India (224 & 396) hold off England (247 & 367) to seal a thrilling 6-run win in the fifth Test to level the series at 2-2

Who will win the 5th Test at the Oval?

• India

Votes: 9 52.9%
  • England

Votes: 9 52.9%

• Poll closed .
I'd rather go by the rankings than WTC to be honest when it comes to Test cricket.

Happy that SA won the WTC. But they didn't really win anything in Asia or in England, NZ, OZ.
Most of these teams do well at home. nz is one team that did the unthinkable. But they are sitting ducks against australia

India is not the best odi team They've been abusing their powers and have been getting tailored made pitches suited for them.

Its nonsense. They are however the best t20 team. That i agree on.

In test they are atrocious. Ranked no 5 easily. They are far below SENA. Only home Pitch doctoring pitches will let them win
India is the best t20 and odi side

In tests I would say about 3rd 4th

We will see what happened when SA tour India. Rookie side now in tests

ODI is a dead format
No one except Australia cares for it

T20 and tests is what matters

But in odi I would still say India and Aus are the best teams
It is not even close in ODIs. ICC Ranking points India 124. Second best New zealand 109. In T20Is India 271. Australia after whitewash of WI they are 265. But if you look at consistency India is far and above other teams in this format. India has to find their mojo back in Tests. Since we have a lost a lot of resources they have to build again. battingwise we are in safe hands. Spin bowling we are the strongest in the world. Pace is where we need some improvement.

Its back to 2004 style .batting is far better than bowling especially in sena.During kohli especially after 2016, our batting was the worst

England pace bowler Chris Woakes looks likely to be ruled out of the remainder of the decisive fifth Test against India after suffering a shoulder injury on the opening day at The Oval.

Woakes was tumbling to make a boundary stop late on Thursday when he landed awkwardly. He went from the field with his left arm in a makeshift sling, in obvious discomfort.

The Warwickshire man is likely to have a scan overnight and England will provide an update on Friday.

BBC

England pace bowler Chris Woakes looks likely to be ruled out of the remainder of the decisive fifth Test against India after suffering a shoulder injury on the opening day at The Oval.

Woakes was tumbling to make a boundary stop late on Thursday when he landed awkwardly. He went from the field with his left arm in a makeshift sling, in obvious discomfort.

The Warwickshire man is likely to have a scan overnight and England will provide an update on Friday.

BBC
Woakes was an accident waiting to happen with severe workload this series. Him and Siraj poor guys. They didn't get rest. But others from their team got rest.

Its back to 2004 style .batting is far better than bowling especially in sena.During kohli especially after 2016, our batting was the worst

It is hard to replace so many players. First Ishant, then Umesh, then Shami. Now Bumrah is intermittently appearing. Siraj at some point will break down. Rahul Dravid tenure really had a lot of opportunity to groom fresh young fast bowlers. THey brought back Mukesh, Unadkat wasted precious time.

That's the entire tragedy with dravid and rohit's tenure.they didn't not do much for test cricket and left it in rot. Sadly they will be remembered as successful duo for ct and t20wc triumph.

Josh Tongue is a 90 mph bowler. He is the second highest wicket taker of the series for England. Better than all the Asian bowlers may be except Bumrah/Siraj. That's it.
But the question would be is Siraj the second best Asian pacer? He got to play a lot of matches in seam bowling conditions compared to others I would say.

One thing is for sure prime Australia of 2000 to 2006 would get bazzballed hard on these flat pitches

They stand no chance vs this marauding English side.

Same with Wasim and Waqar they would average 60 vs them

India is the best t20 and odi side

In tests I would say about 3rd 4th

We will see what happened when SA tour India. Rookie side now in tests
Lol winning via pitch doctoring means nothing. PK beat england via pitch doctoring but everyone knows what would happen on proper pitches

India clarify reasons for Bumrah omission for series finale

Assistant coach Ryan ten Doeschate has provided some insight as to why India made the decision to leave their star pacer out of the final Test of the series against England.

India maintain they made the correct decision to leave Jasprit Bumrah out of their XI for the fifth and final Test against England and use of the star pacer in just three matches across the five-game series.

Bumrah was a notable omission from the India XI for the series decider at The Oval, with the side opting to stick to their original plan of playing their key quick in just three matches across the crucial ICC World Test Championship series.

While India would have loved to have had Bumrah at their disposal for the series finale, assistant coach Ryan ten Doeschate suggested the long-term future of the No.1 ranked Test bowler was more important than any single Test match.

"It's quite a complex issue around Bumrah," ten Doeschate said after India reached 204/6 at stumps after a rain-affected first day in London.

"We obviously want to wheel him in, but we also want to respect where his body's at, and on the basis of that, we just felt that it wasn't worth including him in the squad.

"He has bowled a large number of overs, I know it doesn't always seem like that because he's only played three Tests and he only bowled in one innings in Manchester.

"But if you look at the loads, he's bowled a lot of overs, and like he did say coming into the tour, he was going to be available for three games, and we just felt it was right to honour that call."

The sight of seam-friendly conditions at The Oval would have made the decision even tougher to leave Bumrah out and ten Doeschate said there was no exact science to consider when choosing which matches the fast bowler would sit out across the five-game series.

"Every time I've answered this question I've spoken about like putting the pieces of the puzzles together and guys were baffled when we didn't play him in the third Test, and our thinking yeah was that The Oval, yes it's got bounce but it's normally a fairly good wicket for batting on, and we thought we'd roll the dice and if we'd won the toss we would have bowled," he added.

"In hindsight you would have loved to have him here, but you would also have said if we come here 3-1 down that we didn't use him there, so it's trying to not guess but trying to look into the future and then see how we can manage him, and maybe England have got it spot on leaving the best bowling wicket for the last Test after he's played three."

India battled hard on the opening day of the fifth Test despite the absence of Bumrah among four changes to the side that drew the fourth Test of the series in Manchester, with batter Karun Nair showing some excellent composure to compile an unbeaten half-century on a day that saw England's quicks ask the visitors plenty of questions via some decent bowling.

"Karun has been asked to do a tough job on the tour, start off at No.6 in the first Test and then batted at three for the other two Tests and I always said and we always thought that his tempo and his rhythm was very good," ten Doeschate noted.

"He's a quality player, particularly for that reason that he can absorb the pressure.

"I thought he summed up the conditions really well today and when someone comes back into the Test side like he does after a lengthy absence, the pressure is always there.

"But I think he's handled that very well...hats off to Karun.

"I think he's had a really good tour without blowing the lights out. But he's given himself a chance now tomorrow to to get a big meaningful score for the team."

ICC

India clarify reasons for Bumrah omission for series finale

Assistant coach Ryan ten Doeschate has provided some insight as to why India made the decision to leave their star pacer out of the final Test of the series against England.

India maintain they made the correct decision to leave Jasprit Bumrah out of their XI for the fifth and final Test against England and use of the star pacer in just three matches across the five-game series.

Bumrah was a notable omission from the India XI for the series decider at The Oval, with the side opting to stick to their original plan of playing their key quick in just three matches across the crucial ICC World Test Championship series.

While India would have loved to have had Bumrah at their disposal for the series finale, assistant coach Ryan ten Doeschate suggested the long-term future of the No.1 ranked Test bowler was more important than any single Test match.

"It's quite a complex issue around Bumrah," ten Doeschate said after India reached 204/6 at stumps after a rain-affected first day in London.

"We obviously want to wheel him in, but we also want to respect where his body's at, and on the basis of that, we just felt that it wasn't worth including him in the squad.

"He has bowled a large number of overs, I know it doesn't always seem like that because he's only played three Tests and he only bowled in one innings in Manchester.

"But if you look at the loads, he's bowled a lot of overs, and like he did say coming into the tour, he was going to be available for three games, and we just felt it was right to honour that call."

The sight of seam-friendly conditions at The Oval would have made the decision even tougher to leave Bumrah out and ten Doeschate said there was no exact science to consider when choosing which matches the fast bowler would sit out across the five-game series.

"Every time I've answered this question I've spoken about like putting the pieces of the puzzles together and guys were baffled when we didn't play him in the third Test, and our thinking yeah was that The Oval, yes it's got bounce but it's normally a fairly good wicket for batting on, and we thought we'd roll the dice and if we'd won the toss we would have bowled," he added.

"In hindsight you would have loved to have him here, but you would also have said if we come here 3-1 down that we didn't use him there, so it's trying to not guess but trying to look into the future and then see how we can manage him, and maybe England have got it spot on leaving the best bowling wicket for the last Test after he's played three."

India battled hard on the opening day of the fifth Test despite the absence of Bumrah among four changes to the side that drew the fourth Test of the series in Manchester, with batter Karun Nair showing some excellent composure to compile an unbeaten half-century on a day that saw England's quicks ask the visitors plenty of questions via some decent bowling.

"Karun has been asked to do a tough job on the tour, start off at No.6 in the first Test and then batted at three for the other two Tests and I always said and we always thought that his tempo and his rhythm was very good," ten Doeschate noted.

"He's a quality player, particularly for that reason that he can absorb the pressure.

"I thought he summed up the conditions really well today and when someone comes back into the Test side like he does after a lengthy absence, the pressure is always there.

"But I think he's handled that very well...hats off to Karun.

"I think he's had a really good tour without blowing the lights out. But he's given himself a chance now tomorrow to to get a big meaningful score for the team."

ICC
He has bowled a large number of overs, I know it doesn't always seem like that because he's only played three Tests and he only bowled in one innings in Manchester.

"But if you look at the loads, he's bowled a lot of overs,

^^ What a weird contradiction? Bro ik it looks like he hasnt bowled that much and if you look atthe stats he has bowled only 13 overs on one occasion for an entire day

But just trust me bro, he has bowled alot. Source: Trust me Bro

Sai is basically the Indian McSweeney. Rubbish player.

Some aussie indian was claiming aus was doing more damage by replacing McSweeney for Konstas. Clueless bunch ong.

Glad to see Green busting myths left and right

Lol winning via pitch doctoring means nothing. PK beat england via pitch doctoring but everyone knows what would happen on proper pitches
England doctors balls
There is an article about how these phattus are rigging balls lmao so they can use older balls that swing /reverse to win a series

Biggest scam ever

Pk used turning pitches/used pitches

They used pitches to suit their team. Nothing wrong with that.

India drew in SA too though?

But yea rookie team now

England doctors balls
There is an article about how these phattus are rigging balls lmao so they can use older balls that swing /reverse to win a series

Biggest scam ever

Pk used turning pitches/used pitches

They used pitches to suit their team. Nothing wrong with that.

India drew in SA too though?

But yea rookie team now
Mate learn to make up your mind. I saw your comment above, you keep changing opinions fast

India did ok to be honest. England bowled some wicket taking balls but (apart from Atkinson) also quite a bit of filth. In Anderson & Broad era it would have been 175 all out and game over. But if India can get up to 300 then that’s looking pretty decent. Grass will reduce and wicket will flatten out though, so England could end up with the best of the batting conditions in the 2nd/4th innings.

Yea sure bro. It’s all rigged

Only Aus and England always the paragon of virtue. Cut the holier than thou nonsense lmao

But yea India is 3rd or 4th in tests right now.

We will bounce back though.

THREAD TITLE CLEARLY SAYS WHAT IT IS ALL ABOUT... AND IT IS NOT ABOUT PASSPORTS SO STOP POSTING IRRELEVANT STUFF NOW

I didn't watch the match but having been put in to bat then I think India will happy with the situation they are in.

250 isnt a bad score for India but this pitch will be very flat once the grass burns off.

Another Root hundred is on the books :sachin

THREAD IS ABOUT INDIA VS ENGLAND TEST MATCH CURRENTLY GOING ON...

NOT ABOUT CT 2025 OR ANY OLD STUFF.... STAY ON TOPIC NOW

Beautiful batting by Nair. India making the same mistake as Aus aka playing no 6 batters at no 3.

Green is suffering from the same logic

Agree but Jaiswal has played 25 test matches now, still he is struggling to score to seaming wickets.
He is an opener. THey are supposed to struggle from time to time. You are up against fresh bowlers in fresh conditions. You can get out to jaffa. He will figure out a way eventually. Also he is a T20 batsman which can corrupt his game a lot.

Once again Indian posters proving why they are clueless about their own team. L to those who claimed sai > Karun simply because karun was batting at the wrong position.

Stats wise karun is miles ahead of sai in FC. Just cause a player has good leaves doesn't mean anything. Sai is rubbish.

However credit to @Romali_rotti for believing in Karun at no 6. I had this conversation with him and thought it was foolish to move karun from no 3. Credit needs to be given when due. No shame in admitting this.

But was right about Sai. Sai, Krishna, Kamboj all belong to the factory to 🤡. Jaiswal is good and should play all formats for India but he is not some ATG player that yall hyped him to be.

Gill is clearly better then him and it was the wrong call to drop gill for jaiswal in 2024 t20 wc just cause of a few bad games.

Once again Indian posters proving why they are clueless about their own team. L to those who claimed sai > Karun simply because karun was batting at the wrong position.

Stats wise karun is miles ahead of sai in FC. Just cause a player has good leaves doesn't mean anything. Sai is rubbish.

However credit to @Romali_rotti for believing in Karun at no 6. I had this conversation with him and thought it was foolish to move karun from no 3. Credit needs to be given when due. No shame in admitting this.

But was right about Sai. Sai, Krishna, Kamboj all belong to the factory to 🤡. Jaiswal is good and should play all formats for India but he is not some ATG player that yall hyped him to be.

Gill is clearly better then him and it was the wrong call to drop gill for jaiswal in 2024 t20 wc just cause of a few bad games.
You are so good.

Good early wicket.

Now the door is open to finish this off. Expect India to play some wild shots, just like this one lol

Sundar gone. This test match is done unless we do something extra ordinary with bowling.

England will win the series 3-1

Lol mediocre india might not even score 250 by the looks of it.
England should bat india out of the game..
England is unlucky they should have won this series 4-1.

I am so sorry 😭😭😭😭😭. I seriously wasn't trying to this time 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻.
@Nikhil_cric thank god I was talking to Rana and couldn't finish my post about Washington where I claimed that despite being am avg bowler he is a decent lower order batter and a worthy replacement to Jadeja 💀💀💀💀💀💀💀💀.

It seems not even finishing my post triggers the curse now

I know my fellow Indian posters will hate me for saying this but Gambhir has to swallow his ego and get Virat Kohli back in middle order. This batting line up is very very poor. Sudarshan. Nair etc are not international class player, definitely not for a team like India.

Jaiswal
Rahul
Kohli
Gill
Shreyas
Pant

This should be top 6.

#RajdeepSpeaksOnFriday

I know my fellow Indian posters will hate me for saying this but Gambhir has to swallow his ego and get Virat Kohli back in middle order. This batting line up is very very poor. Sudarshan. Nair etc are not international class player, definitely not for a team like India.

Jaiswal
Rahul
Kohli
Gill
Shreyas
Pant

This should be top 6.

#RajdeepSpeaksOnFriday
Bhai baat maan aur break le le. Tere bas ki nahi hai. :yk :inti

Jaiswal
Rahul
Kohli
Gill
Shreyas
Pant

This should be top 6.

#RajdeepSpeaksOnFriday

@Nikhil_cric @jeeteshssaxena @Hitman @Devadwal

Never again to Karun Nair ever again.

Hopefully this is his last match 🤡

Siraj, Akashdeep will love this pitch. India has enough on the board. I predict they will win and the series will be drawn 2-2

Jaiswal
Rahul
Kohli
Gill
Shreyas
Pant

This should be top 6.

#RajdeepSpeaksOnFriday

Virat has moved on, he doesn't want any part of Int cricket. Surely you have other batsmen?

Now its time for your bowlers to produce the same unplayable balls. Siraj is the key here, if he fails with the new ball, it could be a long long day in the field.

Agreed

Except both Sai and Karun are mediocre as hell for tests

Would drop both. Should never have been picked

Gambir clueless as usual

Like I said would rather have sweepshot as coach

Krishna last chance for him

Khmabhoj is a huge Trundler. Quota pick it seems

Siraj, Akashdeep will love this pitch. India has enough on the board. I predict they will win and the series will be drawn 2-2
You think siraj will bowl good afternoon playing 4 tests in a row?
I don't think so.
Akshadeep will create a lot of problems for top order for sure. Forget about krishna he can break partnerships only.

Jaiswal
Rahul
Kohli
Gill
Shreyas
Pant

This should be top 6.

#RajdeepSpeaksOnFriday
Yea fodder kohli 29 averaging quack to come back to save India
Yea no thanks

He can apply for British citizenship and stay there

We have better batsmen in reserve

Just don’t play useless tards like nair and sai

Gill is clearly better than him and it was the wrong call to drop gill for jaiswal in 2024 t20 wc just cause of a few bad games.
And gill is a tulla too. I don’t rate him high either.

I jinxed your no 6 claim. 🤷🏻‍♂️🤷🏻‍♂️. Looks like anytime i praise the opposite happens.

Anytime I hate the player scores

I think you might have done me a favour. If you did manage the jinkx, then it stopped Nair from hitting a 100, scoring a ton would mean he wouldve been in the side for the next few test series.

Well done son, 👏 ✔️

And gill is a tulla too. I don’t rate him high either.
This is where you are wrong.

We live in an era where we will atleast get one flat pitch per series. Even in Australia BGT, Perth was flat. The rest were bouncy and the 5th test pitch was a bloody minefield, but the Perth wicket was flat as a pancake.

FTB's aren't a bad thing. They will outbat you 90% of the time in any situation. Theirs a reason Harry Brooks and Gill have been so dominant for India and England over these past years.

Jaiswal
Rahul
Kohli
Gill
Shreyas
Pant

This should be top 6.

#RajdeepSpeaksOnFriday
Nope . We should move forward and give young players some time . :kp

Tbf the new ball will nip around a lot, its still the morning session. India need to look for 2 wickets before lunch, Crawley is there for the taking. But yes if they both survive until lunch, its going to be 350 min score.
Naw india's bowling is poor. 2nd test pure fluke.

These Indian trundlers are pathetic and already bowling at 130 ks
Josh tongue and atkinson both bowled with high pace.
Tbf to siraj, despite having a terrible attitude he played all 5 tests. He is a human, the pace would be down obviously, these boys dont have Eng and AU level fitness

One thing I like about Crawley is that he atleast bats at his avg. Even this series has been avg 30. He isnt a stat padder meaning he can somewhat hurt thr opposition