IPL (2025) - Discussion Thread

Who will win IPL 2025?

Very good batting conditions these but the disabled CSK batting unit batting on it :kp

:Six more .shabash. @Rana are you watching Indian young guns? This is how Play attacking cricket with classic shots :kp

Lol this ayush guy has smashed a new indian trundler kumar like no tomorrow.

He is certainly not 17 but he can hit.

17 off 5 already. I don't care about age as long as they are not playing age cricket.

Lol this ayush guy has smashed a new indian trundler kumar like no tomorrow.

He is certainly not 17 but he can hit.
Same bowler got the wicket of one of he best young player in the World Rachin ravindra a bowl ago . Cry more 🤣🤣🤣 :kp

21 off 6 already. Fearless attitude. Zimbo L and others should learn from these guys.

He is being tracked since he was a kid
Let's agree to disagree. I don't think he is 17 but he looks very talented and smashing them like no tomorrow.
i don't really care about age as long as a player is not playing age cricket.

images

This shaik rasheed looks like someone from zimbo L's thought of school.
Looks limited as well.

This csk team is so boring. It's like I m watching team full of zimbo L's and others.

There was another kid with the name Shaikh Rasheed who played for India Under-19’s. He was very good in that. Not sure what happened to him.

Rachin is their only real T20 player. The rest are mediocre or past their prime.
Yeah rachin is exciting and sometimes shivam dube hit huge sixes as well especially against spinners but other than that they are boring.

How is it that one teenager playing his first IPL match goes blazing and all these experienced jokers finding it difficult to bat ??

Definitely not the pitch..!!

Sharam kar lo bhuddo :kp

Jadeja is clearly past his prime as a batsman. Chennai would have to make strong moves next season.
Jadeja is good in finishing the games when 90% of the runs are already scored by top and middle order. He is a very handy batsman to have to score the final 20-30 runs. But if he has to come at half way through and bat like a proper batsman, he will struggle.
At least Jadeja can contribute with ball and field. It’s not his fault. It’s the team selection.

King won the game for RCB earlier today now time for Rohit to win the game for MI . :kp

I like that Suyash(RCB) guy bowling action. Better than dart thrower Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel etc.

This year IPL, best power hitting I seen are from Nicky P and Sharfane Rutherford, Mitchell Marsh and SKY is SKY in IPL.

I just see trundlers galore in IPL.

Not a single "fast bowler" in IPL. Especially local Indian bowlers. Mukesh Kumar Mohit Sharma ishant sharma deepak chaher Arshdeep singh and countless others.

Just trundlers trundlers and more trundlers.
Prasidh Krishna literally bowled 145 to 149 in his last game
Then there are players who aren’t starting like Kuldeep sen
Bumrah bowls 140 plus
Shami can
Siraj did in this tourney
Umran Malik is quick and not playing
Harshit Rana regularly hits 140 plus
Mayank injured and is really quick
Prince yadav was hitting 140 plus quite often too
Simarjeet 140 plus again not picked

There is plenty of quicks. India have serious depth in quciks

We just have quacks for selectors who are just dumb and select based on quota/nepotism

Prasidh Krishna literally bowled 145 to 149 in his last game
Then there are players who aren’t starting like Kuldeep sen
Bumrah bowls 140 plus
Shami can
Siraj did in this tourney
Umran Malik is quick and not playing
Harshit Rana regularly hits 140 plus
Mayank injured and is really quick
Prince yadav was hitting 140 plus quite often too
Simarjeet 140 plus again not picked

There is plenty of quicks. India have serious depth in quciks

We just have quacks for selectors who are just dumb and select based on quota/nepotism
Only prasidh krishna is somewhat can be called as a fast bowler others are just not fast enough.
Mayank yadav was quick and umran was certainly quick as well but umran might never even get pick again.
All the others are trundlers with medium pace. This prince yadav is an epic trundler and simarjit is just 137kph bowler.

Only prasidh krishna is somewhat can be called as a fast bowler others are just not fast enough.
Mayank yadav was quick and umran was certainly quick as well but umran might never even get pick again.
All the others are trundlers with medium pace. This prince yadav is an epic trundler and simarjit is just 137kph bowler.
Yeah no "phaast pace is pace yaar" bowlers in Ind. Pak has a lot of them - pak mein talent bahut hai..Fast bowling is not just about pace- it's about brains fitness consistency dedication practice handling nerves.. but yes no phaast pacy yaari bowlers.. that's reserved for Pak. 😂

Siraj has been pretty quick from what I have seen. Prasidh has good pace and bounce. Overall, in T20 hitting 140K is not that big of a deal. That's like 135K in ODIs and 130-135K in Tests.

135 to 145 range is fast dude.

Express yea no there is hardly anyone express anywhere

Besides I don’t count 4 over format bowlers as genuine quick bowlers unless they showed skills in tests too.

All the players I mentioned bowl 134 to 145 even in tests

That’s why I rate them as quick bowlers

Siraj has been pretty quick from what I have seen. Prasidh has good pace and bounce. Overall, in T20 hitting 140K is not that big of a deal. That's like 135K in ODIs and 130-135K in Tests.
I agree with this.

In 2024 in Tests, Hasan Mahmud averaged 132 kph in Tests and Taskin averaged 134 kph.

For all the bluster, they don't seem particularly quick in the most challenging format.

I agree with this.

In 2024 in Tests, Hasan Mahmud averaged 132 kph in Tests and Taskin averaged 134 kph.

For all the bluster, they don't seem particularly quick in the most challenging format.
Yes bro Hellion, Hasan Mahmud is slowest among the lot, but he is the best BD fast bowler in Test.

Gujarat Titans will win the trophy this year.

DC, RCB and PBKS will have a good year but not likely to win the tournament.

Few fans were hoping or predicting indian team is done after rohit and kohlis departure, this year ipl proved exactly opposite. I hope we will get few quality new pacers too

Rohit, Kohli were in a whole different league at their peak. Only player comes close to them from current lot is Shreyas Iyer.

They are not useful any.ore and are a burden.even if the present players are not from kohlis and rohits galaxy, sum of units are better than earlier to make it a very tough team to beat.u can take example of indian t20i team where we are reaching 250 to 300 regularly against full strength sena teams.

Gujarat Titans will win the trophy this year.

DC, RCB and PBKS will have a good year but not likely to win the tournament.
Never ever underestimated mumbai and KKR even I don't like them .

MI last three game - W W W .

Isn't this true for PSL too? How many are touching 145+? What is their average speed.

Despite their speeds , it is pretty obvious that none of the PSL speedsters are going to achieve anything in international cricket. They just don't have it

Yesterday in CSK vs MI; both Ravindra Jadeja and Shivam dube batted 18-20 balls at 100 SR and then ramped up to end up at 50+ off 30odd balls respectively.

On paper these end up looking like decent innings with 150+ SR and in aggregate career stats they will boost their individual numbers but reality is that with both tuk tuking together in middle overs for 6-7 overs at 6 rpo, their team had effectively given up on trying to score par at Wankhede (195-200).

Already batting average is a redundant parameter in T20 statistics. I believe that it is time we consigned overall inns strike rate (i.e.speed) also to the trash heap.

Stats to assess a T20 inns must be impact focused contextual (i.e. partnership acceleration, inns phase wise , matchup strike rate, quality of faced bowling adjustment etc.)

It is time to sabermetrize T20 cricket stats, cricinfo has already introduced an impact rating which gives overall picture but doesnt dive into more specific details. Over the next 5 years I hope the discourse on forums shifts to these new statistical parameters.

We all already know that Virat Kohli's orange cap push is nowhere near the quality of Nicholas Pooran's push. We now need to be able to define it clearly.

Despite their speeds , it is pretty obvious that none of the PSL speedsters are going to achieve anything in international cricket. They just don't have it
They achieved an iconic straight six down the mcg, a hook shot in Ahmedabad and even worse as pasting from kl in columbo

Yes whole another peak and that’s why helped us win 0 titles in 13 years. Only won recently.

Thanks a lot Virat and rohit

Yea Nha. No thanks

We have far better players than them available.

Even in their so called peaks.

But yes we did dominate in test cricket for 5 straight years as world number 1 under kohli and that is impressive definitely. Credit for that.

Compared to his lofty standards, Virat has had a middling IPL with the bat so far. And yet he’s in the top 3 of the most runs this season, just 46 away from the top spot. And that highlights his brilliance- ‘what is a dream season for most others, is just run-of-the-mill for VK '

Because other batsmen are going for strike rate and not stat padding. There have been some amazing innings by our youngsters, their 30s have been way better than Kohli's innings

Acha. Finishing the game is more important than playing a worthless innings. Kohli strike is 140 in IPL 2025. :kp

These strike rates are overhyped in T20 cricket..I agree it is important to have a better strike rate..Than that it is always the situational awareness and presence of mind..Kohli is clear in his role and he is playing to his strength without falling into the trap of strike rate.. unlike Babar Azam or any other statpadders, he is not throwing his wicket after milestones..Rather he stays till the end and ensures his team win..And he is constantly hitting boundaries and rotates strike well not putting pressure on the opposite batsman..