IPL 2026 - Discussion thread

Tbf IPL is a much more glamorous kanjar khaana for foreign players

I can understand why they would prefer less to be there instead of Pakistan.

PSL will have some very big names.

Ben Stokes
Harry Brook
Jamie Smith
Johnny Bairstow
Steve Smith
Shamar Joseph
David Warner
I don't think Ben stokes, Steve Smith, jonny bairstow will come....and rest of them will ne in IPL supplementary till the tournament starts....

PSL will have some very big names.

Ben Stokes
Harry Brook
Jamie Smith
Johnny Bairstow
Steve Smith
Shamar Joseph
David Warner
Bhai are you 100% sure about ECB giving Noc for PSL?

Don’t get excited

On top of it, guys like Stokes are not exactly dying to play in Pakistan instead of India.

Harry Brook opting out of IPL isn’t because he’d rather play PSL

No one is coming from this list apart from warner....

Don’t get excited

On top of it, guys like Stokes are not exactly dying to play in Pakistan instead of India.

Don’t get excited

All these roadshows and money wasting and getting kachra players....

I think besides the money, the PCB has to improve its outlook as an appeal to foreign players in order to secure their attraction as well.

We’ve pointed this out time and time again. Foreign players would love to spend 2-3 months in India with their families enjoying it too…but in Pakistan it feels like a quarantine to secure some money.

This aspect has to improve!

Don’t get excited

Stokes is pretty much done in T20 cricket.

Has played 4 T20s overall since 2022 World T20( last 3 years)

He barely plays the format anymore.

Sochne wali baat hai.

Let’s see if they do consider this way out.

Most of the players don't want to go a place where atmosphere is so toxic like security guard all round, lock in hotel room before going to stadium etc etc.

Stokes is pretty much done in T20 cricket.

Has played 4 T20s overall since 2022 World T20( last 3 years)

He barely plays the format anymore.
I’m not sure this guy even wants to play cricket anymore. The last 3-4 years have just been him running on some after burners.

Let’s say he even does consider coming to PSL,

There is a good chance he might just go home after a week or so.

Same with Maxwell.

Babar and Rizwan probably loving this draft!

All T20 players that would make them look like Tatti in this format are not going to be there!

Babar and Rizwan probably loving this draft!

All T20 players that would make them look like Tatti in this format are not going to be there!
How they gonna fill 8 teams? I don't think how they sign 50 players? Is anybody left? England County players will not be availabe...

Instead of going for washed up players, PSL should do for young guys who IPL didn't pick.

Ollie Peake, Matt Boyle(NZ) - such players.
Combination of two we should definitley try to scoop up the youngsters.

But Those so called washed up players can still offer a lot to young Pakistani players and to Pak cricket.

There is more chance of me playing PSL than Ben stokes coming 😂
I’m not sure this guy even wants to play cricket anymore. The last 3-4 years have just been him running on some after burners.

Let’s say he even does consider coming to PSL,

There is a good chance he might just go home after a week or so.

Same with Maxwell.

Luke Wood and Kyle Jamieson also gone.

PSL franchises have to do some serious in depth scouting of domestic cricketers from overseas.

Especially now that there are 2 more teams
Luke wood also gone? 😂.....whole peshawar zalmi, ISB, KK and Quetta team gets picked by IPL.....

Players available for the PSL to sign.

Steve Smith
Maxwell
Stokes
Mark Wood
Brook
Fraser-Mcgurk
Conway
Atkinson,
Mulder
Bairstow
Jamie Smith
Coetzee
Spencer Johnson
Zampa
Adil Rashid

Luke Wood and Kyle Jamieson also gone.

PSL franchises have to do some serious in depth scouting of domestic cricketers from overseas.

Especially now that there are 2 more teams
Ipl already did that and buy everyone plus Afghan players already banned and England players will be playing County...so I don't think what they scout

I think besides the money, the PCB has to improve its outlook as an appeal to foreign players in order to secure their attraction as well.

We’ve pointed this out time and time again. Foreign players would love to spend 2-3 months in India with their families enjoying it too…but in Pakistan it feels like a quarantine to secure some money.

Unfortunately this won't improve until the system of the country changes

Out of these only maxwell will come...England platers will not come due to NOC, conway maybe but he is not t20 player....crap list
Players available for the PSL to sign.

Steve Smith
Maxwell
Stokes
Mark Wood
Brook
Fraser-Mcgurk
Conway
Atkinson,
Mulder
Bairstow
Jamie Smith
Coetzee
Spencer Johnson
Zampa
Adil Rashid

It's better if he commentate in IPL...he is not even t20 cricketer...
He has brand value, he attracts crowds and Australian fans will watch his batting, so the PSL Viewership will increase.

Like MSD is a brand value in India and when he bats old cricket fans start watching IPL Just for him.

THis is called marketing of the product.

There is still enough players to pick from.

This was the danger of going against IPL. But if not IPL we would have had to go against another league anyway.

PSL is gonna be the league for oldies and youngsters, the cream of the talent will go to India.

It is what it is.

There is still enough players to pick from.

This was the danger of going against IPL. But if not IPL we would have had to go against another league anyway.

PSL is gonna be the league for oldies and youngsters, the cream of the talent will go to India.

It is what it is.
Sept - October is best time for PSL :kp

How TH does PCB expect to sell 2 new franchises at $5m a year each by giving them absolute crap players to pick from?

Also in India, they get all the amenities in their places, booze, clubs, top eatery places, bollywood celebrity parties, after parties, glamour and all the things you can imagine.

Top it off, no massive security blockages wheevrever they go, so they can go out and about and explore and relax.

Only decent names left are coetzee, Conway, Spencer Johnson, alzarri Joseph on top of my head but these are not t20 superstars...plus oldies like Jason Roy, Alex hales, rilee rossouw.... they are not even platinum picks....
Serious problem

They need to reassess and change the window

I found PSL enjoyable when David Weise and that Baldy Aussie Keeper were playing too. I think the players we can attract is ok given the timeframe we are playing the league in. Switching it didn't seem to be an option previously.

But if fans demand big overseas signings i think the only thing to do is reduce the number of overseas to 2-3 per team and pay them big bucks.

I found PSL enjoyable when David Weise and that Baldy Aussie Keeper were playing too. I think the players we can attract is ok given the timeframe we are playing the league in. Switching it didn't seem to be an option previously.

But if fans demand big overseas signings i think the only thing to do is reduce the number of overseas to 2-3 per team and pay them big bucks.
There is not even overseas left to pay big bucks.....

Here is my Overpriced vs Steal Deal :

Overpriced players:
Matheesha Pathirana
Cameron Green
Mustafizur Rahman
Venkatesh Iyer
Prashant Veer
Kartik Sharma
Josh Inglis

Steal deals:
David Miller
Ashok Sharma
Cooper Connolly
M Short
Quinton de Kock
Jordan Cox

@Nikhil_cric Would you like to add/remove someone

KKR jokers getting an out of form, injured & third class bowler like Pathirana for 18 crore.

Even Green for 24 crore is a joke. Green has serious back & health problems.

Here is my Overpriced vs Steal Deal :

Overpriced players:
Matheesha Pathirana
Cameron Green
Mustafizur Rahman
Venkatesh Iyer
Prashant Veer
Kartik Sharma
Josh Inglis

Steal deals:
David Miller
Ashok Sharma
Cooper Connolly
M Short
Quinton de Kock
Jordan Cox

@Nikhil_cric Would you like to add/remove someone

Pathirana is not lethal, he is too wayward and predictable. He can be a good bowler if he can control his lengths.

Green is surely overpriced.

Mustafizur Rahman,LMAO.

Venkatesh Iyer’s price is reasonable, but whether he can fit into RCB’s settled batting lineup is a question. He may be used as an impact player and could replace Padikkal.

I have no idea about Prashant Veer and Karthik Varma.

Josh Inglis won’t be available for the full season, yet they paid a high price for him. LOL.

QDK is the real steal deal.

Who is Jordan Cox? Is he good?

KKR jokers getting an out of form, injured & third class bowler like Pathirana for 18 crore.

Even Green for 24 crore is a joke. Green has serious back & health problems.
KKR management has started behaving like the old dumb RCB. Meanwhile, RCB has become smarter and more calculated.

KKR has made too many blunders. Releasing Shreya Iyer last season and retaining Venkatesh Iyer for 23cr was the biggest mistake, and they also released Salt, who won the title for them, RCB capitalized on that by picking Salt. And this year they paid 25Cr for Green. LMAO.