India v New Zealand | 1st Test | Ahmedabad | Nov 4-8 2010

Kiwis have bowled 62 overs in 2 sessions!! The day's play could be over 15 minutes before scheduled close of play? Or can they continue to play till the scheduled close even after bowling 90 overs in a day?

gud for him.atleast someone must get out now if this match has to be exciting next 4 days

I would rather want him to convert this into a big 100. Has done all the hard work and is looking fluent. Should not throw it away.

243/1 in 62 overs so far. Expecting 380 by the end of day1.

Dravid reached 90. He is finally making up for slow batting earlier.

V Sehwag b Vettori 173
Another gem from Veeru. hope sachin pick things where veeru left

Vettori to Sehwag, OUT, lazy, tired, bored! Does nothing to this. Just stands there and brings the bat down in slow motion. The ball, as has been the case with Vettori today, doesn't turn, goes with the arm, hits his bad down the leg side and then ricochets onto the middle stump. Smiling and chatting with Gambhir as he walks off

100 for Dravid. Very good knock after his initial struggles. Last 80 runs in 100 balls.

Sehwag, at 7325, has scored the most runs after 140 innings. Following him are Hammond, Sobers and Tendulkar. Phenomenal at his strike rate.

20 runs in 9 overs since Sehwag's wicket. Needed to be a little more aggressive, we have missed out on 25-30 runs today.

Looks like they are already playing for stumps.

And Dravid gets out. Wonder why he again went into a shell after the 100.

Absolutely No contest between bat & Ball. Boring to see matches like this in our part of the world.

Absolutely No contest between bat & Ball. Boring to see matches like this in our part of the world

You had seen flurries of wickets, flying stumps, hopeless run outs, retarded strokes and mind boggling run rate if it was Pakistan batting instead of India against the same team and on the same pitch.

India will wrack up 600 tomorrow and then bowl kiwis out cheaply twice!

Veeru should retire now ...only one Six ....I don't like this ...;-)....

Well played India ...as expected...:14: ....a bit slow par chalta hai ..must have been 350+ today

LOL at cricinfo commentary
74.2 49.0 mph, lazy, tired, bored! Does nothing to this. Just stands there and brings the bat down in slow motion. The ball, as has been the case with Vettori today, doesn't turn, goes with the arm, hits his bad down the leg side and then ricochets onto the middle stump. Smiling and chatting with Gambhir as he walks off

Attendance according to my friend Danny who is there was about 3000-4000 for Day 1 in a ground that holds 55,000. Pretty dire, but probably slightly better than average for a Test at this ground, which is another of those horrible out-of-town concrete bowls.

I really don't understand why they insist on hosting Test matches there. Friends tell me that if Tests were hosted in Vadodara instead, not only would there be bigger crowds and a better atmosphere, but that Vadodara is a nicer city to visit.

After 8-9yrs, India Will still be No.1 Test Team In The World??? :)))

India Will be No. 8 or 9 Test team in the World By then :)))

As because, there will be no Sachin, Dravid, Shehwag, Laxman, Zaheer and Bhajji..

:))) LOL at your common sense.

Pakistan is 6-7 rite now....worry about them......

Do what you preach............use common sense

Attendance according to my friend Danny who is there was about 3000-4000 for Day 1 in a ground that holds 55,000. Pretty dire, but probably slightly better than average for a Test at this ground, which is another of those horrible out-of-town concrete bowls.

I really don't understand why they insist on hosting Test matches there. Friends tell me that if Tests were hosted in Vadodara instead, not only would there be bigger crowds and a better atmosphere, but that Vadodara is a nicer city to visit.

Simple answer ....BCCI are full of morons ...

Test should be given to our best test grounds only ...and rotation policy should apply only for ODIs n T20s ...we will get packed houses for LO cricket anywhere in India that's 101 percent sure...

Simple answer ....BCCI are full of morons ...

Test should be given to our best test grounds only ...and rotation policy should apply only for ODIs n T20s ...we will get packed houses for LO cricket anywhere in India that's 101 percent sure...

+1 , i hate BCCI's venue rotation policy.

"Hamish Bennett, who impressed with his regular pace around 140ks, has a groin strain, and is unlikely to bowl today"

The Boring day of the Test has started.. Because, Even if Sachin and laxman hit some glorious Shots, but the Bowling of NZ so boring which will effect on the quality of strokes Sachin and Laxman are capable of.

Pakistan is 6-7 rite now....worry about them......

Do what you preach............use common sense

What common sense you are talking about Dude??

I was talking about Future, And With all the Potentials Pakistan has, if they can keep getting the talents they are having, They will Surely be on top. present is Good does not mean, Future is Bright.. And present is Dark does not mean New Sun won't come out..

Try to use your common sense while reading someones Posts.

Mindless guy.

"Hamish Bennett, who impressed with his regular pace around 140ks, has a groin strain, and is unlikely to bowl today"

His Bowling action is so much Injury Prone. Even More than Malinga and Certainly More Injury Prone than Shane Bond...

India continues to show there class on dead flat pitches against dead bowling attack.

Well done India! You guys are playing VERY good.

It would be good if they perform like this outside Asia or even India. Sanjay was correct saying "India are Lion at home and lamb overseas" Perfectly sums up Indian cricket team.

Tendulkar is just playing for records. Pathetic stuff from him

Yes the only interest in the match for me is whether Sachin will hit his 50th ton or not....India i don't think will get to bat more than once...may it be a draw or Indian win

Nathan Hurtiz is not a Talented Spinner He is Just a Basic Off spinner brought up in the Aussie Condition to be effective in Australia only.

Honestly I don't want him to score a Century in this Match or in this series. I want him to score him 50th Century on SAf soil. That will Help India More for a Memorable Series Win over there. And also will be so exciting to watch..

And he is more than capable to score Hundreds on SAf Soil..

Honestly I don't want him to score a Century in this Match or in this series. I want him to score him 50th Century on SAf soil. That will Help India More for a Memorable Series Win over there. And also will be so exciting to watch..

And he is more than capable to score Hundreds on SAf Soil..

kya yaar .....u can wish more from SRT....2 idhar 2 udhar ...:D

I really always thinked that Dhoni is a mediocre batsman, but it's things you can't say because Indian fans will come with his averages and show you how good he is...
But seriously in Test cricket at least he is will below average as a batsman.

Strange stuff from India, from a dominant position they have crashed badly and scored slowly.

450 not a great first up score here. Although to be fair, Vettori and Patel are good bowlers. It's the hobbit batting that is atrocious.

Strange stuff from India, from a dominant position they have crashed badly and scored slowly.

450 not a great first up score here. Although to be fair, Vettori and Patel are good bowlers. It's the hobbit batting that is atrocious.

Pitch looks very very very VERY slow.

another batting collapse.........tactical??hmm

India all out for 487... Now new zealand have to score 600 and then get india out under 11" and win the match by an innings... lool

More seriously, they have to loose the match by an innings to make sure Sachin doesn't score any run in the second innings...

The Kiwis are going to have to play the Indian Bowlers a lot better then they did againt Bangladesh otherwise 487 will seem like a mamouth total!

If it wasnt for harabahjans inns New zealand would have established a really good bowling comeback.

Kiwis 31/2 with Mcullum and Taylor their best two batsmen in the middle.

Kiwis 69/2 - Mcullum and Taylor need to score 100s here!

I can see them bowled out cheaply, depends on wether India enforce follow on!

I doubt India will enforce follow-on. Anyway its unlikely that NZ won't score atleast 300. Day 2 India performance was kinda disappointing.

if these two carry on well tommorow morning and then jesse ryder scores some and the very impressive williamson then you never know. I really like williamson tbh, has a really good average on the new zealand wickets and a much better first class average than mcintosh who is awful and Watling who's failed to perform so far.