Has the Pakistani cricket golden era finally arrived?

Pakistan odi & t20 team looking settle now but test team looking in minow condition

Pk has found some talent. Let them do something before declaring them to be 'golden'.

As for the Test team. It has lost 2 major players and will take 12-18 months to settle. This is normal.

With all due respect to our young jawaans, a 5-0 drubbing anywhere doesn't bode well for a golden era. The team is raw and will get better with experience. Thrashing the likes of India, West Indies, Sri Lanka etc is well and good, but we need to start producing results against better teams now.

The two LOI series vs Australia and New Zealand should be a good indicator as to where this team stands at the moment.

With all due respect to our young jawaans, a 5-0 drubbing anywhere doesn't bode well for a golden era. The team is raw and will get better with experience. Thrashing the likes of India, West Indies, Sri Lanka etc is well and good, but we need to start producing results against better teams now.

The two LOI series vs Australia and New Zealand should be a good indicator as to where this team stands at the moment.

Yes but who were the chief architects of the whitewash? :azhar :sm :moha

No but things are finally stabilizing with good players coming up thanks to PUBLICITY in PSL

Most definitely.

The squads being chosen are finally near perfect, and the captain is ideal. And as a result, as expected, we are getting the results.

The team that lost to NZ was much inferior to the current side and everyone knows why.

Things will only get better in every format, starting with the England tour.

As I've been saying, we'll be top 4 in all formats very soon - I'd say by 2020, InshaAllah.

We will know after the LO series against NZ,Australia,and away in South Africa.

Whether our golden era has come or not, we just have got out of one of our darkest era's. The period from 2014 to 2017 was a really testing time to be a Pakistani fan. We've regressed in Test cricket from then, but Sarfaraz has transformed our ODI side completely. Good times ahead! Looking forward to consistent performances in the longer format to checkpoint our evolution as a side.

i dont know why once again our neighbours are burning.If we are not then time will tell .why are you becoming restless suddenly.
Its all good for cricket.I really hate when they come with this 11-0 logic etc everytime.Yes i did post 12-9 etc but tha twas just for the sake of trolling.Otherwise i believe both teams have played good cricket in the past and i will be happy that they continue.

i dont know why once again our neighbours are burning.If we are not then time will tell .why are you becoming restless suddenly.
Its all good for cricket.I really hate when they come with this 11-0 logic etc everytime.Yes i did post 12-9 etc but tha twas just for the sake of trolling.Otherwise i believe both teams have played good cricket in the past and i will be happy that they continue.
Sorry man, Pakistan might have played good cricket in all ICC tournament encounters but India played as good as a minnow on the 18th June.

Whether our golden era has come or not, we just have got out of one of our darkest era's. The period from 2014 to 2017 was a really testing time to be a Pakistani fan. We've regressed in Test cricket from then, but Sarfaraz has transformed our ODI side completely. Good times ahead! Looking forward to consistent performances in the longer format to checkpoint our evolution as a side.

Night comes before dawn. Just like OZ reaching the WC final was the catalyst for their success, the CT win is the catalyst for us. Green storm is on the horizon.

Oh bhai hosla abhi pichlay mahinay NZ ne waat mari thi. Team is several times better than before but let's not go overboard.

Yar yeah Green Storm Wali Shugal Hamesha Backfire kar jati hay Waisay :sanga - This phrase should be banned!!

We need a few fast bowlers to call it a golden era. That has always been the backbone whenever we've produced great sides. Don't say Amir is that!

You win a T20 series and that brings golden era in Pakistani cricket in all formats ? In ODI and Test as well. I thought Pakistan had lost their last test series to Sri Lanka- of all teams.

I'd wait cause while T20 performances are nice, most real cricket fans look to the longer formats to decide whether a team is good/great. We still have gaping holes in our batting and in the consistency of our fast bowling that we need to fill. It's good to see that new talent has been unearthed through the PSL; now our goals should be to consistently promote and integrate new talent into the first team and see if they sink or swim in international cricket.

The CT win was incredible where everything came together like a dream but our performances after that have been up-and-down. We have a lot to prove as a side, but I feel we're on the right track. Luckily for us, there is no truly outstanding side in world cricket right now, which gives us the ability to compete as we improve.

You win a T20 series and that brings golden era in Pakistani cricket in all formats ? In ODI and Test as well. I thought Pakistan had lost their last test series to Sri Lanka- of all teams.

Definitely signs are there when you thrash opposition in CT final but will take time for consistent performnces.

You have to fix your domestic fc structure first before expecting any golden era.That is one of the main reasons why you still dont have batsmen who can chase over 250 even in this age of super pattas.

I think many thing are going to be fixed that y i say it.

Well since you keep on bringing the fluke win in the CT finals - you had lost the practice match as well as the initial round. So a single win against an opposition is sited Das start of the golden era?

Pakistan had to win 4 knockout games in a row to win the CT17 tournament. It was not a single win, but 4. SL, SA, England, and of course India.

India will drop the streak to Pakistan this World Cup. Shame it has to happen in the reign of one of the best LOI players in history.

The truth is Pakistan won because they played to their full potential. They were excellent in all department. They only got better as the tournament went on, and took every chance they got. Unlike Pakistan, other teams were not able to do that. Pakistan won because batted, bowled, and fielded better than every other team in that tournament. You can accept the truth or be in denial, up to you.

Loving the posts of [MENTION=143344]babajee[/MENTION], [MENTION=142782]Darkrai[/MENTION], [MENTION=138894]Flat_Track_Bully[/MENTION] etc. Thats the spirit boyses ;)

Ys it is when everyone talk about our CT win as a fluek and our t20 number one ranking as a joke.

Pakistan had to win 4 knockout games in a row to win the CT17 tournament. It was not a single win, but 4. SL, SA, England, and of course India.

No bro all those were flukes and awarded wins.as ooppsition scored lees tna 250.Even our t20i ranking is just a gift from the opposition whose player were scroing hundreds against particular teams but were setting ducks against the ordinary pak attack and lost us series after series to make us number 1.

Spot on bhai all flukes! Yet India's 2 CT wins, because of the rain in the final, was all down to skill. :)

I put it down to black magic. Every time Pakistan beats an opponent, the opponent made mistakes or had an off day! :)

We will know over the next 12 months. With the LO series and the world cup. Also how we perform in South Africa and how we play against Australia and NZ in the tests.

Yes yes yes :D

Have been saying this all along. Maan lia karo yar baat. :p

Aur please yar rona dhona nai if we somehow lose a match or series. Thats also part of learning process. Just give this team SOME TIME!

Our test team is full of technically correct batsmen with a lot of potential. Selection has been excellent.

There have been rarely any Pakistani sides that I have agreed with every single selection since I started watching cricket in the late 90s. Every side had three or four players that had no business being there. In this side every player has earned his spot on merit (except Imam - hopefully he repays his uncle's trust in him).

Credit where credit due, Inzi and Mickey have done a spectacular job in assembling a world beater side. Bring on South Africa.

Our test team is full of technically correct batsmen with a lot of potential. Selection has been excellent.

Yep true about batting, should give them a long run.
Bowling bench thori pheeki hai though. Anyone you would like to see and consistent team k sath rahay and who you think will come good? 2 such names of fast bowlers for tests?

Did you see Arshad Iqbal in U19 world cup?

Bowling bench thori pheeki hai though. Anyone you would like to see and consistent team k sath rahay and who you think will come good?

I'd like to see Bashir who's done the hard yards in domestic. He's a lot like Hasan: hardworking, skilled, athletic and a very smart bowler.

Hussain as an allrounder so Faheem has competition.

Imran Butt should be groomed next to replace Azhar. He's an excellent technician and has a good range of shots for test level.

I'd like to see Bashir who's done the hard yards in domestic. He's a lot like Hasan: hardworking, skilled, athletic and a very smart bowler.

Hussain as an allrounder so Faheem has competition.

Imran Butt should be groomed next to replace Azhar. He's an excellent technician and has a good range of shots for test level.

Fit hai thanks.

Pakistan is an always an inconsistent side. THere is no golden era. In the 90s they lost to Zimbabwe at home, SL at home. They blow hot and cold.

Beating England in 1 test wasn't the start of a golden era. Our fans base go OTT after 1 win. We will know if it's a golden era after 2019 WC. We play some good teams in LO and have to face South Africa in South Africa.

Let's wait and see before going OTT either way.

Beating England in 1 test wasn't the start of a golden era. Our fans base go OTT after 1 win. We will know if it's a golden era after 2019 WC. We play some good teams in LO and have to face South Africa in South Africa.

Let's wait and see before going OTT either way.

Winning 1 test match in England is not a big deal.SA tour will be greater challenge for Pakistan Team

Our fans will never learn, they deserve this humiliation.

Anyway, we have good chance of redeeming ourselves against the mighty Scotland in the T20 series, which presents us with another opportunity to prove our number one ranking in T20s.

Our golden run in T20s since the summer of 2016 will be talked about for generations to come, especially when you consider the legendary opposition that we have faced in our quest to become the best T20 team in the world.

Now we’re the worst team in the world:dw

Can’t wait for the next match against Scotland when we will once again restart our golden era.

Hope India do not get this type of golden era, they should be fine with their bronze era.

Golden era was finished when SL whitewashed Pak in UAE actually, fans may show their false bravado and disagree with it.

Some fans: “ Hi kaha gaya mera golden era? Abhi ek week pehle to yahi thaa!!!”

1-1 was about as optimistic as I was prepared to be with this team. I said before the series started that we aren't a quality side, but we are a danger to anyone, that's been Pakistan for the past decade or so.

Ireland match they had few heart stopping moments
Comprehensively thrashed England
Comprehensively thrashed by England

Going by this trend
Pakistan will comprehensively win the next match. :) just be happy

There on the right track for sure and more wins means more confidence. They just need to unearth a couple more good players..

Don't think he's a good option in the long term. Playing minnows can do more harm than good.

Pakistan have a good chance at the WC

Fakhar
Sahibzada / Haris (good against pace)
Babar
Malik
Sarfraz
Asif
Shadab
Amir
Hassan
Usman
Shaheen

I don't see much contribution of Faheem as a batsman. Better bring in Shaheen who looks to be world class.

Against non asian teams bring in Imad/ Yasir in place of Shaheen.

So has the golden era ended or is it a mere blip with more stellar performances expected. When can we expect the next golden era? :srini

It is normal for gold to get buried in desert sand. Wait for the rain in South Africa or England where you can witness the shining gold again.

Pakistan have a good chance at the WC

Fakhar
Sahibzada / Haris (good against pace)
Babar
Malik
Sarfraz
Asif
Shadab
Amir
Hassan
Usman
Shaheen

I don't see much contribution of Faheem as a batsman. Better bring in Shaheen who looks to be world class.

Against non asian teams bring in Imad/ Yasir in place of Shaheen.

Drop Shinwari he's rubbish and bring in Imad. Brings better balance to the team as well.

There's some good core players within the side but certain things need to be changed, like ever since our fielding coach has left out fielding has become atrocious. We're a team that constantly need that beating stick for us to maintain consistency in certain aspects of cricket, strike rotation needs to be considered way more and we need to think carefully about certain bowlers like Amir who isn't really doing anything with the ball.

When you do not have professional systems in place, this is the result.

I for once thinks this is start of something special, not golden era yet. this team is gelled together, is really remarkable, in Sarfraz they have mature aggressive leader, Babar has realize his weakness and strength, Shabaz khan is just amazing, he outperform himself in every game, Amir is starting to take wickets, Fakhar is the aggressor they were searching for at top of the order, and I know it’s too early but Hussein Talat can be the answer to our middle order problems.
I personally think they need to give Sarfraz another 3 years to captain Pakistan and let him groom a new captain.
To truly get the best out of this team, we Pakistanis should all stand behind the youngsters coming through and support this team in good or bad. It will take courage to keep learning and growing, not just for players but fir fans too.
There’s no more politics and no more favouritism ( besides one or two).
PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
SARAY JAHA SAY ACHA 🇵🇰 HUMARA

Good Old days

With Sarfaraz's SEVENTH consecutive T20 series win I personally feel that the much talked about 'Golden Era' has finally arrived for Pakistan cricket. Two World Class Fast Bowlers, A 19 Y/O leg spinning prodigy, 2 World Class pace bowling alrounders, a batting depth that rivals any other team out there and players who understand the modern game.

The Golden Era is here my friends!

Golden Eea ended too soon

Insha Allah golden era is coming back. We will win the world cup 2019 Insha Allah and no one will stop us. Couple of bad performances will happen with a young team but I'm sure when the world cup comes we will come good.
INSHA ALLAH

When's the next series against Zimbabwe ?

In all seriousness, these ups and down are to be expected from a young team. Beating up on weaker teams has led to complacency and rude awakenings when facing the top sides.

We need to learn from this debacle and learn to assess conditions better.

When's the next series against Zimbabwe ?

In all seriousness, these ups and down are to be expected from a young team. Beating up on weaker teams has led to complacency and rude awakenings when facing the top sides.

We need to learn from this debacle and learn to assess conditions better.

I just hope we never ever play a 5 game series against any minnow ever again. Its ok to play an odd game here and there but that should be it.

The Golden Era of Pakistan Cricket was 1978-1992. we Tied 3 test series against the Almighty Windies, Beat India in India & also in Pakistan. Beat England in England. 1986 Sharjah Cup and the Nehru Cup (which was a mini world cup) Beat Australia, NZ & England in Pakistan. Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Abdul Qadir, Miandad, Zaheer Abbas all the great stars were in this Golden Era. But that Era ended with 92 World Cup victory and Retirement of Imran Khan. Nothing even comes close to this Era.

Spot on.

And in this era India defeated Pakistan in 2 multination tournaments finals