Is the Indian team getting an unfair advantage in the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 by playing all its matches in Dubai?

As expected this issue was originally raised by England commentators who are by far the worst cry baby losers ever.

Little advantages and disadvantages are always there and the whole point of winning is to show the ability to comprehensively beat all odds.

BCCI only communicated they will not travel to Pakistan. It was ICC that decided all India matches will be played in Dubai. It was a revenue driven decision by them - imagine if they had Dubai, Sharjah, Abu Dhabi as venues, that would mean a LOT of extra money being spent for renting the stadiums, paying people there for their services, catering, security, travel, and other logistics. Consequently, Pakistan as a host and other participants would have received even less money as a result. I don’t think anyone at that point even thought about this advantage, but now that people have brought this up, who knows when India hosts the next tournaments they might have Pakistan shuttle around different cities to take away the advantage they now know exists 🤣

BCCI demanded for one location, because it would give them an advantage, India would not need to play in 3 stadiums, but they could have easily had played in 2 locations, example first 2 matches in Dubai, last group stage match abu dhabi, and semi final in abu dhabi and final in dubai if they make it. With that of schedule, no one would complain and it would be fair and make sense. The fact that India can play all there 5 games is an advantage, and BCCI did ask for this.

Even in Asia Cup 2022, where the tournament was entirely held in UAE, India played all there matches in Dubai, while other teams had to travel as well.

It is comical to see suggestions like "They should have scheduled in such a way that India became equally tired". lol What is next. "You played two weak teams (pakistan, bangladesh) so you aer less tired. Play one more team so that you will be equally tired when we meet in semis".

In future, India will continue their winning streak against Pakistan, then their allegations will be like this…….

1) Indian team should have 3-4 players with tummy like Pakistan team players. India have undue advantage of playing fully fit players (without tummy).😀

2) Indian players not have biryani and other fatty foods like Pakistan team have. Indian team have undue advantage of eating diet food😀

BCCI demanded for one location, because it would give them an advantage, India would not need to play in 3 stadiums, but they could have easily had played in 2 locations, example first 2 matches in Dubai, last group stage match abu dhabi, and semi final in abu dhabi and final in dubai if they make it. With that of schedule, no one would complain and it would be fair and make sense. The fact that India can play all there 5 games is an advantage, and BCCI did ask for this.
Did you not read anything related to money that I wrote above?

You started your first post above my first response to you with “I think” which is a presumption. But by the second post because I let it pass the first time, it suddenly changed to “BCCI demanded” as if you were copied on that email!!

Nass and Athers next statement : Eng got tired because of the 2 huge scoring games they were involved in on flat tracks. No more ICC events in Pak as Eng gets tired and loses games. Man, cant believe I am typing ridiculous statements like this !:ROFLMAO:
You cannot put it past them. I can only give them suggestion. Next time when Pakistan hosts a tournament you also use the security reasons to play on a neutral venue. If only Australia, England had joined India entire CT could have been hosted in UAE by Pakistan :)

This is why i expected PCB growing a pair and rejecting hybrid model. But there were major legal threats. PCB succumbed. There are way bigger things you have to worry about than these "same venue advantage". They could have potentially moved the whole CT outside pakistan. This is the least of your worries.

This whole thread is an embodiment of the below picture. :yk

images (22).jpeg

Glenn Philips about the advantage for India playing in Dubai:

"We are not focussing on that, not going to be complaining - India have been dealt their hand, we have been dealt our hand, so we focus on that

:kp".
Klassen also said the same thing. Only guys who whine are England. Australia does this as a mental game. Deep down they don't care either.

Did you not read anything related to money that I wrote above?

You started your first post above my first response to you with “I think” which is a presumption. But by the second post because I let it pass the first time, it suddenly changed to “BCCI demanded” as if you were copied on that email!!
I did read what you mentioed about money, but having 2 locations would not make any real difference, espically considering the fact ICC and BCCI in particular have soo much money, it could have been done easily. Do not deny that India did not get this advantage, and that this advantage was demanded by BCCI

Oh not at all denying India has an advantage but that it was “demanded” by BCCI is a speculation.

BCCI is not paying anything for an ICC tournament, and any extra money that ICC pays they will want to minimize that and push that cost over to the host to partly share. Which business wants to take a smaller loss when they can get away with minimizing it? They’re already spending more by having to organize in Dubai, why would they want to add to their costs?
You are talking about organizing an entirely new place to play some matches when they don’t fund tarps for the teams to cover the grounds during rains!

Why should BCCI spend its own money on an ICC tournament which is hosted by Pakistan? BCCI was happy to walk off this tournament- after all CT is not a a WC. It was PCB who succumbed to greed and folded before BCCI. Why don’t you guys try holding an ICC event without India participating and see where that takes you?

People really need to move on from this thing. There is no unfair advantage here. Other teams also played more than 1 game on same pitch. India won fair and square and people need to accept it that they are better than other asian teams.

Glenn Philips about the advantage for India playing in Dubai:

"We are not focussing on that, not going to be complaining - India have been dealt their hand, we have been dealt our hand, so we focus on that

:kp".

Championship team mentality.

NZ not cry babies like some other nations

People really need to move on from this thing. There is no unfair advantage here. Other teams also played more than 1 game on same pitch. India won fair and square and people need to accept it that they are better than other asian teams.

Nahi bhai esse kesse

Playing all matches on one ground makes so much difference. It’s almost like Bharat gets 55 overs to bat.

World Test championship final happening in SENA nations every year was never unfair to Bharat.

England hosted first 3 ODI World cups at home and wanted to do that forever and that was never unfair.

England poaches talent from all over the world, that’s not unfair.

England invented T20, currently hosts T10 and 100 like tournaments. But only IPL was unfair

Championship team mentality.

NZ not cry babies like some other nations
+1, this is why I hate when people disrespect NZ, Aus and by extension me.

No Indian will get my respect if you mock these 2 teams. Oceania is a champion team and not a crybaby team. We are the goats.

These are international players/teams and are expected to adjust to such conditions. I always believe that going into a match both team have equal chances of winning it.

However the fixture of CT is poor and should've been planned better. I read somewhere that Aus and SA have to travel to Dubai, wait for result of last league match and then one team has to return to Lahore for second semi. 1-2 days additional gap between Ind-NZ match and first semi final could've avoided it. Completely shortsighted planning from ICC or PCB.

Why should BCCI spend its own money on an ICC tournament which is hosted by Pakistan? BCCI was happy to walk off this tournament- after all CT is not a a WC. It was PCB who succumbed to greed and folded before BCCI. Why don’t you guys try holding an ICC event without India participating and see where that takes you
These are international players/teams and are expected to adjust to such conditions. I always believe that going into a match both team have equal chances of winning it.

However the fixture of CT is poor and should've been planned better. I read somewhere that Aus and SA have to travel to Dubai, wait for result of last league match and then one team has to return to Lahore for second semi. 1-2 days additional gap between Ind-NZ match and first semi final could've avoided it. Completely shortsighted planning from ICC or PCB.
What the heck, why are both the Group B teams going to Dubai, when the rankings will be decided soon enough? What kind of management is this?

Why should BCCI spend its own money on an ICC tournament which is hosted by Pakistan? BCCI was happy to walk off this tournament- after all CT is not a a WC. It was PCB who succumbed to greed and folded before BCCI. Why don’t you guys try holding an ICC event without India participating and see where that takes you

What the heck, why are both the Group B teams going to Dubai, when the rankings will be decided soon enough? What kind of management is this?
They should have hosted India's match first and the other match next. Since they are hosting India's match only on sunday they have scheuled like this. Need to see the idiot who came up with this schedule.

You see how NZ is competing here?

No excuses

Just championship mentality

Only Rondu Englishmen whine about such stupid things. Get a life

Cricket great Viv Richards during a media interaction:

“People may have a point when they say that. I guess that’s due to politics — I don’t want to get into the political side of things."

“But I believe the people who are responsible, in terms of the governing and the ruling of the game in itself, which is the ICC, they’re the ones who I think got the problem."

“I would like them to come up with an answer. Why? If they are the governing body of cricket, why is that happening at present? I honestly believe one of the things that can bring all of us together, fans and everyone, even enemies together, (is) sports."

BCCI is the one who created this mess by not coming to Pakistan, they SHOULD be the ones to pay, we all know the reality ICC would not hold a tournament with India. India should have put its politics aside, either tour Pakistan, or if you play in UAE have 2 matches in another stadium, it really would not be the end of the world.

Firstly, BCCI was more than willing to walk away from CT. I don't think they cared if they played or not. It was the ICC that insisted and negotiated to get India in. So, whatever the current situation is, is because of ICC.

When this is the case, then BCCI holds all the cards. The ICC gives everything that BCCI wants. When you are getting what you want, why would you change anything? Just not human nature. Does not happen. Will not happen.

The only way to change the current situation is for the ICC and the rest of the boards to take up the solution(s) in front of them. Unfortunately, they have not done that so far. When you don't pounce when opportunity presents itself, you deserve what you get.

Firstly, BCCI was more than willing to walk away from CT. I don't think they cared if they played or not. It was the ICC that insisted and negotiated to get India in. So, whatever the current situation is, is because of ICC.

When this is the case, then BCCI holds all the cards. The ICC gives everything that BCCI wants. When you are getting what you want, why would you change anything? Just not human nature. Does not happen. Will not happen.

The only way to change the current situation is for the ICC and the rest of the boards to take up the solution(s) in front of them. Unfortunately, they have not done that so far. When you don't pounce when opportunity presents itself, you deserve what you get.
India did not want to play in Pakistan but wanted to play in the tourney, if they didn't want to play they would simply opt out and not ask for hybrid model, to say India did not want to play or cared is not true

India are winning these while getting pampered like a princess. They are not winning these like men.

Remember teams are needing to go back and forth from Dubai to Pakistan. It is not easy to travel that much. India are having it very easy.
Bus yaar. They are in this position because we allowed them.

Blame Naqvi. Not Bharat.

India did not want to play in Pakistan but wanted to play in the tourney, if they didn't want to play they would simply opt out and not ask for hybrid model, to say India did not want to play or cared is not true
It is true. Because PCB was facing legal threats from sponsors. So India's presence was needed.

India are winning these while getting pampered like princesses. They are not winning these like men.

Remember teams are needing to go back and forth from Dubai to Pakistan. It is not easy to travel that much. India are having it very easy.
Oh yes that's been a huge advantage. They are enjoying their stay there and playing on same surface game after game.

But you got to accept they run this game currently

Oh yes that's been a huge advantage. They are enjoying their stay there and playing on same surface game after game.

But you got to accept they run this game currently

Running the game doesn't give them the right to turn the sport into a farce. Europeans don't do this with FIFA.

I blame ICC and other boards for putting up with this circus.

Thanks for your honesty it clearly is an advantage
Obviously it is an advantage. But where Pakistan is concerned, we will make sure to make things difficult for you. You are the guys who backed out of IPL, tried to sue our board & still fawn over us for our money. When we make 80 percent of the revenue & subsidize you, why should we make it easy for you? You think Pakistan would have gone easy on us, if the shoes were on the other feet?

What happened suddenly ? This thread is running hot from Last 15 minutes.

Ohh india has won the match against NZ. Understable

Running the game doesn't give them the right to turn the sport into a farce. Europeans don't do this with FIFA.

I blame ICC and other boards for putting up with this circus.
But your posts blame India for everything?
Pick a lane dude

Anybody saying we(India) don't have an advantage is being dishonest, and ICC are an absolute joke for letting that happen.

But that's the sport right now. Australia beat us at our home event, no reason other teams can't do that here.

India could have chosen to not participate in the champions trophy but the ICC tournaments are basically fundraising events for the ICC on the basis of the Indian audience. That's where the ICC gets its budget to fund and run cricket. Even if India were a 10th rank team, ICC would have twisted rules to include top 10 teams in champions trophy instead of top 8. This is the reality and Indian money runs the world cricket. All the modern technologies in cricket wouldn't have been possible without an Indian audience.

I think BCCI demanded to play all games in Dubai, and properly threaten to pull out if demand was not met. The reality is if India did not take part in the tourney, ICC would not move forward with it, BCCI used there power to there advantage.

When in 2024 India played all league matches in USA in three different cities and then went to play the knockouts in WI, Indians were not complaining.

Out come non stop whinging = ZERO

Can someone bump the thread which cricket board became a winner BCCI or PCB? I couldn't find it. That thread will turn this thread to moot.

When in 2024 India played all league matches in USA in three different cities and then went to play the knockouts in WI, Indians were not complaining.
Your lies are exposed in USA group stage they played 3 matches in New York (hence another advanage) and last matche was in Florida
You always spread lies it needs to stop.

Watch other sports for once before opening your mouth
To be fair what he was trying to say was we do not see this level of favoritism in other sports, there is favoritism in all sports to an extent, but in Cricket India gets all the favors, Sweep Shot is not wrong about that.

Your lies are exposed in USA group stage they played 3 matches in New York (hence another advanage) and last matche was in Florida
You always spread lies it needs to stop.

Ok so India didn't play in Dallas.

Still India played its group matches in USA, while other major countries that played the knockouts played all their matches in WI.

To be fair what he was trying to say was we do not see this level of favoritism in other sports, there is favoritism in all sports to an extent, but in Cricket India gets all the favors, Sweep Shot is not wrong about that.

Do you see any other sports so dependent on one country for financial survival?

Ok so India didn't play in Dallas.

Still India played its group matches in USA, while other major countries that played the knockouts played all their matches in WI.
Pakistan also played all its group matches in USA, and again India had 3 matches in New York (advantage), thats BCCI and ICC fault, they knew more money would be made having matches in USA for India, rather than W.I, at the send of the day India asked to have its matches in USA, and first 3 in New York

Do you see any other sports so dependent on one country for financial survival?
Just because financial survival is needed off one team, does not mean you give it 1 million favors, gave it some favors fine but to the extent the playing field is fair. This is BCCI and ICC fault for not trying to expand the game

Pakistan also played all its group matches in USA, and again India had 3 matches in New York (advantage), thats BCCI and ICC fault, they knew more money would be made having matches in USA for India, rather than W.I, at the send of the day India asked to have its matches in USA, and first 3 in New York

India also had matches in Florida.

Pakistan didn't qualify for the KOs so they didn't have to travel to WI to play their games.

So it's BCCIs fault because they traveled around USA to make money for the ICC? Why didn't the ICC ask CA or ECB to do it?

Just because financial survival is needed off one team, does not mean you give it 1 million favors, gave it some favors fine but to the extent the playing field is fair. This is BCCI and ICC fault for not trying to expand the game

It's not BCCIs job to spread the game.

Why don't other boards try to carry their burden?

India also had matches in Florida.

Pakistan didn't qualify for the KOs so they didn't have to travel to WI to play their games.

So it's BCCIs fault because they traveled around USA to make money for the ICC? Why didn't the ICC ask CA or ECB to do it?
India had 1 match in Flordia and it was the last match
Had Pakistan Qualified, would you also say Pakistan had an unfair advantage of playing all games in USA during knockouts.
We all know BCCI, is the biggest contributor to ICC, so you dont have to ask that question because everyone already knows that, so this is why ICC would not ask CA or ECB to do it. At the same time there is about 5.2 million Indians in America, so ICC would want to have India matches in USA, which makes sense, but you had 3 grounds and 4 matches, India should have played 2 in New York, 1 in Dallas and 1 in Florida.

Regardless, be it CT 2025, T20 World cup 2024, T20 World cup 2021. Asia Cup 2022 etc.... India always has favors and always have the advantages.

India had 1 match in Flordia and it was the last match
Had Pakistan Qualified, would you also say Pakistan had an unfair advantage of playing all games in USA during knockouts.
We all know BCCI, is the biggest contributor to ICC, so you dont have to ask that question because everyone already knows that, so this is why ICC would not ask CA or ECB to do it. At the same time there is about 5.2 million Indians in America, so ICC would want to have India matches in USA, which makes sense, but you had 3 grounds and 4 matches, India should have played 2 in New York, 1 in Dallas and 1 in Florida.

Regardless, be it CT 2025, T20 World cup 2024, T20 World cup 2021. Asia Cup 2022 etc.... India always has favors and always have the advantages.

India had all its group matches in USA, and yes Pakistan would similarly be disadvantaged if they qualified for the KOs.

What favours have India had? Please tell.

India had all its group matches in USA, and yes Pakistan would similarly be disadvantaged if they qualified for the KOs.

What favours have India had? Please tell.
ICC T20 2021 world cup all matches in Dubai except 1
Asia cup 2022 all matches in Dubai
Umpires 90 percent giving in to india bowlers lbw appeal, with a good amount of them being umpires call, or in todays case we saw one missing the wicket.
The list can go on and on

Umpires 90 percent giving in to india bowlers lbw appeal, with a good amount of them being umpires call, or in todays case we saw one missing the wicket.
You are accusing the ICC umpire panel of being corrupt. Are you saying they have accepted some sort of bribe to favor Ind?

If so, do you have evidence? If you do, that needs to go to ICC directly so action can be taken. If you don't, then poor on you to accuse the panel. You are doing a disservice to the umpires.

Personally, I think they are not corrupt and just doing their job.

2021 T20WC India was the host and host gets to decide where they play.

You are accusing umpires of cheating?

Is India also manipulating DRS?

2021 T20WC India was the host and host gets to decide where they play.

India where host in 2023, they played in different venues
Pakistan is host of this tournament, and played in different venues (for games in Pakistan)
These are favors that where done by the ICC

It's a classic 'sore loser' mentality that's prevalent among fans of mid-low tier teams across almost all sports. You can call it envy , jealousy, bitterness....but the product of it is the same everywhere.

Just accuse match officials of favouring top teams and use that as a soothing balm to their pain caused by losing to the said top teams. Need not take these guys too seriously.

Pakistan is host of this tournament, and played in different venues (for games in Pakistan)

Host makes the venue decisions not ICC. Host makes the itinerary and sends it to ICC.

That is not correct, its one thing your hosting the tourney, but do you need to play every game in 1 stadium, when they can easily be played at other stadiums. 2023 was done correctly in terms of India being host but playing at multiple stadiums, the way it should be done. ICC should do better and not accept these demands or favors from BCCI

If England travels around 15,226 kms to play series against Australia in Australia and they lost whole series to Australia. Then England will say Australia we’re having undue advantage of playing in one country and they haven’t travelled 15226 kms. Like us

Rohit Sharma during the pre-match press meet ahead of the semifinal against Australia:

"Every time, the pitch is giving you different challenges. The three matches that we played here, the pitch has behaved differently. This is not our home, this is Dubai. We don't play so many matches here, and this is new for us too."

"There are four or five surfaces that are being used here. See, I don't know which pitch is going to be played in the semifinals. But whatever happens, we will have to adapt and see what is happening and what is not. And we will play on that."

"We saw that when the (New Zealand) bowlers were bowling, it was swinging a little bit. We did not see it in the first two games when our bowlers were bowling. In the last game, we did not get to see that much spin, today there was a bit of it."

"So, there are different things happening on every surface. So, it is not like we know what is going to happen on this pitch and what is not going to happen."

"If there is something in it for the bowlers as well, that makes it very, very interesting. I am one for it. When you have surfaces which are challenging, whether it's with spin or with the seam, you want to have that. You want a good contest."

"Looking at the surface here, hearing about what has happened in Dubai in the past two months, we somehow kind of knew that surfaces are going to be slow. We were watching ILT20 which was played here and we thought the slower bowlers will be a lot more helpful here."

"If need an extra batter then anyway Rishabh (Pant) is there. So, we thought with an extra option of the spin, there is always a chance that we can play those guys."

"It was important for us to adapt quickly to these conditions. Luckily, we came here five or six days before, we had good training sessions and the pitches at the (ICC) Academy were very much similar to what we are going to get here."

"So, the adaptation is the key when you play on any surface and we adapted pretty well in all three games."

England played all their games in the West Indies for the same reason India played all theirs in the US; it would bring in more money.

Most of ICCs money comes from broadcast rights and 90 per cent of that's for India territory.

ICC had to play India in USA so that people come to watch the games. No other team had the potential to fill the stadiums. ICC spent millions of dollars in putting up stands and readying grounds in USA. Someone needed to offset this extra expense.

Can you tell us how England was helpful in Wi,

India played group matches in USA and KOs in WI. England played all matches in WI.

Loads of hue and cry over an incidental advantage.
India have lost last 13 tosses, nobody will say anything about that.

You play the hand dealt to you.

Both Pak and England were first round exit teams,

Jaake ghar pe chai peeyo yaaro

Pakistan was playing at home, huge advantage. They play most at Dubai, more advantage.
But that team is so bad, even advantage wouldn't help