Indian Guru sentenced to 20 Years in Jail for Rape, Fined Rs 30 lacs [Update Post #182]

troodon

tw.jpg

PANCHKULA, India (AP) — Several north Indian cities were under a security lockdown Thursday, a day before a court was expected to issue a verdict in a rape case involving the flamboyant leader of a quasi-religious sect.

With tens of thousands of followers camped along roads near the barricaded courthouse, police and paramilitary soldiers fanned out across the town of Panchkula and nearby areas.

The bearded guru, who calls himself Saint Dr. Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Ji Insan, has denied the charges of raping two of his female followers in the Dera Sacha Sauda sect.

"We are here because we stand with guruji. We have come here to support him," said 20-year-old Nishu Rani, who had traveled to Panchkula with 20 family members from the neighboring state of Punjab.

They joined thousands of men and women, some with children and babies, who had spread out blankets and bedsheets and settled down to wait for the verdict. The sect claims to have 50 million members, promotes vegetarianism and campaigns against drug addiction.

"People who throw away their girl child, or abandon them, guruji is adopting those girls and treating them as his own daughters," Rani said. "Why would someone like him do something so heinous? That is why we are here to support him."

The case was being tried in a special court run by India's top agency, the Central Bureau of Investigation.

Fearing violence in the event of a guilty verdict, some 6,000 police and paramilitary had spread out in Panchkula alone, with thousands more were on standby or deployed to nearby areas including the neighboring city of Chandigarh.

Police were testing drones to use for aerial surveillance and had water cannons at the ready. Three sports stadiums have been set aside in Panchkula and Chandigarh to act as makeshift prisons in case violence breaks out, police said.

Chandigarh also sealed its borders for the next two days to prevent any mayhem from spilling over.

Religious sects like the Dera Sacha Sauda have huge followings in India. It's not unusual for leaders of these sects to have small, heavily armed private militias protecting them.

Clashes in 2007 between the Dera Sacha Sauda followers and members of the Sikh faith left at least three people dead in north India.

In 2014, six people were killed when followers of another religious leader, guru Rampal, fought pitched battles with police who were attempting to arrest him for contempt of court after he repeatedly failed to appear in court in connection with a murder trial.

On Thursday, police were searching vehicles entering Haryana state, where both the court house and the guru's ashram are located, and were turning away people who were carrying food and bedding as if they meant to join the courthouse crowds.

Local officials asked schools, colleges and offices to close on Thursday and Friday. Public transport was also shut down in and around the town.

___

Naqvi reported from New Delhi.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/high-security-india-ahead-verdict-gurus-rape-trial-052514207.html

Okay. I though this RamRahim guy is huge in Punjab. Did not know he is popular in other states too. :facepalm:

Can some Punjabi explain why this guys Dera Sacha Sauda is at odds with Sikhism?

I think this sect should be respected as a new religion, and its followers extended the same religious rights which other citizens get.

calls himself Saint Dr. Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Ji Insan,
Sounds like he's trying to please every religious grouping in India.

Clashes in 2007 between the Dera Sacha Sauda followers and members of the Sikh faith left at least three people dead in north India.

Seems the mainstream Sikh groups haven't taken too well to this version of Sikh religion.

secular india. he is sikh. india is equal for everyone it shows that.

If he is a Sikh, why do Sikhs not like this guy? Is it because he formed a different subsect or is it caste based issue or is it because Sikhs do not accept him as their 11th Guru?

sikhs dnt like him but still he has alot of followers mostly in our malwa region of punjab like sangrur , patiala , moga etc. Sikhs dnt like him,one day he had to apologize to akal takth because he wore guru gobind singh ji attires. And also sikh bodies dnt like him because he says different things whiich are not said in sikhism.
My relatives and some even friend's parents are big fan of him. chandigarh has been locked down today and tomorrow. And if any case ,verdics goes against him , tgen sitiuation will get worst.

sikhs dnt like him but still he has alot of followers mostly in our malwa region of punjab like sangrur , patiala , moga etc. Sikhs dnt like him,one day he had to apologize to akal takth because he wore guru gobind singh ji attires. And also sikh bodies dnt like him because he says different things whiich are not said in sikhism.
My relatives and some even friend's parents are big fan of him. chandigarh has been locked down today and tomorrow. And if any case ,verdics goes against him , tgen sitiuation will get worst.

Has this got to do anything with the rivalry between Jat Sikhs and Ravidasia Sikhs?

Is RahRahim Singh a Dalit or a Jat? Want to know if there is a caste angle to it.

Has this got to do anything with the rivalry between Jat Sikhs and Ravidasia Sikhs?

Is RahRahim Singh a Dalit or a Jat? Want to know if there is a caste angle to it.

Nope nothing like that That's different issue.
This guy is jatt sikh and he came on 96th list of most powelful indians published by indian express last year. he has close to 5 crore followers.
His followers, volunteers forced people to watch messenger of god movie and they gave free tickets by the name of prasad to people plus alot of food as well in the cinema.

This guy is jatt sikh and he came on 96th list of most powelful indians published by indian express last year. he has close to 5 crore followers.
His followers, volunteers forced people to watch messenger of god movie and they gave free tickets by the name of prasad to people plus alot of food as well in the cinema.

Thanks.

So its a intra-Sikh issue then. When a common man turns into a messenger, this is what happens.

Thanks.

So its a intra-Sikh issue then. When a common man turns into a messenger, this is what happens.

But he doesnt consider himself sikh that much. he has all sort of followers many hindus ,sikhs and otger religions as well. lets see how it goes tomorow. internet services has been restricted as well in many places.

Five crores? He is fit to enjoy the status as the founder of a new religion.

When my wife bought a book on physiology (or anatomy or whatever)..the author had reserved the first page to thank this guru for everything, along with his picture in all his hirsute glory.

This guy greatly upsets Sikh people. Apparently Sikh's look upon his views as blasphemous and against their good book. He can by all means start a new religion providing he stops calling himself a Sikh. That seems to be the crux of the matter.

Sikhism has 27 Million followers and this Baba alone has 50 Million Followers? Wow, he should register a new religion dedicated to himself if his numbers are really so big.

As I understand it his organisation the Dera Sacha Sauda was founded by a guy from Baluchistan in the 1940s called Mastana Balochistani. He was a disciple of someone called Sawan Singh (one of the founders of the Radha Soami sect of Sikhism although these days there are many who claim the Radha Soamis are not real Sikhs).

The Radha Soami bloke instructed his pupil Balochistani to go and feed the poor, give water to the thirsty etc etc. So he built tens of ashrams across northern India primarily where they taught meditation but where they'd also feed people. It was extremely popular because they genuinely didn't care about people's castes and backgrounds so anyone was welcome.

Fast forward to the early 1990s and Balochistani was long gone and his successor Satnam Singh had died too so up pops Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh. For a long time he was just another Indian 'godman' however he's really courted publicity in recent years.

I think he's a crackpot and fraud however his organisation clearly do good work especially for the poor and vulnerable. Then again they can afford to given the number of followers they have and the money that brings in.

Mainstream Sikhs don't like him because they think he's going against the basics tenants of Sikhism in many of the things he does (for example promoting idol worship). Moreover Sikhs consider their holy text the SGGS as their final Guru (much like the finality of prophet-hood within Islam) and see such a person as a challenge to their religion - they see him as competition essentially.

I find it quite funny that people are quite happy to accept a guru or god who happened to live hundreds/thousands of years ago sometimes just on the basis of how many followers the person had yet when someone pops up in modern times and claims to be a guru or whatever these very same people start shouting blasphemy/our guru is bigger than your guru.

Crazy people trust he courts of the country if he is guilty give him life imprisonment if he is not he will be freed.. People blindly following these baba's and not having faith in the judiciary of the country make the entire nation look bad.. Stupidity at its best our country is full of idiots

Sikhism has 27 Million followers and this Baba alone has 50 Million Followers? Wow, he should register a new religion dedicated to himself if his numbers are really so big.

Many hindus and other religion peoppe also follows him, so it is said that he has that amount of followers. Though figure can be debated. but still it cant be distorted that much

There is a caste angle to this in that a disproportionate number of his followers are from so called lower castes. While Jat Sikhs are a predominant force in Punjab's politics and culture these Dera guys have spotted a gap in the market and used it to their advantage.

Dera Sacha Sauda, which translates to a ‘place of truth’, was started in 1948 by an ascetic named Mastana Baluchistani. The sect reportedly boasts of over 4 crore followers and around 50 ashrams across the country.

Shah Mastana was succeeded by Shah Satnam Singh and Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh succeeded him after a controversy. The sect is known for its social work, like coming forward to help victims of the tsunami and the Gujarat earthquake.

Most of the followers are people from lower castes and the lower strata of society. The sect has found a lot of acceptability amongst women and families as it preaches against drugs and alcoholism.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/punja...sacha-sauda/story-dOCToQSSTenThpvXGPBv1J.html

There is a caste angle to this in that a disproportionate number of his followers are from so called lower castes. While Jat Sikhs are a predominant force in Punjab's politics and culture these Dera guys have spotted a gap in the market and used it to their advantage.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/punja...sacha-sauda/story-dOCToQSSTenThpvXGPBv1J.html

His followers are from all castes and many hindus high castes as well. he doesnt represent lower castes only.

So arrest this guy and there will be riots.

Do not arrest the guy and there will still be riots.

Basically there will be riots after the verdict.

If he indeed has 4 crore followers, he should start a new religion. 4 crores is almost equal to Christian population in India and more than Sikh, Jain and Parsi population combined.

Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim found guilty of rape, taken into judicial custody

NEW DELHI: Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh was found guilty of rape by a special CBI court in Panchkula, Haryana, on Friday. He was immediately taken into judicial custody; he will be sentenced on Monday.

The Dera head was present in court when the judgment was read out.
A rape conviction carries a minimum sentence of seven years and a maximum of 10 years.
The court delivered its verdict in the case against the 50-year-old Dera chief after 14 long years and amid unprecedented security as thousands of Dera followers gathered in Panchkula ahead of the judgment.

In fact, just two hours before the verdict, the Punjab and Haryana high court told the Haryana government it can go ahead and use force when required and file FIRs against any Gurmeet Ram Rahim follower breaking the law or making provocative statements.

Haryana's chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar said on Friday his government was ready to deal with any fallout from the verdict.

"Whatever the verdict, will implement it. Ready to deal with any circumstances, security arrangements are in place, I appeal for peace and calm," said Khattar.

The charges against Gurmeet Ram Rahim date back to 2002, when a Dera sadhvi wrote an anonymous letter to then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee saying she was raped by the Dera chief. In the letter, the sadhvi also accused Gurmeet Ram Rahim of raping several other female followers inside the sprawling Dera campus on the outskirts of Sirsa in the state of Haryana.

Ahead of the verdict on Friday, Army columns moved into Panchkula early in the morning. As well, around 53 companies of the paramilitary forces and 50,000 personnel of the Haryana Police were deployed in the states of Haryana and Punjab.

The 50-year-old Gurmeet Ram Rahim left the sect-headquarters at Sirsa, about 260km from Chandigarh, at about 9am, in a huge convoy. The Haryana director general of police (DGP) was asked if there were 200-plus vehicles in the Dera chief's convoy. He didn't confirm that number but did say that the convoy size would be cut en route to Panchkula.

"Only a couple of cars which include escort vehicles will be allowed," said BS Sandhu, the Haryana DGP.

The case against the Dera chief

In 2002, the Punjab and Haryana high court took suo motu cognizance - action of its own accord - of the sadhvi's letter to then PM Vajpayee, and directed the CBI to register a sexual exploitation case against the Dera chief in 2002. The case was then handed over to the CBI.
The investigating agency questioned 18 sadhvis and two of them levelled allegations of rape against the spiritual leader.

Their statements are part of the CBI chargesheet which was filed on July 30, 2007, in the CBI special court.

One of the sadhvis said in her statement, that when she entered the Dera chief's sprawling chamber, the doors automatically closed and she found him watching a pornographic movie on a big screen. The CBI is said to be banking heavily on this statement as only a select few have access to that chamber.

The trial against Gurmeet Ram Rahim commenced in 2008 and on September 6, 2008, he was charged under Section 376 (rape) and Section 506 (criminal intimidation) of the Indian Penal Code.

The Dera chief consistently called the charges false and baseless and has told the court that he is "not capable of" engaging in physical relations.

Gurmeet Ram Rahim is also facing trial in two separate murder cases - those of Dera follower Ranjit Singh in July 2002 and of journalist Ram Chander Chattrapati in October that same year.

http://m.timesofindia.com/india/der...comes-after-14-years/articleshow/60221119.cms

I hear Modi was quite a fan of this particular gentleman?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Appreciable effort by Baba Ram Rahim ji & his team. Will motivate people across India to join Swachh Bharat Mission! <a href="http://t.co/icp4eaLNQg">http://t.co/icp4eaLNQg</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/527699386013196289">October 30, 2014</a></blockquote>

I hear Modi was quite a fan of this particular gentleman?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Appreciable effort by Baba Ram Rahim ji & his team. Will motivate people across India to join Swachh Bharat Mission! <a href="http://t.co/icp4eaLNQg">http://t.co/icp4eaLNQg</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/527699386013196289">October 30, 2014</a></blockquote>

He wasnot guilty of rape then.RamRahim asked his followers to join clean India campaign.Thats what Modi was praising.

Modi hasn't been found guilty of murdering scores in Gujarat but I'd think twice before praising him publicly for putting litter in a bin.

[MENTION=7898]Gabbar Singh[/MENTION] did he legit rape someone or was he set up ?

I don't trust Indian courts, most incompetent and corrupt on the planet

[MENTION=7898]Gabbar Singh[/MENTION] did he legit rape someone or was he set up ?

TBH I haven't read about the case in great detail - I mean I haven't studied the evidence. However he's very influential and in recent years he's been close to the ruling BJP - both major parties the Congress and the BJP were desperate for his support at the last general election and after several years of neutrality and supporting the Congress he switched to the BJP.

Keeping that in mind there were lots of reasons to find him not guilty - it would have prevented the rioting we now see and it would have made life easier for the central government in India.

So given that he's been convicted despite all of the above I'd like to think they made the right decision. He's also the third major 'God man' who has been jailed for rape in recent years. There was Asharam Bapu and also someone called Rampal - collectively these guys have tens if not hundreds of millions of followers. The days of these guys being above the law has gone.

This is just pathetic and disgraceful but not unexpected by the people.. Indian public is filled with morons, stupidity at its best..

Saw his supporters fainting and collapsing on the road while he was being taken away to courts, totally looked like a Bollywood movie scene.

So unfortunate that people are being killed for no solid reason, riots are so common that people find so many different ways to kill or get killed somehow.

TBH I haven't read about the case in great detail - I mean I haven't studied the evidence. However he's very influential and in recent years he's been close to the ruling BJP - both major parties the Congress and the BJP were desperate for his support at the last general election and after several years of neutrality and supporting the Congress he switched to the BJP.

Keeping that in mind there were lots of reasons to find him not guilty - it would have prevented the rioting we now see and it would have made life easier for the central government in India.

So given that he's been convicted despite all of the above I'd like to think they made the right decision. He's also the third major 'God man' who has been jailed for rape in recent years. There was Asharam Bapu and also someone called Rampal - collectively these guys have tens if not hundreds of millions of followers. The days of these guys being above the law has gone.

Don't know what happens to the judiciary in the case of salman khan and tarun tejpal. the indian judiciary is THE MOST corrupt institution in the country, so i doubt the motives.

dera sacha sauda is a peaceful sect and there are powers who dont want the dalits to move towards this sect. I think baba ji has been set up, and there are ulterior reasons for this judgement.

There would have been no forensic evidence so what was the evidence to convict? It would have been his words against the women and the courts chose to believe the women..... thats no evidence to convict.

secular india. he is sikh. india is equal for everyone it shows that.

Lol what are you trying to show here? This is just stupidity from his so called supporters and shows how failed and helpless our state is.. Stop trying to give excuses for these idiots if we don't condemn their actions they would only grow stronger..

Please share the evidence which led the court to convict him. All I know is that he was a secular person with message of peace for everyone and did a lot of charity work. I am willing to change my opinion if you show the clinching evidence.

what did i say ? i said not only hindus , sikhs , muslims all are partners in crime as well.every religion people have daring to challenge anyone in the state. so i called secular . when was i supporting him ? he is guiltu and rightly should be jailed.

I don't trust Indian courts, most incompetent and corrupt on the planet

You know he is tge supporter of bjp and helped bjp in haryana elections. he shud have been free if what you are trying to say.

Have not read much about the case but few reports of past showed evidence like letter or women statement etc which is ridiculous. Wonder what happens to SC when handling cases of big politicians and actors. Suddenly lack of proper evidence is a pet judgement.

He supported congress during punjab elections.

But he is pro bjp.And btw i dnt think tgere is any political angle to it. i am punjabi and i knw what happens here.it only spoiling bjp image .Haryana is getting affected very much and punjab is still much stable till now as least compared to haryana.

Please share the evidence which led the court to convict him. All I know is that he was a secular person with message of peace for everyone and did a lot of charity work. I am willing to change my opinion if you show the clinching evidence.

28 people have been killed how many innocent amongst them? He can appeal against the verdict certainly he doesn't have any shortage of money to get the best lawyers.. If anyone doesn't trust in the constitution of India and wants to damage public property and risk someone's life they are free to leave the country..

what did i say ? i said not only hindus , sikhs , muslims all are partners in crime as well.every religion people have daring to challenge anyone in the state. so i called secular . when was i supporting him ? he is guiltu and rightly should be jailed.

This is not secularism this is gundaism.. Should not be linked with secularism in any way and should be condemned strongly.. Do not link this behaviour with secularism in any way is my point..

this is gundaism but its not like only majoritu population peoppe only do it. even minority people also do this. That 's what i meant to say. you didnt understand that. obviously this is gundaism. Haryana govt is seriously what shud i say. last 3 years and 2 army march paas.

Mate this is gundaism end of doesn't matter majority population or minority or aliens whoever does it is a gunda and nothing's else.. There are thousands who die every year due to not having basic facilities and these idiots are destroying public property worth lakhs or crores.. Let's not bring majority minority argument in this a gunda is a gunda religion should not be brought in between..

Who are the people that have been killed? Are the followers of Baba targeting random people to avenge the arrest of their Leader?

I hate these so called God-man's. They are all crooks whose sole purpose to exploit venerable people. I hope they all get caught for their crimes and made to languish in jail for the rest of their natural life.

Who are the people that have been killed? Are the followers of Baba targeting random people to avenge the arrest of their Leader?

Not sure but one can be sure it won't be someone rich, famous or political personnel.. Most probably some his supporters and some poor people..

28 people have been killed how many innocent amongst them? He can appeal against the verdict certainly he doesn't have any shortage of money to get the best lawyers.. If anyone doesn't trust in the constitution of India and wants to damage public property and risk someone's life they are free to leave the country..

Did he instigate his followers to riot? He had appealed to everyone to maintain peace.

Constitution is fine, but need to know what were the evidence on which he was pronounced guilty beyond doubt.

don't trust the rotten judiciary of india. THE most corrupt institution.

Did he instigate his followers to riot? He had appealed to everyone to maintain peace.

Constitution is fine, but need to know what were the evidence on which he was pronounced guilty beyond doubt.

I am not talking about him I could care less about the guy if he is guilty he deserves punishment if not he should be freed.. My posts are directed towards the people of the country like his supporters who indulge in gundaism and who deserve to be sent to jail.. In fact I would argue that anyone damaging public property like these gunda's should be dealt with the same way as army deals in Kashmir..

So you do not trust the judiciary of India - but you do trust a self-proclaimed 'god'? It is difficult enough for women in India and Pakistan to obtain justice, but on the rare occasions that they do, you blame the justice system? You should be ashamed of yourself. Have the authorities some sort of axe to grind with this notorious fool, who has appeared in films, behaves like a rock star and flaunts his wealth? Why would they jail a man in his powerful position if the evidence was not incontrovertible?

Your attitude is typical of men from the Indian sub-Continent, they always accept the notion of women's guilt and the innocence of their male counterparts.

If he had appealed to his followers to maintain peace, why are they burning India down? I am watching this unfold on NDTV, and it is appalling - over 20 people have been killed, and all you find yourself capable of doing is defending a rapist. Pathetic.

I am in chandigarh, never seen such a situation before, roads empty, shops closed, police vans moving here and there. It was an interesting experience, Panchukala suffered major loss of property and life, which was bad. I didn't know ram rahim singh was so powerful that he brought the entire chandigarh tricity area to a halt

So you do not trust the judiciary of India - but you do trust a self-proclaimed 'god'? It is difficult enough for women in India and Pakistan to obtain justice, but on the rare occasions that they do, you blame the justice system? You should be ashamed of yourself. Have the authorities some sort of axe to grind with this notorious fool, who has appeared in films, behaves like a rock star and flaunts his wealth? Why would they jail a man in his powerful position if the evidence was not incontrovertible?

Your attitude is typical of men from the Indian sub-Continent, they always accept the notion of women's guilt and the innocence of their male counterparts.

If he had appealed to his followers to maintain peace, why are they burning India down? I am watching this unfold on NDTV, and it is appalling - over 20 people have been killed, and all you find yourself capable of doing is defending a rapist. Pathetic.

I don't like to engage morally superior people, so please spare me the sermon. All I am asking is for the evidence which proves he is a rapist. If you are sure that he did commit the crime, please share me your knowledge to so that I can condemn him, maybe no as eloquently as you do, but still.

I am in chandigarh, never seen such a situation before, roads empty, shops closed, police vans moving here and there. It was an interesting experience, Panchukala suffered major loss of property and life, which was bad. I didn't know ram rahim singh was so powerful that he brought the entire chandigarh tricity area to a halt

I understand there was no violence in Chandigarh? Thank goodness. Do keep safe.

I don't like to engage morally superior people, so please spare me the sermon. All I am asking is for the evidence which proves he is a rapist. If you are sure that he did commit the crime, please share me your knowledge to so that I can condemn him, maybe no as eloquently as you do, but still.

You are posting on the net, so one assumes you are not illiterate. Go do your own research on this rapist, and do not be so intellectually lazy.

I love adopting morally superior tones with those who are morally bankrupt - so I could not care less what you think or say. Your response is a disgrace, and if I did not know better, would conclude that all Indian men are either rapists or supporters of them.

As a woman, I strongly object to the sub-Continental male mentality, that seeks proof of a women's innocence, but believes without question a man's innocence, when accused of mistreating females.

I live in Panchkula. Our beautiful town was turned into a warzone today. Heard gunshots and tear bombs for 3-4 straight hours.

The blame is on the govt entirely. These village idiots have been completed ng in numbers and roaming like it's their city. Much bloodshed have been avoided had there some police proactivity

I understand there was no violence in Chandigarh? Thank goodness. Do keep safe.

yup, no violence in chandigarh as far as i know, at least not in my area, just precautionary measures taken by police and people who stayed indoors mostly.

Now make sure that this guy is tried for rioting vandalism destruction of public property etc etc.

He has many followers what's the point of posting this pic? This is before he was charged guilty, also you don't see Nehra and kohli on the roads vandalising public property..

That he has many high profile followers. Just that the pic was doing the rounds on FB.

This guy would have converted the entire subcontinent to Dera followers had he been born in a different era. A few hundred years ago. Before British time.

With technology and cameras everywhere, you simply cannot escape from the scrutiny of Rationalists and proven wrong.

Bad luck Baba Jee. Still 50million followers is no joke. He is their Messenger. No one can convince them the other way.

28 dead after Indian guru's rape conviction triggers riots

Mobs rampaged across a north Indian state on Friday, leaving 28 people dead and more than 250 others injured, after a court declared a quasi-religious sect leader guilty of raping two of his followers, authorities said.

Mobs set fire to government buildings and attacked police and TV journalists in the town of Panchkula in Haryana state, smashing the windshields of news vans and breaking broadcast equipment.

Police initially used tear gas and water cannons and then fired bullets in the air in an attempt to control the surging mobs as they vandalized bus stations and government vehicles.

"The situation is tense. There has been arson and burning," Rajiv Mehrishi, the federal home secretary, said late Friday.

The violence left at least 28 dead, including some with bullet wounds, and more than 250 injured, according to B.S. Sandhu, a top Haryana police official.

He said more than 1,000 of the guru's supporters had been detained in Panchkula on charges of arson and destruction of public property.

The special court announced the guilty verdict on Friday after hearing closing arguments in the 15-year-old case against the guru, who calls himself Saint Dr. Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Ji Insaan.

The guru, who had denied the charges of raping the two women at his ashram in 2002, was flown by helicopter to a jail in the nearby town of Rohtak because district officials feared they would be overrun by his supporters. His sentencing is to be held Aug. 28, prosecutor H.P.S. Verma said.

Tens of thousands of followers had camped overnight awaiting the verdict.

Violence also broke out elsewhere in Haryana and the neighboring state of Punjab, as well as in the capital, New Delhi, police said. Railway stations in the towns of Malout and Balluana were ablaze, and two coaches of an empty train parked in New Delhi's Anand Vihar station were set on fire.

A curfew was imposed in at least four districts of Punjab, said Amrinder Singh, the state's chief minister.

A spokesman for the guru's sect, Dera Sacha Sauda, urged his supporters to remain calm.

"I just want to request everyone to maintain peace at the moment," said Dilawar Insan. "We will explore what legal options are available to us."

The sect claims to have about 50 million followers and campaigns for vegetarianism and against drug addiction. It has also taken up social causes such as organizing the weddings of poor couples.

Such sects have huge followings in India. It's not unusual for their leaders to have small, heavily armed private militias protecting them.

Angry mobs also attacked police in the town of Sirsa, where the guru's ashram is located, local police said.

When the guru left his ashram early Friday for the hearing, he was accompanied by a convoy of more than 180 vehicles, Singh, the Punjab chief minister, said.

Police erected heavy metal barricades topped with barbed wire along main roads in the town, a quiet residential suburb of Chandigarh, the joint capital of Haryana and Punjab states.

Authorities ordered internet and cellphone services shut down across both Haryana and Punjab as a security precaution.

Train services were canceled in the area, leading to railway delays across north India. Schools and colleges were also closed.

The case was tried in a special court run by India's top investigative agency, the Central Bureau of Investigation.

Such cases against religious leaders have prompted violence in the past.

Clashes in 2007 between Dera Sacha Sauda followers and members of the Sikh faith left at least three people dead in north India.

In 2014, six people were killed when followers of another religious leader, guru Rampal, fought pitched battles with police who were attempting to arrest him after he repeatedly failed to appear in court in connection with a murder trial.

In a televised appeal on Thursday, Ram Rahim Singh asked his supporters not to resort to violence, but some said they would not tolerate a verdict that went against their leader.

"I consider guru-ji to be only next to God," farmer Malkit Singh said as he squatted on the ground in a park, saying Ram Rahim Singh had cured him of a decadelong addiction to drugs.

"There is a God above," he said. "Our guru-ji follows the path of truth."

http://abcnews.go.com/International...atrols-masses-support-guru-rape-case-49411473