Narendra Modi finally announces economic package amidst COVID19 outbreak

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Value as claimed : 20 lac cr

More to follow as Live speech is going on

Let’s hold our horses. I believe the numbers will be highly dependent on industries investing x amount to get any benefit.

One large chunk would be land for SEZs, which will only come to fruition if we have any new manufacturing units being setup. The government is no fiscal position to give handouts to the people. We will be bankrupting ourselves if we give away 300 billion

Let’s hold our horses. I believe the numbers will be highly dependent on industries investing x amount to get any benefit.

One large chunk would be land for SEZs, which will only come to fruition if we have any new manufacturing units being setup. The government is no fiscal position to give handouts to the people. We will be bankrupting ourselves if we give away 300 billion

Yea.. unlike western and Japanese India can’t afford to print money like that.

From his speech, it seemed more like a post Covid economic policy package and not necessarily focussed on Covid affected people.

Post Covid scenario is a big opportunity for countries like India, Mexico, Vietnam etc who are seeking FDI from companies looking tk shift base from China. This is more focussed on that and in that case the numbers are believable

This is how I see it Labour laws abolished in many states for 3 years and stimulus package announced, coincidence is annoying but will wait for more info on how this stimulus will be given.

Are you Indian? I thought you were Pakistani, no?

This is how I see it Labour laws abolished in many states for 3 years and stimulus package announced, coincidence is annoying but will wait for more info on how this stimulus will be given.

It’s not a coincidence. The law suspension has been announced by 3 BJP run states. They probably (hopefully) know about some back channel talks going on.

There have been rumours about the centre building up a land bank from the last few months which has accelerated in the last 2-3 weeks. I believe the cost of these land banks is factored into the 300B.

It’s not a coincidence. The law suspension has been announced by 3 BJP run states. They probably (hopefully) know about some back channel talks going on.

There have been rumours about the centre building up a land bank from the last few months which has accelerated in the last 2-3 weeks. I believe the cost of these land banks is factored into the 300B.

Thanks .. i was hoping it’s just a coincidence sadly now it feels most of us know anything is too good to be true.

Thats not really a bad thing. You probably want more jobs created in UP, MP and Bihar anyway. Them being in lockstep with the Centre is actually good. Imagine if it was Congress in power in those states instead, most of the stimulus then would have been picked up by the already properous states like Maharashtra, TN.

30% of that is already announced , but still a lot bigger than most people expected .

This package is mostly to tap into market and create jobs and other business opportunities, and not entirely focused on relief fund as you may think.

I think as someone posted, this is to create a pool of funds in order to kick start manufacturing plants as many western countries are looking for alternative to China.

Modi announces $266 billion package for India's coronavirus-hit economy

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced a 20 trillion rupee ($266 billion) support package for India's economy on Tuesday to help mitigate the damage caused by the novel coronavirus and the lockdown it has triggered.

https://in.mobile.reuters.com/article/amp/idINKBN22O29S

Absolutely top stuff from PM

Lol, gullibles can be fooled so easily by jumla babu....

Lol, someone from opposition wrote this,

Hoping that the Rs 20 lakh crore package is not scripted with same pen which was used to make the promises of giving everyone Rs 15 Lakh, cleaning 'Maa Ganga', bringing back black money in 100 days, transforming Varanasi into Kyoto and ending terrorism with demonetisation."

Also, assuming this figure is correct despite knowing this jhoothi government's track record over last 6 years, these thieves aren't going to give this from their pockets. Instead, it'll be us, the usual punching bags who'll have shell out this astronomical sum of money.

Lol, someone from opposition wrote this,

Hoping that the Rs 20 lakh crore package is not scripted with same pen which was used to make the promises of giving everyone Rs 15 Lakh, cleaning 'Maa Ganga', bringing back black money in 100 days, transforming Varanasi into Kyoto and ending terrorism with demonetisation."

Not to forget development and big companies landing in J&K. Kashmiris don't even have 4G. They want Kashmiris to work from home during this lockdown too but with 2G lol.

Only bhakhts can be fooled by this package. :inti

Some stupid bhakts of Modi and BJP in India are making memes and laughing at Pakistan that this package is nearly equal to Pakistan's GDP.

These monkeys have no sense of relativity

Some stupid bhakts of Modi and BJP in India are making memes and laughing at Pakistan that this package is nearly equal to Pakistan's GDP.

That is not wrong though. Pakistan's 2020 GDP is $284 Billion which near to the package our PM has announced $266 Billion.

Stocks in India Soar After Modi Pledges $265 Billion Package

Stocks in Asia’s third-largest economy jumped the most in almost two weeks after Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday said his government will spend a total of 20 trillion rupees ($265 billion) to help India weather the fallout of the coronavirus pandemic.

The S&P BSE Sensex index gained 2.5% to 32,164.6 as of 11:13 am in Mumbai. The Nifty 50 rose 2.5%. The package amounts to 10% of India’s gross domestic product, Modi said in a televised address to the nation, without giving details.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...s-jump-after-modi-pledges-265-billion-package

Excellent. A lesson for 1st world leaders as well how to save economy. Boris should take similar steps and save UK markets which is heading towards recession.

Yikes that's a huge sum. I am nervous, hope it works out..

P.S. is there anyway the billions which the Italian waitress looted from the country be brought back and injected to this stimulus ?.

Nirmala Sitharaman is going to speak at 4PM today.

Typical of her and her budgets, I fully expect this to be nothing more than the headline. We'll probably grow at 0% this year regardless.

Yikes that's a huge sum. I am nervous, hope it works out..

P.S. is there anyway the billions which the Italian waitress looted from the country be brought back and injected to this stimulus ?.

You and your obsession with the Italian waitress continues in this thread as well. :inti

This is only half of the story. The other half is where are cuts going to be made for this economic package. Will the cut be in defence ( I hope not). Hopefully the schemes for poor would take the budget cut as they hardly contribute anything.

I totally agree, calling Imran names for his constant fund raising, making fun of Pakistan’s unfortunate economic issues is below the belt considering this pandemic is sending everyone into panic mode.

Fortunately Modi or the main members of his candidate have not been pointing at Pakistan in every speech or using it as an equivalence. Need to give them credit. Unfortunately can’t stop social media army on any side.

Not to forget development and big companies landing in J&K. Kashmiris don't even have 4G. They want Kashmiris to work from home during this lockdown too but with 2G lol.

Only bhakhts can be fooled by this package. :inti

Some Kashmiris staying at home and not going to their usual “work” may not be a bad thing to be honest.

So it turned out to be ‘Tay Tay fiss’ as expected. Nothing but lollipops for the middle class who have lost jobs or going through pay cut/LOP.

Always knew it. He is called a jumla babu for a reason.

Nirmala Sitharaman is going to speak at 4PM today.

Typical of her and her budgets, I fully expect this to be nothing more than the headline. We'll probably grow at 0% this year regardless.

A growth of 0% when the world is staring at -10% is a tremendous achievement.

This is only half of the story. The other half is where are cuts going to be made for this economic package. Will the cut be in defence ( I hope not). Hopefully the schemes for poor would take the budget cut as they hardly contribute anything.

Are you serious about your remark about poor people?

Thank god , from this month , there will be 25 % reduction in income tax which increases my take home money. This is really useful as of now.

It’s not applicable for your salary :)
Only change for salaried class is 10% PF cut instead of 12%

It’s not applicable for your salary :)
Only change for salaried class is 10% PF cut instead of 12%

I know but my father has few rental properties (2 on my name) along with mutual funds which have dividends where we expect save some tax money for this year.

Also for salaried, EPF for 3 months will be paid by govt. of MSME companies not MNCs

All that is fine, but does an unemployed man like me get any handouts from Modiji.

Or does he only care about his employed fans busy working on social media :sarf

I know but my father has few rental properties (2 on my name) along with mutual funds which have dividends where we expect save some tax money for this year.

Also for salaried, EPF for 3 months will be paid by govt. of MSME companies not MNCs

Lol no offense and totally happy for you but if you’re the one being helped and not the daily laborers and unemployed then it takes away the whole point of the stimulus package.

Well said, Jairam Ramesh.

Jairam Ramesh

@Jairam_Ramesh
Last night the Prime Minister did what comes to him best.

Maximum Packaging, Minimum Meaning.

It was a case of classic NAMO. No Action Messaging Only.

Lol, this was brutal from Sinha.

Yashwant Sinha

[MENTION=152285]yash[/MENTION]wantSinha
People ask me what do you admire in Modi. I admire many things about him but currently, I have great admiration for his designer 'gamchhas' which he has acquired during the lockdown. It shd soon become a fashion trend globally.

Lol no offense and totally happy for you but if you’re the one being helped and not the daily laborers and unemployed then it takes away the whole point of the stimulus package.

You know that stimulus package just doesn't mean giving ration or handouts to the poor right? It includes a lot of things, like pumping money into the economy,bailing out struggling sectors etc etc.

Devdutt Pattanaik

@devduttmyth

500 cases... Lockdown
5000 cases... Clapping
10000 cases... Light show
40000 cases... Flowers from the sky
50000 cases... Booze party everywhere
60000 cases... Railways start

CORONA IS CONFUSED.

Are they fighting me or celebrating and welcoming my arrival?

Devdutt Pattanaik

@devduttmyth

500 cases... Lockdown
5000 cases... Clapping

CORONA IS CONFUSED.

I read a funny comment on youtube today. Would like to share it with you.

"This lockdown is like a dhoti, uper se bandha hua neeche se khula hua." :inti

Devdutt Pattanaik

@devduttmyth

500 cases... Lockdown
5000 cases... Clapping

CORONA IS CONFUSED.

Think practically this virus is present in 200
countries & a good vaccine which is at least 2 years away from our reach is the only permanent solution

But till then people should be allowed to open business with good amount of restrictions or else hunger will kill more ppl than corona

In India we have reached a stage where we have open our economy at least in orange & green zones

These type of social media key warriors don't even know E of economy nor have knowledge on how things work on grass root level

That is not wrong though. Pakistan's 2020 GDP is $284 Billion which near to the package our PM has announced $266 Billion.

It is wrong morally because in that logic California alone can ridicule us, over and over again.

Are you serious?
Did you even understand the measures taken for MSMEs ?

Yes I’m serious.

I understood the measures taken for MSMEs. It sounds good.

But do you know the criteria for MSMEs? How many private companies and corporates where thousands are employed fall under MSMEs? What about people working in these companies?

I have been put on LOP and Its the 2nd month. There are lakhs like me. Who have been either asked to resign or their salaries have been cut by 50-60% or they are on LOP.

I read that PF will deducted at 10% in place of 12%. Arey jab paisa hi nahi mil raha to kaahe ka PF?

Yes I’m serious.

I understood the measures taken for MSMEs. It sounds good.

But do you know the criteria for MSMEs? How many private companies and corporates where thousands are employed fall under MSMEs? What about people working in these companies?

Well there is a new criteria, they have revisited that which implies from about 3 mil odd it will go up substantially as more companies fall into the category. There are other measures which have been taken already to reduced chances of salary cut ..what exactly is your demand ? Pls don’t tell me credit money in account lol

Saving these stressed Companies is not taking care if employees ? Isn’t that securing millions of jobs ?

Well there is a new criteria, they have revisited that which implies from about 3 mil odd it will go up substantially as more companies fall into the category. There are other measures which have been taken already to reduced chances of salary cut ..what exactly is your demand ? Pls don’t tell me credit money in account lol

Saving these stressed Companies is not taking care if employees ? Isn’t that securing millions of jobs ?

I already agreed with MSME part. And no I’m not asking the Govt to credit the money in my account.

As you wrote- other measures. Well I couldn’t find those other measures for private sector which doesn’t fall under MSMEs. It feels like being completely ignored. There should have been measures or directives. We have been equally affected. We are also the part of this economy. We are regular tax payers.

Those who have been affected should have been given equal importance. Thats all I’m saying.

I have been put on LOP and Its the 2nd month. There are lakhs like me. Who have been either asked to resign or their salaries have been cut by 50-60% or they are on LOP.

I read that PF will deducted at 10% in place of 12%. Arey jab paisa hi nahi mil raha to kaahe ka PF?

Sorry about your situation , but honestly what exactly do you expect Govt to do here to ensure every job is secured ? It could be me tomorrow and am mentally prepared if something goes wrong , there is things which is not in Govt control ..if US goes into recession and along with world , a lot of Indian companies will go bust and it will have a ripple effect ..even if Govt pumps in another 20 lac crore , they cant save every job .

Let's face it - India has no fiscal firepower.

Wish the govt just stops lying and their shallow marketing.

Sorry about your situation , but honestly what exactly do you expect Govt to do here to ensure every job is secured ? It could be me tomorrow and am mentally prepared if something goes wrong , there is things which is not in Govt control ..if US goes into recession and along with world , a lot of Indian companies will go bust and it will have a ripple effect ..even if Govt pumps in another 20 lac crore , they cant save every job .

You will only understand it if you go through the same situation. Kindly keep your lectures to yourself.

So yet another jumla by jumla babu,

20 lakh crore at 20:20 for 2020...

Just loves his symbolism...

PM Modi discusses Covid-19 situation and vaccine to cure it with Bill Gates

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and philanthropist Bill Gates on Thursday discussed the global response to Covid-19, and the importance of global coordination in scientific innovation and research to combat the pandemic.

During a video conference, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation co-chair Bill Gates and Prime Minister Modi agreed that given India's willingness and capacity to contribute to global efforts, it was important for New Delhi to be included in the global discussions for coordinating responses to the pandemic.

https://m.timesofindia.com/india/pm...-with-bill-gates/amp_articleshow/75750941.cms

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank you for the conversation and partnership, <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a>. Combating the pandemic requires global collaboration. India’s role is key as the world works to minimize social and economic impact, and pave the way to vaccine, testing, and treatment access for all. <a href="https://twitter.com/PMOIndia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PMOIndia</a></p>— Bill Gates (@BillGates) <a href="https://twitter.com/BillGates/status/1261041440404062208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 14, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lol, 20 lakh crores shredded to pieces....

https://scroll.in/article/961999/mo...l-loans-and-liquidity-be-enough-to-save-india

For Modi’s most ardent fans, the narrative logic that followed seemed to make sense: at the 20th minute of the 20th hour of the day, Modi announced that his government would offer up an economic package of Rs 20 lakh crore. It was, he declared, “20 lakh crore for 2020”.

How is refunding money already owed to the people called a stimulus?

That too only for amounts below 5 Lakh. Everybody else slips through the cracks.

What will it take for somebody in the government to come out and actually tell us about our current balance sheet, and why the prices of petrol can't be lowered / refunds and payments are delayed etc. etc. Such honesty would be appreciated so much - I'll even stop chomping on beef for a week if it makes them happy.

Another would be deferring the TDS payments. Pls note its only deferred till next year, not waived off.

Another would be reducing EPF contributions from employee and employer to 10% from 12%. Not only will it deprive employees of netting higher interest (8.5%) on their PF proceeds, but will also make their take home salaries effectively lower (relatively) by attracting higher taxes.

I mean, is this the way they could think of putting cash in people's hands? No reduction in exorbitant GST, or on petro products which are most heavily taxed in world.

These guys are dumber (their followers are even dumber) than I thought they were.

Govt. says that new rule of (EPF of 10 % is for next three months) puts more money in employee's hand. Let's calculate to find out the truth.

Let's suppose a person has salary of Rs 15,12,000/year with below break up

Salary.JPG

So for this person difference of employer contribution to PF will be 72000 - 60000 = 12000/annum (which comes under special allowance)

(Most of the employees with nearly 15 lakh salary utilize 80C to the maximum (150,000) as 80C includes PF contribution, kids tuition fee, LIC, mutual funds etc.,)

So, an employee with above salary has more of Rs 1708.3 with EPF as 10 % for next 3 months.

P.S : Some companies add that additional 12000/annum to special allowance or some add only for next 3 months (i.e..3000/annum) to special allowance, in either way this new rule of EPF 10% puts more money in hand to the employee.

• Salary.JPG
    Salary.JPG
    86.3 KB · Views: 63
Our CEA was talking about "there are no free lunches" when asked about stimulus package, as recently as 2 days back?

Whom should we trust then? Him or his master?

"At least for agriculture reforms, this is a watershed moment. The three reforms the finance minister announced on Friday are aimed at freeing pricing, production and trade of agriculture and help the sector realise its potential. These reforms will enable farmers to escape from the clutches of middlemen and trader cartels, open new channels and foster competition in the supply chain, and provide some stability to an occupation beset with volatility."

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/business/markets/a-1991-moment-for-agriculture-5273951.html

Khangressi's are whining on twitter lol. They should have done this a long time back.

Without looking at any details, where India is getting extra $300B? Unless they are taking debt, it's hard to put 10% of GDP as stimulus for developing countries.

Govt. says that new rule of (EPF of 10 % is for next three months) puts more money in employee's hand. Let's calculate to find out the truth.

Let's suppose a person has salary of Rs 15,12,000/year with below break up

View attachment 100997

So for this person difference of employer contribution to PF will be 72000 - 60000 = 12000/annum (which comes under special allowance)

(Most of the employees with nearly 15 lakh salary utilize 80C to the maximum (150,000) as 80C includes PF contribution, kids tuition fee, LIC, mutual funds etc.,)

So, an employee with above salary has more of Rs 1708.3 with EPF as 10 % for next 3 months.

P.S : Some companies add that additional 12000/annum to special allowance or some add only for next 3 months (i.e..3000/annum) to special allowance, in either way this new rule of EPF 10% puts more money in hand to the employee.

Are you certain of the last part of employers adding the 12000 to employees' salary? I was reading about this earlier and it seems they are not asked to and thus may not have to. Any info about this?

Yes that 12000 is part of employee's salary. They have to give it back to employee as Rs 15,12,000 is total salary agreed by company (remember employer signs to pay that money in offer letter). Hence this is called CTC (Cost to company) to maintain an employee.

Employers pay their contribution from CTC itself, technically they don't pay anything from their pocket. So if they pay only 10% (to EPF) then remaining 2% (part of employee's salary) has to given back to employee and taxed appropriately.

Without looking at any details, where India is getting extra $300B? Unless they are taking debt, it's hard to put 10% of GDP as stimulus for developing countries.

It's highly unbelievable if central govt says 'v have no money' bcoz they literally squeeze ppl with taxes right from GST to income tax.

For ex: 1 litre petrol costs Rs 78 or $1(in my state) but barrel (150 litres) costs less than $20 so for a $20 product govt gets $150 ($1 * 150 litres) , if u remove all the making charges (from crude oil to petrol) still they (govt companies) will get at least $100 (for 150 litres) in profit for a product less than $20.

You can imagine the amount of money they should have

It's highly unbelievable if central govt says 'v have no money' bcoz they literally squeeze ppl with taxes right from GST to income tax.

For ex: 1 litre petrol costs Rs 78 or $1(in my state) but barrel (150 litres) costs less than $20 so for a $20 product govt gets $150 ($1 * 150 litres) , if u remove all the making charges (from crude oil to petrol) still they (govt companies) will get at least $100 (for 150 litres) in profit for a product less than $20.

You can imagine the amount of money they should have

The calculation isn’t as simple as you make it out to be.

But your point is right though. I was reading recently that eventhough the price of crude oil has more than halved over six months (and had halved before that over a 12 month period) the price per liter of petroleum in India has remained more or less stagnant and the difference is made through additional taxes

The calculation isn’t as simple as you make it out to be.

But your point is right though. I was reading recently that eventhough the price of crude oil has more than halved over six months (and had halved before that over a 12 month period) the price per liter of petroleum in India has remained more or less stagnant and the difference is made through additional taxes

Even when barrel was less than $10 still our govt looted Rs 80($1.05) per litre from us.In this loot even state govt.s have their share.

Opposition complained that neighbours in srilanka, pakistan, bangladesh pay less per litre petrol but still govt continued to loot us. So it's tax payer's money which they have pay back now

Even when barrel was less than $10 still our govt looted Rs 80($1.05) per litre from us.In this loot even state govt.s have their share.

Opposition complained that neighbours in srilanka, pakistan, bangladesh pay less per litre petrol but still govt continued to loot us. So it's tax payer's money which they have pay back now

damn i just checked

Indians are paying almost twice as much as Pakistanis for every litre of petrol (in USD equivalent terms). but countries like france, ireland, Uk etc even more expensive.

https://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/

but i dont think you can call it 'loot' lol

What happened to you? How come you're using wrds like "loot" about your favourite government?

I prefer speaking the truth. Yes I'll vote for BJP again in 2024. But if I feel govt did job I praise them if not I say they did wrong. I always try to give logical explanation on both type of posts as well.

It's just that some comedians here look only one those sided posts & they do comedy (which I really enjoy actually)

For ex : In this thread, one post says that EPF with 10% doesn't put more cash in employees. In the very next post I did calculations & proved that EPF with 10% does indeed keeps more cash in people's hand.

So if even I just did some tax calculations to prove my point still comedians here say it's wrong & I m bhakt etc,.