ICC World Cup 2019 : Points table, Net Run Rates, qualifying scenarios & Stats thread

lQMybBB.png

Pakistan still bottom in terms of NRR :(

In my opinion three spots are confirmed

1-Australia
Remaining matches 4
vs ban w vs eng L vs Nz w vs SA w
2-India
Matches remaining 6
vs pak w vs afg w vs eng L vs ban W vs sl W vs wi W
3-England
Matches remaining 5
Vs Afg W Vs sl W Vs NZ W Vs Aus W Vs ind W
Final points for these teams
Aus 14 (Australia can still out from from wc if they loss against NZ and SA which makes 10)
India 15
Eng 16
Now comes 4th team, have a look at
-NZ remaining matches
Vs pak L Vs Eng L vs Wi W vs aus L vs SA w
-Pak remaining matches
Vs ind L vs SA W vs Nz W vs Ban W vs Afg W
-WI remaing matches
Vs ind L vs ban W vs NZ L vs SL W vs Afg W
Final points
Nz 11
Pak 11
Wi 9
Semifinalists (lot depends on pak vs ind for pak chances If its washout than pak will take 4th spot)
NZ, Aus , Eng , Ind,.

In my opinion three spots are confirmed

1-Australia
Remaining matches 4
vs ban w vs eng L vs Nz w vs SA w
2-India
Matches remaining 6
vs pak w vs afg w vs eng L vs ban W vs sl W vs wi W
3-England
Matches remaining 5
Vs Afg W Vs sl W Vs NZ W Vs Aus W Vs ind W
Final points for these teams
Aus 14 (Australia can still out from from wc if they loss against NZ and SA which makes 10)
India 15
Eng 16
Now comes 4th team, have a look at
-NZ remaining matches
Vs pak L Vs Eng L vs Wi W vs aus L vs SA w
-Pak remaining matches
Vs ind L vs SA W vs Nz W vs Ban W vs Afg W
-WI remaing matches
Vs ind L vs ban W vs NZ L vs SL W vs Afg W
Final points
Nz 11
Pak 11
Wi 9
Semifinalists (lot depends on pak vs ind for pak chances If its washout than pak will take 4th spot)
NZ, Aus , Eng , Ind,.

Arent you being highly optimistic that after losing to India or gaining a point from washout, Pakistan will somehow magically win 4 on the trot to qualify?

I feel Aussies might not make the semis so that leaves two spots open for the semis (along with England and India)

England and India will fight for the top two slots. Aus will fight for slot 2 or 3. NZ (highly probable) or Pak / WI (less probable) for slot 4.

NZ team brings too much uncertainty to the equation. The only way I see them having a collective meltdown is if Pak or WI gives them a good thrashing.

Well that was it. end of Pakistan CWC19 journey.

Technically speaking there is a possibility of Pakistan qualifying without even counting the NRR. By adding a game washed out game b/w South Africa and New Zealand and expecting new zealand to lose their remaining games + some other results and all. Like it is fun to play. But it's over really for Pakistan

We dont deserve to be in the semi final.Should focous on the next world cup and improving our team.We should build a team that at least wont loose at home(in uae or Pakistan).I am happy with our top 3 batting but our middle,lower order and spin bowling needs a major ramp up.We have the players ,just need to get rid off corruption in the pcb.

It will be your typical Pakistani performance. A couple of hundreds from the middle order on dead rubber games. Cement their spot for the next tournament. Rinse and repeat

Scenario for Pakistan to qualify for WC semi final spot without the requirement of NRR

1st the must win all of their remaining games

Only important games. Not adding the possibility of an upset game or dead rubbers

Scenario
1. New Zealand vs South Africa - New Zealand should not win
2. England vs New Zealand - New Zealand should not win.

These two games matters the most. Other matches results don't matter as long as there is not an upset.

Scenario for Pakistan to qualify for WC semi final spot without the requirement of NRR

Only important games. Not adding the possibility of an upset game or dead rubbers

Scenario
3. Australia vs New Zealand - New Zealand should not win.

These two games matters the most. Other matches results don't matter as long as there is not an upset.
This is possible

Scenario

Didn't understand the second match. Why would England should win?

thus ends pak's wc2019. i don't see any other way you guys will qualify to semi. nrr is very poor.

If only things go a certain way so the Pak vs B'desh game will be a decider. Not sure what Bangladesh's chances and permutations are, but knocking Pak out will be a good enough incentive to make it a great game.

Scenario

Thank you for the explanation,our hopes are not out.

We had a tough draw early on. I am glad to see a winning momentum.

Not to get complacent but we can try our bench warmers against Afghanistan. Bhuvi must rest. We will need him later.

So potentially 3 games without Dhawan and India’s doing alright so far m. Hopefully he is back when we need him badly

It’s over for Pakistan..they are at the bottom of the table,above afghans..don’t emtertain false hopes..it’s done and dusted

Scenario

You are probably ignoring Windies chance of securing the last SF berth in place of NZ (assuming NZ's campaign gets derailed like you want it to).

Pakistan's tournament is pretty much over. Not only do we need 4 consecutive wins, we need a lot of results to go our way.

Does we have 1% chance?

Theoretically there is always a chance especially with so much uncertainty due to rain but realistically speaking and looking at the way we lost our last two matches don't see how we will beat NZ and SA or even Bangladesh and the moment we lose another match we will be completely out of the tournament.

But even if Pakistan makes the semifinals and takes on fourth spot, they will be facing India right? This is suicidal

NZ needs to lose against SA, Aus, Eng

Which is very much possible . Apart from SA match Aus and Eng both are better teams than NZ and are in top form.. So we basically need to win all of the rest of our matches and beat Afg and Ban with thumping margins to better our RR.

IF NZ loses against SA, Aus and Eng and Pakistan wins all matches, RR wouldn't matter as Pakistan will be sitting with higher points than NZ. Kiwis I have a feeling will lose even against West Indies. They played against all easy teams, not it gets tougher also South Africa looked happy over their first victory and highly likely Ngidi will return, Kiwis be very very afraid :afridi

Just did some complex calcs and to be honest only way pak can qualify is to win all matches and nz to lose vs pak and saf,eng,aus
that will get nz to 9 points or have nz washout vs one of AESScreenshot_20190617-004105.jpg

You are probably ignoring Windies chance of securing the last SF berth in place of NZ (assuming NZ's campaign gets derailed like you want it to).

This is one scenario. I believe there is another one where Australia gets out as well.

For Windies it's important they win against India.

IF NZ loses against SA, Aus and Eng and Pakistan wins all matches, RR wouldn't matter as Pakistan will be sitting with higher points than NZ. Kiwis I have a feeling will lose even against West Indies. They played against all easy teams, not it gets tougher also South Africa looked happy over their first victory and highly likely Ngidi will return, Kiwis be very very afraid :afridi

Yaar, tumhara team ko Shankar/Pandya aisa damage kiya tho Rababda, Ngidi, Boult, Ferguson, Henry kiya karegi?

One thing is for sure, if Pakistan makes semis from here, momentum will be so high they will win the whole thing.

But I still can’t see NZ losing four matches and us winning four matches.

This is one scenario. I believe there is another one where Australia gets out as well.

For Windies it's important they win against India.

Put simply we need one or two of the top four to get derailed and then also the borderline contenders like WI, SL etc to also keep losing to the top 2 and those at the bottom and then win all our matches and also improve our NRR. Haha. Realistically there are better chances of Malik hitting a century in this WC than all that happening.

Tbh I just want them to lose against sa and get it over with.
No need to give us false hope.

With each loss paks chances of making semi gets better according to this thread.. pak fans officially losing the plot!!

One thing is for sure, if Pakistan makes semis from here, momentum will be so high they will win the whole thing.

But I still can’t see NZ losing four matches and us winning four matches.

Pakistan is definitely winning the World Cup. Lost to India in 1992 as well.

pakistan and west indies are out of the race, especially with the washed out matches.

india and australia, have almost definitely set their spots in semi final. don't see pak winning against new zealand. new zealand will also make the semi finals most likely.

and i dont see england messing up, it would take a herculean effort for them to not make it in the semi finals

the semi finals are kind of already decided, its a waste of time hoping for dreaming of pak making it in the semis. if the rain did not wash out games, then maybe we could hope against all hope, but now its already gone. pak should now think of the future

Put simply we need one or two of the top four to get derailed and then also the borderline contenders like WI, SL etc to also keep losing to the top 2 and those at the bottom and then win all our matches and also improve our NRR. Haha. Realistically there are better chances of Malik hitting a century in this WC than all that happening.

Highly unlikely. Nevertheless it is predicated on the understanding that NZ have the hardest run in while we have the easiest.

pakistan and west indies are out of the race, especially with the washed out matches.

india and australia, have almost definitely set their spots in semi final. don't see pak winning against new zealand. new zealand will also make the semi finals most likely.

and i dont see england messing up, it would take a herculean effort for them to not make it in the semi finals

the semi finals are kind of already decided, its a waste of time hoping for dreaming of pak making it in the semis. if the rain did not wash out games, then maybe we could hope against all hope, but now its already gone. pak should now think of the future

New Zealand will struggle against Shadab Khan, Amir and Imad Wasim. Pakistan needs to drop Malik though

only chance(if there is any) of pak making semi finals is if england loses every game they play and lose a few badly by a large margin

even if pak win all 4 , their net rate is too low compared to eng, nz, india, aus

New Zealand will struggle against Shadab Khan, Amir and Imad Wasim. Pakistan needs to drop Malik though

williamson, taylor and even tom latham are superb players os spin. i honestly don't think they will be that bothered by shadab and imad.

but their openers are hit or miss. but yes amir will definitely get wickets against them

Highly unlikely. Nevertheless it is predicated on the understanding that NZ have the hardest run in while we have the easiest.

Since we need WI to beat NZ we will also need one of SL,Afg and Bang along with India to beat WI otherwise it is unlikely we will beat them on NRR. But that might raise the possibility of SL or Bang getting ahead of us if they cause upsets or more matches are washed off :facepalm:

We don’t need WI to beat NZ. The big result we need is for SA to beat NZ and then lose to us.

Forget NZ losing. Australia have to play NZ, England and SA. If they lose all 3 , Pakistan still has a chance. Anyway, Pakistan need BD to win tmrw. If West Indies wins tmrw, your chances grow even slimmer.

Your journey is over neighbours, accept it and move on, don't get your hopes up only to come crashing down. Think about steps to revamp your team for the future.

lol go and celeberate your victory
people will discuss whatever they want to

Our NRR just doesn't seem to improve,Eng and Kiwis still have it better than us.. hopefully we keep getting points..

WI have a better chance of qualifying, I think SA and WI have a good chance of beating us.

Our NRR just doesn't seem to improve,Eng and Kiwis still have it better than us.. hopefully we keep getting points..
All those big wins and you're still behind us on the points table.

tenor.gif

Face the facts and snap out of your dreams. Pakistan World Cup Squad are Pathetic and Weak minded when compared to other Top Ranked teams. Pakistan is in Flintstones era while the top teams are in Star Wars Episode 9.
Accept it Pakistan cannot and do not deserve to be in the final four, they cannot bat bowl or field with intent.

WI have a better chance of qualifying, I think SA and WI have a good chance of beating us.

You only need to win two games out of 5. Shouldn't be a tough ask tbh. If you can't even do that then you don't deserve to go to the semis like us.

I cant see NZ losing to SA, that last inning from amla against afg was embarrassing.
Nah, while other teams may be pounding SA, we've always struggled against them. They'll be confident of picking up 2 points against us.

You only need to win two games out of 5. Shouldn't be a tough ask tbh. If you can't even do that then you don't deserve to go to the semis like us.
With the games we have left, I can very easily see us going 0/5 or 1/5. WI, Pakistan and SA are still in it.

Reverse jinxing... nice
Well hopefully you go to the semi final at the very least and maybe even win the whole thing.

We dont deserve to be in the semi final.Should focous on the next world cup and improving our team.We should build a team that at least wont loose at home(in uae or Pakistan).I am happy with our top 3 batting but our middle,lower order and spin bowling needs a major ramp up.We have the players ,just need to get rid off corruption in the pcb.

This is expected from pak. Get the solid team from first class.

Pakistan is at its rightful spot. Hoping all the humiliation Pakistan faced will knock some sense into delusional Pakistani fans who thought Indian team was overrated.

This pakistan team is bekaar, it needs to lose more matches in the world cup for the selectors to seriously think about changing the team.

Ok - let's get a couple of things out the way early:

Numbe 1: Yes Pakistan has played horrendous cricket so far in the world cup and they should have performed alot better and won alot more games

Number 2: The "they don't deserve to play the semi final" statement is absolutely garbage. If some how Pakistan qualify for the semi finals - then they will deserve to be there. End of.

Number 3: If fans think a poor performance here will trigger some drastic change across Pakistani cricket they are extremely deluded and I would question whether they have followed Pakistani cricket for more than 2 years or not.

Now let's get down to the nitty gritty of it.

Pakistan has already played - what should be - it's three toughest games in the competition. I think their are three teams guaranteed a semi final spot - England, Australia & India - and we have played all 3 of them and won 1 of those matches.

We were unlucky for the SL game to be rained off, however, managed to get a point & the WI game obviously resulted in no points.

What all this means is we can end up on a maximum of 11 points by winning our remaining games. Given SAs recent form, I don't think it's unrealistic for Pakistan to achieve this & yes sure I know alot of posters will disagree.

Of course it will not be easy - however, in my mind it's not imossible for us to win the remaining 4 games and end up on 11 points.

So for the sake of this analysis let's assume that Pakistan win their remaining games and end up on 11 points inshallah for.

Now the question is - apart from the 3 teams I mentioned above who I believe have guarunteed qualification spots and Pakistan - who else can end up on 11 points or more?

Afg can get a maximum of 8 points so they are out.

For Bang to get to 11 points they need to beat Aus & Ind so I think it's fair to say that is unlikely

SA need to beat Pak to get to 11 points and if that happens then it will be game over for Pakistan, so no point discussing this here.

WI need to beat NZ, SL, Afg & Bang to end up on 11 points and they need to beat India to end up on 13 points. I think 13 points is extremely unlikely - however - 11 points is possible in which case it will come down to NRR

NZ need to lose two of their remaining 5 games to end up on 11 points. Obviously in this scenario we are assuming Pak win their remaining games (including the one against NZ) so that means NZ need to lose to either Eng, Aus, SA or WI which I think is highly likely to happen.

SL need to beat three of SA, WI, Eng and Ind to end up on 11 points which I think is quite unlikely - specially given their 2 games against Eng and Ind - however still possible.

So what that means is the teams which technically can - but are unlikely to - beat Pakistan for the 4th spot are:

Sri Lanka & Bangladesh

The teams which possibly can end up on 11 points and it will come down to NRR are:

West Indies and New Zealand

Now yes I know it won't be easy. And yes I know it's frustrating to have to rely on NRR - it would be a lot easier if we managed to secure 2 points against SL or Aus.

However - you can say what you want - it isn't over yet.

Pakistan will have to play out their skin to not just win the remaining 4 games but also get their NRR above WIs and/or NZs but it can be done.

You throw in the uncertainty regarding the rain and that could go in Pakistan's favour or against us depending on what game(s) get rained off.

Picture abhi baaki hai :msd