Is Pakistan's police out of control?

Is Pakistan police out of control?

The Sahiwal incident is just one instance - there have been many others but are these just isolated or point to some very deep issues with policing in Pakistan?

The biggest issue is going to be one of trust. If they can be bought, that means they have very low standards, or integrity. Now I am not in a position to verify if the reputation they have gained for corruption is unfair, I am just speaking as an outsider, this is the impression I have listening to complaints by Pakistanis themselves. Hence my adopting the username to reflect it.

We need massive police reforms. There training should be at par with the armed forces.

The biggest issue is going to be one of trust. If they can be bought, that means they have very low standards, or integrity. Now I am not in a position to verify if the reputation they have gained for corruption is unfair, I am just speaking as an outsider, this is the impression I have listening to complaints by Pakistanis themselves. Hence my adopting the username to reflect it.

I think we need to look at things in context. Under the circumstances, with over a decade of hundreds of terrorist attacks are the Pak police worse than any other police in such a situation? The UK has had nowhere near the attacks and if you can recall in 2005 after one attack, the UK police chased an innocent man onto a tube train to execute him in public?

Pak police may be corrupt but no worse than the cold blooded police killers we see in the 'civisled' UK or US.

We need to invest more money in the police.

Try to get well educated people in this profession.

No they are not! This is because they were never in control in the first place. Innocents are beaten up by them every day. Now that a family have been killed serious action needs to be taken against these overweight and unprofessional people.

Police are just a reflection of us in a way - same society - how bad are they compared to the rest of the society in terms of abuse of power?

I think we need to look at things in context. Under the circumstances, with over a decade of hundreds of terrorist attacks are the Pak police worse than any other police in such a situation? The UK has had nowhere near the attacks and if you can recall in 2005 after one attack, the UK police chased an innocent man onto a tube train to execute him in public?

Pak police may be corrupt but no worse than the cold blooded police killers we see in the 'civisled' UK or US.

Police in the UK or US have different issues, the charges laid against them are more usually things like racism, and if they get caught then there is a good chance they will have to answer to someone up the chain. I don't really think of them as corrupt in the sense they could be bought off or attempt shakedowns of ordinary citizens like allegedly happens in Pakistan.

I was specifically referring to Jean Charles de Meneze. If the UK police or even the US police had to deal with the amount of terrorism the Pak police have faced, I wouldn't be surprised innocent people being shot dead being a regular occurance.

KARACHI: The Sindh High Court on Thursday ordered the provincial government to draw up new police laws within six weeks, amid heated debate around extrajudicial killings following last week’s alleged encounter in Sahiwal that left four people dead.

The court was hearing a contempt of court petition against Sindh chief secretary, inspector-general of Sindh police and others.

As the hearing went under way, the petitioner’s lawyer argued that no replies had been submitted by the officials to the plea even after a passage of one and a half years.

Advocate General Salman Talibuddin informed the court that new laws pertaining to the police force had been drafted and sent to the cabinet for approval. He said that a further six weeks were required to get the draft approved.

At this, the Sindh High Court gave the provincial government six weeks to present new laws for police reforms.

Lahore police issue new SOPs for mid-road police checkpoints

The direction comes less than a week after four people, including three members of a family, were killed in an alleged encounter by the Counter-Terrorism Department officials in Sahiwal. CTD personnel said they had killed a local commander of militant organisation Daesh and three others in the operation. Eyewitnesses, however, disputed the claim and said the people in the car did not fire at officials, nor were any explosives recovered from the vehicle.

A joint investigation team formed to probe the killings, in its initial report submitted to the Punjab chief minister on Tuesday, mentioned negligence on part of the CTD officials. The report added that there was no link between the family killed in the incident and terrorism.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/226098-shc-gives-provincial-government-six-weeks-to-draft-new-police-laws

Who is in control in Pakistan? Everyone does the maximum of what he or she can get away with. Our police are doing extrajudicial killings torture since always, and the general public even supports this idea as long as they are not at the receiving end of it.

There was a time where being a single guy driving alone late at night was a nuisance in Karachi... this was during the height of terrorist attacks. You will get stopped atleast 3-4 times and be harassed everytime, sometimes the chachus will let you go without a problem. Other times you will have to give a little bit of chai pani.

And if you were a group of guys out late at night and a police checkpost stopped you, then defo you are giving chai pani.

Opar se neechay corruption.

A well paid, professional Police force is a must for a civilised society. In Pakistan many of the officers have paid a hell of a lot of money to join the Police and they need a return on their investment. I have told this story before but as a kid i worked in fruit farms and often we had visitors from PK working with us trying to earn a bit of cash and one time i overheard a conversation between an old man and a regular worker and they started to talk about the Police and a sum of 6 lakh was mentioned, and i, in my youthful naivety thought it was the yearly pay, until old Chacha corrected me and told me that thats how much they demanded before his son could join.

The public of Singapore have great trust in their police force, they are well respected and as a result the crime is low in that country. Interestingly no 5 on the list is Uzbekistan following a few Scando countries in the poll.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/niallm...-highest-and-lowest-infographic/#756aa4e96eb2

I realise these are all relatively rich countries, but as far as I know Uzbekistan isn't a high flying nation for commerce.

Pay the police like any other professional organization and maybe things will improve.

The ATM thief death etc are more examples of this problem.

MIG bhaya it is not even sure that guy was thief end of the day all he took was the card that got stuck, and the poor man was mentally unstable. I don't understand if they were beating him out of pleasure or what exactly they were trying to achieve. It is said that they hit those guys, so their families pay up for their release quickly.

Cops in that part of region are brutal. Bangladeshi cops are not much better.

I don't think you can fix this issue easily. It is something that is somewhat cultural.

Reminds me of a series that was on tv called Karachi Cops. Brutal and at times tough to watch.

I remember back in the day, one of my tutor's telling me how he watched the show and loved it. :yk

Imran bhai has alot to fix, this should be looked at asap.

Cannot get over this, “Aik baat poochu?Maro gay to nahin? App nay maarna kaha say seekha?”

It is heartbreaking.

Cannot get over this, “Aik baat poochu?Maro gay to nahin? App nay maarna kaha say seekha?”

It is heartbreaking.

This is a cultural issue - influential people, rich people beat anyone who they feel like when they want to

Police is just a reflection of this culture

Punjab police is in the news everyday, for the wrong reasons.

PTI need to do a lot better on this front.

Punjab Police have now banned people from using smartphones in the police station. Police need major reforms as soon as possible.

Corruption crazy.

A friend recently returned from Pakistan and he mentioned to me that any police officer he came across was just after backhanders.

Forget the police.

The airport staff (from top-to-bottom) is notorious for openly asking for bribes.

It took only a matter of hours for the two plain-clothed men to arrive and demand Adeela Suleman close her exhibition. It took another two days for unnamed men to completely destroy it.

Suleman was taken aback: yes, the 440 headstones she had carefully assembled in and around the hall in the Pakistani city of Karachi were supposed to evoke emotion.

And yes, the subject matter was controversial: each of the headstones represents a person killed by one of the country's most notorious police teams.

But now The Killing Fields of Karachi - her entry into the Karachi Biennale that was supposed to be a comment on extrajudicial killings - has become a flashpoint for freedom of expression, and the fight to be heard.

"The state officials have done what they wanted to do," Suleman told BBC Urdu. "They have closed the exhibition.

"I learnt one thing: that art has so much power, that in two hours of the public opening, something, somewhere didn't like that this is happening. That really scared them, to the extent that they had to break each and every pillar, they had to remove it."

'Killing machines'
The topic was always likely to provoke someone in power. After all, you don't need to look far in order to find examples of people killed by Pakistan's police.

At the start of this year, there was the family shot dead by officers as they made their way to a wedding. Just four months earlier, a 10-year-old girl had been killed in the crossfire between officers and a street mugger.

Suleman had chosen to focus on one very particular set of so-called "encounters": those linked to a man who was once one of Karachi's top police officers, Rao Anwar.

According to official police records, his team killed 444 people over the course of seven years. There is some suspicion Anwar may have made a living from staging extra-judicial killings of men wanted by the security establishment.

What is clear is that, as one unnamed police official put it to Pakistan's Dawn newspaper, Anwar had "led a team of killing machines" which went unchecked for years.

But Anwar's role in the killings in Karachi really hit the headlines after a young man called Naqeebullah was killed by police in an alleged "staged encounter". He was, they said, a terrorist. His family said Naqeebullah was no such thing. In fact, he was an aspiring model and this was a "fake encounter".

The case caused outrage: Anwar was removed from his job, while a police inquiry found Anwar guilty of murdering Naqeebullah and others. He has not been tried in court and denies the charges against him.

It was Naqeebullah's death which inspired Suleman, as well as prompting wider protests against the treatment of the ethnic Pashtun community he was from.

"Naqeeb's case was one case which really shook the whole world, not because that policeman was involved, but simply because he was a young, beautiful 27-year-old man," she said.

"It really made us question what kind of a society we live in. I think it stayed with all of us."

The result was her entry to the biennale: the tombstones, and a short film where she - with the help of Naqeebullah's bereaved father - tells the story of his death.

"There was nothing in the film or in the installation which was not out their in the public," she explained to the BBC. "I was working with the father, I was playing with emotions, I was questioning as the viewer, where should I go, what am I looking at. We as viewers, are we the perpetrators because we are not doing anything?"

She did not foresee any backlash. She was wrong.

The men arrived within hours of Sunday's opening, demanding it be shut. The head of the city's parks department came out and described the work as vandalism. By Monday morning, the gravestones which stood outside the hall - and therefore could not be locked away - were on their sides.

Suleman's supporters came and lay down beside them - an act of defiance against the as yet unidentified groups which had taken such offence.

Skip Twitter post by @omar_quraishiEnd of Twitter post by @omar_quraishi
By Tuesday morning, the stones had been smashed to bits. Suleman says it was the security services, but there has been no official comment.

It didn't take long for the organisers of the Karachi Biennale to decide the exhibit was no longer something they could back. They released a statement saying it was "not compatible with the ethos of #KB19".

"We feel that politicising the platform will go against our efforts of bringing art to the public and drawing artists from the fringe to the mainstream cultural discourse," they added, pleading for understanding.

That understanding is, however, in short supply from Karachi's artist community. The organisers, they say, have abandoned their artist.

Skip Twitter post by @propergaandaEnd of Twitter post by @propergaanda
"It's very simple. The work was vetted by the curatorial committee. Seen by the jury. Allowed to be shown to the public. If there was anything that did not adhere to the concept... people should have not allowed it to go forward," Sameera Raja, the founder of Karachi's Canvas Gallery, told the BBC.

"However, once it is allowed, under the ambit of KB, then KB cannot abandon their artist. This is not about Adeela or a particular work. This is not only about freedom of expression. It is about owning up, taking responsibility and respecting the artist and the community at large."

Marvi Mazhar, an architect and urban planner, warned of the chilling effect it will have on future installations - especially at a time when other industries are finding themselves fighting against increasing censorship.

"The whole order of taking No Objection Certificates will now be vetted through censorship, and every public artwork will now go through scrutiny. Now every artist will have this insecurity of some work which will not be accepted and this insecurity is what I am really questioning - how does the state work with the notion of art?"

But it the authorities are going to insist art is removed from politics and comment, they are going to have a problem, Suleman says.

"The moment you make art you are political, the moment you put it out in the public space you are political," she shrugs.

However there is one thing which has given Suleman hope for the future of Pakistan's art scene in the last few days: the number of people who have come out in support of her work.

"I am not alone. I think I have more people with me than before. I am not abandoned at all," she said.

Source: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-50224675.

I use to bribe street police for everything when I was a 12 year old riding my uncles motorbike around Lahore. They always seemed useless to me.

I also read that majority of rapes in the country are done by cops.

I think the cops are only a reflection of the society. Changes need to occur bottom up. It never works top down.

KARACHI: The family of a young man who was gunned down by police near the Cantonment Railway Station last week on Thursday demanded a high-level inquiry into the incident and urged the chief justice of Pakistan to take up the case on priority.

The mother and sister of Nabeel Hoodbhoy along with their lawyer spoke at a press conference at the Karachi Press Club in which they expressed their dissatisfaction over the pace of the inquiry into the murder case.

“My son was a British citizen; yet, I have not sought help from the United Kingdom. We want justice [for] Nabeel in the same manner as the world deals with such brutal murders,” said Nabeel’s mother.

She said her son was a sportsman who was gunned down by the police with impunity.

“Yet, we see no one in the senior authorities who have shown real interest in punishing the killers.”

She said Nabeel’s killing was not a one-off incident since “the police have gone wild particularly in district South where similar incidents have been reported previously”.

She said that no law permitted the police to open fire on unarmed citizens.

“The policemen who shot at my son ran away; and they were even not bothered enough to shift my seriously wounded son to hospital.”

She said despite lapse of around a week since the incident, there was no tangible progress by the police in solving the case.

Though the family was not impressed with the performance of the police vis-à-vis the case, Nabeel’s mother placed her hope in the institutions meant to provide justice to the people.

“No one is safe here in Pakistan as there is no one who can ask our guards as to why they have turned killers. Police are not doing anything; still, we have hope in the institutions in according justice to us.”

She said as things stood so far no one related to the incident had been suspended.

She appealed to Prime Minister Imran Khan to play his part in giving justice to her son.

“The prime minister should wake up to this. I want an eye for an eye. I don’t want to see another mother lose her son in the same fashion and by the same killers.

“I have lost my only son. I want justice for him and not just an apology from anyone. I want justice in a manner that conforms to the standards of justice.”

She demanded the Sindh chief minister to order a high-level committee to investigate the murder case.

Nabeel’s sister said her brother was a law-abiding Pakistani and had committed no crime to pay such a heavy cost.

“I beg for justice [for] Nabeel.”

https://www.dawn.com/news/1519383/family-of-nabeel-hoodbhoy-demands-justice

KARACHI: The family of a young man who was gunned down by police near the Cantonment Railway Station last week on Thursday demanded a high-level inquiry into the incident and urged the chief justice of Pakistan to take up the case on priority.

The mother and sister of Nabeel Hoodbhoy along with their lawyer spoke at a press conference at the Karachi Press Club in which they expressed their dissatisfaction over the pace of the inquiry into the murder case.

“My son was a British citizen; yet, I have not sought help from the United Kingdom. We want justice [for] Nabeel in the same manner as the world deals with such brutal murders,” said Nabeel’s mother.

She said her son was a sportsman who was gunned down by the police with impunity.

“Yet, we see no one in the senior authorities who have shown real interest in punishing the killers.”

She said Nabeel’s killing was not a one-off incident since “the police have gone wild particularly in district South where similar incidents have been reported previously”.

She said that no law permitted the police to open fire on unarmed citizens.

“The policemen who shot at my son ran away; and they were even not bothered enough to shift my seriously wounded son to hospital.”

She said despite lapse of around a week since the incident, there was no tangible progress by the police in solving the case.

Though the family was not impressed with the performance of the police vis-à-vis the case, Nabeel’s mother placed her hope in the institutions meant to provide justice to the people.

“No one is safe here in Pakistan as there is no one who can ask our guards as to why they have turned killers. Police are not doing anything; still, we have hope in the institutions in according justice to us.”

She said as things stood so far no one related to the incident had been suspended.

She appealed to Prime Minister Imran Khan to play his part in giving justice to her son.

“The prime minister should wake up to this. I want an eye for an eye. I don’t want to see another mother lose her son in the same fashion and by the same killers.

“I have lost my only son. I want justice for him and not just an apology from anyone. I want justice in a manner that conforms to the standards of justice.”

She demanded the Sindh chief minister to order a high-level committee to investigate the murder case.

Nabeel’s sister said her brother was a law-abiding Pakistani and had committed no crime to pay such a heavy cost.

“I beg for justice [for] Nabeel.”

https://www.dawn.com/news/1519383/family-of-nabeel-hoodbhoy-demands-justice

The story, from the victim who survived the incident and who was friends with the victim who did not survive,is the police stopped them. They had a beer can so the police asked them to open their boot for checking. At which the point the deceased took off and sped away. The injured victim asked the deceased why he was speeding away to which he the victim said 'this is how you deal with the police'. The police followed them in a car chase and fired in the air a few times to get them to stop. The vehicle did stop at which point the police fired one shot which hit the victims shoulder.

Running away from the police was stupidity.

ASI caught from Karachi on allegations of having links with Indian R&AW

An Additional Sub-Inspector (ASI) of the Karachi (Sindh) Police has been taken under arrest over allegations of having links with Indian spying agency, RAW, ARY News reported on Monday.

According to details, the accused was caught from Gulistan e Jauhar area of the metropolis.

The arrest was undertaken by local police officials along with the Special Services Unit (SSU) of law enforcement.

It has been revealed that the detained officer was found involved in acts of terrorism in the country and was also an active member of a team of the city’s target killers.

The police official was currently performing his duties at the Shahrah e Faisal police station in Karachi and was a resident of Gulistan e Jauhar.

Two hand grenades have been recovered from the residence of Shehzad Pervez who is being claimed as an important member of the notorious’Mehmood Siddiqui Group’ which is touted to have strong connections with Indian spying agency, Research and Analysis Wing (RAW).

The group has been revealed to have been performing under the patronage of Muttahida Qaumi Movement London (MQM-L).

https://arynews.tv/en/asi-caught-from-karachi-allegations-links-indian-raw/

ASI caught from Karachi on allegations of having links with Indian R&AW

An Additional Sub-Inspector (ASI) of the Karachi (Sindh) Police has been taken under arrest over allegations of having links with Indian spying agency, RAW, ARY News reported on Monday.

According to details, the accused was caught from Gulistan e Jauhar area of the metropolis.

The arrest was undertaken by local police officials along with the Special Services Unit (SSU) of law enforcement.

It has been revealed that the detained officer was found involved in acts of terrorism in the country and was also an active member of a team of the city’s target killers.

The police official was currently performing his duties at the Shahrah e Faisal police station in Karachi and was a resident of Gulistan e Jauhar.

Two hand grenades have been recovered from the residence of Shehzad Pervez who is being claimed as an important member of the notorious’Mehmood Siddiqui Group’ which is touted to have strong connections with Indian spying agency, Research and Analysis Wing (RAW).

The group has been revealed to have been performing under the patronage of Muttahida Qaumi Movement London (MQM-L).

https://arynews.tv/en/asi-caught-from-karachi-allegations-links-indian-raw/

MQM-L is still active in karachi :facepalm:

LAHORE: In another major reshuffle, Inspector General Punjab (IGP) Inam Ghani late on Monday night issued orders of transfer and posting of 45 top police officers including three Senior Superintendent of Police (SSPs), The Newsreported Tuesday.

Asif Amin Awan has been posted as SSP Operations Multan, SSP Investigations Faisalabad Kashif Aslam posted SSP Operations Faisalabad while Additional SP Security Lahore Capt (retd) Bilal Iftikhar has been posted as SSP Investigations Faisalabad.

Meanwhile, SP Investigations Sheikhupura Muhammad Akmal has been posted as SP Security Lahore, SP in-service training wing Police College Sihala, Amir Khalil has been posted as SP Training School, Rawalpindi.

Moreover, 40 Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSPs) have also been transferred and posted on different posts across the province.

Read more: AIG Yasin a 'brother officer', no issues with him or anyone: IGP Ghani

Last month, the IGP, while addressing first press conference since his appointment, reportedly gave the signal that he would not make reshuffle in the Punjab police.

He had also said that two positive developments were the government’s decision to sanction more police patrolling vehicles which will now be “immediately new” and the recruitment of officers.

“Our people continue to retire and we are low on officers routinely. So we seek to fill our sanctioned strength and it will soon be replenished."

I truly despise the Punjab police because I've only dealth with them.

We used to live in a remote area which had very little crime rate and peaceful life. Then popped up a police "chowki" and the entire situation changed. Gangs of criminals surfaced from all areas and they were discretely "backed" by the police.

We had two incidents where thieves broke into our place and stole valuable goods. The police paid zero attention and never even bothered to even register the FIR. We did our own work and managed to apprehend the thieves and recover some of our stolen goods from them (it's a long and scary story of how we did that) and the police failed to take them in custody saying "we don't arrest heroine addicts because they are more work for us than anything. Be happy that you have recovered some of your stuff and let it go".

The worst bit was, most of the people selected into police force were selected on political bias. Local MPA and MNA had service quota and they'd get their own goons in the police. The zaat baraadari meant that one term all Gujjar badmaash boys would be inducted, the next term all Dogar and Mehar badmaash boys would be in the police. Imagine the boys notorious for catcalling, abducting women, and beating people up, and landgrabbing end up all in police.

I have never ever felt safe with the police in Punjab and I'm sure I'm not the only one with this sentiment. From the outside, this looks like an institute of the criminals, by the criminals, for the criminals and needs a total revamp.

LAHORE: Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Umar Sheikh has opened a ‘Pandora box’ as he ‘challenged’ the powers of incumbent provincial police chief Inam Ghani in the transfer/posting of deputy superintendents of police (DSPs).

Mr Sheikh is of the view that the appointment of DSPs in Lahore should be the jurisdiction of the CCPO rather than the IGP.

While writing a letter to PPO Inam Ghani, he said the CCPO should be delegated the same power for the appointment of DSPs of his choice in the provincial capital.

Mr Sheikh wrote that such powers had been used by the regional police officers (RPOs) and the Lahore police chief in the past.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

“The powers of transfer/postings of the officers in the rank of the deputy superintendents of police (**-17) were delegated to all regional police officers/city police officers,” reads the letter.

Supporting his stand, Mr Sheikh asked the IGP to delegate him the same powers with a view to making a team and controlling the rising crime in the city.

“The previous practice is need of the hour these days to curb criminal activities in Lahore district,” the CCPO said.

At a meeting a couple of weeks back, Mr Sheikh had expressed his desire to be ‘powerful’ CCPO in the history of the Punjab police, an official claimed. “The fresh move is in the same context.”

“It is requested that the powers of transfer and posting of DSPs in Lahore district may kindly be delegated to the CCPO Lahore in the best interest of public safety and security,” Umar Sheikh was quoted as saying.

Some police officials feared that the CCPO’s new move might lead to another confrontation between the two top officers like Mr Sheikh did in the recent past while passing some ‘improper’ remarks against his former boss Mr Shoaib Dastgir.

On the other hand, a few others supported his step saying that decentralisation should be done for all regions, including Lahore.

Requesting anonymity, a senior police officer said it was practiced for a short period during the tenure of Javed Iqbal when he was the Punjab IGP [2011].

He said at that time the Lahore CCPO and some RPOs were serving in **-21 and [they] deserved to exercise these powers.

However, this scheme had backfired when it created some administrative issues, the official said.

He added that the incumbent CCPO was not only in **-20 and posted against senior position of **-21 but also had ‘aggressive’ personality trait.

To a maximum extent, these powers could be delegated to the newly-appointed additional IG South Punjab [a **-21 officer] who was heading multiple regions under current circumstances, he suggested.

Another official supported the move saying that former IGP Sindh Kaleem Imam had delegated powers to the Karachi police CCPO to post SPs and DSPs.

When contacted IGP Inam Ghani said the matter would be resolved in the light of the police rules and regulations.

Published in Dawn, September 30th, 2020

https://www.dawn.com/news/1582392/ccpo-wants-to-appoint-dsps-of-his-choice-in-lahore

ISLAMABAD: The government wants to provide the Islamabad police health cards and affordable housing, Prime Minister Imran Khan said Wednesday, announcing the provision of both to facilitate the law enforcers of the federal capital city.

Addressing a passing parade at the Police Line Headquarters in Islamabad, the premier paid tribute to officials and said that no nation can prosper without proper law and order situations and that the lives and property of the nation should be protected at all costs.

“The army is the protector of borders and the police are the protector of common citizens,” he said, stressing the government will do its best to increase the salaries of the Islamabad police.

“I am a prime minister and not a king. Therefore, I will make the decisions with the consultation of my finance minister Hafeez Shiekh,” the prime minister said.

He lamented law enforcers were not given due respect because of Pakistan's history under British rule “I want the nation to respect and like police officials. I want to see ‘Nayi police in Naya Pakistan’. I want you to make the common citizens the VIPs of the country.” he stressed.

Touching upon the changes brought to the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police during the ruling tenure of the PTI-government, the premier said the position of police officers miserable when PTI formed its government in the province. “But, later came a time when the public took out processions in support of police and I was proud to see such a drastic change,” he added.

Agreeing that the salaries of Islamabad police officials is not enough and the salaried class of the country usually struggles to make ends meet, PM Khan said honesty and sincerity are the most important traits of nations that prosper despite hurdles and unfavourable circumstances.

“We will consider raising the salaries of the Islamabad police but I have to consult my ministries to take the final decision,” he added.

Earlier in the day, PM Imran reached the Police Lines Headquarters in Islamabad. He is the first prime minister to attend an event by the police - the second line of defense in Pakistan after the army.

The premier attended the passing out ceremony of 1,200 policemen.

Newly-appointed Interior Minister Sheikh Rashid and the Islamabad Inspector-General Islamabad also attended.

Islamabad anti-terror squad allegedly shoots dead a young man

ISLAMABAD: A young man was killed in Islamabad after an anti-terror squad allegedly opened fire on a vehicle Friday night.

According to police, 21-year-old Usama Nadeem was shot on Islamabad’s Srinagar Highway reportedly after he ignored police warnings to stop.

An Islamabad Police spokesperson said the police were acting on a tip-off about a robbery attempt in Shams Colony. When the anti-terror squad reached the locality, they spotted a "suspicious vehicle" with tinted windows and asked it to pull over. When the driver failed to comply, the police chased the vehicle and shot at its tires.

“Unfortunately, two bullets hit the driver,” the spokesperson added.

The man's body was then taken to the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences for a post-mortem. Waqas Khawaja, a PIMS spokesperson, said the autopsy revealed the young man was shot six times — in the chest, back, and head.

Khawaja added that the shots were fired from in front of the man.

Kasur man stabs father to death, severely injures mother: police

Father disputes police statement
On the other hand, the young man’s father, in a complaint to the police, stated his son was returning home after dropping off a friend at 2am.

“My son was shot multiple times. They [anti-terror squad] openly committed terrorism by aiming at the windscreen instead of the tires."

The father demanded that the personnel involved be charged with terrorism.

He said that his son had informed him about a past occasion when he had had a heated exchange with some police personnel who according to Usama had "threatened him of dire consequences".

The night of the incident, the police allegedly followed his car and then shot him, he said.

He also requested Prime Minister Imran Khan and Minister for Interior Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed to take notice of the incident and provide him justice.

Case registered under murder, ATA clauses
Superintendent of Police (SP) Zubair Shaikh said a first information report (FIR) has been filed under the murder clause and relevant sections pertaining to the Anti-Terrorism Act at the Karachi Company Police Station in the federal capital against five members of the anti-terror squad involved in the killing.

In another statement, the Islamabad Police has said that all police officials involved in the killing have been detained. Islamabad Inspector-General Muhammad Aamir Zulfiqar Khan has taken notice of the incident and sought a report.

The Islamabad Police spokesperson said no one will be allowed to take law into their own hands, adding that the matter is being investigated and action will be taken against the police officials found guilty.

Probe committee formed
The Inspector General of Police (IGP) Islamabad has taken note of the incident and formed a probe committee which will be headed by the deputy inspector general, according to a statement by Islamabad Police.

Chief commissioner orders judicial inquiry
Chief Commissioner Islamabad Amir Ali Ahmed, taking notice of the matter, has ordered a judicial inquiry. The Additional District Magistrate will probe the death of the 21-year-old, according to a statement.

The magistrate will submit the inquiry report within five days, the statement added.

Meanwhile, the funeral prayers of the young man have been offered on Srinagar Highway, and it is now open for traffic.

Maryam Nawaz, Shahbaz Gill react
Reacting to the incident, PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz asked: "Who is responsible for the murder of this innocent student who earns [bread] for his family by working hard at night?"

The sanctity of human life has been violated in the last two and a half years, claimed Maryam.

"There has never been such an insensitive government in Pakistan, like the [one in office] now," she added.

Meanwhile, Special Assistant to Prime Minister on Political Communication Shahbaz Gill said that a "transparent" inquiry would be conducted. "The facts will be made public."

Whoever is responsible will be prosecuted according to the law, he said, adding that such incidents are traumatic for the whole society.

Furthermore, PPP Punjab secretary-general Chaudhry Manzoor Ahmed said that the youth's killing by Islamabad police was saddening.

"The murder of the young man will prove to be the last nail in the coffin of this government," Manzoor said, adding that whenever Shaikh Rasheed enters a ministry, there is a loss of human life.

Manzoor, slamming Rasheed, claimed that he could not handle a ministry. "However, he claims to be an expert on politics."

The country's internal security has been compromised after Rasheed's appointment, he said.

Chairman National Assembly Standing Committee on Interior Raja Khurram Shahzad Nawaz, taking notice of the incident, sought a report from IG Islamabad.

"A transparent inquiry will be conducted into the matter," Nawaz added.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/327748-young-man-shot-dead-by-anti-terror-squad-in-islamabad

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sad & shocking incident in Islamabad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IslamabadPolice?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IslamabadPolice</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JusticeForUsamaNadeemSatti?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JusticeForUsamaNadeemSatti</a></p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/1345418750653304832?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 2, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

ISLAMABAD: A judicial magistrate on Sunday approved the three-day physical remand of the police officials who allegedly murdered 22-year-old Usama Nadeem a day earlier.

The police officers were presented before Judicial Magistrate Naveed Khan who was presiding over a hearing the Usama Nadeem murder case.

Police sought a five-day remand for the suspects but the court instead approved a three-day physical remand.

Five members of Islamabad Police's anti-terror squad were arrested on Saturday after a young man was allegedly shot dead by them while travelling in his vehicle.

According to police, 21-year-old Usama Nadeem was shot on Islamabad’s Srinagar Highway on Friday night reportedly after he ignored police warnings to stop.

An Islamabad Police spokesperson had said that police were acting on a tip-off about a robbery attempt in Shams Colony. When the anti-terror squad reached the locality, they spotted a "suspicious vehicle" with tinted windows and asked it to pull over. When the driver failed to comply, the police chased the vehicle and shot at its tires.

“Unfortunately, two bullets hit the driver,” the spokesperson had added.

The man's body was then taken to the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences for a post-mortem. Waqas Khawaja, a PIMS spokesperson, had said the autopsy revealed the young man was shot six times — in the chest, back, and head.

Khawaja had added that the shots were fired from in front of the man.

ISLAMABAD: Interior Minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed on Sunday visited the family of Usama Nadeem, the 22-year-old man who was shot dead by police a day ago, and vowed that those responsible "will not be spared".

Speaking to journalists outside of the deceased's house after meeting his family, Sheikh Rasheed condemned the incident which led to the loss of a precious life.

The minister said that "he would not spare any of the policemen involved in the incident", adding that a case of terrorism would also be filed against them.

The family of the victim, during the minister's visit, demanded inquiry of the incident under the supervision of a senior judge of the high court.

The minister said all legal aspects of the demand would be examined, adding, it would be honoured if the law permits. He said no injustice would be done to anyone as all were equal under the law.

Interior Minister Sheikh Rasheed offering prayers at the residence of slain youth Usama Nadeem Satti. Photo: APP.
Sheikh Rasheed directed the Inspector General Islamabad Police to take steps to prevent any such incident in future.

Aside from Rasheed, Special Assitant to the Prime Minister (SAPM) for Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development Zulfi Bukhari also met Usama's family to offer condolences.

"Met Usama Satti’s family today upon PM Imran Khan’s instructions and assured them of complete transparent investigation and results," he wrote on Twitter.

"Usama’s services for ISF (Insaf Students Federation) will not go in vain. All depts meant for public service are answerable to people, no misuse of authority is acceptable."

Physical remand of officers involved
A judicial magistrate on Sunday also approved the three-day physical remand of the police officials who allegedly killed Usama.

The police officers were presented before Judicial Magistrate Naveed Khan who was presiding over a hearing of the case.

Police sought a five-day remand for the suspects but the court instead approved a three-day physical remand.

Five members of Islamabad Police's ATS were arrested on Saturday after the shooting incident.

The incident
According to police, Usama was shot on Islamabad’s Srinagar Highway on Friday night reportedly after he ignored police warnings to stop.

An Islamabad Police spokesperson had said that police were acting on a tip-off about a robbery attempt in Shams Colony. When the ATS reached the locality, they spotted a "suspicious vehicle" with tinted windows and asked it to pull over. When the driver failed to comply, the police chased the vehicle and shot at its tires.

“Unfortunately, two bullets hit the driver (Usama),” the spokesperson had added.

The body was then taken to the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences for a post-mortem. Waqas Khawaja, a PIMS spokesperson, had said the autopsy revealed the young man was shot six times — in the chest, back, and head.

Khawaja had added that the shots were fired from the front.

Read more: Five members of Islamabad's anti-terror squad arrested after young man allegedly shot dead

A judicial inquiry has been ordered to probe the incident and the Chief Commissioner of Islamabad has also formed a Joint Investigation Team (JIT) headed by the superintendent of police (SP) of Saddar, Sarfraz Virk.

The JIT has been set up under Section 19 of the Anti-Terrorism Act. The team has been tasked to complete its investigation promptly and submit a report.

ISLAMABAD: A judicial inquiry into the killing of 22-year-old man Usama Satti, carried out by the additional deputy commissioner Islamabad, has revealed that the young man was "shot from all directions and his death was not a mere accident."

According to the inquiry report, Satti was not shot by a single officer of the Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS) as the police had earlier claimed. He suffered "multiple gunshots fired at him from all directions, which shows that the officers involved had every intention to kill him."

Related: Usama Nadeem murder: Judicial magistrate approves suspects' 3-day physical remand

The report further added that the news of Usama's death was "deliberately hidden from his family for four hours and that the officers involved tried to sweep the matter under the rug".

"The officers tried to turn the incident into a dacoity case and kept senior officials in the dark," the report revealed, adding that "Rescue 1122 personnel trying to reach the site of the incident were repeatedly provided with the wrong location details."

Per the judicial inquiry report, the officers present at the site of the incident did not even take any pictures.

The deceased was not involved in any dacoity or criminal cases, the report said, adding that the duty officers "became part of the incident due to their irresponsible attitude".

"Shell casings recovered from the site of the incident were sent to the forensic labs after 72 hours," the report further detailed. "Usama's car was shot at 22 times."

The report said that officers who later reached the site of the incident also tried to "get rid of the evidence".

ATC court grants seven-day remand to five arrested officers
An Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) on Wednesday granted further seven-day physical remand of five police personnel arrested in Satti's murder case and ordered to include the wireless operator into the investigation.

The accused Mudasir Iqbal, Shakeel Ahmed, Muhammad Mustafa, Saeed Ahmed and Iftikhar Ahmed were presented before the ATC by the police after their three-day physical remand.

The Investigation Officer (IO) Muhammad Azam informed the court that the official weapons had been withdrawn from the accused besides recording their statements by the joint investigation team (JIT).

PM Imran Khan orders removal of police officials
Following the recommendations of judicial inquiry, Prime Minister Imran Khan has ordered the removal of several police officials, including the superintendent of police (SP) Anti-Terrorism Squad, SP Investigation on night duty, and the deputy superintendent of police (DSP) on night duty.

The Prime Minister has also directed departmental action against all the officers and personnel who have been removed from their posts.

The incident
According to police, 22-year-old Usama Nadeem was shot on Islamabad’s Srinagar Highway on Friday, January 1, reportedly after he "ignored police warnings to stop."

An Islamabad Police spokesperson had earlier said that the police were acting on a tip-off about a robbery attempt in Shams Colony. When the anti-terror squad reached the locality, they spotted a "suspicious vehicle" with tinted windows and asked it to pull over. When the driver failed to comply, the police "chased the vehicle and shot at its tires".

https://www.geo.tv/latest/329743-usama-satti-was-deliberately-killed-inquiry-report-reveals

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan Wednesday assured to provide justice to the family of slain Usama Satti who was killed by the Islamabad Police earlier this month.

The assurance from the prime minister came during his meeting with the victim’s father Nadeem Younus who called on him on Wednesday.

Usama Nadeem Satti, a resident of G-13 Islamabad, was allegedly shot dead on January 2 by personnel of the Anti-Terrorist Squad. They claimed that they were chasing dacoits.

PM Imran prayed for peace to the departed soul and strength to the victim's family to bear the loss.

He also expressed heartfelt grief over the incident and assured justice to the victim's family.

Reports coming in from Lahore of a major police op going on at Chowk Yateemkhana.. I have received videos of bloody TLP goons.

Bill criminalising enforced disappearance introduced in NA

ISLAMABAD:
The government on Monday introduced a bill in the National Assembly, criminalising enforced disappearance with 10-year imprisonment for anyone found guilty of it.

Minister for Interior Sheikh Rashid Ahmed proposed to amend the Pakistan Penal Code of 1860 and the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1898 with new sections pertaining to enforced disappearance.

On Monday, Minister for Human Rights Shireen Mazari introduced the bill – the Criminal Laws (Amendment) Act, 2021. The bill states that a new section 52-B (enforced disappearance) should be inserted into PPC after section 52-A.

The proposed section states that the “term enforced disappearance relates to the arrest, detention, abduction or any other form of deprivation of liberty by an agent of the state or by person or group of persons acting with the authorisation, support or acquiescence of the state, followed by a refusal to acknowledge the deprivation of liberty or by concealment of the fate or whereabouts of the disappeared person, which place such a person outside the protection of the law.”

The bill also stipulates that there should be three requisite elements that define enforced disappearance. These elements include, an unlawful or illegal deprivation of liberty or a deprivation of liberty that was legal but no longer is; an act allegedly carried out by agents of the state or by person or group of persons acting with the support, authorization or acquiescence of the state; and refusal to acknowledge the deprivation of liberty or concealment of the fate or whereabouts of the disappeared person.

The bill also seeks to insert new sections 512 and 513 in the PPC Penal Code, after section 511. It states that “whoever commits, orders, solicits or induces the commission of attempts to commit, is an accomplice to or participation in the forcible or involuntary disappearances of a person or group of persons is said to cause forcible or involuntary disappearances of that person” and falls within 512 (forcible or involuntary disappearances). Section 513 - punishment for forcible or involuntary disappearances - states that “whoever causes forcible or involuntary disappearance of any person from Pakistan or within Pakistan shall be punished with imprisonment of either description for a term which may extend to ten years and shall also be liable to a fine.”

“It is the rule of law, specifically adherence to Rule of Law that is the hallmark of any democratic society.”
It adds that the “practice of enforced disappearances is a particularly heinous crime not only because it removes human rights from the protection of the law but also due to the inherent cruelty inflicted upon families as a consequence of denial of information concerning the disappeared person.”
It further states that enforced disappearance is unconstitutional and is against international commitments made by Pakistan through ratification of the ICCPR.

Additionally, it continues, the United Nations General Assembly, in its resolutions 477/133 of 18th December, 1992, has emphasised that enforced disappearances undermine the “deepest values of any society committed to respect for the rule of law, human rights and fundamental freedoms.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2304170/bill-criminalising-enforced-disappearance-introduced-in-na

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A police official posted at Karachi's Liaquatabad Police Station was suspended after footage of him dancing with friends went viral.<br><br>Click here to read our complete story:<a href="https://t.co/YkTgetbf0O">https://t.co/YkTgetbf0O</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/etribune?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#etribune</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ViralVideo?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ViralVideo</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Latest?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Latest</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/sindhpolice?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#sindhpolice</a> <a href="https://t.co/AJ2LpqIekl">pic.twitter.com/AJ2LpqIekl</a></p>— The Express Tribune (@etribune) <a href="https://twitter.com/etribune/status/1403740780544602112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 12, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Prime Minister Imran Khan encouraged police to act against the lawbreakers regardless of their position, saying that there were no ‘holy cows’ therefore, the law-enforcers should not be worried about anything while performing their duties.

Addressing a ceremony for the launch of the Eagle Squad of the Islamabad police in the federal capital, the prime minister emphasised that effective policing was inevitable for the country’s prosperity as peace and rule of law were prerequisite for wealth creation and attracting investment.

“The police are supposed to ensure law-enforcement. The law-enforcement does not mean to put only poor vendors in jail. You should rather be lenient to them but strict to the powerful law violators,” the prime minister told the ceremony.

“I’m telling you all today that there are no holy cows,” Prime Minister Imran said. “You should not worry, if Imran Khan breaks the law, take action against me. You should take action, if I make mistake and you do not take action, I will take action against you.”

The Eagle Squad comprises 100 well-equipped patrol bikes for strict vigilance against street crimes across the city. The patrol will remain in constant connectivity with the Islamabad Safe City headquarters.

The project also consists of training of 500 police personnel who, while being on duty, would carry primary weapon MP5 and Glock pistol 9mm as secondary weapon. The bike patrol would also be equipped with LTE sets and could be GIS mapped and GPS-based positioned.

The ceremony was attended by Interior Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, Inspector General of Islamabad police Jamilur Rehman, Senator Faisal Javed and the police officials concerned.

Express Tribune

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is where duty becomes sacred. Admiration for the commitment of the young policeman to serve the people. <a href="https://t.co/B1xozkj06a">pic.twitter.com/B1xozkj06a</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1428388072710889475?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We have decided to honour Constable Jamal Kalhoro on Pakistan Day 23rd March for dedication to duty. “If anyone saves a life, it shall be as though he had saved the lives of all mankind.” --- Surah Al-Mai’dah [5:32]</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1428624652591632385?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2021</a></blockquote>

The federal government has approved the appointment of Rao Sardar Ali Khan as the new chief of Punjab Police in a notification issued by the Establishment Division on Tuesday.

The newly-appointed inspector general police (IGP) was performing duties as the head of Punjab Safe City Authority in Lahore before his appointment as the provincial police chief.

Sardar Ali Khan, who hails from Lodhran, is considered among the “best" professional and experienced officers of the Pakistan Police Service. He joined the police service in 1990 as the assistant superintendent of police (ASP).

Over the course of his 30-year-long career, IG Sardar Ali Khan has served as Punjab Welfare and Finance’s Additional IG and Counter-Terrorism Department (CTD) AIG.He has also held the posts of SDPO Samhari, Jaffarabad and Ferozwala.

Read Punjab Police ill-prepared for violent protests

After promotion to the rank of superintendent police (SP), he served as SP in Faisalabad, Bahawalpur, Sargodha, Rahim Yar Khan, Special Branch, Chakwal and Mianwali. He was later transferred to Islamabad after having served as AIG Development and AIG Logistics.

He has also served as the Lahore DIG Operations, Faisalabad CPO, Sargodha RPO and Bahawalpur RPO.

In addition to this, the new police chief has also worked in the Intelligence Bureau for at least five years. He has also served in the UN Mission for eight months and in Australia for two years.

It may be noted here that the Punjab government led by Chief Minister Usman Buzdar has changed six police chiefs since coming to power in 2018. The IGPs appointed before the incumbent included Inam Ghani, Shoaib Dastagir, Arif Nawaz Khan, Amjad Javed Saleemi, Muhammad Tahir and Dr Syed Kaleem Imam.

Kaleem Imam: Imam was serving as the police chief of Punjab when the Buzdar government came at the helm. He served as the IGP for three months from June 13, 2018 to September 11, 2018.

Muhammad Tahir: Tahir replaced Imam as the Punjab Police head on September 11, 2018. He, however, remained the IGP for one month only. He was removed from the post on October 15, 2018. In protest against the removal, the head of the Punjab Commission for Police Reforms, Nasir Khan Durrani, also stepped down.

Amjad Javed Saleemi: Saleemi served as Punjab IGP from October 15, 2018, to April 17, 2019. He was replaced by Arif Nawaz Khan.

Arif Nawaz Khan: Capt (r) Arif Nawaz Khan served as the fourth police chief of Punjab from April 17, 2019, to November 28, 2019. His tenure was cut short after the Punjab government appointed Shoaib Dastgir to head the police.

Shoaib Dastgir: Dastgir headed the Punjab Police from November 28, 2019, to November 9, 2020. He was removed from the post after he demanded the removal of Umar Sheikh from the post of Lahore police chief.

Inam Ghani: Ghani replaced Dastgir as the Punjab IG. He served as the police chief of Punjab for eight months before being removed by the Buzdar government.

KARACHI: The National Accountability Bureau (NAB), Karachi, on Friday decided to launch an investigation against former Malir SSP Rao Anwar for allegedly possessing assets beyond his known source of income.

A decision to this effect was taken in a meeting of the regional board of the anti-graft body chaired by the director general of NAB-Karachi, Dr Najaf Quli Mirza.

“The board approved / recommended conversion of four ‘Inquiries’ into ‘Investigations’ and freezing of nine bank accounts,” a NAB spokesperson said, adding: “The board approved conversion of an inquiry into investigation against former SSP Rao Anwar and others on allegation of accumulation of assets beyond known sources of income.”

Rao Anwar, a recalcitrant police official, was suspended and arrested for his alleged involvement in a staged encounter in which an aspiring model of Waziristan, Naqeebullah Mehsud, and three others were killed. He was enlarged on bail later.

NAB said the suspect had accumulated assets worth millions of rupees.

The anti-graft body also recommended conversion of an inquiry into investigation against officials of the National Institute of Cardiovascular Diseases (NICVD) for their alleged involvement in illegal appointments and promotions.

The board also recommended authorisation of a separate inquiry against NICVD officials and others regarding illegalities committed in the procurement of various medical equipment.

The participants of the meeting suggested conversion of an inquiry into investigation against health department official Dr Ahsanullah Khan, Shahid Yusaf, chief executive of the Poverty Eradication Initiative (PEI) and others regarding embezzlement of funds in the Sindh Medical Support Programme.

“They are involved in misuse of authority by awarding illegal contract to a blue-eyed firm without observing codal formalities, which caused a loss of Rs325 million to the exchequer,” the spokesperson said.

The NAB board approved conversion of an inquiry into investigation against a businessman, Aijaz Ur Rehman, for allegedly cheating public at large in the name of a company, M/s Al-Rehman Impex, which dealt in rice, fabrics and bed sheets. “He allured general public to invest in his Ponzi scheme by offering 4 per cent to 5pc monthly profit. He looted hard-earned money of the people to the tune of Rs100 million.”

Published in Dawn, October 2nd, 2021

LAHORE: An official of the Dolphin Squad Police Force on Saturday opened fire and shot a citizen who had called for help during a suspected robbery attempt in the Township area of Lahore.

According to reports, a First Information Report (FIR) [No 2217/21 u/s 324 PPC & 155-C Police Order] had been registered against Constable Faisal in the Township police precinct on behalf of the victim's brother, Ali Muhammad.

The victim, Bakht Khan, reportedly had a dispute with some individuals after attending a music party in the neighbourhood and according to the victim’s brother, the people then started assaulting Khan.

After police were called for help via the 15 emergency number, law enforcers arrived at the location and opened on Khan after they allegedly saw him flee from the incident site.

“Seeing the police party, the victim Khan started running,” said a police spokesperson “The police personnel got confused and assumed him to be a suspected robber.”

After the incident, all four police personnel involved were reportedly suspended. Constable Faisal was arrested and booked under an attempt to murder and misuse of authority charges.

Lahore's Dolphin Squad has a checkered history since it was formed some years back and has been involved in shooting innocents on many an occasion.

Earlier, members of the force had shot dead a teenage boy while chasing suspected robbers on Band Road and also shot dead a woman who was returning home from duty in Naseerabad in a separate incident.

In another incident, a young boy, returning home after buying medicine for his ailing mother, was shot and injured. He was later subjected to severe torture.

Members of the 'elite' police squad had also been found guilty of killing a mentally-challenged individual in Gulshan-e- Ravi.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/233451...cop-shoots-citizen-calling-for-help-in-lahore

At least four police officers from Sindh’s Sakrand police station were arrested on Tuesday and two others were suspended after the provincial police chief took notice of cricketer Sohaib Maqsood’s allegations of bribery and extortion.

The incident near Sakrand came to public attention when the cricketer criticised the provincial police in a post on X (formerly Twitter), branding them as “corrupt.”

At least four police officers from Sindh’s Sakrand police station were arrested on Tuesday and two others were suspended after the provincial police chief took notice of cricketer Sohaib Maqsood’s allegations of bribery and extortion.

The latest development was confirmed to Dawn.com by DIG Shaheed Benizarabad District Pervaiz Chandio.

The incident near Sakrand came to public attention when the cricketer criticised the provincial police in a post on X (formerly Twitter), branding them as “corrupt.”

However, in his post, the cricketer did not specify the exact location. Later, while speaking to Geo News, he clarified that the incident took place on an isolated road near Sakrand.

“We informed them that we are international cricketers heading to Multan after our match in Karachi, yet they took Rs8,000 from us before allowing us to proceed,” he claimed in the post.

Furthermore, Maqsood stated that the police also threatened to take them to the police station. He remarked, “We are fortunate to live in Punjab and not in Sindh.”

In a subsequent post, Maqsood mentioned being halted again at some distance even after allegedly paying the earlier amount when he was initially stopped by the police. He asserted: “Corruption is rampant in Sindh police.”

In response, Sindh Inspector General Raffat Raja directed Shaheed Benazirabad Police to hold an immediate inquiry into the matter. “Strict action must be taken against personnel involved in the incident,” the IG said in a statement.

Talking to Dawn.com, DIG Chandio said that four personnel involved in the incident had been arrested. “These officers were on patrol along a Sakrand road when the incident took place. They have confessed to charging cricketer Sohaib Maqsood Rs3,000 as a fine for using a fancy number plate and beam lights,” he said.

However, the DIG said it was not within the jurisdiction of regular police officers to levy fines as this responsibility fell under the purview of traffic police.

Furthermore, the DIG revealed that two senior officials from Sakrand police station, including a station house officer (SHO), had been suspended due to their negligence in the matter.

In response to the incident, the DIG said his team had forwarded images of the four patrolling officers to the cricketer, who had identified one of them.

Maqsood explained that after his team’s last match in the National T20 Cup in Karachi on Monday, where they did not qualify for the next round, he left Karachi with Aamir Yamin.

“I was travelling in a vehicle, and Yamin was with me at around midnight. We passed the toll plaza in Sindh, and after two kilometres, a pair of policemen at a lonely spot near Sakrand stopped us, asking for vehicle documents.”

The cricketer recounted that the officers then inquired about his use of high beam lights, warning a potential fine of Rs100,000. “I informed him that checking papers was not within their jurisdiction, and if traffic police were to stop us, they would typically impose a fine of up to Rs2,500.”

“He then threatened to take us to the police station, as we were travelling for the first time in Sindh, and after negotiation, we gave him Rs8,000,” Maqsood added. “This incident frightened us since it was nighttime and an isolated place.”

He then said his vehicle was stopped by police again after 30-40km, but they did not comply. “Instead, we stopped at a hotel in Sukkur, where we stayed overnight.”

He mentioned that the police had intercepted him approximately 68km before Moro, where the incident unfolded. “The police were rude, and when I requested to speak to one of their officers, their behaviour worsened.”

He stated that the intention behind the tweet was to shed light on the challenges the public faced when law enforcement personnel treated even known individuals badly.

Source: DAWN

THe

The latest development was confirmed to Dawn.com by DIG Shaheed Benizarabad District Pervaiz Chandio.

However, in his post, the cricketer did not specify the exact location. Later, while speaking to Geo News, he clarified that the incident took place on an isolated road near Sakrand.

“We informed them that we are international cricketers heading to Multan after our match in Karachi, yet they took Rs8,000 from us before allowing us to proceed,” he claimed in the post.

Furthermore, Maqsood stated that the police also threatened to take them to the police station. He remarked, “We are fortunate to live in Punjab and not in Sindh.”

In a subsequent post, Maqsood mentioned being halted again at some distance even after allegedly paying the earlier amount when he was initially stopped by the police. He asserted: “Corruption is rampant in Sindh police.”

In response, Sindh Inspector General Raffat Raja directed Shaheed Benazirabad Police to hold an immediate inquiry into the matter. “Strict action must be taken against personnel involved in the incident,” the IG said in a statement.

Talking to Dawn.com, DIG Chandio said that four personnel involved in the incident had been arrested. “These officers were on patrol along a Sakrand road when the incident took place. They have confessed to charging cricketer Sohaib Maqsood Rs3,000 as a fine for using a fancy number plate and beam lights,” he said.

However, the DIG said it was not within the jurisdiction of regular police officers to levy fines as this responsibility fell under the purview of traffic police.

Furthermore, the DIG revealed that two senior officials from Sakrand police station, including a station house officer (SHO), had been suspended due to their negligence in the matter.

In response to the incident, the DIG said his team had forwarded images of the four patrolling officers to the cricketer, who had identified one of them.

Maqsood explained that after his team’s last match in the National T20 Cup in Karachi on Monday, where they did not qualify for the next round, he left Karachi with Aamir Yamin.

“I was travelling in a vehicle, and Yamin was with me at around midnight. We passed the toll plaza in Sindh, and after two kilometres, a pair of policemen at a lonely spot near Sakrand stopped us, asking for vehicle documents.”

The cricketer recounted that the officers then inquired about his use of high beam lights, warning a potential fine of Rs100,000. “I informed him that checking papers was not within their jurisdiction, and if traffic police were to stop us, they would typically impose a fine of up to Rs2,500.”

“He then threatened to take us to the police station, as we were travelling for the first time in Sindh, and after negotiation, we gave him Rs8,000,” Maqsood added. “This incident frightened us since it was nighttime and an isolated place.”

He then said his vehicle was stopped by police again after 30-40km, but they did not comply. “Instead, we stopped at a hotel in Sukkur, where we stayed overnight.”

He mentioned that the police had intercepted him approximately 68km before Moro, where the incident unfolded. “The police were rude, and when I requested to speak to one of their officers, their behaviour worsened.”

He stated that the intention behind the tweet was to shed light on the challenges the public faced when law enforcement personnel treated even known individuals badly.

Source: DAWN
The Police in PK cannot be reformed, the only guys they fear are the guys with tanks, and the guys who control the tanks. It needs to be scrapped altogether, the culture is rotten and these are beghairat officers that have deen or imaan

Pakistan cricketers’ bribery allegations expose rampant extortion culture in Sindh Police​

Four police officers were arrested in Nawab Shah, a town in southern Sindh province, on Tuesday following bribery allegations made by Pakistani cricketers with international reputations.
The development follows similar incidents, including the arrest of a senior police official who seized over Rs20 million from a trader and action against three cops for harassing Afghan refugees last week, spotlighting problems within the Sindh police force.
Cricketers Sohaib Maqsood and Aamir Yamin, in near-identical posts on their social media accounts, complained about extortion, expressing gratitude for living in Punjab province. Maqsood recounted being stopped every 50 kilometers for money while traveling back from Karachi to his hometown, Multan.

Last week, a senior superintendent of police in Karachi, Imran Qureshi, was removed from his post, and his deputy, Umair Tariq Bajari, was arrested after being implicated in seizing money from a trader.

In response to these incidents, a spokesperson for the Inspector General of Police’s office told Arab News the Sindh police chief, Riffat Mukhtar, had taken notice and ordered the immediate arrest of the accused in such cases.

Karachi retired inspector accuses ‘police party’ of dacoity

A retired inspector in Karachi Bashir Hussain has accused a police party comprising uniformed and plain-clothed officials of dacoity at his residence, ARY News reported on Wednesday.

Retired inspector Bashir Hussain told the media that a police party comprising uniformed and plain-clothed officials raided his residence in Karachi’s Saeedabad area and snatched four-tola gold and Rs200,000 cash.

“Seven to eight police officials with two vans had raided my residence in the Saeedabad Sector 14-C area late Tuesday night. They also tortured my son. The cops told us that they were associated with CTD [Counter-Terrorism Department] Garden.”

Hussain said in his statement that the raiding team raised questions regarding the possession of a pistol by his son. He told them that his son was possessing a licenced pistol.

He said that the raiding team searched the entire house and took away four tolas of gold and Rs200,000 cash.

Senior Superintendent Police (SSP) Keamari formed an inquiry committee to probe into the allegations. The Deputy Superintendent Police (DSP) Saeedabad will present the inquiry report to the higher authorities.

Following the inquiry, legal action will be taken against the responsible, said SSP Keamari.

Amnesty International report reveals police as most corrupt sector in Pakistan

Amnesty International Pakistan on Friday released its National Corruption Impact Assessment Report, which included some shocking findings on the widespread corruption in the nation's many sectors.

According to the report, the police department emerged as the most corrupt, experiencing a five percent increase compared to the previous year. Notably, the Sindh Police played a pivotal role in this rise, with the Judiciary Department ranking third in corruption.

Amnesty International Pakistan conducted a survey in which 2,023 participants expressed their views on corruption within various departments. The results indicate that the police department is perceived as the most corrupt, with a 30 percent corruption rate. Tendering and contracting follows with 16 percent, and the Judiciary Department ranks third with 13 percent.

The report highlighted the alarming corruption levels within specific police forces. Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police were deemed the most corrupt at 37 percent, while Punjab police stood at 25 percent. Meanwhile, Balochistan, although not leading in police corruption, reported a significant 20 percent corruption rate, with tendering and contracting at 31 percent ranking as the most corrupt institution in the province.

While a marginal decrease in corruption was noted in the education sector, there was a two percent rise in the health department. Disappointingly, a majority (67%) expressed disillusionment with anti-corruption institutions like NAB and FIA, perceiving them as tools for political vendettas.

The report's findings outlined sector-specific changes in corruption levels, indicating increases in police, health, and local government corruption. However, there were reductions in corruption within the judiciary, tendering, customs, and excise income tax departments.

Regarding the causes of corruption, 40 percent attributed it to the absence of merit in institutions, while 55 percent advocated for transparent disclosure of public officials’ assets and income sources. Furthermore, the report highlighted a concerning belief held by 47 percent: without accountability, stability becomes unattainable, potentially perpetuating a cycle of negative impressions and societal unease.

Alarmingly, 62 percent of respondents connected corruption to increased environmental risks in Pakistan, underscoring the far-reaching implications of this pervasive issue.

Traffic police actions spark public outcry

KARACHI: In various areas of the city, the traffic police's strategy of setting up blockades in group formations has stirred discontent among citizens, making their daily lives miserable. Frustration grows as motorists, primarily car and motorcycle riders, face abrupt stops in the middle of the road, leading to confrontations with the traffic police.

Residents complain that while enforcing traffic rules is essential, it appears to be selectively applied, focusing mainly on private cars and motorcycles. The issue of unregistered six-seater rickshaws, freely violating traffic rules across the city, has drawn attention with seemingly little action taken by the authorities. Traffic rules enforcement seems to exempt public transport, including drivers of unregistered vehicles, unfit coaches, minibuses, buses, and water tankers. This double standard has raised questions among the public regarding the fairness of traffic policing.

Near Shafiq Morr, traffic police officers regularly form groups, disrupting traffic flow by stopping and challenging car and motorcycle riders. The process involves handing over offenders to other policemen on the roadside, leaving citizens frustrated with the seemingly arbitrary enforcement.

Similar scenes unfold under the Sohrab Goth flyover, where traffic police officers, in group formations, stop passing cars to check documents. Public opinion suggests that the primary motive behind such group formations is to maximise challans issued, raising concerns about the genuine intention behind traffic control efforts.

Citizens argue that while they support the enforcement of traffic rules, the focus should extend beyond private vehicles. Public transport, water tankers, six-seat rickshaws and dumpers are observed violating traffic rules throughout the day, prompting questions about their apparent immunity from enforcement.

The public wonders whether dilapidated and smoky public transport, over-speeding coaches, and minibuses on city roads escape the notice of traffic police deliberately, or if their enforcement efforts are disproportionately aimed at car and motorcycle riders.

Six SHOs suspended for ‘failing’ to control crimes in Karachi

At least six Station House Officers (SHOs) posted at different police stations of Karachi have been suspended during the last month over a surge in crimes in their respective jurisdictions, ARY News reported.

As per the details, SHO Shahrah Faisal Raja Tariq, SHO Bilal Colony Shahzada Salim, SHO Korangi Industrial Area Faraz and SHO Surjani Town Rao Nazim are among the suspended police officers over deteriorated law and order in their respective jurisdictions.

SHO Zaman Town Rao Rafiq has been suspended over his alleged involvement in the robbery incident. SHO Orangi Town Rizwan Patel was also removed from the post for poor performance.

It is pertinent to mention here that at least 46 Karachi citizens have been killed so far in 2024 over resisting robberies with February recording the highest number of 20 killings.

Month-wise data showed that February recorded the most killings with 20 citizens losing their lives to the robbers.

In January, as many as 13 people were killed by robbers while around 13 city dwellers were murdered by the dacoits in March so far.

Journalist tortured by Sindh police for reporting alleged corruption of SSP

Khursheed Rajput, a journalist from Tando Adam, has reportedly been subjected to torture by the local police after exposing alleged corruption by the Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), ARY News reported on Sunday.

Rajput, along with a friend, was presented in court by the police, who requested a remand. However, the civil magistrate rejected the plea and ordered that the journalist be sent to jail instead.

The police have charged Rajput with robbery and possession of illegal weapons, but the journalist claims that these charges are false and were fabricated as retaliation for his reporting on the SSP’s corrupt activities.

Rajput also revealed that the SHO of Tando Adam recorded his indecent videos while he was being tortured.

Earlier to this, a tragic incident was reported from Nowshera city of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) where a Local journalist was shot dead by some unidentified assailants.

The local police of KP confirmed that the print media journalist, Hasan Zaib, was shot dead by some unidentified armed assailants in Akbarpura village of Nowshera.

The attackers, riding motorcycles, fatally shot Hasan Zaib, who worked for a local newspaper, in a crowded market area.

In response, the Chief Minister of KP – Ali Amin Gandapur – has taken immediate notice of the murder and demanded a comprehensive report from senior police officials.

The CM emphasized that those involved in the murder would not evade justice and assured that the culprits would be apprehended soon.

ARY News

Islamabad police ignored more than half of crime complaints this year

The Islamabad police have registered 6,551 criminal cases against 15,639 complaints received during the ongoing year.

The Dolphin Squad or patrolling teams are the first responders whenever a crime is reported to the police helpline. After verification, the area police are alerted. They gather details and ask the victim to file a complaint. Each complaint is then issued an e-tag to maintain a database and track the actual number of criminal incidents. However, officials have revealed a disparity in e-tag numbers and case registration.

From January 1 to April 5, the City Zone police received at least 4,232 complaints, followed by Saddar Zone with 4,001 complaints. The Industrial Area Zone, Soan Zone, and Rural Zone, respectively, received 2,726, 2,301, and 2,379 complaints.

The City Zone registered 1,349 FIRs, Saddar Zone 1,737, and Industrial Zone registered 933 cases. Soan and Rural zones registered 1,484 and 1,048 cases, respectively.

Officials told Dawn the actual number of crimes and complaints lodged with the police was much higher, as the police did not issue e-tags against every complaint. They said the Khanna police registered FIR No. 3 against and e-tag No. 3, but FIR No. 30 was registered against e-tag No. 28.

Similarly, FIR No. 99 was registered against e-tag No. 88, while FIR No. 121 was registered against e-tag No. 132. FIR No. 155 had the e-tag number 175, whereas FIR No. 187 was registered against e-tag No. 222 in January. Likewise, FIR No. 218 was registered against e-tag No. 248, FIR No. 258 was registered against e-tag No. 287, besides FIR No. 317 against e-tag No. 331. They said the FIR numbers 235, 236 and 237 registered by the Koral police did not have e-tag.

The officials claimed the refusal to issue e-tags against all complaints was an attempt downplay the crime rate in the city.

Another practice that has emerged in the Islamabad police is that the officials are trying to downgrading the severity of the crime. For instance, dacoity is the most heinous crime but the police are portraying such cases as robberies in the FIR.

On March 31, a gang of more than four gunmen raided a poultry farm and looted broilers worth Rs3.1million. However, the Nilore police registered the case under Section 392 (robbery) instead of Section 395 (dacoity) even though the number of suspects involved exceeded five.

On March 21, five-six gunmen looted livestock worth Rs1million in the jurisdiction of the Khanna police station, but the police included the robbery section of the Pakistan Penal Code in the FIR.

On March 6, criminals impersonating police officials snatched cash from a citizen in Koral, but the police registered a fraud case in this regard.

Likewise, three suspects impersonating policemen snatched cash from a citizen in the Sabzi Mandi police area on March 12, but instead of registering the case under sections 382 or 356 of the PPC, the case was registered under sections 420, 170, and 171 on March 24. In many burglary FIRs, the police used theft charges instead.

According to senior police officials, crime is on the rise in Islamabad, but the non-registration of cases and downgrading the severity of the crime is “a novel way” to show a decrease in crime. They alleged that the senior officers were engaged in non-policing issues, and due to the engagement in other issues, crimes committed in the capital went unregistered.

Non-registration of FIR is an offence as per the law, the officers said, adding that as per Section 154 of the Criminal Procedure Code, the police are bound to register FIRs against each and every complaint. Criminals go unpunished if cases are not registered, they said.

IGP Syed Ali Nasir Rizvi and Director General Safe City Shakir Dawar had been approached multiple times since April 9 for their comments, but they did not respond. Deputy Inspector General Operations Jawad Tariq responded to a query on Monday, saying: “Sure will let you know”. However, no response was received by the time this report went to press.

DAWN NEWS

China to train Islamabad police through AI

China will impart training to Islamabad police officials by using modern technology and Artificial Intelligence (AI).

It was agreed during a meeting held between Interior Minister Mohsin Naqvi and a delegation from the Beijing Police Department.

The delegation led by Beijing Police Department’s Deputy Director General Gao Jianzan called on Mohsin Naqvi in Islamabad.

The meeting focused on strengthening cooperation between the Islamabad Police and Beijing Police.

It was agreed that officers from Islamabad will travel to Beijing for specialized training in modern policing methods and technology. The officers will also receive training in artificial intelligence to improve policing systems back home.