Misbah-ul Haq retained as captain for Pakistan Test team for tour of West Indies [Update #35]

Misbah not only steals an opportunity from Sarfaraz to get a foot-hold as captain against an easy opposition, he also prevents someone like an Usman Salahuddin to get a spot in the side and have an easy tour to debut in.

What can we say gentleman is only looking out for himself just like he has always done.

:salute

obnoxious and disrespectful comment. he'll hopefully lead us to a series win, provide valuable mentorship to sarfraz along the way, and retire with his head held high like he deserves.

Right....

The same Misbah who has been averaging in the low teens in the last 6-8 matches will all of a sudden put on his superman cape and smash a run-a-ball 200.

Or the same Misbah who has the worst overseas record of any Pakistani captain and even managed to draw a series in ZIMBABWE will all of a sudden put on his Steve Waugh cap and inflict a 3-0 series defeat to the West Indies in their own home.

Keep hoping buddy.

Right....

The same Misbah who has been averaging in the low teens in the last 6-8 matches will all of a sudden put on his superman cape and smash a run-a-ball 200.

Or the same Misbah who has the worst overseas record of any Pakistani captain and even managed to draw a series in ZIMBABWE will all of a sudden put on his Steve Waugh cap and inflict a 3-0 series defeat to the West Indies in their own hope.

Keep hoping buddy.

How about the Misbah that united a fractured and broken cricket team, has the respect of the dressing room and his peers, and led the team to number 1 in the rankings? All that is meaningless to you? If so then keep chopping and changing captains every few months and see where that leads. Oh wait, we've already done that for the last 10 years and all we saw was one disciplinary scandal after another.

LOL, it's clear that he want to retire on winning note and west indies the best chance to beat, i am really against the peoples who saying Misbah is best captain of country he took team to the high and he is brave, he is really ridiculous

How about the Misbah that united a fractured and broken cricket team, has the respect of the dressing room and his peers, and led the team to number 1 in the rankings? All that is meaningless to you? If so then keep chopping and changing captains every few months and see where that leads. Oh wait, we've already done that for the last 10 years and all we saw was one disciplinary scandal after another.

Yes that is as meaningless because that is all in the long past.

How long will we keep putting Misbah on a pedestal just because of his past achievements?

Yes we commend Misbah for gelling the team together and taking us to number one in the rankings, but guess what, under the stewardship of the same Misbah the team is down to number six in the rankings. There is a time for everything to end, and Misbah's captaincy and career has long passed that time limit.

wow, whats the big deal? he'll go sooner or later, whether its this tour or the next, who cares?

How long will we keep putting Misbah on a pedestal just because of his past achievements?

Yes we commend Misbah for gelling the team together and taking us to number one in the rankings, but guess what, under the stewardship of the same Misbah the team is down to number six in the rankings. There is a time for everything to end, and Misbah's captaincy and career has long passed that time limit.

you're right, he should have retired after leading us to number 1. but then people like you would have criticized him for abandoning the team before the tough tours to australia and NZ. so really, you just want to criticize endlessly.

^Leading us to #1 when other teams were going down and down so Ultimately our rankings got up as we won in UAE, England offered flat wickets and that helped us win.

Proceedings were normalized as soon as we toured NZ and AUS, Don't you remember what happened during 2013 South Africa Series? Our #1 is a bit of fluke to be honest.

you're right, he should have retired after leading us to number 1. but then people like you would have criticized him for abandoning the team before the tough tours to australia and NZ. so really, you just want to criticize endlessly.

No man Misbah should lead us indefinitely or atleast until he reaches official government retirement age of 65, just because he led us to the number one rankings by a complete fluke for half a month.

Poor decision by Misbah; But he is a nice guy. I hope he performs well!

No man Misbah should lead us indefinitely or atleast until he reaches official government retirement age of 65, just because he led us to the number one rankings by a complete fluke for half a month.

Don't worry, he'll be gone soon enough. And then we'll be back to changing the captain every few series, matching the attention span of an average Pakistani cricket fan. I know the last few years were tough man, no scandals, no beating teammates with bats, no drugs at airports, etc. But I'm sure those days are around the corner! Just hang on for a few more months!

Also, you know I'm spot on about my previous post. If he retired after leading us to #1, you still would have criticized him for leaving before AUS/NZ tours. Can you deny that

Don't worry, he'll be gone soon enough. And then we'll be back to changing the captain every few series, matching the attention span of an average Pakistani cricket fan. I know the last few years were tough man, no scandals, no beating teammates with bats, no drugs at airports, etc. But I'm sure those days are around the corner! Just hang on for a few more months!

Also, you know I'm spot on about my previous post. If he retired after leading us to #1, you still would have criticized him for leaving before AUS/NZ tours. Can you deny that

Yes because I was actually in favour of him touring Aus/NZ and then hanging up his boots, but like every Pakistani senior before him Misbah is clinging onto his position and refusing to leave.

He's worked his bum off and invested everything he's had into taking the team to new heights. Perhaps you've never poured your heart and soul into a project. But when you do that, it's only natural to want to leave things better than you found them. What's so crazy about him wanting to go out on a high after all he's achieved? He doesn't want AUS/NZ debacle to be the last thing people remember. If he can beat the Windies in the Windies, and also use the series as a bridge to prepare Sarfraz to take over, what's wrong with that?

The current Test sides are all too dangerous for a new captain to take on.

Misbah should remain at the helm until UAE are granted Test status so that his successor can be eased into the role with a series against a less terrifying opponent. :salute

What a terrible decision. No accountability for the pathetic losses in Aus and NZ under useless captain Misbah. He has not won a single series last year. Even before that, he has constantly failed to make any impact in ICC tournaments. Why is this guy being given so much leeway? Sack him.

Does any other side in the world have an aging 43year old brainless captain leading his side to consecutive defeats and still being retained as captain? I hope WI beat Pakistan in Tests.

^Leading us to #1 when other teams were going down and down so Ultimately our rankings got up as we won in UAE, England offered flat wickets and that helped us win.

That #1 tag has been used far too many times to justify Misbah's pathetic captaincy and poor batting performances. What is our current ranking? 5th or 6th? Pak Test side was never worthy of being #1 thats why the title hardly last a month. You can't fluke all the time.

Misbah is far too selfish and greedy to step down on his own. He 'll have to be sacked.

The official retirement age in Pakistan is 60, not 65. Bohat patriotic ban ke phirtey ho aur itni basic cheez nai pata.

Shocking, unbelievable.

How come SYK, Inzi and Misbah have no interest in future of Pakistan cricket.

The official retirement age in Pakistan is 60, not 65. Bohat patriotic ban ke phirtey ho aur itni basic cheez nai pata.

Congratulations you know retirement age at tip of your tongue. You are more patriotic. Pakistan is first world country and Nawaz Sharif is supreme leader.

Should've just step down as a captain... Help Sarfraz become a good captain by playing under him .. This shows .. What type of person Misbah really is.. Man I just can't wait till Misbah retires .. Pakistan cricket needs to move away from Tuktuk cricket and Tuktuk players

Don't worry, he'll be gone soon enough. Fans like you don't deserve leaders like Misbah.

:))) the leadership he shows on UAE graveyards is too inspirational. I'm sure Kohli should learn how to beat teams like England,NZ,Aus on these rank turners.

under him Pakistan became the most boring,dull cricket team. even the Zimbabwe team had more flare and excitement than our cricket team.

bad decision MISBAH bhai... he did a lot to bring the reputation back for team pak... but now he is doing more damage to that earned respect by prolonging his career just for a paycheque, when he is clearly blocking an youngster.

August 2016, King Misbah.
March 2017, Selfish Misbah.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become a villain.

under him Pakistan became the most boring,dull cricket team. even the Zimbabwe team had more flare and excitement than our cricket team.

don't worry, flare and excitement (scandal, dramaybazi, coach assasination, new captain every week, etc) are all coming. pakistanis are allergic to professionalism, which is why we can never appreciate a captain like misbah.

August 2016, King Misbah.
March 2017, Selfish Misbah.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become a villain.

even if he retired in august 2016, fans would still turn him into a villain after we got crushed in AUS/NZ. they'd still call him selfish misbah for retiring on top and being a coward for not going on tough tours. Basically, fans have hated misbah since he became the captain, because he is nothing like the average pakistani. He's quiet, mild mannered, academic, thoughtful, rational, you get the point. Now that the team isn't performing, it's given everyone ammunition to come out against Misbah, the same people that never really supported him in the first place. As I keep saying, he'll be retired soon, and his contributions won't be forgotten. And the team will go back to changing captains every few series, and the circus will be back in town (much to the delight of the average pakistani, who as i said, is allergic to professionalism)

you have to be very naive to say that a number 1 test rank was by a complete fluke

Congratulations you know retirement age at tip of your tongue. You are more patriotic. Pakistan is first world country and Nawaz Sharif is supreme leader.

Well I would be refraining from talking about politics if I didn't even have such basic knowledge.

Good choice. This will allow a settled team to finally defeat the West Indies away, something that has strangely eluded us for the past decade or more. After this though, Misbah should definitely call it quits and Younis should too, if he isn't in prime form.

He should have retired post England series of 2015. Selfish guy, whose captaincy has been shambles alongside his batting form recently

Misbah sir will continue till he hits the half century with his age. He can't hit it with the bat now days anyways. :misbah

He's got another four or five years left in him, he's just entering his prime.

Probably go 2-1 for Pak
Though against the WI side, we should win 3-0 and look dominant

Until last year, I thought he was really nice guy, who cares for Pakistan cricket.

Might not be the best decision, but I'm content with it because there is a possibility of Saint Younis becoming the captain once Misbah leaves.

Anything to prevent that from happening, I'm happy.

Might not be the best decision, but I'm content with it because there is a possibility of Saint Younis becoming the captain once Misbah leaves.

:misbah3 - "Sharyar saab, my form isn't great, my joints are stiff and my bones are starting to creak. It's time to call it a day and leave the future of the team to the next generation. It's been an honour and a privilege to captain Pakistan. When do you want to have the press conference?"

:shkhan - "We'll have it tomorrow afternoon, give me a minute to call Younus and let him know he's the test captain for the Windies tour and then I'll get my secretary to type up the press release"

:misbah2 - "...You misheard me. I said I'm feeling as fresh as a daisy and I'm happy to lead the team for another five years if necessary."

:salute:salute:salute:salute:salute:salute:salute

I thought there is a board and selectors in Pakistan who make the decision, or its up to the players whatever and whenever they want.

:misbah3 - "Sharyar saab, my form isn't great, my joints are stiff and my bones are starting to creak. It's time to call it a day and leave the future of the team to the next generation. It's been an honour and a privilege to captain Pakistan. When do you want to have the press conference?"

:shkhan - "We'll have it tomorrow afternoon, give me a minute to call Younus and let him know he's the test captain for the Windies tour and then I'll get my secretary to type up the press release"

:misbah2 - "...You misheard me. I said I'm feeling as fresh as a daisy and I'm happy to lead the team for another five years if necessary."

:salute:salute:salute:salute:salute:salute:salute

:misbah4: its been long since I took my family to some nice vacation. I heard West Indies is a nice place with beaches and other fun activities, can I ?

:shkhan : No problem, will take care of your vacation, go as captain. I will also give you company.

Keep dreaming absolutely about his retired. He will play at least couple of years if not more in the name of fitness and best captain. Until SK retires or gets sacked it's not happening soon. Hopefully Misbah will retire after taking our team to no. 9-10

That is true , nothing wrong with this statement. It was a perfect opportunity for a new captain and a new middle order batsman to start, denied .

I can tell the reason, though can't prove -

Retirement was never in his mind; he was certain to himself that he is going to WI for whatever it takes. Problem was PSL - he knows majority of people following PAK cricket want him to retire - had he announced it before or during PSL, there would have been bigger chants in stadium - go Misbah go; for gods sake, go ....

If PCB can manage any team touring in PAK this winter, Misbah will lead PAK in that series as well, unless SK is replaced by someone, almost half his age.

ur prediction regarding hafeez and misbah are spot on so far..i will ask u now that for how long misbah will stay??

Depends on his own batting - if he can manage an average of 35, regardless of PAK Win/Loss - he'll hang around & his trusted group will back that (It keeps them sweet as well). Even if it's 3-0 on either side, he'll use his last ace - a send off, preferably in-front of home crowd. But, if he averages under 20, it'll be difficult even for the most shameless people on Earth to hold on to a specialist batting spot.

Actually it is your comment which I find to be dangerous and inappropriate.

People on this forum are so deferential to Misbah, and treat him in a way in which they would never treat the Akmal brothers.

Consider the four suspicious defeats which Pakistan suffered in the period 2009-2011.

First Test at Galle 2009: Pakistan 117 all out chasing just 168 to win. Misbah run out 7.

Second Test at Colombo 2000: Misbah out for 0 in the First Innings out of 90 all out. In the second innings, Pakistan was in a winning position at 285-1, then lost 9 wickets for 35 runs including Misbah for 3.

Sydney Test 2009-10: Mazhar Majeed confessed to fixing the result. Chasing 176 to win, Misbah was out for 0 and Pakistan lost by 36 runs.

World Cup semi-final 2011: The writer Ed Hawkins wrote that he was shown a script of the Pakistan innings in 10 over increments before they batted. Misbah batted from the 24th over to the 50th over and scored just 56 as Pakistan fell behind the run rate and lost.

There were only 2 Pakistani batsmen who played in all 4 defeats. Kamran Akmal and Misbah-ul-Haq.

But Kamran Akmal is subjected to endless innuendo about his behaviour, while posts like yours have led to this climate of excessive deference and respect towards Misbah which has ensured that his behaviour is never even questioned.

I am not saying for a second that he is corrupt. But I am saying that he was one of only two batsmen present at the scene of every probable crime. And yet nobody even asks questions about him.

And I find that really unsettling. The price of freedom is eternal vigilance, and yet here is one player who attracts such deference that he is never even questioned about his own conduct. And apparently gets to choose when he retires.

And that is really, really dangerous. All cricketers need to be questioned and need to merit a place in their team. But Misbah isn't.

Those of us from the UK saw the national treasure Jimmy Savile eventually exposed - after his death - as having been a serial offender who was "hiding in plain sight".

If players like Misbah are treated with such unquestioning deference, you create the conditions which led to Salman Butt's offending.

No player should ever be treated with deference. Ever.

Unless something miracle happen Misbah will hang around at least next year as he got strong back up from chairman himself even at the cost of Inzamam or Micky. Since there is no accountability or liability and Misbah/Younis are their own boss to choose themselves when they think they want to retire.

I actually think that the West Indies are favourites to win if both Misbah and Younis are selected.

Misbah hasn't reached 40 in his last 5 overseas Tests.

Younis hasn't reached 40 in 6 of his last 9 overseas Tests.

Pakistan already has the handicap of not having a right-arm quick bowler anywhere close to international class. Add a pair of elderly bunnies at numbers 4 and 5, and the West Indies should win with the Dukes Ball.

Misbah has lost his judgment completely.

Poor call from Misbah since he has to go sooner rather than later. West Indies would hv been an ideal starting point for a young captain like Sarfraz. Also, Misbah's form in recent months has been pretty poor and I don't know how any youngster won't do any better than him.

I would like him to continue till end of 2017 to shut his supporters up that he is a gentlemen.

On topic, trash decision by someone probably going senile.

I would like him to continue till end of 2017 to shut his supporters up that he is a gentlemen.

You are still contemplating this ?? I thought you were a doctor bro :)

Terrible decision but the biggest culprit is baba ji running the board who should have forced Misbah to retire after the Eng series.
[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] you must be deluded to think that Misbah 'destroyed' Pakistan cricket. I tell you what is killing Pak cricket...corruption & lack of talent- wake up & smell the coffee.

Why not make him captain for the rest of his life this is beyond ridiculous this guy have no shame

Terrible decision but the biggest culprit is baba ji running the board who should have forced Misbah to retire after the Eng series.
[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] you must be deluded to think that Misbah 'destroyed' Pakistan cricket. I tell you what is killing Pak cricket...corruption & lack of talent- wake up & smell the coffee.
first of all he should have never made a comeback to LOIs after pathetic Mohali knock. Him and YK chapters would have been closed by any other cricket board after those knocks in a big match also considering their ages. Misbah's strike rate throughout his ODI career since captain was in 60s for a guy who batted at 5 you would expect better and everyone knows under him our ODI downfall started and became worse as we stand at 8th in the rankings now.

Tests he should have been recalled only temporary. PCB is the most inept and clueless cricket board in the world who brings back a 37 years old player as a captain and then doesn't decide his exit period and look for alternatives..gives him free hand and powers to dictate what PCB should be enforcing. Misbah didn't linger on in 2017 but he started this in 2013 when he decided to take himself and his company of senior players to face a club level Zimbabwean team instead of listening to selectors who wanted to try young faces. That was sign of Misbah's selfishness and misuse of powers. Yes we may have controlled corruption under him but we saw another form of corruption under him ,corruption of power..when he should have been trying new faces in ODI side he was looking for ways to get his test friends into the ODIs despite the fact that they were proven failures. We saw how YK manipulated his way into the ODI world cup squad just because he was scoring in tests and PCB didn't have any answer to it because they were used to this blackmailing of senior players.

Bro, you are too optimistic about Misbah's retirement around 2017. If SK can hold the position being 83 then surely Misbah can stay as a captain for next 4 years. After all they choose the time for their retirement and they are untouchable

first of all he should have never made a comeback to LOIs after pathetic Mohali knock. Him and YK chapters would have been closed by any other cricket board after those knocks in a big match also considering their ages. Misbah's strike rate throughout his ODI career since captain was in 60s for a guy who batted at 5 you would expect better and everyone knows under him our ODI downfall started and became worse as we stand at 8th in the rankings now.

Tests he should have been recalled only temporary. PCB is the most inept and clueless cricket board in the world who brings back a 37 years old player as a captain and then doesn't decide his exit period and look for alternatives..gives him free hand and powers to dictate what PCB should be enforcing. Misbah didn't linger on in 2017 but he started this in 2013 when he decided to take himself and his company of senior players to face a club level Zimbabwean team instead of listening to selectors who wanted to try young faces. That was sign of Misbah's selfishness and misuse of powers. Yes we may have controlled corruption under him but we saw another form of corruption under him ,corruption of power..when he should have been trying new faces in ODI side he was looking for ways to get his test friends into the ODIs despite the fact that they were proven failures. We saw how YK manipulated his way into the ODI world cup squad just because he was scoring in tests and PCB didn't have any answer to it because they were used to this blackmailing of senior players.

Mohali Mohali Mohali...is that all some of you are obsessed with?? Lets talk Mohali then. What did your favourites do in that match? NOTHING. They did not even show up!

You keep moaning about his SR yet you back Shahzad- hypocrisy much? Shahzad career SR is 72 & Misbah's is 73- again hypocrisy on your part. For an opening batsman, that is utterly embarassing.

New faces? His 'friends' Hafeez & Malik started their Int'l careers before Misbah & are still around. Ask yourself why? Who supported their inclusion all these yrs?? Surely not Misbah. I don't see you crying about the fact that Malik & Hafeez are STILL part of LOI plans when Misbah is no longer around? You keep crying that he destroyed Umar's career yet Umar batted at no6 position even under Afridi- I don't see you crying & moaning about that? In fact, under Misbah, Umar flourished. Just accept the fact that you overrate him.

If I am right, you also back Kamran to return after that Sydney farce- again double standards.

The fact is that at the end of the day, baabah ji at PCB has the final say, not Misbah.

The fact is that I am not a supporter of individuals like yourself & I look at the wider picture.

The W.I series was ideal series to pick a new captain and also blood a new player or player on the fringes into the middle order so they could be groomed in long term. Really dont understand what misbah has to achieve playing on from here.

Mohali Mohali Mohali...is that all some of you are obsessed with?? Lets talk Mohali then. What did your favourites do in that match? NOTHING. They did not even show up!

You keep moaning about his SR yet you back Shahzad- hypocrisy much? Shahzad career SR is 72 & Misbah's is 73- again hypocrisy on your part. For an opening batsman, that is utterly embarassing.

New faces? His 'friends' Hafeez & Malik started their Int'l careers before Misbah & are still around. Ask yourself why? Who supported their inclusion all these yrs?? Surely not Misbah. I don't see you crying about the fact that Malik & Hafeez are STILL part of LOI plans when Misbah is no longer around? You keep crying that he destroyed Umar's career yet Umar batted at no6 position even under Afridi- I don't see you crying & moaning about that? In fact, under Misbah, Umar flourished. Just accept the fact that you overrate him.

If I am right, you also back Kamran to return after that Sydney farce- again double standards.

The fact is that at the end of the day, baabah ji at PCB has the final say, not Misbah.

The fact is that I am not a supporter of individuals like yourself & I look at the wider picture.

So you want him to play another 10 years for Pakistan ?

because everyone is saying that he should leave n you r only one who's supporting his inclusion and trying prove everyone wrong.

Again, quote me where I support his inclusion.

[MENTION=136480]ari_k[/MENTION] just to help you out.

Read 2nd sentence about shehzad I don't see anyone supporting Shehzad well if yu call that support thn can u please tell me why he was out of National team for 2 years, he's better thn misbah with that strike rate

Tests he should have been recalled only temporary. PCB is the most inept and clueless cricket board in the world who brings back a 37 years old player as a captain and then doesn't decide his exit period and look for alternatives..
just to help you out he said the same thing but you were like no misbah is better thn Shehzad n all that.

Read 2nd sentence about shehzad I don't see anyone supporting Shehzad well if yu call that support thn can u please tell me why he was out of National team for 2 years, he's better thn misbah with that strike rate

What on earth are you waffling on about?? First understand why I brought up the points :facepalm:

just to help you out he said the same thing but you were like no misbah is better thn Shehzad n all that.

Where did I state Misbah is better than Shahzad? You have some seriously s comprehension issues :facepalm: