Near Delhi, mob kills 50-year-old, injures son over ‘rumors’ they ate beef

Vulcan

Local Club Star
A 50-year-old man, Mohammad Akhlaq, was beaten to death and his 22-year-old son severely injured on Monday night in UP’s Dadri, allegedly by residents of Bisara village, after rumours spread in the area about the family storing and consuming beef, police said.

Six people were arrested in connection with the attack, around 45 km from Delhi, sparking protests that led to police firing, damage to vehicles and injuries to a 20-year-old welder who works for the National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) facility in the area.

In Dadri, a daughter asks: ‘if it’s not beef, will they bring back my dead father?’ Police said they have sent samples of meat taken from Akhlaq’s home “to the forensics department for examination”. Akhlaq’s daughter, Sajida, said the family had “mutton in the fridge” and not beef.

The attack on Akhlaq and his family took place around 10 pm in Bisara after an announcement about the family consuming beef was allegedly made at a local temple, police said.

While Akhlaq, a farm worker, succumbed to injuries suffered during the attack, his son Danish was admitted to a government hospital where doctors described his condition as “critical”.

Gautam Budh Nagar District Magistrate N P Singh said police have been deployed in the area and “as of now, the situation is under control”. “Some locals spread rumours that Akhlaq had cow meat at his home and engaged in cow-slaughtering.

Following the rumours, tension ignited and some locals attacked his home in Bisara village,” Singh said. While a shopkeeper near the temple and Bisara village sarpanch Sanjeev Kumar Rana claimed that those arrested included the temple priest and an aide, police said the priest — identifed only as “babaji” — was released after questioning. Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), Gautam Buddh Nagar, Kiran S, said “preliminary investigations revealed that an announcement was made from the temple” about the family consuming beef. “The priest was picked for questioning as we need to investigate the involvement of others in the case,” said Kiran.

According to Sajida, Akhlaq’s 18-year-old daughter who was in the house when the attack took place, “a group of more than 100 people from the village” reached the house that night. “They accused us of keeping cow meat, broke down our doors and started beating my father and brother. My father was dragged outside the house and beaten with bricks.

We came to know later that an announcement had been made from the temple about us eating beef,” said Sajida. According to the SSP, a case of rioting and murder has been registered against 10 people. “Six of them have been arrested — Rupendra, Vivek, Sri Om, Sandeep, Saurav and Gaurav — all residents of Bisara village,” the police officer said.

“We have been told that a group of people entered the temple and used a microphone to make the announcement. However, investigations are still underway. We do not know if any of the accused are associated with the temple. We have collected meat samples from Akhlaq’s house and sent it to the forensics department for examination,” said Kiran.

However, as news of the arrests spread, residents from Bisara and neighbouring villages held demonstrations and clashed with police near the NTPC facility, damaging vehicles, including a police van, and burning a motorcycle. When police resorting to firing, Rahul Yadav, who works as a welder at NTPC, received a bullet injury near his abdomen.

Yadav’s brother Narendra said they “got caught in the clash” and alleged that his brother was injured by a bullet fired by a policeman. “Around 500 protesters from nearby villages had assembled there. A policeman fired a shot in the air but it hit Rahul on the side of his abdomen,” he said.

Senior officers, however, contested Narendra’s version that his brother was hit by a police bullet. “Rahul Yadav received a bullet injury on his lower hip. We are yet to ascertain the type of the bullet and the weapon from which it was fired,” SSP Kiran said.

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...r-old-injures-son-over-rumours-they-ate-beef/

This is very sad to hear this. But not surprised though. This was expected as the appointment of Modi as PM of India is sending very bad message to the entire India. I feared for this, and this is becoming daily routine as i predicted before Modi becomes PM of India. I rightly called Modi and his close-link terrorist, RSS, A new Taliban. India is now fast becoming new Taliban nation. :facepalm:

Sad news and i totally condemn it.

Just one question though and i'm just asking it as a vegetarian more than as an Indian. How do you justify killing a gentle beast like a cow and then go crying over a fellow human being killed? As a muslim and as a person, i totally understand your pain. I am in pain too seeing such sick mob mentality but why is it that your humane heart does not feel the grievances of animals and the tortures they go through.

This is very sad to hear this. But not surprised though. This was expected as the appointment of Modi as PM of India is sending very bad message to the entire India. I feared for this, and this is becoming daily routine as i predicted before Modi becomes PM of India. I rightly called Modi and his close-link terrorist, RSS, A new Taliban. India is now fast becoming new Taliban nation. :facepalm:

The area where this happened is dominated by Jats, who never voted for BJP. In 2013, a riot was manufactured there and they got polarized. BJP won the Jat votes there in last election, and a politician involved in the riots was made a minister. Although UP is ruled by a pro muslim party.

Just one question though and i'm just asking it as a vegetarian more than as an Indian. How do you justify killing a gentle beast like a cow and then go crying over a fellow human being killed? As a muslim and as a person, i totally understand your pain. I am in pain too seeing such sick mob mentality but why is it that your humane heart does not feel the grievances of animals and the tortures they go through.

Food chain

Food chain

No.

Food chain expects you to be hunting for survival in a Jungle. Not cold hearted killing of animals that are raised for slaughter by mechanical instruments in some cold and dark room while you all suited and booted eat that meat served to you on a shiny plate. So much for food chain, thats the worst excuse there is.

You cannot, killing an animal especially which has so much social significance and kept as part of family is a sin. Being human means being kind to non humans also who we share the earth with. We cannot kill others and each other over small things and we need to be curtious to other species.

Having said that, i think religion is the most stupid thing to kill fellow humans over.

We created religions, we created its rules and now we kill each other over it.

Humanity should be the only religion in the world.

simple, because its beef

Having said that, i think religion is the most stupid thing to kill fellow humans over.

We created religions, we created its rules and now we kill each other over it.

Humanity should be the only religion in the world.

you think that will stop people from killing each other :facpalm:

No.

Food chain expects you to be hunting for survival in a Jungle. Not cold hearted killing of animals that are raised for slaughter by mechanical instruments in some cold and dark room while you all suited and booted eat that meat served to you on a shiny plate. So much for food chain, thats the worst excuse there is.

Because beef tastes nice.

Beef steak yummm

But yes once again India showing its 'democracy' and 'equal rights' tag is absolute BS.

Every thread about beef need not have the same argument of why its cruel to kill cows. We can open a new thread and debate the morality of that.

If we Indians really care about animals, we would introduce strict standards for slaughter houses for humane killing or ban every animal slaughter altogether.

But nooooooooo....we don't want to do that.

We are more bothered about just a cow cos its mentioned in our religious texts (and no offense but vast majority of Indians don't even practice their religion propely).

Let's not paint this thing as some humanity issue when its only extended for cows and not every animal.

If you are against killing of every animal like [MENTION=96424]RWAC[/MENTION] then you have consistent views.

As for comparison of human life vs Cow life....the same can be extended elsewhere to make a point:

If you kill a cockroach by smashing it on its head....no one would bat an eyelid.
If you kill a dog by smashing a rock on its head...people would call you a barbarian.

Why so?

Cos hierarchy exists.

Human life is worth more than animal life (atleast according to the world we live in).

While this isn't directed at any particular poster (cos I see this view getting repeated again and againt)...no need to guilt trip others about eating beef.

Accept it.

Indians are being hypocritical talking about validity of beef ban and secularism. Either choose one and stick with it.

And hopefully no one needs to bring in the Muslim appeasement angle which is again a problem with Indian society.

I am talking about the moral aspect. You can't have your cake and eat it too.

Now we have our own version of the blasphemy :facepalm:

deliberately planned with an aim of religious polarisation leading up to the UP elections in 2016.

Fair enough. Then why we we need to kill lizards, cockroaches, leeches, goat, hen, e.t.c e.t.c
Isn't a torture or brutality?

Dont get what the problem with these Indian Muslims is. They should simply become more like their Hindu neighbours. Stop eating meat and perhaps frequent the temple at least two or three times a week. That way they can placate the majority who are offended by them.

65% Indians eat meat.

Not proven in an " INDIAN COURT". I'm sure the same court will justfy this killing also.
Its the opinion of Indian courts that matter in all disputes inside Indian territory and between Indians so deal with it.They are not there to give 9ut judgements to satisfy the whims of a foreign national but to deal on evidence and facts.

Disgusting..i think this news is from some village of u.p.....pathetic stuff....police has arressted 6 people so far.....i hope and pray everyone get punished

Shinning India. Modi's India :lol:

Make sure you post this article on all social media forums especially where westerners interact, its absolutely paramount the west see's the true side of India, its racism, its human rights problems, Kashmir and that fact their PM in a known Terrorist. This is the shinning India we need to tell the world about ...

India is one of the biggest exporter of beef

This has been the problem.. trigger point was the beef eating. It could be rumor also and as his daughter mentioned, it was not beef.

But if it was cow slaughter, Hindus would be up in arms, and nothing logical about condemning them, when you don't condemn cow slaughter.

Why have they taken the meat sample to examine? If the it is actually beef then the killing is justified? Or just examining because it is illegal to store beef?

This is turning in to the Indian version of the blasphemy law.

It is the local police's fault for not ensuring adequate protection was provided after they were informed of threats. They need to catch the remaining accused and all of them should be tried in court. There might be a law against cow slaughter, but there is also a law against man slaughter too.

Like I've said before here, I fail to understand why any morality surrounding rearing a life and then taking it away is applied to humans but is violated at all levels below, this is not the thread to debate about that. [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION]

Why have they taken the meat sample to examine? If the it is actually beef then the killing is justified? Or just examining because it is illegal to store beef?

hmm... may be to prove to the Hindu community that he was not doing any harm to their religious sentiments. In that sense, justification of killing him won't be there.

Make sure you post this article on all social media forums especially where westerners interact, its absolutely paramount the west see's the true side of India, its racism, its human rights problems, Kashmir and that fact their PM in a known Terrorist. This is the shinning India we need to tell the world about ...

Someone died and you are coming up with a big LOL.

Shouldn't your love for a muslim (human, if you roll that way) be more than your hatred for a country?

The problem in this case is that police have sent the meat for forensic tests.

How does that solve anything? Will the quantum of punishment be less if it is proved that it was beef?

His son works in Indian Air Force.

Poor guy. RIP.

I have said this many times before, North Indian Hindus are intolerant and radical.

Tumhri koi ni sunne wala...feel sorry for people like you...

His son works in Indian Air Force.

Poor guy. RIP.

I have said this many times before, North Indian Hindus are intolerant and radical.
May be because of history you know it very well but still first time in my life i have heard that some sort of announcement made from temple that let mob killed old men...literally i have never heard thisbkind of news ever

Please fix your country before coming onto PP and slinging mud at ours. India is neither rich, secular or religiously tolerant and no matter what you say will change that fact.

People who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

May be because of history you know it very well but still first time in my life i have heard that some sort of announcement made from temple that let mob killed old men...literally i have never heard thisbkind of news ever

It doesn't surprise me one bit, youth has radicalized. All whats-app groups I have joined are filled with Anti-Muslim and Anti-Pakistan venom now. Recently a normal Kashmiri's photo was circulated as one of Gurdaspur terrorist roaming in Patiala city. Its a new phenomenon, some powers are behind it.

Congrats to BJP/VHP/RSS and its Monkey brigade for successfully converting Sanatana Dharma into a radical, inflexible religion.

Now Hinduism can proudly say that they also have brainwashed radicals in them just like Christian crusaders of the past and the Islamic fundus.

All hail the great BJP. They thrive on divisions in the society. Anyone who cannot see that Hinduism is going to dogs is living in LALA Land.

Congrats to BJP/VHP/RSS and its Monkey brigade for successfully converting Sanatana Dharma into a radical, inflexible religion.

Now Hinduism can proudly say that they also have brainwashed radicals in them just like Christian crusaders of the past and the Islamic fundus.

All hail the great BJP. They thrive on divisions in the society. Anyone who cannot see that Hinduism is going to dogs is living in LALA Land.

We wont let that happen buddy....i am very much sure

Life of a human being is more sacred than anything else in the world. First respect human life and then care about cows, dogs etc.

I think it's because of the current BJP leadership it's pretty clear they have an extremist mind and are intolerant (much more than what they used to be in past) i am expecting the extremist possibilities happening under Modi govt in next few years.

BJP is the driving force here. They do some mischief and create Anti-Muslim sentiment and win elections. This is how BJP gained foot hold in India. BJP is like a useful snake. It will give some development, but will divide the society in the process.

40 years ago, nobody would have heard the word radical Hindu. Now its a common word. Some of the facebook posts that I get from my North Indian friends is cringeworthy. The state of the mind of the youth is a big concern.

how many are those we? millions? crores? but still in comparison a few thousands extremists are enough to create a chaos in whole society and here we are talking about a country with a population of 1.3 billion and a province with a population of 200+ millions.

So your outrage is because now Hinduism also(!) has radicals, and you cannot claim superiority over other religions?

Our muslim brothers across the border are effectively dead.Otherwise Kashmiris would not have been killed on daily basis.Pakistan need to act and act fast,this extremist mindset is threat to the region stability.

Nothing new , Hindu terrorism at its best.

Yaar but yeh bat pakistan ko chad ke duniya ke 192 countries kyu ni kehti????sirf pakistan ko hi kyu india bare pta hai but pakistan bare sbko puri duniya ko pta hai....aisa kyu hota hi...this is unfair...you guys as you have painted all hindus with terroism you have lot more work to do to show the real face of india to the world ..may be koi ek aadha sun hi le....

http://www.timesnow.tv/Rahul-worried-about-saffron-terror-WikiLeaks/articleshow/4360704.cms

Even Rahul Gandhi , the key opposition party members is worried about Saffron terror.

India is no different to Pakistan

There mob kills for burning Quran, here for eating beef

So your outrage is because now Hinduism also(!) has radicals, and you cannot claim superiority over other religions?

Its not about claiming superiority. I do not believe in God, but I had some respect for the history and culture of India and I was brought up in the same culture. It hurts to see how some bozos have hijacked the religion in just 3 decades.

Cant do anything apart from feeling sorry for the Muslims in India who are constantly living in fear of RSS , VHP troublemakers.

Its not about claiming superiority. I do not believe in God, but I had some respect for the history and culture of India and I was brought up in the same culture. It hurts to see how some bozos have hijacked the religion in just 3 decades.

Then you don't know india's history well enough. This is nothing new.

how many are those we? millions? crores? but still in comparison a few thousands extremists are enough to create a chaos in whole society and here we are talking about a country with a population of 1.3 billion and a province with a population of 200+ millions.

We means everyone in the country.....everyone in the country have to live under secularism.....every community have to respect other communitu feeling that their religious sentiments dnt get hurt...we have largest hindus ,largest sikhs,2nd largest muslims , budhism also born here in india...plus various other religions castes consisting people live here...........i dnt think anyone will be able to implement extremism here in india ,they can just try as hard but they would have to face election result like in delhi complete whitewash if they try to do this......plus there is important elections in bihar also.....there is lot lot of politics going on as well.....i cant explain this political angle but congress and other parties can also go to any level to get attention

Wake up call for Indian minorities. 1% quasi-muslims in bollywood like Saif Ali Khan are hardly a representation of Indian muslims.

Agar itna hi masla hai beef se tou baichnay walay ko roko, khanay walay ko kyun maar rahay ho..

Does Mcdonalds in India not sell beef burgers?

I'm sorry to say if such incidents keep happening you would be looking at another separation movement the kind of which led to the creation of Pakistan.

Even during that time Muslims faced similar situation (even worse) and hence demanded for separate homeland.

This has been the problem.. trigger point was the beef eating. It could be rumor also and as his daughter mentioned, it was not beef.

But if it was cow slaughter, Hindus would be up in arms, and nothing logical about condemning them, when you don't condemn cow slaughter.

Why should anyone condemn cow slaughter? It's been a human practice for thousands of years, sustaining humanity.

There's nothing logical about condemning a murderous mob of morons? You've really gone off the deep end. Well you were always crazy but now you're openly displaying it.

Then you don't know india's history well enough. This is nothing new.

Religious clashes have occurred in the past. Its usually over a disputed site etc. But this type of Mob justice for eating beef is recent. Ever since Ram Janma Boomi issue was taken up by BJP back in 80's.

Agar itna hi masla hai beef se tou baichnay walay ko roko, khanay walay ko kyun maar rahay ho..

Does Mcdonalds in India not sell beef burgers?

No they dnt sell......plus beef is allowed in many states in india..few days back there was news from ranchi city where cow was killed and threw in front of temple...police was instantly deployed in that area.....there are some people who would die to watch communal tension here in india

We means everyone in the country.....everyone in the country have to live under secularism.....every community have to respect other communitu feeling that their religious sentiments dnt get hurt...we have largest hindus ,largest sikhs,2nd largest muslims , budhism also born here in india...plus various other religions castes consisting people live here...........i dnt think anyone will be able to implement extremism here in india ,they can just try as hard but they would have to face election result like in delhi complete whitewash if they try to do this......plus there is important elections in bihar also.....there is lot lot of politics going on as well.....i cant explain this political angle but congress and other parties can also go to any level to get attention

I am getting your point but secularism can't save changing of mindset to extremism. With time and with environment things change and priorities change nobody can stop it with force or anything that's part of a natural process things change from good to bad and bad to worse than they get back to normal once again and the cycle continue.

hmm... may be to prove to the Hindu community that he was not doing any harm to their religious sentiments. In that sense, justification of killing him won't be there.

The justification of killing him WILL NEVER BE THERE. You are literally the most radical person on this website.

If someone said "justification of killing" with regards to the blasphemy law you would be the first to get your panties in a knot.

Literally the most hypocritical, and disingenuous poster on this website.

Religious clashes have occurred in the past. Its usually over a disputed site etc. But this type of Mob justice for eating beef is recent. Ever since Ram Janma Boomi issue was taken up by BJP back in 80's.

It is true, the ram janma bhoomi movement started the real rise of hindutva politics, but violence over beef has been happening since a long long time.

What i don't understand is why India is an exporter of beef? why the hypocrisy?

Elections time => Polarize people => Get Votes

To be frank, nobody cares about cows in India. We can see a lot of diseased old cows roaming on the streets eating from trash bins. Nobody shows sympathy to them. But if someone wants to eat it, everyone cares.

Its all politics. Indian epics have Aryan kings eating beef, horse, bull etc. Nobody wants to talk about it.

Lord Ram performed Aswamedha Yaga where Horses, bulls are sacrificed and their meat eaten and distributed. Still Ram is considered God.

Whole World Media covering this news with titles such as " Hindu Mob lynches Indian Muslim Man " .... Its good , this news should spread as much as possible so that Indias terrorist face is exposed to the entire world.

Why should anyone condemn cow slaughter? It's been a human practice for thousands of years, sustaining humanity.

There's nothing logical about condemning a murderous mob of morons? You've really gone off the deep end. Well you were always crazy but now you're openly displaying it.

There is nothing wrong in what I said. If you don't know the Indian public psyche, I don't care to educate you. People like you just jump to comment without knowing the history and religious sentiments.

I am getting your point but secularism can't save changing of mindset to extremism. With time and with environment things change and priorities change nobody can stop it with force or anything that's part of a natural process things change from good to bad and bad to worse than they get back to normal once again and the cycle continue.

In my office only we have all sections of society working together..sharing lunchs..being best friends..most of the youth care about development and there are lot of frustation in youth regarding many other issues.....extremism would be the last thing they would like to care......it would not happen and we also cant afford it ....bjp know it as well and they cant do much than all this hoola here and there and there is lot of politics also involved regarding votes..

The justification of killing him WILL NEVER BE THERE. You are literally the most radical person on this website.

If someone said "justification of killing" with regards to the blasphemy law you would be the first to get your panties in a knot.

Literally the most hypocritical, and disingenuous poster on this website.

Again, making a comment without understanding Indian politics. You need education in this area.

Elections time => Polarize people => Get Votes

To be frank, nobody cares about cows in India. We can see a lot of diseased old cows roaming on the streets eating from trash bins. Nobody shows sympathy to them. But if someone wants to eat it, everyone cares.

Its all politics. Indian epics have Aryan kings eating beef, horse, bull etc. Nobody wants to talk about it.

Lord Ram performed Aswamedha Yaga where Horses, bulls are sacrificed and their meat eaten and distributed. Still Ram is considered God.

Wrong. A lot of people care for cows. You may not care for them, it doesn't mean no one does. Speak for yourself.