No.1 Ranking of Suryakumar Yadav in T20Is brings legitimacy back to the process!

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]

For your sake, I'm kindly advising you as a brother to stop thinking about cricket in the lens of Misbah. It's ruining your credibility on reading the game.

When you think outside of those lens, you make a lot of sense and are a good poster.

But right now with your SKY thread about him overrated and now arguing about Rizwan's no. 1 ranking when everyone knows it's a farce is a sign that you need look at cricket from a different perspective.

Anyone who still doubts SKY or thinks he's overrated/overhyped simply doesn't understand T20 cricket.

Rankings is not the same as impact. Dhoni Yuvi Raina had so much more impact than many of our players but they weren't high up in rankings.

Only format where Ranking truly matters at good 80%(pressure game) of the time- Tests

Shame he plays for them.

Even after his failure against Pakistan earlier in the tournament, I maintained that I would happily swap Babar + Rizwan for him.

I hope Pakistan wins the WT20 and SKY gets man of the tournament to shut up his critics on here.

One of the most incredible shots from Suryakumar's knock at the MCG was the scoop shot over fine-leg fence against a full toss delivery that was down the sixth-stump line. It was among the four maximums he clobbered in his match-winning knock, alongside six boundaries.

As the replay of that shot was shown on A Sports, former Pakistan fast bowler Wasim Akram hailed the star India batter saying that he's “from a different planet”.

“I think he's come from a different planet. He is totally different from anybody else. The amount of runs he has scored...he's just a treat to watch and not just against Zimbabwe, against the top bowling attacks in the world,” Akram said.

Waqar Younis, who was also part of the panel, made an epic statement while Akram was making his opinion. “Bowler jaaye toh jaaye kahan?” he questioned.

The legendary pacer then added that for a bowler it is very difficult to plan against such a batter, although he did hail Pakistan's strategy against Suryakumar during their Melbourne tie at the start of the T20 World Cup.

“What's the best way to get him out in T20s? I mean in ODIs and Tests you can plan and get him out. But in T20, anyway the bowler is on backfoot and when someone is in this sort of form it is very difficult to bowl at him. I think Pakistan did well against him in the previous game, they bombarded him with short deliveries. May be that's the only way to go,” he said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ise-for-suryakumar-yadav-101667758667934.html

Mr. 360 about current 360:

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/qujWxqe" data-context="false" ><a href="//imgur.com/a/qujWxqe"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Is there ever a day that goes by people aren't trolling Gambhir for one reason or another?

Gambhir sometimes over-praise someone to bring down someone else lol He won't even be subtle about it. Kohli fans don't like it even though they are fans of SKY as well.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]

For your sake, I'm kindly advising you as a brother to stop thinking about cricket in the lens of Misbah. It's ruining your credibility on reading the game.

When you think outside of those lens, you make a lot of sense and are a good poster.

But right now with your SKY thread about him overrated and now arguing about Rizwan's no. 1 ranking when everyone knows it's a farce is a sign that you need look at cricket from a different perspective.

I don't care if SKy were not to play for India i would still have enjoyed batting like this. Same reason why i appreciate Brevis, Finn Allen. IMHO T20 is for entertainment. If you can bore someone even in T20 then you need to stop playing thatt format

Ashwin and SKY Interview after ZIM match:

<iframe width="1200" height="675" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_cFAyFX5l1o" title="R Ashwin interviews the new 'Mr. 360' - Suryakumar Yadav" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And then we had folks who were delusional to think that SKY cannot remind us of ABDV and we're basically spouting nonsense mindlessly. :91: :inti

Ashwin and SKY Interview after ZIM match:

<iframe width="1200" height="675" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_cFAyFX5l1o" title="R Ashwin interviews the new 'Mr. 360' - Suryakumar Yadav" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Ashwin is good at getting the right info instead of resorting to cliches. His answer of "Trying to score every ball" is the mantra that everyone has to adopt. At least your mindset should be always to score rather than survive. If the good ball comes make the adjustment. If your mindset is to survive, you are more likely to miss out on some juicy deliveries. Anyone who has watched Sehwag probably should already know about this.

Suryakumar Yadav in the 20th over in T20I:

Runs - 72
Balls - 18
Strike Rate - 400
Sixes - 10
Fours - 1
Dot ball - 2
Dismissal - 1

That is ridiculous career strike rate for 20th over. Damn. 400!!!

SKYs prep for WC:

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/HrarNVS" data-context="false" ><a href="//imgur.com/a/HrarNVS"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

He's in a purple patch and full credit to him on this deserved success.

Enjoyed his batting against SA on a fiesty pitch when the rest of the team was folding. Top innings.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Suryakumar Yadav is making international cricket look like a video game &#55358;&#56623;<br><br>111* off 51 &#55357;&#56485;<br><br>He's a cheat code! <a href="https://t.co/aM1V2clUdw">pic.twitter.com/aM1V2clUdw</a></p>— Cricket on BT Sport (@btsportcricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/btsportcricket/status/1594346000226914307?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Even ABDV got impressed and said, he is getting there.

AB is a humble man and he said SKY is already there

Ab was a freak after 20 odd balls at the crease

Sky gets going from ball 1

I wonder if strike-rate counts towards the ranking points. If not, it definitely should.

Factors considered for a Batsman –
There are several factors considered while analyzing the performance of a batsman and for assigning the rating points. These are mentioned below –
1. Runs Scored by a Batsman
This one is pretty straight forward. The amount of runs scored by a batsman in a particular match directly impacts his rating points.
2. Rating of the Opposition Bowlers
While assigning the rating points, it is not just important how many runs does a batsman score, but also how strong was the opposition’s bowling attack against which the batsman scored these runs.

An easy way to assess this is to combine the ratings of all the bowlers of the opposition team. The higher the combined ratings of the bowler, more value is assigned to the performance of the batsman.

3. Level of Runs Scoring
The “Level of Runs Scoring” sounds pretty confusing. However, it is actually quite simple.

If a batsman scores a century in low scoring match, it is considered of higher value and more rating points are assigned to it than a century scored by a batsman in a high scoring game.
For instance,
Situation A – a batsman scored a 100 but his team only managed to score 220.
Situation B – a batsman scored a 100 but his team managed to score 600 runs.

Century scored a batsman in situation A will be considered more valuable than in situation B.
4. Not Out Innings
If a batsman manages to remain not out by the end of the innings, bonus points are given for such a performance.

5. Result of the match
The outcome of the match also contributes to a player’s rating points.

Yes many factors are taken into account like runs scored, strike rate, whether it was in a winning cause, also if it is against a higher ranked team etc.

Factors considered for a Batsman –
There are several factors considered while analyzing the performance of a batsman and for assigning the rating points. These are mentioned below –
1. Runs Scored by a Batsman
This one is pretty straight forward. The amount of runs scored by a batsman in a particular match directly impacts his rating points.
2. Rating of the Opposition Bowlers
While assigning the rating points, it is not just important how many runs does a batsman score, but also how strong was the opposition’s bowling attack against which the batsman scored these runs.

An easy way to assess this is to combine the ratings of all the bowlers of the opposition team. The higher the combined ratings of the bowler, more value is assigned to the performance of the batsman.

3. Level of Runs Scoring
The “Level of Runs Scoring” sounds pretty confusing. However, it is actually quite simple.

If a batsman scores a century in low scoring match, it is considered of higher value and more rating points are assigned to it than a century scored by a batsman in a high scoring game.
For instance,

Century scored a batsman in situation A will be considered more valuable than in situation B.
4. Not Out Innings
If a batsman manages to remain not out by the end of the innings, bonus points are given for such a performance.

5. Result of the match
The outcome of the match also contributes to a player’s rating points.

So. Strike rate isn't there which is bizarre.

'Some of those shots...': Kane Williamson's epic reaction to Suryakumar's 'out of this world' knock in 2nd T20I vs NZ

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson saluted the batting brilliance of Suryakumar Yadav after India hammered New Zealand in the 2nd T20I on Sunday.

Kane Williamson had nothing but absolute praise for Suryakumar Yadav after the premier batter played a match-winning knock to help India upstage New Zealand in the 2nd T20I on Sunday. Playing a gem of a knock for the Hardik Pandya-led side in the second encounter, Suryakumar smashed a sensational century to enter his name in the record books at Mount Maunganui's Bay Oval.

Suryakumar's memorable knock secured India's comfortable win over the Williamson-led side in the 2nd T20I. While reflecting on New Zealand's performance after the match, Williamson also showered praise on the Indian batter, who proved to be the difference maker in the second match of the three-match series.

"It was not our best effort. Surya's innings was out of this world. One of the best knocks I've ever seen. Some of those shots, I've never seen before. They were outstanding, we weren't upto mark. We didn't get momentum with the ball, didn't get enough wickets and didn't get momentum with the bat either," Williamson said after the match.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...f-those-shots-i-ve-never-101668941715918.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The night sky has been lit up by Surya! &#55357;&#56613;<br><br>What a blinder <a href="https://twitter.com/surya_14kumar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@surya_14kumar</a>! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvsNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvsNZ</a> <a href="https://t.co/bt7IHCBofs">pic.twitter.com/bt7IHCBofs</a></p>— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) <a href="https://twitter.com/sachin_rt/status/1594258243915698176?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

No, s/r is also considered. A batsman scoring 80 of 30 balls gets more points than a batsman scoting 80 of 50 balls.

I checked the site. I don't think they use it. They have been using the same system for all 3 formats. We don't really care for strike rate in Tests do we? More recent form tremendously benefits the batsman. More the runs more the points. If you score 40 in 15 balls that won' be considered better than 90 in 80 balls.

yes. It is not considered. In T20 that is the main aspect much like in T20 ER is more important than strike rate or average for bowlers.

Naveen, are you sure I read in one of teh sites that rankings do take into consideration the number of ball taken for the innings in both ODI and t20 player rankings.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Suryakumar Yadav is making international cricket look like a video game ��<br><br>111* off 51 ��<br><br>He's a cheat code! <a href="https://t.co/aM1V2clUdw">pic.twitter.com/aM1V2clUdw</a></p>— Cricket on BT Sport (@btsportcricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/btsportcricket/status/1594346000226914307?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Wow, some ridiculous shots. Reminds me of AB.

At over number 15.2 he was 50(32)

In the next 3.4 overs he moved on to 111(51) . 61 runs in 19 balls. Didn't get to face a single ball in 20th over thanks to brainfade of pandya and others.

The t20 rankings are flawed as long as they don’t give strike rate a higher weightage in points. They seem to favor averages too much which allowed guys like Babar and Rizwan to sneak past superior openers.

Strike Rate more often than not correlates with impact in t20s.

Average only matters if you’re striking at 132+

Naveen, are you sure I read in one of teh sites that rankings do take into consideration the number of ball taken for the innings in both ODI and t20 player rankings.

Weightage is heavily favoring volume and recent form. I don't see any evidence of them using SR as a factor. There is no mention of the strike rate anywhere. Maybe it becomes more complicated as you have to evaluate opposition bowlers to find out which strike rate is more meaningful. Bashing Namibia might skew the results? Not sure how they can factor the strength of the opposition, average, total runs, total percentage of runs in the team secore, strike rate everything to come up with a rating. T20 definitely needs a dedicated ranking system. Both bowling and batting.

61 off 19 balls to finish it off is breathtaking stuff, tough task for even prime Gayle, Buttler, and ABD.

The t20 rankings are flawed as long as they don’t give strike rate a higher weightage in points. They seem to favor averages too much which allowed guys like Babar and Rizwan to sneak past superior openers.

Strike Rate more often than not correlates with impact in t20s.

Average only matters if you’re striking at 132+

Agreed..

But Isn’t overall Rizwan SR a opener 132+ 🙈

Agreed..

But Isn’t overall Rizwan SR a opener 132+ &#55357;&#56904;

He was a proper world class opener last year and prior. He’s gone into his shell gradually after last year’s semi final. That’s probably why his overall SR is still p good.

If he continues the way he’s been batting then it may continue to fall.

Also, he paces his innings poorly whenever he did bat well this year.

Was at a SR of 100 for most of his innings before kicking on at the end. That’s quite different than all of the best openers and t20 bats today who are consistently at 130 or more after the first 10 balls or so. It doesn’t take them a 40 ball 50 to get their eye in.

He was a proper world class opener last year and prior. He’s gone into his shell gradually after last year’s semi final. That’s probably why his overall SR is still p good.

If he continues the way he’s been batting then it may continue to fall.

Also, he paces his innings poorly whenever he did bat well this year.

Was at a SR of 100 for most of his innings before kicking on at the end. That’s quite different than all of the best openers and t20 bats today who are consistently at 130 or more after the first 10 balls or so. It doesn’t take them a 40 ball 50 to get their eye in.

Yup!
I am not sure if it was Cricbuzz or cricinfo, but they did an impact ranking that did incorporates SR just before the WC, and Rizwan as one of the top 20 players in the world. The list wasn’t just batters or bowlers, it was mixed.

The accolades continue to roll in for India star Suryakumar Yadav with the No.1 ranked batter in the world registering more outstanding results on the latest MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I Batting Rankings.

Seemingly not content with the 239 runs he scored during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup, Yadav was dismissed just once and finished as the leading run-scorer during India's recent T20I series in New Zealand with a total of 124 runs.

Yadav smashed a brilliant unbeaten 111 during the second match of that series in Mount Maunganui and after that knock at Bay Oval, the 32-year-old rose to a career-high rating of 895 points.

An innings of just 13 in the third and final game of the series in Napier dropped Yadav's rating to 890 points, but the dynamic right-hander still holds a career-best 54-point break over his nearest challenger at the top of the T20I batter rankings.

ICC

Surya nearing 900 points in the rankings. Just goes to show that sr is definetly considered in the rankings. Otherwise rizwan would have broken the 920 point mark if it was on consistency alone

Not necessarily

3. Level of Runs Scoring

For instance,

He has already surpassed de Villiers in T20 internationals. He is too old to surpass him or even get anywhere close to him in ODIs though.

He is probably never going to play Test cricket. His FC record is far from impressive.

He has already surpassed de Villiers in T20 internationals. He is too old to surpass him or even get anywhere close to him in ODIs though.

He is probably never going to play Test cricket. His FC record is far from impressive.

Till 2011-14 he was among of the most prolific run getters at Indian domestics. Played for a big name team Mumbai and continously top scored for them in Ranji Trophy including some double tons. Was regularly getting selected for India A sides. Till that time there was a chance of him getting Indian test cap as middle order batsman because Sachin, Dravid and Laxman had just retired.
But after that Pujara, Rahane and Kohli cemented their places. So he probably lost the motivation. Later he was even dropped from the Mumbai FC squad by 2018.
So yeah, his overall numbers have taken a hit but he does have good FC experience. Probably why Shastri is asking for a test cap for him.

‘We’ll have to sack every contracted Australian player to get Suryakumar Yadav': Maxwell on India batter's BBL chances

When asked if there was a chance to get Suryakumar Yadav play in the Big Bash League - Australia's T20 league - Maxwell said they will have to sack every player on the roster to gather the amount needed to get the Indian Suryakumar Yadav on board.

Indian cricketers are currently not allowed to play in overseas leagues. The only way for them to throw their hat in different franchise leagues is by retiring from all forms of Indian cricket. But suppose there was no restriction, chances are the Indian cricketers would have ended among the highest paid more often than not, sparking a bidding war. Apart from Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, the one other Indian cricketer who could earn fortunes in foreign leagues is Suryakumar Yadav. The right-hander is in the form of his life. The pace and consistency with which he is scoring runs at the highest level is almost impossible to believe.

Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who is himself known to be one of the fiercest ball-strikers of the game, said Suryakumar Yadav is incredibly talented. When asked if there was a chance to get him play in the Big Bash League - Australia's T20 league - Maxwell said they will have to sack every player on the roster to gather the amount needed to get the Indian Suryakumar Yadav on board.

“We don’t have enough money. There is no chance. We will have to sack every player and the sack every contracted player of Cricket Australia and then hope he takes it," Maxwell said.

Maxwell further explained why Suryakumar Yadav has achieved the kind of success he has in international cricket for the past year and a half or so. Maxwell said SKY gets into position so early and then uses his fast hands to find the gaps in the field at the last moment.

"He plays the field so well. His wrists and hand speed is so quick that he's able to make the last-second adjustments to make sure to get the ball into the gap. Early on in his innings, he plays and misses a little bit cause he goes so hard, tries to put the bowlers under so much pressure. Unless you get him out in those four or five balls, I don't think you get him out, he's just so good. The way he plays spin, the way he puts it over cover. He reverses pretty well, sweeps well and is still able to hit the ball straight down the ground. To have that ability to hit the ball all over the ground with so much power (is unbelievable). Whenever a quick bowls fast, all of a sudden, he moves into position so quickly to play the pick-up shot over fine leg for six. And it just goes miles," he said.

Hindustan Times

‘We’ll have to sack every contracted Australian player to get Suryakumar Yadav': Maxwell on India batter's BBL chances

When asked if there was a chance to get Suryakumar Yadav play in the Big Bash League - Australia's T20 league - Maxwell said they will have to sack every player on the roster to gather the amount needed to get the Indian Suryakumar Yadav on board.

Indian cricketers are currently not allowed to play in overseas leagues. The only way for them to throw their hat in different franchise leagues is by retiring from all forms of Indian cricket. But suppose there was no restriction, chances are the Indian cricketers would have ended among the highest paid more often than not, sparking a bidding war. Apart from Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, the one other Indian cricketer who could earn fortunes in foreign leagues is Suryakumar Yadav. The right-hander is in the form of his life. The pace and consistency with which he is scoring runs at the highest level is almost impossible to believe.

Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who is himself known to be one of the fiercest ball-strikers of the game, said Suryakumar Yadav is incredibly talented. When asked if there was a chance to get him play in the Big Bash League - Australia's T20 league - Maxwell said they will have to sack every player on the roster to gather the amount needed to get the Indian Suryakumar Yadav on board.

“We don’t have enough money. There is no chance. We will have to sack every player and the sack every contracted player of Cricket Australia and then hope he takes it," Maxwell said.

Maxwell further explained why Suryakumar Yadav has achieved the kind of success he has in international cricket for the past year and a half or so. Maxwell said SKY gets into position so early and then uses his fast hands to find the gaps in the field at the last moment.

"He plays the field so well. His wrists and hand speed is so quick that he's able to make the last-second adjustments to make sure to get the ball into the gap. Early on in his innings, he plays and misses a little bit cause he goes so hard, tries to put the bowlers under so much pressure. Unless you get him out in those four or five balls, I don't think you get him out, he's just so good. The way he plays spin, the way he puts it over cover. He reverses pretty well, sweeps well and is still able to hit the ball straight down the ground. To have that ability to hit the ball all over the ground with so much power (is unbelievable). Whenever a quick bowls fast, all of a sudden, he moves into position so quickly to play the pick-up shot over fine leg for six. And it just goes miles," he said.

Hindustan Times

Bit sick and tired of all these self embarrassing quotes.

Asif Ali, a proper captain candidate was picked up by Ricky Ponting for his side

Ricky Ponting knows cricket

Three quarter of international signings are from Afghanistan. Shows the quality (lack of) in the Big Bash.

RHE9dtt.png

"There's Never A Need To Talk To Him": Shubman Gill On India Star After 2nd ODI

It's been a frustrating outing for the Indian cricket team in New Zealand, with as many as three matches getting affected due to rain since the players' arrival. Two of the three T20Is facing rain-interruptions and now the second ODI between the two teams was abandoned as well. However, what's been pleasing to the Indian cricket team and its fans is the batting of Suryakumar Yadav who has been in the form of his life, especially in the shortest format. When Shubman Gill was asked about Surya in the press conference, his answer proved how good a form the latter has been in.

Speaking at media after the abandoned 2nd ODI, Gill said that there's never a need to speak to Surya in the middle as he has been in such a good touch.

"Baatcheet koi...wo itni acchi batting kar rahe hai, unkey sath baatcheet karney ki zaroorat rehti nahi hai waise to, but kaafi maza aata hai unkey sath batting karney mein. (Considering the way he is playing right now, there is never a need to have any conversation with him. He is batting so well, but yes, It's great fun to bat alongside him)," Gill said.

The top-order batter was also asked about his 2023 ODI World Cup ambitions. But, he refused to give much attention to the question, suggesting he is only focused on doing well in the opportunities given to him.

"I am not looking that far (playing in the 2023 World Cup). Right now, my focus is to make the most out of the chances I get to play for the country and score big. This is what I am looking to do in this series as well," he said.

Gill would be hoping to get some playing time in the third ODI between the two sides. The final match of the series will be held on Wednesday at the Hagley Oval.

NDTV

‘Suryakumar Yadav gets stuck…’: Pakistan pacer points out SKY’s ‘weakness’, reveals plan to dismiss star India batter

In 2022, Suryakumar scored 1164 runs in the shortest format at an average of 46.56 and strike rate of 187.43, laced with nine half-centuries and two hundreds. But a senior Pakistan pacer wants to take a shot at attempting to dismiss Suryakumar and has also revealed his plan for it.

How do you dismiss Suryakumar Yadav? The question has troubled most, if not all oppositions who have faced India in white-ball cricket recently, especially in the T20 format. And the numbers speak form himself. In the last one year, he scored 1164 runs in the shortest format at an average of 46.56 and strike rate of 187.43, laced with nine half-centuries and two hundreds. But senior Pakistan pacer Wahab Riaz wants to take a shot at attempting to dismiss Suryakumar and has also revealed his plan for it.

Suryakumar's exploits in T20Is has resulted him in claiming the No.1 rank spot in the ICC charts, piping Pakistan's Mohammad Rizwan for the role.

Speaking to News24 Sports, Riaz was asked how he would dismiss the start India batter and the Pakistan pacer revealed that he would target Suryakumar with deliveries in the corridor of uncertainty, where he feels most batters struggle.

"Such a player either gives you his wicket or attacks you. So you have the chance of both things. I will try to get him out, the rest will depend on the match. As a bowler, you need to know that if he is a 360-degree player, where you can trap him," he said.

"Every player has a weakness and Surya also gets stuck somewhere or the other. If you bowl around the off-stump, on the fourth or fifth stump, it is normal that every batter struggles."

Despite Suryakumar's staggering numbers in the format, he has struggled against Pakistan in the three matches he played this year. He scored just 46 runs in three innings at a strike rate of only 123.91.

Speaking on A Sports during the T20 World Cup last month, former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik had hailed Suryakumar for having the ability to to not just read conditions well, but can also read the bowler's mind as well.

“Woh bowler ke dimag ke saath bhi khel sakta hai. Conditions yaha pe different hai aur idhr iss tarike ki shots khelne kiliye dil chaiye (He can play with bowler's mind as well. Conditions at Perth will be different for the South Africa game but to play these shots you need to be bold),” he said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ismiss-star-india-batter-101670928443936.html

A sublime shot by the deserving no. 1 t20 batsman of the world:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/bb7dft" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

so are we at the bilaterals matter more than tournaments stage of the argument now?

cool cool

T20 is for entertainment. From the perspective League cricket trounces international cricket. So when somebody provides entertainment in international just sit and enjoy instead of trying to dilute it. How many guys do this even in bilaterals tell me? Maintaining 180 strike rate over a career is way harder than scoring some runs in "crunch games". M itchell, Neesham, Wade, Stoinis, Kane so many guys pull off these one off performances. Heck even Pandya whose batting is hardly rated by anyone these days played a blinder in semi final.

He will be an icon for the next generation of super cricketers just as ABDV was for the current one. Does he have a special training regimen?

'Suryakumar Yadav, I am sorry': Ex-chief selector apologises on live TV after India drop SKY for 1st ODI vs Sri Lanka

Former chief selector Krishnamachari Srikkanth said sorry to Suryakumar Yadav after India dropped the latter for the 1st ODI vs Sri Lanka in Guwahati.

Imagining an Indian white-ball team without Suryakumar Yadav is difficult nowadays. He has been the best T20I batter for India and the world in the last 14-15 months or so. He has already scored three T20I hundreds - the second-most after Rohit Sharma for India. The combination of his T20I average of 46 and strike rate of 180 is second to none. Considering that he has done all that while batting mostly at No.4, makes him an all-time great in the format. But T20I is the keyword here. As daunting as SKY has been in T20Is, he hasn't been the same in ODIs. And Team India has made a conscious effort not to mix formats. The result was the decision to pick Shreyas Iyer over Surya in the first ODI against Sri Lanka on Tuesday.

In the 16 ODIs that Surya has played, he has managed only two fifty-plus scores, at an average of 32 and a strike rate just above 100. Shreyas Iyer, on the other hand, was India's highest scorer last year in ODIs, with more impactful knocks than any other in the format.

Former India chairman of selectors Krishnamachari Srikkanth, however, did not agree with the Indian think tank. He was so disappointed not to see Suryakumar's name in India's XI for the series opener in Guwahati that he decided to issue an apology to the right-hander on live TV. Not that he had any role in SKY's axing but the former India opener said he felt very bad.

"And Surya, I'm so sorry, I feel bad for you my friend. Suryakumar Yadav not there in the team? You look at the top five and ask, who are the impact players there? Who are the guys who can take the game away from the opposition?" the 1983 World Cup-winning cricketer said on Star Sports.

Srikkanth was also surprised not to see all-rounder Washington Sundar in India's XI. "I don't know why Washington Sundar is not playing. I would have picked three spinners, two pacers with Hardik Pandya as another option. That is why I keep saying that we need to develop more batting all-rounders, that is where India are missing out," he added.

Former India cricketer Sanjay Manjrekar, who was a part of the same panel, was not bothered with Surya's ommission as much as he was with India leaving out Ishan Kishan, who had smashed the world record for smashing the fastest double century in ODI history in the last 50-over match that India played in December.

"I can understand their logic for not going Surya as all the great innings that we have seen from him have come in T20Is. Shubman Gill is getting a long run but why give the same run to Kishan? He got a double hundred. He will bring the left and right-hand combination. I am always disappointed when India don't pick Kuldeep Yadav. In 50-overs cricket, I will always have him. You saw the impact he had in Bangladesh Tests."

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...for-1st-odi-vs-sri-lanka-101673348187904.html

Surya and Shreyas are not competing for same spot. If India wants they can play both in the team and go with Kishan as opener but they are backing KL strongly here so they probably left out Kishan and try and put Shreyas as a contender for the same spot as SKY, hence leaving out SKY from the 11.

Srikkanth is also wrong with the suggestion of playing Pandya as third pacer. There is no way Pandya is a third pacer in ODIs. He is a 4th pacer at best and 6th bowler. You can play Sundar but at the expense of Chahal and not any of the pacers.

Surya and Shreyas are not competing for same spot. If India wants they can play both in the team and go with Kishan as opener but they are backing KL strongly here so they probably left out Kishan and try and put Shreyas as a contender for the same spot as SKY, hence leaving out SKY from the 11.

Srikkanth is also wrong with the suggestion of playing Pandya as third pacer. There is no way Pandya is a third pacer in ODIs. He is a 4th pacer at best and 6th bowler. You can play Sundar but at the expense of Chahal and not any of the pacers.

Theoritically a good idea. Practically not so much. Unfortunately our top order cannot bowl to save their life. If we had guys like Tendulkar, Sehwag/Yuvraj Raina you can totally do away with one specialist bowler.

India star Suryakumar Yadav is making a habit out of breaking records and is inching closer towards an all-time MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I Batting Rankings milestone.

In the latest update of the MRF Tyres ICC Men's Player Rankings, Suryakumar Yadav extended his lead on top of the table from 883 rating points to 908. Following up his 36-ball 51 in the second T20I, Surya blasted a majestic ton – his third in six months – in the series decider in Rajkot.

The 51-ball 112* was laced with seven fours and nine sixes, not sparing an inch of the stadium with his sublime 360-degree hitting. Unsurprisingly, he was the Player of the Math as India put on a colossal total of 228/5 and went on to register a massive 91-run win.

His stunning returns in both games puts him second in the all-time T20I Batters Rankings, just seven rating points behind England's Dawid Malan (915). SKY was placed fifth in the all-time list during the previous update of the rankings but has now leapfrogged Babar Azam (896), Virat Kohli (897) and Aaron Finch (900) over the last week.

Suryakumar Yadav had to wait for a long time for the India cap, making his T20I debut after turning 30. But there has been no stopping him ever since as he has gone to rack up runs consistently at a rate not seen before. In 45 T20Is, Surya has accumulated 1578 runs at a phenomenal strike rate of 180.34, the highest for any batter with more than 250 T20I runs.

In the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, he finished as the third-highest run-getter with 239 runs in six matches while striking at an eye-watering 189.68. All three of his fifties – against South Africa, Zimbabwe and Netherlands – proved to be crucial knocks under the circumstances and in the case of the latter two, turned the tide in favour of India.

Suryakumar will not have to wait for too long to gun for Malan's record as New Zealand are set to travel to India for a white ball tour consisting of three ODIs and three T20Is later this month. The T20I series will kick off on 27 January in Ranchi and good returns against the fifth-placed Kiwis could see Surya break yet another record, something he has made a habit of.

ICC

The winner of the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year had one of the best years any player has had in the format's history. Here, we take a look at his outrageous 2022 and the standout performances from the year.

Suryakumar Yadav - India

1164 runs in 31 matches at an average of 46.56 and a strike-rate of 187.43

==

Not sure why this isn’t being talked about more here

The winner of the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year had one of the best years any player has had in the format's history. Here, we take a look at his outrageous 2022 and the standout performances from the year.

Suryakumar Yadav - India

1164 runs in 31 matches at an average of 46.56 and a strike-rate of 187.43

==

Not sure why this isn’t being talked about more here

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] your thoughts on this?

Suryakumar Yadav is leading the way with an innovative approach to T20I batting that Ricky Ponting says he’s doing better “than anyone’s ever done it”.

The India right-hander led all-comers with 1,164 runs in 31 T20Is in 2022, at the formidable strike rate of 187.43 and an average of 46.56, which led to him being crowned the 2022 ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year this week.

Yadav’s commanding form across the past year also propelled him to the top of the MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I Batting Rankings.

And when comparing Yadav’s batting style to the likes of white-ball pioneers AB De Villiers and Adam Gilchrist, Ponting heaped praise on the late-bloomer on the latest episode of The ICC Review.

“He’s probably doing it better than anyone’s ever done it right now,” Ponting said, when asked where the India star sat in relation to some of the game’s most celebrated trailblazers.

“We talk about players that can score 360 degrees … some of the shots he’s hitting back behind the wicket-keeper and over fine leg are just remarkable.

“Five or six years ago, he started doing that a lot in the IPL. He was very good at flicking the ball over deep-backward square and getting the ball over fine-leg.

“Surya’s now been able to hit short balls on the way up and flick short balls over the keeper’s head and they’re going for six, not just for four.”

The 32-year-old’s impact on the game was on show in last year’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, during which leading and emerging batters mirrored the daring strokes that Yadav has pioneered.

“I think innovation-wise, skill-wise, I haven’t seen a better player in the game,” Ponting said.

“What it’s going to do as well, a lot of other players are going to try and do the things he’s doing and it’s going to add another level of skill to the T20 game all around the world.

“Someone said during the IPL this year there are going to be guys who are going to try and do exactly the same as what Surya’s doing, and that’s going to be great for the game.”

Yadav scored the third-most runs at the T20 World Cup with 239, only behind teammate Virat Kohli (296) and the Netherlands’ Max O’Dowd (242).

After continuing that imperious form in T20I series against New Zealand and Sri Lanka, Yadav this month climbed to the second-highest T20 batting rating ever recorded (908 points).

Yadav is now within striking distance of the all-time record of 915 points set by England left-hander Dawid Malan in November 2020.

“I didn’t think he’d get to the level he’s got to, to be quite honest,” Ponting said on The ICC Review.

“He’s worked as hard as he has – you can probably tell by his body shape.

“He’s probably fitter than he’s ever been, being around the Indian set up with the likes of [Virat] Kohli and Shreyas Iyer and these guys, who are exceptionally fit young guys.

“To have those guys leading the way for him, he’s turned into an incredibly good player.”

ICC

Pakistan opener Mohammad Rizwan has been rewarded for his excellent finish in the recently completed T20I series against New Zealand by making ground on India star Suryakumar Yadav at the top of the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Batting Rankings.

Rizwan compiled an unbeaten 98* during the fifth and final match of the T20I series against the Black Caps and the right-hander ended the series as Pakistan's leading run-scorer with a total of 162 runs.

That helped Rizwan close the gap on Suryakumar to less than 100 rating points, with the dynamic India star still leading the way with 906 rating points while the Pakistan veteran rises from 798 to 811 points and maintains second place on the rankings.

ICC

Can India please organise 10 T20is against Zimbabwe, Ireland and New Zealand C

I would like Surya to score 1500 runs and cement that top spot forever!

Can India please organise 10 T20is against Zimbabwe, Ireland and New Zealand C

I would like Surya to score 1500 runs and cement that top spot forever!

so Shunya is only capabable of scoring against Zim and Ireland

thats sad

SKY is obviously a better T20I player but Rizwan is an all format orthodox style keeper batsman. This debate don't make sense as there is nothing common in both players except for both men coinciding their T20Is peak at same time.