India (171/7) hand a crushing defeat to England (103) by 68 runs to secure their spot in the finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Yup, they just got lucky with Indian economy/purchasing power explosion.

The day India qualified for football World Cup, will be the day we will start seeing a slow death of ICC.
That ain't happening in our lifetime.

It takes 50+ years to build an infrastructure no matter how strong your economy is and football in India atm is lacking the infrastructure

They know Indians suck at sports so probably still have 50+ years of juice left in them.

After that who knows, maybe we do develop strong teams in other sports and cricket just dies.
Sports is directly related to the GDP of the country, as the GDP increases, so would Indian athletic powers

That's a long way away dude maybe 20-25 years. Before that will come such an explosion of wealth in cricket in India that will make everything that's happened so far feel small.

The next TV deal for the IPL will be an order of magnitude larger.
Football is a very tough nut to Crack. If cash dictates performance, China would be a player by now. Supreme emperor Xi's pet project actually sunk Chinese football. Pick a sport and monopolize it like the Americans. India and IPL are on its way. IPL will be played for 6 months and franchises will start scouting abroad more aggressively.

If they get through on a washout and win the trophy, it will have an asterisk next to it
1992 world cup didn't have an asterisk and this one doesn't either. Remember the semi final Eng vs SA farce and Pak vs Eng? Everyone will get over it by tomorrow

Sports is directly related to the GDP of the country, as the GDP increases, so would Indian athletic powers

Depends on the type of sport.

Sports like athletics are generally favoured towards one race.

Football you will find poor nations do well as well as rich ones. It’s the truest global sport so competition will always be too high to do well.

Other Olympic sports/tennis etc India is already improving and will continue to improve.

But to overtake cricket you need to win big events as a nation and only sport which can overthrow cricket is football.
And we ain’t winning or qualifying for football World Cup anytime soon.

India can't seem to have a straight path. Over cast conditions apparently. This has 2019 WC SF against NZ vibes already.
yes. A completely dry conditions with 3 spinners would have suited India. Now it is eliminating India's threat.

You would have said that 20 years ago as well lol
You must have seen the GDP projection for India right. What the GDP provides is increased athletic powers and more money to get the experts for ground level.

With Indian growth path and Indian football league (which is already quite popular in south India ) , things are looking up for football in India.

It takes 50+ years to build an infrastructure no matter how strong your economy is and football in India atm is lacking the infrastructure

Ya well we are long way away from it so no point thinking about it.

We can return to bashing ICC for their poor planning.

it is a total farce if they finish the game late in the day. THey will have to travel again to go to a new venue for final with just 1 day gap.

1992 world cup didn't have an asterisk and this one doesn't either. Remember the semi final Eng vs SA farce and Pak vs Eng? Everyone will get over it by tomorrow
different circumstances
the washout that helped us was a group game, and even then we still had to make our own efforts to change our dire situation
in the eng vs sa semi at least the majority of the game was played
on this occasion england would be knocked out without a ball being bowled, which is infinitely more unfair

Don't worry about us m8...
We're gaining ground on several aspects, on several levels across different sports on the Asian, c'mwealth , world championships & Olympics.
The way we are going in all spheres I'd back our infra to be In place - We'll get there sooner rather than later
Cheers 💥🪔🇮🇳

different circumstances
the washout that helped us was a group game, and even then we still had to make our own efforts to change our dire situation
on this occasion england would be knocked out without a ball being bowled, which is infinitely more unfair
Who cares dude. Nobody asked England to lose to SA. They freaking won by boundary count. If that is a role people can live with they have to live with this rule as well

You must have seen the GDP projection for India right. What the GDP provides is increased athletic powers and more money to get the experts for ground level.

With Indian growth path and Indian football league (which is already quite popular in south India ) , things are looking up for football in India.
K

different circumstances
Unfair for who? England barely made into the semis. India and SA are unbeaten

Don't worry about us m8...
We're gaining ground on several aspects, on several levels across different sports on the Asian, c'mwealth , world championships & Olympics.
The way we are going in all spheres I'd back our infra to be In place - We'll get there sooner rather than later
Cheers 💥🪔🇮🇳
AlrightE

different circumstances
So basically, like in 2019 when the final was tied but England decided they would be declared winners, this time, if there’s no winner, they’ve decided India will be declared winners. Makes perfect sense

It seems just because there is a provision for match extension by 4 hours, they want to use maximum time possible to complete the match in order to keeps the fans engaged for as long as possible..

Either way, I want the match to be played. I want India to beat Eng fair and square. If they lose, so be it. Also expecting the winner of this game to.win the WC is ridiculous too. I've been saying there's something special about this Saffer team. They probably have been under more pressure than any other team.and thrived.

fresh month, fresh energies, but the question stays the same. Why can't this boring sports at least try to toss in the locker room? It saves time since participants will be aware of the toss and will wear their gear accordingly, and as soon as the inspection is completed and the match time is set, they may hurry to the ground and begin the game. I'm growing to despise this sport, and the current Pakistan team has only exacerbated my feelings.

That is why i am hoping :) I don't want interrupted match. Either full match or no match at all.
Won't be interrupted. According to cricinfo theirs now blazing sunshine. This is why I hate ICC, Theirs no reason to have a toss half an hour late.

They could have had the toss 15 mins ago lol

With rain the pitch will be wet, it makes it difficult for Indian spinners to grip the wet ball.

If we get a match, England starts favourites

So basically, like in 2019 when the final was tied but England decided they would be declared winners, this time, if there’s no winner, they’ve decided India will be declared winners. Makes perfect sense
But there was a winner, England won on boundary count thanks to their efforts on the day
India will now win because of their placing in a previous round, having done nothing on the day. It completely eliminates the KO pressure factor and what team has more nerve in a crunch fixture. There is a clear disparity

But there was a winner, England won on boundary count thanks to their efforts on the day
India will now win because of their placing in a previous round, having done nothing on the day. It completely eliminates the KO pressure factor and what team has more nerve in a crunch fixture. There is a clear disparity
Both are similar indian will won becouse they performed better than England

India have shown a tendency to bat first and then unleash their spinners upon the opposition. England on the other hand have always looked to field first and then chase the runs down. Guyana is usually a bat-first wicket, but it has been under the covers and could be tacky.

If Australia beat Australia, it would have been an Australia vs India final. Australia is complacent during group stages.
Tbf bro I get what you're saying and as an aussie fan I'm upset but Australia have themselves to blame.

Game over for india .
Congratulations England .

Rohit never won a important toss .

The problem with abtting first in rain is you don't know what total to put with a rain threat hanging over. It is a massive advantage for team batting second. If it is completely dry that is different.

I am so very interested to see what Rohit does today. I feel this isnt a pitch suited for his timed strokes. Virat is sure to get stuck as well. The powerful in Guyana is going to be very crucial.

England chasing on this pitch. Game over , Indian fans.

Congratulations to all Pakistani and Bangladeshi posters here in advance . All your duas have borne fruit.

Nobody has that MSD midas touch. Same Rained out match India put a below par total in CT final against England. England was about to win the match 90%. Then couple of gun bowling changes won the game for India.

Rohit Sharma - We would have batted first, the weather looks good, whatever had to happen, it has already happened. We wanted to put runs on the board. The pitch tends to get slower as the game goes on. We understand the challenge of playing a tournament like this, a lot of travel and logistics. It's a chance to play some good cricket. We don't want to think too far ahead, stay in the moment and let your game do the talking. Same team for us.

Jos Buttler - We'll bowl first. Looks like a good surface, the bounce will be low, with the rain around, we thought it'll be a bit of an advantage to bowl first. We're up against a great team, but we're peaking nicely and we are playing the same team today. Looking forward to a great challenge against a top side. Excited to be in a semi-final, but some of us have been here before.

Toss Update

England have won the toss and opted to bowl first
Teams:

India
(Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

England (Playing XI): Philip Salt, Jos Buttler(w/c), Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley

England chasing on this pitch. Game over , Indian fans.

Congratulations to all Pakistani and Bangladeshi posters here in advance . All your duas have borne fruit.
Brother, why are you such a pessimist? Enjoy the game bhai? Kuch bhi ho sakta hai