Indian Hockey team qualifies for Olympics

Major Dhyanchand scored 37 goals in 12 games he played in the Olympics and was the major reason why we won multiple Olympics hockey golds pre-partition.

Not that I want to get into this silly India-Pakistan thing but there was one player to whom we owe all the gold medals we won pre-partition, it was Major Dhyanchand!

Several players in that team were English. I think without the English, south asian hockey would never have won those medals.

Poor and uninformed way to look at things.

So English made us win all those golds and not Major Dhyanchand who scored an average of 3 goals in every game he played at the Olympics! Well done!

Like in soccer, you should ignore how those goals were scored. I'm sure the midfielders and players in other positions played a role in each of those goals.

Not that I want to get into this silly India-Pakistan thing but there was one player to whom we owe all the gold medals we won pre-partition, it was Major Dhyanchand!

Completely Agree.

Major Dhyan Chand must be felicitated with Bharat Ratna.

If any person deserved to be awarded Bharat Ratna in sports for the first time, there was only one choice: Major Dhyan Chand.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award should be renamed as Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna / Milkha Singh Khel Ratna / Bharat Khel Ratna.

Like in soccer, you should ignore how those goals were scored. I'm sure the midfielders and players in other positions played a role in each of those goals.
lol, matlab kuch bhi to undermine an Indian!

Completely Agree.

Major Dhyan Chand must be felicitated with Bharat Ratna.

If any person deserved to be awarded Bharat Ratna in sports for the first time, there was only one choice: Major Dhyan Chand.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award should be renamed as Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna / Milkha Singh Khel Ratna / Bharat Khel Ratna.
Completely agree with this. No way our premier sports award should be named after a politician, it should rather be an iconic sportsman.

British India and the Republic of India are two different entities, so it wasn't just a mere name or flag change, it was literally the formation of a new country. British India was partitioned by the British, China changing their name by themselves isn't comparable since it'd be the same country - it's no difference to how a post-partition India changed its official name from the Dominion of India to the Republic of India a few years latter.

Some of the players of the British Indian hockey team were from present-day Pakistan, in fact one of the captains, Lal Shah Bokhari was from Faisalabad and went on to serve as a Pakistani diplomat

Just wondering, would Bangladesh also have ownership towards the medals that Pakistan won from 1947-71?

British India and the Republic of India are two different entities, so it wasn't just a mere name or flag change, it was literally the formation of a new country. British India was partitioned by the British, China changing their name by themselves isn't comparable since it'd be the same country - it's no difference to how a post-partition India changed its official name from the Dominion of India to the Republic of India a few years latter.

Some of the players of the British Indian hkey team were from present-day Pakistan, in fact one of the captains, Lal Shah Bokhari was from Faisalabad and went on to serve as a Pakistani diplomat

How does it matter who partitioned it? :))

Every member of those teams was an 'Indian' and represented the 'Indian' Olympic Association. And a big lol at British India and Republic of India being two "different entities". Were the people in British India replaced by a whole different martian race to form the population of Republic of India? :91:

You can crib about it all you want but according to the IOC (International Olympics committee) , those medals will forever remain in New Delhi.

Yeah like just as they left we never won anything after

Now you're just being salty.. :91:
This takes the cake though or maybe the bakery!

you're clearly casual sports fan cause you don't understand what a team sport is and goal scorerers can't score without assists.

Just wondering, would Bangladesh also have ownership towards the medals that Pakistan won from 1947-71?

If you go one page back, I already answered that question. Islamic Republic of Pakistan before 1971 is still the Islamic Republic of Pakistan today, in 1971 only one new country was formed - Bangladesh, as they had seceded from Pakistan. Pakistan didn't secede from the Republic of India, we both gained independence from the British at around the same time. Can Bangladesh claim those medals? I guess it's up to them but Bangladesh never went on to become a force in world hockey unlike Pakistan which has its own postpartition glory and that comes from the hockey culture developed from the pre-partition glory as a lot of players were from what is now Pakistan, on the other hand I don't think many East Pakistanis represented Pakistan in either cricket or hockey.

Difference in class showing in semi-finals. How did Belgium get so good? In old times when I used to watch hockey it was always Netherlands who always looked dangerous alongside Germany and Australia.

India were swept aside easily by the Belgians. Even at 2-2 I knew the Belgians would win it in the end. India did not create many chances throughout the match at all. As for India they still have a chance for the bronze medal.

I thought it was always going to be an uphill battle against Belgium for the men and Australia for the women. The women somehow managed to pull the upset of the Olympics by managing to knockout Australia, but Belgium's attacking prowess showed in this match. The Indian defense simply couldn't keep up with their attacking players and kept conceding penalty corner after corner.

It was neck and neck till the end of the third quarter but it all unravelled in the last quarter as the Indians were probably gassed out and simply couldn't keep up with the superior fitness and attacking prowess of the Belgian players. Apparently India had a winning record vs Belgium in recent head to head matches, but unfortunately in the Olympics, the Belgians have prevailed. You win some and lose some, yesterday went our way, today wasn't to be.

Why India goes defensive when they take initial lead?last time also by being defensive they gave many penalty corner and this time 16 penalties for germany and we got only 5.

While both the men's and the women's team were with a shot of getting the gold medal before this match, it's quite conceivable that both our teams end up without any medal. The women's team reaching this stage is history in itself, so can't have great expectations on them. But the men have to beat the loser out of Australia and Germany to get a bronze and both are pretty strong teams, particularly the Aussies.

you're clearly casual sports fan cause you don't understand what a team sport is and goal scorerers can't score without assists.
I know for sure had Major Dhyanchand been a Pakistani, you'd have been singing a completely different tune!

Anyways, keep going!

Not going to change the fact that it's India that is credited with winning all those hockey golds before independence and Major Dhyanchand was the major factor in us winning those golds.

Chalo ji Changi gal ae india lost to Belgium very good news in the morning.I hope they lose the bronze medal match as well.

Belgium's attacking prowess showed in this match. The Indian defense simply couldn't keep up with their attacking players and kept conceding penalty corner after corner.

It was neck and neck till the end of the third quarter but it all unravelled in the last quarter as the Indians were probably gassed out and simply couldn't keep up with the superior fitness and attacking prowess of the Belgian players.

For about 2 decades now, South Asian teams have lagged behind the Europeans, the Australians, the Japanese and Koreans in fitness. This is also very apparent in football. However, India seems to be closing the gap and a lot of positives may be taken away from a semifinal appearance in the Olympics.

Lacked the composure in the 4th quarter after going a man down. Conceded the lead and the match there itself. Young boys they are, will learn from this. Went toe to toe with Belgians with about 6-7 mins to go but capitulated in the end. Happens, but the team is growing

"Panauti" is trending on twitter because a certain high dignitary was tuning into the match live:)))

Hard Luck for India - but well done for flying the Asian flag in this tournament.

Ìndia, Pakistan and Bangladesh Olympic record is embarrassing.

I am not including Afghanistan as there has been instability and war since 1970. + an extremly conservative society that wont allow women to compete.

Combined population of around 1.7-1.8 billion and all you guys has archieved in a bronze and a silver combined. Shameful.

Difference in class showing in semi-finals. How did Belgium get so good? In old times when I used to watch hockey it was always Netherlands who always looked dangerous alongside Germany and Australia.

Belgium are reigning world cup winners in men's hockey.

Ìndia, Pakistan and Bangladesh Olympic record is embarrassing.

I am not including Afghanistan as there has been instability and war since 1970. + an extremly conservative society that wont allow women to compete.

Combined population of around 1.7-1.8 billion and all you guys has archieved in a bronze and a silver combined. Shameful.

Hey, don't forget the bronze that's confirmed by Lovlina in boxing:yk

Well played, boys. Try and get the bronze, and good luck to the women too!

Belgium are reigning world cup winners in men's hockey.

I know that. I was talking about old times when I used to follow field hockey, late 90s and early 2000s. Just don't remember them as being a good team. Maybe I am just don't remeber correctly but back then I really hated Holland and Germany when it came to european teams. I also remember Spain was a decent team back then.

Phew. One of reasons Pakistanis declined so badly is the investment by European teams even GB are good now and India still has a big enough Hockey culture in parts of its vast population.

"Panauti" is trending on twitter because a certain high dignitary was tuning into the match live:)))
He proved to be a panauti during our WC SF loss against NZ in 2019. He tuned in and Dhoni got run out.

The same happened during Mangalyan launch as well.

Let's hope India make a surprise.
Chak De India

Gotta be realistic too. It's a real underdog story for the women's hockey team playing their first ever semifinal at the Olympics. They had no hope in hell of beating Australia but they somehow did. They need to repeat the miracle twice now to reach the final. Hoping they do but also realistic of India's chances against a strong Argentinian team.

India women go down 1-2 in a valiant defeat to Argentina in the semis. They'll play the bronze medal match next.

So both the Indian ladies and men are competing for the bronze?

That sucks. That both made Semis both none made the final.

Performance is encouraging from the long-term perspective. Twenty years ago, about 2% of the country's population had access to modern facilities, today maybe 10% and we have both teams in the semis. In twenty more years we should see a similar improvement compared to today.

India 5-3 up in the third quarter against Germany in the bronze medal match. Theybwere trailing 1-3 at one point but came back to score 4 goals on the bounce.

End of Q3. Still 5-3 India.

This match is proving to be a roller coaster ride as Germany are looking to quickly equalise the two goal deficit to stay in the bronze medal match.

Sreejesh the hero in dying moments, saved 2 certain goals on penalty corners.

What an incredible match but also - what the hell was with the match clock? It either kept freezing or someone was not properly operating it. It all added to the drama though.

India eventually win a medal in hockey at the Olympics after 41 years. India validated their world number 3 ranking.

What a match. Germany scored one goal in the last quarter to come in touching distance of equalising, and they got a penalty corner in the last 6 seconds of the match, only for Sreejesh to pull off a great save to give India the bronze in hockey.

Indian players are ecstatic and why won't they be. This is our first Olympics medal in hockey after 41 years after gold in Moscow Olympics.

For a few minutes there as our cricket coach’s famous dialogue goes “thode der ke liye…..you guys no the rest :)

Amazing win

Even though hockey just has two gold medals unlike shooting, archery, wrestling, boxing, weightlifting, even Badminton, where many more golds are at stake, India invests huge amount in Hockey development.

Totally worth, however, every billion rupee invested if India can regularly reach semis of world cup and Olympics with a strong claim on gold in future. Emotions attached to hockey in India are unlike any other game except possibly cricket.

India needs to dominate hockey once again.

Winning the bronze is not a bad effort considering no one gave India a chance of making any impact prior to the tournament. In any Sport the Germans are always formidable opposition.

This is no fairytale story. We were one of the medal favourites coming into Tokyo, been building up for years, getting the youth wc winners in, getting into top 3 rank. Can see them build on it and upgrade the color in Paris.

They might produce a Bollywood movie on this. Perhaps "Chak De India 2" or a "Tokyo ke tiger".

Hope they can hold on for a few more years, there is a better story still to be told. This team is going places

Hockey is not a big Sport other then the Olympics or WC. No one is really gonna care about who goes where until the WC or Olympics come around again. May be some Asian games thing could take place.

Wow a medal in hockey!

Hope the girls can follow through.

Hockey is not a big Sport other then the Olympics or WC. No one is really gonna care about who goes where until the WC or Olympics come around again. May be some Asian games thing could take place.
Im talking about those events. A home world cup in 2023 and the Olympics the following year. Both achievable with the core of this team.

No! These tournaments are gonna be won by Pak the 4 times world champs! Inshallah, the Halaali will be back by then! Don't count us out!:pkflag

Indian players are ecstatic and why won't they be. This is our first Olympics medal in hockey after 41 years after gold in Moscow Olympics.

It is really the first medal after 49 years, as the Gold they won in the 1980 Moscow Olympics came with an asterisk as the top teams boycotted.

India's trajectory is definitely upwards. As the players get more resources, their performance will keep getting better.

I gotta strong feeling that Pak Hockey will be back. If anyone can bring back the glory days it is IK for sure. Just give him a few years to get it sorted out then we'll rise again, inshallah. I am walking on with hope in my heart as usual:klopp

Waiting patiently for the first wrestling gold. Vinesh disappointed, but hopefully, boys will do something better. Let’s not postpone the wait by 4 more years.

Gautam Gambhir Says Hockey Bronze Bigger than Cricket World Cup Wins; Fans Disagree

India winning the bronze medal in men’s hockey at the Olympics, after a gap of 41 years, is perhaps the greatest achievement for sports in the country. Even two-time World Cup-winning Team India member, Gautam Gambhir thinks so. After the team won the historic bronze beating Germany 5-4, the former India opener took to Twitter, and wrote, “Forget 1983, 2007 or 2011, this medal in Hockey is bigger than any World Cup! #IndianHockeyMyPride."

But the fans didn’t quite agree with the former cricketer, and said that both the sports cannot be compared.

https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/news/gautam-gambhir-says-hockey-bronze-bigger-than-world-cup-wins-fans-disagree-4047809.html

Considering India have not done to well at Hockey for 40 years it is understandable why Gambhir considers it a massive achievement.

It is really the first medal after 49 years, as the Gold they won in the 1980 Moscow Olympics came with an asterisk as the top teams boycotted.

India's trajectory is definitely upwards. As the players get more resources, their performance will keep getting better.
An Olympics gold is an Olympics gold. Won't bother about any such asterisks!

I agree regarding our future prospects. However Sreejesh may not play for long as he is getting on years. Need to find his replacement pronto which of course is easier said than done.

Waiting patiently for the first wrestling gold. Vinesh disappointed, but hopefully, boys will do something better. Let’s not postpone the wait by 4 more years.

We seem allergic to gold lol. The last one was Abhinav Bindra 2008. Since then, we've won 12 medals - all silver and bronze.

Considering India have not done to well at Hockey for 40 years it is understandable why Gambhir considers it a massive achievement.

India is doing well in the hockey for the last 6-7 years. India is 3rd-5th ranked for some time. So Men’s bronze is not a flash in the pan. Women however did surprise with their performance but even they are 7th ranked today.

Hopefully Pak will start playing hockey once again. Today Japan, Malaysia, Korea are ahead of them. Even BD is going them tough fight.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is what progress looks like. India have been doing the little things right not over one Olympic cycle but 4.This is a medal that is 13 years in the making. <br><br>2008- didn't qualify<br>2012- 12th and last<br>2016- 8th<br>2020- 🥉 <a href="https://t.co/WBR3KjsBw7">pic.twitter.com/WBR3KjsBw7</a></p>— jonathan selvaraj (@jon_selvaraj) <a href="https://twitter.com/jon_selvaraj/status/1423122867563032579?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

India sealed a 5-4 win against Germany in their men's hockey bronze medal match at the ongoing Tokyo Olympics on Thursday. Simranjeet Singh scored two goals for India at the Oi Hockey Stadium, along with Hardik Singh, Harmanpreet Singh and Rupinder Pal Singh also adding their names on the scoresheet. The win also helped the Indian men's hockey team end their 41-year medal wait at the Olympics

This bronze medal will go a long way in putting Indian hockey on right trajectory.

India is doing well in the hockey for the last 6-7 years. India is 3rd-5th ranked for some time. So Men’s bronze is not a flash in the pan. Women however did surprise with their performance but even they are 7th ranked today.

Hopefully Pak will start playing hockey once again. Today Japan, Malaysia, Korea are ahead of them. Even BD is going them tough fight.

Pak Hockey is heading the same direction as our Cricket. I am not keeping an eye on Indian Hockey nonetheless they have done well at the Olympics.