India accused of using vaseline during Oval Test in explosive ball-tampering claim by ex-Pakistani cricketer

Ball Blazer

Local Club Star
Former Pakistan cricketer Shabbir Ahmed made shocking accusations against Team India following their emphatic win over England in the fifth Test at the Oval. India were down and out when Harry Brook and Joe Root were going all guns blazing and took England to 301-3 in a chase of 374, but Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna led India's spirited fightback and bowled out England for 367, helping the team win the game by six runs.

The pitch at the Oval was the best wicket of the series, where the bowlers had even say. Even on Day 5, the old ball swung ferociously, making batting extremely difficult. India had the option to take the new ball after the 80th over, but the old ball was moving sharply; thus, India stuck to it. To some, including Shabbir, the old ball looked shiny.

"I think India used Vaseline. After 80 + over Ball still shine like new Umpire should send this ball to lab for examine," he wrote on X.

Former Pakistan cricketer Shabbir Ahmed made shocking accusations against Team India following their emphatic win over England in the fifth Test at the Oval. India were down and out when Harry Brook and Joe Root were going all guns blazing and took England to 301-3 in a chase of 374, but Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna led India's spirited fightback and bowled out England for 367, helping the team win the game by six runs.

The pitch at the Oval was the best wicket of the series, where the bowlers had even say. Even on Day 5, the old ball swung ferociously, making batting extremely difficult. India had the option to take the new ball after the 80th over, but the old ball was moving sharply; thus, India stuck to it. To some, including Shabbir, the old ball looked shiny.

"I think India used Vaseline. After 80 + over Ball still shine like new Umpire should send this ball to lab for examine," he wrote on X.

Yes..and also used cherry lip gloss, mascara and anti-aging cream to look shiny and young even at 80..

Yes, the Overton call was the turning point of the game. In the morning, there was so much swing on offer, it looked to slide down leg. He looked in good nick, way better than Jaime Smith.
So Siraj getting inside edge and given out lol. Sundar could have made a 100 with 2 tailenders.

India won fair. Nothing they did gave out suspicions of cheating.

I know if pakistan had won and some idiot ex indian cricketer made such a statement, the usual suspects would had trolled and made claims to ball tempering.

India played great cricket. Their new young core proved itself in batting and in bowling. Them winning overseas shows how good their batters have become and could dominate for the next 10 years.

Their pace bowling could improve though, as i think they need to strengthen the bench as siraj is not consisstent and bumrah being injured.

We have political differences and hate their people for the way they insult Pakistan. But their team played great cricket and was a great series that came to a draw

So Siraj getting inside edge and given out lol. Sundar could have made a 100 with 2 tailenders.
Yes, Umpire's call are part of the game as it impacts both teams equally. But I am saying that Overton one was during critical phase of the game vs say like Deep scoring 66 runs. Nonetheless, its nothing to think much about as DRS did not overturn the umpire.

Thats what I was saying before, Siraj created same pressure Bumrah created against RSA in T20 Final. These events are very rare as batting team is expected to win from those positions(Eng needed 42 with 6 wickets, 25 with 4 wickets), but good to see when it does happen i.e. trigger collapse of batting team from winning position.

Yes, Umpire's call are part of the game as it impacts both teams equally. But I am saying that Overton one was during critical phase of the game vs say like Deep scoring 66 runs. Nonetheless, its nothing to think much about as DRS did not overturn the umpire.

Thats what I was saying before, Siraj created same pressure Bumrah created against RSA in T20 Final. These events are very rare as batting team is expected to win from those positions(Eng needed 42 with 6 wickets, 25 with 4 wickets), but good to see when it does happen i.e. trigger collapse of batting team from winning position.

Ask a Kohli fan. they still talk about 2019 semi final where Kohil was given out which was seemingly heading down leg. But it clipped the stumps. It happens. Because of moment it happens it gets hyped. Truth is it happens all the time. There is every chance he could have clean bowled him next ball with that kind of movement he had.

Kumar took like eternity to give it out...may be this time he just wanted the ball to have a little tickle with stumps instead of hitting it and in the end former happened
Yes, the Overton call was the turning point of the game. In the morning, there was so much swing on offer, it looked to slide down leg. He looked in good nick, way better than Jaime Smith.

Ask a Kohli fan. they still talk about 2019 semi final where Kohil was given out which was seemingly heading down leg. But it clipped the stumps. It happens. Because of moment it happens it gets hyped. Truth is it happens all the time. There is every chance he could have clean bowled him next ball with that kind of movement he had.
Oh yes, that was a great semi final and even with rain probably was one of the best WCs till date. I recall we also couldnt chase 2 runs out of 3 balls or something like that against IND in a T20 LOL.

Kumar took like eternity to give it out...may be this time he just wanted to ball have a little tickle with stumps instead of hitting it and in the end former happened
He went right across the stumps. Also this match had so many beg befores. 12 of them out of 40. 6 bowled out of 40. Basically 18 dismissals hitting the stumps (albeit one may have inside edged). But given that vast majority of them very leg befores not a shock. THis was that sort of a wicket

I don’t think this should become the reason for bad comments against Pakistanis.

Shabbir isn’t a renowned ex cricketer and this is a very absurd claim. So it’s best not to give it as much importance.

I remember Wasim Akram ripping apart Hasan Raza for a similar statement during CWC 2023.

I don’t think this should become the reason for bad comments against Pakistanis.

Shabbir isn’t a renowned ex cricketer and this is a very absurd claim. So it’s best not to give it as much importance.

I remember Wasim Akram ripping apart Hasan Raza for a similar statement during CWC 2023.
Who is that guy? Hasan Raza who claimed INdia was using special ball during 2023 world cup. They really showcase their brilliant brain. As i said in another thread ex pakistan cricketers know all the "shrot cuts" and they think everyone is doing the same.

Seems pretty stupid to throw out accusations like that when the players themselves who were seeing those balls in person didn't say anything about it.

I have no idea why an ex Pakistani cricketer who has no stake in the match is randomly throwing out accusations like that. If England player want to do that when they faced the balls themselves and maybe have an inking it was tampered with, sure they would be justified but some random dude watching on TV making accusations like that just seems silly.

Who is that guy? Hasan Raza who claimed INdia was using special ball during 2023 world cup. They really showcase their brilliant brain. As i said in another thread ex pakistan cricketers know all the "shrot cuts" and they think everyone is doing the same.
I assure you, nobody hates attention-seeking Pakistani ex-cricketers more than Pakistanis. But you have to understand that this is the only way for some of these guys to stay relevant. Most of these people fade into obscurity after their careers end, and I'm not sure how they make ends meet if they are uneducated. Because I'm not sure how PCB's pension system works.

Is the same Shabbir Ahmed guy - tall lanky fast bowler from late 90',/early 2000's ...I thot he was a good talented bowler back in the day...

I am not saying this in a mean or a deriding way, but there seems to be a genuine mental health issue with some of the former Pakistani cricketers.

And it becomes apparent not only when they talk about India, but also when they’re talking about their own players.

I am not saying this in a mean or a deriding way, but there seems to be a genuine mental health issue with some of the former Pakistani cricketers.

And it becomes apparent not only when they talk about India, but also when they’re talking about their own players.
I'm not sure about mental health but they usually don't have much education and are low IQ.

We seemed to have peaked with intelligent players who played in the early 90s, in recent times there is nobody who is sought after abroad for their views or insights as commentators or coaches.

The later batch are egotistical, bitter, victim mentality type of analysts.

I don't like such accusations without obvious proof. Comes across as a a bit of attention-seeking from Shabbir Ahmed on social media.

India played good cricket and their bowlers should be appreciated for the effort they put in to win.

I don't like such accusations without obvious proof. Comes across as a a bit of attention-seeking from Shabbir Ahmed on social media.

India played good cricket and their bowlers should be appreciated for the effort they put in to win.
Jamie smith was a big choker, Overton and Atkinson were great. Bethell set the foundation.

We seemed to have peaked with intelligent players who played in the early 90s, in recent times there is nobody who is sought after abroad for their views or insights as commentators or coaches.

Why do you think this is so? With more access to the internet and social media, shouldn't the exposure and ability to think beyond your cocoon have improved.

Shabbir is a nobody

Most Pak greats like Imran, Miandad and Wasim never made silly remarks about India or their fellow cricketers. Infact always appreciated their neighbours whenever they played welll

E.g. Miandad holds Gavaskar in high esteem and vice versa

I don’t know about Vaseline, but even Alistair Cook on TMS was saying he’s shocked how the ball started moving out of nowhere……

Hmmm….not saying Shabbir is right or wrong, but worth pondering 🤔

Shabbir is a nobody

Most Pak greats like Imran, Miandad and Wasim never made silly remarks about India or their fellow cricketers. Infact always appreciated their neighbours whenever they played welll

E.g. Miandad holds Gavaskar in high esteem and vice versa
Yeah of course you have the likes of Wasim, Imran, etc. who are sensible. I didn't say or mean all former cricketers.

I'm not sure about mental health but they usually don't have much education and are low IQ.

That’s a fair point that it may not be a mental health issue but an IQ issue. Umar Akmal also comes to mind. Zulqarnain too. I don’t remember who talked about chip in the ball but that was pretty crazy too.

I don’t know about Vaseline, but even Alistair Cook on TMS was saying he’s shocked how the ball started moving out of nowhere……

Indian trundlers were getting smashed all over the park.. all of a sudden with the same ball Krishna becomes curtly Ambrose.

Well krishna is in the team based on performance and talent.

Also, after every wicket and every over the ball is to be returned to the umpire.

Vaseline is a sticky substance, so an umpire will catch on that immediately.

fair play to him, he wanted to rattle indians and he succeeded

Well krishna is in the team based on performance and talent.

Also, after every wicket and every over the ball is to be returned to the umpire.

Vaseline is a sticky substance, so an umpire will catch on that immediately.
And ball was swinging immediately in the morning of day 5, when the ball is kept in a safe place entire night and umpires check it in the morning.

The series is done. Indians are already over it but Pakistanis and a couple of Bangladeshis are still trying to discredit the 4th test win. Must be sad when you know your own team isn't capable of doing anything.

When 2 Ws were swinging the ball miles during '92 test series against England, Pakistanis were sore that England pundits accused them of ball tampering!

You can't have it both ways

Being a laughing stock and people mocking you and pointing at you is not called "rattling".

Its like an attention seeking kid throwing tantrums, not "rattled", they are just laughing.
Being a laughing stock and people mocking you and pointing at you is not called "rattling".

You don't just laugh and move on, you guys fall for every single bait. It's dead obvious that shabbir tried to trigger a reaction and he succeeded

Yup. A bit suspicious indeed.

Even if they did something, we may never know as ICC doesn't have the gut to investigate India. :inti

Yup. A bit suspicious indeed.

Even if they did something, we may never know as ICC doesn't have the gut to investigate India. :inti
Best news is that Ashes will be intense and a proper series.

I will be watching that from start to finish. BGT and AT have been torture for me since I have had to deal with loony toons.

I can now finally watch Ashes in peace and silence. For Ashes I wont even bother engaging and clowning anyone as I usually do to Indians.

Since I am gonna have utter peace and quiet and watch crickets oldest rivalry play out.

I am a bit conflicted though. Living in Australia has made me appreciate the country but I did live in UK as well for 3 years. Idk which country to support but I'll probs support Aus.

I dont have a UK passport. So ig aus is my 2nd nationality.

You don't just laugh and move on, you guys fall for every single bait. It's dead obvious that shabbir tried to trigger a reaction and he succeeded
Yes, yes, you can type whatever, but if anyone responds, we are "falling for bait". You guys need some serious growing up to do, this is not how to get attention

India won fair. Nothing they did gave out suspicions of cheating.

I know if pakistan had won and some idiot ex indian cricketer made such a statement, the usual suspects would had trolled and made claims to ball tempering.

India played great cricket. Their new young core proved itself in batting and in bowling. Them winning overseas shows how good their batters have become and could dominate for the next 10 years.

Their pace bowling could improve though, as i think they need to strengthen the bench as siraj is not consisstent and bumrah being injured.

We have political differences and hate their people for the way they insult Pakistan. But their team played great cricket and was a great series that came to a draw
Wrong most Indians don’t hate Pakistani people. Infact lot of them have Pakistani friends. It’s the government they despise.

Not the general public.

Maybe before sending the ball for examination, this chucker should be sent to have his head examined.

There was cloud cover and the ball was moving around. England’s two world class batsmen were on top but once Brook threw his wicket away and Root had a momentarily loss of concentration, England got nervous and panicked.

Since Root’s wicket, India bowled only two loose balls (first ball of the 5th day and the six that Siraj conceded).

There was relentless pressure by the bowlers and they made it extremely difficult for the English tail to score runs.

England only have themselves to blame, they had the game in their pocket and if they didn’t panick, they would have won.

Shabbir is thinking about the stuff that he used to do back in the day. You can say whatever you want about India but they play clean cricket and have done so for the past decade or so.

Is this the same lanky stick figure dude that bowled an eventful over against West Indies on his debut? He could not pitch the ball at one place and finally got a wicket when it did.

3 wickets.

He also cleaned up Tendi, Sehwag and Laxman in 2004 ODI too.

Decent test match vs England 2005 in multan

He wasn’t a loser, but at that time Pakistan just had too many great bowlers for him to make a place his own

Yea he was a bit of a chucker too, but he got tested and banned.

Let’s hope the ICC start testing ALL bowlers too.

Gotta feel for the likes of Shabbir.

They are low IQ individuals like almost all Pakistani cricketers and they can't land jobs after cricket nor do they have the intelligence to invest it sensibly etc.

Trying to be controversial and relevant is the only way most of these guys can probably survive, even.

the irony of indian bringing up someone's ban into an argument and calling him a cheat. So if that is how you judge someone then by that logic all of you a racists, islamophobe and we basically shouldn't listen or read anything you say.

Gotta feel for the likes of Shabbir.

They are low IQ individuals like almost all Pakistani cricketers and they can't land jobs after cricket nor do they have the intelligence to invest it sensibly etc.

Trying to be controversial and relevant is the only way most of these guys can probably survive, even.
same IQ level as ghambhir, raina who try their hardest to stay relevant by picking fights over nothing and tweeting then blaming their nephew lmao

the irony of indian bringing up someone's ban into an argument and calling him a cheat. So if that is how you judge someone then by that logic all of you a racists, islamophobe and we basically shouldn't listen or read anything you say.
Weirdest argument ever heard..same you pakistanis do with Danish Kaneria whenever he accuses or post anything on PCB or Pakistani players..does that mean you accept you are hinduphobic racists..cheaters tag will always remain irrespective of the race or religion..leave Indians..many Pakistanis themselves troll these ex players for their wierd comments over years..so as per your logic all of them were islamophobics.. wasn't it?

Here'z me 5c for listing recent 'doosron Ki saazish' gems

A) Inzy Bhai - CT 2025 - India tampered the ball

B) Shabbir Sahab with the vaseline ilm ka explosion - Ind vs eng- 2025

C) same hotel/floor/room/lift/breakfast/dinner/,hawa/paani/u-add-ur-own was reason for India winning CT 2025 ,& not their talent/skill/hunger etc-
Authors - basically large portion of Pak media but I remember sir Nadeem Rajput ( pardon my ignorance - but never heard of him before) & sir Tanveer Ahmed
D) Hardik did some black magic before getting wicket - 2023 wc...
E) who can forget the '24 indian pundits hired & in stadium,' - 2 each for foiling the best efforts of each opposing players ' - u'd think that would be a hard act to top - CT 2025 ...

But....

D) the legend creme-a-la-creme -top of the pops - has to be... drumroll- Sir Hasan Raza with the 'ball mein chip Hai ' - pure Diamond- circa 2023 WC !!!

- honourable mentions - India cheated at every toss & flung coin out of tv cam coverage - again 2023 ODI - WC...

Please feel free to add on any that I have missed...

Please feel free to add on any more such platinum explosions of cricketing & non cricketing reasons as to why India did well or the reasons as to maybe even why their eastern & western neighbours didn't do so well ...:)