Quote from the link you've provided:
Why would a win in a semi-final against Pakistan "sure" help those affected by the attacks?
Why should only a win in the semi-final against Pakistan and not any other opposition in the tournament be dedicated to those affected by the attacks?
haha, Doctor sahab going all medical on us.
It's a very big generalisation, but it is true generally. They are always exceptions, but from my life experiance what he said was true from what can be observed in day-to-day life. Thyere are several examples of the opposite being true, some indians being bigger hearted than some Pakistanis. But generally, this stereotype is true from my experiance.
there is absolutely no truth to this generalisation whatsoever.
people are people, and they come in all types.
this is EXACTLY the kind of talk we Muslims and Pakistanis have to disprove every single day, especially when living in the West.
and to say that about Indians, just shows hypocrisy on our part.
there is absolutely no truth to this generalisation whatsoever.
people are people, and they come in all types.
this is EXACTLY the kind of talk we Muslims and Pakistanis have to disprove every single day, especially when living in the West.
and to say that about Indians, just shows hypocrisy on our part.
I'm not sure. We all live by stereotypes whether we admit it or not. And there is always some truth to stereotypes whether the PC brigade like it or not.
To judge Individuals based on group stereotypes is very wrong. But many stereotypes exist because there is some fundamental truth to some of them.
I have a lot of Indian friends and many pakistani and muslim (indian) friends. And I can always group them together in some form of generalisation.
for example, Indian muslims are generally more timid than Pakistani counterparts. This is observable, but is not always true and judgements shouldn't be made on this generalisation. But from my experiance I always notice certain traits in people of certain types.
Pakistanis are generally more aggressive than indians.
Hospitality of Arabs surpasses that of Pakistanis, and Pakistanis are generally more hospitable than Indians. Now is this always true? Rather the opposite can be true when we see the way some Arabs treat some workers from the Sub-continent in their countries. Muslims generally are taught to be hospitable to guests and it forms part of their culture regardless of whether they are practicing or religious. With Indian Hindus there is less emphasis on this.
Anyway, I think this discussion is moving away from Cricket
another set of judgments, with no factual basis I'm afraid.
we have so many more 'positive' qualities than them, then why is our nation in the doldrums and their nation enjoying more than a decade of success, in all fields?
sometimes it is better to get off the fictional high horse and see the reality of the situation.
hum sirf khayaalon mey hi unsey behtar hain, baaki sab mey naheen.
stereotypes are rarely positive, mostly come from a racist and derogatory point of view.
some absolute rubbish at the beginning there from Afridi.
itne baray dil hain to apne hi mulq mey kyun itna khoon kharaba chal raha hai?
is correct about the media though, but BOTH sides are eqaully disgraceful.
"I think they were both very stupid comments by Rehman Malik and Gautam Gambhir...I wasn't expecting this from Gautam...This is all politics, what do you know about who carried out the Bombay attacks?" he said.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Sorry if this is posted before but I liked the highlighted bit the most, Afridi back to his - IQ level... Last I checked Pakistani muslims with supposed clean hearts given by Allah also match fixed, spot fixed and god knows whatelse like rest of the world...
Especially considering that he is also the captain of a national team. Not everyone could be a Ponting you know.Agree with you. Ridiculous comments.
IIRC, hardly any int'l captain has ever tried to generalize entire population like that.There's a reason why Strauss, Graeme Smith and Dhoni don't make gross national, cultural and religious stereotypes in media conferences. Because they're not complete tools.
Btw just how small hearted of Gambhir to dedicate the win to victims of Mumbai terror attacks where the final was being held.
he didnt dedicate the India -Pakistan match to them, it was the final in Mumbai! he did nothing wrong!
I dont think afridi plan to say all this!
it was the stupid modertor which was asking stupid questions.......and clearly afridi said it to amuse them
Dhoni is the one to be blamed here.
When maturity and advice on how-not-to-put-your-foot-in-mouth was being given out, Dhoni hoodwinked those in power and took off with his as well as Afridi's share.
Ok no need to be a smart Alec.......desis can't do humour!
Well for Desi level humour I thought my post was Okayish...
There's a reason why Strauss, Graeme Smith and Dhoni don't make gross national, cultural and religious stereotypes in media conferences. Because they're not complete tools.
Freelance...........aap media ke shikar ho gaye!
yeah saying something which is a fact is idiotic infront of so many people .... but its better to say the truth . and the fact is that what he said 100%
Like I said earlier, it's a very big generalisation anbd there are obvious exceptions, but from my extensive experiance with various people from the sub-continent and elsewhere, I'd say this is a veryfiable and observable phenomenon amongst the various people.
IIRC, hardly any int'l captain has ever tried to generalize entire population like that.
Bad last 2 days for Afridi. First his comment about Sohail and now this. Really shows immaturity is still alive and kicking in him. You could be a straight talker (like Nasser Hussain, Ganguly or may be even Ponting). But you don't give statements like this and his opinion about Sohail in public domain.
Agree, So many comments by Pakistani players even before the match.I agree, I don't know what was Afridi thinking when he said all this ....really wacko comments by him.
Our players just need to play cricket and keep quiet. They are not the best speakers as you may know.
Surprisingly, there has been a total of ZERO interview from WC winning captain even after 2 days.its hard to be public icons and keep quit, specially when people want to see you talk. Player should be given training on how to handle media.
its hard to be public icons and keep quit, specially when people want to see you talk. Player should be given training on how to handle media.