Indian Hockey team qualifies for Olympics

An Olympics gold is an Olympics gold. Won't bother about any such asterisks!

I agree regarding our future prospects. However Sreejesh may not play for long as he is getting on years. Need to find his replacement pronto which of course is easier said than done.

No, that's definitely a huge asterisk, all the world powers in hockey boycotted the 1980 olympics, anything less than gold would've been disappointment for India.

A bronze medal that could rejuvenate Indian hockey.

Some very impressive players in this current squad and they seem to have the ingredients to re-launch hockey in India.

I feel like an absolute idiot. Was tuning into the Women's bronze medal match early in the morning against GB team.

Our women looked slower and unable to maintain any sort of possession in the first quarter and the first goal inevitably came for GB in 2nd quarter. Shortly afterwards, the GB team scored another goal to go 2-0 up and I thought this was over for our girls and stopped watching halfway into the 2nd quarter and left to do my chores. Now as I check the score at halftime, it shows India leads 3-2 at halftime. They have scored 3 goals in the span of 6 minutes.

Mind you, the GB team looked technically better from whatever I saw, so still technically anything can happen in the second half. But what a grit shown by both of our hockey teams to stage incredible comebacks two days in a row.

Yup, the GB team have equalised. 3-3 now.

As I said, the British team looked technically superior as you would expect from the reigning Olympic gold medalists. Still it's a great effort for the Indian women to go toe to toe against the GB team, while playing the Olympic knockouts the first time in their history.

Yup, the GB team were clearly the superior team. They were the Rio champions afterall, but what an experience for the Indian women's hockey this Olympics was.

Reaching the knockouts for the first time in their history and beating the highly fancied Australia in the quarters and going toe to toe with last Olympic gold medalists. This is was a step in the next direction for Indian women's hockey and they will be better for experience in the Paris olympics. Salima Tete looks a highly talented player.

No, that's definitely a huge asterisk, all the world powers in hockey boycotted the 1980 olympics, anything less than gold would've been disappointment for India.
Look at the scorecard, what you say doesn't matter.

Why India Struggles to Win Olympic Gold

The government has overhauled an athletic system that was once underfunded and corrupt, but the pressure to perform weighs on competitors.

The Indian delegation at the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics last month. In recent decades, India has won only one Olympic gold medal.Credit...Kai Pfaffenbach/Reuters

TOKYO — On Wednesday, in a sumo wrestling hall where women are not normally allowed to enter the ring, Lovlina Borgohain punched for all the girls out there. She jabbed for her far-flung home state of Assam, known for its fine tea but also for an armed insurgency.

But above all, she fought in the Olympic women’s welterweight boxing semifinal for India, the world’s second most populous country, which, even by the most charitable of calculations, is wanting in the Olympics. Aside from a string of men’s hockey wins generations ago, India has won only one other gold in its Olympic history, in shooting in 2008.

“I was 100 percent sure that I would come home with the gold,” said Borgohain, who spent eight years away from home to train, her father once picking tea to make a living.
Her opponent in Tokyo, Busenaz Surmeneli of Turkey, may have been a head shorter, but her footwork was light and her hits potent. Borgohain was overwhelmed, her lanky frame absorbing blow after blow, her hopes of serving as a gold medal role model for millions of Indian girls dashed.

Borgohain is still assured a bronze, the third medal for India at these Games, after a silver in women’s weight lifting and a bronze in women’s badminton.
But every four years — in this case five — the same questions are posed in India. Why is the country so bad at the Olympics? And does it even matter?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, keen to raise India’s global profile, has decided that it does. After India’s substandard performance at the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro — one silver and one bronze — the government began funneling money to a sports bureaucracy that was underfunded for decades and stained by corruption. Private ventures stepped in, training elite athletes whose upward trajectory they might be able to harness. And state money has started to trickle to grass-roots sports, too.

“Now the government is trying hard to change the sports system,” said Vijay Sharma, a weight lifting coach who has worked with Tokyo silver medalist Mirabai Chanu for seven years. “But they have to do a lot. It’s a long journey they have to run.”

Abhinav Bindra, India’s only Olympic gold medalist in an individual competition, said that the sports environment today is different from when he won the 10-meter air rifle competition in Beijing. When he competed in the shooting nationals as a youth, there were 200 entrants, he said. These days, the competition draws 20,000, plus another 20,000 who didn’t make the cut. Eight members of the Indian shooting team in Tokyo, he noted, have been world No. 1s or 2s in their categories.

Abhinav Bindra, who won the 10-meter air rifle competition in Beijing in 2008, is India’s only Olympic gold medalist in an individual competition.Credit...Jeff Gross/Getty Images

“It could be the start of a new era in Indian sport,” Bindra said.

There was national jubilation on Thursday when India defeated Germany to win bronze in men’s field hockey, the team’s first medal in more than 40 years. The women’s hockey team will battle Britain for bronze on Friday. Ravi Dahiya, competing in men’s freestyle wrestling, is guaranteed at least silver after winning a semifinal bout on Wednesday, and a male javelin thrower is still in contention, too.

But for most of the Games, Tokyo has been a field of disappointment for India. The archers missed their mark. A discus thrower came in sixth. And the much vaunted shooters failed to follow in Bindra’s footsteps. None got close to a medal.

Not everyone in India is convinced that the country needs to measure its national self-worth in Olympic medals. India, they say, is already a sporting powerhouse, just not in pursuits that are in the Olympics.
Cricket, by far the most popular pastime in India, boasts a lucrative domestic league, and the country soars in the sport’s top international echelons. Sports promoters have also unveiled a professional league for kabaddi, an ancient South Asian form of group tag in which players must occasionally chant the word “kabaddi” over and over. (The vocalization is aimed at ensuring that players are exhaling while on the offensive.)

The fact that Indian sports viewership is focused elsewhere for all but a few weeks every four years hasn’t diminished the frustrations of Tokyo. The rush of funding ahead of the Games raised expectations of gold. Indian sports officials showed off the 127-member Olympic delegation, which was the country’s largest, youngest and most decorated to date.

For Indian Olympians, though, the weight of a nation’s expectations has been crushing, particularly after competition was stilled for months because of the coronavirus pandemic. A 19-year-old Indian shooter, who had been pegged for a possible medal in the air pistol, admitted that the burden to win distracted her in a sport where concentration is paramount.

In archery, Atanu Das had written the word “calm” on his hand as he competed in the 1/8 elimination round over the weekend. He lost. The day before, his wife and fellow archer, Deepika Kumari, did not advance past the quarterfinals, despite being the world No. 1.
“Maybe we took this Olympics too seriously, the Indian contingent,” Das said. “We forgot to enjoy our shooting or our skill.”

India’s archers used to train in obscurity. The new Olympic push has brought them sudden fame, along with months of free training at an army sports camp. The attention was overwhelming, athletes said.
“When we win the World Cup, no one knows. When we win the world championship, no one knows. When we get world No. 1, nobody knows,” Das said. “But Indians are in the Olympics, then everyone knows everything.”

“This is the pressure, inside your head all the time,” he added.
Bindra, the Beijing 2008 gold medalist, said that his success was rooted not in state support but in family wealth. His father built a world-class shooting range in their home in the northern city of Chandigarh. Then he topped it up with a swimming pool and a gym so that his son could build his muscle. At the time, the only comparable shooting range was in New Delhi.

Hockey: India sweeps FIH annual awards; men's Olympic champion Belgium says this is not normal

LAUSANNE: India swept the International Hockey Federation's (FIH) annual awards on Wednesday, claiming the top honours in all the categories based on a system of voting which was lambasted as a "failure" by men's Olympic champions Belgium.

Five Indian players and the head coaches of both the men's and women's teams in Tokyo claimed the top honours across different categories after fetching the maximum votes. The men's hockey team had won a bronze, its first in 41 years, in the Tokyo Olympics, while the women's side had finished an unprecedented fourth in the showpiece.

Harmanpreet Singh won the men's 'Player of the Year' award and Gurjit Kaur was recognised as the best player in the women's section. Veteran P R Sreejesh and Savita Punia won the best goalkeeper awards in the men's and women's section, while young striker Sharmila Devi (women) and Vivek Sagar Prasad (men) were adjudged best rising stars.

The drag-click duo of Harmanpreet and Gurjit were the top-scorers in their respective team's stellar run at the Games.

Men's team coach Graham Reid and women's coach Sjoerd Marijne were also voted the best. While Reid is still with the team, Marijne's tenure ended after the Tokyo Games.

Hockey Belgium reacted sharply to the announcement of the winners and questioned the process as none of their Tokyo Games champions managed to win an award.

Votes from National Associations -- represented by their respective national captains and coaches -- accounted for 50 per cent of the overall result, while fans and players (25 per cent) as well as media (25 per cent) made the other half of the votes.

It is to be noted that only 19 associations from the 42-strong European bloc cast their votes, compared to 29 out of 33 in Asia.

"Hockey Belgium is very disappointed with the outcome of @FIH_Hockey Star Awards. A gold winning team with multiple nominees in all categories but doesn't win a single award demonstrates failure of the voting system. We will work with FIH to ensure a fairer system in the future," it tweeted.

In all, 79 National Associations voted, the others being Africa (11 out of 25 Member Associations), Oceania (3 out of 8), and Pan America (17 out of 30).

"And with a record number of almost 300,000 fans casting their votes, fan participation in the FIH Hockey Stars Awards has been exceptional," the FIH said.

"As one can see, all winning athletes have topped the standings in each of the three voting groups...As always FIH will conduct a review of the FIH Hockey Star Awards and make adjustments wherever deemed necessary. In particular, we will focus on establishing why a number of national associations failed to vote," it said.

The nominations from Belgium (men) and the Netherlands (women), who were not only crowned Olympic Champions but also won the 2020-21 FIH Hockey Pro League, finished behind the Indians once the votes were counted.
Belgium duo of Alexander Hendrickx and Arthur van Doren were voted second and third best players respectively among men, with Vincent Vanasch (Belgium) named second best goalkeeper and Shane McLeod of New Zealand second best coach.

Among women, Eva de Goede and Frederique Matla of the Netherlands clinched the respective second and third places in the Player of the Year awards while Alyson Annan of Australia finished second for the FIH Coach of the Year Award.

Great Britain goalkeeper Maddie Hinch, rising star Fiona Crackles and coach Mark Hager of Australia all were third in their respective categories.

With the FIH Hockey Stars Awards skipped in 2020 due to the impact of the COVID-19 global health pandemic on the international calendar, this year's awards covered the period from January 2020 through to the conclusion of the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020, the FIH said.

"The voting process started on 23 August and concluded on 15 September 2021. Votes from National Associations - represented by their respective national captains and coaches - counted for 50 per cent of the overall result, while fans and players (25 per cent) as well as media (25 per cent) made the other half of the votes," it added.

Hockey India President Gyanendro Ningombam congratulated the winners.

"This is a great moment for Indian hockey as all our Indian nominees for the FIH Stars Awards have been announced winners.

"After the historic performances in Tokyo by both Indian Men and Women's Hockey teams, the support from Indian fans from across the globe has been overwhelming," he said.

Source: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/hockey/top-stories/hockey-india-sweeps-fih-annual-awards-mens-olympic-champion-belgium-says-this-is-not-normal/articleshow/86807596.cms

We defeat Aus after 52 years in Olympics lol, what record for Aus to have.
Economy directly affects sports.

This 3-2 win over Aussies will go down in history as one of our best matches.

Aussies are non longer speed monsters.

Belgium and Germans beat them for fun, india has become better in both speed and ASTRO turf dribbling over the past decade.

Hockey league is also restarting in india in 2024 after a 7 year break. Bodes well for future

Aussies are non longer speed monsters.

Belgium and Germans beat them for fun, india has become better in both speed and ASTRO turf dribbling over the past decade.

Hockey league is also restarting in india in 2024 after a 7 year break. Bodes well for future
Australia had 7-0 record against India this year itself and just won the FIH pro league bhai.
Ever since conception of Pro League the top 8 teams have become competitive and anyone can beat anyone on any day. :D
We are lucky thanks to Odisha govt. for the spike and so many tournaments hosted there, we got to ride along the ride into top Tier.

Top 8 are top tier and all are in Quarters

Australia had 7-0 record against India this year itself and just won the FIH pro league bhai.
Ever since conception of Pro League the top 8 teams have become competitive and anyone can beat anyone on any day. :D
We are lucky thanks to Odisha govt. for the spike and so many tournaments hosted there, we got to ride along the ride into top Tier.

Top 8 are top tier and all are in Quarters
With india the edge is psychological, not a skill gap like pre 2018 when it was difficult to even compete for us with these nations

Congrats India, you deserved that victory. Not easy to beat Australia in sports nowadays. India would be feeling like they have taken some sort of revenge for obvious reasons.

We are in the Olympics semi finals again!

Back to back.

Absolutely phenomenal stuff :love:

2-2 be Germany in the semi final

Last quarter

This is nerve wrecking stuff

What incredible goal keeping by the Bharatiya goalie under pressure. Saved penalty corner

Germans pressing continuously. Intense attack from them.

Come on boys.
Hold it down

Kya tootega Gabba ka ghamand?

Come on brothers

Again stunning save by the goalie. He’s standing like a wall.

Damn Sreejesh gonna block everything. He’s a legend!!!

Germany clearly the better team by far. They’re showing their class. Our goalie has been brilliant but how many times will he bail us out.

As expected , they score a STUNNING goal.

We are down 2-3

Germans are class apart in attack and defense. I’m surprised we got this close.

Heart break for Bharat but we ran the Germans close. They were quite clearly the much superior tea on the turf. Faster, accurate, aggressive. They deserved to win it.

But we are proud of our hockey team for reaching semi finals. Well done lads.

Defeat for indian hockey in the olympics knockouts, they just never learn. Mediocre.

They defeated australia and Britain. They played well in the tourney.

They can still get better and be the top 3 team and aim towards winning hockey world cup.

We need more consistency, not in top 5 or 6 but in top 3 or 2 ranks

It was years and years of time for india not being in semis and fitness levels with top athletes. Atleast those two are changing now.we should be more tough mentally to be in the top 2 .But atleast hockey revival will bring joy after so many rudderless years.Bronje medal will do good for a lot of passionate fans and federation will get more amount/willingness/purpose to pump in.

They defeated australia and Britain. They played well in the tourney.

They can still get better and be the top 3 team and aim towards winning hockey world cup.

We need more consistency, not in top 5 or 6 but in top 3 or 2 ranks
Actually, We have been one of the most consistent among the top 3-6 for last 6 -7 years.. The next tier is proving harder and of course it has to be. and if you look at it, maintaining top 3 is hard for almost every other team too.
None of the Tokyo Olympic medalist except India are even in contention. and if India loses bronze, there will be 6 different Olympic medalist in the two Olympics itself.
We are going through the New Zealand or South Africa in cricket type phase .. always a contender but no championship. We have the skill, the little fateful luck is also needed on the day.

Reaching semis was a great effort. Indian Hockey is moving in right direction unlike Pakistan.

Pakistan needs to qualify for Pro League or the decline will continue. and current ranking doesn't help when you are several notches below the likes of New Zealand, South Africa and Ireland.
The top 8 teams are playing at a different tier ever since Pro-league has been conceived. Think about it, the 8 quarterfinalists in last 2 Olympics are exactly the same. It was almost same case in World Cup too.

We won the bronze.i think now expecting medals from hockey will be the norm and it will push us in right direction . hopefully next time we can win the gold

I think if publicised well like say how Neeraj Chopra was, it can become a new start of something big. Capture the imagination of the public, draw the crowds and money in, pull in new talent and infrastructure etc. Back to back medals is a clear validation that we're one of the top 2-3 teams in the world which about what we can say (with a little more emphasis) in cricket as well.

Hockey is a fantastic sport to watch as a spectator. Only soccer comes close. I am surprised it isn't bigger than it currently is in terms of global media hype.

We are the only consecutive medalist of these two Olympics!
Top 7 teams are too close and even number 8 Spain should what can happen on a day against Belgium!
If India starts winning FIH pro league, we are going to own Hockey, but we tend to lose games there.

Without Sreejesh I doubt we will get bronze next time. Great effort and most people hardly know him.

True Legacy is creating the next generation of champs. We have had some good mentors in Shooting, Badminton and wrestling. For Hockey, a great deal of credit goes to state of Odisha and Biju Patnaik for literally adopted the game on behalf of the state for a decade now! Haryana has boxers and wrestlers, Tamil Nadu has our nerdy Chess Grandmasters, I hope every state takes over one particular sport and dominate at global level.

I'm a hockey fan of Pakistan's past years' glory teams, who has blind hope that the current Pakistan team will somehow turnaround. I did watch the highlights of all the hockey quarter finals and beyond for this Olympics. I have to concede that Indian team has improved a LOT. Back in the 80s and 90s they seemed to lack stamina but now they can almost go toe to toe with the Germans and Australians in terms of speed and stamina.

Pakistan has fallen decades behind the top tier teams bhai. Rules have completely changed from the 90s and it has been almost a decade now with new rules!
The top 8 ranked teams have remained the same for the last 5 years almost or even more. That's Tier 1.
Tier 2 includes the occasional upsets causing teams : NZ, Ireland, South Africa.
Tier 3 has France, Korea, Malaysia, Japan and Pakistan.
Pakistan now finds it hard to even get in top 3 of Asian hockey teams!

Congrats to India for Bronze in Hockey, a sport once ruled by Pakistan but now they are nowhere near the top 3 best side of Asia let alone the world.

Thank you.

Hopefully we can get a silver/ gold next time.
aayenge bhai, iss baar badluck hi karaab tha. and almost all the medal contenders (the 3rd and 4th guys) are young, and will be there in future and from what I read there are decent number of teenagers in the pipeline in most of these sports!
Ab Goalkeeper dekhna hai, bas!