Is the reunification of India & Pakistan possible in the near future?

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
A reunification of Bharat and Pakistan might seem unlikely today, but history has shown that divided nations can come together under the right circumstances.

One of the most well-known examples is Germany, which was split into East and West for over four decades due to ideological and geopolitical tensions. Yet, with the fall of the Berlin Wall and the decline of the Soviet Union, the country reunified peacefully.

Similarly, Vietnam, which was divided after colonial rule, eventually reunited following years of conflict.

Yemen also spent decades as two separate states before merging into one nation again.

Even the United States, torn apart by the Civil War, ultimately remained a single country despite deep regional and ideological differences.

Bharat and Pakistan share a common history, culture, and heritage that predates their division in 1947. The languages, traditions, and family ties across the border continue to connect people on both sides.

A reunified subcontinent could emerge as an economic powerhouse, benefiting from increased trade and reduced military tensions. The potential for economic cooperation, much like the European Union model, could pave the way for closer political ties. Geopolitical shifts, such as the decline of external interference, could create conditions for South Asian integration.

If future generations begin to see unity as beneficial, political leadership might follow.

IMG_9385.jpeg

While significant challenges remain, including religious and political differences, history suggests that when economic, cultural, and geopolitical factors align, reunification is not impossible. The idea may seem distant now, but history has shown that nations once thought to be permanently divided can find their way back together.

Both sets will be equally contempt and may say "why to put outside garbage on ur head instead of living peacefully ".At this rate pak may bring near zero value to India. Only neighbours such as China, afg, Iran, bng may be interested

Imali ka boota, beri ka ped
Imali khatti meethe ber
Iss jangal mein hum do sher
Chal ghar jaldi ho gayi der

Jis din se tu rooth gaya
Teri kasam dil toot gaya
Na jaane kab raat huyi
Na jaane kab saver

I must say that the relationship between Bharat and Pakistan, the two brave sons of Ancient Mahabharat, often mirrors the poignant story of Veer Singh and Thakur Rajeshwar Singh from the iconic Hindi film Saudagar. Once bound by brotherhood, trust, and shared dreams, the partition of Bharat in 1947 tore them apart—just as a misunderstanding divided the two friends in the film. The warmth of unity was replaced by a deep-seated bitterness, born from wounds inflicted on both sides.

Imagine two brothers who once built castles in the air together, laughing and crying over the same dreams, only to find themselves on opposing sides of a border. Their shared childhood becomes a distant memory, overshadowed by conflict. Misunderstandings grow like weeds, nurtured by fear, politics, and the echo of old grievances. With every passing decade, the memories of their golden days slip further away, replaced by barbed wires and mistrust.

But like Veeru and Rajeshwar, their hearts are not devoid of longing. Beneath the frosty surface lies an aching desire to reconcile. It is in the shared culture, music, and food, where echoes of the old bond resurface. The ghazals of Ghulam Ali, the poetry of Faiz, and the shared aroma of biryani are reminders of a time when they were one.

The tragedy, though, lies in how pride and politics hold them captive. Just as the two friends in Saudagar required the innocence and determination of younger generations to break the cycle of hatred, Bharat and Pakistan too need the courage to bridge their divide.

At the heart of this tale is an unshed tear, a hand stretched across an invisible border, waiting to be held. Like in the film, the question lingers: how long before the bonds of humanity overpower the shadows of history? For just as Veeru and Rajeshwar rediscover their love through a shared tragedy, perhaps Bharat and Pakistan, too, might one day find their peace in the shared yearning for a future free of enmity—a future where they stand together, not as enemies, but as family once again.

For no wounds are greater than the deepest wounds of the human heart.
- Love & Peace 🫶🏻🙏🏻

IMG_9399.jpeg

Reunification isn't that important in the long run. Trade is already making the global south an important hub, and this will only continue. Better to look at the the region as a whole, Pakistan and India will have to fit in with that, including the middle east and far east and all the implications that brings.

Hell to the No!!

Pakistan is for Muslims and it is Islamic land. They are not compatible with Dharmic religions. The only way both can reunite is if entire Pakistan makes Gharwapsi or both countries give up religion and realize they are people from the same root bulb. Since that is not happening, its useless to discuss such topics.

Ewww never! We share nothing in common with Indians especially Hindu Indians.

Kerala Indians seem quite cool, but they are very different. Hindus from other areas like Maharashtra and what's left of Bengal seem really weird.

Maharashtra Hindu’s i.e. Marathas defeated and finished Mughals from India, Kerala and TN Hindus were not having that guts…

No thank you - but I would like to see better relations in the future

Ewww never! We share nothing in common with Indians especially Hindu Indians.
Funny thing is, grandmaster club saudis, bucket both al-bakis and injians as al-hindis.

Miskeen is the common attribute associated to al-hindis.

As in poor. And wretched. You do have sumfin in common with injians.

I pity those Indians (if they exist) who actually want the unification of Pakistan and India.

Funny thing is, grandmaster club saudis, bucket both al-bakis and injians as al-hindis.

Miskeen is the common attribute associated to al-hindis.

As in poor. And wretched. You do have sumfin in common with injians.
Maybe you seek your validation from Arabs. I dont. Thats the difference between me and you, indian.

Let it all out. Vent your anger, frustrations and hatred first. These wounds of heart are the most difficult to cure. Reunification cannot happen until there is healing of the heart. It is generational built up trauma. I do not blame anyone. But my advise is to let it out and clear your conscience. I

Maybe you seek your validation from Arabs. I dont. Thats the difference between me and you, indian.

We must seek validation from the almighty only brother. You from Allah and me from Bhagwan. We may never different philosophies but in our hearts we want to be good sons of the God and be accepted in heaven after our time on this beautiful planet is done.

I pity those Indians (if they exist) who actually want the unification of Pakistan and India.
Indeed.
There can be and should be no reunification. The separation between India and Pakistan is final and irreversible. Almost all Indians and Pakistanis have accepted this too, and have moved ahead with their lives.
It's only some Punjabis with their 'jinay Lahore nai vekhya...' nonsense that have this silly reunification nostalgia going on.

Indeed.
There can be and should be no reunification. The separation between India and Pakistan is final and irreversible. Almost all Indians and Pakistanis have accepted this too, and have moved ahead with their lives.
It's only some Punjabis with their 'jinay Lahore nai vekhya...' nonsense that have this silly reunification nostalgia going on.
Those punjabis and/or the Indians (based on social media) who incessantly lust on Pakistani women/men.

We must seek validation from the almighty only brother. You from Allah and me from Bhagwan. We may never different philosophies but in our hearts we want to be good sons of the God and be accepted in heaven after our time on this beautiful planet is done.
Agreed, i have seen Indians trying to put down their fellow Indian muslims and Pakistanis by telling them how Arabs think of them as if we care? We look down on Arabs ourselves. That does not matter.

They also forget that what those Arabs think of them, the Hindus - nothing less than pagan subhumans and expendables.

Some people like @Farhan The Man really need injections of self respect because they clearly dont have a shred of it.

Those punjabis and/or the Indians (based on social media) who incessantly lust on Pakistani women/men.
The half-wits on social media don't represent the entire country. Most Indians don't want anything to do with Pakistan, thank you.

Population exchange will be a better idea. Give us all the minorities- Hindus, Christians, Sikhs and other non-Muslim religions. Let’s see how many will take that deal to come to India.

Similarly Pakistan/Bangladesh can offer all the “oppressed Muslims” of India a great deal to come to their Islamic utopia. That way the concerns of some over here will be addressed. Let’s see how many take that deal 👍

Maybe come up with a deal to protect historical temples/mosques/gurudwaras or other religious significant places on both sides with a pilgrimage visa.

Best solution.

Agreed, i have seen Indians trying to put down their fellow Indian muslims and Pakistanis by telling them how Arabs think of them as if we care? We look down on Arabs ourselves. That does not matter.

They also forget that what those Arabs think of them, the Hindus - nothing less than pagan subhumans and expendables.

Some people like @Farhan The Man really need injections of self respect because they clearly dont have a shred of it.
Apart from ethnic Arabs everyone is treated the same in Arab countries. You need to take a visa to their country for religious obligations not the other way around. So they have a sense of superiority when it comes to other Muslims. Not saying that is correct.

They might hate Hindus but at least look at us on equal terms now. Check all the high civilian awards for Modi. I have seen Pak PM’s annd anrmy chiefs almost in “Jahapanah tofah kubul karo” mode when meeting Arabs.

Also as I asked you before what “phesal race” do you think you belong to 🤣

Let’s not resort to that brother.
If some people praise beauty in Pakistan, you must take it positively. Appreciating beauty is natural. Let’s not call it lust.

We must be forward looking people. What’s done is done. We must build a better future now for future generations for whom i call for reunification.

Also would like to clarify that when i talk about reunification i am not calling for Sanatani flags hoisted in Lahore or something but i am calling for greater autonomy for every region within the subcontinent under one truly secular and progressive nation which can stand up to US, China.

I envision a united Bharat where your grand kids are well looked after, are super safe, have the best education, healthcare and jobs and live a prosperous life practicing their faith with freedom.

It’s easy to say this for you but ask us Punjabis who still hide the trauma of partition in our hearts. Lahore lives in the heart of every Punjabi in Bharat. It’s the heart and soul of Punjab and you can draw any lines in the map but you cannot draw these lines in our hearts. Partition has left wounds that never got healed and never will. The very name of Punjab is derived from the 5 rivers which run separately in two countries today’s

Much of the subcontinent is one nation. Those Pakistanis who say that we don’t have much in common with Bharatiyas won’t at some point hesitate to say they don’t have much in common between Punjabi, Sindhi, Baloch, Pakhtun people and those Bharatiyas who say they don’t have much in common with the Pakistanis also won’t hesitate to say at some point that Punjabis don’t have much in common with Malayali, Kannada, Gujju people.

We are not one nation because we are alike. We are one nation because together we represent the 5000 years old civilisation of this region and we must stick with each other if we are to remain secure and strong against foreign powers well into the future.

You’re thinking 20-40 years max but im thinking 500 years and where the world might be heading and the wars that aren’t at our doorsteps yet but they will be and we must get to together before someone takes advantage of our so called differences that we blew out of proportions.

Apart from ethnic Arabs everyone is treated the same in Arab countries. You need to take a visa to their country for religious obligations not the other way around. So they have a sense of superiority when it comes to other Muslims. Not saying that is correct.

They might hate Hindus but at least look at us on equal terms now. Check all the high civilian awards for Modi. I have seen Pak PM’s annd anrmy chiefs almost in “Jahapanah tofah kubul karo” mode when meeting Arabs.

Do you really think a common Arab thinks of you as equal? Like this is extremely deluded. By your own logic, I thought Modi was India’s PM and not Hindu’s PM? So how come they feel superior to Indian Muslims since you claimed they think of Indians as equal? Your post has a lot of logical flaws.

Let’s not resort to that brother.
If some people praise beauty in Pakistan, you must take it positively. Appreciating beauty is natural. Let’s not call it lust.
I dont mind the comments usually, why would i mind praise? But i saw some really disturbing comments off late which was more in the line of we should take their women etc.

It’s easy to say this for you but ask us Punjabis who still hide the trauma of partition in our hearts. Lahore lives in the heart of every Punjabi in Bharat. It’s the heart and soul of Punjab and you can draw any lines in the map but you cannot draw these lines in our hearts. Partition has left wounds that never got healed and never will. The very name of Punjab is derived from the 5 rivers which run separately in two countries today’s
I can sympathise with such sentiments if they come from the Punjabi Hindu and Sikh elders who saw the partition riots first hand and had to escape to India to save their lives. Their nostalgia for a long lost homeland where they spent their childhood and young days can be understood.
Can't figure out why it should come from youngsters who were born decades after the partition. Just accept it and move on.

I think Indian women are kind, and always have good things to say. But some indian men on twitter make some dreadful comments. Borderline disturbing.
Like I said before, the Indian half-wits on social media don't represent the entire population.
And as for comments, Pakistani half-wits on social media aren't exactly kind to India either. Borderline disturbing too.

I am of the opinion that we need to fragment away Kashmir, and everything east of west bengal. a leaner, more economically vibrant and socio economical stable india is likely to be more powerful.

Kashmir I feel we have bungled so terribly that it is a lost cause. It would not be possible to earn the trust of the citizens of Kashmir. We nearly did the same in Punjab. India does not understand how to handle internal rife - you use dialogue, negotiation and town halls, not draconian policing.

Now why on earth would we want to add the mess that is Balochistan, and have a common border with the Taliban? Do we not already have enough a drug trade problem?

And as for the Pakistanis, there is a deep rooted suspicion that Hindus would not share power with them. They stand to gain nothing except maybe access to some fine centers of education.

I dont mind the comments usually, why would i mind praise? But i saw some really disturbing comments off late which was more in the line of we should take their women etc.

That’s a darker side of the web we must stay away from. Go out there in the real life. The real divide is the class divide. People of similar education and class level to you will not misbehave with you anywhere in Bharat. The ones who do are likely to misbehave Hindu women too. The more people realize this the better. Majority of people on PP
are very alike. There’s a reason why we all found our way to this forum. We have to see the similarities first. I have a funny people most of Papers even look the same in real life probably ☺️

I can sympathise with such sentiments if they come from the Punjabi Hindu and Sikh elders who saw the partition riots first hand and had to escape to India to save their lives. Their nostalgia for a long lost homeland where they spent their childhood and young days can be understood.
Can't figure out why it should come from youngsters who were born decades after the partition. Just accept it and move on.

The connection is with the land and dates back millenniums. I have no issue with those who are extremely forward looking but you all also must understand those of us who hold history dear and remain connected to the roots. Partition of Bharat wasn’t a very efficient process, in fact the British butchered it. It changed us as people, people don’t realize we weren’t always like this. Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs coexisted for centuries despite the wars. The hastily arranged division of our country has ruined harmony in this region like never before in history. The history of coexistence is now almost unfathomable. You have generations long peaceful neighbours turning into blood thirsty murdered overnight because some white man in London was asked to draw lines on a map who had never even visited our country.

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

I think Indian women are kind, and always have good things to say. But some indian men on twitter make some dreadful comments. Borderline disturbing.

Women are like that in general. I am sure the Pakistani women also aren’t extremely hostile to us. Credit to them.

There are the odd weird ones always. I have come across them but i just pity their lack of comprehensive knowledge and a poor upbringing. Couple of years ago one of your female cricket anchor got into trouble for some silly tweet she made in past about hindus. People can be stupid in their little misinformed bubble. 99% of the times when people travel and leave their bubble they tend to act more responsibly. It’s essential
for peaceful coexistence. Even if it’s fake it’s the wise thing to do. The most bigoted people tend to be loners or internet trolls who don’t have a great circle.

I am of the opinion that we need to fragment away Kashmir, and everything east of west bengal. a leaner, more economically vibrant and socio economical stable india is likely to be more powerful.

Kashmir I feel we have bungled so terribly that it is a lost cause. It would not be possible to earn the trust of the citizens of Kashmir. We nearly did the same in Punjab. India does not understand how to handle internal rife - you use dialogue, negotiation and town halls, not draconian policing.

Now why on earth would we want to add the mess that is Balochistan, and have a common border with the Taliban? Do we not already have enough a drug trade problem?

And as for the Pakistanis, there is a deep rooted suspicion that Hindus would not share power with them. They stand to gain nothing except maybe access to some fine centers of education.

Every historical region must be retained to its old glory as much as possible.

Kashmir, Punjab, Sindh, Baloch, North Eastern tribes, South Indian states etc must all be retained to their glory as much as we can and they must be given a great degree of autonomy within a secular democratic constitution.

Do you really think a common Arab thinks of you as equal? Like this is extremely deluded. By your own logic, I thought Modi was India’s PM and not Hindu’s PM? So how come they feel superior to Indian Muslims since you claimed they think of Indians as equal? Your post has a lot of logical flaws.
I don’t care what common Arabs think. Some Indians too have racist tropes about Arabs. I am talking about the India vs Arab countries - trade, diplomacy etc happens on equal terms. Pakistan seems like subordinate country. If it gives a chuckle to someone that’s ok but doesn’t change the fact.

Your PM says things like “we didn’t come here to beg” in Arab countries.

When Indian Pm goes it is on equal terms.

You could say the same about Pakistani men to be fair.

Pakistani men also in general are very kind and realistic. Especially in the last few days with the reach of the r YouTube to remote areas of Pakistan, many of us in Bharat had an eye opening feeling. This is the basis of my call for reunification. People aren’t bad. There’s a lot of propaganda and politics keeping us apart resulting in weak nations vulnerable to foreign threats in the future.

Kashmir, Punjab, Sindh, Baloch, North Eastern tribes, South Indian states etc must all be retained to their glory as much as we can and they must be given a great degree of autonomy within a secular democratic constitution.
If India and Pakistan were to unite, the first order of business would likely be renaming cities with muslim-sounding names to ones with hindu-sounding names. :inti

Lahore and Karachi are already Hindu origin names. Not sure what Islamabad was called back in the day, but maybe “Hindpur” would be a good name :sarf

There’s a reason why it’s not happening anytime soon. We would have to get to another level of intellect as people to get there. It’s going to be down to our future generations. We are only sowing the seeds for no more wars and bad blood.

I think India , Pakistan and Bangladesh are happy to be separate countries.

We all have our own multiple identities and are not looking for unification.

Germans and Vietnamese were a single identity.. from centuries including religion.

India Pakistan are more along Ireland-UK

Reunification is highly unlikely and would defeat the purpose of 1947 partition.

As a matter of fact, I think we may see another partition in India in the future. :inti

Reunification is highly unlikely and would defeat the purpose of 1947 partition.

As a matter of fact, I think we may see another partition in India in the future. :inti
More likely that Bangladesh would partition. Democracies have strong roots and foundations unlike dictatorships. Thats the crux. The future of Ban is very bleak no matter how you spin it. Ind is no way perfect but the roots are pretty strong.

Oh hello nòooooooo..

India doesn't need anymore madarassa level intellect. Pakistan is what it is today for a reason, always thankful to Mohammad Ali Jinnah....

I ideally would love to see 2-3 more Indian partitions. :inti

A smaller India could be excellent for the region in terms of peace and stability.

What old glory ? Getting trounced by central Asian tribesmen ? Being defeated by a trading company ?

People of our regions have historically been weak and decadent. The more we evolve, the better our chances for prosperity. Ideas of Pakistan and to some extent Bharat are part of that evolution but old habits are hard to forget.

India btw is doing alright. Complete reunification (capture of Pakistan) is not in there interest (they can hardly control Kashmir) so they have employed indirect method. Incompetence of our rulers and passivity of our nation has put India in a very strong position. Their growing influence in Washington means that even our generals are now in their bag. Regime change in 2022 was massive victory for Indians. What suits India now is further fragmentation of Pakistan and our inept generals are on it. Indians will have plenty to celebrate in regard to Pakistan in next 10-20 years and I am not talking about sports.

May Allah give us strength !

What old glory ? Getting trounced by central Asian tribesmen ? Being defeated by a trading company ?

People of our regions have historically been weak and decadent. The more we evolve, the better our chances for prosperity. Ideas of Pakistan and to some extent Bharat are part of that evolution but old habits are hard to forget.

India btw is doing alright. Complete reunification (capture of Pakistan) is not in there interest (they can hardly control Kashmir) so they have employed indirect method. Incompetence of our rulers and passivity of our nation has put India in a very strong position. Their growing influence in Washington means that even our generals are now in their bag. Regime change in 2022 was massive victory for Indians. What suits India now is further fragmentation of Pakistan and our inept generals are on it. Indians will have plenty to celebrate in regard to Pakistan in next 10-20 years and I am not talking about sports.

Oh bhai, we Indians like to feel powerful but itne bhi nahi ki every little problem in Pakistan is created by us. :ROFLMAO:
@Major : What does your ISPR say about this was India involved in the Pakistan regime change in 2022? :yk2 :snack:

We look down on Arabs ourselves.
That's untrue.

When you choose to talk to your personal god in their language. And their dialect. And not your own.
When you cover up your women in their garb. And not your own.
When you name your kids in their customs. And not your own.

You feverishly voice their causes. Al'a palistin and not kashmir. Nor balochistan.

It makes me laugh when Indians do chest thumping about old glory. What old glory exactly? :inti

Prior to Mughals and other Islamic empires, the region was divided into many small kingdoms. There was nothing called "India".

We are the bravest people in the world. No empire has ever conquered us.

Oh bhai, we Indians like to feel powerful but itne bhi nahi ki every little problem in Pakistan is created by us. :ROFLMAO:
@Major : What does your ISPR say about this was India involved in the Pakistan regime change in 2022? :yk2 :snack:
ISPR can't even name India these days in their press conferences. They are busy bullying weaker Afghanis.

India media has fed its populace this lie that India is all innocent and people of Pakistan are 'brainwashed' by military to hate india. This lie will be more exposed in coming years. Gen Bajwa was willing to do nothing after Balakot strike and if not for Imran Khan decision to retaliate next day, Indian strikes would have become the norm in Pakistan. Ultimately, India wants to do to Pakistan what Israel is doing to Palestinians. Our corrupt elite and few misguided Punjabi nationalists (who hate idea of Pakistan) are not prepared for what is to come.

ISPR can't even name India these days in their press conferences. They are busy bullying weaker Afghanis.

India media has fed its populace this lie that India is all innocent and people of Pakistan are 'brainwashed' by military to hate india. This lie will be more exposed in coming years. Gen Bajwa was willing to do nothing after Balakot strike and if not for Imran Khan decision to retaliate next day, Indian strikes would have become the norm in Pakistan. Ultimately, India wants to do to Pakistan what Israel is doing to Palestinians. Our corrupt elite and few misguided Punjabi nationalists (who hate idea of Pakistan) are not prepared for what is to come.
Did you watch the lastest press conference by ISPR? 90% of it was India this, India that. First learn and see what your own media and govt. does before making baseless claims about othes. Know your own country first my man and......
Please get over the cult following of IK, he did nothing special.

Did you watch the lastest press conference by ISPR? 90% of it was India this, India that. First learn and see what your own media and govt. does before making baseless claims about othes. Know your own country first my man and......
Please get over the cult following of IK, he did nothing special.
Did he used the name 'India' ? Granted I don't watch these duffers anymore so you maybe right. Shifting blame on India for this particular incident maybe their tactic to deflect blame.

Cult following of IK ? Ofcourse an Indian will say that. :afridi:coffee:

Did he used the name 'India' ? Granted I don't watch these duffers anymore so you maybe right. Shifting blame on India for this particular incident maybe their tactic to deflect blame.

Cult following of IK ? Ofcourse an Indian will say that. :afridi
Bhai... Dekh liya karo actual direct conferences.... aiven hi assumption par mat ghumo.
He didnt even give much details about the train Hijack and rescue (barely 5 mins) about 2 hrs were spent on India India naam jaap.

Bhaiya, Modi Bhakt bhi aise hi galiyaan dete hain. Koi na, I dont see much difference Modi, Trump and IK followers. and its fun seeing their reaction when you lump them in one group :ROFLMAO:

Bhai... Dekh liya karo actual direct conferences.... aiven hi assumption par mat ghumo.
He didnt even give much details about the train Hijack and rescue (barely 5 mins) about 2 hrs were spent on India India naam jaap.

Bhaiya, Modi Bhakt bhi aise hi galiyaan dete hain. Koi na, I dont see much difference Modi, Trump and IK followers. and its fun seeing their reaction when you lump them in one group :ROFLMAO:
Konsi gali ? And I respect followers of Modi in India. Atleast they are honest in their hate for Pakistan and in their idea of bharat. Congress is more dangerous for Pakistan. Their followers are baghal mein churi types.

Being a patriot for your respective nation is one thing, but being a cult follower of a leader and putting him over everything in the nation is moronic.
and again, like the Bhakts, MAGA tumpers aap nahi samjhogi, geo-politics is not a zero sum game but simpletions only know "meri jeet teri haar" its easy to understand for the simple minded.

Being a patriot for your respective nation is one thing, but being a cult follower of a leader and putting him over everything in the nation is moronic.
and again, like the Bhakts, MAGA tumpers aap nahi samjhogi, geo-politics is not a zero sum game but simpletions only know "meri jeet teri haar" its easy to understand for the simple minded.
You must feel really cool while labelling others as cult followers :afridi

The cuisine of the reunified Mahabharat will be unmatched in the entire world.

We will conquer both vegetarian and non vegetarian cuisine segments