India most dangerous country for women with sexual violence rife - global poll

Probably happens in India as well, but they are still more progressive than us as a nation.

I agree that India is a far more progressive nation than Pakistan but it seems that in matters concerning the welfare of women they still in the same league as Pakistan.

why is this so called respected times group not declaring a war against the filthy sexual harrassment and grooming culture in the UK? I didn't say they have an agenda...they are cowards who are doing virtue signalling by focussing on india, which is doing great btw!!

They absolutely did declare war on sexual grooming culture in the UK, The Times was the self declared champion of the UK press in waging that war, and the articles were loud and legion for the best part of two years. Does that mean they can never mention the problems in India in our interconnected world?

I say no, the British will never be silenced! For you and Sir Vincent van Gogh cheerleader who has piped up at last in this thread, I bring good tidings that we the British shall always be standard bearers of righteous behaviour on our former dominions!

To summarize this thread, we have:

1) Reuters does an "opinion poll" of "experts" who declare India to be the least safe country in the world.

2) This flies in the face of data which says countries like SA and the US have 100X and 15X the number of rapes. Also, if you read articles about SA you will read how openly gangs speak of raping women. In the US, you have rap music with its obscenities, violence and misogyny.

3) The counter-argument is that rapes are under-reported in India. However, they are supposed to be under-reported in all countries. According to Obama, one in four women are assaulted during college, which is about 5,000 per 100,000 instead of the reported 27. India in comparison has a reported 1.8.

4) Another related data which doesn't have possibility of under-reporting shows how much safer India is in comparison. India has a HIV/AIDS rate of 0.3% compared to SA's 18.9%.

5) Indian culture, though increasingly Westernized, is still very family focussed. Such a culture necessarily requires respect for women. Indian women are very active in all aspects of public life, including holding many high-powered jobs.

6) The data and an examination of the culture says that those responding to the survey are ignorant idiots. However happy this survey may make those jealous of India's progress, it still remains an idiotic survey with no connection to reality.

That is all that really needs to be said. Further discussion is just running around in circles.
[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=136571]akki[/MENTION] [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION]

To summarize this thread, we have:

1) Reuters does an "opinion poll" of "experts" who declare India to be the least safe country in the world.

2) This flies in the face of data which says countries like SA and the US have 100X and 15X the number of rapes. Also, if you read articles about SA you will read how openly gangs speak of raping women. In the US, you have rap music with its obscenities, violence and misogyny.

3) The counter-argument is that rapes are under-reported in India. However, they are supposed to be under-reported in all countries. According to Obama, one in four women are assaulted during college, which is about 5,000 per 100,000 instead of the reported 27. India in comparison has a reported 1.8.

4) Another related data which doesn't have possibility of under-reporting shows how much safer India is in comparison. India has a HIV/AIDS rate of 0.3% compared to SA's 18.9%.

5) Indian culture, though increasingly Westernized, is still very family focussed. Such a culture necessarily requires respect for women. Indian women are very active in all aspects of public life, including holding many high-powered jobs.

6) The data and an examination of the culture says that those responding to the survey are ignorant idiots. However happy this survey may make those jealous of India's progress, it still remains an idiotic survey with no connection to reality.

That is all that really needs to be said. Further discussion is just running around in circles.
[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=136571]akki[/MENTION] [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION]

You seem upset that India is labeled number 1 instead of getting upset at that everything on that article is true regarding sexual violence in India. I guess if it India held number 2 position you'd be wasting your data on something else.

They absolutely did declare war on sexual grooming culture in the UK, The Times was the self declared champion of the UK press in waging that war, and the articles were loud and legion for the best part of two years. Does that mean they can never mention the problems in India in our interconnected world?

I say no, the British will never be silenced! For you and Sir Vincent van Gogh cheerleader who has piped up at last in this thread, I bring good tidings that my hosts the British shall always be standard bearers of righteous behaviour on their former dominions and former subjects like me!

Just added a dash of truth to your post.

Article is based on experts' survey? And they proclaim survey's results as some sort of concrete finding! C'mon who are these dumb editors and who are these dumber believers!

Everyone apart from Indian PP posters apparently, read the Times Leader comment on the issue which I posted earlier. The whole world appears to believe it.

Pretty damning statistics. A genuinely developed nation that was honest with its own shortcomings and areas for improvement would acknowledge the value of such a study, and set clear actions on the back of it - therefore hopefully this thread is not representative of the wider response within India.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Headline 1: Centre rejects report calling India most unsafe for women.<br><br>Headline 2: Two schoolgirls raped in Manali, 3 tourists held.<br><br>Headline 3: Jaipur hotel's general manager held for molesting Mexican.<br><br>Headline 4: Raped by Delhi hotel manager, alleges 20 yr old Canadian. <a href="https://t.co/jXWHvZpKNn">pic.twitter.com/jXWHvZpKNn</a></p>— Shehla Rashid (@Shehla_Rashid) <a href="https://twitter.com/Shehla_Rashid/status/1012736023212838914?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Pretty damning statistics. A genuinely developed nation that was honest with its own shortcomings and areas for improvement would acknowledge the value of such a study, and set clear actions on the back of it - therefore hopefully this thread is not representative of the wider response within India.

Lol, value of this study? You call this a study? Please show the "statistics" in the article.

Only semi literates would take this shoddy opinion poll masquerading as some statistical survey seriously. Funny to see they put US in top 10 and why? because of #metoo campaign. So the more a country where women have the freedom to speak up publicly the worse it would fare in this "statistical study"(lmao).

Instead of commenting on India, you are better off figuring out why girl child grooming rings flourish in your country.

With that attitude, Indians should not be posting about any other country in the world.

Why does this defensive and insecure attitude exists amongst almost all Indians one comes across? I literally do not see this from any other nationality anywhere near as much as I see it from Indians. "You should be worrying about your own country instead of mentioning issues in India". Then you guys obsessively discuss issues in other countries, like Pakistan, China, Middle East, etc.

'Ruptured Intestines, Bite Marks, Damaged Vocal Cords': Mandsaur Minor's Rape Brings Back Memories of Nirbhaya Case

https://www.news18.com/news/india/ruptured-rectum-bite-marks-mandsaur-minors-rape-brings-back-chilling-memories-of-2012-delhi-gang-rape-1795783.html

We may or may not agree with the ranking but India is not safe for women. We shouldn't comment about Pakistan, Iraq or Syria without having been to those places, instead we should focus on what is happening in our country and try to improve.

'Ruptured Intestines, Bite Marks, Damaged Vocal Cords': Mandsaur Minor's Rape Brings Back Memories of Nirbhaya Case

https://www.news18.com/news/india/ruptured-rectum-bite-marks-mandsaur-minors-rape-brings-back-chilling-memories-of-2012-delhi-gang-rape-1795783.html

We may or may not agree with the ranking but India is not safe for women. We shouldn't comment about Pakistan, Iraq or Syria without having been to those places, instead we should focus on what is happening in our country and try to improve.

Well look at the age of culprits aasif 24 and irfan 20. I mean at such a young age ,they choose to destroyed the life of themselves and killed an innocent girl.
Higj time indian should publicly shame all the rapists and hang them in public .

Instead of preaching, please go and focus on your country and make it safe. How do you intend to go about it?

Well look at the age of culprits aasif 24 and irfan 20. I mean at such a young age ,they choose to destroyed the life of themselves and killed an innocent girl.
Higj time indian should publicly shame all the rapists and hang them in public .

Yes rapists/pedophiles deserve no mercy, there have been at least 5-6 high profile rape/murders in the last 24 hours. Even though I am against death penalty but when I see news like this I hope each one of these devils is sent to gallows. I have never been to Pakistan/Afghanistan but India is definitely not safe for women, feel very sad at the plight of our women/girls.

And there is also the the problem of female infanticide in which we are World Champions, sorry state of affairs. Sad to see many Indian posters being defensive in this thread, does the exact ordering of ranking matter when in all these surveys/polls we are consistently ranked among the worst. 5 years back when the same agency ranked us high in gender violence all Modi fans used it to launch attacks on MMS/RG, now they are mocking the agency. In all this I think plight of our women has taken backseat to political one-upmanship and defending India's image.

Yes rapists/pedophiles deserve no mercy, there have been at least 5-6 high profile rape/murders in the last 24 hours. Even though I am against death penalty but when I see news like this I hope each one of these devils is sent to gallows. I have never been to Pakistan/Afghanistan but India is definitely not safe for women, feel very sad at the plight of our women/girls.

And there is also the the problem of female infanticide in which we are World Champions, sorry state of affairs. Sad to see many Indian posters being defensive in this thread, does the exact ordering of ranking matter when in all these surveys/polls we are consistently ranked among the worst. 5 years back when the same agency ranked us high in gender violence all Modi fans used it to launch attacks on MMS/RG, now they are mocking the agency. In all this I think plight of our women has taken backseat to political one-upmanship and defending India's image.

Just because rapes happen and there are pockets not safe for women, doesn't mean any poor peice of journalism and fake "statistical study" (lmao) should get a free pass. If you notice this same article you are defending has put US in the top 10, despite women having so much liberty there. Please don't try to use the victims of sexual assaults to peddle your fake narrative.

Nobody is defensive. India is a country of damn 125 crore people. Its states are like if you combine all different countries of world. Good news is rapes have been started to report now which was not the case earlier.
I am all for death oenalty ,infact give such a painful death to rapists that used to be given in medival times during torchers. Most painful deaths. Put cctv cameras to as many places as you want. Send policewomen in casual dress at midnight to streets and catch all the animals. Like do all the traps.
We need to make it clear that we gonna get all the animals hunted whoever does this horrible crime.we say india as a bhaarat mata and hinduism put women above all . Still this much sort of crimes are unbelievable.
Chop off hands and everything of first netas and policewalas if they are involved in some cases. They shud be given like 100 deaths in this life only

Just because rapes happen and there are pockets not safe for women, doesn't mean any poor peice of journalism and fake "statistical study" (lmao) should get a free pass. If you notice this same article you are defending has put US in the top 10, despite women having so much liberty there. Please don't try to use the victims of sexual assaults to peddle your fake narrative.

Ever wondered why our sex ratio is so tilted? Ever heard of dowry or female foeticide and infanticide in India? I will wager that a new born child will be safer in Nigeria or Iraq than in India. I don't want to argue with someone who doesn't even acknowledge the magnitude of the problem. If glorifying India and defending her online 24x7 makes you happy so be it.

So you ignored my points questioning the article. Tell me how is US in top 10 of most dangerous countries when it doesnt have dowry, tilted sex ratio and infanticide.

Be brave and answer that if you want to defend the article.

Regarding female foetecide i am damn happy that we have really made alike 200 percent improvement in this regard.
We can see in middle class even now that they dnt mind having girl child and they try to educate them ,give them professional degress which was not the case at all.
This is the best improvement we have made regarding girls education and female foeticide if we compared it to 15 to 20 years back....
I have really seen people celebrating birth of a gal child now days . Even uneducated parents celebrate their birth

Still to make a fully change in such a massive country. It will take time and it also need bit attention but we have been doing awesome in this regard.

So you ignored my points questioning the article. Tell me how is US in top 10 of most dangerous countries when it doesnt have dowry, tilted sex ratio and infanticide.

Be brave and answer that if you want to defend the article.

I haven't been outside India, no idea how women are treated in USA, maybe some American PPer can shed some light. At least haven't seen any American poster here losing his/her mind.

Regarding female foetecide i am damn happy that we have really made alike 200 percent improvement in this regard.
We can see in middle class even now that they dnt mind having girl child and they try to educate them ,give them professional degress which was not the case at all.
This is the best improvement we have made regarding girls education and female foeticide if we compared it to 15 to 20 years back....
I have really seen people celebrating birth of a gal child now days . Even uneducated parents celebrate their birth

Still to make a fully change in such a massive country. It will take time and it also need bit attention but we have been doing awesome in this regard.

When these first responders raise the issue of sex ratio and feoticide they never question the congress who did a pathetic job regarding that.

It was Shri Narendra bhai Modi who asked Indians to do something about it. Beti bachao beti parhao. As a result, the worst state haryana has shown improvement.

But these first responders and crypto hindus will blame Modi for the skewed gender ratio and the crimes on women.

See this link https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_states_and_union_territories_of_India_by_sex_ratio

Child sex ratio in many states is worse in 2011 census as compared to 2001. May be things are getting better the last 3-4 years but it will take a long time to see the effect on the ground as you yourself agreed. Similarly we are slowly awakening to the problem of gender violence and authorities are getting more stringent, public is getting more aware, elections are being fought in the name of women's safety which hardly ever happened in the past. Progress is being made but slowly and perception wise it will take a long while before non Indians change their mindset about us. Till then we will have to bear with these unflattering articles and surveys. Let us take such insults in the right spirit and prove them all wrong one day instead of being defensive and hiding our problems.

When these first responders raise the issue of sex ratio and feoticide they never question the congress who did a pathetic job regarding that.

It was Shri Narendra bhai Modi who asked Indians to do something about it. Beti bachao beti parhao. As a result, the worst state haryana has shown improvement.

But these first responders and crypto hindus will blame Modi for the skewed gender ratio and the crimes on women.

Even before modi govt , we started to respect girl child . We have done tremendous job here. Before someone share incident of throwing of a girl child in dustbin . Let me be clear ,issues are still there but seriously even you may see the amount of money even lower middle class family spend to the education of a girl child. It was never ever been a case before i would say 15 to 20 years at all.

See this link https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_states_and_union_territories_of_India_by_sex_ratio

Child sex ratio in many states is worse in 2011 census as compared to 2001. May be things are getting better the last 3-4 years but it will take a long time to see the effect on the ground as you yourself agreed. Similarly we are slowly awakening to the problem of gender violence and authorities are getting more stringent, public is getting more aware, elections are being fought in the name of women's safety which hardly ever happened in the past. Progress is being made but slowly and perception wise it will take a long while before non Indians change their mindset about us. Till then we will have to bear with these unflattering articles and surveys. Let us take such insults in the right spirit and prove them all wrong one day instead of being defensive and hiding our problems.

I am very eager to see latest census data which would be released in 2021 i guess .

And all this awareness when we finally had a real Hindu ruler. Otherwise, as you rightly show, it was getting worse under the pseudo secular congress.

Where have I even taken the name of political parties in my posts? Of course all our rulers have been miserable failures and taking the point further even the Indian society hasn't covered itself in glory. Don't be so defensive, unless you are on the payroll of BJP IT cell.

Are you a first responder? If not then that post was not for you.

Disagree regarding all rulers. It was Shri Narendra Modi who had to remind indians of basic things like cleanliness and protecting the girl child, from the podium in the red fort. No one bothered to bring these basic things into public consciousness before that. So don't club him with the pathetic rulers before that.

Usual cop out. In other words you cannot defend the article. :))

Where have I even attempted to defend the article? I began my original post by saying 'We may or may not agree with the ranking..'. The particular order isn't important, that we routinely make these lists is important. Will it make you happier if we are at number 5 or 6 compared to top spot? IMO the larger issue is India isn't safe for women and that is also the external perception.

For example I am not sure whether Pakistan is unsafe or not but the popular perception is that it isn't a safe country with frequent terror attacks. Last few years Pakistan has made great progress in their national security but it will take many years of sustained efforts before that image changes worldwide, even most Pakistanis would like to do better in that department for their own good.

Similarly we have to aspire to improve our women's safety scenario over time and stop looking for conspiracies where there are none.

Where have I even attempted to defend the article? I began my original post by saying 'We may or may not agree with the ranking..'. The particular order isn't important, that we routinely make these lists is important. Will it make you happier if we are at number 5 or 6 compared to top spot? IMO the larger issue is India isn't safe for women and that is also the external perception.

For example I am not sure whether Pakistan is unsafe or not but the popular perception is that it isn't a safe country with frequent terror attacks. Last few years Pakistan has made great progress in their national security but it will take many years of sustained efforts before that image changes worldwide, even most Pakistanis would like to do better in that department for their own good.

Similarly we have to aspire to improve our women's safety scenario over time and stop looking for conspiracies where there are none.

There is no question of being ambivalent about the article. Usual tactics of the apologists who lack the guts to call out what is wrong.

Just a while ago you were saying you havent been to US so can't comment on it, and now you have become an expert on Pakistan.

First responders. :))

Yes rapists/pedophiles deserve no mercy, there have been at least 5-6 high profile rape/murders in the last 24 hours... India is definitely not safe for women, feel very sad at the plight of our women/girls.

Good luck to you in ridding a country of 1,324,000,000 people of all its criminals!

does the exact ordering of ranking matter when in all these surveys/polls we are consistently ranked among the worst. 5 years back when the same agency ranked us high in gender violence

We should make India better for women <- this is a good thought.

India is one of the most unsafe countries for women <- this is an idiotic thought simply because it is untrue. Many Indians like parroting this because it makes them feel virtuous, but it damages the country, damages tourism which in turn harms the poor and unemployed. Most people I have seen repeating this lie feel no threat to their livelihood by repeating this false accusation.

In all this I think plight of our women has taken backseat to political one-upmanship and defending India's image.

It is important that the rest of the world does not have a false image of India as we have to do business with them. The greatest harm from this lie is to the poor of India.

According to the statistics India is one of the best countries for women, and its culture is one of the best (and don't point to the 0.1% of the population which practices female infanticide).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Headline 1: Centre rejects report calling India most unsafe for women.<br><br>Headline 2: Two schoolgirls raped in Manali, 3 tourists held.<br><br>Headline 3: Jaipur hotel's general manager held for molesting Mexican.<br><br>Headline 4: Raped by Delhi hotel manager, alleges 20 yr old Canadian. <a href="https://t.co/jXWHvZpKNn">pic.twitter.com/jXWHvZpKNn</a></p>— Shehla Rashid (@Shehla_Rashid) <a href="https://twitter.com/Shehla_Rashid/status/1012736023212838914?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

While I am truly sympathetic towards victims and want to see the perpetrators get the harshest punishment, that tweet is very naive. It doesn't approve or disprove anything.

36363277_2423761027909342_7586857413949521920_o.jpg

While those marriageable ages are deplorable, it's not necessarily relevant to how dangerous a place is for women. For one thing in a country like Turkey you aren't likely to be getting many people marrying girls of 12 yrs old, and Turkey is obviously a safer place for women than India.

In US some states allow to have marriage under the age of 18 and it made to the list, too.

The list is about sexual violence.

Underage marriage do fall under that category but that doesn’t mean it is as common as sexual violence in India.

All of this is election propaganda to defeat incumbent BJP in next year elections. Just like award wapasi gang before Bihar elections. As soon as elections were over, award wapasi stopped.

Turkey is obviously a safer place for women than India.

Only in your mind. In the real world:

In Turkey some commonly expressed views on rape were presented when individuals from various professions were asked to agree or disagree with the statement "some women deserve rape". Thirty-three to sixty-six percent of the police officers agreed with the statement as well as nearly 50% of other professional groups.

https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/63a7/5f2a951e4849de1b2a3e6d2c779e5dafe585.pdf

There are many other country's that are equally as dangerous for ladies like Somalia or Sudan . Only thing is that most people don't care about what happens there. This is not to say for a minute that India is safe for ladies. If the propagate things like rape in their movies then there will be consequences. This should be no surprise after all India is a third world country where ignorance is everywhere.

This is the biggest problem with India. Well I don't give a damn about some agency publishing some list but as an Indian I agree that there is a problem. The biggest issue about India is that we never agree that we have a problem and keep blaming other countries saying that they are worse than us, so we should not be pointed out. The reason even we are featuring in the list is because of the happenings in the recent years. Neither the govt., nor the people care about what is going on with our country, until something happens again and people just raise their voice. I don't care if we are 1st or 10th or 15th or whatever the the number is, the problem exists. Unless we accept that we are never going to change or improve. Don't care if Sudan or US or any other country being less safe but the only question that matters is that are Women/Kids in India are safe? The answer is no and what are the politicians doing about it?

I don't think anyone disagrees with the fact that we have a problem. In fact we have a serious problem. But saying that we are the worst and even worse than Afghanistan or Syria - that is definitely a propaganda.

Not related to this thread in general, but the text I bolded seems to be a very common line of defence from a lot of Indians. You can already it in this thread and I even pointed it out. The other country doesn't even have to be worse, if that country has some unrelated problem a lot of Indians deflect to that completely.

These same people will then openly talk in other thread in how bad some country xyz, but can't stand anything negative about their country.

UP Man Cuts Open 8-Month Pregnant Wife's Stomach To Check Baby's Gender, Gets Life Imprisonment​

A man from Uttar Pradesh’s Budaun has been sentenced to lifetime imprisonment for using a sickle to rip open the stomach of his pregnant wife while attempting to check whether the baby was a boy or a girl.

The incident occurred back in September 2020 when the accused man, identified as Panna Lal, a resident of Budaun’s Civil Lines had attacked his wife Anita.

The couple were married for 22 years and were parents to five girls. However, the man wanted to have a boy and due to that the couple used to fight regularly.

As per media reports, the wife’s family were aware about the couple’s dispute and had tried to explain Panna Lal to stop fighting. The man, however, threatened to divorce Anita and marry another woman in order to to father a son.

On the day of the shocking incident, the couple had again fought over the gender of the unborn baby. In a fit of rage, Panna Lal threatened to cut open Anita’s stomach to check if she was pregnant with a boy or a girl. Infact, when Anita fought back, he also threatened to kill her.

According to an NDTV report, the man attacked her with a sickle after which she tried to run away from him. He reportedly caught hold of her and used the sickle to rip open her stomach. Anita was eight months pregnant at that time and she also informed the court that the cut was so deep that her intestines were even seen hanging from her stomach.

Following the attack, the woman ran out to the street and her brother, who worked at a nearby shop came to her rescue. On seeing him, Panna Lal ran away the scene.

Meanwhile, Anita was rushed to the hospital. Even though she survived the attack, her baby, a boy, died due to the attack.

The accused, Panna Lal, while speaking at the court, argued that his wife had inflicted the wounds on herself so that she could falsely implicate him as he was involved in a property dispute with her brothers.

The rape and murder of a doctor in hospital alarm India

Early on Friday morning, a 31-year-old female trainee doctor retired to sleep in a seminar hall after a gruelling day at one of India’s oldest hospitals.

It was the last time she was seen alive.

The next morning, her colleagues discovered her half-naked body on the podium, bearing extensive injuries. Police later arrested a hospital volunteer worker in connection with what they say is a case of rape and murder at Kolkata’s 138-year-old RG Kar Medical College.

Enraged doctors went on strike both in the city and across India, demanding a strict federal law to protect healthcare workers. The tragic incident has again cast a spotlight on the violence against healthcare workers in the country.

Women make up nearly 30% of India’s doctors and 80% of the nursing staff. They are also more vulnerable than their male colleagues. Official data reveals a troubling 4% increase in crimes against women in 2022, with over 20% of these incidents involving rape and assault.

The crime in the Kolkata hospital last week exposed the alarming security risks faced by them in many of India's state-run health facilities.

At RG Kar Hospital, which sees over 3,500 patients daily, the overworked trainee doctors - some working up to 36 hours straight - had no designated rest rooms, forcing them to seek rest in a third-floor seminar room.

Reports indicate that the arrested suspect, a patient volunteer with a troubled past, had unrestricted access to the ward and was captured on CCTV. Police allege that no background checks were conducted on the volunteer.

"The hospital has always been our first home; we only go home to rest. We never imagined it could be this unsafe. Now, after this incident, we're terrified," says Madhuparna Nandi, a junior doctor at Kolkata’s 76-year-old National Medical College.

Dr Nandi’s own journey highlights how female doctors in India's government hospitals have become resigned to working in conditions that compromise their security.

Dr Madhuparna Nandi says there are no designated rest rooms and toilets for female doctors at her hospital

At her hospital, where she is a resident in gynaecology and obstetrics, there are no designated rest rooms and separate toilets for female doctors.

“I use the patients’ or the nurses' toilets if they allow me. When I work late, I sometimes sleep in an empty patient bed in the ward or in a cramped waiting room with a bed and basin,” Dr Nandi told me.

She says she feels insecure even in the room where she rests after 24-hour shifts that start with outpatient duty and continue through ward rounds and maternity rooms.

One night in 2021, during the peak of the Covid pandemic, some men barged into her room and woke her by touching her, demanding, “Get up, get up. See our patient.”

“I was completely shaken by the incident. But we never imagined it would come to a point where a doctor could be raped and murdered in the hospital,” Dr Nandi says.

What happened on Friday was not an isolated incident. The most shocking case remains that of Aruna Shanbaug, a nurse at a prominent Mumbai hospital, who was left in a persistent vegetative state after being raped and strangled by a ward attendant in 1973. She died in 2015, after 42 years of severe brain damage and paralysis. More recently, in Kerala, Vandana Das, a 23-year-old medical intern, was fatally stabbed with surgical scissors by a drunken patient last year.

In overcrowded government hospitals with unrestricted access, doctors often face mob fury from patients' relatives after a death or over demands for immediate treatment. Kamna Kakkar, an anaesthetist, remembers a harrowing incident during a night shift in an intensive care unit (ICU) during the pandemic in 2021 at her hospital in Haryana in northern India.

“I was the lone doctor in the ICU when three men, flaunting a politician’s name, forced their way in, demanding a much in-demand controlled drug. I gave in to protect myself, knowing the safety of my patients was at stake," Dr Kakkar told me.

Namrata Mitra, a Kolkata-based pathologist who studied at the RG Kar Medical College, says her doctor father would often accompany her to work because she felt unsafe.

“During my on-call duty, I took my father with me. Everyone laughed, but I had to sleep in a room tucked away in a long, dark corridor with a locked iron gate that only the nurse could open if a patient arrived,” Dr Mitra wrote in a Facebook post over the weekend.

“I’m not ashamed to admit I was scared. What if someone from the ward - an attendant, or even a patient - tried something? I took advantage of the fact that my father was a doctor, but not everyone has that privilege.”

When she was working in a public health centre in a district in West Bengal, Dr Mitra spent nights in a dilapidated one-storey building that served as the doctor’s hostel.

“From dusk, a group of boys would gather around the house, making lewd comments as we went in and out for emergencies. They would ask us to check their blood pressure as an excuse to touch us and they would peek through the broken bathroom windows,” she wrote.

Years later, during an emergency shift at a government hospital, “a group of drunk men passed by me, creating a ruckus, and one of them even groped me”, Dr Mitra said. “When I tried to complain, I found the police officers dozing off with their guns in hand.”

Things have worsened over the years, says Saraswati Datta Bodhak, a pharmacologist at a government hospital in West Bengal's Bankura district. "Both my daughters are young doctors and they tell me that hospital campuses in the state are overrun by anti-social elements, drunks and touts," she says. Dr Bodhak recalls seeing a man with a gun roaming around a top government hospital in Kolkata during a visit.

India lacks a stringent federal law to protect healthcare workers. Although 25 states have some laws to prevent violence against them, convictions are “almost non-existent”, RV Asokan, president of the Indian Medical Association (IMA), an organisation of doctors, told me. A 2015 survey by IMA found that 75% of doctors in India have faced some form of violence at work. “Security in hospitals is almost absent,” he says. “One reason is that nobody thinks of hospitals as conflict zones.”

Some states like Haryana have deployed private bouncers to strengthen security at government hospitals. In 2022, the federal government asked the states to deploy trained security forces for sensitive hospitals, install CCTV cameras, set up quick reaction teams, restrict entry to "undesirable individuals" and file complaints against offenders. Nothing much has happened, clearly.

Even the protesting doctors don't seem to be very hopeful. “Nothing will change... The expectation will be that doctors should work round the clock and endure abuse as a norm,” says Dr Mitra. It is a disheartening thought.

BBC

The rape and murder of a doctor in hospital alarm India

Early on Friday morning, a 31-year-old female trainee doctor retired to sleep in a seminar hall after a gruelling day at one of India’s oldest hospitals.

It was the last time she was seen alive.

The next morning, her colleagues discovered her half-naked body on the podium, bearing extensive injuries. Police later arrested a hospital volunteer worker in connection with what they say is a case of rape and murder at Kolkata’s 138-year-old RG Kar Medical College.

Enraged doctors went on strike both in the city and across India, demanding a strict federal law to protect healthcare workers. The tragic incident has again cast a spotlight on the violence against healthcare workers in the country.

Women make up nearly 30% of India’s doctors and 80% of the nursing staff. They are also more vulnerable than their male colleagues. Official data reveals a troubling 4% increase in crimes against women in 2022, with over 20% of these incidents involving rape and assault.

The crime in the Kolkata hospital last week exposed the alarming security risks faced by them in many of India's state-run health facilities.

At RG Kar Hospital, which sees over 3,500 patients daily, the overworked trainee doctors - some working up to 36 hours straight - had no designated rest rooms, forcing them to seek rest in a third-floor seminar room.

Reports indicate that the arrested suspect, a patient volunteer with a troubled past, had unrestricted access to the ward and was captured on CCTV. Police allege that no background checks were conducted on the volunteer.

"The hospital has always been our first home; we only go home to rest. We never imagined it could be this unsafe. Now, after this incident, we're terrified," says Madhuparna Nandi, a junior doctor at Kolkata’s 76-year-old National Medical College.

Dr Nandi’s own journey highlights how female doctors in India's government hospitals have become resigned to working in conditions that compromise their security.

Dr Madhuparna Nandi says there are no designated rest rooms and toilets for female doctors at her hospital

At her hospital, where she is a resident in gynaecology and obstetrics, there are no designated rest rooms and separate toilets for female doctors.

“I use the patients’ or the nurses' toilets if they allow me. When I work late, I sometimes sleep in an empty patient bed in the ward or in a cramped waiting room with a bed and basin,” Dr Nandi told me.

She says she feels insecure even in the room where she rests after 24-hour shifts that start with outpatient duty and continue through ward rounds and maternity rooms.

One night in 2021, during the peak of the Covid pandemic, some men barged into her room and woke her by touching her, demanding, “Get up, get up. See our patient.”

“I was completely shaken by the incident. But we never imagined it would come to a point where a doctor could be raped and murdered in the hospital,” Dr Nandi says.

What happened on Friday was not an isolated incident. The most shocking case remains that of Aruna Shanbaug, a nurse at a prominent Mumbai hospital, who was left in a persistent vegetative state after being raped and strangled by a ward attendant in 1973. She died in 2015, after 42 years of severe brain damage and paralysis. More recently, in Kerala, Vandana Das, a 23-year-old medical intern, was fatally stabbed with surgical scissors by a drunken patient last year.

In overcrowded government hospitals with unrestricted access, doctors often face mob fury from patients' relatives after a death or over demands for immediate treatment. Kamna Kakkar, an anaesthetist, remembers a harrowing incident during a night shift in an intensive care unit (ICU) during the pandemic in 2021 at her hospital in Haryana in northern India.

“I was the lone doctor in the ICU when three men, flaunting a politician’s name, forced their way in, demanding a much in-demand controlled drug. I gave in to protect myself, knowing the safety of my patients was at stake," Dr Kakkar told me.

Namrata Mitra, a Kolkata-based pathologist who studied at the RG Kar Medical College, says her doctor father would often accompany her to work because she felt unsafe.

“During my on-call duty, I took my father with me. Everyone laughed, but I had to sleep in a room tucked away in a long, dark corridor with a locked iron gate that only the nurse could open if a patient arrived,” Dr Mitra wrote in a Facebook post over the weekend.

“I’m not ashamed to admit I was scared. What if someone from the ward - an attendant, or even a patient - tried something? I took advantage of the fact that my father was a doctor, but not everyone has that privilege.”

When she was working in a public health centre in a district in West Bengal, Dr Mitra spent nights in a dilapidated one-storey building that served as the doctor’s hostel.

“From dusk, a group of boys would gather around the house, making lewd comments as we went in and out for emergencies. They would ask us to check their blood pressure as an excuse to touch us and they would peek through the broken bathroom windows,” she wrote.

Years later, during an emergency shift at a government hospital, “a group of drunk men passed by me, creating a ruckus, and one of them even groped me”, Dr Mitra said. “When I tried to complain, I found the police officers dozing off with their guns in hand.”

Things have worsened over the years, says Saraswati Datta Bodhak, a pharmacologist at a government hospital in West Bengal's Bankura district. "Both my daughters are young doctors and they tell me that hospital campuses in the state are overrun by anti-social elements, drunks and touts," she says. Dr Bodhak recalls seeing a man with a gun roaming around a top government hospital in Kolkata during a visit.

India lacks a stringent federal law to protect healthcare workers. Although 25 states have some laws to prevent violence against them, convictions are “almost non-existent”, RV Asokan, president of the Indian Medical Association (IMA), an organisation of doctors, told me. A 2015 survey by IMA found that 75% of doctors in India have faced some form of violence at work. “Security in hospitals is almost absent,” he says. “One reason is that nobody thinks of hospitals as conflict zones.”

Some states like Haryana have deployed private bouncers to strengthen security at government hospitals. In 2022, the federal government asked the states to deploy trained security forces for sensitive hospitals, install CCTV cameras, set up quick reaction teams, restrict entry to "undesirable individuals" and file complaints against offenders. Nothing much has happened, clearly.

Even the protesting doctors don't seem to be very hopeful. “Nothing will change... The expectation will be that doctors should work round the clock and endure abuse as a norm,” says Dr Mitra. It is a disheartening thought.

BBC

Attempt to save accused: Rahul Gandhi on Kolkata hospital rape-murder​

Congress MP Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday slammed the conduct of the RG Kar Hospital in Kolkata and local authorities over the rape and murder of a trainee doctor, alleging there was an "attempt to save the accused".

In a post on X, Rahul Gandhi said, "The entire country is shocked by the gruesome incident of rape and murder of a junior doctor in Kolkata. The way the layers of the cruel and inhuman act against her are being revealed, there is an atmosphere of insecurity among the doctors' community and women."

"The attempt to save the accused instead of providing justice to the victim raises serious questions on the hospital and the local administration," he added.

The Raebareli MP said every party and section of society will have to hold serious discussions and take concrete steps on the continuously increasing incidents against women "from Hathras to Unnao, and from Kathua to Kolkata".

"This incident has forced us to think that if doctors are not safe in a place like a medical college, then how can parents send their daughters outside for studies? Why are even the strict laws made after the Nirbhaya case unsuccessful in preventing such crimes?" he asked.

The body of the woman postgraduate trainee was found in a seminar hall at Kolkata's RG Kar Hospital on August 9 morning. Her postmortem report revealed that she was raped and throttled to death.

The report also mentioned that the woman was bleeding from both eyes, mouth and private parts. The report said the wounds in her private parts were caused by "perverted sexuality" and "genital torture".

A civic volunteer with Kolkata Police, Sanjay Roy, was arrested in connection with the case. He confessed to the police about raping and murdering the trainee doctor.

On Tuesday, the Calcutta High Court transferred the probe to the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI).

The incident occurred on Friday when the man was returning home with his 52-year-old mother, police said.​

A 28-year-old was arrested for allegedly raping his mother in an inebriated state in Bundi district, police on Wednesday said.

According to the police, the incident occurred on Friday, when the accused was returning home at a village with his 52-year-old mother, they said.

After the incident, the victim, along with her younger son and daughter, reached Dabi Police Station and lodged a complaint against her son, police said.

Police arrested the accused, who during initial interrogation confessed his crime. He was produced before a court and was sent to jail.

According to the police, the victim with her son had gone to her brother's house. When both were walking back, he raped his mother at an isolated place.

"We have arrested the accused and further investigation is underway. the accused was produced before a court which sent him to judicial custody," Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Tarunkant Somani said.

Are you intending to open an individual thread for every single rape case in India?

This is another one of those sad & unfortunate incidents but glad the culprit got arrested.

All we can say is law for rapes must be tougher and the culprit should get harshest of punishment. Not sure what other contributions from fellow posters are you looking in these rape threads? Unless I am missing a bigger point here?

Are you intending to open an individual thread for every single rape case in India?

This is another one of those sad & unfortunate incidents but glad the culprit got arrested.

All we can say is law for rapes must be tougher and the culprit should get harshest of punishment. Not sure what other contributions from fellow posters are you looking in these rape threads? Unless I am missing a bigger point here?
stop being a rape apologist

Excuse me?

I always believe in women equality and liberty. So these rape incidents makes me sick. I hope India brings harsh law and hang all rape culprits.

However as per statistics there is a rape happening in India every 2 mins. No point is opening thread for each and everyone of them as it adds no value. Everyone here unanimously condemns it and wants strict punishment for the culprit.

But if OPs intention is something else, then that is a different story

Excuse me?

I always believe in women equality and liberty. So these rape incidents makes me sick. I hope India brings harsh law and hang all rape culprits.

However as per statistics there is a rape happening in India every 2 mins. No point is opening thread for each and everyone of them as it adds no value. Everyone here unanimously condemns it and wants strict punishment for the culprit.

But if OPs intention is something else, then that is a different story

Not everyone condemn. Some blame it on political conspiracy. Others want to hide it.

sad sad sad country.

I feel very bad for minorities and women of india

Sick individual. No words to explain.

To OP. Please open a crime thread or rape thread on India. One place to pour out outrage instead of many threads for each crime committed.

@BouncerGuy , please combine all these threads to one.

Seems rape is most frequent crime in India, strict laws and education from school level required to create awareness
Mugging and rubbing is the most frequent crime against women in India. Bike thieves specifically target women who are walking with their bags and purses alone on the streets.

Then we have perverts and who molest them in crowded places. Rape is usually done by men that victim already knows. Many times it is closely related people like uncles, grand fathers and family friends.

This is hardly your every day rape case though, the guy got drunk and raped his own mother. By lumping it in with all the other rape cases, it's you that's making it seem like it's all just another day another rape in that country.

Shall we start posting the amazing news coming out of Bangladesh too? You will not like it.
You seem more disturbed by this thread than by the actual news. Let the moderators decide which threads should be merged. Thousands of rapes happen in India, but only a few make it to the news. This one stood out for how bizarre it is. I don't understand why BJP is being mentioned here. Aren't you ashamed of the state of things in India?

This is not an ordinary rape case. The man raped his own mother. Instead of complaining about me sharing this, focus on the shocking nature of the news itself.

This is the issue and damage alcohol does to senses. It makes people do such evil acts.

Seems rape is most frequent crime in India, strict laws and education from school level required to create awareness
Yes it is probably most frequent. The reasons are several. Firstly very few are reported, many police stations do not collect the evidence properly , and then because of corruption the police prepare weak charge sheet. thus the real imprisonment is very very few. Rapists know they can get away with this .

This is not just another rape in India. The severity of this case has no limits. MOTHER??? That is why drinking is haram in ISLAM because it makes you crazy.

Having worked with Tamil Nadu law enforcement for three years, I can dig out such stories that might change your views. Let me know if you are interested.

You don't even need to search far. Just this morning on the news there was some news of a 6 year old girl being assaulted in school in Chennai.

Having worked with Tamil Nadu law enforcement for three years, I can dig out such stories that might change your views. Let me know if you are interested.

Have you condemned these incidents or are you always looking to deflect?

Why is it hard for you to condemn something bad?

This is the issue and damage alcohol does to senses. It makes people do such evil acts.

Millions drink alcohol , sure it’s not good but drunks don’t rape their mother . This is a sickness in this society & evil in this person .