ICC World Cup 2023: Pakistan (345/4) complete the highest run-chase in World Cup history to defeat Sri Lanka (344/9) by 6 wickets

These two should shift into a more aggressive playing style and aim to score a minimum of 120 runs by the 20th over

Not sure if Rizwan's a good captaincy material, but if he scores quickly today and takes the team either to victory or nearly there, he wouldnt be doing any harm to his captaincy aspirations...

First three balls of the over no intent to score runs... the heck :danish

Pakistan now has to be at 200 by 35overs without losing anymore wicket then have great go last 15ov with wickets in hand. Need a big partnership this pair

SL trapped Babar down the leg side. It was a plan. The first ball in that over was a wide down the leg side and both commentators mentioned that line is dangerous for Babar as he goes hard at the balls down the leg side. Two balls later, there's that line again and he's gone
Madushanka got him out on the legside even in Asia Cup final last year. Definite plan

Man he was wasn't working one bit, barely made anything against Dutch, problem is there is no bench strength at all
He secured victory for us in a tournament final, possesses impressive statistics, and in such tournaments, it's essential to remain loyal to Fakhar

Not much to chase to be honest - if somehow PAK comes even close, it’ll be an achievement. The game was lost by the bowlers- SRL finished remarkably poor, hence ended 35 less than what it should’ve been.

I think, if any team is to chase 344, have to score 150 in first 20 overs. I can’t recall any successful chase over 330, where asking went up after PP
Oh man, you are back , really missed your posts so much , and you have been off for so long i feared the worst. Now this defeat will taste less bitter i am that happy to see quality poster like you back. Wish you best of luck and hopefully next time you won't go in exile for so long.

such toothless display of cricket by Pak team in all Departments. Bowling, fielding and now batting. That too against a team that conceded 428 3 days ago. Makes you wonder what mindset these players have?

So many matched played on this track. So it is good to smash the cover of the ball before it gets old

Rizwan batting at a sizzling strike rate of 55. By teh time he will start playing his shots Pakistan will be completely out of the game and he will get his 50.

Btw what happened to that Jayasurya guy (spinner).. he had a very good start in his career..

Tbf Abdullah he was always > Imam, he clearly showed that in test.

Problem is he's just an okay opener. Having him × imam + babar + Rizzu at the top order is death

This partnership sums up everything wrong with pak batting line up and their intent in the white ball game

We are bashing Abdullah, what innings is Rizwan playing? 10(17) at the moment chasing 350.

such toothless display of cricket by Pak team in all Departments. Bowling, fielding and now batting. That too against a team that conceded 428 3 days ago. Makes you wonder what mindset these players have?
They are worried about their central contracts, their share from the PCB’s earning etc etc

I hope PCB tears up these contracts and also tears into them once they are back from this humiliation.

Lol 2 runs off wellage over. Toothless against pace spin medium pace. Gully mohallay batsmen are better than them

Btw what happened to that Jayasurya guy (spinner).. he had a very good start in his career..
He plays only tests I believe.

They are missing hasaranga lahiru and chameera though. I highly doubt SA would score over 300 vs Lanka if those 3 played and lank would have chased it down.

They are worried about their central contracts, their share from the PCB’s earning etc etc

I hope PCB tears up these contracts and also tears into them once they are back from this humiliation.
And these jokers want pay raise 🤣

One of the biggest reasons for this level of mediocrity is the loss of form for the Top 3 at the wrong time. All three have lost form at the same time.

Imam was the glue that held the batting together and his loss of form is acutely felt.

Pakistan were roughly 80/2 against NZ in the warmup match after 20 overs and managed to score 340 odd so it's not impossible here. Dew will also come in. These two however would need to bat till the 25th over and score at 6.5 RPO at least till then.

Why is Pakistan looking shell shocked and not playing freely like how sl did??

This is a BCCI plot, scoreboard on the ground says target is 244, Rizwan and Shafique are being duped here! They're being tricked into thinking their chase is on track, NO WONDER!

I still have some faith because Saud is next to come in..

Humare mulk mein bijli hi nahi aur yeh lights key sath khel rahe hain.

Why is Pakistan looking shell shocked and not playing freely like how sl did??
inexperience.

abdullah has barely played any limited overs game.

much is expected from rizwan.

btw i am loving these nostalgic highlights that get shown in betwwen.

One of the biggest reasons for this level of mediocrity is the loss of form for the Top 3 at the wrong time. All three have lost form at the same time.

Imam was the glue that held the batting together and his loss of form is acutely felt.

Pakistan were roughly 80/2 against NZ in the warmup match after 20 overs and managed to score 340 odd so it's not impossible here. Dew will also come in. These two however would need to bat till the 25th over and score at 6.5 RPO at least till then.
No he wasn't, he always a parchi, he got exposed in 2019 as well, people have a loss of memory because any idiot who simply nudges 24/7 for a single against c string sides can get a 50+ average.

Just before the Asia cup kept on hearing that Pakistan pace trio ( or bowling attack in general) was worlds best. One bowler got injured and the wheels started wobbling...Surely with plethora of fast bowling talent that Pakistan claims to have...that one bowler was not replaced by a like to like replacement? Why?

Overs 10-15, they only scored 23 runs mashallah. 6 off which came from a catching opportunity

If these guys are serious about the chase then try to score runs freely and get the run rate to around 6 , only then you can have any hope of scoring big runs in the last 10 to win the match. Right now they seem to be batting for personal milestones only.

This pathriana is nothing like lahiru. We can easily attack him but we are so timid.

If rizwan performs today, i want an apology from all rizzu bhai haters. Especially rana.