ICC World Cup 2019 : Points table, Net Run Rates, qualifying scenarios & Stats thread

Yes, it's very unlikely to pass Nzl on NRR. I ran all sorts of scenarios, about the manner of victories (Nzl batting first or second) but it's not happening. Even if Nzl gets beaten by 150-160 runs, Pak would still have to win by 220-230 runs or more.

Best chance still is for Eng to choke against Nzl. Boult and Ferguson may destroy Eng.

Anyway, Pak should concentrate on beating Bdesh. I'd consider it extremely successful World Cup campaign, to miss out on semis because of NRR, and that too because of a rained out game which likely robbed Pakistan team of a point.

Only Australia have qualified as of now and no one else, that means there are 3 possible ways to eliminate each of the teams that are above us in the league stage, given that we win against Bangladesh.

1) India: If they lose each of their 2 remaining games, finish at 11 points behind Pakistan on NRR.

2) England: If they lose to New Zealand.

3) New Zealand: If they lose to England, finish at 11 points behind Pakistan on NRR.

Good thing in third case is, we will know exactly what to do due to their match being before us. Not in case of India, because they play on last day.

That means before the match we will know exactly what to do in it, ex: how many overs to chase the target in or to score very big and decimate Bangladesh to a low total.

We can try different team then,

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Asif Ali
3) Babar Azam
4) Mohammad Hafeez
5) Haris Sohail
6) Imad Wasim
7) Wahab Riaz
8) Hasan Ali
9) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Shaheen Afridi

Also, I don't think any team loses deliberately, but this win has almost ensured Australia will end up as Number 1 at the end of league stage and the Semi-Final lineups would be as follows if Pakistan qualifies:

Australia vs Pakistan
India vs New Zealand

Pakistan vs India Final again, Pakistan to win it again.

In summary, after today's match India vs Pakistan Semi-Final is highly unlikely and they will meet only in Final in one heck of a game.

What are the chances of ENG vs NZ being a washout?

We are out if England win. I think they will. We are done in this tournament.

Get ready for being disappointed then, New Zealand are no pushovers and have as much chance as England to win that game.

Also, Pakistan can still manage their run rate to go above New Zealand or India in other cases, they are after all Pakistan.

I just read Pak need to win by 200/250 runs to better newzealand run rate. IMPOSSIBLE if true

Get ready for being disappointed then, New Zealand are no pushovers and have as much chance as England to win that game.

Also, Pakistan can still manage their run rate to go above New Zealand or India in other cases, they are after all Pakistan.

I will be ecstatic if NZ win. Why would I be disappointed? Just because I don't have your optimism doesn't mean I want England to win. But i don't see New Zealand beating England.

Pic courtesy: Cricinfo

Guys all is not lost we still have hope inshallah we will do it

View attachment 93309

Wrong calculations.
Gap is 400. In terms of overs it's 40 overs.
If NZ bat first and England chase 200 in 20 overs, even then Pak will have to beat BD by 200 or chase 250 in 15 overs.

NRR was out of equation from the moment when Fakhar got out in NZ match. Had Pakistan chased in 35 overs against NZ, the gap could have been 50 runs or 10 overs.

Also, I don't think any team loses deliberately, but this win has almost ensured Australia will end up as Number 1 at the end of league stage and the Semi-Final lineups would be as follows if Pakistan qualifies:

Australia vs Pakistan
India vs New Zealand

Pakistan vs India Final again, Pakistan to win it again.

In summary, after today's match India vs Pakistan Semi-Final is highly unlikely and they will meet only in Final in one heck of a game.

if its ind vs pak final they both will choke.. it will be a chokers final
i still believe it is englands cup..

I will be ecstatic if NZ win. Why would I be disappointed? Just because I don't have your optimism doesn't mean I want England to win. But i don't see New Zealand beating England.

Disappointed at being wrong in what you predicted, I am not saying anything else.

almost all final league matches are turning out to be knock outs..terrific wc except few rain washed away games...

Disappointed at being wrong in what you predicted, I am not saying anything else.

I want NZ to win so why will I be disappointed if my prediction is wrong but Pakistan get through?

As long as Pakistan get through I don't get if I am wrong.

I am just giving my opinion that NZ won't beat England.

NRr won’t come in play , here is what’s going to happen

Today - Srilanka out of Worldcup
Tuesday - Bangladesh will be out
Wednesday - England
Friday will be dead rubber for Bangladesh and Perfecf time for Pakistan to peak for the final kill on July 14 vs India :)

Its funny actually if you go back to 31st May, if we had lost to WI by only 1 run, we had only 241 runs to overcome. Meaning if Eng defeats NZ by 100 runs, we needed to beat Bangla by 141 runs. Tough still but atleast a mathematical possibility.

Just goes to show importance of every game in a WC and what a massive setback it was, it just butchered our NRR. Now we have to overcome a difference of 438 runs :facepalm::facepalm:

Pak find themselves in this position because of a really pathetic batting display in the first game (105 all out) against Windies. Should not have lost to them. Even BD beat them

Every one expected the games against India and Australia to be tough

Australia will likely finish on 16 points

India 15 points

England 12 points

NZ will remain on 11. Luck factor also helping NZ... they nearly always lose against Australia and England

India would have thrashed them too. Lucky to get one point there

We would have beaten Lanka. Lost one point there

Pak might beat BD and finish on 11 points as well

Both Pak and NZ will then have equal points as well as total no of wins (5) but

NZ will go thru on account of better NRR

SF line up

Australia vs NZ. Aus will win

India vs England. India or England will win depending on who bats first..

Final: Australia vs India or England

I don't understand why u guys are writing off NZ against ENG???

NZ has a balanced bowling attack with a world class spinner and probably the best fielding unit. If they bat first and post 300+, I don't fancy England chasing that down. Munro and Guppy are due for a big one and they both like pace..I think they will come good in the game against Eng.

Hoping NZ shows up and beats England. And then we crush Bangalis.

So if England win, we will be requiring a NRR swing. That doesn’t look likely. Just hope for a NZ win.

Fake news :trump

If England score 350 and bowl New Zealand out for 150
And Pakistan score 350 and bowl Bangladesh out for 150

Pakistan's NRR will STILL be worse than New Zealand's.

So we have 0 chance of getting through with NRR in play?

Pretty much.

OK let's put it another way.

If New Zealand bat first and make 150 all out. England chase the total in 20 overs.

And Bangladesh bat first and make 150 all out.

Pakistan will have to chase the total in 10 overs for their NRR to be better than New Zealand.

See the margins. They are just too big.

Yes. Some calculations were done by a few of us yesterday and are there on this thread itself. Pakistan, realistically, have no chance of qualifying on NRR.

Don’t see NZ beating England. Don’t understand why PP has so much faith in them.

Pretty much.

If New Zealand bat first and make 150 all out. England chase the total in 20 overs.

Pakistan will have to chase the total in 10 overs for their NRR to be better than New Zealand.

We need New Zealand to win then.

lol this is much more realistic then calculation MMHS came up with. Still believe Pakistan chasing games at 49th over will cost them. Afghan game should have won under 40 overs and against NZ at most 45th over.

No MMHS's and others' calculations are more accurate than shown in this comment. Pakistan beat BD by 200 runs and England beat NZ by 200 rubs, NZ's NRR will be slightly higher. England losing to NZ is your only hope.

Pretty much.

Sorry this one is wrong :)) Made an error....

If this scenario happened, Pakistan wouldn't be able to overhaul NZ's NRR, even if they chased 150 in 1 ball.

Green pitch with NZ bowling first and Boult ripping out 2-3. That's atleast more likely than qualifying on NRR which is near impossible.

The nrr calculation here and on twitter ect are very different though,i am not sure which ones are the most correct.

Forget the NRR chance.

The only way for Pakistan to qualify really is if New Zealand beat England.

@ Rad Doc

Answer: History

NZ nearly always lose against Australia and England. Infact they lost all the big games in this wc. Won a tight game against RSA in the last over.

On a side note first batting is definitely an advantage in this WC. We thought chasing was primarily a Pak problem. The reality is most sides struggle. Look at England. Lost all games while chasing. Had India batted first today and scored 300 plus we might have seen a different outcome. NZ collapsed against Australia yesterday

Sorry this one is wrong :)) Made an error....

If this scenario happened, Pakistan wouldn't be able to overhaul NZ's NRR, even if they chased 150 in 1 ball.

New Zealand may take this one easy and play defensive to ensure they've done enough to be competitive.

So I've given up all hope.

Don’t see NZ beating England. Don’t understand why PP has so much faith in them.

The same reason they have faith in a Pakistani team, ranked 6th, producing players from a broken system with no international cricket at home. Let us be optimistic and stop putting us down.

We got to -0.95 to - 0.79 winning by 2 balls against afghanistan so i am not sure if the nrr calculations are accurate.

NZ NRR prior to 87 runs loss to Aus was 1.028 and after that loss it has come down to 0.5. If NZ lose to Eng by say 40 runs, their RR would drop to approx 0.25. That will be a factor of 0.5 greater greater than Pak. Psk would req to win by a margin of 80 runs or complete the chase by 35th over. Cricinfo is right

@ Rad Doc

Answer: History

NZ nearly always lose against Australia and England. Infact they lost all the big games in this wc. Won a tight game against RSA in the last over.

On a side note first batting is definitely an advantage in this WC. We thought chasing was primarily a Pak problem. The reality is most sides struggle. Look at England. Lost all games while chasing. Had India batted first today and scored 300 plus we might have seen a different outcome. NZ collapsed against Australia yesterday

So you are not giving a team that is currently ranked 3rd in the world, has reached 6 semifinals in world cups and were runner's up in the last world cup any chance of beating England? I think NZ have the big game temparament more than England. If they bat first, they are winning.

Looks like some people are doing NRR calculations very incorrectly here. West indies bowl us out for 100 and chased the target which gave them huge NRR boost. We can also do the same although difficult.

It may be time for Bangladesh to return the favour from 1999 and get bowled out cheaply :yk

So you are not giving a team that is currently ranked 3rd in the world, has reached 6 semifinals in world cups and were runner's up in the last world cup any chance of beating England? I think NZ have the big game temparament more than England. If they bat first, they are winning.

but its not a big game for them. They dont need to win at all, even if they are smashed, they'll qualify still. That is the main problem

NZ NRR prior to 87 runs loss to Aus was 1.028 and after that loss it has come down to 0.5. If NZ lose to Eng by say 40 runs, their RR would drop to approx 0.25. That will be a factor of 0.5 greater greater than Pak. Psk would req to win by a margin of 80 runs or complete the chase by 35th over. Cricinfo is right

The NRR method is open and available for anyone who wants to calculate.

64T0rB5.png

For (Runs/Overs) minus Against (Runs/Overs)

Example:
SA for 1580/315 = 5.015
SA against 1753/344 = 5.095

5.015-5.095 = -0.080 as shown on the table.

You can make a table in Excel to check all the possibilities and permutations. CI's calculations as stated in the image are way off the mark.

Yes that's what i think,nz almost lose 0.5 nrr after losing to aussie by 86 runs.

Looks like some people are doing NRR calculations very incorrectly here. West indies bowl us out for 100 and chased the target which gave them huge NRR boost. We can also do the same although difficult.

Not the same. Now it's averaged over 9 matches. So its harder to increase your NRR dramatically like that.

If England score 290 and NZ score 240:

NZ's for: 1738/344 = 5.052
NZ's against: 1853/398 = 4.655
NRR: 0.397

To overhaul 0.397, Pakistan will have to make 500 and dismiss BD for 96. Proof:
PAK's for: 2210/389 = 5.681
PAK's against: 1869/354 = 5.279
NRR: 0.402

If Pakistan were to bat second against BD, there is no scenario where they could overhaul that NRR.

I hope NZ show some urgency because they need to ensure their own qualification so hopefully they are super motivated to win and England are a bit burned out from the India win

Not the same. Now it's averaged over 9 matches. So its harder to increase your NRR dramatically like that.

West Indies scored their runs in 13.5 overs at a RR of 7.9. Pakistan's 105 meant a RR of 2.1 :)) That's why WI was +5.8 or so after the first game.

We are done and dusted. Time to face the reality. We got what we deserved.

Its all about begging this team that team please win please lose.... pathetic stuff!!

We are done and dusted. Time to face the reality. We got what we deserved.

Not what we deserved if we win against Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka game which was washed out did not help either.

Still disappointed about how we lost to WI.

And the gulf between Australia and India and us was too much.

But let’s hope Pakistan gets better and performs before the WC 2023 and we get in the tournament with a perfect team and a goal: win the WC.

Bangladesh can still catch New Zealand on Net Run Rate if they win both their remaining games. That will be enough to ensure the Kiwis give it their all.

Not what we deserved if we win against Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka game which was washed out did not help either.

Still disappointed about how we lost to WI.

And the gulf between Australia and India and us was too much.

But let’s hope Pakistan gets better and performs before the WC 2023 and we get in the tournament with a perfect team and a goal: win the WC.

No guarantees we would have beaten Sri Lanka. We can only focus on the matches that took place. India vs New Zealand would have benefited/harmed a few teams as well.

Truth to be told, our campaign ended after the opening game. We have been at the mercy of others since, because it completely destroyed our NRR.

Pak find themselves in this position because of a really pathetic batting display in the first game (105 all out) against Windies. Should not have lost to them. Even BD beat them

Every one expected the games against India and Australia to be tough

Australia will likely finish on 16 points

India 15 points

England 12 points

NZ will remain on 11. Luck factor also helping NZ... they nearly always lose against Australia and England

India would have thrashed them too. Lucky to get one point there

We would have beaten Lanka. Lost one point there

Pak might beat BD and finish on 11 points as well

Both Pak and NZ will then have equal points as well as total no of wins (5) but

NZ will go thru on account of better NRR

SF line up

Australia vs NZ. Aus will win

India vs England. India or England will win depending on who bats first..

Final: Australia vs India or England

Pakistan have been the luckiesr team in this wc.
Got turning track vs nz and nz misread it- sodhi plays and pak were not chasing that total.
Very lucky with umpring decisions vs Afghans too.

No guarantees we would have beaten Sri Lanka. We can only focus on the matches that took place. India vs New Zealand would have benefited/harmed a few teams as well.

Truth to be told, our campaign ended after the opening game. We have been at the mercy of others since, because it completely destroyed our NRR.
WI game was an off day. Any team can have an off day and that too early on in the competition.

The key turning point for me was the Aus loss. We should have chased down the target. What on earth were we thinking playing Asif Ali ahead of Haris Sohail!

The same reason they have faith in a Pakistani team, ranked 6th, producing players from a broken system with no international cricket at home. Let us be optimistic and stop putting us down.

That is nothing to do with the game. I don't see England losing to NZ.

I would rather be realistic than be optimistic.

Nz can win against England.
Good joke.

You're better off hoping we lose by 300 runs.

Pakistan messed up their chances against Afghanistan, they needed to smash them. WI match is the biggest reason they're out.

Just like Pakistan beating England and New Zealand?

Your predictions have been laughable; then again, even a broken clock is right twice a day!

This is the time for you to run your mouth, but I will have the last laugh as usual. For now, you can say what you want - the stage is yours.

WI game was an off day. Any team can have an off day and that too early on in the competition.

The key turning point for me was the Aus loss. We should have chased down the target. What on earth were we thinking playing Asif Ali ahead of Haris Sohail!

This Pakistan team has been a proper minnow for two years. Our off-day means producing a quality performance, and our usual day is playing circus cricket.

Pakistani kiwi bhai bhai :yk

Btw we can give chance to bangladesh they got better nrr than us. Bangla beat IND and pakistan, eng beat Nz. Bangla in, nz out.

This is the time for you to run your mouth, but I will have the last laugh as usual. For now, you can say what you want - the stage is yours.

The joke is on you. You wanted Pakistan to fail in this WC from the get go (putting aside your hatred for Pakistan) such that it'd bring about drastic changes, but had you been a true Pakistan fan, you would know that no tournament results has ever brought about drastic changes in Pakistan cricket.

You have been running your mouth all day long because your first favourite team lost against your second favourite team today - put simply, fluked it, and instead of dissecting India's game, you decide to take it out on Pakistan!

This Pakistan team has been a proper minnow for two years. Our off-day means producing a quality performance, and our usual day is playing circus cricket.
Agree on the poor performances since CT win.

Am hoping for changes big time post WC.

Aaj awaaz waapis aa gayi hai iski :))

Really hope New Zealand crush this dude's hopes on Tuesday. They did it to South Africa in 2015, no reason they can't do it again.

They were unbeatable on those pea-sized grounds at home. They even beat eventual champions Australia. They are not beating England at Chester-le-Street, but yes you can always hope.

England have a special talent for shooting themselves in
The foot!! If Nz win toss on wed and get to bat first on flat pitch. With their openers due a start I can see England imploding! I think England won today when it won the toss. Lose that and India would have won!

Aaj awaaz waapis aa gayi hai iski :))

Really hope New Zealand crush this dude's hopes on Tuesday. They did it to South Africa in 2015, no reason they can't do it again.

its on Wednesday bro. Mark your calender properly, you wouldnt want to miss that epic capitulation by the great England team.

If any one here thinks Pakistan are/were lucky to be standing at 9 points are sorely mistaken. At today's form no one wants to play Pakistan, in fact we would be the most unluckiest team to not make it to the semis after winning 3 games in a row and 90% chance will win a 4th one as well.

On the other hand New Zealand team is the luckiest where they only beat minnows (& out of form SA) to get to 11 points. They will be thrashed (unfortunately) by England thus going into semifinal after losing to all the other qualifiers.

There is no way NZ should be going to SF as they will be a cannon fodder for Aus there. Now if by any miracle (almost non existent) Pakistan qualifies as #4 based on NRR than we will have two huge SF with Aus vs Pak and Ind vs Eng. These would be the ideal match-ups for a prestigious tournament like World Cup.

Alas this is not what will happen because Pakistan started slow out of the gates as well as getting 1 point against SL whereas NZ also getting 1 point from India (a certain loss for Kiwis).

NZ is a bad team and has no business making it to SF and I am not saying it because of Pakistan missing out but rather they bring the value of SF down. Who have they beaten in this WC? This format is what saved them from being thrown out early from the tournament given they wouldn't have topped or come 2nd in a group set up as they have lost 3 + 1 games.

Pakistan have been the luckiesr team in this wc.
Got turning track vs nz and nz misread it- sodhi plays and pak were not chasing that total.
Very lucky with umpring decisions vs Afghans too.

If this happened, if that happened..

We could also say the same...India were lucky because they batted first against both Aus and Pak (Yes Sarfraz blundered big time by not choosing to bat first against both Aus and India) in the league games. Had Aus batted first at The Oval and scored 300 plus, with Starc and co. India would have struggled big time imo. Today fielding first, Indian bowling looked absolutely toothless. They took wickets when damage had already been done. And Afghanistan nearly beat India. They do well against Asian teams