Murali Vijay: An international failure?

Sakss

Murali Vijay who was scoring heaps of runs in the recent IPL has failed on the big arena showing the qualtiy of cricket being played in the IPL>...your views? :13:

sakss said:
Murali Vijay who was scoring heaps of runs in the recent IPL has failed on the big arena showing the qualtiy of cricket being played in the IPL>...your views? :13:
is Michal Clarke an international failure since he has failed to score runs in this tourney?

thats coz, the quality of International Cricket is waaay higher than in a domestic chamcha cricket IPL...

Murali Vijay is same as Mohammad Hafeez... beasts at domestic cricket, cubs at Internationals

This guy has potential. For that sake I am willing to back him even if he has not provided immediate returns. Chopping and changing just because a youngster hasn't proven himself during his early days is not going to help anyone. He should be in the team as a back up player and be given opportunities (like the one he has got to go to Zim). From his part he should grab his chances, improve his game and repay the faith imposed on him..

The jury is out on him at the moment though.

Xoib said:
is Michal Clarke an international failure since he has failed to score runs in this tourney?

oh so ur trying to compare clarke wth murali....plzz go sleep mate

dani2k said:
This guy has potential. For that sake I am willing to back him even if he has not provided immediate returns. Chopping and changing just because a youngster hasn't proven himself during his early days is not going to help anyone. He should be in the team as a back up player and be given opportunities (like the one he has got to go to Zim). From his part he should grab his chances, improve his game and repay the faith imposed on him..

The jury is out on him at the moment though.
from what I have seen he's a Laxman with no backfoot play still young though.

sakss said:
oh so ur trying to compare clarke wth murali....plzz go sleep mate
nah just saying sample size is too small to determine he's a success or failure.

Its the guys 1st T20 tourney, its difficult to judge how good/bad he is...

typical pak mentality guys...a guy plays a couple of games and we label him a flop...india will give him chances and watch him become great...lets be honest continuity gets you places

His Laxmanesque footwork will not work overseas, especially if he plays as an opener.

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
His Laxmanesque footwork will not work overseas, especially if he plays as an opener.

ths what i wanted to hear...expert opinion :)

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:

Thats what they told Viru too :) I wouldnt classify him in Viru's league and I wouldnt write him off either. It all depends on the guys talent and how he wants to improve his game.

We will provide him with chances. It is up to him to take it or lose it..

I think he could actually turn out to be a good player, someone better than the rest of his generation as long as T20 cricket doesn't spoil him because from what I remember he used to be the most technically sound batsmen going around the India circuit the last couple of seasons

He looks decent from what I saw in the IPL, but then again - IPL isn't a good indicator of a player's quality.

He's failed so far in the WT20 too, but then again - Twenty20 cricket as a whole isn't a good indicator of showing how good/bad a player is. You could also say that about Hafeez, like "then why do you say Hafeez is bad if the WT20 is a bad indicator?", but no - Hafeez has shown, always, not just playing for Pakistan in Twenty20 games, that he is a FAILURE. An epic failure of massive proportions. This guy cannot play.

dani2k said:
Thats what they told Viru too :) I wouldnt classify him in Viru's league and I wouldnt write him off either. It all depends on the guys talent and how he wants to improve his game.

We will provide him with chances. It is up to him to take it or lose it..

That's a fair point, but Viru's exceptional offside game allows him to cover that weakness...don't think Murali is that fluent in that region, seems to like to play a lot more on the legside.

True, lekin cricket off pe kheli jaati hai, leg pey naheen ;-)

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
That's a fair point, but Viru's exceptional offside game allows him to cover that weakness...don't think Murali is that fluent in that region, seems to like to play a lot more on the legside.

Has got a decent cover drive though not he can no way be compared to Viru. Remember he was branded a test match specialist and has a couple of good scores against the Aussies and Sri Lankans.

Has recently adapted his game to suit the shorter versions of the game. Worth persisting alteast in tests though his limited overs career would depend on the results that he would produce in the forthcoming series against Zim and SL away. I see him as back up player atleast for the next year and he will get his chances even if not on a regular basis. It is entirely upto him whether he wants to go the Gambhir way or not.

Indeed, I saw his debut vs. the Aussies, looks like a mentally tough individual, good for Test cricket...but the static footwork is a worry...and you're right, the way he has changed his game to be a good option in limited overs cricket is also a feather in his cap.

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
Indeed, I saw his debut vs. the Aussies, looks like a mentally tough individual, good for Test cricket...but the static footwork is a worry...and you're right, the way he has changed his game to be a good option in limited overs cricket is also a feather in his cap.

does that remind you of someone ?//khurram manzoor...

Well people used to call Gambhir and Raina failures as well when they started of. These Indians do work hard on their batting, not like our batsmen. What has Misbah done ever since he was a hit in 2007, the guy can't take even sigles man.

To early to judge murali, why this desperation?

Pakistan are in Semi-finals, be happy :) and let the indian's take care of their players

sakss said:
does that remind you of someone ?//khurram manzoor...

LOL Khurram ke 500 aur masley hain, not just footwork :))

Murali Vijay is a test player, not much of the t20 kind, his only t20 success was in a couple of t20 s in ipl, which came as a surprise actually.

He hasn't played enough tests, to be classified as success/failure.

While Jadeja is a totally different case.... :pissed:

Bhai aaj ka match to khatam ho jaane de.

Waise he is part of the team that will play tri series in zim involving Sri lanka, hope he does well in the ODIs there aur aaj ke match mein bhi kuch dhamaka kar de kya maje..

When condition changes it is difficult to adjust for the first time. Murali Vijay is his first time trip out in the WI I presume. The pitches are different, he is not (seasoned) in the circuit for as long as Watson, Jayawardene and others.

Paul Colly has failed so far and he is a seasoned vet. Are you going reject the English skippers talent as well. A failure on a tour should not be the only judging factor of a talent.

If he is dedicated to improve his game on different wickets then I don't see why he won't make it in international cricket. Shot selection seems to be his main downfall from what I have seen.

3 more Odis after the t20 cup.....still failing to impress...

the big hype is no more thn an average domestic palyer....

I really thought he had it in him to make it big, not happening so far

I think with the kind of competition there, he might just have 1-2 more innings left to impress, so he better make it big in then

This is the chance for players like karthik, vijay,,,yadav,,sharma and the other new lot to impress and make a regular palce in the team....apart from rohit sharma others have been ordinary

*sallu* said:
I really thought he had it in him to make it big, not happening so far

I think with the kind of competition there, he might just have 1-2 more innings left to impress, so he better make it big in then

With Sehwag, Gambhir, Sachin (ODI) in the team, it is too difficult for him to get into the team with this kind of performance.

The only good thing for him is there is not much competition for opener spot when one of the regulars are not available. So he gets his chances. He should really grab these chances before someone else competes as opener.

He would have been sent back to domestic if he were a middle order batsman.

IPL IV FINAL

He is smacking it everywhere , one of those rare good days :p

He is an average player. We must not forget that Quality of cricket is not very high in IPL.
India has much better players than him who deserve chances.

He shows glimpses of class now and then. Definitely nowhere near a good player currently but he has potential if he is willing to put in the kind of work Gambhir and Virat did to improve his game. Let's hope he doesn't suck during the WI tour.

Decent prospect. Hard to judge quality players on T20.

I mean David Warner is a good T20 player. So is Pollard. Neither of them are actually good batsmen.

India have some very healthy batting competition for spots at the moment. Younguns need to take their chances when they are given them.

From what I have seen I rate Kohli and Pujara above him. Doesn't mean he is a hack though.

Care to explain what makes the QUALITY of cricket in IPL low? Cheerleaders, foreign players, domestic players, or absence of Pakistan players. IPL is T20 format, A player doing good in T20 may not be good in one day, or test formats.

Yes. Watching it? Looks several rungs below international cricket.

Bowling quality is horrible in IPL. Albie Morkel is the new ball bowler for the best team in IPL. This guy is probably the worst bowler to ever play for SA.

To give Vijay some credit he has done okay when he played for the test team....didn't set the stage on fire but came up with decent contributions in a few games. He has sucked big time in the ODIs. Based on his current form, I agree Kholi and Pujara are definitely better players. I am looking forward to seeing Mukund in action. He opens for Tamil Nadu with Vijay and is said to be a better player.

Decent prospect. Hard to judge quality players on T20.

I mean David Warner is a good T20 player. So is Pollard. Neither of them are actually good batsmen.

India have some very healthy batting competition for spots at the moment. Younguns need to take their chances when they are given them.

From what I have seen I rate Kohli and Pujara above him. Doesn't mean he is a hack though.

Well said, RA.

There are two more players from our domestic scene with lots of potential to perform at the highest level are Ajinkya Rahane (middle order batsmen and far better batter than Pujara - technically/temperamentally ) and Abhniav Mukund (lefty opener). Both have very decent techniques and temperament besides having a very decent First class experience at very young age.

BTW, Abhinav Mukund has been selected for Test side going to WI as a Opener. I am more interested in these guys and hope they make use of these opportunities.

As Gsivak pointed out,Vijay despite wasting too many opportunities given to him at the LOI(both50 and 20 overs cricket), as always done more than decent performance at Test level. In fact he scored a century against Australia not too long ago. I hope he regains his lost form and contributes well at the top for India in tests.

He will tested where the ball bounces a bit more...even in test cricket.

I would rate the young ones in this order

1. Rahane/Mukund
2. Rayudu
3. Pujara (who has a good temperament and is probably one who will justify his talent)

He's an average batsmen, nothing special about him, there are many players leaps ahead of him...

From what i see, he is a Pakistani batsman

It's upon us now whether this is what we should invest in or not. This guy has lazy elegance, careless, but the shots as well. In full flow he is quite a batsman. But that happens rarely

Performance yesterday, solid !
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoueEWlPNto

Against Royals last season, sesnsational
<iframe width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/enP-GKW0zRM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Has played 3-4 good knocks at test level as well although on flat beds

Unlucky with that dismissal just now however I really don't see how this guy can succeed with his technique. He'll do okay in Asia but elsewhere he will struggle.

Would rather see Patel open - at least he can 'play ugly' and occupy the crease for long periods if the need be.

Looks more suited to the middle order maybe 5/6 certainly not up to opening or batting 3 in tests with his technic and loose stroke play.

Very disappointed with his performance on this tour :/

Should be tried for the t20 wc. Big hundred tonight when it mattered.

He surely owned Delhi bowlers today :afridi

392-Murali-Vijay-CSK-opener.jpg

Indian version of imran nazir

How many tests has Nazir played and what is his performance there?
I agree with madaboutcricket , Vijay resembles Afridi in batting specially when Afridi opens the innings. (not batting style ,performance)

As a CSK fan I wouldn't imagine our team without him but I don't want him anywhere near the Indian team, very inconsistent.

Agree. He just owned debutant DD spinner,Sehwag and Rookie Negi . Never looked convincing against quality bowling even for one instance since I've followed his game. His hundred against OZ in Bangalore was too scratchy and edgy.
Pecking order should be Rahane, Dhawan, Mandeep Singh and then Vijay.

good hundred...but still not quite impressive smashing domestic bowlers round the park...

I will not play him outside India.

We need a opener, don't see sehwag lasting long.

He isn't the typical IPL FTB - he was originally a classy opener in the test mould who adapated himself to T20 ( and succeeded a bit too). But he did not make good his chances ( probably a mental thing) at the international level. He may get more chances in future.

You can also compare Vijay with Umar Akmal. Both are aggressive and good sloggers. not good against swing or top class bowling.

umar akmal has performed against top class bowling and is decent in swinging conditions, took us home during a collapse in the oval test, not to mention his debut

Mammoth knock from Murali Vijay in the Irani trophy. Man i wouldn't mind him back in our test team. He's got issues, ayt but the guy is a massive FTB and you always need them for home invincibility. :25:

Batting on 260* right now. :108:

Bad luck of murli that he is born in India where u can find good batsman in every 2nd house.. 1 bad innings as an Indian batsman and fingers start pointing towards u..

Mammoth knock from Murali Vijay in the Irani trophy. Man i wouldn't mind him back in our test team. He's got issues, ayt but the guy is a massive FTB and you always need them for home invincibility. :25:

Batting on 260* right now. :108:

Rather get Unmukt Chand who's doing well in tough pitches of NZ with India A.

That is because he has not been given a good run in the international side.

Pakistan should invite Rahane and Murli Vijaye over to play for their team. India already has too many high quality batsmen to play with.

^ for that you'll have to give Junaid Khan and Umar Gul . :kapil

But now Gambhir should stop playing pokeman on the pitch, else will have to captain his Delhi team for one full season.

Go boy! We must put our faith in Murali now that Sehwag is about to retire. Yes, he has flaws in technique and temperament but is a very positive, attacking player. Once he gets going, he really puts the team in the driving seat with his strokeplay.

surprised to see him play such a calm innings.I thought he lacked patience

still he needs to do well consistently n overseas

surprised to see him play such a calm innings.I thought he lacked patience

still he needs to do well consistently n overseas

Has already played close to 14 tests and still having a very mediocre record to boot with. I feel his head was in line for chopping post this test hence this surprisingly calm n organized inning from him. More than overseas at least in Home conditions he need to score big runs consistently (like Viru n Gauti used to do till few years back) to fix his spot as a regular in Team India.

Keep calm and put your faith in the man. We don't have too many great options.

Yeah, even a half decent opener is welcome at this time, we have only quarter decent openers playing in the team for more than 2 years.

If Vijay could get at least 3 more (separate) hundreds in the remaining 5 innings(including next 2 tests) in this series, then it may very well change the way skeptics view him (many Indian fans like myself seeing him as a player who is obsessed with rash stroke making and poor-concentration for playing longer inning)

But very well played today, though :14: