On This Day: February 19, 2006 - Sarfaraz Ahmed's Pakistan beat India in Under-19 World Cup final

A-1

Local Club Regular
59416.jpg
59413.jpg

The Final

A dramatic final was played between Pakistan and India in Colombo. After Pakistan set a very low target of 110 runs to win for India, a stunning Pakistani bowling performance devastated India's top-order batsmen, taking the first six wickets for nine runs. India was eventually dismissed for 71, enabling Pakistan to become the first country ever to defend the title successfully and become back-to-back champions of the tournament.

Match In Discussion:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/u19-worldcup/engine/current/match/237829.html

What a match that was - remember watching it live

Here is a small highlights package to re-live that match:

[utube]-snY24zLiGc[/utube]

Holy, look at Australia team during that tournament.

Khawaja, Warner, Henriques, Finch, Wade, Cooper - all who have represented Australia in tests or ODIs.

It is surprising that from the winning team, only one player ended up as a gun player in the big leagues - Nasir Jamshed (or 2 if you include Sarfraz). No one else represented Pakistan in tests or ODIs. What happened to them?

India won the 5th ODI in the bilateral series.
Pakistan won the world cup.

What a match that was - remember watching it live

Here is a small highlights package to re-live that match:

[utube]-snY24zLiGc[/utube]

At 5:23 does the commentator say Hindus decided to bowl first ? :moyo

On This Day: February 19, 2006: Sarfaraz Ahmed's Pakistan beat India in Under-19 World Cup final

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On this day 2006. Pakistan Under 19s beat India U19s by 38 runs in the Under 19 World Cup final in Colombo <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/TDMU5HaRzK">pic.twitter.com/TDMU5HaRzK</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/700670190472798208">February 19, 2016</a></blockquote>

And that was the last time Anwar Ali managed to swing a cricket ball . . .

Look where the players of that Indian u19 side are and where the Pakistani players are..

Isn't this the cup that Sarfraz won for Pakistan? U19s.

Notable players on both sides:

Sarfraz, Anwar, Jamshed, Imad, Rohit, Pujara, Jadeja, Chawla

10 years later, only one world class international cricketer (Rohit).

Pujara and Jadeja aren't bad either, people have already written off pujara it seems

This was around the time when the indian team was touring pakistan and asif had emerged and along with shoaib had decimated the indian lineup in the karacho test .
Asif was the big thing then.

Er...it was the final game of the series which India won 4-1. Total domination and all four wins were achieved chasing I guess..so not a bad game.

Chalo, let's have a deal. You people take every ODI series, don't care if you want to win it by 5-10 or 10-0. And let us win all matches in Champions trophy or any type of World Cup :)

Ah yes this is the world cup that Bangladesh should have won. The side contained Mushfiqur, Shakib and Tamim. They thrashed the eventual champions Pakistan in the group stages and topped the group only to lose to England in the quarter-finals, a side they had beaten black and blue before the world cup. Bangladesh finished as the plate champions in the end by thrashing the hosts Sri Lanka in the final.

Looking at the results even Nepal did very well in that tournament and beat New Zealand and South Africa. Quite surprising that they still haven't emerged at the highest stage and are still lagging way behind Ireland and Afghanistan. I hope they can build on the success of their U19s in this year's world cup.

Was this the first time U-19 WCs came into real prominence? The final was a reason why perhaps ICC started telecasting plenty of matches from 2008 u-19 WC onwards.

Consider this the youtube video for this final has nearly 2 millions views!!

Ah yes this is the world cup that Bangladesh should have won. The side contained Mushfiqur, Shakib and Tamim. They thrashed the eventual champions Pakistan in the group stages and topped the group only to lose to England in the quarter-finals, a side they had beaten black and blue before the world cup. Bangladesh finished as the plate champions in the end by thrashing the hosts Sri Lanka in the final.

So bangladesh was a top team at u-19 level back in 2006 too, but still remained a minnow at the senior level for a decade after that, seems like another decade of misery awaits our bangla bros :srt

Looking at the results even Nepal did very well in that tournament and beat New Zealand and South Africa. Quite surprising that they still haven't emerged at the highest stage and are still lagging way behind Ireland and Afghanistan. I hope they can build on the success of their U19s in this year's world cup.

So bangladesh was a top team at u-19 level back in 2006 too, but still remained a minnow at the senior level for a decade after that, seems like another decade of misery awaits our bangla bros :srt

That's largely because the ICC does virtually nothing to promote the senior sides of the smaller cricketing nations.

What a final it was.
Saw it on YouTube and was very sad about the outcome.
Anwar ali !! What a beast he could have been.

Chalo, let's have a deal. You people take every ODI series, don't care if you want to win it by 5-10 or 10-0. And let us win all matches in Champions trophy or any type of World Cup :)

Naah...you can keep the overall record ;-) but we want the streak to continue

Anwar Ali has bowled some banana inswingers today, celebrating 10 years.

The similarities are definite.

Please leave this on.

Same memories. Loving this.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ZmqoXmIUSQo" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

What a legend :anwara

Wow, this day! Sarfraz has lead pak to beat India twice in finals now, WC final next?

What a day. A shame that a lot of these players didn't perform at international level.

What happened to the main bowler who destroyed the Indian batting?

he signed for one of the better domestic sides who gave him good contract but didnt play him that at all

faded into oblivion...

Shame because as per every expert of the game who watched the tournament, Jamshed Ahmed was considered the most complete bowler in the tournament whereas for Anwar Ali it was one good day.

To be honest those were some crazy conditions, it was swinging miles in the air and of the pitch

How could Pakistan waste a talent like jamshed such a shame.

Like India wasted Unmukt Chand.
Australia wasted Tim Paine.
Happens all around the world.

Be glad that the Captain of that team is now the captain of our national side

he signed for one of the better domestic sides who gave him good contract but didnt play him that at all

faded into oblivion...

Shame because as per every expert of the game who watched the tournament, Jamshed Ahmed was considered the most complete bowler in the tournament whereas for Anwar Ali it was one good day.

Quite sad to see any talent go to waste.

But you cant always blame the system. The players themselves need to take most of the responsibility. I feel this early success sometimes doesn’t help them and some quit as soon as things start getting difficult.

There was also this fast bowler akhtar ayub i think was his name. Bowled 140 plus.

Guess he never really played FC cricket?

Look at Anwar's action in that video and look at it now.

Oh well it was fun showing the parosis their auqat.

Look at Anwar's action in that video and look at it now.

Oh well it was fun showing the parosis their auqat.

Pakistanis tend to boast about their past performances and records, get over it mate, it's done and dusted. What matters is the current form and standing within the ICC cricket ratings, that reflects the current aukat.

Yeah the ranking didn't matter a great deal on June 18th :afridi

Bhai Indian cricket isn’t as good as you think it is

I merely stated the FACT. Now with regards to what i think of my team isnt relevant. If my team being #1 in 2 out of 3 forms games is still "Not good as I think" then I wonder how bad would your team be who is not even in top 5 in Odis and Test.

You are due a “reality check”

2011 was hardly 25 years ago :P

But unlike our Padosis we tend to move on win or lose. We look into future rather than stuck in past glory.

Lol 2011 was the biggest fluke in the history of Indian cricket. You should be ashamed calling it a “victory”.

2011 was hardly 25 years ago :P

But unlike our Padosis we tend to move on win or lose. We look into future rather than stuck in past glory.

So 6 months back is past glory even though Pak and India haven't played each other after?

That depends on individuals how past do they wanna look back. I personally would want to move on soon enough. For instance, the series win in SA was good but Id like them to improve and look to future ie World Cup.

CT win was very well deserved for you guys, however you guys had poor outing in NZ and its about time you guys too focus to improve and look for next year's WC.

#Just my 2 cents

Lol 2011 was the biggest fluke in the history of Indian cricket. You should be ashamed calling it a “victory”.

I dont believe in fluke or well deserved. Whoever plays good on that day shall win.

India played great in 2011 and similarly Pakistan did great in 2013 and both teams truly deserved to win.

As far as being ashamed of my team? some of your comments are just illogical and makes no cricketing sense.

I dont believe in fluke or well deserved. Whoever plays good on that day shall win.

India played great in 2011 and similarly Pakistan did great in 2013 and both teams truly deserved to win.

As far as being ashamed of my team? some of your comments are just illogical and makes no cricketing sense.

Aray yaar he is mocking a "certain" poster..............

I have seen a lot of cricket but i have never seen a team playing with so much passion what i saw that day. Kids were just too awesome and pumped me up too.

The sad thing is not none of our players from this game developed into a genuine world class player. Usually countries who win the U19 World Cup will have 1 or 2 players selected and backed in their national side. Sadly this didn't happen.

Posters may argue that Sarfaraz is world class, I disgaree. Imad is world class only in T20s.

Sarfraz.is not a world class player and never has been. I would say at his peak he was just a regular good player.

I don't get why some Pak fans hype him up , when he's just an average cricketer.

A little sad looking back that our stars from that game have faded away or become villains while Indians like Rohit and Jadeja have become one of the best ever or at least a lucrative crowd puller.

Question is, were our players always limited or is the gulf of quality between the two systems just too large?

This didn’t age well. Pujara has gone from strength to strength

What a match that was, watched it live. After hardly crossing 100 we all thought this game was gone, but what happend after the break was unbelievable. Only Chawla put on a fight if I can recall it correctly?

These flashbacks just prove that Pakistan cricket are strong starters but slow finishers.