How should the Pakistani government, PCB deal with the following ICC, BCCI and Government of India measures for forfeiting the India T20 WC game?

What do you want the ICC to do if Pakistan boycotts Feb 15 ?
I want Pakistan to boycott and as a consequence of that dilute and do away with ICC.

I want world cups to be once in four year events. More like 1 ODI every for years and 1 T20 WC every 2 years on an invite basis.

Do away with WTC. It’s a farce.

Bilateral cricket based on what countries can agree up on.

Let’s give that a shot for a decade. The ICC in its current form and geopolitical climate is not worth the bother. Resources can be put to better use in India instead funding cricket in Netherlands

The BCCI made a $392mn surplus last year. They received $340mn in distributions from the ICC. Anyone who thinks this won't have an impact on the BCCI as well is deluding themselves.
Sure it will have an ipact on BCCI just like everyone else. It is more about how much will it hurt.

I believe BCCI is in a position to absorb any type of hit. More so than other boards.

THis is another test for you , go find out of 44 cr Record, from where this is came. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

There is different between profit, hosting fees and broadcasting money

These idiots don't know anything. First read carefully everything

:klopp :kp

This is the BCCIs share of the tournaments profits. Their costs relating to the tournament are 10.69 crore. The suggestion they aren't taking a share of the profit is quite clearly a straight up lie.

Hosting the Asia Cup alone added over ₹100 crore to its earnings through hosting fees, media rights :klopp :kp

Who's earnings are you referring to? The Asia cup makes a profit for the ACC. The ACC then distribute those profits out to it's members. The BCCI accounts show them taking their share of those profits.

I want Pakistan to boycott and as a consequence of that dilute and do away with ICC.

I want world cups to be once in four year events. More like 1 ODI every for years and 1 T20 WC every 2 years on an invite basis.

Do away with WTC. It’s a farce.

Bilateral cricket based on what countries can agree up on.

Let’s give that a shot for a decade. The ICC in its current form and geopolitical climate is not worth the bother. Resources can be put to better use in India instead funding cricket in Netherlands

What are you on about ?

The question was what consequences/sanctions should the PCB face for the boycott. You went off on some rant about ICC schedule.

Who's earnings are you referring to? The Asia cup makes a profit for the ACC. The ACC then distribute those profits out to it's members. The BCCI accounts show them taking their share of those profits.
Leave it. You never understand. :klopp :kp

The BCCI:

View attachment 161295

@Devadwal and Akash Chopra: "“In the history of Asia Cup, BCCI has never taken its share from the tournament. They have never even touched it."
Most people don't understand this completely and make baseless assertions. Essentially India and the BCCI have allowed a more even distribution of revenue at the ACC compared to the ICC.

- India takes only 15% of the ACC distribution. Essentially that allows all the ACC major cricket playing nations to draw an even 15% - India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh. The remaining 25% is distributed to Affiliates
- However at the ICC level, India insists on a 38.5% share

Keep in mind that Indian broadcasters account for an even greater percentage of ACC's revenue than the ICC. At the ICC, the Jio deal comprises close to 80% of revenue. At the ACC, it's higher than 80% from the Sony Deal.

So while Akash Chopra is not completely right, he's not totally wrong either. The BCCI has deliberately chosen not to strongarm the ACC for various seasons - some altruistic, some not. It's unlikely to continue.

Most people don't understand this completely and make baseless assertions. Essentially India and the BCCI have allowed a more even distribution of revenue at the ACC compared to the ICC.

- India takes only 15% of the ACC distribution. Essentially that allows all the ACC major cricket playing nations to draw an even 15% - India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh. The remaining 25% is distributed to Affiliates
- However at the ICC level, India insists on a 38.5% share

Keep in mind that Indian broadcasters account for an even greater percentage of ACC's revenue than the ICC. At the ICC, the Jio deal comprises close to 80% of revenue. At the ACC, it's higher than 80% from the Sony Deal.

So while Akash Chopra is not completely right, he's not totally wrong either. The BCCI has deliberately chosen not to strongarm the ACC for various seasons - some altruistic, some not. It's unlikely to continue.

He is completely wrong though... He claimed they'd never even touched a share of the tournaments profits, when they quite clearly always have. The fact it's an equal share to the other full members (in the same way it was for ICC distributions until about a decade ago) is a completely different story and claim.

This kind of stuff is Chinese whispers. He probably read some vague, poorly written article that India is sacrificing it's share for Affiliates and interpreted it as completely giving up it's share. These cricketers are not finance nerds.

What are you on about ?

The question was what consequences/sanctions should the PCB face for the boycott. You went off on some rant about ICC schedule.
At a ICC level,

1) ban Pak from WC26 and deny them all ICC funds for 2026. It’s an easy case legally. Part events will have little direct impact as terms of the contract and situations and reasons are vastly different.

2) Put PCB membership up for a vote.

BCCI level

1) avoid PCB at all levels.

2) make boards and players choose between BCCI and PCb

0.5 billion USD from one game, Inds have already gone crazy. Their media has gone absolutely ballistic which is funny considering all the big talk was coming from them earlier. The nodders here who claimed India-Pakistan is not a rivalry are suddenly very interested. After a long time we have summoned the will to go for the jugular and every cricket fan not just Pak should be backing it. @Savak @DRsohail @Dr_Bassim spreading BCCI propaganda should be ignored.

I am not sure why you mentioned me.

I have nothing against boycott but I would see if they boycott the semi final or final vs India or is this just showboating ?

Pakistan should deal with this in a smart and practical way, not emotionally. The government and PCB should clearly put Pakistan’s position on record with the ICC, follow the rules, and ask for equal treatment. At the same time, they should avoid making loud political statements that only hurt Pakistan more.

If India or BCCI uses politics to forfeit games, Pakistan should let the ICC handle it and expose the double standards professionally. Play cricket wherever possible, strengthen ties with other boards, and focus on improving the team’s performance. In the long run, strong cricket and consistency will speak louder than walkovers and statements.

At a ICC level,

1) ban Pak from WC26 and deny them all ICC funds for 2026. It’s an easy case legally. Part events will have little direct impact as terms of the contract and situations and reasons are vastly different.

2) Put PCB membership up for a vote.

BCCI level

1) avoid PCB at all levels.

2) make boards and players choose between BCCI and PCb

You suspended bilateral cricket in 2008…. So why are you complaining today when Pakistan suspends ICC games?

Pakistan should deal with this in a smart and practical way, not emotionally. The government and PCB should clearly put Pakistan’s position on record with the ICC, follow the rules, and ask for equal treatment
That’s what they have done in the past and will do in the present

But they know that nobody listened in the past and will not listen in the present either

IMO Pakistan should just continue with its current, no nonsense mood. Let’s just get out of ICC after this tournament or even if they want us to get out now.

If India or BCCI uses politics to forfeit games, Pakistan should let the ICC handle it and expose the double standards professionally
Pata nahi kis dunya main rehte ho bro.

None of this will happen. Let Pakistan government /Naqvi/Munir do their thing. They will handle it in their way.

Pakistan should deal with this in a smart and practical way, not emotionally. The government and PCB should clearly put Pakistan’s position on record with the ICC, follow the rules, and ask for equal treatment. At the same time, they should avoid making loud political statements that only hurt Pakistan more.

It’s pointless speaking to the ICC because:

1. The ICC Chairman is Indian.
2. The ICC and its members only respond to financial interests.

The best strategy is to hit them where it hurts most.

Hum to doobenge sanam, tum ko bhi le doobenge that seems to be the only way forward.

When icc and its members will know its going to effect them too thats when they will take pcb serious

By now pakistan would have been kicked out if it didn't effect the other boards and the icc but because it does icc is running around and doing back channel talks

It’s pointless speaking to the ICC because:

1. The ICC Chairman is Indian.
2. The ICC and its members only respond to financial interests.

The best strategy is to hit them where it hurts most.

Hum to doobenge sanam, tum ko bhi le doobenge that seems to be the only way forward.

When icc and its members will know its going to effect them too thats when they will take pcb serious

By now pakistan would have been kicked out if it didn't effect the other boards and the icc but because it does icc is running around and doing back channel talks
I get the frustration and there’s some truth in what you’re saying as money is the language the ICC understands, and pressure only works when it affects everyone, not just Pakistan. That’s reality.

But going full “hum doobenge…” is risky. If Pakistan only plays the burn the house down card, we might hurt ourselves more than the system. The ICC won’t suddenly become fair out of fear; they’ll just look for ways to isolate PCB further if the moral high ground is lost.

A smarter approach is balance. Yes, apply pressure where it hurts financially, but at the same time keep engaging, building alliances, and forcing the ICC to deal with Pakistan as a stakeholder, not a troublemaker. Back channel talks are happening because Pakistan still matters and that leverage should be used carefully, not wasted.

Pakistan hasn’t been kicked out precisely because the system needs us too. The goal shouldn’t be mutual destruction, but making sure the cost of ignoring PCB is higher than the cost of listening. Pressure plus strategy beats anger alone.

Pata nahi kis dunya main rehte ho bro.

None of this will happen. Let Pakistan government /Naqvi/Munir do their thing. They will handle it in their way.
I get you but government pressure may create noise, but it doesn’t automatically translate into long-term fairness for Pakistan cricket.

The smarter path is using both fronts: keep pushing the issue formally through the ICC to keep the record clean, and apply pressure where it actually works.

I get the frustration and there’s some truth in what you’re saying as money is the language the ICC understands, and pressure only works when it affects everyone, not just Pakistan. That’s reality.

But going full “hum doobenge…” is risky. If Pakistan only plays the burn the house down card, we might hurt ourselves more than the system. The ICC won’t suddenly become fair out of fear; they’ll just look for ways to isolate PCB further if the moral high ground is lost.

A smarter approach is balance. Yes, apply pressure where it hurts financially, but at the same time keep engaging, building alliances, and forcing the ICC to deal with Pakistan as a stakeholder, not a troublemaker. Back channel talks are happening because Pakistan still matters and that leverage should be used carefully, not wasted.

Pakistan hasn’t been kicked out precisely because the system needs us too. The goal shouldn’t be mutual destruction, but making sure the cost of ignoring PCB is higher than the cost of listening. Pressure plus strategy beats anger alone.
Excellent post. To take it in a wider world context, do what Canada's been doing if you're feeling so aggrieved with India as Canada's been feeling with the US.

Yes the US (and specifically Trump) have been insulting and marginalising them but they haven't burnt their bridges. Carney's been speaking up - smartly and fearlessly at important forums, building alliances with other middle powers, preparing for the worst but living with things as they are in the real world without losing their self-respect.

Pakistan's actions would've been the equivalent of Canada throwing their toys out of the pram when Trump called them a 51st state and refusing to Trade with US. Mutual suicide pact so to say.

If India or BCCI uses politics to forfeit games, Pakistan should let the ICC handle it and expose the double standards professionally. Play cricket wherever possible, strengthen ties with other boards, and focus on improving the team’s performance. In the long run, strong cricket and consistency will speak louder than walkovers and statements.
Isn't that what Pakistan has done here. I've kept an eye on UK media and the overall coverage has been quite sympathetic. Nasser and Atherton Podcast basically were saying well done Pakistan and Bangladesh, butcher on the stick to cricket podcast also basically said well done Pakistan for sticking with their Muslim brother Bangladesh. Almost all media is viewing this event in th context of Indians treatment of fizz and their role in the champions trophy. Butcher made a good point that India didn't just inconvenience Pakistan during that they inconvenienced the other teams.

Pakistan in contrast has just missed one match, and in purely cricketing terms hasn't inconvenience anyone.

If I was PCB and BCB at this point I would be formally raising the potential of Bangladeshi and Pakistani players in 100 and raising via England cricket South Asian stars initiative too.

This situation was bound to occur sooner rather than later. Better that we are holding the matches and setting the building on fire than letting the Indians do it.

ICC Measures

- Decision to impose punitive financial punishments, penalties and with holding PCB's ICC's share or deducting any losses to the ICC against PCB's share?

- Decision to impose a ban on Pakistan's Cricket Status

- Decision to withdrawal approval, NOC of the Pakistan Super League?

BCCI/Government of India Measures

- Declaration that any foreign country or foreign player touring Pakistan or playing in Pakistan billaterally or in the Pakistan Super League will have no approval, permission to participate in the Indian Cricket economy as a player/commentator/coach

- Announcement that not a single takka from the Indian Cricket economy (95% of ICC's funds) can go to Pakistan

I hope to god that the government of Pakistan and the PCB has thought long and hard about India's, BCCI and ICC counter measures because trust me, if there is anything that motivates a common Indian to work bloody hard for their country and to uplift it, it is their deep core hatred for Pakistan.

The things i have outlined above are absolutely real possibilities. If i put myself in India's shoes, BCCI shoes, if they don't do something serious about the manner in which Bangladesh and now Pakistan have rebelled against them, they will lose face big time and other fellow cricketing countries will no longer take the BCCI seriously and given the manner in which the US, UK and the EU has dropped their "India as a competitor and counter weight to China in the region project" given the phenti the Indian military and the Indian air force received against Pakistan. Its very clear since the May conflict between the two countries, the West now literally has the following opinion about the Indians and the country of India in general "Yes, these guys are very rich, they have deep pockets, they talk a lot, they boast a lot, they think very mighty and haughty of themselves but when push comes to shove these guys can't fight worth ****". Very similarly the likes of the ECB, Cricket Australia, South Africa, New Zealand too will start questioning to what extent will the BCCI really go to punish their adversaries.

Hence, a real recession is going to hit Pakistan Cricket and the PSL and the PCB better have proper alternative plans in place to deal with what is to come ahead.

The last thing i want is for this whole saga to be a brief 5 minutes of glory basking by the Pakistani PM, Army Chief, Mohsin Naqvi and where they did not fully think or plan for the long term consequences of their decision.

West doesn't care what pakistanis think or say about India, nor do they run on pakistani military software updates, so what you wrote is your imagination

Isn't that what Pakistan has done here. I've kept an eye on UK media and the overall coverage has been quite sympathetic. Nasser and Atherton Podcast basically were saying well done Pakistan and Bangladesh, butcher on the stick to cricket podcast also basically said well done Pakistan for sticking with their Muslim brother Bangladesh. Almost all media is viewing this event in th context of Indians treatment of fizz and their role in the champions trophy. Butcher made a good point that India didn't just inconvenience Pakistan during that they inconvenienced the other teams.

Pakistan in contrast has just missed one match, and in purely cricketing terms hasn't inconvenience anyone.

If I was PCB and BCB at this point I would be formally raising the potential of Bangladeshi and Pakistani players in 100 and raising via England cricket South Asian stars initiative too.

This situation was bound to occur sooner rather than later. Better that we are holding the matches and setting the building on fire than letting the Indians do it.
Atherton and nasser usually support Pakistan, ever wonder y these gentleman don’t find work in the ipl regularly? Neither does holding, so don’t hold these podcasts as some kind of support, even usually anti India people like peter lalor are not supporting Pakistan on this

Wasn't that in the podcast where Gideon Haigh mentioned that Jay Shah was an unqualified disaster? I guess people will clip up what suits them and make their point based on that.

Senior sports journalist Waheed Khan in his vlog after extensive discussions with senior ICC past and present officials, PCB and some sources in the BCCI, is concluding that the PCB's current show down with the ICC and BCCI has nothing to do with Bangladesh but instead has everything to do with a long standing resentment in the PCB that they are being grotesquely underpaid by the ICC especially given the massive value of the Indo Pak matches to the ICC coffers and to the other ICC member countries and therefore PCB should rightfully be placed at number 2 on the ICC table with 18-20% of the revenues especially since India does not play Pakistan billaterally.

Mohsin Naqvi is holding the ICC by its balls and is gambling that the PCB while striking when the Iron is hot will be able to make the ICC, BCCI and other ICC member states agree to their demands

None of these people - analysts, youtubers, etc. matter one bit. They are no different than fans on forums and social media in terms of their impact on the events. They earn eyeballs and money while fans carry their nationalism. People - the administrators - who are in the thick of the real happenings are the only ones that matter.

Senior sports journalist Waheed Khan in his vlog after extensive discussions with senior ICC past and present officials, PCB and some sources in the BCCI, is concluding that the PCB's current show down with the ICC and BCCI has nothing to do with Bangladesh but instead has everything to do with a long standing resentment in the PCB that they are being grotesquely underpaid by the ICC especially given the massive value of the Indo Pak matches to the ICC coffers and to the other ICC member countries and therefore PCB should rightfully be placed at number 2 on the ICC table with 18-20% of the revenues especially since India does not play Pakistan billaterally.

Mohsin Naqvi is holding the ICC by its balls and is gambling that the PCB while striking when the Iron is hot will be able to make the ICC, BCCI and other ICC member states agree to their demands
Now that @zahid01 shared the article where Shahbaz Sharif said the decision to boycott was to show solidarity with Bangladesh, he totally diluted Pakistan’s position. Don’t they (Naqvi and Sharif) talk before commenting publicly? Now, unbeknownst to Naqvi, his own balls might be in the grinder with ICC having their hands on the switch. It appears - if this excuse remains true and consistent - that Pakistan will show up to play the game on the 15th. I also suspect Naqvi will carry his own grinder to Sharif’s office to return the favor.

From a pure cricket point of view, no other team’s schedule or preparation is affected. That’s very different from situations where India’s stance has reshaped entire tournaments and inconvenienced multiple teams.

I've been watching it too and it's fair to say that international media has largely seen this as a response, not a provocation. A lot of the commentary has linked it to past behaviour, especially how certain players were treated and how tournaments like the Champions Trophy were handled. In that context, Pakistan and Bangladesh come across as standing their ground rather than throwing a tantrum.

That said, I’d still be careful with the “setting the building on fire” idea. Moral victories and media sympathy are useful, but they don’t automatically translate into structural change. The ICC system is still stacked, and one or two symbolic stands won’t suddenly rebalance power.

Where I agree with you strongly is the next step. If PCB and BCB want this to mean something long-term, they need to push professionally with player opportunities, leagues like The Hundred, and stronger links through initiatives like England’s South Asian pathways. That’s how you turn a moment into leverage.

Perhaps this situation was probably inevitable. But the key difference will be whether Pakistan and Bangladesh stop at symbolism, or follow it up with smart, sustained pressure in the right forums.

The so called defense minister has been defeated by an old lady by more than 50 thousands vote but he is so b sharam that he accepted his seat and became defense ministers and the irony is that he talks about ICC been doing injustice 😆😆😆.

The dynamic between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the rest of the cricketing world has become the centrepiece of attention in the lead-up to this year's T20 World Cup. While the Bangladesh and Pakistan Cricket Boards have instigated forms of protest by either withdrawing from the tournament or boycotting their match against India, respectively, the ICC has been asked to consider the power the BCCI wields in the modern cricket landscape.

Former PCB chief Najam Sethi had his theory on why the PCB and BCB pulled out in different ways – and warned the BCCI that this was a sign of shifting winds, something they must consider seriously.

Speaking to India Today, Sethi explained that the strained relations had been in place for many years and were only exacerbated by the feeling that the BCCI used its stature as the richest cricket board to ‘bully’ the rest of the ICC.

“I’m not a spokesman for the PCB, I’m giving you my view. The PCB consulted the government, and they made this decision. There are 10-15 days to go before that match. My sense is that there are negotiations that are taking place, and my hope is that those negotiations will bear fruit,” Sethi started off by saying.

“It’s the attitude of the BCCI, that’s the problem. At every stage, they’ve been bullying people. Pakistan used to be isolated; it was one amongst ten at the time, and then everybody used to side with India. There was no point in standing out. I negotiated the final entry to the Big Three; we were the final ones, and we said no, we don’t want to be part of the Big Three,” he explained, referencing the ‘Big Three’ of India, Australia, and England, who receive the large majority of the ICC’s revenue.

Sethi further explained that the PCB had an issue with the nature of the revenue-sharing format and required some protest to have it distributed more evenly. Part of this was negotiating a series between India and Pakistan during Srinivasan's tenure as BCCI chairman.

“Nine members signed on, and Mr Srinivasan came to me and said, ‘Why do you want to be left alone, blah blah blah, you will be isolated,’ and the rest of it. We had decided to stand aside and be okay with it, because it was an inherently inequitable principle. They said okay, we will revise it, we will increase the shares of other members, including ours, and they agreed to play a series with us to make up for the previous losses we had incurred,” explained Sethi.

However, things didn’t go to plan as the BCCI pulled out of negotiations without warning – something Sethi described as the ‘biggest insult’.

“The contract was fine, but a year later, on the eve of the series, the BCCI, without a word, pulls out. I went to Mumbai in October of that year to sign on the dotted line and get everything sorted out, and they wouldn’t even see us at the hotel. Can you think of a bigger insult?” asked Sethi.

“The chairman and I went to Mumbai, sat in the hotel, and the BCCI sent a message saying sorry, we can’t meet you. And we’d been invited to come to Mumbai.”

Returning to the current conflict on the subcontinent, Sethi explained that he believed a coalition of Pakistan and Bangladesh could turn the tide in a sport that has grown increasingly dominated by India. He admitted that the short-term consequences could prove to be quite severe, but would be worth the brief pain at the end.

“They’ve been treating us very badly. Now that Bangladesh have been snubbed in a sense, we feel there are 400 million people on one side. We can all stand up. The philosophy behind the thinking in Bangladesh and Pakistan now is that it’s time to stand up,” explained Sethi.

“The inequitable policy positions the ICC takes just because the BCCI is running the ICC… There may be temporary losses, but at the end of the day, we will get a better, reformed ICC.”

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...has-been-bullying-people-101770259991410.html

Every sane person can tell that this is mostly about that and it has nothing to do with Bangladesh. Only fools will believe this.

THis is another test for you , go find out of 44 cr Record, from where this is came. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

There is different between profit, hosting fees and broadcasting money

These idiots don't know anything. First read carefully everything

:klopp :kp
The only one who seems more hurt than BCCI's ego is this person who acts like he is laughing yet he's losing hair over his life time wait to try and troll his favourite nation that he cannot spend a day without mentioning. Please stop masking yourself behind the fake façade you have. No one cares from our side of the border if the match is played or not. The country took a stand and it should stick to it even it means we must be thrown out, so be it! If anyone thinks a nation of 220million will die without playing cricket with India is delusional to the core. Power shifts from time to time. We just have to the ride the wave and this must be done to teach BCCI/ICC @ a lesson. Indian media is printing money by coming up with devadasesque conjectures on an hourly basis. The views etc are skyrocketed why? Because Pakistan is mentioned end of.

True and spot on,
This is the real game PCB is trying to play out
Following table is to be blamed,

1770286501446.jpeg

All Countries/Boards get more than their commercial contribution except BCCI. Thats why all the boards side with India, which offers 70-80% contrubution most which is Indian teritory Media Rights and they know ICC Event without India is non profitable for all.
PCB thinks the contribution from India is due to India Vs Pak Match in ICC Events.

This Boycot call will test this as a truth/myth. It will either be boom or burst for PCB.

If its truth; Question is where will the additional 10-12% revenue share for PCB come from?

True and spot on,

View attachment 161343

All Countries/Boards get more than their commercial contribution except BCCI. Thats why all the boards side with India, which offers 70-80% contrubution most which is Indian teritory Media Rights and they know ICC Event without India is non profitable for all.
PCB thinks the contribution from India is due to India Vs Pak Match in ICC Events.

This Boycot call will test this as a truth/myth. It will either be boom or burst for PCB.

If its truth; Question is where will the additional 10-12% revenue share for PCB come from?
The estimated commercial contribution doesn't take into account the extra money generated from Indian market via the Pakistan, India game.

It is important to make a distinction between BCCI and the Indian media channels in this case.

BCCI doesn't really contribute anything. It is the Indian media company that are the contributers, and at the moment it's undeniable that their contribution is hinged on an Indian v Pakistan match at every tournament. That's the reason we have reached this impasse and why neither India or Pakistan could simply pull out of tournaments without attempts for accomodation.

Of course that doesn't give the PCB any right to request such a high distribution either.

The estimated commercial contribution doesn't take into account the extra money generated from Indian market via the Pakistan, India game.

It is important to make a distinction between BCCI and the Indian media channels in this case.

BCCI doesn't really contribute anything. It is the Indian media company that are the contributers, and at the moment it's undeniable that their contribution is hinged on an Indian v Pakistan match at every tournament. That's the reason we have reached this impasse and why neither India or Pakistan could simply pull out of tournaments without attempts for accomodation.

Of course that doesn't give the PCB any right to request such a high distribution either.
True, but its Indian Media Rights for Indian Teritory.
If Populartion and Eyeballs are to be considered, Media Rights for Pakistan and Bangaldesh with population of 40 Million are not Contrubuting much.

I agree with Indian Eyeballs for India Vs Pak Match. But Not sure how much it matters in terms of share in Contrubution

The Boycot fiasco; if goes through, we all will get to know if its truth or myth

If Populartion and Eyeballs are to be considered, Media Rights for Pakistan and Bangaldesh with population of 40 Million are not Contrubuting much.

I agree with Indian Eyeballs for India Vs Pak Match. But Not sure how much it matters in terms of share in Contrubution

The Boycot fiasco; if goes through, we all will get to know if its truth or myth
I think it's a strong argument from the PCB but only if used fairly. They are indirect heavy contributers to the ICC via this match, however it is not enough to justify a big increase as suggested by @Savak post where they are asking for 18-20% ( allegedly this is still not substantiated).

PCB should also put forward their own forecasts about how they hope to grow the game and have Pakistan be a bigger contributers to have a stronger argument than relying on one match.

There wouldn't be so much hue and cry if the boycott wasn't leading to financial implications for ICC and BCCI.

How hard is it to understand?

Would the ICC have put out a media release at 11 PM on a Sunday night had this not been hurting them?

Get your heads out of the sand, it's unfortunate but Pakistan has played it's ONLY card and it's leading to a lot of noise.

So reports ICC will give Pakistans share of revenue to the broadcaster as compensation, where does it stands legally I hope Naqvi and Rizvi understand this

There wouldn't be so much hue and cry if the boycott wasn't leading to financial implications for ICC and BCCI.

Would the ICC have put out a media release at 11 PM on a Sunday night had this not been hurting them?

Get your heads out of the sand, it's unfortunate but Pakistan has played it's ONLY card and it's leading to a lot of noise.
True it might lead to financial Implecation for ICC and BCCI and more so all boards including Associates. Such Financial implication will only be for immideaite future. Indian Media Rights contribution is through Indian Citizens Pockets, In the abcense of India Vs Pakistan Match in Future, they will use it in whatever other rivalaries are available for thier Entertainment in future.

Once Pakistans financial liverage of India Vs Pakistan Match is gone with this bycott, please forsee the future

Pretty much this.

What has gone unnoticed is the overpaying of these rights by Indian companies whether they are title sponsors or they hold media rights. They require interest and hype for the Indian public to continually pay for content. cricket is essentially eating out of the same pie, be it IPL, ICC tournaments and other Indian owned tournaments around the world. Amongst all this, there is only one true rivalry that they can leverage for the hype machine and that is India Pakistan matches. This is from a viewing perspective, not only in the two countries themselves but in the expat community worldwide. Take example of the UK, I would imagine that atleast 30-40% of the TV audience will be of asian origin. If significant chunk of these fans lose interest over time and turn to other sports, it will be hard to get them back. This all has a domino effect, while at first its not as noticeable, but when it gathers pace, its too late by then.

True it might lead to financial Implecation for ICC and BCCI and more so all boards including Associates. Such Financial implication will only be for immideaite future. Indian Media Rights contribution is through Indian Citizens Pockets, In the abcense of India Vs Pakistan Match in Future, they will use it in whatever other rivalaries are available for thier Entertainment in future.

Once Pakistans financial liverage of India Vs Pakistan Match is gone with this bycott, please forsee the future
IMO PCB have also realised that there is a couple of things going on in the background.

There does seem to be popular support within India for not playing Pakistan. I have seen a lot of criticism for BCCI and GOI for allowing these fixtures to take place, but the rights deals have already been agreed for this cycle to include these fixtures. The obvious answer is that Indians hands are tied, it is far easier for Pakistan to take an action that affects Indian pockets than it is for India. Perhaps Pakistan has taken into account that their utility with this fixture, might be lessened in the future anyway, so let's try to maximise it now.

2. International cricket TV rights are diminishing anyway. Indian organisations have realized that they have overpaid. Pakistan may be making a move to ensure that they are still near the top of the table after the renegotiation or the right packages renewal. This whole process hasn't led to just the criticism of Pakistan, the consensus across the world seems to be criticism against the "politicization" of cricket as a whole. This is something that is beneficial to Pakistan. The whole subcontinent is seen as policitised. So perhaps other boards will move more cautiously in the future to avoid scrutinty for siding with India for political reasons.

What will happen in the future? International cricket will die? Leagues will take over? Associates will be pretty much bankrupt, along with a few other cricket boards beside India, England and Australia.

No way a broadcaster touches an ICC event with even remotely the same amount of money as they are paying right now.

You don't seem to quite understand what's at play here and just commenting for the sake of it.

Neither do you understand, Pakistan has accepted whatever will happen to them in the long run if they go through with this step. It's what will happen to international cricket that's actually more concerning.

So reports ICC will give Pakistans share of revenue to the broadcaster as compensation, where does it stands legally I hope Naqvi and Rizvi understand this
Shah & Co. will have to really lean on Jio for them to accept just $35M odd (i.e. Pakistan's share of revenue) as compensation. It's possible since they're all one big cabal - Ambani-Modi-Shah-Shah Jr. What about next year's world cup though? Will Pakistan be willing to play India? Will India be willing to play Pakistan?

Can't see the Broadcaster accepting the situation even with a lot of pressure from the BCCI.

IMO PCB have also realised that there is a couple of things going on in the background.

There does seem to be popular support within India for not playing Pakistan. I have seen a lot of criticism for BCCI and GOI for allowing these fixtures to take place, but the rights deals have already been agreed for this cycle to include these fixtures. The obvious answer is that Indians hands are tied, it is far easier for Pakistan to take an action that affects Indian pockets than it is for India. Perhaps Pakistan has taken into account that their utility with this fixture, might be lessened in the future anyway, so let's try to maximise it now.

2. International cricket TV rights are diminishing anyway. Indian organisations have realized that they have overpaid. Pakistan may be making a move to ensure that they are still near the top of the table after the renegotiation or the right packages renewal. This whole process hasn't led to just the criticism of Pakistan, the consensus across the world seems to be criticism against the "politicization" of cricket as a whole. This is something that is beneficial to Pakistan. The whole subcontinent is seen as policitised. So perhaps other boards will move more cautiously in the future to avoid scrutinty for siding with India for political reasons.
No majority of hardcore Indian Cricket fans want India Pakistan matches in ICC Tournaments, while they stand with BCCI/Govt on no bilaterals.

Those supporing india for not playing pakistan are social and political class who are not cricket lovers or to some extent may be marginal cricket lovers

as far as media rights are concerned you may be right in general to some extent,

but Jiohotstar who owns the media rights doesnt think like that.
Reliance Industries market capital is close to GDP of Pakistan. They also Own an IPL Team worth more than 100 million dollar. Further they also spend more than 100 million dollar annually on CSR (search for Vantara Project a premier wildlife rehabilitation forest which is developed with a cost of 150 million dollar).

So through Jio Hotsar or Mumbai Indians, Rellaince only want public presenece in the eyes of Indians, by which they can earn many more in other sectors. and that is the reason they have over paid. I dont think the boycot will have much of dent on their financial standings even if they absorb the ICC Losses.

ICC or BCCICC as people say they are only trying to minimise the losses for all boards. BCCI can absorb losses or to some extent CA and ECB may also absorb losses but all other boards cannot.

True and spot on,

View attachment 161343

If this table doesn't scream for self suffciency, not sure what will.

This is so lopsided it's unreal and ridiculous at the same time. All this talk about change in setup, getting rid of ICC, forming new organization, re-balance of power is all valid.

There needs to be a balance not just in power, but also in financial contribution.

The dynamic between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the rest of the cricketing world has become the centrepiece of attention in the lead-up to this year's T20 World Cup. While the Bangladesh and Pakistan Cricket Boards have instigated forms of protest by either withdrawing from the tournament or boycotting their match against India, respectively, the ICC has been asked to consider the power the BCCI wields in the modern cricket landscape.

Former PCB chief Najam Sethi had his theory on why the PCB and BCB pulled out in different ways – and warned the BCCI that this was a sign of shifting winds, something they must consider seriously.

Speaking to India Today, Sethi explained that the strained relations had been in place for many years and were only exacerbated by the feeling that the BCCI used its stature as the richest cricket board to ‘bully’ the rest of the ICC.

“I’m not a spokesman for the PCB, I’m giving you my view. The PCB consulted the government, and they made this decision. There are 10-15 days to go before that match. My sense is that there are negotiations that are taking place, and my hope is that those negotiations will bear fruit,” Sethi started off by saying.

“It’s the attitude of the BCCI, that’s the problem. At every stage, they’ve been bullying people. Pakistan used to be isolated; it was one amongst ten at the time, and then everybody used to side with India. There was no point in standing out. I negotiated the final entry to the Big Three; we were the final ones, and we said no, we don’t want to be part of the Big Three,” he explained, referencing the ‘Big Three’ of India, Australia, and England, who receive the large majority of the ICC’s revenue.

Sethi further explained that the PCB had an issue with the nature of the revenue-sharing format and required some protest to have it distributed more evenly. Part of this was negotiating a series between India and Pakistan during Srinivasan's tenure as BCCI chairman.

“Nine members signed on, and Mr Srinivasan came to me and said, ‘Why do you want to be left alone, blah blah blah, you will be isolated,’ and the rest of it. We had decided to stand aside and be okay with it, because it was an inherently inequitable principle. They said okay, we will revise it, we will increase the shares of other members, including ours, and they agreed to play a series with us to make up for the previous losses we had incurred,” explained Sethi.

However, things didn’t go to plan as the BCCI pulled out of negotiations without warning – something Sethi described as the ‘biggest insult’.

“The contract was fine, but a year later, on the eve of the series, the BCCI, without a word, pulls out. I went to Mumbai in October of that year to sign on the dotted line and get everything sorted out, and they wouldn’t even see us at the hotel. Can you think of a bigger insult?” asked Sethi.

“The chairman and I went to Mumbai, sat in the hotel, and the BCCI sent a message saying sorry, we can’t meet you. And we’d been invited to come to Mumbai.”

Returning to the current conflict on the subcontinent, Sethi explained that he believed a coalition of Pakistan and Bangladesh could turn the tide in a sport that has grown increasingly dominated by India. He admitted that the short-term consequences could prove to be quite severe, but would be worth the brief pain at the end.

“They’ve been treating us very badly. Now that Bangladesh have been snubbed in a sense, we feel there are 400 million people on one side. We can all stand up. The philosophy behind the thinking in Bangladesh and Pakistan now is that it’s time to stand up,” explained Sethi.

“The inequitable policy positions the ICC takes just because the BCCI is running the ICC… There may be temporary losses, but at the end of the day, we will get a better, reformed ICC.”

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...has-been-bullying-people-101770259991410.html

I’ve always had the highest respect for Najam Sethi; so when he says something, I for one will absolutely listen.

BCCI’s arrogance is a fair point but PCB’s response is inept, even self defeating.

Pakistan has commented on the reason for their boycott - India’s treatment of Bangladesh. Regardless of what I think of it, consider how that will hold up in a rules bound ICC arbitration conmittee. Not at all, IMO.

They’ve talked their way into a situation where if they play it’s a climb down (with BD looking on), if they don’t play it’s a financial hammer incoming.

Of course PCB could be up to take the consequences of the boycott, in which case it’s a new world again.

Yes, they have realized that they overpaid. Mainly because they have figured out that the bang for the buck is in the IPL. International cricket in India is still fairly big. But IPL audience is bigger. More $$$$ to be made in the IPL.

I am sure the next cycle of deals will have a big impact on the both BCCI internationals and IPL. But in different directions.

What will happen in the future? International cricket will die? Leagues will take over? Associates will be pretty much bankrupt, along with a few other cricket boards beside India, England and Australia.

No way a broadcaster touches an ICC event with even remotely the same amount of money as they are paying right now.

You don't seem to quite understand what's at play here and just commenting for the sake of it.

Neither do you understand, Pakistan has accepted whatever will happen to them in the long run if they go through with this step. It's what will happen to international cricket that's actually more concerning.
Whether somehow, the match happens next week or not, you're right that the amount of money in international cricket will fall. The broadcaster was already complaining ICC cricket is loss making for them. With the key match so up in the air that either team can call it off for any minor reason, they're not going to bid anywhere near as much. International cricket will have to get used to living on less money. Whether all countries will be altruistic enough to absorb the cuts fairly or just try to squeeze the Associates and weaker nations like West Indies and Afghanistan is the question.

I don't think it's impossible for international cricket to die though. There are several sports where the money is miniscule - volleyball, handball etc. which still manage to have over 200 countries as members in the international association, hold international tournaments etc. It just might be a smaller less glitzy event - less cameras, less use of technologies like hawkeye etc. but it'll continue with a tightened belt.

The fear as you say is that Franchise cricket will start to look more glamorous in comparison - better production values, more promotion etc. It'll be a loss

Exactly. It is concerning. But, what are the boards doing about it? As of now, only option that is being followed is sit around and wait for the BCCI $$$ to fall into their laps.

What is the strategy to change things? How? Who does it? What needs to be done?

Nothing is being even discussed, let alone taking action. There are so many boards in that table in post #206. What are all these people doing? Are they not concerned about international cricket?

Exactly. It is concerning. But, what are the boards doing about it? As of now, only option that is being followed is sit around and wait for the BCCI $$$ to fall into their laps.

What is the strategy to change things? How? Who does it? What needs to be done?

Nothing is being even discussed, let alone taking action. There are so many boards in that table in post #206. What are all these people doing? Are they not concerned about international cricket?
This is very valid. I actually put the BCCi in the category of these boards too.

I am starting to distance even the BCCI and IPL now. I think we will see a clash between them too. BCCI has also got cocky thinking that their position will remain dominant because Indian media bring in the Tv right. But in this post-international world, BCCI will be dictated to, rather than dictating to the media companies.

Will we see a scenario soon where an IPL team can safely tell the BCCI to go do one if the BCCI denies an NOC to an Indian player to play in SA20? I think its likely.

This is very valid. I actually put the BCCi in the category of these boards too.

I am starting to distance even the BCCI and IPL now. I think we will see a clash between them too. BCCI has also got cocky thinking that their position will remain dominant because Indian media bring in the Tv right. But in this post-international world, BCCI will be dictated to, rather than dictating to the media companies.

Will we see a scenario soon where an IPL team can safely tell the BCCI to go do one if the BCCI denies an NOC to an Indian player to play in SA20? I think its likely.
BCCI is getting what it wants. So there will be no effort from them. The rest have to bring about the change.

Between the BCCI and IPL, the IPL is already more powerful. They bring in more $$$ than BCCI fixtures. The balance of power within India has already shifted.

Now imagine what happens when next IPL expansion happens. The one after that. Big changes in the next couple of decades. IPL is already close to 20 yrs. Seismic shift in things in the next 20.

Salute to BCCI for acting like a responsible board and not making any bravado statements. On one side PM, interior minister etc are speaking about a random wc game and on the other side BCCI has shown total silence. Of course at this point it is ICC vs PCB but still very well done. Respect is earned and they earned it 👍

BCCI silence scares me if they have become incompetent. Their silence also should scare the opponents because it can also mean calm before the storm and waiting game while patience runs out.

Let’s see.

Same for pakistan if you remove india vs Pakistan game, Thier contribution is equal to Bangladesh, lanka , WI.

They should get same revenue like These countries.

Still a decade or so away. As long as the average Indian kid grows up dreaming of wearing the India cap rather than the Chennai Super Kings cap, it's big leverage.

The conflict is coming though. As of now, they haven't started demanding things like control of the stadiums, longer windows, academies, player development contracts i.e. all the stuff that clubs/franchises in other international sports leagues have. I'm sure that's what they'll look for before starting to challenge stuff like NOCs. In any case, not all Indian team owners own teams in other leagues so there's bound to be conflicts on whether that's something they really want.

Eventually, I expect it'll end up like the FA in England. Some power sharing and the balance will keep shifting. Anyway, someone needs to negotiate the broadcasting contracts, deal with the government etc....might as well be the BCCI.

SA20 franchises are owned by Indian owners and most are extension of their IPl franchises.

Also BCCI rules are very clear, if you retire from all formats including IPL only then you can play foreign leagues. i am surprised you and some of your ilk type 10000s of words every day but not a single thing is based on any data, fact, evidence, logic, just wishful thinking.

Every post of yours can be summarized as “Moody bad bruh” “Endia will be destroyed brah” “ummah power mate”- that’s all. It is definitely irritating in a provocative way. That’s about it. At least bring some structure you your argument.

SA20 franchises are owned by Indian owners and most are extension of their IPl franchises.

Also BCCI rules are very clear, if you retire from all formats including IPL only then you can play foreign leagues. i am surprised you and some of your ilk type 10000s of words every day but not a single thing is based on any data, fact, evidence, logic, just wishful thinking.

Every post of yours can be summarized as “Moody bad bruh” “Endia will be destroyed brah” “ummah power mate”- that’s all. It is definitely irritating in a provocative way. That’s about it. At least bring some structure you your argument.
If you don't understand a post. Don't just argue for the sake of it. Btw I've never mentioned Tom Moody he seems like a nice guy, not sure why you think I am against him.

Still a decade or so away. As long as the average Indian kid grows up dreaming of wearing the India cap rather than the Chennai Super Kings cap, it's big leverage.

The conflict is coming though. As of now, they haven't started demanding things like control of the stadiums, longer windows, academies, player development contracts i.e. all the stuff that clubs/franchises in other international sports leagues have. I'm sure that's what they'll look for before starting to challenge stuff like NOCs. In any case, not all Indian team owners own teams in other leagues so there's bound to be conflicts on whether that's something they really want.

Eventually, I expect it'll end up like the FA in England. Some power sharing and the balance will keep shifting. Anyway, someone needs to negotiate the broadcasting contracts, deal with the government etc....might as well be the BCCI.
Yes, in the next couple of decades, there will be big changes. Especially with IPL expansion.

IPL at 20 yrs has some history behind it. The 35 and under crowd pretty much has not known cricket without IPL. The 40 something were in their 20's when IPL came about. Now these people have kids on their own that are getting to an age that they will start following sports. These kids more than likely will follow IPL teams with vigor. Father-son supporting the same team. Family traditions develop.

Cricket consumption in India is shifting. What it will look in the next 20 yrs will likely be very different.

Pakistan is on the wrong foot. They will be embarrassed either way.
If they agree to some silly conditions, that will be a huge embarrassment.
If they stick to their stand and boycott, they will face repercussions from the ICC.

Popcorn time :trump2

Looks like match is happening according to a very close source, I will be getting the tikuts in a couple of days.

If the BCCI is brought to its knees and made BD to pay compensation for the unjustified treatment (through ICC), Pakistan should play India

Sri Lankan and Pakistani cricket have made great sacrifices for eachother

Ideally, Sri Lankan board should have not asked Pakistan to reconsider but I can understand where they are coming from

Pakistan should ask for things in return for BD and itself, before agreeing to play the game

Now that it has been proven that the PCB's participation is essential in the ICC tournaments, the revenue sharing model of the ICC events needs to be adjusted. Pakistan should demand the changes. They should play smart and ask for the increase in revenue shares of all the other Test playing nations too. The ICC events are nothing without the Anglo countries' participation. Throw a bone at the Anglo boards at the expense of India.

I am not sure why you mentioned me.

I have nothing against boycott but I would see if they boycott the semi final or final vs India or is this just showboating ?
Self respect over money, self respect over points and trophies. Period.

If the BCCI is brought to its knees and made BD to pay compensation for the unjustified treatment (through ICC), Pakistan should play India

Sri Lankan and Pakistani cricket have made great sacrifices for eachother

Ideally, Sri Lankan board should have not asked Pakistan to reconsider but I can understand where they are coming from

Yeah nah. The boycott should remain.

If you really want to make it up to Sri Lanka, play a tri-series featuring Pak, SL and BD a few months down the line. Problem solved.

@Savak you sound like a BCCI mouthpiece in your posts. Please back up your claims with sources and don't post random rumors as facts.

Im not sure why ICC will go beyond ICC tournaments to penalize PCB even if ICC Board decides to come up with punitive measures. banning bilateral series and Hold up of NOCs for PSL seems like overplaying the hand and allowing PCB to seek legal remedies

Deep down you know very well that is what it will end up being. i.e 5 mins of glory and grandstanding.
exactly what I had predicted ... PCB got its 5 mins of fame by trying to be heroic and then predictably caved in when the big boys started dealing with them .... In the end BD cricket board looking like a stupid fool :ROFLMAO:

@Savak