India's World Cup exit 'breaks a billion hearts'

Indians reacted with shock and dismay on Wednesday after their stunning World Cup exit, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailing the team's "fighting spirit" and his main rival saying a billion hearts were broken.

Near the end of the semi-final against New Zealand, with India still in with a chance, a crowd of some 400-500 fans cheered and danced at every big hit on a big screen at an amphitheatre surrounded by offices in Gurgaon outside Delhi.

But when MS Dhoni, India's warhorse, was spectacularly run out by Martin Guptill's direct hit to follow Ravindra Jadeja back to the pavilion, the fans knew the game was as good as over and most walked out, devastated.

"We are feeling sad, and you can see me, I feel like crying," said office worker Neeraj Singh, sobbing, after New Zealand's dramatic 18-run win.

"We love Team India, we love Kohli, we love Mahi (MS Dhoni) and forever we will love cricket. And like our boss Kohli has said, Dhoni will forever be our captain in our hearts," he told AFP.

Fellow fan Prabhdeep Singh said that after India lost early wickets, including that of captain Virat Kohli to reduce the two-time champions to 24 for four, Dhoni and Jadeja had given them hope of victory.

"We were thinking we will get the World Cup, but how can I say, we are feeling very bad and sad now," he said.

Jayati Arora, another office worker, agreed.

"At the start (of the match) I didn’t think India would win but then our hopes were increasing. But at the last we lost the match, so I feel very low and sad."

Modi said he was still proud.

"A disappointing result, but good to see #TeamIndia’s fighting spirit till the very end," the prime minister said on Twitter.

"India batted, bowled, fielded well throughout the tournament, of which we are very proud.

"Wins and losses are a part of life."

Cricketing great VVS Laxman tweeted his congratulations to New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and the Black Caps for making it to a second successive World Cup final.

"Ravindra Jadeja along with Dhoni fought brilliantly and got India so close but NZ were brilliant with the new ball and that was decisive," he said.

Rahul Gandhi, until recently the head of the main opposition Congress party, said: "Though they’re a billion broken hearts tonight, Team India, you put up a great fight and are deserving of our love & respect."

The Times of India said on its website that New Zealand had "stunned" the national side, calling the victory target "modest".

The Hindustan Times said that Jadeja's "heroics" were "in vain" while the Indian Express ran with "Heartbreak" and a photo of Kohli trudging up the stairs at Old Trafford, bat under his arm, after his early dismissal.

https://www.afp.com/en/news/3955/indias-world-cup-exit-breaks-billion-hearts-doc-1ik9lt1

LOL I loved every part of it.It was so good to see those arrogant fans crying after the match.Nobody likes arrogant person.They deserved it.

India this ...India that...Tired of this.What are other teams doing then?Should they just roll over

Lets not be too happy as Pakistan fans but what is more interesting for me is the reaction in India v Pakistan to their respective teams' exits

In Pakistan we have been harsh on them, Indians seem to think of this is a mere abberation

Didnt break one bit. Our team had the ability to fail under certain circumstances. Not a total shock.

Watched some hilarious videos of Indian fans totally losing it. It seemed like their national pride was insulted.

I think this might go down as the most painful defeat ever for Indian fans along with the champions trophy and 2003 World Cup finals

You have to be an Indian to "conclude" that lol. It depends. For some 2007 exit is bad. For some 1996 is bad. For some 1987 is bad.

Most painful will be 2003 and 1996.

Those teams actually had potential.

Even the lay man's knew current teams non existing middle order....

Lets not be too happy as Pakistan fans but what is more interesting for me is the reaction in India v Pakistan to their respective teams' exits

In Pakistan we have been harsh on them, Indians seem to think of this is a mere abberation

What i post is always from my heart. This is how i feel about them losing.But i m really really happy.

what man ...disappointed yes.... 'break heart'..... joke of the day .... my father who hate this game don't even know as to whether a world cup is going on or not . For him cricket is just a time waste.If he come to know that India lost he would clap his hands for a few seconds. ... so much so for heart break....

The disappointment is for losing against new zealand than not winning the WC. India is expected to win against new zealand. If they have lost to England in finals, I don't think many would have disappointed as much.

LOL I loved every part of it.It was so good to see those arrogant fans crying after the match.Nobody likes arrogant person.They deserved it.

Probably we don't realize that we often demonstrate the same behaviour that we are critical off in the first place.

People should be proud of India the way they fought back considering how the Aussies rolled over.It was a long shot to win the WC but I expected India to reach the final when NZ was the matchup. They would have been blown away by this English team anyway. Time for retrospection and sort that middle order. England provided a perfect template and if there's one team that has resources to replicate that template, it's India. Perfect time to blood young guns

Definitely not a billion broken hearts .. probably a few million hearts as rest of them don’t care about cricket or know that this time Indian team’s middle order batting is not good enough ..

Most painful for me -
96 SF
99 chennai
2007 exit
2017 CT final
This

2003 final was always a outside chance,nothing more.Game over first half.

I see Dhoni wept of the field of play suggesting it was his farewell match. There are millions of Pak's and Indian's who have no interest in Cricket or have fallen out of love with the game. The usual burning of posters in India started late yesterday evening as well:)):)) Most Pak fans were so happy see India eliminated after they deliberately lost to England some days back otherwise the reaction would not have been of such jubilation. Even ex Pak players like Waqar, Sikander and Mohsin couldn't stop smiling:shafiq2

It's a marketing line that a billion are obsessed with cricket in India. The truth is cricket has fallen in grace after Sachin retired. The next generation are more into football. Kids in my family haven't watched a single game, despite the rest of us still tuning into at least tournaments. The only time I see kids playing cricket is during the IPL. IPL has a big following and is the main thing today keeping cricket alive in India. But cricket will probably never die in India just because of the sheer numbers. Even if only 10% care, it will still be the entire population of some cricketing nations.

Right now cricket is rare compared to a decade back in cities. It has pretty much moved out of the cities and into smaller towns. With live TV available on apps by several cellular networks, even there, football with its hype, promotion and marketing is already competing with cricket.

Not too sure about that. People are critical but you might not hear too much of it because of the loud Modiji-type voices making the most noise. But having said that, Indians generally are quite loyal to their team and players and are also susceptible to narratives being spun. That's why we allegedly :smith voted Modi back in in larger numbers.

what man ...disappointed yes.... 'break heart'..... joke of the day .... my father who hate this game don't even know as to whether a world cup is going on or not . For him cricket is just a time waste.If he come to know that India lost he would clap his hands for a few seconds. ... so much so for heart break....

Does your father represent the entire nation?

I see Dhoni wept of the field of play suggesting it was his farewell match. There are millions of Pak's and Indian's who have no interest in Cricket or have fallen out of love with the game. The usual burning of posters in India started late yesterday evening as well:)):)) Most Pak fans were so happy see India eliminated after they deliberately lost to England some days back otherwise the reaction would not have been of such jubilation. Even ex Pak players like Waqar, Sikander and Mohsin couldn't stop smiling:shafiq2

They reached the semis and this is how fans are showing their love for the team. This is disgraceful

They've got nothing better to do. I bet if Indian players were standing in front of them they'd want their autographs:lara

Does your father represent the entire nation?

definitely not.... but there are crores and crores in India like my father who doesn't give a damn about cricket. Even take my case ... I am a reasonable fan ... disappointed ..yes .... To 'break heart' over a game played by only 10 countries where toss(luck) decides a lot , I am not that much a fool....
It is all Pakistani propaganda to derive self pleasure for their own selfish interests.

Good on the fans for feeling positive and sticking by the side and the players, especially Dhoni.

Oh noooooo! Billions of hearts were broken!!! Buhuuu Kiwis are so mean!!!!

definitely not.... but there are crores and crores in India like my father who doesn't give a damn about cricket. Even take my case ... I am a reasonable fan ... disappointed ..yes .... To 'break heart' over a game played by only 10 countries where toss(luck) decides a lot , I am not that much a fool....
It is all Pakistani propaganda to derive self pleasure for their own selfish interests.

Good to know that their are stong wikled Indians whose hearts aren't broken so easily. However your last sentence makes no sense. AFP isn't Pakistani media source.

lol ..... then it is nice of Pakistan .... appreciated ...:lara

Majority of Indian cricket fans are hugely disappointed by this loss since NZ was not supposed to cause any problems to the strong Indian team. Even Ravi Shastri was already talking about facing ENG in the final. It's nice of you to put up a brave face and accept the loss and move on.

Ind gave eng world cup in a plate.

I didnt notice any 59m boundaries today in same ground. :))) conspiracy...

Very similar to the Pakistan 1987 team, inform team and appeared as the best team of the world cup and fought till the end in every game including the 87 semi final against Australia.

The public while not angry or upset with the team was upset and dejected which is fine

Majority of Indian cricket fans are hugely disappointed by this loss since NZ was not supposed to cause any problems to the strong Indian team. Even Ravi Shastri was already talking about facing ENG in the final. It's nice of you to put up a brave face and accept the loss and move on.

any survey conducted by you on this? majority may be disappointed as I am but hugely? heart broken as it is projected here??

Ravi shastri is a ***** drunkard .Leave him .Yes, I accept the loss because I know cricket as of now is a hugely toss oriented game.
It would have been so different if in each of the matches till now the team which actually 'won' the toss 'lost it'. Even if it was other wise, I
won't lose my sleep over a lose in a game. May be that is how I am ..

Very similar to the Pakistan 1987 team, inform team and appeared as the best team of the world cup and fought till the end in every game including the 87 semi final against Australia.

The public while not angry or upset with the team was upset and dejected which is fine

I think a lot of people were over estimating this Indian team for some reasons. For instance' man to man' if we check the stats, NZL was the better team in paper itself. They have 3 seam bowlers with sub 26 avg: . With Dhawan out , in batting too there was no gap in favour of India. So, all in all NZL seemed to be the better team .

that's because india never picked the right players? politics probably.
india should have picked shami, rayudu and mayank. But their board ate filled with ******* so they deserved to lose.

Pakistan,BD,SL,SA get elimnated nobody cares....But But India exit billion heartbreaks blah blah...Stop this obsession like Ganguly

Cricket World Cup: The Indian cricket team's journey might have been cut short with the loss against New Zealand but Virat Kohli & Co did enough in the tournament to leave a mark. Men in Blue won seven of their nine group games and one was washed out due to rain. But, the biggest match of the tournament came against arch rivals Pakistan on June 16. There was a lot of hype around this intense match and the fandom continues weeks after the game was payed.

The match may well have ended days ago, but there is still a lot of interest in various aspects of it, as is clear from this - the ball used during India vs Pakistan World Cup match has been sold for whopping Rs 1.5 lakh. According a officialmemorabilia.com, which is selling memorabilia related to the ongoing World Cup, the ball has been sold for $2,150. Not just the ball, the coin used for the toss in the India-Pakistan match has been sold for $1,450 while the scoresheet has fetched $1,100.

Out of all the World Cup memorabilia being sold on the website, 27 are related to matches involving India. However, most of them are already sold and only three are still available for sale -- the scoresheet ($400), the coin used for the toss ($350) and the match ball ($850) used during the semifinal against New Zealand. Officialmemorabilia.com is an official partner of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Earlier in the tournament, the Indian team had defeated Pakistan by 89 runs (D/L method) in Manchester. Inspired by Rohit Sharma's century, the Indian team had put up a strong total batting first. Chasing 337 to win, Pakistan were cruising at 117-1 after 21 overs before double strikes from Kuldeep and Hardik Pandya reduced them to 129-5 and all but broke the back of Pakistan’s resistance.

While Pakistan were eventually knocked out of the group stage, India made it to the semifinal where they lost to New Zealand by 18 runs on Wednesday. The final of the World Cup will be played between the Blackcaps and hosts England who defeated Australia in the second semi-final.

Link: https://www.zeebiz.com/india/news-c...atch-ball-sold-for-whopping-rs-15-lakh-105422

Didnt break one bit. Our team had the ability to fail under certain circumstances. Not a total shock.

I thought you were convinced India had the bowlers to take any pitch out of the equation? What happened to those Warner like bowlers? I hope you eyes are open now.

India suffered a semi-final exit from the ongoing World Cup after losing to New Zealand in a rain-affected match in Manchester on Wednesday. However, the Virat Kohli-led team, its support staff and the families of the Indian players are reportedly stranded in England till the World Cup 2019 final, to be played between England and New Zealand at Lord's on Sunday. The players will come back to India in batches as and when they get tickets. "Most of the boys will be in Manchester till July 14 and leave from there. Tickets are being booked after the campaign came to an end yesterday," news agency IANS quoted sources as saying.

Even with no India in the final, the supporters of the national team, who have landed in or are based out of the United Kingdom, will be in majority during the World Cup 2019 final.

All the tickets for the final have been sold out and despite India's shock ouster in the semi-finals, 90 per cent of the fans who have planned their trips months in advance, will still be thronging at the 'Mecca of Cricket' expecting some high quality action.

Many expected that Indian fans would be selling off their tickets for the final, which they have bought in anticipation of Virat Kohli and his team playing there.

A visit to ICC's ticketing website however provided confirmation that the resale traffic is really low.

If a ticket buyer has registered himself with the website and someone in possession of tickets wants to sell off, the former gets an email confirmation.

The various price categories like bronze (95 pounds), silver (195), gold (295) and platinum (395) have sold out markers against them.

Even the tickets for minors in all these categories which come for 20, 30 and 40 pounds respectively has been sold out.

"The resale platform - has been busy with lots of people looking for tickets but very few selling. So interest is still high. We have the platform if they want to sell," an ICC spokesperson told PTI when asked if things would change post India's defeat.

https://sports.ndtv.com/world-cup-2...-semi-final-exit-2068344?pfrom=home-sshowcase

Yuvraj Singh on Tuesday bashed the team management for Team India’s exit from the World Cup semi-finals in July, claiming that the planning for the quadrennial 50-over tournament was “completely wrong”, and even questioned the squad selection.

The Virat Kohli-led team went into the World Cup as favourites along with England, but without a settled a number four batsman. The World Cup-winning veteran said it affected the Men in Blue so much that it led to the exit from the marquee event.

“In this World Cup, they dropped (Ambati) Rayudu and then they had Vijay Shankar, who had some injury and then Rishabh Pant came in. I have nothing against them but both played five ODI games, I mean how do you expect a guy with such less experience to win big matches,” questioned Yuvraj.

“Your No. 4 batsman had a highest score of 48, so I thought the planning was really poor, because they were thinking that Rohit, Virat is in good form but teams don’t win like that. If you look at Australia, if you look at 2003, 2011, 2015, they had set batsmen, so I thought the planning was completely wrong.”

The 38-year-old also questioned the inconsistencies in team selection as Dinesh Karthik, who hadn’t played a single match in the competition, had featured against New Zealand in the semi-final.

“My issue is what the think-tank was doing. Dinesh Karthik was going through the tournament and suddenly he plays the semifinals and a guy like MS Dhoni is batting at No. 7. It was all hotchpotch. You can’t do that in such big matches, you have to be sure,” he said.

Yuvraj, who had announced his retirement from international cricket in June this year, was disappointed with the way the team management handled Rayudu’s case in the lead up to the World Cup.

Rayudu was earmarked for India’s number four slot after some fine performances in Asia Cup last year. However, he was dropped from the World Cup squad following an ordinary series against Australia at home.

“I was very disappointed with what happened with Rayudu. He was our No. 4 batsman for more than a year. Even in New Zealand, in the last game, I think he got 90 and won the Man of the Match. And then you’re playing Australia and going to the World Cup,” he said.

“When we were going to play the 2003 World Cup, the team that played the tournaments in the lead-up, We almost played with the same team. We had decent experience, me and Mohammad Kaif played about 35-40 games. Our top-order was highly experienced and the middle order was decently experienced.”

Harbhajan Singh believed a lot of players who were part of the 2011 World Cup could have played the next edition in 2015.

“Many players from the 2011 World Cup team could have played the next world cup like Yuvraj, me, Viru (Virender Sehwag), Gautam Gambhir certainly. But I didn’t know what was the agenda behind leaving us all aside,” he said.

“It was like your work is done, so you leave now and we need to make a new team. Why do you need a new team? You need it when the team has not won. We won the World Cup and you should take the team forward.”

Harbhajan stressed on the need to have experienced players in the side.

“Yuvi said that you can’t have too many young players and expect them to win the World Cup. You have to have experience in the side to make sure that even when the crunch situation comes, they can make the right decision and do the needful for the team to win the World Cup.

“So basically, I don’t know what was the agenda, what was the motive? And whose was it? I don’t know. There are things which have been going on in Indian cricket and I think this has to change. I mean, if you have done something for Indian cricket, you need to be respected. A lot of players have left with angst.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...t-india-world-cup-exit-ambati-rayudu-6172113/

Really nice to see kohli's feet being held to fire this time. Its win the t20 wc or lose captaincy and let rohit Captain in 2023 and most important no CoA to save you this time kaptaan.

While what may had been wrong selections but lol no way should many players from 2011 played 2015.. Bhajji is going crazy... esp after the T20 debacle in which Yuvi was involved..

Yuvraj Singh on Tuesday bashed the team management for Team India’s exit from the World Cup semi-finals in July, claiming that the planning for the quadrennial 50-over tournament was “completely wrong”, and even questioned the squad selection.

The Virat Kohli-led team went into the World Cup as favourites along with England, but without a settled a number four batsman. The World Cup-winning veteran said it affected the Men in Blue so much that it led to the exit from the marquee event.

“In this World Cup, they dropped (Ambati) Rayudu and then they had Vijay Shankar, who had some injury and then Rishabh Pant came in. I have nothing against them but both played five ODI games, I mean how do you expect a guy with such less experience to win big matches,” questioned Yuvraj.

“Your No. 4 batsman had a highest score of 48, so I thought the planning was really poor, because they were thinking that Rohit, Virat is in good form but teams don’t win like that. If you look at Australia, if you look at 2003, 2011, 2015, they had set batsmen, so I thought the planning was completely wrong.”

The 38-year-old also questioned the inconsistencies in team selection as Dinesh Karthik, who hadn’t played a single match in the competition, had featured against New Zealand in the semi-final.

“My issue is what the think-tank was doing. Dinesh Karthik was going through the tournament and suddenly he plays the semifinals and a guy like MS Dhoni is batting at No. 7. It was all hotchpotch. You can’t do that in such big matches, you have to be sure,” he said.

Yuvraj, who had announced his retirement from international cricket in June this year, was disappointed with the way the team management handled Rayudu’s case in the lead up to the World Cup.

Rayudu was earmarked for India’s number four slot after some fine performances in Asia Cup last year. However, he was dropped from the World Cup squad following an ordinary series against Australia at home.

“I was very disappointed with what happened with Rayudu. He was our No. 4 batsman for more than a year. Even in New Zealand, in the last game, I think he got 90 and won the Man of the Match. And then you’re playing Australia and going to the World Cup,” he said.

“When we were going to play the 2003 World Cup, the team that played the tournaments in the lead-up, We almost played with the same team. We had decent experience, me and Mohammad Kaif played about 35-40 games. Our top-order was highly experienced and the middle order was decently experienced.”

Harbhajan Singh believed a lot of players who were part of the 2011 World Cup could have played the next edition in 2015.

“Many players from the 2011 World Cup team could have played the next world cup like Yuvraj, me, Viru (Virender Sehwag), Gautam Gambhir certainly. But I didn’t know what was the agenda behind leaving us all aside,” he said.

“It was like your work is done, so you leave now and we need to make a new team. Why do you need a new team? You need it when the team has not won. We won the World Cup and you should take the team forward.”

Harbhajan stressed on the need to have experienced players in the side.

“Yuvi said that you can’t have too many young players and expect them to win the World Cup. You have to have experience in the side to make sure that even when the crunch situation comes, they can make the right decision and do the needful for the team to win the World Cup.

“So basically, I don’t know what was the agenda, what was the motive? And whose was it? I don’t know. There are things which have been going on in Indian cricket and I think this has to change. I mean, if you have done something for Indian cricket, you need to be respected. A lot of players have left with angst.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...t-india-world-cup-exit-ambati-rayudu-6172113/

Nicely put up by Yuvi. Indian team have only themselves to blame for the WC semi final loss. We played with 8 batsmen in this game. Jadeja came to bat at 8 and played a spectacular inning, 240 was very much chaseable even after losing three early wickets. You don't deserve to win the tournament after messing up the batting order that way.

Nevertheless, Kane's team won the match only to suffer their career's biggest heartbreak a couple of days later although in return gave us the greatest ODI game of all-time.

Nicely put up by Yuvi. Indian team have only themselves to blame for the WC semi final loss. We played with 8 batsmen in this game. Jadeja came to bat at 8 and played a spectacular inning, 240 was very much chaseable even after losing three early wickets. You don't deserve to win the tournament after messing up the batting order that way.

Nevertheless, Kane's team won the match only to suffer their career's biggest heartbreak a couple of days later although in return gave us the greatest ODI game of all-time.

India lost due to a freak chain of events where the top order batting line Up collapsed.

I think the team had many flaws esp the batting but that semi final in itself was an anomaly and was just a bad day

NZ to be honest didn’t deserve to be in the semi. Won against WI by the barest margin, had a difficult game washed out and lost a few on the trot before the semi.

Over the course of the tournament the best sides were England and India. Heck I would say Pakistan were the 4th best side ahead of
NZ

India lost due to a freak chain of events where the top order batting line Up collapsed.

I think the team had many flaws esp the batting but that semi final in itself was an anomaly and was just a bad day

NZ to be honest didn’t deserve to be in the semi. Won against WI by the barest margin, had a difficult game washed out and lost a few on the trot before the semi.

Over the course of the tournament the best sides were England and India. Heck I would say Pakistan were the 4th best side ahead of
NZ
How is it a freak chain of events when a top order is rolled over by good bowling?

You forget to point out the game that was washed out was to the team we beat in the warm ups comprehensively and beat in the SFs...

We lost 3 on the trot, then beat India and tied to England after some actual FREAK CHAIN OF EVENTS.

Did Pakistan win the CT because of a FREAK CHAIN OF EVENTS? :facepalm:

Watch 2:56-3.33 for FREAK CHAIN OF EVENTS.

Over the course of the tournament we ended up deserving our spot. After the GS matches we weren't deserving, Pakistan were more deserving but then they played well to beat India and were the better team in the Final and never lost the Final.

I don't think Pakistan would have beaten India to get to the Final anyway.

People love talk about the GS and forget we were probably the best team from the KOs.

Beat India and were the better team in the Final, lost the match because of bad luck and bad rules.

People love talk about the GS and forget we were probably the best team from the KOs.

Beat India and were the better team in the Final, lost the match because of bad luck and bad rules.

I didn't give New Zealand a chance but when it came to the knockouts they surprised me and I also think they were the better team and deserved to win the world cup but were very very unlucky in the final.

This is coming from someone who didn't think they deserved to qualify and were going to be slaughtered by India.

By the end they somehow had turned it around, and managed to tie a WC Final - losing the Final down to extremely bad luck and some dodgy rules/rulings.

I don't think Pakistan would have beaten India to get to the Final anyway.

I genuinely think otherwise. Pakistan had finally figured out their combination and a few key players had started to fire. Shaheen was looking incredible, Haris and Amir were playing well, Babar was Babar etc.

I mean it's their own fault for capitulating so meekly against the Windies, but i think Pakistan started running hot at the end of the group stages and would have carried it on into the knockouts if they'd just had the chance.

What a sad day that was...it really broke my heart. I have not followed cricket actively since that day and i know many Indians who lost interest after it as well.

We lost 3 knock out ICC games in last 3 years but none hurted so much:

2015 semi final vs Aussies - Went underdogs and expected loss. No remorse.

CT Final 2017 - Yes it did hurt but mostly bcoz opponent was Pakistan. But after 1st innings everyone knew India will loose it.

2019 Semi final - We were in the game 80% of the time. 20 mins of poor cricket and our hopes were shattered. Its like someone gave a plate full of biryani and suddenly snatch it from you. Kohli got a close umpires call and it felt like someone did **** jaadu to us on that 20 mins. Everything that could go wrong...went wrong. Will never forgive Rishab Pant for that shot he played to get out as well.

Games like that throw away cricket fans. Hope no such heart break in future.

What a sad day that was...it really broke my heart. I have not followed cricket actively since that day and i know many Indians who lost interest after it as well.

We lost 3 knock out ICC games in last 3 years but none hurted so much:

2015 semi final vs Aussies - Went underdogs and expected loss. No remorse.

CT Final 2017 - Yes it did hurt but mostly bcoz opponent was Pakistan. But after 1st innings everyone knew India will loose it.

2019 Semi final - We were in the game 80% of the time. 20 mins of poor cricket and our hopes were shattered. Its like someone gave a plate full of biryani and suddenly snatch it from you. Kohli got a close umpires call and it felt like someone did **** jaadu to us on that 20 mins. Everything that could go wrong...went wrong. Will never forgive Rishab Pant for that shot he played to get out as well.

Games like that throw away cricket fans. Hope no such heart break in future.

2019 world cup was no surprise we know that we are not capable of winning because of dodgy middle order (trusting Rayudu throwing Iyer out of team and not giving chances to Gill),bowlers who can't bat.
I agree Rishabh Pant played wrong shot,he wasn't experience he was playing his 5th match what if team management trusted him earlier and gave him more chances ,what about Dhoni who was doing tuk tuk when Jadeja was set,at least he should have rotate the strike and that forced Jadeja to play wrong shot.

India lost because we were top 3 or bust. Simple as that, everyone knew the game top 3 will fail we will lose, we all were hoping it won't be in knockouts but it happened in knock outs and that was the end of it.

NZ

I disagree. NZ went toe to toe Vs England in the WC finals and gave us arguably the greatest ODI game of all-time. They definitely deserved to make a place in the top 4, defeated South Africa and Windies in a close counter. They had in them to bring their best under pressure.

I didn't saw a single bad fielding by NZ Vs India which was a high pressure knockout and that was NZ's big strength. We lost because we played bad cricket that day. On other hand, for NZ, I will say that they lost finals even though they played excellent game of cricket.

The good part is that now we have two different kinds of players but both youngsters and both very effective in their style of cricket playing for us at 4 & 5. This is exactly I wanted in the WC but unfortunately that didn't happen.

Hopefully, these two will take the team forward and make big name for themselves.

In T20 WC, I see the team combination as:-

Rohit
Rahul
Kohli
Iyer
Pant
Dube
pandya
Kuldeep
Chahal/Chahar
Shami
Bumrah

I think Dube can be a very good T20 batsmen. He is tall, has the power and has the ability to make an impact with the bat but shouldn't be used more than a sixth bowling option.

The good part is that now we have two different kinds of players but both youngsters and both very effective in their style of cricket playing for us at 4 & 5. This is exactly I wanted in the WC but unfortunately that didn't happen.

Hopefully, these two will take the team forward and make big name for themselves.

Rohit
Rahul
Kohli
Iyer
Pant
Dube
pandya
Kuldeep
Chahal/Chahar
Shami
Bumrah

I think Dube can be a very good T20 batsmen. He is tall, has the power and has the ability to make an impact with the bat but shouldn't be used more than a sixth bowling option.

Great line up except Chahar. He will be absolutely plundered in Australia, Bhuvi if fit is miles better than him.

It is not good that one cricketer criticizing other cricketer. They should not openly talk about other cricketers. Even Yuvi is responsible for losing t20 cup against Lanka.
In IPL, it is 12th man..

Rohit
Rahul
Kohli
Iyer
Pant
Dube
pandya
Kuldeep
Chahal/Chahar
Shami
Bumrah

what about Saini?

It is not good that one cricketer criticizing other cricketer. They should not openly talk about other cricketers. Even Yuvi is responsible for losing t20 cup against Lanka.
In IPL, it is 12th man..

So what Ian chappell,geoffrey boycott,bob willis criticize their own players so why cant we?

Because they are asking for their inclusion, Dada criticizing R Jadeja is diff he hasn’t shared the dressing room with him but yes everyone should criticize and analyze not sure that's the motive here.

You have a fragile heart. India were lucky to get to the semis with that middle order. We lost Dhawan early who's an ICC tournament beast but that only unleashed a bigger beast within Rohit Sharma who alone carried us to the semis. If not for him, we would never get there, and if anyone didn't see that collapse coming sooner or later, they're better off not watching cricket anyway.

Yeah. Anyone having an ounce of cricketing knowledge knew that we weren't winning the WC. Whosoever didn't, was being extremely gullible just like our electorate.

WC'19 loss is entirely on Kohli. He had all the power to select and play anyone and he duly obliged. Picked so many never beens (best example: Karthik) for something as grand as a CWC.

Its akin to play Mohit Sharma in WC'15 or picking Sree for WC'11 finals.

Ganguly also said that despite winning a series in Australia, he would still like Virat Kohli's team to get past the hurdle of semi-finals at ICC tournaments. Under Kohli, India have now lost at the last-4 stages of both World T20 2016 and World Cup 2019 while losing the final of the 2017 Champions Trophy to Pakistan.

"As I said, it's a very strong team. But then you have to get past the semi-final. Like in this World Cup, they played so well but lost to New Zealand one day. This is something that they will have to address. At some stage, we will speak to Virat, Ravi (Shastri) and then the players. You need to find a way to get past that hurdle in the big game. Whether it's a mental hurdle or whatever, they will do that. I still expect them to win in England and South Africa in Test matches which they need to do to be a good side

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...australia-tour-inspiration-1632193-2019-12-28

India cricket team under Virat Kohli has been able to achieve great success. Kohli led India to a Test series win in Australia in 2018/19. India’s pace battery under Kohli comprising the likes of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, among others has been regarded as one of the best units in the world at the moment. But one thing that Kohli has not been able to get his hands on at the moment as captain is an ICC trophy.

In 2014, when MS Dhoni was the captain, India lost the T20 World Cup final against Sri Lanka. A year later, Dhoni-led India were ousted by Australia in the ODI World Cup semifinal. In 2017, under Kohli’s captaincy, India lost to Pakistan in the Champions Trophy final, despite being hailed as the favourites to win the tournament. Last year, India once again stumbled against New Zealand in the ODI World Cup semifinal, and were eliminated from the tournament.

“I would say selection is where India have gone wrong over the ICC tournaments, adapting to conditions a little bit. So it’s not just about having one game plan,” former England captain Nasser Hussain, one of the most respected voices in the game, told Star Sports’ ‘Cricket Connected’.

Hussain further said that India’s middle-order remains untested to deal with tricky situations with India top-order batsmen Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli, always getting runs on the board and winning the games for India.

“Adapting to conditions, if it’s nibbling around (ball swinging) and if you are in a World Cup semi-final against New Zealand and it’s doing a little bit, where is your middle-order if you are 20 for 2 and Kohli and Sharma are out?” Hussain questioned.

“It could almost be a fault of Indian cricket that they are too good at the top of the order. When it’s good and flat, okay Kohli hundred, Sharma hundred, hundreds at the top and lads in the middle order don’t get a hit,” he commented.

The former England batsman further added that India have no answers once they quickly lose three wickets in early overs. “.....and suddenly you are 20 for 3 because you have come up against (Mitchell) Starc, (Josh) Hazlewood and suddenly all the guys haven’t had a hit and we are four down and how we are going to get out of it now. So it’s about having a Plan B that will get them across the line, not just having a Plan A,” he said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...tournaments/story-MZdPDP00MWhbIqxBAUZneL.html

There have been detailed discussions regarding India’s 2019 World Cup campaign for over a year. India were one of the favourites to win the title in England after an incredible run in the last few years. The team under the leadership of Virat Kohli finished at the top of the table after the group stage. It looked India would be heading to the finals after the bowlers reduced New Zealand to 240 in the semifinals.

But it all came crashing down from there. The top-order failed, the middle order couldn’t do much and it was left to MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja to reignite the Indian hopes. But the contest ended when Dhoni was uncharacteristically run-out.

Also read: Dream is very much alive’ - Rajasthan Royals’ Robin Uthappa hopeful of making India comeback

Whenever a debate takes place regarding the World Cup, the conversation turns towards team management’s inability to get a settled no.4 batsman in place. Former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar also agrees that India made a mistake by not having a proper no.4 batsman.

“What we need to look at is to have somebody at 4, 5 and 6 who are very good batsmen, who would otherwise bat at the top but because 1, 2 and 3 are occupied they are batting in the middle-order. We made a mistake by not having a proper No. 4 at the 2019 World Cup. If we had had a proper No. 4 for the World Cup then it might have been a completely different story,” Gavaskar told India Today.

“India’s top-3 batting lineup is such a fabulous batting lineup that often it has happened that numbers 4 and 5 at the initial stages of the World Cups haven’t got the opportunity to play long innings, to get their eye in.

“Suddenly when your top-3 are dismissed cheaply, and that can happen in the odd match, unfortunately for India, it has happened in a knockout game and that is where number 4, 5 and 6 haven’t been able to cope with the loss of your earlier prolific batsmen.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...9-world-cup/story-SlkQkuKPkNVN2YxouoIF0O.html