Near Delhi, mob kills 50-year-old, injures son over ‘rumors’ they ate beef

You are right.cow is sacred in some sects of hinduism and that needs to be respected.however, disrespect would have been if cow slaughter would have been made some sort of spectacle or made a show off so to enrage or hurt sentiments of other community.no one should have a right to decide what one should eat.pork or liquor is considered haram in islam and its open sale would enrage many muslims.i would say both cases are fairly similar.

But historically, pork and liquor has allowed to be sold in islamic society because those things are not sacred and their use at the hands of minorities has never really had any bearing on the Islamic society within which their sale occurred.

So the analogy here doesn't work. Islamic society has generally been tolerant of minority needs.

Beef, cartoon depictions of the prophet - these are separate issues because they have to do with sanctity of something revered.

In either case, slaughtering a cow nor cartoon depictions should have any legal or societal ramifications.

Why don't Hindus go and protest outside meat shops or steak houses in the West?

bhai there is a thing called "to each his own" yani ke agar apko beef khana hai tou khain aur nahi khana tou dosro ko khanay dein. Not that hard to understand.

Yes, 100%, and that's exactly why i said i'm against the ban on anything on purely religious grounds. "To each their own" is a philosophy sadly missing in the subcontinent.

Really?? Do you really think thats true!!

they possibly don't support the ban...but we've had numerous posters justify it (almost all I think)by saying that 'hindu sentiments about the cow should be respected'. That's fair...but why are Muslim sentiments not respected when it comes to drawing the cartoon? I've heard numerous Indian Hindus during the Charlie Hebdo time say 'Muslims don't believe in freedom of speech' 'drawing the cartoon is freedom of speech' but the same will ask you to respect the cow because it's holy to them.

According to my intelligence there is going to be an attack somewhere in north india within 2 weeks.

Dadri beef murder: Was forced to make cow slaughter announcement, says priest

http://www.dnaindia.com/india/repor...ow-slaughter-announcement-says-priest-2130742

Reacting to the arrests, BJP leader Nawab Singh Nagar, also a former lawmaker from Dadri, said that “if anybody was consuming cow meat then that is wrong”. He even seemed to justify the killing by saying that the 'excitement of kids' who attacked the family was a result of a nationwide movement to protect cows. He also claimed that unknown people were smuggling cow meat and police was helping the trade to flourish

There is a thing called humanity and empathy for others that suffer, sometimes it is done on religious grounds and other times just because God gave us the ability to act like well human beings!

I for one, will always curse a person, no matter how respectful they become due to power, corruption, politics etc. if in the past they wronged anyone (robbed, killed, looted etc.) Modi seems the worst of the kind i.e. he shows no empathy for the ones who died in Gujrat and only appologized a couple of times right when an election was on the line. Now, since he has all the power, in most interviews he does not even want to talk about the Gujrat killing issue.

I also believe in eternal justice, this animal will get his due soon no matter how highly esteemed most Indians hold him in their eyes!

Sorry, Modi NEVER apologized, even when elections were near. It would be better if we talk about facts.

And that must make your chest fill with pride, what is your point of going through the thread and replying to a post that is almost 4-5 days old, when I have seen you discuss with other posters further down the thread? Are you his PR man or is Joshila off today?

BTW, it took 2 seconds to pull this link about his apology, I guess your blue tints did not allow you to view this news: http://www.firstpost.com/politics/here-it-comes-an-apology-from-modi-for-gujarat-riots-680400.html

And that must make your chest fill with pride, what is your point of going through the thread and replying to a post that is almost 4-5 days old, when I have seen you discuss with other posters further down the thread? Are you his PR man or is Joshila off today?

BTW, it took 2 seconds to pull this link about his apology, I guess your blue tints did not allow you to view this news: http://www.firstpost.com/politics/here-it-comes-an-apology-from-modi-for-gujarat-riots-680400.html

Sorry I was unaware of this apology, got my facts wrong.

By the way, the link you mentioned.. posts something funny also, satire ? The link looks a satirical post.

But there was a further twist in the political tale when, late on Sunday, Modi put out a second statement clarifying that his earlier statement of apology was in fact related to the riots in Gujarat in 1969 and 1985 - not the 2002 riots, as both his supporters and detractors had evidently misread it.

"Please read my statement carefully," Modi said. "Nowhere have I mentioned the 2002 events... My apology was only in respect of the 1969 and 1985 riots, which happened under Congress rule in the State."

Very funny :

"It may appear strange to you that I am apologising for events that happened decades before I became Chief Minister, but in fact, there is a precedent for that," he added. Modi recalled that in 2005, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had offered what was widely read as an apology for the 1984 pogrom against Sikhs in the wake of Indira Gandhi's assassination. That "apology" - or a half-apology - came 21 years after the riots, from someone who was not even in government at the time of the riots.

Editor's Note: Dear readers, for virtually every day of the year, we at Firstpost offer you hardcore analyses of political events and other grim aspects of our lives. And although we look to make every one of our analyses lively, the tone of gravitas is hard to escape. We thought we might use the occasion of April Fools' Day to have a whimsical look at the manner in which even grave matters of public discourse acquire a farcical edge when the political spin doctors go to work on them. It is not our intention here to make light of the gravity of riots situation. Riots are, of course, deadly serious matters. But, without prejudice to the importance of reconciliation, the politics that gets played with riots - and the demands for an apology - is enough to make fools of us all. We hope you will read this article in the spirit in which it was intended.

India is a country where people are selective on their outrage. It creates a vicious cycle, where people keep silent on some issues and voice their strongest outrage on others thinking that it balances the other. A country where everyone cries victim.

Pakistan sponsored terrorism not proven in court either - that our presence in Kashmir is illegal is not proven in court either - yet Indians never shut up about it.

Please apply the same logic to every scenario and not where it suits your argument

Pakistan sponsored terrorism not proven in court either - that our presence in Kashmir is illegal is not proven in court either - yet Indians never shut up about it.

Please apply the same logic to every scenario and not where it suits your argument

Bro,

Let it go, you wont get Indian Kashmir, stop wasting your time....

A horrific and disgusting crime. Yet again the cancer that is religion and bigotry strikes again.

It's also very disappointing that the PM of India has made no comment about this incident.

Where does one draw the line? When does it become possible to be so repelled by something that one is able to condemn it unequivocally, without qualification or sly justification, avoiding the usual , ‘but what about such-and-such done by the other side in the past’, and refraining from keeping a cunning and calculative silence. Or is it that there is now no such line that we can take for granted, and that everything will necessarily become subject to a process of competitive desensitization?

These are relevant questions in today’s India. The Dadri lynching should have been easy to condemn and be horrified by, no matter what one’s beliefs. Even if one felt that Hinduism was under threat, that media was engaged in a conspiracy against the current regime, that the historically entrenched purveyors of liberal ideology were running the glorious traditions of the country to the ground, that Muslims were a pampered lot that received a slew of unfair advantages at the cost of the Hindus, that the cow is sacred to the Indian imagination and must be protected using the full might of the law- even if all this were to be accepted as true, it should still have been easy to say, ‘you cannot get together in a mob and stone a man to death because of what he eats. It is wrong’.

Why is acknowledging the barbarity of what is in any case an isolated action so difficult? After all, barring the absolute lunatic fringe, which is hopefully more visible than real, few on the right are suggesting that this be the preferred mode of action when it comes to dealing with those are found eating beef. Since the lynching is something that a vast majority of those on the right would not support, why is admitting that it is wrong be such a problem for so many?

A few commentators on the right have been quite forthcoming in arguing that the lynching must be condemned without qualification, while stressing that the crime should in no way be linked to Narendra Modi or his government. But the dominant reaction, including that from many senior party leaders and particularly on social media has been one of evasion, denial or self-righteous anger. Some try and delink the issue from beef, others question why the media is communalizing and blowing out of proportion a solitary incident, many are angry that incidents involving Hindu victims do not invite similar outrage from the media and the liberals, while a few assert that a deeper conspiracy to malign the BJP is afoot.

It is interesting that barring the few that actually justify the killing, in all the other reactions, there is a defensiveness that points to the fact that the people making the argument feel that they have something to be defensive about. The various arguments on the table — it was an accident, it didn’t really happen, someone else did it, the other side does it all the time, this is only an isolated incident, have one thing in common — they all dance around the unstated acknowledgement that what happened was wrong.

Then why not say so? By all means argue that this is not part of a larger pattern of hate; one might disagree, but at least there would be agreement on a fundamental principle of humanity- respect for human life and disgust at acts of barbarism. Or is it that any admission of any wrong-doing, no matter how clear cut, is seen to be a sign of weakness and defeat?

If the moral frame is found to be too idealistic, then even as a matter of tactics, the best way to deal with the outrage would have been to acknowledge the terrible nature of the crime and press for exemplary action. In a different context, look at how the Vyapam scandal has vanished from our screens once the problem was acknowledged and the case handed over to the CBI; this despite the fact that the CBI is hardly seen as the last word in independent and impartial investigation. A good way to separate this crime from the overall thrust of the government would have been to condemn the incident and put pressure on the state government to take action. That this relatively painless option has not been adopted points to something deeper.
Two different motivations seem to be at work. While the lynching itself might not get the support of the mainstream on the right, its underlying message — that there now exists the willingness and ability to put the other side ‘in its place’, is one that is not being walked away from. Hence the ambivalent nature of the reactions, beginning with the BJP itself.

And then, there is a desire to not cede an inch in the on-going battle with the ‘Adarsh Liberal’ lot. The anxiety is not about whether what happened was wrong or not, but largely about how the other side could use it to further its own ends. This is part of a larger pattern cutting across ideological lines where we do not react as much to an event, as we do to the reactions of the other side to the event. The urge is therefore, to blunt the arguments that are likely to be made by using a combination of deflection, counter-attack, justification, and denial. What this means is that since the other side is always going to be wrong, we are always going to be right, regardless of the issue involved.

When the ability to acknowledge what is horrifically wrong is lost, then it becomes possible to justify virtually anything in order to further a larger cause. The idea of a minimum standard of humanity breaks down not because of the universality of evil, but because of a perverse desire to win an argument, no matter what the cost. This is the real danger of the word games that are being played dancing around an event like the Dadri lynching.

http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Citycitybangbang/dadri-lynching-the-thin-moral-line/

- Santosh Desai

<div id="fb-root"></div><script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.3"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script><div class="fb-post" data-href="https://www.facebook.com/ravijoshi53/posts/10203642804709445" data-width="500"><div class="fb-xfbml-parse-ignore"><blockquote cite="https://www.facebook.com/ravijoshi53/posts/10203642804709445"><p>RSS नाम के आतंकवादी संगठन का ये आतंकवादी बुर्खे मै जाकर मंदिर मै मांस फैकते हुवे रंगे हाथ पकडा गया !! ये इन आतंकवादियो की पुरानी ट्रिक है दंगा कराने की !!#डिजिटल_दंगाई</p>Posted by <a href="https://www.facebook.com/ravijoshi53">Ravi Joshi</a> on <a href="https://www.facebook.com/ravijoshi53/posts/10203642804709445">Saturday, October 3, 2015</a></blockquote></div></div>

Now they are blaming everything on AAP who have brought the cover-up of RSS to the media. I am beginning to think India chose wrong person to elect him for the PM of India. :facepalm:

दंगाई छछुन्दर फोटोशोप कर के इसे AAP का कार्यकर्ता बता रहे है !!

Translated by bing: The rioter chachundar photoshop do it are told AAP worker!!!

12096423_10203643265120955_5642175550130929468_n.jpg

Anyhow, kudo to AAP for doing everything to protect minority rights. :14:

UP, Haryana, Delhi Jats are the most religious and very volatile Hindus. Such incidents wouldn't happen in any other part of our country.

You know something is wrong when crazy man like Arnab Goswami is making sense on "beef law". Time to wake up, sleeping Modistan. :facepalm:

A horrific and disgusting crime. Yet again the cancer that is religion and bigotry strikes again.

It's also very disappointing that the PM of India has made no comment about this incident.

I am fine with the PM either not commenting on all individual crimes, or commenting on all such incidents. No selective comments.

Oh please, not again. Just when you thought all the beef had died down.

Dadri lynching: Police impose Section 144 amid high tension after villagers organise mahapanchayat

The Uttar Pradesh Police on Monday imposed Section 144 in Bisahada village in the state's Dadri district, fearing clashes. Security forces in Greater Noida were on high alert after villagers called for a mahapanchayat after police refused to file a case of cow slaughter against the family of Dadri lynching victim Mohammed Akhlaq. Section 144 prohibits more than four people from gathering in an area.

According to media reports, members of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena held the panchayat and asked for action against Akhlaq's family. Akhlaq was lynched in Dadri last year following rumours that he had killed a calf and stored its meat at home.

A delegation of villagers, mainly comprising the family of those accused of lynching Akhlaq, met with Senior Superintendent of Police of Gautambuddh Nagar Dharmendra Singh to lodge their complaint. They based their complaint on the Mathura forensic lab report, which the lawyers of the accused had made public to the media, claiming meat found outside Akhlaq's house was beef.

Some of the villagers and Hindu groups are also demanding the release of the 17 accused for killing Akhlaq. However, authorities have maintained that the meat sample that was tested was taken from outside his house, and Akhlaq's murder remains a heinous crime.

http://scroll.in/latest/809414/dadr...aughter-case-villagers-organise-mahapanchayat

Dadri Defiantly Holds Panchayat On Beef Report, Threats Made Openly

Ignoring police orders, a group of BJP and Shiv Sena politicians led a village meeting or panchayat demanding action against the family of Mohammed Akhlaq, who was lynched to death in September over accusations that his family was eating beef in their home.

The threats were blatant. "We give them 20 days. If there is no action, even I can't guarantee that I can control this public anger," said the BJP's Sanjay Rana, whose son, Vishal, has been arrested for Mr Akhlaq's murder.

The police this morning said that the panchayat would not be allowed because it could incite a new round of communal tension in Dadri, just 50 km from Delhi.

But locals and Mr Rana said they would not be silenced and convened at the same temple where a priest had used the loudspeaker to rouse the village into action, after which a mob headed for Mr Akhlaq's home.

"People have been yelling that there has been cow slaughtering so something should also be done in this regard," Mr Rana said this morning while stressing, "there is no tension in the village."

The police said that it allowed the panchayat as a way of keeping the peace.

"I appeal to all, please maintain our communal harmony. We just want truth to be revealed, and we want peace," Jaan Mohammad, Mr Akhlaq's brother told NDTV.

Uttar Pradesh votes next year, and the Dadri lynching exemplifies divisive politics, say opponents of the BJP, which in turn says Mr Akhlaq's family is being given undue protection by the state government despite evidence of its wrongdoing.

Last week, a lab report said that meat collected from his home was beef. The report contradicted an earlier document which stated the sample was goat meat. Villagers and BJP leaders want Mr Akhlaq's family now to be charged with cow slaughter.

Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav has questioned the authority of the new report submitted by the police in court, and has stressed that what is important is punishing a mob that killed a man, irrespective of its motive.

Bisada, home to about 400 Hindu and 25 Muslim families, had a long tradition of unity till the killing of Mr Akhlaq.

http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/dadri-killing-prohibitory-orders-issued-in-bisada-village-1415921

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Eid al-Adha in two days. On same occassion 3 years ago, Mohd Ikhlaq was lynched bringing the issue to national discourse. The trial of the case has not even begun, all accused on bail. Can't help thinking of Ikhlaq's mother asking me once when i met her: 'Humein Insaaf milega?' <a href="https://t.co/Yh5dcqIVqp">pic.twitter.com/Yh5dcqIVqp</a></p>— Aman Sharma (@AmanKayamHai_ET) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmanKayamHai_ET/status/1031599686497460224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">20 August 2018</a></blockquote>