India considers G2G procurement of 114 Rafale jets under Multi-Role Fighter Aircraft plan

Hitman

India is preparing to advance a government-to-government proposal to acquire 114 additional Rafale fighter jets under its Multi-Role Fighter Aircraft (MRFA) programme, The Times of India reports. The Indian Air Force (IAF) aims to submit the case for “Acceptance of Necessity” to the Defence Acquisition Council by October 2025, with a final government decision expected thereafter.

“Government will take the final decision when the MRFA case comes to DAC,” a source told The Times of India. “But yes, IAF has projected an urgent need for additional Rafales to stem the depletion in the number of its fighter squadrons.”

The urgency has increased following Operation Sindoor, conducted from 7 to 10 May 2025, in which Rafales carried out long-range strikes against Pakistani targets. Islamabad claimed to have downed six IAF aircraft, including three Rafales, using Chinese J-10 fighters armed with PL-15 beyond-visual-range missiles, but India has denied suffering any losses.

The IAF contends that a direct G2G purchase would be more economical and logistically viable than an open tender. With 36 Rafales already in service, Ambala and Hasimara air bases are equipped to host at least one additional squadron each.

A key issue is India’s request for access to the Rafale’s source code to integrate indigenous weapons systems. French manufacturers, including Dassault, Safran, Thales, and MBDA, are cautious about granting such access without safeguards to protect proprietary technology.

Franco-Indian industrial cooperation on the Rafale has been expanding. In June 2025, Dassault Aviation and Tata Advanced Systems signed four Production Transfer Agreements to build Rafale fuselages in Hyderabad, marking the first time such assemblies will be manufactured outside France.

The Hyderabad facility will produce front, central, and rear fuselage sections for both Indian and export aircraft, with production scheduled to start in FY2028 at up to two fuselages per month. Separately, India is negotiating with Safran to co-develop a high-thrust engine for the future Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft, due to enter service around 2035.

The Indian Navy is also set to receive 26 Rafale M carrier-based fighters from 2028 for use aboard INS Vikrant. Supporters of the Rafale option say operating a common platform across the Air Force and Navy would simplify pilot training, reduce maintenance costs, and streamline spare parts supply.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://defence-industry.eu/india-c...-jets-under-multi-role-fighter-aircraft-plan/

So I guess the grand master plan of having 1.4 billion people urinate in a giant pool and then flood Pakistan didn’t get the green light?

The IAF can crash anything from a MiG-21 to a Rafale and everything in between. And it doesn't even need a war to do it.

You're talking about a massive $30 billion potential deal here.

This gonna hurt a lot to TACO bhai.
:srt

You're talking about a massive $30 billion potential deal here.

This gonna hurt a lot to TACO bhai.
:srt
Yeah sure, a country with hundreds of billion dollar defence budget would get hurt by this. And not your local defence industry. How are the GE engines coming along, Mr Butter Chicken? An absolute joke of a deal but i am glad India went with this. Gives us more time to integrate J-35s. We already know the J-10s and the JF-17s can take care of the rafail.

why spend money you don't have to buy j35s when your jf17 is routing rafales...India doesn't even have any 5 th gen aircrafts for next 10 years....now is the time in your fantasy land to invade India to get Kashmir...something your army and air force always loses everytime it tries....on the other hand the morons at Indian air force are buying aircrafts which they know are no match to jf17 and j10...go figure that out..which country is smarter

I think u missed the memos but you clowns been trying to mess us with us the last two times and got squatted both times. Bigger humiliation this time around. Global beizatti.

Didnt even need an airforce to get Azad Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan in 1947. :ronaldo

We will get the J-35s to maintain qualitative superiority. Your AMCA is a powepoint pipe dream and US aint giving yall F-35s. SU-57 is a joke and french stealth is also a powerpoint.

I think u missed the memos but you clowns been trying to mess us with us the last two times and got squatted both times. Bigger humiliation this time around. Global beizatti.

Didnt even need an airforce to get Azad Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan in 1947. :ronaldo

We will get the J-35s to maintain qualitative superiority. Your AMCA is a powepoint pipe dream and US aint giving yall F-35s. SU-57 is a joke and french stealth is also a powerpoint.
Anytime Paksitan actually held edge like in 65 and 71..Paksitan always attacked Kashmir but lost nevertheless...if Munir actually thought PAF can take on IAF...he would not have begged modi via trump for ceasefire..ask your supreme ayotollah why is he not doing anything against power point air force when India is doing what we it wants with Indus water..after all it is an act of war... 🤣

This is a mistake. The indian tax payer is being taken for a ride. Can't you see that? Instead of wasting money on this the Indians should put their money in the SU75 Checkmate. They'll get full source.code and help for their AMCA. Buying these Euro planes is a giant scam. They dont work. Its all hype. Silly decision.

India approves largest-ever defence acquisition of 114 Rafale fighter jets​

India's Defence Procurement Board (DPB) has approved the proposal to acquire 114 French fighter jets, Rafale, from Dassault Aviation. The deal was approved by the Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar, and has an estimated value of around ₹3.25 lakh crore. It is considered to be the largest acquisition in the IAF. This is just the first step towards the formalisation of the procurement. The proposal will be further taken up by the Defence Acquisition Council (DAC), India’s apex military procurement body headed by Rajanath Singh, and finally, it will seek the approval of the Cabinet Committee on Security, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The development comes just ahead of the visit of French President Emmanuel Macron to the country. Macron will be visiting the country on a two-day trip from February 17- 19 to India to launch the India-France Year of Innovation and Artificial Intelligence Impact Summit.

The procurement is likely to happen under an intergovernmental agreement and without any intermediaries. If the deal is approved, then 12-18 aircraft will be acquired starting from 2030, and the rest will be produced by Rafael with an Indian contractor in India, with an indigenous production ranging between 30 per cent and 60 per cent, i.e., Indian-made weapons, missiles, and secure data links. Dassault Aviation has set up a maintenance and repair centre in Noida, and it has been operational since 2025.

IAF already has 36 Rafale fighter jets, and the Indian Navy has ordered the purchase of 26 more marine versions of the Rafale in April 2025 for the navy to be flown from the aircraft carriers. They are expected to be delivered between 2029 and 2031. Once this current 114-jet deal is completed, the total Rafale fleet in India will reach 176 aircraft. India operates roughly 29-31 fighter jet squadrons compared to the authorised 42 squadrons due to the retirement of the older MiGs, leaving the IAF with reduced capabilities.

Why HAL Was Left Out of the Rafale Deal I Rafale vs Make in India Explained​

HAL - Hindustan Assembly Line :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

No self-respecting company that wants to deliver on time will associate with HAL :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

Yet another source stated india wont get the source code for the rafale :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

You spent half of your defence budget on a jet which is worse than the JF-17 and yet you rejected better jets from russia / amercia = what a clown move.

Why HAL Was Left Out of the Rafale Deal I Rafale vs Make in India Explained​

HAL - Hindustan Assembly Line :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

No self-respecting company that wants to deliver on time will associate with HAL :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

Yet another source stated india wont get the source code for the rafale :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

You spent half of your defence budget on a jet which is worse than the JF-17 and yet you rejected better jets from russia / amercia = what a clown move.
@sweep_shot

the sanghis below are super quiet :

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @Devadwal @uppercut @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @Cover Drive Six @rickroll @RexRex @rpant_gabba, @Romali_rotti @kron @globetrotter @Hitman @jnaveen1980 @Local.Dada @CrIc_Mystique @Van_Sri @nish_mate @SportsWarrior @kaayal

How Is JF17 Thunder Far Better Than Tejas? | Air Marshal Arshad Malik vs Pravin Sawhney | Indo Pak​

Indonesia have rejected the tejas and is after the JF17

Thought they were your friends???, they rejected you this fast,

sanghis below, please let me know, i thought the flying somosa was a success - thought it had the least failures of any jet in history ??? why did indonesia reject it??? how many tejas have you sold??? please let me know:

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @Devadwal @uppercut @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @Cover Drive Six @rickroll @RexRex @rpant_gabba, @Romali_rotti @kron @globetrotter @Hitman @jnaveen1980 @Local.Dada @CrIc_Mystique @Van_Sri @nish_mate @SportsWarrior @kaayal