"Indians not as large hearted as us" : Shahid Afridi

i havent seen the video but by reading the positive comment bout afridi i am starting to like afridi again :afridi

Seriously some people really have low sense of self value.

Afridi is allowed to express his view and if he wants to bring religion into it then that is his choice no need to attack the man we live in the 21st century everyone has his own opinion and there is no universal truth.

its strange the people calling AFRIDI uneducated just because he has different opinions!

and where is it written that being NATIONALIST is too good and being RELIGIOUS is too bad ?

What is religion ? If it is not important for u, it does not mean it is not important for AFRIDI or some1 else !

Religion is the biggest platform human race has ever united on, if u disagree, u disagree with history, and the history is bigger than I and u

Its just that the modern times speak NATIONALISM, old times were quiet RELIGIOUS, but still some people have old thinking, but that does not mean the PERSON is bad or something

Among PAKISTAN and INDIA, how many difference can u figure out ? Which one is the biggest please mention

The division of this land was possible due to RELIGION, PAKISTAN was made for ISLAM, its so sad people just comment having either no knowledge or just too much hatred agains RELIGION

AFRIDI is not saying HINDUS are bad, he clearly said people are not bad, its the media and SURE India media is like that eat this: http://www.chaltatv.com/video/17932/News-Night-with-Talat--Exposing-Indian-Media

Quote from the link you've provided:

Why would a win in a semi-final against Pakistan "sure" help those affected by the attacks?

Why should only a win in the semi-final against Pakistan and not any other opposition in the tournament be dedicated to those affected by the attacks?

awesome post, totally agree

This man is just as consistent with his opinion as he is with the bat. Afridi, you often come along as uneducated and lacking class and grace. Some of the current Pak players need to learn a lesson or two from their legendary veterans like Imran and Wasim on professionalism and gracefulness and stop acting like delusional crackpots. Lost respect for him. Don't get me wrong, Gambhir is an equal fruitcake.

Lol @ Indians jumping up and down when Afridi hasnt said any derogatory comment about them at all. All he meant was how big-hearted Pakistanis are and noone can match and that is just his opinion. Its like saying my mom is the best in the world! would you contest that too? oh silly!

As for the Muslim comment, I think Indians will always find it hard to understand with them coming from a secular society. Islamic Republic of Pakistan was based on a two-nation theory. And religion will always hold a special place in our society.

Yeah they're not very educated and dont articulate their speech as well as their Indian counterparts. But guess what, they do just fine without it. Atleast they're as cynic as some cricketers on other side of the border :gambhir

some absolute rubbish at the beginning there from Afridi.

itne baray dil hain to apne hi mulq mey kyun itna khoon kharaba chal raha hai?

is correct about the media though, but BOTH sides are eqaully disgraceful.

I would advise everyone to post very carefully from here onwards.

anymore hostile or discriminatory talk will result in an immediate ban.

Personally I hope Afridi is wrong. I dont want big hearts for Pakistanis.

Big heart (cardiomegaly) is sign of weakness of heart muscles and can lead to many health problems. I am very happy with a small heart.

It's a very big generalisation, but it is true generally. They are always exceptions, but from my life experiance what he said was true from what can be observed in day-to-day life. Thyere are several examples of the opposite being true, some indians being bigger hearted than some Pakistanis. But generally, this stereotype is true from my experiance.

yeah saying something which is a fact is idiotic infront of so many people .... but its better to say the truth . and the fact is that what he said 100%

It's a very big generalisation, but it is true generally. They are always exceptions, but from my life experiance what he said was true from what can be observed in day-to-day life. Thyere are several examples of the opposite being true, some indians being bigger hearted than some Pakistanis. But generally, this stereotype is true from my experiance.

there is absolutely no truth to this generalisation whatsoever.

people are people, and they come in all types.

this is EXACTLY the kind of talk we Muslims and Pakistanis have to disprove every single day, especially when living in the West.

and to say that about Indians, just shows hypocrisy on our part.

this is EXACTLY the kind of talk we Muslims and Pakistanis have to disprove every single day, especially when living in the West.

The problem I have is that even if some body had bad experience, we should try to put pardah on it and hide the deficiencies of other people. We want to be muslims by thanking Allah in our interviews, but we fail to follow the essence and principles of Islam and that is to hide other peoples deficiencies.

I'm not sure. We all live by stereotypes whether we admit it or not. And there is always some truth to stereotypes whether the PC brigade like it or not.

To judge Individuals based on group stereotypes is very wrong. But many stereotypes exist because there is some fundamental truth to some of them.

I have a lot of Indian friends and many pakistani and muslim (indian) friends. And I can always group them together in some form of generalisation.

for example, Indian muslims are generally more timid than Pakistani counterparts. This is observable, but is not always true and judgements shouldn't be made on this generalisation. But from my experiance I always notice certain traits in people of certain types.

Pakistanis are generally more aggressive than indians.

Hospitality of Arabs surpasses that of Pakistanis, and Pakistanis are generally more hospitable than Indians. Now is this always true? Rather the opposite can be true when we see the way some Arabs treat some workers from the Sub-continent in their countries. Muslims generally are taught to be hospitable to guests and it forms part of their culture regardless of whether they are practicing or religious. With Indian Hindus there is less emphasis on this.

Anyway, I think this discussion is moving away from Cricket

I'm not sure. We all live by stereotypes whether we admit it or not. And there is always some truth to stereotypes whether the PC brigade like it or not.

To judge Individuals based on group stereotypes is very wrong. But many stereotypes exist because there is some fundamental truth to some of them.

I have a lot of Indian friends and many pakistani and muslim (indian) friends. And I can always group them together in some form of generalisation.

for example, Indian muslims are generally more timid than Pakistani counterparts. This is observable, but is not always true and judgements shouldn't be made on this generalisation. But from my experiance I always notice certain traits in people of certain types.

Pakistanis are generally more aggressive than indians.

Hospitality of Arabs surpasses that of Pakistanis, and Pakistanis are generally more hospitable than Indians. Now is this always true? Rather the opposite can be true when we see the way some Arabs treat some workers from the Sub-continent in their countries. Muslims generally are taught to be hospitable to guests and it forms part of their culture regardless of whether they are practicing or religious. With Indian Hindus there is less emphasis on this.

Anyway, I think this discussion is moving away from Cricket

another set of judgments, with no factual basis I'm afraid.

we have so many more 'positive' qualities than them, then why is our nation in the doldrums and their nation enjoying more than a decade of success, in all fields?

sometimes it is better to get off the fictional high horse and see the reality of the situation.

hum sirf khayaalon mey hi unsey behtar hain, baaki sab mey naheen.

stereotypes are rarely positive, mostly come from a racist and derogatory point of view.

another set of judgments, with no factual basis I'm afraid.

we have so many more 'positive' qualities than them, then why is our nation in the doldrums and their nation enjoying more than a decade of success, in all fields?

sometimes it is better to get off the fictional high horse and see the reality of the situation.

hum sirf khayaalon mey hi unsey behtar hain, baaki sab mey naheen.

stereotypes are rarely positive, mostly come from a racist and derogatory point of view.

Firstly, I don't beleive Pakistanis have more 'positive' qaulities than them. What I will say, you could generalise about the populations and say one group have a certain trait and another group have other traits. The British did it when on the sub-continent with their categorisation of martial races - Punjab and nepalese gurkhas considered marshall race (i.e. better fighters/warriors). There is some truth to this.

Likewise in boxing, the black american fighter is usually always slicker, counter puncher - and this is usually down to their upbringing and training. So is not inherently due to there race, but due to upbringing, teachings or culture. Even though it may be limited to certain races as that is their culture. (refer to Rocky III and appollo creed training Rocky)

To add to this, from the cricketing aspect. I once heard Imran Khan mention that he thinks that People from the punjab are more athletic, and people from northern sub-continent are generally stronger, aggressive and would make better fast bowlers. Hence, why he thought Pakistan always produced faster bowlers, along with their culture and history of fast bowlers and figureheads/icons. He also said, India should try develop fast bowlers from the punjab region if they wish to get faster bowlers - this was from an interview during the last Ind-Pak series with Sanjay Manjrekar hosting the show.

The second matter is, the issue of success. And your definition of it. As a country I would say in most matters India has surpassed Pakistan. But there are many reasons for that. Success needs to be defined.

To clarify, I'm not on any high horse. I'm just in agreement with Afridis assessment that Pakistanis and muslims in general are "bigger hearted" than Indians (non-muslims). Like I said earlier, it's a very big generalisation anbd there are obvious exceptions, but from my extensive experiance with various people from the sub-continent and elsewhere, I'd say this is a veryfiable and observable phenomenon amongst the various people.

I totally Agree With Both The Players

Afridi From Pakistan
Gambhir From India

some absolute rubbish at the beginning there from Afridi.

itne baray dil hain to apne hi mulq mey kyun itna khoon kharaba chal raha hai?

is correct about the media though, but BOTH sides are eqaully disgraceful.

please dont forget - khon kharaba guys are specially designed and supported from outside world to destablize Pakistan ( include agencies from all over world). Having said that, just look back how much was sectarian killing inside Pakistan before afghan war, how was karachi uptil early 1980s?

so please don't jump to refute his opinion.

Indians not as large hearted: Afridi

ISLAMABAD: Days after winning the hearts of numerous Indian fans with his remarks after his team's loss in the World Cup semifinal, Pakistan cricket captain Shahid Afridi has said Indians are not as large-hearted as Pakistanis.

Afridi also slammed the Indian media for its "very negative approach" and said the Pakistani media was a "hundred times better" than its Indian counterpart.

"In my opinion, if I have to tell the truth, they (Indians) will never have hearts like Muslims and Pakistanis. I don't think they have the large and clean hearts that Allah has given us," Afridi said during a talk show on Samaa news channel when he was asked about relations between the two countries.

"It is a very difficult thing for us to live with them (Indians) or to have long-term relationship with them. Nothing will come out of talks. See how many times in the past 60 years we have had friendship and then how many times things have gone bad," he said as the audience in the TV channel's studio applauded him repeatedly.

"We don't want to fight with each other but a third country - everyone knows which one it is - is trying to spoil our relations. (This country) is taking advantage of Pakistan and wants to take advantage of India. I don't want to go into details but these people will not let us come together," he added.

Asked about the Indian media's coverage of the Pakistani team during the semifinal with India at Mohali on March 30, Afridi replied: "The Indian media has a very negative approach and very negative thoughts. The people may not be like that but I think the media had a very dirty role in spoiling relations between us and India.

"Our media, which is criticised by people, is hundred times better than theirs," he said.

India beat Pakistan in the semifinal, which was watched by the Prime Ministers of the two countries, who used cricket diplomacy to boost the peace process between the two sides.

Afridi also criticised Interior Minister Rehman Malik for warning the Pakistani team not to get involved in match-fixing and Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir, who vowed to dedicate victory in the World Cup final to victims of the 2008 Mumbai attacks.

"I think they were both very stupid comments by Rehman Malik and Gautam Gambhir...I wasn't expecting this from Gautam...This is all politics, what do you know about who carried out the Bombay attacks?" he said.

The Mumbai attacks, which left 166 people dead, were carried out by Pakistan-based Lashkar-e-Taiba.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-as-Pakistanis-Afridi/articleshow/7861946.cms

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Sorry if this is posted before but I liked the highlighted bit the most, Afridi back to his - IQ level... Last I checked Pakistani muslims with supposed clean hearts given by Allah also match fixed, spot fixed and god knows whatelse like rest of the world...

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/8PxV4xC9pjg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

reminds me of an interview where Shoeb Akhtar called indians big hearted and said that they give him more respect than the people back home(pakistan). I dont know who is right, but these are personal views. Maybe he has not seen large hearted Indians.

And BTW, india also has a large Muslim population! Atleast he wont call them small-hearted!

"I think they were both very stupid comments by Rehman Malik and Gautam Gambhir...I wasn't expecting this from Gautam...This is all politics, what do you know about who carried out the Bombay attacks?" he said.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Sorry if this is posted before but I liked the highlighted bit the most, Afridi back to his - IQ level... Last I checked Pakistani muslims with supposed clean hearts given by Allah also match fixed, spot fixed and god knows whatelse like rest of the world...

He wasn't expecting this from Gambhir and he can spew garbage! does he have a brain?

Now just see this thread and watch how the Indian posters who were all singing praises for Afridi start to hate him to limits. :))

Agree with you. Ridiculous comments.

I actually don't see anything wrong with Gambhir's comments if they were about winning the WC at Mumbai. However if they were specifically about winning against Pakistan at Mohai then of course that would be wrong. However from the above article that doesn't look like what he said.

Also a nice bit of editing by the paper:-

This is all politics, what do you know about who carried out the Bombay attacks?" he said.......
The Mumbai attacks, which left 166 people dead, were carried out by Pakistan-based Lashkar-e-Taiba.

State something again and again and the narrative becomes fact.

On a lighter note - Having large heart is a medical condition also known as cardiomegaly. So its good thing that Indians dont have it. :P

We all know that Mumbai attacks were done by terrorists. They have no religion, feelings or country, they are troubling us, Pakistan, USA and the whole world. Gambhir was right by dedicating the win to the people who died in the attack in mumbai, i earlier thought that it was said after Pakistan match, thanks to AMOEBA, i dont think he said anything wrong.

afridi_heart.jpg

and yes, i agree, its afridis opinion, he is entitled to it. As i said earlier, he is yet to see real India, send him to my house, he shouldnt make opinions by looking at crowds watching match. We get crazy when we watch cricket! even me! I abuse Pakistanis while watching a Indo-Pak match, but i have a big heart and i like pakistani players.

But fair enough. He has his opinion and he is entitled to it. Just that people here shouldn't have 2 standards of adjudging people of different nationalities.

There's a reason why Strauss, Graeme Smith and Dhoni don't make gross national, cultural and religious stereotypes in media conferences. Because they're not complete tools.

Stupidity this is what happens when Media is ugly and try to mix politics with sports what is the point of asking this and what is the point of Afridi answering this and does it really matters what he thinks.

I cant see any difference in Ghambir and Afridi here both acting low life and no difference in media both are ugly and stupid.

its afridi,s own opnion but its a very senseless comment by him.Everywhere ppl are differnt from each other.indians do have big hearts,afridi just doesnt like to be critized on.thats why he called amir sohail"ghatya".the beasts himself doesnt have a big heart to listen.lol

lol. You have to love this guy. What does he know about India ? I am from India and even I don't know much yet. There is more to it than corporate media, cricket, BCCI, IPL and Bollywood

if i have a shop that sells Anti Pakistan posters and toys, i wont close it if buyers keep coming. People should start ignoring such news put in front of them!

Btw just how small hearted of Gambhir to dedicate the win to victims of Mumbai terror attacks where the final was being held.

dont really feel nice when afridi makes such baseless comments,then he says indian media is the main reason behind everything,they dont want us to be friends.come on man dont you remember ptv showing all against india all the time in 90,s.

There's a reason why Strauss, Graeme Smith and Dhoni don't make gross national, cultural and religious stereotypes in media conferences. Because they're not complete tools.
IIRC, hardly any int'l captain has ever tried to generalize entire population like that.

Bad last 2 days for Afridi. First his comment about Sohail and now this. Really shows immaturity is still alive and kicking in him. You could be a straight talker (like Nasser Hussain, Ganguly or may be even Ponting). But you don't give statements like this and his opinion about Sohail in public domain.

Btw just how small hearted of Gambhir to dedicate the win to victims of Mumbai terror attacks where the final was being held.

he didnt dedicate the India -Pakistan match to them, it was the final in Mumbai! he did nothing wrong!

I think the media really pissed him off. They were twisting everything and anything he said.

lack of maturity and senseless head,afridi is still a child after 16 years of cricket-

I dont think afridi plan to say all this!
it was the stupid modertor which was asking stupid questions.......and clearly afridi said it to amuse them

I dont think afridi plan to say all this!
it was the stupid modertor which was asking stupid questions.......and clearly afridi said it to amuse them

Even that interpretation would point to Afridi not having a clue what he was doing in the face of the all-powerful media.

Dhoni is the one to be blamed here.

When maturity and advice on how-not-to-put-your-foot-in-mouth was being given out, Dhoni hoodwinked those in power and took off with his as well as Afridi's share.

I think its less of what Afridi think about Indians but what the media wants him to say. The media will have a field day now and poor Afridi will be targeted. At the same time when fans from both sides fight over stupid comments.

No one knows what were the questions and why he answered like that. Sometimes ppl just try to answer in such a way to please the mass.

Dhoni is the one to be blamed here.

When maturity and advice on how-not-to-put-your-foot-in-mouth was being given out, Dhoni hoodwinked those in power and took off with his as well as Afridi's share.

Ok no need to be a smart Alec.......desis can't do humour!

Keep on spreading hatred Shahid bhai, pata lag raha hai kitna bada dil hai aapka ! :facepalm:

Well for Desi level humour I thought my post was Okayish...

Don't worry - just being harsh as is my want from time to time.
Must be the hormones raging through this 14 year old girl.

Short and perfect, and that's why Inzy was above all these narrow minded cricketers. Was always well grounded and in right frame of mind.
Seriously what has gone into this man's head.

Freelance...........aap media ke shikar ho gaye!

Nah Dhyani bhai, i have seen the footage in which he said that pathetic, low life stuff.
Actually mai kuch din pehle is jhoote ki baaton mein fass kar iss ka fan ban gya thha after watching another video in which he said why to hate india.

That's Afridi the diplomat for you. :facepalm:
Many high profile Indians have the same opinion about Pakistan and Muslims, but just don't spout it out in the same way.

we know Afridi, thats the way he is! he shouts on his own team and can say anything without meaning it much.

yeah saying something which is a fact is idiotic infront of so many people .... but its better to say the truth . and the fact is that what he said 100%

agreed, even u can see their crowd behavior, so much for sportsman spirit.

When Suraish Raina was caught somewhere near leg slip area against West Indies in a league match, crowd was stunned. I watching all this thought may be their is something weird on the pitch or the ground or may be the umpires have found something unusual. It took me to ponder for 5-6 seconds to realize that really Suraish Raina is just OUT and no more issue.

On the other hand, I myself was present at National Stadium Karachi against India, India thrashed us and outclassed us, scored 200 in 25-26 overs in run chase , but the crowd never did something like the earlier. TRUTH IS TRUTH no matter how bitter it is.

I have always congratulated INDIA on their wins and so should I and all PAKISTANIs do but what the question was from AFRIDI, the reply was 100% TRUTH nothing less than that.

Some1 wrote the hospitality thing, I agree to that as well

"We all know that Mumbai attacks were done by terrorists. They have no religion, feelings or country, they are troubling us, Pakistan, USA and the whole world. Gambhir was right by dedicating the win to the people who died in the attack in mumbai, i earlier thought that it was said after Pakistan match, thanks to AMOEBA, i dont think he said anything wrong."

Afridis comments about pakistanis and muslims having a large heart is just absolutely ridiculous, but he has been praising indians in other interviews, the media just got to him i think.
gambhirs comments were absolutely ridiculous. there are a dozen farmer suicides everyday in india. the corporate media hardly ever covers that. all the state terrorism against adivasis and naxalites in india hardly gets any fair coverage. isnt that state terrorism. indian media ne indians ko bohat delussional bana dia hai just like how its in the US. anyone who stands up for the poor in india gets accused of being unpatriotic over there like dr binayek sen. itna brave apnay aap ko gambhir itna brave samajhta hai and such a humanitarian then he should first speak out against state terrorism.

Like I said earlier, it's a very big generalisation anbd there are obvious exceptions, but from my extensive experiance with various people from the sub-continent and elsewhere, I'd say this is a veryfiable and observable phenomenon amongst the various people.

seriously this is perhaps the actual ANSWER, mark it as ANSWER o moderators lolz

but really very well said, its a true thing specially if u follow the context, very pointfully and comprehensively explained a reality, Thanks Safar55

IIRC, hardly any int'l captain has ever tried to generalize entire population like that.

Bad last 2 days for Afridi. First his comment about Sohail and now this. Really shows immaturity is still alive and kicking in him. You could be a straight talker (like Nasser Hussain, Ganguly or may be even Ponting). But you don't give statements like this and his opinion about Sohail in public domain.

I agree, I don't know what was Afridi thinking when he said all this ....really wacko comments by him.

Our players just need to play cricket and keep quiet. They are not the best speakers as you may know.

I agree, I don't know what was Afridi thinking when he said all this ....really wacko comments by him.

Our players just need to play cricket and keep quiet. They are not the best speakers as you may know.
Agree, So many comments by Pakistani players even before the match.

I didn't watch the Ind-Pak match this time but any newspaper you see during that time, its all filled with Pakistani players comments. There were almost none by Indian players.

Even after the WC is over, very minimal comment from Indian players (just saw Sachin live interview today) but Afridi is on a roll.

its hard to be public icons and keep quit, specially when people want to see you talk. Player should be given training on how to handle media.

Surprisingly, there has been a total of ZERO interview from WC winning captain even after 2 days. :P

This guy is something different.

Oh no Afridi what have you done? your IPL Agreement was being drafted after your comments about Indian movies and why hate India.

It (Draft) will be in 100 pieces now.

Afridi :facepalm: one of the many reasons I have never been a fan.

Players are given that training in most countries.