India end Day 4 on 4/0 , needing 324 runs to win the 4th Test against Australia

Aus is likely to win if the rain stays away. They can bat normally and put 300 runs.

But how can they bat normally when they are uncertain whether rain is going arrive or not. They wouldn't be sure to accelerate or not. The dilemma would be if they accelerate and bundle out cheaply and it doesn't rain then India will have lots of time to chase the score down. On the other hand if they play cautiously due to the sudden loss of wickets and it rains and a session is lost with the lead still below 200 then they will not be in a position to declare tomorrow morning.

Why Warner allowed to Take DRS after 15 sec??

Aussies saying 5 match series with India, i think not every time Australia going to be that bad, once they will find 2 or 3 good batsmen, they will start dominating again, their system is v good and they wont give India chances like these again.

It's great to see. 300 runs will allow Aus to win if the rain stays away. If Ind can chase 300 runs then they will deserve a win.

If Smith gets going, he will take that lead over 300 and I doubt Australia will declare until that lead is 330+.

India, on other hand, would look to bowl them out and go for the chase depending on the start they get from openers. If we are two down early at 20 runs, we will probably look to play to save the test.

164-4 Turning into 170-5 spells danger to me.

The game is right in the balance here. Mathew Wade has been the biggest wasteman of this series

But how can they bat normally when they are uncertain whether rain is going arrive or not. They wouldn't be sure to accelerate or not. The dilemma would be if they accelerate and bundle out cheaply and it doesn't rain then India will have lots of time to chase the score down. On the other hand if they play cautiously due to the sudden loss of wickets and it rains and a session is lost with the lead still below 200 then they will not be in a position to declare tomorrow morning.

Uncertainty surely creates a problem for Aus, but if I was Smith then I will feel comfortable with 300+ leads. Even if rain does not come, 300+ is a good target. You can't simply put 230 as chase thinking about rain.

Nothing in this wicket tbh

Australia need 350 to be safe. They can’t take chances.

Aussies saying 5 match series with India, i think not every time Australia going to be that bad, once they will find 2 or 3 good batsmen, they will start dominating again, their system is v good and they wont give India chances like these again.
Meh..if they couldnt beat this Indian team, then who cares what theyll do in the future.

If Smith gets going, he will take that lead over 300 and I doubt Australia will declare until that lead is 330+.

India, on other hand, would look to bowl them out and go for the chase depending on the start they get from openers. If we are two down early at 20 runs, we will probably look to play to save the test.

The problem with 2 down for 20 is that you can be playing only for surviving and then lose 2 more wickets. You can't rely on heriocs to save each time. I will fancy Aus chances with 300 lead.

164-4 Turning into 170-5 spells danger to me.

The game is right in the balance here. Mathew Wade has been the biggest wasteman of this series

Australia missing Aaron finch, don’t understand this langer guy he kicked him out, he is a class opener. Wade is an opener, he is playing at wrong position in my opinion.

Lead is 170.

In one more session, Aus can get to 300 easily. No need to do anything stupid here. Just bat 30-35 overs. last 10 overs, hit everything.

Meh..if they couldnt beat this Indian team, then who cares what theyll do in the future.

When you play against bowlers u haven’t played regularly they can surprise you. Aussies still in a good position to win this test. 250 on this track can be a big ask,3 even warnie saying 280 and Aussies can win it.

Australia missing Shane Watson an all rounder here. Tim Paine is a joke, he had easy series so far as a captain, but now he is exposed. Sooner Aussies get rid of him the better, hand smith Captaincy back again.

When you play against bowlers u haven’t played regularly they can surprise you. Aussies still in a good position to win this test. 250 on this track can be a big ask,3 even warnie saying 280 and Aussies can win it.

Warne also said Australia will win series by 4-0 #JustSaying

Aus should get a lead of 280-300 after lunch here by playing normal cricket in 25-30 overs.

India has too many stroke players to make that total. Doubt they will be breathing easy with that score. The wicket has no demons as far as I see

182 runs at lunch here.

63 overs left today. If Aus bats 25-30 overs then they can get to 300 runs lead and that should be enough.

Chasing 300 will be hard even if the rain stays away. If the rain comes then India can get a draw. If India can chase 300 here, then props to them.

Australia missing Aaron finch, don’t understand this langer guy he kicked him out, he is a class opener. Wade is an opener, he is playing at wrong position in my opinion.

Indians worked out Finch in the last series, Bumrah and Shami had him LBW or caught at mid on for fun. The Indians have worked out the perfect formula to neutralize the Australian batting attack in their own conditions. Instead of the off stump or just outside line of attack most visiting teams try, they have instead packed the leg side,on side and have ruthlessly targetted the off middle stump attack over after over to contain and have thrown the odd full delivery outside the off stump, the odd cut shot or the odd bouncer to encourage the batsman play a shot out of desperation to break the shackles. If the batsman goes for the flick shot, the Indians have the fielders on the leg side in the perfect place.

Its the most masterful planning i have ever seen a visiting team do in Australia. I have never seen an Australian batting line play so uncharacteristically carefully with the fear of getting out.

A little bit of thunderstorm otherwise we should get a full day today.

Indians worked out Finch in the last series, Bumrah and Shami had him LBW or caught at mid on for fun. The Indians have worked out the perfect formula to neutralize the Australian batting attack in their own conditions. Instead of the off stump or just outside line of attack most visiting teams try, they have instead packed the leg side,on side and have ruthlessly targetted the off middle stump attack over after over to contain and have thrown the odd full delivery outside the off stump, the odd cut shot or the odd bouncer to encourage the batsman play a shot out of desperation to break the shackles. If the batsman goes for the flick shot, the Indians have the fielders on the leg side in the perfect place.

Its the most masterful planning i have ever seen a visiting team do in Australia. I have never seen an Australian batting line play so uncharacteristically carefully with the fear of getting out.

Australia selection for this series has been pretty poor, they didn’t rest starc as he looks tired and lacks energy. Aussies normally try new fast bowlers but in this series no one was given a chance, Indian tactics have been different they changed the playing 11, which has worked for them v well.

Starc, Cummins and Josh look tired.

Aaron finch may be have been worked out, but he knows how to score.

The next day also looks mostly clear. Aus needs to bat normally without thinking too much about rain. Dangle the carrot of a win to Ind and that will Aus to take 10 wickets.

Ind has done too many heroic saves so far in this series. They may or may not be able to do it in the 4th inning in this pitch.

Australia selection for this series has been pretty poor, they didn’t rest starc as he looks tired and lacks energy. Aussies normally try new fast bowlers but in this series no one was given a chance, Indian tactics have been different they changed the playing 11, which has worked for them v well.

We didn't change the 11 we had no other choice lol

Australia still ahead. We need to get Smith real quick here. Should not allow Aus to score more than 70-80 runs here.

There were no Indian tactics to keep changing players. It was not a tactic that 5 newbies bowlers are playing this test. If Indians had a choice they would have played the entire series with Ishant, Bumrah, Shami, Ashwin, and Jadeja.

The next day also looks mostly clear. Aus needs to bat normally without thinking too much about rain. Dangle the carrot of a win to Ind and that will Aus to take 10 wickets.

Ind has done too many heroic saves so far in this series. They may or may not be able to do it in the 4th inning in this pitch.

This pitch has alot cracks, you wont last long here, especially if you are trying to survive. Sydney was a belter pitch.

Lol, are you for real? Its not Indian tactics. India is forced to change its playing eleven because of injuries. If it wasn't for injuries, India would have played same 7-8 players in entire series.

63 overs left today.

I am expecting a target of 370 in 110 overs for India.

If we bowl slightly better, then a target of 320 runs in 120 overs.

This is with no rain coming.

I think only 2 Indians have played all 4 tests.

63 overs left today.

I am expecting a target of 370 in 110 overs for India.

If we bowl better, then a target of 320 runs in 120 overs.

This is with no rain coming.

If it's 370 runs target in 110 overs, Aus can attack the entire time and comfortably win. Even 320 runs should be enough to win here.

I trust his judgment on the game not prediction, even fans didn’t think India would do that well after 36 All out.

36 all out was a one off situation. even in that match India had a 30 run 1st innings lead. One bad session changed the game.

Australian bowlers ball more than 100 overs three time in last 10 days so they also tired .

If they pick up a quick few wickets then they will push hard despite being tired. It has been a poor series for them so far and they will give it all here.

If it's 370 runs target in 110 overs, Aus can attack the entire time and comfortably win. Even 320 runs should be enough to win here.

320 will allow them 10 extra overs but with a bit of gamble. But all this if all the overs are bowled today with no interruption or delay.

Atleast India was changing bowlers around. Aussies ne tu bachara bowlers ki band baja di hai, 4 test matches in a row.

Its hard to understand whether you are being sarcastic or serious. the whole world knows why india had to change its bowling line-up in each match this series but you seem to be clueless about it. Last time India toured Australia it used the same bowlers throughout iirc. But this time the injuries forced them to change. Please stop throwing lame excuses to justify the under performance of Aussies.

370 is obviously if we bowl poorly and wait for declaration.

320-330 looks more likely with 20 overs to play today.

320 will allow them 10 extra overs but with a bit of gamble. But all this if all the overs are bowled today with no interruption or delay.

I will take that if I was Smith. Indians have not really batted big any time. Lower order has been saving each time. I won't rely on the same thing to keep happening.

The only way Aus can lose after putting 300+ is if one of the openers goes big. Both of them can score run at a fast clip and if they bat for a long time then overs won't be an issue. I don't expect openers to bat big. Rohit is too lazy to make it count even if he has starts. The other one is too new to go big.

If no rain, I expect Aus to win here.

Going by the latest weather reports there is a good chance we will have the full quota of overs today and tomorrow. It may rain around 5pm today which is the closing time. tomorrow the percentage shows 20-30% throughout the day. So 160 overs of play is a possibility. So much for all the rejoicing over the weather and hoping for a draw. A result to either teams now a realistic possibility.

Its hard to understand whether you are being sarcastic or serious. the whole world knows why india had to change its bowling line-up in each match this series but you seem to be clueless about it. Last time India toured Australia it used the same bowlers throughout iirc. But this time the injuries forced them to change. Please stop throwing lame excuses to justify the under performance of Aussies.

Thanks to those injuries, otherwise i would have been deprived from seeing a world class bowler like Natarajan.

Yes, Pujara and Rahane.

Yes, Aus should be disappointed with the series still being 1-1. I have not seen a bigger turnaround by any team after getting bowled out so cheaply. A lot more credit to the Indian team because Aus normally crushes the opposition once they get on top. People may say that Aus batting is not great, but the same batting has piled up runs and will pile up runs against other teams.

I will take that if I was Smith. Indians have not really batted big any time. Lower order has been saving each time. I won't rely on the same thing to keep happening.

The only way Aus can lose after putting 300+ is if one of the openers goes big. Both of them can score run at a fast clip and if they bat for a long time then overs won't be an issue. I don't expect openers to bat big. Rohit is too lazy to make it count even if he has starts. The other one is too new to go big.

If no rain, I expect Aus to win here.

It will depend on Paine, not Smith though. Given the fact that India were on verge of chasing the total in SCG but due to Jadeja's injury went for draw in a 400 run chase, I doubt Aussies will declare at 320 with say, 120 overs left. They will probably look to add 50 more runs and give their bowlers 108-110 overs to bowl out the Indians.

Yes, Aus should be disappointed with the series still being 1-1. I have not seen a bigger turnaround by any team after getting bowled out so cheaply. A lot more credit to the Indian team because Aus normally crushes the opposition once they get on top. People may say that Aus batting is not great, but the same batting has piled up runs and will pile up runs against other teams.

Aus got lot of tactics wrong in the last match as well as this one. They would have been up by 250 by now if they hadn't let Thakur smack them around. I don't agree that test cricket is tough, these are all propaganda by test cricket elitist.

It will depend on Paine, not Smith though. Given the fact that India were on verge of chasing the total in SCG but due to Jadeja's injury went for draw in a 400 run chase, I doubt Aussies will declare at 320 with say, 120 overs left. They will probably look to add 50 more runs and give their bowlers 108-110 overs to bowl out the Indians.

Oops, by habit I said Smith. It's not SCG so I won't really worry about what happened at SCG.

Thanks to those injuries, otherwise i would have been deprived from seeing a world class bowler like Natarajan.

World class or not. He did what he needs to do and that is take wickets. Whats the use of having world class bowlers and concede over 650+ runs. Isn't it?

I expect a draw if we only have to bat 80 overs and rest of the overs are washed away by rain or if Australia delay in declaration.

80 overs can be survived, just one new ball. I will put Aus high chance to win if 100+ overs to survive in this pitch with 2 new balls.

Green needs to rotate the strike here. 4(37) is too slow. No need to go crazy right now but play normally.

The pacers may be tired which is a tribute to the amount of overs the Indians have made them bowl in this series but then again Australia perhaps has the fittest and strongest pace attack in the world, Starc can crank it up to 149 km/hr while bowling his 25th over. This is what they train for

World class or not. He did what he needs to do and that is take wickets. Whats the use of having world class bowlers and concede over 650+ runs. Isn't it?

Acha bhai gusa mat kar, hamain pata hai tum log aaj kal achi cricket khel rahe ho. We have a v good record in NZL, we will get them soon.

Scoring rate has gone down a lot. Only 24 runs in the last 10 overs. Australia doesn't seem to pushing.

Acha bhai gusa mat kar, hamain pata hai tum log aaj kal achi cricket khel rahe ho. We have a v good record in NZL, we will get them soon.

If you get them its good for you. But before you get them in NZL you need to get them at home because last time courtesy Azhar ali you lost 2-1 at home.

190 runs lead now. It should take less than 30 overs to get of 330-340 if Smith bats for another 15-20 overs. If no wicket quickly then Aus can press it hard after getting a lead of 240.

Indian bowling tactics and field placings have been the biggest difference, even without their A bowling attack, their C bowlers have adopted the same line, length, field placings, tactics as their A bowling attack and its worked