IPL 2018 - Pre-tournament Discussion Thread

Starc just lost out on $1.4 million. He will not be paid since the injury was outside of the IPL.

I'll probably watch this season's IPL. I haven't watched a single game since Sachin retired from IPL. I need to get back to the groove, all of my cricket loving friends passionately follow the IPL.

Support KKR.

He's being cautious plus mentally may not be in the right frame of mind either. Better to stay away from a long league with lots of travel involved.

Looking at the Australian Test side, only other big name in IPL is Pat Cummins. I will not at all be surprised if he opted out as well.

Starc is genuinely injured. He missed the test match as well.

Have followed IPL passionately for 3-4 seasons but now it's not same for previous 2-3 seasons. All passion is gone now. Don't think gonna follow this season.
"Woh mausam aur hota tha"
"Woh aalam aur hota tha"
" woh Waqt abb nikal chuka hai"

What changed? Some fav player of yours not picked or sth?

Have followed IPL passionately for 3-4 seasons but now it's not same for previous 2-3 seasons. All passion is gone now. Don't think gonna follow this season.
"Woh mausam aur hota tha"
"Woh aalam aur hota tha"
" woh Waqt abb nikal chuka hai"

Sad to see lose one IPL fan, hope you change ur mind and come back again to support IPL :19:

[MENTION=138796]Sami92[/MENTION]
Your wish granted.
Rajasthan royals picked henrich klaasen as Smith replacement.

Klassen was not in the original auction list but he was added into extended players list so that make it possible.

According to head coach zubin bharucha they were impressed with klassen's confident hitting against indian spinners.

If any player makes big impact in Team Ind International matches (except Pak players, of course) , franchises rope him to IPL for sure :srini :19:

Don't [MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION]

Save yourself some frustration and support Mumbai. They are Loyal to the fans and to the players. And they win more often than not.
[MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] if you want entertainment ..welcome on board :kohli2 :ab #RCB

If any player makes big impact in Team Ind International matches (except Pak players, of course) , franchises rope him to IPL for sure :srini :19:
True. Last season worked big time for tymal mills due to starc's exit at the last moment.

Life changing for Tymal Mills though.. not every investment gives returns in life bro, rightfully discarded next season.

I guess Tymal Mills played in this year PSL, was he any good there?

BCCI to monitor workload of top 50 Indian players during IPL

The BCCI is all set to monitor workload of top 50 Indian cricketers, starting with the seven-week IPL, and will create a database for their workload and injury management to keep them fresh for big international assignments.

It has been learnt that the Indian team management is keen that a big pool of players including the top internationals, fringe players and domestic performers are brought under a robust performance and fitness monitoring system in the coming years.

"Yes, the plan is there on the anvil. We want to create a database of 50 players. In those 50 players, 27 are our centrally contracted players (with Mohammed Shami re-inducted) and there will be another 23 players, who will be added to the list. These 23 players will be short-listed during the Indian Premier League," a senior BCCI office-bearer told PTI on the condition of anonymity.

"Starting from India's tour of UK (which includes a short tour of Ireland), the national team is going to have enormous amount of workload till 2019 World Cup in England. Those who are performing, will have their workload monitored as well as the various parameters of their fitness levels checked. If they don't attain required levels, they are not likely to be considered for India or India A teams. Physio Patrick Farhart will monitor them at the National Cricket Academy (NCA)," the official added.

The blue-print is being prepared and the national selection committee headed by MSK Prasad will have a major role in selecting the 23 players.
The BCCI earlier had also put plans in place to monitor the workload of fast bowlers during the IPL with a cap on the number of overs that each centrally contracted player would send down at the nets.

With big tours of England and Australia coming up in the next nine months and the volume of ODI cricket set to increase, BCCI will need at least 7-8 fit fast bowlers, who could be rotated and kept fresh.
Apart from the 27 in the list, it is expected that players such as Rishabh Pant, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Avesh Khan and Deepak Hooda are likely to be inducted.

Link: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...n-players-during-ipl/articleshow/63556856.cms

Very good decision by BCCI. PCB should follow suit during the PSL as we know what our players attitude towards fitness came be like.

SRH signed Hales to replace Warner which is best they could’ve got. Hales can be as destructive as Warner have been, however consistency is what Hales will lack. Overall, SRH will be relief to have Hales in their lineup and will form a great opening partnership with Dhawan.

On side note: Good Ronchi wasnt selected, last thing IPL wanted was more retired late 30+ making an IPL comeback.

After looking at the squads
These are my predictions for IPL 2018

Final Table to look like:

CSK
MI
RCB
SRH
KXIP
RR
DD
KKR

Mumbai Indians and RCB favourites to make Final
RCB to win IPL 11

(I’m a KKR fan btw)

All the squads look great this year and it promises to be the best season of IPL yet
Hard to call
But those are my predictions ^^^^

CSK
MI
RCB
SRH
KXIP
RR
DD
KKR

RCB to win IPL 11

(I’m a KKR fan btw)

CSK is in for real shock this ipl. If raina doesn't have superhuman season then their bunch of oldies will play catch-up whole season. Even Delhi and Punjabi have decent balance this year.

Yh all the teams look good, so it is hard to call
Csk look good, although it is an older squad and they always seem to find a way to click

CSK
MI
RCB
SRH
KXIP
RR
DD
KKR

RCB to win IPL 11

(I’m a KKR fan btw)

Mark my words MI will retain the championship and will become 4 time winners

after looking at the squads
these are my predictions for ipl 2018

final table to look like:

Csk
mi
rcb
srh
kxip
rr
dd
kkr

mumbai indians and rcb favourites to make final
rcb to win ipl 11

(i’m a kkr fan btw)

#escn #rcb :19:

100-strong commentary panel for 6-language IPL feed

Star Sports is on a record creating spree for the Indian Premier League ever since the 21st Century Fox-owned broadcaster had acquired the absolute broadcast rights for the biggest professional league in cricket for ₹16,347.5 crore.

The Indian Premier League is heading for another first under the Star Sports banner as for the first time a 100-strong commentary panel has been engaged for the live broadcast in six languages.

The 24 commentators for the world feed include the likes of foreign internationals like Sunil Gavaskar, Sanjay Manjrekar, Murali Kartik, L Sivaramakrishnan. Brett Lee, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Dean Jones, Simon Doull, Scott Styris, Danny Morrison, Ian Bishop and Pommie Mbangwa are among the international players on the panel.

The world feed commentators also include four former international women cricketers – Lisa Sthalekar, Melanie Jones, Anjum Chopra, Isa Guha. Harsha Bhogle will be the only non-cricketer in the 24-strong panel for the IPL world feed.

The original list also included Jonty Rhodes, but the former South African batsman has opted out from the commentary panel.

Following Rhodes exit, the complete world feed panel will be: Sunil Gavaskar (India), Manjrekar (India), Murali Kartik (India), Harsha Bhogle (India), L Sivaramakrishnan (India), Rohan Gavaskar (India), Deep Das Gupta (India) and Anjum Chopra (India). Simon Doull (New Zealand), Danny Morison (New Zealand), Mpumelelo ‘Pommie’ Mbangwa (Zimbabwe), Michael Slater (Australia), Brett Lee (Australia), Matthew Hayden (Australia), Michael Clarke (Australia), Lisa Sthalekar (Australia), Melanie Jones (Australia), Michael Vaughn (England), David Lloyd (England) Kevin Pietersen (England), Nasser Hussain (England), Isha Guha (England), Greame Smith (South Africa) and Ian Bishop (West Indies).

The world feed commentary has no names from Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The regional language commentary team will be a mix of cricketers and non-cricketers. “Star India had a couple of weeks back conducted a commentators workshop in Mumbai. Several well established, non-cricketer names, who have over the year become the voices of non-cricket leagues in India, were also called for the workshop. But, the Star TV management had later decided to have only Bhogle as the non-cricketer commentator for the World Feed,” a source associated with the work had confirmed to insidesport.co.

The broadcaster has scheduled a dinner-cum-workshop for the IPL commentary team early next week.

Star Sports, targeting over 700 million viewers, will broadcast the IPL over 10 network channels in six languages along with the digital simulcast on its VOD platform Hotstar.

Three fresh voices - Vaughan, David Lloyd and Nasser Hussain. They will perhaps return to Sky for Eng-Pak series in May but will be great to hear them for few weeks at IPL.

Interesting. I think Liam Plunkett if avaliable would be a good opition.

Curran is best death bowler in England. Overall is a more versatile bowler than plunkett.
I don't think Plunkett is available either because he is still healing hamstring injury.

Very sad. They could have brought in Mahela Jayawardene or Sangakkara. Both are excellent commentators.

Mahela is Mumbai Indians coach.

Sanga I am sure will get added to the commentary panel at some stage if he is interested. Star Sports had him as a commentator for last Champions Trophy, no readon why they will not have him again for IPL.

Only throne in commentry panel is L Sivaramakrishnan !
LS peaks like a person is in verge of heart attack, no offense !

Very sad. They could have brought in Mahela Jayawardene or Sangakkara. Both are excellent commentators.

Do you not think before posting?

Sanga busy in couny and Mahela is a coach of MI. How will they do commentary stint if they are preoccupied?

He is the unofficial CSK cheerleader.

LS, Arun Lal, Sanjay Manjrekar there trio should never be part of any commentary team. I dont have words to express how cringeworthy these three are. In case with Sanjay, he is dumb and acts as if he was some playing great in his time. He was pathetic batsman and now equally pathetic commentator

RCB should start with this XI:-

Our slogan:- " In ipl, only three things are important- entertainment, entertainment, entertainment and RCB is entertainment".

IPL was no less entertaining last year, when RCB finished at the bottom of the table.

Dwayne Bravo credits MS Dhoni for his development as 'death overs specialist'

Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has credited team skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni for his development as a "death overs specialist" saying it was due to the faith he showed in him.

"He has shown a lot of faith in me, the trust. For me it's all about preparation. I always like bowling to MS in the end (in practice sessions) as he is one of the best finishers in the game and I challenge myself by bowling to him," the West Indies all-rounder said.

"I always give him a scenario, sometimes I win and sometimes he wins," Bravo was quoted as saying by the CSK website.

He also said Dhoni allows players to express themselves and to learn from their mistakes.

"As a leader he is one of the best that has every played the game, he allows players to express themselves, allows them to learn from their mistakes. He's very cool, very calm and that's very good," Bravo added.

He has been training with the rest of the CSK team at the MA Chidambaram Stadium here ahead of IPL-11 and showed off showed some of the dance moves of his latest song Run D World.

Bravo was part of the CSK squad between 2011 and 2015, scoring 706 runs and taking 79 wickets and twice won the award (Purple Cap) for the highest wicket-taker.

He said it was important to start well in the tournament, which kicks with a match between CSK and arch-rivals Mumbai Indians in Mumbai on 7 April.

"The start (to a season) is very important, especially in a tournament like the IPL where all the teams are very, very good," he added.

"It's a tournament where anything is possible and so you want to start well. It gives you that momentum. It can get a little difficult for teams to recover later on in the tournament.

Further, Bravo said he was looking forward to the match between the two sides adding it was the 'El Clasico'.

"It's really the El Clasico, two of the biggest franchises in IPL history... two of the most successful franchises. Im looking forward to it... everyone's looking forward to it. I dont think there can be a bigger tournament opener than this one," he added.

"These kinds of games, they really get me going," Bravo said.

Link: http://www.firstpost.com/firstcrick...opment-as-death-overs-specialist-4408403.html

It's a season of IPL praises after the season of PSL praises.lol nothing new here. Dhoni is a world class captain though and probably the best after Ricky Ponting.

[MENTION=138796]Sami92[/MENTION]
Your wish granted.
Rajasthan royals picked henrich klaasen as Smith replacement.

Klassen was not in the original auction list but he was added into extended players list so that make it possible.

According to head coach zubin bharucha they were impressed with klassen's confident hitting against indian spinners.

Wow ! Awesome news, extremely happy. Klassen will be a treat to watch. I want to see him play the first match of RR.

[MENTION=134230]gani999[/MENTION] , the only entertaining part of last year IPL was that RCB finished at bottom of table.

As said, RCB is the real definition of entertainment.:kohli2:ab:bm:gayle

They need a death bowler. Tom Curran,Junior Dala etc are in the reckoning.

Curran is best death bowler in England. Overall is a more versatile bowler than plunkett.
I don't think Plunkett is available either because he is still healing hamstring injury.

I think David Willey could have been a better pick for KKR. He gives the added batting advantage. He can bat up the order too. KKR has Lynn & Russell who are injury prone and Narine who was reported again.

It's not official yet but most of the reports tell they picked Tom Curran.
Willey is excellent t20 cricketer & one of the best bowler to bowl in powerplay but I think kkr is worried about death bowling and that's where Tom Curran shines.
IMO They would pick willey if any other player gets injured. Some fans on Twitter found out
That both Tom Curran and David willey followed kkr on instagram just when news surfaced about replacements willey also followed kkr ceo's profile on instagram so there is chance.

Tom Curran has replaced Mitchell Starc in the KKR squad.

[MENTION=134230]gani999[/MENTION] , the only entertaining part of last year IPL was that RCB finished at bottom of table.

As said, RCB is the real definition of entertainment.:kohli2:ab:bm:gayle

Don't forget Sarfaraz Khan !

RCB Practice Session Pics :kohli2

IMG_20180403_163413.jpg

IMG_20180403_163518.jpg

IMG_20180403_163521.jpg

• IMG_20180403_163513.jpg
    IMG_20180403_163513.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 261
Rabada ruled out of IPL

Standard Bank Proteas fast bowler, Kagiso Rabada, has been ruled out for up to three months with a lower back stress reaction. Rabada felt tightness and discomfort during the fourth Sunfoil Test match against Australia at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, with subsequent scans revealing the injury.

Commenting on the injury, Proteas team manager, Dr Mohammed Moosajee said: “Kagiso has been diagnosed with a lower back stress reaction which will rule him out of cricket action for up to three months. He will need a month’s break from all physical activity before commencing with a rehabilitation programme to get him ready for the series against Sri Lanka in July.”

Rabada will be unavailable for the Delhi Daredevils in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL).

Bad news for Delhi, they now only have Boult as out and out overseas pacer. Morris counts as an AR. Should fly in Morne IMO.

Can't wait for the IPL to begin. Sad to see some of the stars missing out due to injuries. Anyone playing any fantasy league or similar competition? Please let me know which one is the best. Would try my luck this time around.

Yes. Can’t wait. Hopefully they find good replacement for Rabada. I was really looking for his bowling against our young batsmen.

Would have been supporting Delhi but kock and gauti irk me.

Will be CSK then I guess

Rabada will need replacing. Boult is almost certain to start now. I would have started both had Rabada been fit.

Ponting may prefer australian

Jhye Richardson may be but I think he will be too raw for IPL right now. I'll pick David Willey. I'll be happy if they pick Morne Morkel also considering the fact he was with DD & picked up many wickets in IPL 2012.

Junior Dala and Adam Milne are two other names.

Airtel, Jio users can stream IPL 2018 on Hotstar without subscription

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 is all set to kick off this Saturday (April 7). The first match will take place between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. This year, Star India grabbed the broadcasting rights for the IPL 2018 series. Digitally, you can stream the series online via the Hotstar app with a subscription fee. However, Airtel and Reliance Jio subscribers can watch it without the additional payment.

Hotstar will allow users to stream the first ten minutes of the IPL 2018 matches for free after which it will prompt users to pay for the content. Users can subscribe either Hotstar’s All Sports Pack or Hotstar Premium. Hotstar All Sports pack is priced at Rs 299 and it covers IPL 2018 series, Asia Cup 2018, Premier League, Formula 1 and more. Hotstar Premium is available at Rs 199 per month and Rs 999 per year.

Airtel
Airtel customers can watch the series for free via the Airtel TV app. Airtel postpaid and prepaid customers have free access to Airtel TV app which serves as a platform for different services like Hotstar, Hooq, Sony LIV and more. Users can simply tap on the IPL 2018 content on Airtel TV and they will be redirected to the Hotstar app. Airtel users need not subscribe to the Sports Pack or Hotstar Premium.

Reliance Jio

Similar to Airtel’s scheme, Reliance Jio users can also watch IPL 2018 on Hotstar without the required subscription. Reliance Jio offers Jio TV app for free to all its Prime users for 1 year. Jio Prime users can also follow the same process of opening IPL 2018 content on Jio TV which will be further redirected to Hotstar.

All these years i haven't had any team to support . But i have a huge dislike for CSK. Particularly boring team this season. Hope they fail massively.

Yes I too feel the same. CSK and Raj Rayols are two of the most boring teams in the league..

What time is game gonna be starting? I heard there is some opening ceremony too?

Pre match show from 5-6.20pm
Opening Ceremony from 6.20pm onwards for 55 min
Then again pre match show till 8pm
From 8pm onward live telecast

Pre match show from 5-6.20pm
Opening Ceremony from 6.20pm onwards for 55 min
Then again pre match show till 8pm
From 8pm onward live telecast

Hope Star maintains it's higher standard coverage...:19:

Hate that Akash Chopra with his cringeworthy analysis :facepalm: Star should check him for good !

Hope Star maintains it's higher standard coverage...:19:

Hate that Akash Chopra with his cringeworthy analysis :facepalm: Star should check him for good !

I hate Hindi commentary but my father like Hindi so watching it on Hotstar with stump Mike on no commentry