Is the IPL overrated?

Sachin, Dravid? Really? Is that your defence? Indian domestics produced Sachin so we don't need IPL.
People travelled on bullock carts so we don't need an automobile?

Indian domestics feeds the players to IPL and IPL hones them or spits them out. What does that tell you? If you are a great in doemstics, it means squat if you don't do well in IPL. It just shows you can play when there is no pressure and against trundlers. IPL even picked players from nowehere and made them famous like Bumrah and Hardik and Sundar.

Based on Sachin, Dravid comment, I have realized you just hate T20s in general and don't care where cricket is going. You want those yesteryears where Marshall and Lille were bowling to Sunny and Kapil. That's fine. Now we know not to indulge.
So from my post you came to this conclusion that I want to see Lillie bowling to Sunny? It went over your head that we would still have found cricketers without doing a tamasha every year where guys like Unadkat are being paid millions?

But all you do is put words in my mouth. Now where did I say I hate T20s? Infact you can ask any other indian fan who have noticed it that I do post in International T20 match threads.

Using your example :Just because I don't like an over modified and ugly cars doesn't mean I hate all four wheelers.

What are the domestics doing Viru paaji? Domestics produced Sachin and Dravid? Can't they produce just 2 middle order batsman. Wait a sec..They produced Iyer Ponting and Shankar Sachin. Both of them couldnt put bat to ball.

From where did Pujara and Rahane came then? Oh and I saw someone mentioning Iyer's name as the find of IPL. Where is that guy?

Come back to me once IPL produces players like Sachin, Dravid, Sehwag, Ganguly, MSD, Yuvi, Laxman. Even Kohli came into indian team because he was the captain of indian under 19 team. IPL didn't discovered him from the streets of New Delhi.

So from my post you came to this conclusion that I want to see Lillie bowling to Sunny? It went over your head that we would still have found cricketers without doing a tamasha every year where guys like Unadkat are being paid millions?

But all you do is put words in my mouth. Now where did I say I hate T20s? Infact you can ask any other indian fan who have noticed it that I do post in International T20 match threads.

Using your example :Just because I don't like an over modified and ugly cars doesn't mean I hate all four wheelers.

Well..people have been drumming about advantages of IPL. Finding people from domestics and them flopping in internationals seems to be your way of doing things. Not anymore. IPL stands as a barricade to filter out domestic stalwart chickens. Perform under pressure or perish. While at it, it's making 500 mil USD a year, providing financial security to domestic players, improved India's LOI performances. Personal opinion and prejudice are fine but can't be used to debate when one just doesn't get it.

From where did Pujara and Rahane came then? Oh and I saw someone mentioning Iyer's name as the find of IPL. Where is that guy?

Come back to me once IPL produces players like Sachin, Dravid, Sehwag, Ganguly, MSD, Yuvi, Laxman.

Let domestics produce players like those and IPL will show if they are good enough and will facilitate their entry into Indian team.

You are a bundle of contradictions. On one had you say tamasha league but on the other you have very high expectations where you expect IPL to replace domestics. Just clear up your mind and understand that IPL does NOT replace domestics cricket. IPL needs good domestic players and India team needs good IPL players. Don't perform in IPL and one can say good bye to India LOI teams.

Personal opinion and prejudice are fine but can't be used to debate when one just doesn't get it.

I can say the same and also give you the list of players who came into indian team by playing in domestic cricket which nobody cares about. But IPL fans can't even tell names of 10 players who were found by IPL in 10 years. All we hear is how IPL helped xyz player to make a comeback. Obviously if there was no tamasha they would have played domestic/county cricket to comeback into the team.

Just say you like pyjama cricket where you have no association with any team and just want to be happy at the end of every match because you don't like losing. Some of the kids in my colony also like IPL when I asked why, they said it feels bad when India loses but it doesn't feel bad when our IPL team loses because all of them are indian.

You know what I am trying to say. Don't think cricket can be like football where internationals matter only in world cups. Cricket won't survive without internationals.

Batting have improved? Lol seriously look at our middle order. Our current team depends on 2 guys only.

What reality are you talking about?

Why don’t you talk about whole point rather than pick and choosing part of it. I talked about batting, bowling and fielding. You missed out both weaknesses we had in the past. Now our bowling and fielding is as good as any team. Test and T20 batting is still good. oDI, middle order will be fixed soon. Dhoni, jadhav, iyer need to be out. We have batsmen to replace them. Seriously man, you talk like we have hopeless team. Overall Indian cricket is doing far better than any other team currently. Hence we are no 1 in 2 of the 3 formats and will be no in t20 as well soon.

Let domestics produce players like those and IPL will show if they are good enough and will facilitate their entry into Indian team.

You are a bundle of contradictions. On one had you say tamasha league but on the other you have very high expectations where you expect IPL to replace domestics. Just clear up your mind and understand that IPL does NOT replace domestics cricket. IPL needs good domestic players and India team needs good IPL players. Don't perform in IPL and one can say good bye to India LOI teams.

Lol at high expectations from IPL and my contradictions. In your eyes IPL has already replaced domestics that is why you think players have to perform in IPL to be selected for India.

Its you IPL fans who are showcasing it as some kind of world class league. I am not confused and have been pretty clear from post one. I just asked you to name players who were found by IPL but you have no answer and are going in a loop.

Sorry but I don't expect anything from a league where guys like Unadkat are treated like Michael Jordan.

Why don’t you talk about whole point rather than pick and choosing part of it. I talked about batting, bowling and fielding. You missed out both weaknesses we had in the past. Now our bowling and fielding is as good as any team. Test and T20 batting is still good. oDI, middle order will be fixed soon. Dhoni, jadhav, iyer need to be out. We have batsmen to replace them. Seriously man, you talk like we have hopeless team. Overall Indian cricket is doing far better than any other team currently. Hence we are no 1 in 2 of the 3 formats and will be no in t20 as well soon.
Our LOI bowling is still trash. What is there to talk about? Also India has been quite a decent fielding unit for quite sometime now. Watch cricket before IPL was launched.

Our test batting has improved because of IPL I appreciate that.

Our LOI bowling is still trash. What is there to talk about? Also India has been quite a decent fielding unit for quite sometime now. Watch cricket before IPL was launched.

Our test batting has improved because of IPL I appreciate that.
I have been watching cricket since early 80s. I know how poor was our fielding and bowling until recently. We were only relying on our star batsmen to look decent as a team. We had a few great fielders in the team but never was as good as what we have now. Hardly anyone to hide in the ground. When I say bowling, I am talking overall in the last few years, not just this tri series. Bumrah, bhuvi, shami, umesh, kuldeep, ashwin, etc are some of the top class bowlers we have to choose from.
Dude, Ipl money is used to pay higher salaries for players playing in Ranji. Pension to ex cricketers, To pay for top class infrastructure. So is it not indirectly helping test team?

I have been watching cricket since early 80s. I know how poor was our fielding and bowling until recently. We were only relying on our star batsmen to look decent as a team. We had a few great fielders in the team but never was as good as what we have now. Hardly anyone to hide in the ground. When I say bowling, I am talking overall in the last few years, not just this tri series. Bumrah, bhuvi, shami, umesh, kuldeep, ashwin, etc are some of the top class bowlers we have to choose from.
Dude, Ipl money is used to pay higher salaries for players playing in Ranji. Pension to ex cricketers, To pay for top class infrastructure. So is it not indirectly helping test team?

I already appreciated IPL for improving our test batting. What more do you want? Pujara became a solid test batsman after getting an IPL contract too. His concentration level and defense too improved after getting millions into his bank account through IPL.

Lol at high expectations from IPL and my contradictions. In your eyes IPL has already replaced domestics that is why you think players have to perform in IPL to be selected for India.

Its you IPL fans who are showcasing it as some kind of world class league. I am not confused and have been pretty clear from post one. I just asked you to name players who were found by IPL but you have no answer and are going in a loop.

Sorry but I don't expect anything from a league where guys like Unadkat are treated like Michael Jordan.

What do you mean by ‘found by IPL?’ Players obviously going to play both IPL and RAnji. Good players most probably be good in both. Even if we name player you would say he has already played ranji. There are very few who become popular in IPL before Ranji. Then How can you expect 10 from limited such players. Folks here named Bumrah, Chahal. There were so many players who got dropped but came back into the teams due to performances in IPL. Rohit, Shikar, Ashwin, jadeja, Raina, Parthiv, bhuvi, rayudu, manish,etc not everyone was successful. But most of them are. Smith and maxwell for Australia. Miller for SA.

I already appreciated IPL for improving our test batting. What more do you want? Pujara became a solid test batsman after getting an IPL contract too. His concentration level and defense too improved after getting millions into his bank account through IPL.

Now you are hiding behind Sarcasm. Sorry I give up.

What do you mean by ‘found by IPL?’ Players obviously going to play both IPL and RAnji. Good players most probably be good in both. Even if we name player you would say he has already played ranji. There are very few who become popular in IPL before Ranji. Then How can you expect 10 from limited such players. Folks here named Bumrah, Chahal. There were so many players who got dropped but came back into the teams due to performances in IPL. Rohit, Shikar, Ashwin, jadeja, Raina, Parthiv, bhuvi, rayudu, manish,etc not everyone was successful. But most of them are. Smith and maxwell for Australia. Miller for SA.

Ok so you agree that players do have to play domestics and they are important? Kindly explain this to [MENTION=134505]rhony[/MENTION] sahab who thinks nobody cares about domestics. You are picking players from domestics and labelling them as a product of IPL.

Naming 10 unknown players in 10 years is too much?

Expecting a 2 month tournament to "unearth" teenagers out of Oblivion is your expectation. LOL

Expecting a 2 month circus tournament to replace domestic and international cricket is your expectation?

See slowly but steadily both of you are coming into senses. Other guy accepted that domestic cricket is important. And now you are also accepting that a 2 month long tournament can't unearth teenagers. And this is what I have been saying all along.

Kindly name those players before you give up.

I have given you 6 or 7 names in the current setup who are in the team because of IPL. I explained to you how IPL acts as a filter for domestic tigers and separates the cream. I explained to you the benefits to the players. I'm done explaining. There is something called YouTube where you can reminisce 80s cricket. All the explanations are just going over your head. Not sure if you don't understand or don't want to understand. Done here

Expecting a 2 month circus tournament to replace domestic and international cricket is your expectation?

See slowly but steadily both of you are coming into senses. Other guy accepted that domestic cricket is important. And now you are also accepting that a 2 month long tournament can't unearth teenagers. And this is what I have been saying all along.

Nope. You said you don't need IPL as IPL has done nothing. Go back and read chachu

Chachu? Looks like you are losing patience now. You yourself accepted that it can't unearth teenagers which were claimed by some of you die hard pyjama league fans.

Even after giving those names he keeps repeating the same. One of the posters above warned me this morning, I didn’t listen to him.
Really? Didn't you say IPL take players from domestic cricket? May be its going over your head. Do you know anything about scouting talent? Google it.

I think somebody needs to play the game he plays. Just take the part of his response and respond to that. You can never lose the argument. When you don’t have anything hide behind sarcasm. I don’t have patience anymore tho. Thought Better to stop it.

What game? So you talk about how test batting has improved in a thread related to IPL and want people to take you seriously? I was being generous by ignoring that funny line of yours at first but couldn't resist the second time you brought it. You neither have the patience nor anything related to my question. Don't argue just for the sake of it. You are more than welcome to leave the discussion. Bye bye.

:) now he feels he thrashed everyone with his debating skill.

Undisputed Champ hehe

On serious note, I gave up, just dont have patience as he kept switching goal post. He claims Kohli should rest from IPL then very next second urges Kohli to play county instead. When I question how much technique did Pujara improved playing in county then he just disappeared in that thread.

Quite frankly he dislikes IPL for whatever reason and nothing wrong with that. However, his claim of IPL did no good to Indian team is quite rubbish and that is something he isn't quite open to accept.

Undisputed Champ hehe

On serious note, I gave up, just dont have patience as he kept switching goal post. He claims Kohli should rest from IPL then very next second urges Kohli to play county instead. When I question how much technique did Pujara improved playing in county then he just disappeared in that thread.

Quite frankly he dislikes IPL for whatever reason and nothing wrong with that. However, his claim of IPL did no good to Indian team is quite rubbish and that is something he isn't quite open to accept.
Exactly. He deliberately misses the whole point but picks up part of it and shift the goal post. I never compared test format with IPL. All I have been saying was IPL money is being used for infrastructure and to pay higher salaries which help whole Indian cricket including test team. Anyway I am not going to waste my time anymore.

No, IPL is not overrated.
1. Helps improve the overall playing infrastructure at several different levels
2. Helps BCCI earn enough money so they can grow the game at grass-root levels in India which in turn helps budding cricketers adopt the game as a career.
3. Helps pay top Indian cricketers top money, as they deserve.
4. Improved the fielding especially a lot, and raised the level of playing an aggressive game for several players by practicing the T20 game.
5. Gave players experience in absorbing pressure.
6. Helped domestic players learn more about cricket by putting them in the same dressing room with legends and also share their experience.
7. Money from IPL is also being used to invest in Women's cricket.
8. Millions of people have a new pass-time in the evenings in terms of entertainment!
IPL is not a platform to unearth anyone, more to hone their skills and help them get used to playing in pressure conditions. If you are good enough relatively, you'll play IPL and better your skills - and make money in the process.

No, IPL is not overrated.
1. Helps improve the overall playing infrastructure at several different levels
2. Helps BCCI earn enough money so they can grow the game at grass-root levels in India which in turn helps budding cricketers adopt the game as a career.
3. Helps pay top Indian cricketers top money, as they deserve.
4. Improved the fielding especially a lot, and raised the level of playing an aggressive game for several players by practicing the T20 game.
5. Gave players experience in absorbing pressure.
6. Helped domestic players learn more about cricket by putting them in the same dressing room with legends and also share their experience.
7. Money from IPL is also being used to invest in Women's cricket.
8. Millions of people have a new pass-time in the evenings in terms of entertainment!
IPL is not a platform to unearth anyone, more to hone their skills and help them get used to playing in pressure conditions. If you are good enough relatively, you'll play IPL and better your skills - and make money in the process.
We have been saying these points through out this thread. No answer for any of them from Indian IPL haters. They feel we get players like Sachin and Dravid every decade without doing anything at grass root level , with the infrastructure, cricket culture, etc

Great example here is Pak which was producing talent like wasim, waqar, saqlain, inzi,etc struggling to find international class players from their domestic.

Sachin, Dravid? Really? Is that your defence? Indian domestics produced Sachin so we don't need IPL.
People travelled on bullock carts so we don't need an automobile?

Indian domestics feeds the players to IPL and IPL hones them or spits them out. What does that tell you? If you are a great in doemstics, it means squat if you don't do well in IPL. It just shows you can play when there is no pressure and against trundlers. IPL even picked players from nowehere and made them famous like Bumrah and Hardik and Sundar.

Based on Sachin, Dravid comment, I have realized you just hate T20s in general and don't care where cricket is going. You want those yesteryears where Marshall and Lille were bowling to Sunny and Kapil. That's fine. Now we know not to indulge.

Good idea, why waste time and effort on explaining value of IPL. As good as playing violin in front of ...!

Even if few agree or not... IPL is the best thing happened to Indian Cricket ...optly rated for sure :19:

Exactly. He deliberately misses the whole point but picks up part of it and shift the goal post. I never compared test format with IPL. All I have been saying was IPL money is being used for infrastructure and to pay higher salaries which help whole Indian cricket including test team. Anyway I am not going to waste my time anymore.
Why can't you quote me directly rather than saying 'he does this he does that'?

Undisputed Champ hehe

Lol at me disappearing. What world are you living in? When i asked you about 'who are you to decide how much money is enough for players? And why can't they play in other leagues?' I got no answer. I can't take someone like you seriously who says county cricket isn't going to help Kohli adjust before playing against England. May be you have no idea how adjusting to conditions can help a player. Matthew Hayden(i hope you know who he was) practised in India way before the test series in India in 2001 tour. Scored bucket loads of runs in that series. Zaheer became a better bowler and helped india win in England after playing county cricket. Practise makes a player perfect. Playing in low quality pitches in Pyjama League won't help Kohli. He has to prove himself in England tour this time. Resting and then playing few matches in England will help him overcome that.

I think most probably you are just an IPL fan and don't watch cricket outside it. Otherwise you wouldn't have said things like these. Sachin, Ganguly, Dravid, Zaheer all of them played and learnt a lot from playing county cricket.

So a little bit of summary what IPL fans think and what is wrong with IPL fans :

a) IPL doesn't need international stars.

b) IPL can easily replace international cricket.

c) Nobody cares about domestic cricket but since IPL can't unearth talent we need domestic cricket to supply us players.

d) IPL > County Cricket

e) Whoever doesn't like IPL is a parosi, he/she has to say 'IPL ki jai' in order to prove that they are real indian cricket fans.

f) Only IPL fans are the real fans and they care about Indian Cricket team.

g) People hate IPL because they are jealous of players salary. Players deserve to earn as much as they can but we become hypocrites when a topic about our players playing and earning money in different league comes. In that situation they are already earning enough but they are not allowed to skip one season of Pyjama League to keep themselves fit for upcoming England tour.

Virat Kohli is going to play county cricket before England series. Shows what adjusting to condition means to him. :inti

IPL is definitely a juggernaut but I do believe it is overrated in a way. The billions of dollars the IPL has amassed and the reputation it has built in the cricketing world still hasn't been able to provide India with enough fine-tuned talent that they could comfortably be crowned the best team in the world in any format. They are certainly very good in all formats but I don't consider them the best team in any format. England outclasses them in ODIs. Australia nudges ahead in tests. Difficult to say for t20s due to the nature of the format but I won't say they are the best in the world. For the amount of cricketing talent India possesses and the money in the cricketing system as a whole, they haven't taken the world by storm as much as they could have. If they can continue churning out talent for the next 10-20 years, then we MIGHT see an Indian team that is far ahead of other nations. Until then, IPL is sort of overrated.

England outclasses India in ODIs? Really?

Australia is better in tests? Why?

Aim IPL was to get exposure to young Indian players at highest level ..also create $$$$ for BCCI. Looks like IPL achieving both ..

No one ever claimed that IPL will transform Team India into world beaters.

More than Indian fans, it's opinion of neutrals.

Currently Team India is No. 1 ranked team as per ICC in 2 difficult formats - ODI and Tests. Directly or Indirectly IPL did contributed to whatever success Team India is getting lately as per my opinion :19:

ENG because they have more ODI WC's than India currently .. oh wait no it's India not Eng.

No. 1 ranked test team, owners of Test Championship Mace from last 2 years are AUS, oh wait it's India Again :19:

England has the best LOI batting lineup in the world. They have flamboyant openers, strong middle order, world class all-rounders and extremely long tail that can bat till number 10/11. Their bowling is solid as well purely because of the variety they get due to playing so many all-rounders. They are strong favorites to win the world cup next year. India has a good batting order but they don't have the firepower that England possesses throughout their lineup.

The gap between Australia and India in tests is definitely smaller than the one between England and India in ODIs. I still consider Australia to be ahead purely because of the pace bowlers they possess and the individual brilliance of Smith, who is better than any other test batsman in the Indian team. Both these teams perform differently in different playing conditions, but that's a whole other arguement.

England has the best LOI batting lineup in the world. They have flamboyant openers, strong middle order, world class all-rounders and extremely long tail that can bat till number 10/11. Their bowling is solid as well purely because of the variety they get due to playing so many all-rounders. They are strong favorites to win the world cup next year. India has a good batting order but they don't have the firepower that England possesses throughout their lineup.

The gap between Australia and India in tests is definitely smaller than the one between England and India in ODIs. I still consider Australia to be ahead purely because of the pace bowlers they possess and the individual brilliance of Smith, who is better than any other test batsman in the Indian team. Both these teams perform differently in different playing conditions, but that's a whole other arguement.

Couldn't agree with you more here. India seems to lack the power game in the last 10 overs. Unless one of the top 3 stays till the 50th over that is. England has a gun batting lineup all the way upto Willey who can whack a few. They can regularly score 350+. The test series is the more anticipated one but ODIs are going to fantastic.

AUS can compete in any conditions and so can India. However, AUS can win against SA and ENG away. India still has a way to go.

Another fact people ignore is the rise in contracts.\

In 2007, the top contract in India was Rs 60 lacs.

In 2018, the top contract is Rs 7 crore.

That is more than an 11 times increase. Surely inflation and increase in International revenue is not the only cause.

http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2007/sep/27contracts.htm
https://scroll.in/field/871176/pay-...-new-contract-structure-for-indian-cricketers

These are just international cricketers. What is more striking is the money being learnt by domestic cricketers who do not play international cricket. They can now earn enough to have a proper career in Cricket. Even for those cricketers who only play Ranji.

Let ENG win some silver ware before taking them seriously ODI's - Darren Lehman said something similar after ENG won ODI series recently, tend to agree with him ! ENG yet prove themselves when pressure is on like SA in all important knockout stages.

Test... Looks like AUS not doing much better in SA now, lost 3-0 to SL... Hmm let's see when Ind tour down under later, will know who is the best :19:

You talked about strength of both teams. How about the weaknesses and recent performances?

How about England bowling? India ODI bowling is more balanced and better than England. England being better team is your opinion, not the fact. As per icc ranking and recent performances India is better than them.

How about Australia batt8ng in test? India have a better batting line up. I don’t see much difference between the two. They are struggling against SA now. Same team India did far better with no preparation.

Lol at me disappearing. What world are you living in? When i asked you about 'who are you to decide how much money is enough for players? And why can't they play in other leagues?' I got no answer. I can't take someone like you seriously who says county cricket isn't going to help Kohli adjust before playing against England. May be you have no idea how adjusting to conditions can help a player. Matthew Hayden(i hope you know who he was) practised in India way before the test series in India in 2001 tour. Scored bucket loads of runs in that series. Zaheer became a better bowler and helped india win in England after playing county cricket. Practise makes a player perfect. Playing in low quality pitches in Pyjama League won't help Kohli. He has to prove himself in England tour this time. Resting and then playing few matches in England will help him overcome that.

I think most probably you are just an IPL fan and don't watch cricket outside it. Otherwise you wouldn't have said things like these. Sachin, Ganguly, Dravid, Zaheer all of them played and learnt a lot from playing county cricket.

So a little bit of summary what IPL fans think and what is wrong with IPL fans :

c) Nobody cares about domestic cricket but since IPL can't unearth talent we need domestic cricket to supply us players.

d) IPL > County Cricket

e) Whoever doesn't like IPL is a parosi, he/she has to say 'IPL ki jai' in order to prove that they are real indian cricket fans.

g) People hate IPL because they are jealous of players salary. Players deserve to earn as much as they can but we become hypocrites when a topic about our players playing and earning money in different league comes. In that situation they are already earning enough but they are not allowed to skip one season of Pyjama League to keep themselves fit for upcoming England tour.

So your point is basically that IPL has not produced the likes of Shadab and Hasan Ali who had very little domestic games ( IIRC <10 List A matches) who got in through PSL performances. Seems simple enough to prove wrong...

if you read that list again, none of them is related to topic we have been discussing in thsi thread. read thsi post 270. that provides the summary of what we have been discussing. he had no answer for that.. he will never respond to that post if what I understand of him is correct.

I hope, next year, my fellow Pakistanis will not take out 10 different threads trying to prove PSL is better than IPL in myriad different ways. This year's IPL is for everyone to see and remember for next time.

I personally didn't watch a single game - but caught enough glimpses here and there and read enough to know it was massive, had good player representation and garnered eyeballs all other T20 leagues can only dream of.

Truth is, these T20 tournaments matter most to the country sponsoring it. No point comparing one to the other. Each has it's own significance. Best to just enjoy them.

d) IPL > County Cricket

why pujara is still a sitting duck in overseas conditions even after the tremendous county experience he got till now? Why kohli outscored everyone in his most recent overseas series eventhough he spent less than a week practicing in the conditions?

This whole idea "IPL is overrated" misses the simple point that the rest of the world does not care about what the critics may think.

I have the freedom to think that the World Cup Football is really an inferior sporting event, but for the rest of the world it is by far the biggest sporting event.

You may continue disliking IPL, while it keeps getting bigger and the very best players worldwide line up to play. It is already by far the biggest yearly cricketing event, and in a few years may even end up being bigger than the WCC (which has a lot fewer games than an IPL season).

Only watched the first ever season. All I can remember is the Paksitani bowlers found it easy pickings. If I can recall Sohail Tanvir took the most wickets?

IPL is very over-rated. Its all Bollywood style hype with most money in cricket, nothing more.

So it seems you are relevant back in 2008. Thanks for visiting. Come again. 🙏

So it seems you are relevant back in 2008. Thanks for visiting. Come again. &#55357;&#56911;

No thanks, wasted enough hours watching Bollywood tamasha in 2008. I will never watch a min of an IPL match again, thanks for the invitation.

What game? So you talk about how test batting has improved in a thread related to IPL and want people to take you seriously? I was being generous by ignoring that funny line of yours at first but couldn't resist the second time you brought it. You neither have the patience nor anything related to my question. Don't argue just for the sake of it. You are more than welcome to leave the discussion. Bye bye.

haha i did warned you bro what you getting into. Glad now you realized :misbah

[/B]

Good idea, why waste time and effort on explaining value of IPL. As good as playing violin in front of ...!

Even if few agree or not... IPL is the best thing happened to Indian Cricket ...optly rated for sure :19:

Couldn't agree with you more here. India seems to lack the power game in the last 10 overs. Unless one of the top 3 stays till the 50th over that is. England has a gun batting lineup all the way upto Willey who can whack a few. They can regularly score 350+. The test series is the more anticipated one but ODIs are going to fantastic.

AUS can compete in any conditions and so can India. However, AUS can win against SA and ENG away. India still has a way to go.

Why is it so difficult for Bhaag to understand that if you have a league which provides an income to young cricketers, it will lead to many more players being able to develop their talents?

No thanks, wasted enough hours watching Bollywood tamasha in 2008. I will never watch a min of an IPL match again, thanks for the invitation.

Fair enough. But then you are in no position to be judging the league are you? Since you haven't watched it in 10 years now.

Depends what perspective you have. For many of Indian and international players who these days get picked in national teams based upon IPL performance, it is certainly not overhyped. Same goes for a lot of players who are minting millions through IPL.

But if the question is that from overall cricketing scenario, has IPL contributed as much as it's percieved to be, then the answer is clear NO.

IPL has absolutely no impact on overall cricketing standard, perhaps marginally on overall batting strike rate but that's about it. It has no contribution whatsoever on fielding or bowling standards. Thanks to flat pitches and small grounds, fast bowlers have become a commodity with little impact on the games.

Depends what perspective you have. For many of Indian and international players who these days get picked in national teams based upon IPL performance, it is certainly not overhyped. Same goes for a lot of players who are minting millions through IPL.

But if the question is that from overall cricketing scenario, has IPL contributed as much as it's percieved to be, then the answer is clear NO.

IPL has absolutely no impact on overall cricketing standard, perhaps marginally on overall batting strike rate but that's about it. It has no contribution whatsoever on fielding or bowling standards. Thanks to flat pitches and small grounds, fast bowlers have become a commodity with little impact on the games.

If anything the impact of IPL has been stronger to cricket generally than for the players themselves. It's the most popular advert of the game. And it's got that tough matches which is often missing in international matches. The emphasis of fielding, fitness has improved tremendously led by IPL. Add scouting network being boosted hugely.

IPL ultimately has moved cricket from a rich-people game to common man game. It has allowed more people access to the highest level. Young people grow up dreaming to play. It was said T20s, would lead to death of spinners, turns out it's booming spinners. So how wrong are the so called experts.

Its been more than a month since IPL, and we are still discussing this!

If anything IPL seems to be underrated on IPL. I just read a poster calling IPL's quality poor based on the one season he saw in 2008.

Despite of your not watching, it has been growing at a healthy rate, thanks for not watching it.