Mehwish Hayat calls out Bollywood’s ‘deafening silence’ on Pakistan flood

mehwish-hayat-insta-post.jpg

Ms Marvel actor Mehwish Hayat has shared her disappointment as Bollywood celebs have not taken a stand for Pakistani fans during their bad times. Pakistan is facing devastating floods, and many noted personalities have voiced the need to help the people. One of Pakistan’s most loved stars, Mehwish has appealed to Bollywood to rise about politics and ‘care about their fans in Pakistan’.

Replying to BBC journalist Haroon Rashid’s post about Bollywood stars not acknowledging the country’s sad affairs, Mehwish shared that he’s made a ‘valid point’, she mentioned how a kind word would not go amiss. “The silence from the Bollywood fraternity is deafening. ‘Suffering knows no nationality, race or religion’ – no better time for them to show us that they can rise above nationalist politics and care about their fans in Pakistan. We are hurting and a kind word or two would not go amiss,” she posted on her Instagram story.

Haroon in his post had originally written, “I genuinely thought humanity knows no borders but it’s telling that hardly any Bollywood stars have posted about the devastating floods in Pakistan – raise awareness, share links, just show sympathy. They know how popular they are and how much that acknowledgment would mean.”

Mehwish Hayat, who’s also an activist, has been using social media to raise awareness about the devastation in the country. She has also been giving interviews to international news publications to facilitate relief for the country. Ms Marvel creator and writer Bisha K Ali had also taken up the cause and promised to match up the donation of her followers. Thanking her, Mehwish posted an Instagram story writing, “thank you so much for doing this! Really appreciate your gesture, we need all the help we can get. We really need more generous people like you.”

The floods in Pakistan have left more than 1200 people dead and thousands have been left homeless without food and shelter. Netflix’s Never Have I Ever actor Poorna Jagannathan had recently urged her fans to come forward and help Pakistan. Supermodel Bela Hadid too had sought information of how she could extend her hands to help the flood-affected country.

Mehwish Hayat is known for her roles in films like Actor in Law, Punjab Nahi Jaungi, Load Wedding, and Chhalawa. She has also starred in popular drama series Meray Qatil Meray Dildar and Kami Reh Gayi. In the Hotstar series Ms Marvel, she played one of the ‘noors’ Aisha, and was paired opposite Fawad Khan. Her last release London Nahi Jaunga with Humayan Saeed, released in July, and had quite a successful run at the box office.

https://indianexpress.com/article/e...ods-deafening-silence-pakistan-flood-8130388/

Why should Bollywood stars help? Not clear to me.

Mehwish Hayat has a clear issue with India, time and again I have seen her do this.

Modi has tweeted for the flood maybe she should mention that then.

When you have a fascist anti muslim govt in place is it any wonder that bollywood stars tow the status quo line

Idiotic remarks. Of all countries, why would you expect anything from India or its celebrities?

When you are so used to donations that you start thinking its your right .Kia mentality hai yeh , OTOH good on MH to put the Bollywood fake woke-ness on blast .If Hollywood picked up on it , Bollywood would be falling over each other to show support. Followers not leaders.

Do you honestly think these movie stars even care for the suffering of their own people let alone their neighboring ones? All they seem to do is attend bollywood parties.

When you are so used to donations that you start thinking its your right .Kia mentality hai yeh , OTOH good on MH to put the Bollywood fake woke-ness on blast .If Hollywood picked up on it , Bollywood would be falling over each other to show support. Followers not leaders.

And what would MH's tweet do? How will affect Bollywood?

Bollywood doesn't owe Pak anything at all. The joke is on such Pak's who couldn't build the Pak movie industry a quarter of much as Indian's did there's. When we have banned their cinema and they have our drama's then no need to pretend feeling any pain for the other.

We are talking about it aren't we ? . You don't defend every thing that's coming outta india. Chill with bhakt IT cell **. It's transparent af.

What's there to defend here? Why do you think anything and everything indian, even if its as pathetic as Bollywood, needs defending in front of pakistanis?

All i am asking is whats the reason behind this tweet?

What's there to defend here? Why do you think anything and everything indian, even if its as pathetic as Bollywood, needs defending in front of pakistanis?

All i am asking is whats the reason behind this tweet?

beggar mentality , no self respect . I can criticize my people when they deserve it . You bhakts OTOH are some thin skinned trolls .

Bollywood is there to make money. Not donate money.

Bollywood has got a huge market in Pakistan and they do make good money from there. That us why many directors/producers gave Pakistani actors/actress/singers etc chance in bollywood over the years.

The situation however is different at present. Indian people are much more patriotic now and any engagement/affection towards Pakistan ia conaidered anti national. With bollywood movies getting boycotted left and right, it would be a suicidal step if they speak anything about Pakistan.

Many Indians ( Right wing Hindus) took great delight during the floods in Pakistan.

They were genuinley happy.

So why would their film industry express sympathy?

Many Indians ( Right wing Hindus) took great delight during the floods in Pakistan.

this, Pakistani entertainers for covet indian exposure for obvious reasons, but i dont understand what the average pakistani consumer gets from consuming indian media content.

Modi didn't get elected on the back of massacre of Muslims for no reason.Unfortunately hindutva hatred is so entrenched in their country, their media stars are too scared to even offer condolences during natural disasters. Just look at the Indian posters here who are justifying such callous lack of humanity. You can only hope this sort of attitude never spreads through the rest of Asia.

There was a time when PKs watched those terrible Ind films and metaphorically worshipped the losers, but that has changed massively. I don't remember the last time anyone in my household watched a Bollywood film.

It has certainly dwindled, but there will still be a big following for the addicted ones, but the more hindutva rises and their poison spreads, slowly but surely, Bollywood's soft power will diminish outside of India.

There will be a section that lacks ghairat but generally its small compared to the 70s until the early 2000s. I work with desi kids at school and I have not a single conversation about Ind films for years, probably going on a decade or more

Bollywood has got a huge market in Pakistan and they do make good money from there. That us why many directors/producers gave Pakistani actors/actress/singers etc chance in bollywood over the years.

The situation however is different at present. Indian people are much more patriotic now and any engagement/affection towards Pakistan ia conaidered anti national. With bollywood movies getting boycotted left and right, it would be a suicidal step if they speak anything about Pakistan.

Patriotic is not the right word. Patriotism isn't dependent on showing disdain for another country. I've found Indians generally have always been patriotic.

Currently, it's a right-wing nationalist mentality that has taken over India. And because it's rooted in Hindu nationalism, there is a natural disdain for Pakistan and even to some extent Bangladesh.

That being said, I think it's weird Mehwish Hayat is calling out Bollywood/Indians to help Pakistan. I highly doubt that Bollywood is even aware of the travesty taking place in Pakistan. They live in a different kind of a bubble and in that bubble humanitarian causes generally take a backseat.

Lets face facts. When something awful in India happens then hundreds of millions of Pakistanis celebrate. I have even known some to hold big parties to celebrate tragedies in India. They same holds true the other way as well. That is just the way it is and always will be.

There will be a section that lacks ghairat but generally its small compared to the 70s until the early 2000s. I work with desi kids at school and I have not a single conversation about Ind films for years, probably going on a decade or more

I don't think ghairat has anything to do with Bollywood. There are just better options for cinema nowadays that are more easily accessible. If you grew up anytime between the 70s-2010s in Pakistan or anywhere else, Bollywood was the best option for cinema. Majority of the people did not speak english, Bollywood cinema has generally leaned heavily on Urdu. There was cultural relatability. It was better than whatever Pakistan was putting out at the time.

Times have changed since then. Although the language and music is still similar, there is a huge difference in culture now. Bollywood culture has becoming a lot more liberal and westernized which differs from what Pakistani culture is like in general. An example of that is how Bollywood used to portray alcohol 40 years ago versus how it is portrayed today. Pakistani cinema is also better now so you have a genuine alternative. Finally, Bollywood just can't compete with Hollywood or other cinemas in terms of quality and those options are just more readily available for viewers.

There are still a small number of Pakistanis that enjoy mainstream Bollywood movies. I personally find them absurd, detached from reality and lacking substance. That being said, there is the odd movie or show that ends up being good and usually it's not anything mainstream.

Whilst much of our country is under water Hum awards are being held in Canada. Most of Pak's Bollywood worshiping celebrities are in Canada for this event that no Pakistani cares about. Angelina Jolie is in Pakistan dong her best to help the victims or at least emphasis with them without much security yet our hypocrite celebrities are attacking Bollywood stars.

At that time there were no other options for television entertainment. You only had PTV in Pakistan and then a plethora of Indian channels and Bollywood.

Now there are a plethora of Pakistani channels, easier access to Hollywood movies, more interest in more diverse set of entertainment (e.g. Turkish), and a generally less 'bhai bhai' attitude towards Indian public. Yes, Bollywood popularity has gone down significantly. The Gen X and older millenials still very much like Bollywood movies but as a percent of population it has gone down significantly.

Whilst much of our country is under water Hum awards are being held in Canada. Most of Pak's Bollywood worshiping celebrities are in Canada for this event that no Pakistani cares about. Angelina Jolie is in Pakistan dong her best to help the victims or at least emphasis with them without much security yet our hypocrite celebrities are attacking Bollywood stars.

I came here to say this.

Mehwish should feel ashamed while saying such nonsense. Firstly, Bollywood or it's celebrities don't owe us anything.

Secondly, when your own third class talentless actors are traveling in Canada for some stupid awards show instead of staying in the country in these dark times when flood affected people need help, you should not cry about Bollywood not showing any sympathy.

I came here to say this.

Mehwish should feel ashamed while saying such nonsense. Firstly, Bollywood or it's celebrities don't owe us anything.

Secondly, when your own third class talentless actors are traveling in Canada for some stupid awards show instead of staying in the country in these dark times when flood affected people need help, you should not cry about Bollywood not showing any sympathy.

She is only calling out the complete silence from Bollywood, not asking them to halt all activities on Pakistan's behalf. They are free to go about their business, just as Pakistan stars are free to go about their business. Going to an awards isn't wrong, but if no Pakistan film star expressed any concern about the floods, that would be quite callous. I doubt that is the case so this is a false equivalence.

She should be demanding from her politicians first. You don’t demand and blackmail people
emotionally for charity.

Our head of state has expressed his condolences and that covers for everyone.

On one end Bilawal says he doesn’t care for any charity from India, and on other end you want Bollywood celebrities to give money?

You don’t want tamatar and wheat from India but you want to question why India doesn’t play bilateral series cricket?

Obviously some actors are low-iq but its about time Pak govt releases a list of what is halal and haram when dealing with India.

There's actually very little awareness in India of the floods in Pakistan. In fact, there's not a whole lot of news about Pakistan at all in the Indian media for quite some time.

That is quite instructive in itself. Major disasters on your own doorstep and you aren't reporting the news because of political grandstanding? No wonder the region is so poorly developed when the thought process is so petty.

There were massive floods in Assam which claimed many lives

Bollywood ignored even that.

Lets face facts. When something awful in India happens then hundreds of millions of Pakistanis celebrate. I have even known some to hold big parties to celebrate tragedies in India. They same holds true the other way as well. That is just the way it is and always will be.

Please stop making things up. Also how long will you hold this charade of your identity?

I agree with many, no need to ask Indians or Bollywood stars who are mostly filled with hate towards Pakistanis. Many on twitter where doing bhangra seeing many suffering, such is their mentlaity.

However she does have one point. Bollywood actors often offer support to people over the world, claim they are great liberals and empathise with all but rarely when Pak is involved. I think she may be exposing this fake mentality they show.

But one can also understand if any Indian, bollywood or not supports any suffering in Pakistan, some BJP/RSS nutter will attack them.

I agree with many, no need to ask Indians or Bollywood stars who are mostly filled with hate towards Pakistanis. Many on twitter where doing bhangra seeing many suffering, such is their mentlaity.

However she does have one point. Bollywood actors often offer support to people over the world, claim they are great liberals and empathise with all but rarely when Pak is involved. I think she may be exposing this fake mentality they show.

But one can also understand if any Indian, bollywood or not supports any suffering in Pakistan, some BJP/RSS nutter will attack them.

I think this is the crux of the matter to be honest. Bollywood stars have a rich history of warmth of relations with Pakistan, from Dilip Kumar, Reena Roy, Zeenat Aman, SRK etc. As we have seen with Amir Khan, one of the biggest Bollywood stars in recent living history, it is easy to get cancelled in today's febrile hindutva atmosphere.

To add to my previous post - we do expect a lot from kanjar log.

Back in the day these people were called k*njars and mirasis.

Now I'm not saying I agree with that sentiment but its curious to see how society has elevated them to a platform where people actually look for their opinion on matters :))

Reminds of the dave chapelle classic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mo-ddYhXAZc

I came here to say this.

Read my post 14 to see my views on Bollywood's reaction over these floods. You are basically repeating my comments from that post.

Please stop making things up. Also how long will you hold this charade of your identity?

How do you know many Pak's do not celebrate when something bad happens in India like we do when they lose a Cricket match? It seems you are Indian hence the anger at me mentioning the celebrations. Well I can tell you that i have no sympathy when an Indian soldier is killed. Happy?

what the hell are you blabbering dude ? maybe you are living in Pakistan from Earth 11 in other dimension. i dont even see anything like that in Pakistan ..... Lol

How do you know many Pak's do not celebrate when something bad happens in India like we do when they lose a Cricket match? It seems you are Indian hence the anger at me mentioning the celebrations. Well I can tell you that i have no sympathy when an Indian soldier is killed. Happy?

State of you. Comparing cricket game to natural disasters..

what the hell are you blabbering dude ? maybe you are living in Pakistan from Earth 11 in other dimension. i dont even see anything like that in Pakistan ..... Lol

I am talking simple sense ace compared to your drivel. There are over 200 million Pakistanis in the world from which you won't even know a hundred! I telling you that many Pakistanis like me celebrate whenever things go bad in India at anything! You gotta problem reading English??

do you live in Pakistan ? where do you live ? tell me where these kind of partys held ? i am interested to know the details .....

These Pakistani stars were able to raise a good amount of money for the flood victims while in Canada!

There are idiots everywhere, but I don't think hundred of millions will really celebrate something awful happening to their fellow humans. It may be a small percentage and vocal, but vast majority of people don't celebrate awful tragedies.

Mehwish Hayat has a clear issue with India, time and again I have seen her do this.

Modi has tweeted for the flood maybe she should mention that then.

The point she's raised isn't wrong though. Bollywood used Pakistan fans when they were available and also used talent from there, but the moment it became a no-go, they steer clear for selfish reasons, fear of boycott etc.

Also Modi can do what he wants, 2 rs trolls wont attack him on twitter. Other personalities in India can't afford the same freedom.

Lets be honest. Not just Bollywood, but whole of India ignores that year after year. Media doesn't talk about it, other than a ticker update at best.

When you have a fascist anti muslim govt in place is it any wonder that bollywood stars tow the status quo line

What about fascist anti Hindu and anti Ahmadi government in Pakistan?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In Pakistan, comedy means calling Hindus 'dogs'. This is the level of hatred. The show 'Sawa Teen' aired on Neo TV in Pakistan. <a href="https://t.co/zGfxqAhBpY">pic.twitter.com/zGfxqAhBpY</a></p>— Anshul Saxena (@AskAnshul) <a href="https://twitter.com/AskAnshul/status/1574321835361325056?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 26, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Chief minister Punjab continues his hate-mongering rhetoric against the Ahmadi community. Now he plans to build a mosque that'll mention: "Qadiani aren't allowed here."

PS: Pervaiz Elahi also thinks Erdogan constructed 17th century Blue mosque.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">یہی بات پاکستان سے باہر ہو تو Islamophobia اور Hate speech، لیکن پاکستان میں سب جائز ہے کیونکہ کارگردگی صفر ہے لہذا سیاست مذہب کارڈ پہ کھڑی ہے۔ <a href="https://t.co/gVp5wntHMB">pic.twitter.com/gVp5wntHMB</a></p>— Asma Azam (@AsmaAzam71) <a href="https://twitter.com/AsmaAzam71/status/1574506987362324481?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 26, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The first clip isnt that bad.

If thats the best you guys than do then Pakistan is ok :))

Hindu leaders around the world and Bollywood celebrities talk about "helping humanity" and about how "great humanitarians" they are, until a disaster strikes Pakistan.

And these same indians will tear apart any celebrity on social media if they ever dared to show any support for Pakistan or Pakistani flood victims. :inti

Good for Mehwish to expose the hypocrisy present in the phony altruism/humanitarianism of indian culture. Pakistan has sent aid to india for every single natural disaster india has ever faced. The 2 countries couldn't be more different.

The point she's raised isn't wrong though. Bollywood used Pakistan fans when they were available and also used talent from there, but the moment it became a no-go, they steer clear for selfish reasons, fear of boycott etc.

Also Modi can do what he wants, 2 rs trolls wont attack him on twitter. Other personalities in India can't afford the same freedom.

Ali Zafar or Fawad,Mahira saying that is different from her saying it, that's the only point I'm trying to make.
Also Hindi Actors don't tweet for Mumbai floods do you think they would care about Pakistan in the first place?

do you live in Pakistan ? where do you live ? tell me where these kind of partys held ? i am interested to know the details .....

I live in Pak and Europe. Being a well traveled Pak is where I am mostly at these days. Well ace i have seen Pakistanis celebrate disasters in India by merry making and telling jokes. By "partying" I mean being happy and celebrating not holding party's only to celebrate India's misery.

These Pakistani stars were able to raise a good amount of money for the flood victims while in Canada!

Yes and they spent a lot of money getting to Canada as well. Heaven knows if the collected money will ever reach the flood victims.

There are idiots everywhere, but I don't think hundred of millions will really celebrate something awful happening to their fellow humans. It may be a small percentage and vocal, but vast majority of people don't celebrate awful tragedies.

In the case of arch rivals they do celebrate every misery nature bestows upon the enemy. It is not exaggerating by saying it applies in the case of Pak and Bharat.

Please quit your nonsense. Twitter and Instagram isn't real life.

Sop your rubbish! I know more about Pakistanis then you do through my travels and meeting's with them. Just because many have Indian friends doesn't mean they like them in their heart. I am one off such people.