Junaid Khan vs Mohammad Amir

dude dont make the comparisons yet lol...but we saw that both can perform exceptionally well on bowling tracks...left ireland with a great average and 6 wickets to his name

LOL, the only way that Pakistan will find a bowler as good as Amir in the next 10 years is if they bring Amir back when his ban expires.

Wonder if he'll get some confidence from Ireland series. Got a rough start to his career, but I think there is potential in the guy. Still don't see him as another Amir though. You lost a once in a lifetime guy there.

LOL, the only way that Pakistan will find a bowler as good as Amir in the next 10 years is if they bring Amir back when his ban expires.

We might find a bowler who can bowl as effectively as Amir can when he left us in the ten next ten years, but we won't find a cricketer as talented and with as much potential. The way he had such control of the swinging ball at such a young age was really, really freakish.

I wouldn't say that, Waqar didn't debut too long after Wasim so I am pretty sure Pakistan will find someone like that in a couple of years and if he is nurtured well then could be as good as Amir and hopefully will not be a cheat like Amir

can anyone remember the name of that 'sixteen' year old who was taking lots of wickets for the u-19s a couple of years back? Not Anwar Ali, it was a bit later than that. I'm usuallly good with names but his escapes me.

edit: not amir either lol, tall looking, right arm.

I find it laughable when people expect Junaid to fill the gap left by Amir. You’re setting yourself up for disappointment there. Also it’s quite unfair on Junaid.

This comparison is a joke and just shows that "some" specific fans have far too much expectations on young Junaid Khan.

Aamer was a rare talent, a talent that only got better and better. Aamer is a type of player that is produced on the cricket stage every 5-10 years or even more. He's the type of player who's labelled as a gift, such as Tendulkar is a gift for India and Kallis is a gift for South Africa. Aamer was simply on a different level and this comparison just doesn't make any sense, despite both of the being young and being left hand bowlers.

Those specific PP'ers need to realise that Junaid Khan is no where near Aamer - and please don't expect him to shine as big as Aamer, I'm not ruling out that he may shine as much as Aamer but I can't personally see it happening - the expectations on Junaid from some fans are too high for Junaid's shoulders, and those expectations need to be changed.

Junaid is different. Junaid is no Aamer and will never be an Aamer, this comparison is a joke in my opinion.

I haven't seen every cricketer to play ever but IMO Amir was the best fast bowler in history at 17-18. Not the best achievement because only a proportion of bowlers begin their international careers at that age, but it's still true.

Amir had the potential to be as good as if not better than Wasim. It's unfair comparing anyone to him.

nobody will be like amir if just he was there in 3 or4 years he can become the best bowler in the world man what the hell you did:butt to ours :amir

well one is an upcoming talent who seems to be a hard-worker and the other is a liar and a cheat. goodbye and good luck.

only similarity between the two is they are both left arm bowlers. Other than that there is no comparison

Aamer was in a different class. A future great.

Junaid is good but please, lets be realistic here.

can anyone remember the name of that 'sixteen' year old who was taking lots of wickets for the u-19s a couple of years back? Not Anwar Ali, it was a bit later than that. I'm usuallly good with names but his escapes me.

edit: not amir either lol, tall looking, right arm.

I think u are enquiring about this guy..... MOHAMMAD RAMEEZ
http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/player/270329.html

Batting and fielding averages

Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 4s 6s Ct St
First-class 29 38 13 327 30* 13.08 0 0 21 0
List A 20 14 7 138 31* 19.71 153 90.19 0 0 11 2 3 0
Twenty20 6 4 1 5 2 1.66 14 35.71 0 0 0 0 3 0

Bowling averages

Mat Inns Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 29 51 5847 2923 134 8/27 13/116 21.81 2.99 43.6 4 11 3
List A 20 20 914 748 19 4/43 4/43 39.36 4.91 48.1 1 0 0
Twenty20 6 6 126 160 5 2/24 2/24 32.00 7.61 25.2 0 0 0

so what do you guys think now about :junaid ? Is he is as good as amir?
Still to early to compare i think but i believe he's better than amir in his early days

Junaid Khan is not as good as Mohammad Amir

We have to remember, Mohammad Amir was only 18 years of age. Junaid Khan is 21 years of age and even then Amir was better.

Amir had better control and could swing it both ways. Junaid Khan is developing and could go on to become a special find, but he's still a work in progress.

I have been impressed by his T20 performances in England.

Junaid Khan is not as good as Mohammad Amir

We have to remember, Mohammad Amir was only 18 years of age. Junaid Khan is 21 years of age and even then Amir was better.

Amir had better control and could swing it both ways. Junaid Khan is developing and could go on to become a special find, but he's still a work in progress.

I have been impressed by his T20 performances in England.

Well I agree he is not better than amir YET but he could go on to be as good as him or perhaps better.

Buttah what you have done! And posters saying that aamir could have been future great are unaware of the fact that he was a fixer. A fixer could never become great! God knows how many more he would have fixed!

Mohammed Amir is a once-in-a-generation bowler...at worst!

And if it wasnt for you, he'd be tearing into english and aussie batting lineups right now. We hate you Whippy.

On a more serious note, you do like to rub it in dont you!:)

No, because I'm a cricket fan before anything else. This means I admire Amir the cricketer but want to see an example made of Amir the man.

The difference - ones still playing for Pakistan, the other isn't

Thats all I need to know

The comparison is not even close in my opinion.

Junaid is learning, has a lot to learn, has made a decent start to his international career, but Amir one could say was quite literally the finished article at the age of 18 and there were no clear weaknesses in his bowling.

I agree with Saj and Whippy.

Amir was an unbelievable bowler.....it's easy to say this now he will never play again (and rightly so) but he would have been in the same league as the Wasims and Waqars. As long as he kept himself fit.

Junaid looks a very handy bowler but he still has a lot to learn and isn't the finished article by any means. That doesn't mean he wont have a long and successful career. I like the look of him certainly and hopefully his time in England will do him some good.

If it was any other country I wouldve ageed. But Pakistan will find someone better or atleast as good as Amir that YOU CAN BOOK, could be a few months or a year at MAX..

I understand Amir was brilliant and I am one of his biggest fans but people are just jumping to conclusions saying he was the next wasim or he was a finished article.

How can you be a finished article after 1 year of playing International Cricket?

Many bowlers rise on the international scene as the next stars but they fade away e.g. Irfan Pathan.

PS. Not comparing Pathan to Amir. Amir was my favorite bowler.

one day amir will be back and better than ever. junaid is a very good seamer but will never be as good as aamir.aamir was too quick of a learner and had a beautiful upright action whereas junaid as a quirkier action.

The comparison is not even close in my opinion.

Junaid is learning, has a lot to learn, has made a decent start to his international career, but Amir one could say was quite literally the finished article at the age of 18 and there were no clear weaknesses in his bowling.

Pretty much my own thoughts, hope after five years he doesn't make the same mistake. It's a shame that he can't even play in the next world cup.

It was never close.

.. and he needs to get rid of the soulpatch. :junaid

he is nowhere near Amir but looked very very much improved bowler today.

Junaid Khan v M Aamir

Amir after 8 tests - 21 wickets at 42.38 one 5 wicket haul.
Junaid after 8 tests - 26 wickets at 26 3 5 wicket hauls.

So by this Junaid is even better then Aamir and yet to play a match in ENG/SA..!

Amir is grossly overrated. just on basis of one awesome series people were fawning over the guy.sure he was a prodigy but if the amount of intelligence he had in his bowling, he could have used in his life he would have been playing for Pakistan now.

Junaid is very good.he is not very quick but he is accurate and can swing the ball both ways. he has a very bright future.

so yeah Junaid>>>> Amir

Sent from my MT11i using Tapatalk 2

Amir is grossly overrated. \

no he was not , watching him bowl for the first time even in t 20s you could tell that the kid was destined for greatness , he had mastery over everything , by the time the english tour came around his development was complete and anyone who watched him could tell that he was the best fast bowling talent in a long long time .

wicket maiden to dilshan in the t 20 wc final .
5 wicket maiden vs australia.
spells of reverse swing at 150 ks in australia and nz by a 17 year old.
by the english tour he was a complete bowler , it took him just an year to become one of the most complete bowlers in the game .
add to that he was more than handy with the bat , he was well on his way to greatness .
anyone who calls him overrated clearly doesnt watch the game , they probably just ask friends for score updates .

Amir is grossly overrated. just on basis of one awesome series people were fawning over the guy.sure he was a prodigy but if the amount of intelligence he had in his bowling, he could have used in his life he would have been playing for Pakistan now.

Junaid is very good.he is not very quick but he is accurate and can swing the ball both ways. he has a very bright future.

so yeah Junaid>>>> Amir

This!!

• dddd.jpg
    dddd.jpg
    152.8 KB · Views: 206
The stats are looking better for Junaid at this point (on flatter pitches) so that bodes well for him.

However he is not as brisk as Amir, and if you also consider how young Amir was (is) I think Amir may have had the potential to be a better bowler than Junaid.

If Junaid can ramp up his pace a bit I think he will get a lot more fans on this forum :p

was he talented? yes
was he very good in whatever he played? yes
was he destined for greatness? we will never know.
was he a once in generation bowler? probably/probably not

and don't compare him to wasim. wasim is poster boy for once in a generation bowler

:facepalm: at people comparing Amir and Junaid's stats. There's a good 3 years age difference and at their respective ages that makes a big difference. A fast bowlers main growth is from the age of 18 to 25. In those 3 series in Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand he averaged over 40 but I would like to see any other bowler having a sub 50 average at the age of 17-18 there.

Junaid's bowled superbly in this series. He's got potential to be a very good bowler but he's not Amir and IMO will never be.

Amir was very gifted which makes what he did even more despicable. IMO asif was a Better bowler. real classy

:facepalm: at people comparing Amir and Junaid's stats. There's a good 3 years age difference and at their respective ages that makes a big difference. A fast bowlers main growth is from the age of 18 to 25. In those 3 series in Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand he averaged over 40 but I would like to see any other bowler having a sub 50 average at the age of 17-18 there.

Junaid's bowled superbly in this series. He's got potential to be a very good bowler but he's not Amir and IMO will never be.

Yeah Amir was the legend of fast bowling isnt it ?? lol He was a good bowler but the way you are hyping him up is funny and ridiculous at the same time !!

well every single expert thought that he was well on his way to being one , so it is neither funny nor ridiculous.

Very small sample so you can't tell a lot from that .

Michael Holding realised Amirs talent hence why he was nearly in tears .

Talent is not everything mate, Application is also required, take a look at Umar Akmal and Afridi, Talented as hell but application is missing!
A legend in the making doesn't average 40+ in bowling friendly conditions regardless of how less matches he has played :)
Over-rated!

well every single expert thought that he was well on his way to being one , so it is neither funny nor ridiculous.

Where is he now ? :)
Currently Junaid is a better bowler. Future is unpredictable so cant comment on that, who would've thought that Misbah will make a comeback as our test captain and will average 70+ ?

Junaid is good , really good. But I still rate Amir. Junaid is a very good seamer , amir had a better control over his swing.

Where is he now ? :)
Currently Junaid is a better bowler. Future is unpredictable so cant comment on that, who would've thought that Misbah will make a comeback as our test captain and will average 70+ ?

yaar let me get this straight .
I dont like amir for what he did .
And i honestly wish junaid all the best as he is a damn good bowler and a fantastic prospect , but i would be lying if i said that junaid is better than amir , but than again thats my opinion and you are entitled to yours , but for the sake of pakistan cricket lets hope junaid ends up being what aamir should have . A legend of the game .

Amir seemed to be the kind of bowler who would finish with a mid 20s average(24-26). unbelievable highs interspersed with some lows.

it's funny that he had his best performance in his last series..yet.
because i can't really say if he would have carried on from that performance or it would have been his peak. i guess we will never know.

what really makes it difficult for me to separate Amir as bowler and person is because of what he did.if he were a brash cocky teen who indulged in wild parties and got caught up in a couple of scandals, i wouldn't have minded as we all are weak to the seduction of sudden fame and fortune. but he didn't do that sadly. a great shame really.

yaar let me get this straight .
I dont like amir for what he did .
And i honestly wish junaid all the best as he is a damn good bowler and a fantastic prospect , but i would be lying if i said that junaid is better than amir , but than again thats my opinion and you are entitled to yours , but for the sake of pakistan cricket lets hope junaid ends up being what aamir should have . A legend of the game .

Inshallah :)

Junaid has the potential to be better than Amir.

Aamir was really good but Junaid isn't far off. Saying "no comparison" is false, though Amir was probably a few steps ahead of him.

That doesn't matter though as he was a cheat and with a few more tours Junaid can easily become a world beater :)

Getting 2 fivers at Sri Lanka. That's class.

Junaid has the potential to be better than Amir.

Aamir was really good but Junaid isn't far off. Saying "no comparison" is false, though Amir was probably a few steps ahead of him.

That doesn't matter though as he was a cheat and with a few more tours Junaid can easily become a world beater :)

Getting 2 fivers at Sri Lanka. That's class.

Out of all the replies, I agree with this the most. Amir was a little bit better but those saying the comparison is a joke is harsh on Junaid. I don't know if it's the nostalgia or they don't like Junaid but the truth is, they are both very good talents and the difference between them is minimal.

oh my Amir was in a different class..on talent he is way ahead of Junaid..but that said Junaid is starting to look like a very good bowler but still I will regard Amir as better..

Aamir never looked off colour... Junaid was superb in this series, LETS SEE if he continues to dominate

Yaar he could move it both ways in the air and off the pitch consistently around 85-90mph. Tell me you've seen a 17-18 year old do that before...

BTW the part you've bolded. I didn't say he will never be better than Amir. I said in my opinion he will never be better than Amir. Obviously he's got potential and room for improvement so I hope he proves me wrong.

Junaid is a good bowler but he still cant bowl inswingers to right handers which is really vital for any left hander bowler. Amir really mastered that at such a young age.

I think Amir and Junaid were part of that potential 'future bowling stars' group (alongside M. Ramiz IIRC), Amir was putting in some amazing performances and was selected ahead and the rest is history. Junaid was probably next in line even if Amir was still around. Anyhow, good to see him progressing well. I remember when people were writing him off even before his first 5fer back in 2011, where they at now?

His recent spell was just as exciting as Amir's in England IMO.

Junaid is a good bowler but he still cant bowl inswingers to right handers which is really vital for any left hander bowler. Amir really mastered that at such a young age.

this.

that's why Junaid takes help of angels to move the ball in to the right handers which are very predictable so he has very less chance of getting a wicket of a right hander compare to Amir who would keep on angeling away from the right handers and all of a sudden bowl a wicket taking inswinger.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/6U6845atqWI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

like in this video he took the first ball away from Watson and next two were inswingers and watson thought else haha.

Aamir cheez alag tha bhai ... he was great , he learnt so quickly how to move ball both ways in no time , but junaid looks good prospect too :13:

Actually, Junaid has developed the inswinger to the right-hander, he's bowled it quite a few times this test, its not on the Aamir level yet but he's almost there.

Junaid is only 22/23, and this is his 7th test match. He will learn as he gets more opportunities.

Test average of 28.85 now.

One thing is for sure. India will never have a bowler like Amir.. :)))

Imagine if Amir and Junaid were opening our bowling right now. We would have forgotten Wasim and Waqar.

This can still happen when Amir completes his ban. Gul is just keeping the seat warm for him.