Mohammad Rizwan or Azam Khan: Who would you have as the wicket-keeper in the T20 side?

Asad T

Azam Khan has finally come to the party with the bat in T20I's hitting 30* (10) and 18* (6) against Ireland (but take it with a pinch of salt because it was agaisnt Ireland). But at the same time, he has proven to be an inept keeper. In his last game, he dropped 2/3 catches and missed 1 easy stumping opportunity. He also conceded 2 byes. This was not just a one-off bad day behind the stumps, he has been consistently poor as a wicket-keeper.

I know that Pakistan really needs a lower order power hitter, but this is coming at the expense of sloppy keeping. Imagine that in a World Cup game, he drops Mitch Marsh or Rohit Sharma early on, that could potentially be a match-losing moment for us. In my mind, his sloppy keeping outweighs whatever benifit he can bring with the bat.

Rizwan, on the other hand, is a great keeper. He is very consistent and tidy behind the stumps. But Azam Khan cannot field in the outfield, he would concede too many runs. So if Azam plays, he can only play as a keeper.

My feeling is that we should drop Azam Khan, and let Shadab, Imad, Iftikhar and Shaheen try to collectivly fill that lower order impact role.

What do ya'll think?

P.S. Stats also sugest that Rizwan bats better when he is keeping as well:

OUQQ8Tz.png

Azam Khan has finally come to the party with the bat in T20I's hitting 30* (10) and 18* (6) against Ireland (but take it with a pinch of salt because it was agaisnt Ireland). But at the same time, he has proven to be an inept keeper. In his last game, he dropped 2/3 catches and missed 1 easy stumping opportunity. He also conceded 2 byes. This was not just a one-off bad day behind the stumps, he has been consistently poor as a wicket-keeper.

I know that Pakistan really needs a lower order power hitter, but this is coming at the expense of sloppy keeping. Imagine that in a World Cup game, he drops Mitch Marsh or Rohit Sharma early on, that could potentially be a match-losing moment for us. In my mind, his sloppy keeping outweighs whatever benifit he can bring with the bat.

Rizwan, on the other hand, is a great keeper. He is very consistent and tidy behind the stumps. But Azam Khan cannot field in the outfield, he would concede too many runs. So if Azam plays, he can only play as a keeper.

My feeling is that we should drop Azam Khan, and let Shadab, Imad, Iftikhar and Shaheen try to collectivly fill that lower order impact role.

What do ya'll think?

OUQQ8Tz.png
That will depend on risk appetite of the team. It's good that Pakistan have both options.

I do think last game was an off day. He is not that bad of a WK. Fans are exaggerating stuff as always. He is slow to run. That's all.

100% Azam Khan if I was serious about Pakistan cricket trying to win this World Cup

But the guy literally cannot keep. He dropped Tucker 2-3 times and he went on to make 73 and almost won Ireland the series. I can almost guarantee you that he will drop a few of big opportunities this WC.

Yes Riz is slow to bat, but he is a rock-soild keeper.

But the guy literally cannot keep. He dropped Tucker 2-3 times and he went on to make 73 and almost won Ireland the series. I can almost guarantee you that he will drop a few of big opportunities this WC.

Not my team. Not my fight.

If you want to win the World Cup and just not go there to compete and make sure you still remain an ICC member, you will need your big guns. It’s up to you guys.

Try winning a World Cup without these types of players and with the safe players like Babar and Rizwan. Good luck

That will depend on risk appetite of the team. It's good that Pakistan have both options.

I do think last game was an off day. He is not that bad of a WK. Fans are exaggerating stuff as always. He is slow to run. That's all.
Generally, he is sloppy behind the stumps. Last game was worse than usual, for sure. But overall he doesnt have a safe pair of hands.

Pakistan cricket team if Ramiz Raja was still chairman:

1. Rizwan
2. Babar
3. Shan
4. Abdullah
5. Shadab
6. Iftikhar
7. Nawaz
8. Shaheen
9. Hassan
10. Naseem
11. Rauf

Azam khan should play as batsmen only in place of iftikhar and we should get in a proper batsmen like irfan niazi or usman Khan

Rizwan should continue wicket keeping or he will throw a hissy fit, he's know to under perform if he doesn't get his way

If bowling first have Riz keep against pace and Azam keep against spin.

If batting first then Riz keeps for the full second innings and Azam can off for treatment for "cramps"

I’d rather Azam just play as a batsman and hide him in the field. A good keeper is important, it installs confidence in the bowlers too. I’d much rather leak runs in the field than lose out on a wicket because of a poor keeper.

We’ve had really bad fielders in the past, not sure why Azam can’t do the same as them. He’s probably even a better catcher than those guys.

I’d rather Azam just play as a batsman and hide him in the field. A good keeper is important, it installs confidence in the bowlers too. I’d much rather leak runs in the field than lose out on a wicket because of a poor keeper.

We’ve had really bad fielders in the past, not sure why Azam can’t do the same as them. He’s probably even a better catcher than those guys.
Islamabad United became champions with Azam Keeping the whole tournament

Yes a mistake can be costly, but Rizwan is not perfect either. Yes he has twitches and reflexes that make him look sharp, but he misses chances too.

I thought he’d do better as he is not that terrible in PSL. But he has been awful internationally keeping. Maybe it’s nerves. But if this continues to be the standard it’s not good enough, Rizwan is too much of an upgrade as a keeper.

Batting actually Azam did well this series. And people batting in his position need to be given time. It’s the keeping I’m most disappointed with.

No one is a perfect keeper,
Rizwan has a tendency to stand too deep in Test cricket, as was shown in the Aus series. So some balls dropped short.
But he is still 10 times the keeper Azam is

No one is a perfect keeper,
Rizwan has a tendency to stand too deep in Test cricket, as was shown in the Aus series. So some balls dropped short.
But he is still 10 times the keeper Azam is
Azam Khan is 2000 times the T20 middle order batter Rizwan is.

Rizwan is a failed T20 middle order batsman, who’s career was paved by Misbah into the opening slot. Guess what, he’s still an under par T20 opener.

Azam will be 2000 times the better T20 opener as well if given the chance

Uhhh, Rizwan vs azam is kinda unfair due to serving different roles

Rizwan over azam, I'm not blinded by hate, Azam needs to hit against top sides and his keeping is a comedy.

Uhhh, Rizwan vs azam is kinda unfair due to serving different roles

Rizwan over azam, I'm not blinded by hate, Azam needs to hit against top sides and his keeping is a comedy.

But rizwan sucks monkey do do as well 😭

Def different roles, one is a top order accululator, and the other is a lower-order power hitter.

The question is, should Riz keep & Azam be dropped (because he is a horrid keeper)? Or keep it as is?

Need both bats in the 11.
Riz can be posted anywhere in the field.

AzamK has shown he can be a beast with the bat but can be posted only at three spots throughout the match.
1.Behind the stumps with gloves.
2.In front of the stumps with a bat.
3.In the pavilion with a big bowl of biryani.

It's a no-brainer who the wicket keeper should be. :inti

Ah, and Multan have never won a PSL and not been the best PSL side since Rizwan took over and became captain and opener.

AzamK has shown he can be a beast with the bat but can be posted only at three spots throughout the match.

Yep Rizwan should be the WK as Azam may cost dearly in WC due to his inapt keepering.

What do ya'll think?

OUQQ8Tz.png
Indeed, dropping certain batsmen can prove extremely costly for Pakistan in the WC. I say it all depends on the England series and how confident he looks keeping there. If he continues as he did in the Ire series and his previous international outings, it would be way too risky to take him to the WC as a keeper, and neither will he have shown that he deserves it.

Let's be honest, Azam Khan cannot be accommodated in international cricket. He is obese and a liability for half of the match.

Intl Game has moved on and there is no place for guys shaped like Mohammed Shahzad, Sharjeel, Rahkeem any more except in franchise cricket where standards are lower. Azam is far more fatter than any of them.

Forget Afg, Zim, Ire, Scotland, Netherlands; even USA and Canada have reached level of semi professionalism wherein such unfit players won't be considered no matter what his upside is with the bat.

At best Azam might make the Uganda or PNG teams but it is a shame for the other Pak domestic batters that Pak had to bring Azam to WT20 ahead of them.

Generally, he is sloppy behind the stumps. Last game was worse than usual, for sure. But overall he doesnt have a safe pair of hands.

Hahaha he is dropping simple catches that even I could grab easily even without gloves.

I am sure he will leak as many runs through misfielding as he will score. :ROFLMAO:

Rizwan.

You can't have a liability as a wicketkeeper during a major tournament. It will come back to bite you eventually due to how long the tournament is.

and he will surely pick the 3rd option lol

If Azam plays, surely he has to field. Maybe we can have a permanent slip especially in the matches where we play 4 pacers

He cannot field. There is no way we can hide this guy in the field. Have to accept this guy with his keeping abilities.

He's not worse than an Umar Akmal as a WK. He's okay. He will keep because in field he cannot run fast.

Rizwan is a way better keeper but then where to hid Azam?
Still Rizwan should be preferred as even one dropped chance can be a turning pint.

Even if Azam isn't agile, I am quite sure he is as good a catcher as any(coz he is a wk) and wont drop chances like a usual Pakistani fielder does.

Rizwan is a way better keeper but then where to hid Azam?
Still Rizwan should be preferred as even one dropped chance can be a turning pint.

Even if Azam isn't agile, I am quite sure he is as good a catcher as any(coz he is a wk) and wont drop chances like a usual Pakistani fielder does.
Where to hide Rizwan the fraud T20 batsman? As an opener in the powerplay with 2 fielders outside?

You would think Azam Khan is the 2nd coming of Viv Richards when you see the comments. Azam should NOT even be near the squad, let alone play. When you have a discussion where to ''hide an overweight/obese player'' you already got a major issue. I can guarantee he will drop big catches during the WC is he keeps wickets and also extras will be easily taken.

We have seen how NZ made him look like, he is a pathetic cricket player with a very poor mindset. Cricket is his full-time job and just look the way he has handled himself. The biggest issue here is the one who selected him, that sends just a wrong message to the whole Pak cricket culture and values.

For me personally I hope Pak does well ofcourse, but TBH with a player like him in the ranks it makes it very difficult to support the team!

I’ll settle this once and for all, how’s this compromise…

Play Muhammad Harris as your sole keeper+batsman and kick both Rizwan and Azam out.

Let’s call it evens then! I am not going to tolerate anyone justifying Rizwan’s position in this team when HE ISNT A T20 OPENER!

Where to hide Rizwan the fraud T20 batsman? As an opener in the powerplay with 2 fielders outside?
Babar Azam is a bigger concern than Rizwan in t20s.

I don’t think you can hide Rizwan anywhere as he doesn’t have the game to play at any other place apart from the top order.

The onus is on the management to ask him to bat risk free and utilise the powerplay, if he doesn’t do it and Pakistan suffers from it just push some other player at the top, probably Usman.

I’ll settle this once and for all, how’s this compromise…

Play Muhammad Harris as your sole keeper+batsman and kick both Rizwan and Azam out.

Let’s call it evens then! I am not going to tolerate anyone justifying Rizwan’s position in this team when HE ISNT A T20 OPENER!
Muhammad Haris is not in the list of probables, right?

I think that its only bcoz of him that Pak was able to reach finals last time. He should have gotten a longer rope

Coming back to reality, Ayub and Rizwan seems like the best pair.

Look at the positive side, you have shifted away from two accumulators opening the innings to one accumulator and one dasher.

I think that its only bcoz of him that Pak was able to reach finals last time. He should have gotten a longer rope

Look at the positive side, you have shifted away from two accumulators opening the innings to one accumulator and one dasher.
Haris is a mess at the moment. Max he can play 5 deliveries. Instead of working on their game, any Pak player who can, joins all the T20 leaugues where ever possible.

Haris failed to develop. All he has in arsenal is one scoop/ramp and a couple of hacks on the leg side. Instead of trying to develop himself, he is busy using social media to lobby for himself.

nothing to do with social media, major issue is their hunger/greed for cheap cricket and money by playing T20 cricket. Do these guys player regular 4 day cricket? Is there a plan to develop and work on their game/skills?

Its again starts with the leader, the so called leader is meak and has no clue himself.

nothing to do with social media, major issue is their hunger/greed for cheap cricket and money by playing T20 cricket. Do these guys player regular 4 day cricket? Is there a plan to develop and work on their game/skills?

Its again starts with the leader, the so called leader is meak and has no clue himself.
Each individual is responsible for his own game development. Leaders cannot force anybody to work hard on his game.
Also, he is using social media to get back into the team like so many other Pakistani players.

Each individual is responsible for his own game development. Leaders cannot force anybody to work hard on his game.
Also, he is using social media to get back into the team like so many other Pakistani players.

these youngsters are just following a trend set by misbah babar and rizwan so yes the leader is responsible for setting a bad example. misbah followed by babar has changed the whole cricket culture in the last 15 years.

if you've not been following cricket pre 2010 you won't understand how our cricket has been changed over the years

these youngsters are just following a trend set by misbah babar and rizwan so yes the leader is responsible for setting a bad example. misbah followed by babar has changed the whole cricket culture in the last 15 years.

if you've not been following cricket pre 2010 you won't understand how our cricket has been changed over the years
Cricket was here before Babar and cricket will be here after Babar. I know you guys like bring in Banar for everything but cricket doesn’t start and end with Babar. Harris knows what modern cricket entails and no one is stopping him to develop those skills. Said that if Harris can average 58@89SR he would be picket in a heartbeat. Right now he averages 7 in ODIs.
Even in T20s if he has regressed. He had a very poor PSL and other international outings.

When did Babar or Misbah use social media to get back into the team? If anything it's guys like Malik, YK, Afridi, Hafeez, Umar Akmal and recently Amir and Imad that use media and run propaganda campaigns to stage come backs.

Please don't just make up stuff. Some of us have seen cricket prior to 2010 and are familiar with the changes.

When did Babar or Misbah use social media to get back into the team? If anything it's guys like Malik, YK, Afridi, Hafeez, Umar Akmal and recently Amir and Imad that use media and run propaganda campaigns to stage come backs.

Please don't just make up stuff. Some of us have seen cricket prior to 2010 and are familiar with the changes.
Your 5 iconic words

- Don't disrespect our legends.
- Double standards much
- Please don't just make up stuff.
- Babar Sher
- Don't you want experimentation?

If Misbah was coaching Australia we'd have a t20 line up of

1) Steve Smith
2) Usman Khuwaja
3) Labu
4) Chris Lynn
5) Ben mcdermott
6) D arcy short
7) David Warner

^^ This would be the lineup that would get cremated every series with maxwell, Marsh, Travis being dropped, and even then you'd be saying

Lol don't you want experimentation? Don't make stuff up.

As for what @emranabbas Said, he's not talking about them using social media to get back into the team, this trend of cake culture was started by Misbah and many players grew unfit in his era including nasir jamshed who people have advocated deeply for. Babar is no different

And the trend of being overly aggressive when questioned on the press is carried over but never existed during sarfi's press conferences.

The iconic Misbah interview " KYA MEIN CHIKEI NAHI MARTA". Given how influential misbah is in your life, I'm suprised you don't highlight his meltdowns and focus way too much on me.

@daytrader
I don't know what your talking about

check cricketmanias post he's talking about player development and only in his last line he mentioned social media.

You wrote a whole paragraph about social media when i didn't even mention social media.

@daytrader here is my post where have I mentioned social media?

Leaders set examples. Seeing Babar captain Naseem in a SL leauge in August heat 2 months before the WC, showed it all.

I just wish azam Khan was thinner. His brother is thin and is basically as hot as a model(platonically speaking) so it clearly shows the family got good genes.

So idkw azam himself is a babloo. If he was thinner he'd be a gun keeper and his power game would still remain. Being fat has got nothing to do with six hitting lol, by that logic jake fraser shouldn't be able to hit sixes at all as he's thin and nimble with just a bit of muscle.

I just wish azam Khan was thinner. His brother is thin and is basically as hot as a model(platonically speaking) so it clearly shows the family got good genes.

So idkw azam himself is a babloo. If he was thinner he'd be a gun keeper and his power game would still remain. Being fat has got nothing to do with six hitting lol, by that logic jake fraser shouldn't be able to hit sixes at all as he's thin and nimble with just a bit of muscle.
bhai when he will eat 6 parathas at a time so how can he get thinner? lol :D

This annaj ka dushman can never stop eating unhealthy food and we have to live wit this fact.

bhai when he will eat 6 parathas at a time so how can he get thinner? lol :D

This annaj ka dushman can never stop eating unhealthy food and we have to live wit this fact.
The thing is rana bhai and a few others were commenting that it's genetics but it's clearly not true.

His brother is fine, infact his brother is basically a model and the guy of every girl's dream. His own dad isn't that bad looking either and in his prime was extremly fit. And his own mom is also fine. The family is good looking, with good genes and is an educated family that has grown up with a good quality life, infact their a rich family lol.

So I just don't get this, it's very rare that a kid born in a rich, educated and sports family would be this obese. Its like imagine if Triple His daughter was obese or if Usain bolt's children were obese. It makes no sense really.

The thing is rana bhai and a few others were commenting that it's genetics but it's clearly not true.

His brother is fine, infact his brother is basically a model and the guy of every girl's dream. His own dad isn't that bad looking either and in his prime was extremly fit. And his own mom is also fine. The family is good looking, with good genes and is an educated family that has grown up with a good quality life, infact their a rich family lol.

So I just don't get this, it's very rare that a kid born in a rich, educated and sports family would be this obese. Its like imagine if Triple His daughter was obese or if Usain bolt's children were obese. It makes no sense really.
yeah its not about the genetics, this guy just never wants to get back into the shape.

Last year he surprisingly lost too much weight but now it seems like he has gained even more than he had before.

Riswan is being accommodated in the team, Pakistan can’t hope for a prayer if he is there. The goal now is for Pakistan to win the WC, anything less is not acceptable, so his 50’s at S/R of around 130 will just be so misleading, how many times will Pakistan fans fall for his tricks. I would take a fat obese Azam over Riswan, my preference is Mo. Harris but I’d gamble with Azam over Ris because I know he can belt the ball and is more equipped for the T20 format.

Besides, Azam has royalty in his blood and his mentor is a personified great, I want Azam to finish his story and win the title his father couldn’t, he will do it for Moin.

Mo. Riswan on the other hand, his own father is ashamed of him, so he went to Misbah for mentorship, and it backfired, Misbah said to him, beta let me kiss your hands, now you are blessed to open the batting, also betah all you need is one shot in T20, the Cow Corner Slog, just make sure you read some dua’s out loud so everybody takes you more seriously to, you’re a skinny guy; if Azam lets out some gas, kiss your wicket keeping career goodbye.

Is it a coincidence that everything Misbah touches turns to mess?

He is an insult to the position of Wicket keepers. This is low level club cricket stuff to hve the fat slow player as your main keeper so hw doesnt get exposed in the field. He will guarantee.miss a big chance at a crucial time and his apologists will turn then. As always hindsight fans

Riswan is being accommodated in the team, Pakistan can’t hope for a prayer if he is there. The goal now is for Pakistan to win the WC, anything less is not acceptable, so his 50’s at S/R of around 130 will just be so misleading, how many times will Pakistan fans fall for his tricks. I would take a fat obese Azam over Riswan, my preference is Mo. Harris but I’d gamble with Azam over Ris because I know he can belt the ball and is more equipped for the T20 format.

Besides, Azam has royalty in his blood and his mentor is a personified great, I want Azam to finish his story and win the title his father couldn’t, he will do it for Moin.

Mo. Riswan on the other hand, his own father is ashamed of him, so he went to Misbah for mentorship, and it backfired, Misbah said to him, beta let me kiss your hands, now you are blessed to open the batting, also betah all you need is one shot in T20, the Cow Corner Slog, just make sure you read some dua’s out loud so everybody takes you more seriously to, you’re a skinny guy; if Azam lets out some gas, kiss your wicket keeping career goodbye.

Is it a coincidence that everything Misbah touches turns to mess?
Keep spreading the truth. Although the rizwan and misbah exagurrayed story had me rolling 😂.

As for misbah, the reason everything he touches turns into a mess is because he had beyond stubborn views in white ball cricket. But tell that to his fans who praise him on end.

Not sure how is this relevant to player striving to make himself better by spending time in nets and playing domestic cricket.
It is 100% relevant. You tell your main bowler to rest and work on his fitness back home, not play in some random T20 leaugue in August. Also Naseem was not even 100% fit.

Naseem is a grown up, he can make his own decisions. And if anything, this should come from PCB who manages player. It’s not an individual’s place to stop someone from earning money.

Azam Khan shouldn't even be in the squad, let alone the playing eleven.
He can be a useful impact player but it doesn't happen in international cricket. Let him just bat for 15-20 balls and hopefully he scored 30-40 quick runs and that's the day for him.

I would be over the moon if he manages to deliver even 3 knocks like that in the World Cup against teams that aren't Ireland, USA or Canada. But somehow I feel like he won't. Would be more than happy to be proven wrong though.

Keeping requires athleticism and Azam AKA babloo doesn't come close to this damn thing so as a keeper Rizwan is miles ahead.

Naseem is a grown up, he can make his own decisions. And if anything, this should come from PCB who manages player. It’s not an individual’s place to stop someone from earning money.
So you wouldnt be worried as a captain seeing your main bowler playing some random T20 leaugue in the August heat? It is the job of a captain/leader to look after his playerd and step up.

Azam Khan is keeping for Pakistan instead of Mohammad Rizwan in 2nd T20I against England, now what is this strategy of Babar Azam now?

Another day, another drop by Azam. It is time for him to work on his fitness and come back once he can actually keep

shZ2dGk.png

Our genious fans and selectors need to wake up that this is not lower division club cricket that you put the fattest player in the team to wicket keep. It has been a specialist position for ages for a reason you need real skill. Imagine if Azam had played longer formats as a keeper how many catches and stumping he wouldve missed.

I don’t understand how this is even a question. Anyone with even an iota of understanding of the game would know Azam is not fit to keep at even fc level let alone in international cricket. Makes one question the sanity of the think tank. At a level where every run every save matters, giving the most specialized role in cricket to a grossly unfit amateur is criminal.

Selectors are being made to look like fools.
Not persisting with Haris after last world cup and going with Azam instead.
Selecting 5 pacers in squad with no backup batter or all-rounder like salman agha.
Not giving any game time to abrar and persisting with Shadab.
Not giving Ifran any games to test him for middle order.

With Usman Khan capable of WK, somewhat.

You don't need Azam Khan. Specially since his strength is six hitting which hasn't been proven in Intl. Cricket.

What really annoyed me about Azam Khan prior to this game was his unnecessary showboating—attempting to collect regular balls with ridiculous finesse and flipping the ball back to the slip fielder with a look down look . This game has brought him back to earth. Not sure anyone noticed his moves lately.

Selectors are being made to look like fools.
Not persisting with Haris after last world cup and going with Azam instead.
Selecting 5 pacers in squad with no backup batter or all-rounder like salman agha.
Not giving any game time to abrar and persisting with Shadab.
Not giving Ifran any games to test him for middle order.
we did this same top drama in last WC as well when we refused to select HAris till we were forced to during the WC after losing to Zimbabwe and public pressure

Lol he is actually in the playing 11? PCB never manages to let their team’s fan down.