kato

:sendoff:sendoff

Effin clown

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Runs, Rain and total domination.. It’s #7-0 &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819; Jai hind.</p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1140336335246352384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

Lol what a chowkidar. :inti