New 2011 Range

The big four for spikes' 2011 models are all on show online now.

Puma

Calibre (de Villiers, Paine)
prd26a637ff-598b-4590-8205-2a3ad5c053a9.jpg

Iridium (Swann)
prd02bd3014-2ea3-4728-a12e-4636221e574c.jpg

Iridium Mid
prd69557e53-067e-4424-8e08-01e5422a2154.jpg

Asics

Gel-335 (Panesar)
prdc91658e8-41a1-4f85-964a-5164fd78e20c.jpg

Gel-180 Not Out
prd2f950fba-4f09-471f-adbb-44beb176ea55.jpg

Gel-Strike Rate (Anderson, Watson)
prdeb115541-8ad3-42bd-abc1-b81f969a3a53.jpg

Gel-Speed Menace (Bollinger)
prd4d467e0e-72af-4d08-a46b-0bcaaef80880.jpg

Gel-Advance 3 (Comes in two colour options)
prd7b365925-6c9b-4cb2-9a18-f8b368ca2186.jpg

prdb8d8be92-fd23-4468-986a-eb786d189612.jpg

adidas

Twenty 2 Yds Lite 4 (Pietersen, Collingwood, Prior etc)
AD11CSLITEzm.jpg

Twenty 2 Yds Mid 4 (Broad, Finn, Shazhad, Tremlett)
AD11CSMIDzm.jpg

The FlyWire spikes look like Basketball shoes lol.

Ascis and Puma stinks in my opinion.

Why do Swann wears Puma spikes? Can't GM make him one..

I'd imagine Puma, a company with roots in footwear, have a better idea of what to do with one's feet than GM.

ssdragon1.jpg
ssdragon2.jpg

ssdragon3.jpg
ssdragon5.jpg

ssdragon4.jpg

ssdragon6.jpg

NEW SS TON Dragon bat, very recently added to their new range.

newsgsunnygold2.jpg

newsgsunnygold3.jpg

newsgsunnygold1.jpg

newsgsunnygold4.jpg

New SG Sunny Gold bat 2011. Profile is similar to their stud t20i bat and it also has contoured edges.

True, but it's shame to see GM not making spikes for there sponsored player.

One can call it a shame but I would rather have a proper shoemaker such as Puma, Asics etc make shoes as opposed to companies like GN, GM, AS etc.

Shoes made by cricket equip manufacturers are meant to ruin your feet.

One can call it a shame but I would rather have a proper shoemaker such as Puma, Asics etc make shoes as opposed to companies like GN, GM, AS etc.

Shoes made by cricket equip manufacturers are meant to ruin your feet.

How are you? It has been a while since you posted here. I hope all is well.

Sounds fair. I was just curios as being a big brand they should also look into spikes. I mean they can probably get there spikes made by a proper company like Puma, Asics etc.

SG looks really good. shoulders look slightly thin to me though.

I think the purpose of having thin shoulders these days is to have more wood around sweetspot area.

I am not sure about that bat weight but I am assuming it is 2.11+ lbs.

Man, I think I will have to buy some other bat rather than buying AS V10 :( I called Khalid Bhai again and told him that I needed his WU information. He told me that he will email in few minutes. It has been two days now :( I emailed him again. If he doesn't reply today, I am most likely gonna' buy SG Sunny Gold. I might also take a look at SG Sunny Tonny, SG King Cobra, and SS Limited Edition. I hope Khalid Bhai, somehow, reads this :|

SG looks really good. shoulders look slightly thin to me though.
If you look carefully at the shape you can see its bit different from other bats, the edges are contoured like their heavy weight stud t20i bat(used & recommened By S. Raina) The shoulders are thinner then normal on this bat but not all SG bats have thin shoulders and have edges shaped like this.

Looks like Masuri have changed the design on their grills, Pietersen and Broad had ones where the bottom bar looks further away than usual.

Really Bro, I watched all the action in glorious HD and I didnt notice this or maybe they just had lowered setting of the grill?

I've looked over some photos again and suddenly I'm not so sure. It just looks like the vertical bars don't bend back towards the chin.

Looks like Masuri have changed the design on their grills, Pietersen and Broad had ones where the bottom bar looks further away than usual.

I had heard that there are slight amendment in 2011 Masuri Grill. I never focussed much on it but I was having a look at it and I also noticed that 2011 Grill is slightly different from 2010's.

Yes, as you said the curve from bottom bars is no longer there or have been reduced.

I might shop around and see if I can get a titanium grill in the older style, I prefer the look.

New pads and gloves launched by Newbery for 2011;

thruxton_gloves.jpg

thruxton_pads.jpg

Gloves look pretty much like SPS1 but these one have shark tooth style bars.

Asad might have them.

Don't you have Albion?

Nah, I've got a black Masuri with a steel grill, but aim to replace it with a navy one since I cracked the inner layer of the shell after I bounced it across the dressing room floor after a particularly poor dismissal.

But I do like the look of Albion's new classic lid.

Nah, I've got a black Masuri with a steel grill, but aim to replace it with a navy one since I cracked the inner layer of the shell after I bounced it across the dressing room floor after a particularly poor dismissal.

But I do like the look of Albion's new classic lid.

lol how hard was that "bounce" ?

Never thought Masuri would crack so easily.

Yes, the one Ponting uses look quite good.

I don't like Albion's grill though.

124908.jpg

What a clean stick! Looks like bleached :)))

I went to mapperly sports today to buy Kook Rogue 850 softs and I tried on the gloves and they were excellent quality, soft, light and very comfortable. The pads were ok but didnt really like them bcoz they did not suit my stance and didnt wrap around the legs like i wanted. While i was there I had a look at new 2011 Gray Nicolls bats. Mashhallah all the bats were outstanding quality and I was abt to buy Gray Nicolls kaboom bat, they had 5/6 of these and all had really niced placed sweetspots/excellent profile and supreme balance. Also saw a few GN legend bats and they were very good but cost abt £200 2 much. Bats had perfect balance/pick and decent size profile(not that big) and good grains around 10-14 but way 2 costly.

Did you find the Kook pads a little small? My cousin got a pair of Blade 950s at the end of the season and they looked a darn sight smaller than my Original Teknik Lites.

I 1st tried on the small mens pads and they were bit small for me but the standard mens size were fine and they did not seem small to me, top hat was the issue it was bit bulky and didnt wrap around the legs at all. I like pads which have smaller top hat and slighty angled aswell, just like ur GM pads for example.

JazakAllah Khair, for the info Majid Bhai.

Aren't Rogue gloves exactly like Ice of last years?

Did you get to see GM 2011 softs? If so were the Original LE wide in terms of width compare to years before that?

I forgot to mention Gray Nicolls Oblivion, I saw plenty of these 4 star, 5 star and Limited Edition. These bats had chunky profiles & edges similar to bubber sher and stickers looked really kool. Some of you probably have seen Talisman's GN Obilivin LE on other forum. He's bat is nothing special becuase I have seen off the shelf bats look just as good bat. Hes just BS..ing on the forum and ppl are drooling over his bat lol...

JazakAllah Khair, for the info Majid Bhai.

Aren't Rogue gloves exactly like Ice of last years?

Did you get to see GM 2011 softs? If so were the Original LE wide in terms of width compare to years before that?
Looks are very different and not sure about the design but when you wear them they do feel same as last years. I did see some GM lower end batting and some keeping gloves but the Original LE gloves/pads were not on the display.

I forgot to mention Gray Nicolls Oblivion, I saw plenty of these 4 star, 5 star and Limited Edition. These bats had chunky profiles & edges similar to bubber sher and stickers looked really kool. Some of you probably have seen Talisman's GN Obilivin LE on other forum. He's bat is nothing special becuase I have seen off the shelf bats look just as good bat. Hes just BS..ing on the forum and ppl are drooling over his bat lol...

Bit hard to dismiss a bat from looking at a picture.

Talisman is a show off and has very biased views, I just hate ppl like him.

has bit of a high middle - and is in heavier weights isnt it? i imagine it to pick up light given the middle position. however it is 350 pounds.

Depends what you consider as hevier weights. The lowest weight in which its available is 2.10 and ofcourse it will feel light in terms of weight due to pick up.

Seems like this is competitor of GN Legend.

Also AamerM Bhai did they reduce Distinction price?

Talisman is a show off and has very biased views, I just hate ppl like him.

How can you dismiss that bat?
Its one of the nicest bats I've ever seen. and given the weight and size etc and that its custom made, I would defiantly have it.

It must play like an absolute train!

showimage.asp

Certainly best stickers around, in my opinion.

I think I have seen a brand with somewhat similar stickers but I can't recall its name.

I'm liking how they've changed it so the stickers aren't the same shape as the M&H ones.

I really like the idea of having "less" stickers on the bat. Usually you will see Asian bats which have big sticker on the front which covers half of the face and back is just filled with stickers of model and brand. That certainly over the top.

Now it's only Blackcat and M&H who have similar stickers.

Salix have brought back the initials of Andrew on front which was on there old bats. I wonder what the edge sticker 'CTS' means.

"In the Players senior grade and the junior Pods, the shape benefits further from CTS, where the edges are turned back into the splice tapering from the shoulders down into the upper blade, further amplifying the wood in the spline down into the playing area without restricting pickup and creating a stunning shape. "

showimage.asp

Certainly best stickers around, in my opinion.

I think I have seen a brand with somewhat similar stickers but I can't recall its name.

i like the old stickers alot more. but i like the classic looking stickers with these sort of brands, m&h, nb, salix.

i do like the look of the new M&H, wonder if they can make it with the middle just a tad lower.

Need new pads, clip broke on the weekend while batting on my CA Plus 10000's [getting it repaired, but just needed an excuse to get new gear ;-)] - AS V10 Pads look awesome

:fawad

Was talking to the bloke who owns the largest cricket store franchise in Australia - he said Nike is all brand, I guess like all their shoes. Recommended Asics shoes which cost less over Nike shoes which cost more.

Need new pads, clip broke on the weekend while batting on my CA Plus 10000's [getting it repaired, but just needed an excuse to get new gear ;-)] - AS V10 Pads look awesome

:fawad

A common problem with those CA pads I assume. Cricketer13 Bhai have had same issue.

Yes, AS V10 pads look great especially the knee roll looks good as they seem to be first Pakistani brand to have them in there pads. AS V10 pads look precisely like Boom Boom 5 Star pads (which Shahid Afridi wears :D) but the only difference is that AS V10 one has knee roll and AS V10 ones doesn't have two "O" which is Boom Boom's logo.

Was talking to the bloke who owns the largest cricket store franchise in Australia - he said Nike is all brand, I guess like all their shoes. Recommended Asics shoes which cost less over Nike shoes which cost more.

Since you live in Australia have you ever seen or used any Screaming Cat? If so how are they?

How can you dismiss that bat?
Its one of the nicest bats I've ever seen. and given the weight and size etc and that its custom made, I would defiantly have it.

It must play like an absolute train!
I didnt dismiss it at all. I just said its nothing special and I've seen just as good GN bats in the shop.

I went to mapperly sports to buy few bat accessories and whilst browsing around I took some pictures of new 2011 Puma, GN and GM bats. I'll share them bit later.

mapperlysports1.jpg

mapperlysports2.jpg

mapperlysports3.jpg

mapperlysports4.jpg

mapperlysports5.jpg

mapperlysports6.jpg

mapperlysports7.jpg

Took a lot of pictures of these bcoz cheaper/lower grade Puma's had awesome quality willow and narrow grains.

mapperlysports13.jpg

mapperlysports14.jpg

mapperlysports15.jpg

mapperlysports16.jpg

mapperlysports21.jpg

Gray Nicolls 2011 bats are amazing quality. GN Evo in pictures above weighed 2.8, super light pick up & amazing feel.

mapperlysports8.jpg

mapperlysports9.jpg

mapperlysports17.jpg

mapperlysports19.jpg

GM BATS eXCEllent as usual and newbery not so, infact newbery looked pretty average compared to GN, GM, kook & PUma. All above pictures were taken earlier today at my local shop [mapperly sports]

I don't see much wrong with the Newbery bats there. Would have to give them a tap to know for sure.

Impressive work Majid Bhai :14:, thanks for the pictures and updates.

That Evo looks great and look likes GN bats are getting better and better as time goes by. Am seriously getting tempted by GN and would consider one of GN bats as my next bat (hopefully).

GM stickers doesn't look that bat perhaps this is because we are getting used to them.

Also did you get to see any softs ? If so which and how were they ?

JazakAllah Khair

I do like the way the light reflects off the silvery bits and the embossed outline of the GM logo. Yummy.

thanks bro Uzair & SempreSami. Today I went to same shop again mapperly sports and this time I have bought Gray Nicolls Oblivion test softs(gloves and pads) and I also took more snaps of GN, GM & Kook bats. I'll post the pictures later.

Oblivion softs baad mein(i'll email u pics of softs). Look at this beast GN Oblivion Limited Edition bat, weighs 2.9.5lb, edges around 37mm, huge spine and immaculate feel and pick up. GN Legend in the backround is a kiddy size bat. Mapperly sports had 6 Gray Nicolls legend bats but they were all sold within a week, these bats are very popular.
mapsports1.jpg

mapsports3.jpg

mapsports7.jpg

mapsports8.jpg

mapsports4.jpg

mapsports5.jpg

mapsports9.jpg

mapsports12.jpg

mapsports10.jpg

mapsports11.jpg

GM bats again looking very impressive and newbery bit shabby. My local shop(mapperly sports) has the best selection of Gunn & Moore bats in the world. Also took a picture of lower end Kook Rogue bats.

I quite like the look of the face on that Apex 909.

And the Oblivion's probably my favourite of the new GNs.

I concur SS.

That Apex 909 looks more of a Original Limited Edition and looks great!

The more I see Oblivion the more I get tempted towards Gray Nicolls and Oblivion. InshAllah, my next bat could be Oblivion.

Majid Bhai, were all of the Oblivion (4 Star, 5 Star, Players etc) like that Oblivion Limited Edition or they were different ?

I concur SS.

That Apex 909 looks more of a Original Limited Edition and looks great!

The more I see Oblivion the more I get tempted towards Gray Nicolls and Oblivion. InshAllah, my next bat could be Oblivion.

Majid Bhai, were all of the Oblivion (4 Star, 5 Star, Players etc) like that Oblivion Limited Edition or they were different ?
4 star, 5 star & players bats looked similar quality to LE bats but the balance, feel and pick up was the best on the LE bats.

Yes most of the GN bats I looked at had big profiles but I didnt go thru all. 2011 bats definitely seem to have bigger profiles then last yrs.

Majid bhai how was GN Legend? I am thinking of ordering one and also did you see LUNA if so how was that?

I think Boom Boom is also coming out with 2011 gear. Have a close look at Abdul Razzaq pads and you will notice they are new style

107745694.jpg

107745695.jpg

107745698.jpg

107745748.jpg

107746732.jpg

Majid bhai how was GN Legend? I am thinking of ordering one and also did you see LUNA if so how was that?
Dosta, I saw these bats about a month ago, mapperly sports had six of them but they all got sold in a hurry. When I picked up a couple of them they had awesome pick up, perfect feel & the bats looked immaculate. Profiles were big for their weight.
I also saw a lot of GM Luna bats but not 2 closely bcoz I didnt like them at all bcoz of the 2 scoops on the back of the bat.

Went to Hubble & Freeman (nearest place that sells cricket gear) and they had all the 2011 Kookaburra stuff in. Wasn't too impressed with the top of the range bats, but the pads and gloves are of the usual Kook quality.