Is Mustafizur Rahman more talented than Mohammad Amir was?

Mustafiz should bowl more cutters in this format. Also the ball isn't gripping for him as much. He came back strongly today though. Should've had three wickets to his name. Let's see how he does against SL and Pak.

He has to start developing into a swing bowler now. Cutter won't always work.

I've seen just two marches of him.
Admittedly it's a small sample size but I feel Mustafizur will be more of a threat in LOIs with his cutter variation. Amir will have a great test career and a very good ODI career too. Amir is more talented imo as he can swing the ball both ways, and has a few variations too. Mustafizur waa really impressive too, and will go on to become one of the finest bowlers in the world, but I think he needs to work on his conventional swing bowling also to make it big in the test format.

I've seen just two marches of him.
Admittedly it's a small sample size but I feel Mustafizur will be more of a threat in LOIs with his cutter variation. Amir will have a great test career and a very good ODI career too. Amir is more talented imo as he can swing the ball both ways, and has a few variations too. Mustafizur waa really impressive too, and will go on to become one of the finest bowlers in the world, but I think he needs to work on his conventional swing bowling also to make it big in the test format.

Bhai sahab, Amir can swing both ways conventionally, seam both ways, reverse both ways, has a nasty cutter, bouncer, yorker. What more variations do you want?

Bhai I said Amir is the better bowler because he's a complete package.

I think Mustafizur has to develop something more than the cutters. Yes he's talented definitely but only cutters with the angling stock delivery can be found out later. Moreover I saw that he bowled around 70% of deliveries as cutters and the remaining being his stock delivery in the last match. Better batsmen will be alert and can dominate him if he is predictable with his cutters.

Bhai I said Amir is the better bowler because he's a complete package.

I think Mustafizur has to develop something more than the cutters. Yes he's talented definitely but only cutters with the angling stock delivery can be found out later. Moreover I saw that he bowled around 70% of deliveries as cutters and the remaining being his stock delivery in the last match. Better batsmen will be alert and can dominate him if he is predictable with his cutters.

Okay, I agree.

Mustafizur should swing it more often or else he will be termed as a fast spinner.

His cutter is the best in the world but it wont work on pitches which have something in it for bowlers like the one against India.

nope wasn't injured...he wasn't given a NOC because "too much cricket could cause Mustafiz injury" pathetic statement really.

He got injured in the 2nd T20 against against Zimbabwe and only recovered two weeks back

He doesn't swing much but he will improve with time on that.

Is only 20.

Mustafizur is better.... at rock-paper-scissors

Cuz his cutters can replace the scissors :farhat

This site has under ground Indians and BD folks that comes out like a frog after a heavy rain

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

This thread is such a disgrace. Please delete it already :facepalm:

Amir

(few light years)

Rehman

Very harsh on Muzatafizur. He's a very good bowler and has a bright future.

Just don't compare them for heavens sake.

Mustafizur create awkward angles for the batsmen. A very good bowler indeed but in helpful conditions aamir will continue to be a better bowler.

There was never even any comparison in the first place, it was only some wrist slitters and Amir haters who made one.

Musti is VERY talented, no doubt, but Amir is in a different league.

Please banish this thread to the nether regions of the forum. Can't compare a fast spinner to a 150kph swinger

Mustafizur finished our team off in back to back ODIs.

Amir has just taken a few wickets.

:batman:

140+ bowler is to you spinner? hahah even hadrik had better stats in this game compare to aamir your god worthy 150 aamir.. Hadrik 3 for 8 runs, aamir 3 for 18 runs

140+ bowler is to you spinner? hahah even hadrik had better stats in this game compare to aamir your god worthy 150 aamir..

Hardik was bowling to our useless batting, who can't stay at the crease even if their lives depended on it. Amir was bowling to a world-class batting unit. Had Amir bowled to our dud line-up he'd cleaned them up inside four overs.

Amir in a different league clearly.

Mushtafiqur nothing like him

Amir is more talented and he proved that today. And he has an extra yard of pace as Mustafizur is not an out and out quick. But I think Mustafizur is a more intelligent operator. Has variations and knows when to use them.

Lets see how he performs on a consistent basis, he was destroyed in the first game.

Amir clearly miles ahead when there is some assistance from the conditions. But Mustafizur has shown what he can do on flat pitches. The World T20 should be interesting.

Amir clearly miles ahead there is some assistance from the conditions. But Mustafizur has shown what he can do on flat pitches. The World T20 should be interesting.

He will do good, shame he didn't play PSL.

Mustafiz's off-cutters need a gripping pitch, green-tops do not suit his bowling.

Amir on the other hand has a problem taking wickets on flat tracks, and lacks the pace and power of Starc to force the issue on flat wickets.

Also Mustafizur in ODIs has always been better in his later spells when the ball is a bit older. In T20s the ball doesn't really get old. With that being said Mustafiz needs to work on getting the ball to swing if he is to become the complete package.

Mustafiz's off-cutters need a gripping pitch, green-tops do not suit his bowling.

Amir on the other hand has a problem taking wickets on flat tracks, and lacks the pace and power of Starc to force the issue on flat wickets.

He bowled 150+ today, he'll be fine.

Its still early days for mustafizur since his debut he has been playing in bangladesh soil, he needs to play overseas then we can judge him.
And by the way the amir which we saw today is incomparable to mustafizur.
Loved that spell. GOLD

140+ bowler is to you spinner? hahah even hadrik had better stats in this game compare to aamir your god worthy 150 aamir.. Hadrik 3 for 8 runs, aamir 3 for 18 runs

To be honest, Amir would have folded all the 11 batsmen of Pakistan for less than 20 runs. Unfortunately, he was bowling to one of the best batting units in the world. There is difference.

Putting my bias against Musti aside for a second, I think there's no comparison really for different reasons. One's a new ball bowler and the others a terrific old ball bowler. As Mamoon said Amir needs to bowl better slower balls and Yorkers. As Dios said, Mustafizur needs to learn to swing the ball at pace with the new ball. Both are capable to make these changes in the future and that's when the comparison starts

I heard Saurav Gangully on Geo today on same question he said Mustafeez is good but no comparison with Aamir.
Which means he is class apart.

Amir was swinging the ball, what the hell does that have to do with the track?

He bowled just as well on flat tracks in NZ.

He isn't even sprinting in yet and clocking 145k+ easy.

Amir is most exciting and talented pacer we have seen in last 2 decades. He is streets ahead of mustifizur.

One of the best memories of Mohammad Amir for me is the wicket he took of Sachin Tendulkar 7 Years Back with an outswinger. Amir is a very skillful bowler specially with ball new.

with all the bias aside, I will admit that Amir is better than Mustafizur. Amir is a more complete bowler and he will do well in most pitches. Musta himself said his idol is Amir.

Both of them are really young (Amir 23 and Mustafiz 20) and so they have plenty of time to learn and develop more. This is Musta's first season and Inshallah he will continue to develop his game further.

Lets see how he performs on a consistent basis, he was destroyed in the first game.

He's played 15 internationals and was only destroyed in 1. That too just 1 over. Please pass 5th grade arithmetic before posting mathematically false posts.

Amir miles ahead. Not discrediting Mustafiz. He is a very very good bowler as well. One thing interesting to note is that both of them have cranked up their speeds. Amir clocked 150 today where as Mustafiz I saw clocked around 140 Or more the other day

Sent from my XT1097 using Tapatalk

Mustafiz is a young he will learn with the time but I think he has some issues with wrist which is the reason why I think he is not swinging the ball.His cutters are just too good for batsmans but he has to develop skills and he can develop.Best of luck to him for future!

With last night's spell, Amir made a strong case for comparison with Mustafizur. Hope these two keep the competition up.

He's played 15 internationals and was only destroyed in 1. That too just 1 over. Please pass 5th grade arithmetic before posting mathematically false posts.

He went with an average of 10, one over or no, also I was talking about his consistency in the Asia Cup.

Also learn some manners if you're going to post on PP in the long run.

A great Yorker to get Preera wicket and a wonderful over from Mustafizur

He is a great LOI bowler, haters will hate.

First time I'm seeing Rahman, looks like an excellent bowler. Amir is another league though.

It seems to me that this thread gonna be an epic thread in PP considering the fact of Mustafizurs and Amer's ages and talents.

Awesome bowling....

But obviously no one will give him anything because he's from Bangladesh.

Just perfect death bowling...

Any highlights please? :D

I'm a big follower of this supposed rivalry, so want to ensure I see both sides of the arguement.

From my observation

Amir - A far better bowler with the new ball and green wickets.
Mustafiz- Arguably the best bowler with the old ball.

That is why the first thing I said is, don't compare either of them. Because they are completely different bowler. If you want compare Amir, compare him with Taskin and Amir is defo. better than Taskin.

But I must say, Mustafiz has improved in the last 2 months. He has mastered the wide yorker, that is one delivery you can't play. Having said that, I feel that Starc is overall a better bowler for the time being. Can bowl well up top and the death. This is ofcourse for LOIs

Two different bowlers can't say much need to see Mustafizur out of Bangladesh specially how he goes in Eng, Aus and SA

How you say that?

Sent from my SM-G900FD using Tapatalk

Amir can take full toll of green wickets because of his ability to swing. So Amir on a green wicket anyday

Mustafiz would be good on flat wickets because he has exceptional control on his line and length and the cutters come into play.

How you say that?

Because Mustafiz has proved himself on flat wickets. 11 wickets in two matches against Indian batting line-up on flat tracks is no joke. Granted Amir has yet to play on those kind of wickets since coming back but doubt he can match that kind of a performance.

Great bowling at the death today from Rehman. But no comparison with Amir. Both of them are very very different bowlers. Very good ones too.

Give Amir a year and then we will have better sample to compare.

In arguably Mustafizur is a great bowler but we needed to give sometime to Amir to unleash the best of him.

Because Mustafiz has proved himself on flat wickets. 11 wickets in two matches against Indian batting line-up on flat tracks is no joke. Granted Amir has yet to play on those kind of wickets since coming back but doubt he can match that kind of a performance.

I think the definition of flat wicket needs to be emphasized. Australian wickets are flat. Indian wickets are flat. You can hit through line on flat wickets as there is not much movement off the pitch through seam or spin. BD wickets are not flat. They are slow. Batsmen can't play their strokes freely as the ball grips on the surface and doesn't come on to the bat. Mustafizur needs such wickets for his cutters. He still hasn't proved himself on flat wickets and his bowling on green wickets wasn't impressive yet.

why do we need to compare and establish who is better than who? They are both very good bowlers. I don't think even those two would argue so much among themselves about who is better.

I just hope we can both see them together for 1 team, either in BPL or PSL. That would be a great attack.

why do we need to compare and establish who is better than who? They are both very good bowlers. I don't think even those two would argue so much among themselves about who is better.

I just hope we can both see them together for 1 team, either in BPL or PSL. That would be a great attack.

I agree, no idea why people fight. Think Musti has even said Amir is his idol.

Amir will win tests for Pakistan, as good as mustafiz is I dont think he'll be good in tests in places like England and Aus.

Mustafiz is the better limited overs bowler at the moment.