"Pakistan has given us nothing but lies and deceit, thinking of our leaders as fools" : Donald Trump

U.S. CAUSED ‘BLOODBATH’ HERE, SAYS PAKISTAN IN ATTACK ON TRUMP TWEETS

As the furore over President Donald Trump’s tweets attacking U.S. ally Pakistan continues, the country’s foreign minister has written a damning indictment of the United States’ involvement in Afghanistan.

In a series of tweets late Wednesday, Pakistan’s Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif condemned the U.S. and the cost of the war on terror fought in Afghanistan since 2001. The minister, who Tuesday summoned the U.S. ambassador to Pakistan over the ongoing Twitter fight said ultimately Pakistan had learnt not to trust the America.

“Our country witnessed the worst bloodbath. You carried out 57,800 attacks on Afghanistan from our bases, your forces were supplied arms and explosives through our soil, thousands of our civilians and soldiers became victims of the war initiated by you," Asif wrote in tweets translated by Pakistan’s Dawn newspaper.

"We considered your enemy as our own, we filled the Guantanamo Bay,” he wrote in further tweets. "For the past four years, we have been clearing the debris … We are feeling sorry as you are not happy but we will not compromise on our prestige anymore," the minister concluded.

Asif was responding for the second time to tweets made by the president January 1 accusing Pakistan of providing a safe haven to the Taliban. The Pakistani minister had earlier questioned the figure of $33 billion in aid Trump quoted in his tweets.

“The United States has foolishly given Pakistan more than 33 billion dollars in aid over the last 15 years, and they have given us nothing but lies & deceit, thinking of our leaders as fools,” Trump said.

“They give safe haven to the terrorists we hunt in Afghanistan, with little help. No more!” he added.

Tuesday, Pakistani Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi summoned a National Security Committee meeting with his most ministers senior ministers to respond to the tweets.

Pakistan’s Ministry of Defense, and Pakistani sportsman turned politician Imran Khan have also weighed in on the exchange of invective online. Khan, who is a cricket superstar in Pakistan and the leader of the political opposition, said Trump was “ignorant and ungrateful.”

The alliance between the United States and Pakistan, a conservative Islamic country, in the war against terror has been strained in recent years. The Trump administration has also been indecisive in how it will treat relations with Islamabad and how it will pursue the war in Afghanistan.

In August Trump said Pakistan was a valued ally against the Taliban, Al-Qaeda and the Islamic State militant group (ISIS) which has gained a foothold in Afghanistan and carried out a series of attacks against religious minorities.

In 2017 the White House increased troop levels in Afghanistan to about 14,000, a move some experts have said shows little departure from the strategies the U.S. has used in the country since the start of the U.S.-led invasion.

http://www.newsweek.com/us-caused-b...s-foreign-minister-attack-trump-tweets-770242

The Pak government and establishment need to summon their courage and block US supply routes for their forces in Afghanistan. Last time we did it the US came begging. We need to do the same again... Trump kya trump ka baap bhi line pe ajaiga

Trump's tweet is basically a reaction out of frustration. If there's one thing the Pakistanis are masters at...it's milking the Americans. Pakistan should continue the way they have...US cannot pull the plug now.

Yeah sure for code that is messy and unmanageable I'm sure corporations are willing to take that risk. <b>Liberal arts graduates can probably code better than assembly line graduates</b> who cannot even write a proper sentence in english let alone comprehend assignments given to them.

I think you probably haven't met many liberal arts graduates. Let me put it this way, if you were to pose the question "x + 20 = 3*x + 50, so what is x?" then 90% of liberal arts graduates would run from the room screaming that their safe space was being violated.

That was funny :))

Dude you don't need to sell Peace to Indians ... I wish you had an understanding of our ancient scriptures to understand our perspective on peace. As such India is the only nation that has a track record of coexisting with completely Alien cultures ( like Farsi's and Jews ) for many hundreds of years without EVER forcing our Culture on them. Our tolerance and acceptance of beliefs that are not truly Hindu beliefs is unmatched. Without such a tolerant and peace loving nature India wouldnt have been able to give birth to ideologies such as Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism. Infact I wish Hinduism wasnt soo benevolvent, naive and accepting of other ideologies. Anyhow thanks for a good discussion.

Don't be so naive. Look at how hinduism was spread to the indian subcontinent. Look at how it is tied to casteism, which brings about its racist hierarchy. Indians still not letting go of their continental drift bharat mata outlook.

Not sure where you got that information from but let's not generalize.

Going back to my orignal point, Trump is just as bad for Indians as he is for Pakistanis and you know that. He would rather see hill billies and "liberal arts graduates" take jobs rather than indians. So no need to kick Pakistan and be joyful when you yourself have a big trump problem with thousands of your citizens at risk of deportation from the US and thousands more who won't be coming to US.

No more to do more! Hope the American's realise they are stuck in Afghanistan:amir3

Contradicting yourself. We've seen enough examples in the last decade to determine Hindus are intolerant of Islam and Muslims.

for ever lasting peace tolerance needs to work both ways ... unfortunately there isnt really a time period in our history when Islam has managed to co-exist peacefully with the Idol worshiping cultures. Despite the long and bloody history Hinduism still opted to live with Islam circa 1947 and muslim population in India is 200 MIL whereas Hindu Population in Pakistan has gone down drastically. Then there was the Pandits being evicted , Godhra, the Babri Masjid (Proven by Science that Ram Mandir predates the Mosque by Centuries but Muslims simply wont accept). With that being the case it is very very hard to expect peaceful co-existance. There is a limit to the amount of pain a culture can take. So no there is no contradiction but obviously you are expecting Hindus to shut up and put up with all attrocities which obviously wont happen.

Don't be so naive. Look at how hinduism was spread to the indian subcontinent. Look at how it is tied to casteism, which brings about its racist hierarchy. Indians still not letting go of their continental drift bharat mata outlook.

There is good and bad in every culture. That system worked for those times. However you certainly cannot dispute Hinduism track record of tolerance. Any other culture would have killed Mohammad Ghori right after the first battle instead of being naive and letting him go.

We Pakistanis have by and large moved on from this Hindu based casteism malarky. North Indians (including Bengal) are the weird bunch who still desperately try to hold onto this racist hierarchy.
With regards to Mohammad Ghori, is he your chacha or something? You have no say in the past although your sanghi & pals can rewrite history and glorify a Hindu Arnold Schwarznegger Conan from Mumbai if you think it'll make you feel better.

One of the best Systems Analysts I came across had an Honours degree in Medieval History. Coders are ten a penny. And there's no doubt Indians are good coders. But when it comes to being the bridge between the business operations and the technology department supporting the business (ie understanding the broad needs and functions of business departments and practices, along with having a fairly good understanding of technology as well as a comprehensive overview of the organisations IT systems and infrastructure) then .........

These are very dangerous times for Pakistan as a sovereign nation.Many are blissfully unaware about what is going to happen.The Pakistani Establishment has 1 final chance to course-correct.

It's aight, if Trump pulls an Iraq on Pakistan then Pakistan will go down a martyr.

We are fine bro. No need to worry about us.

One of the best Systems Analysts I came across had an Honours degree in Medieval History. Coders are ten a penny. And there's no doubt Indians are good coders. But when it comes to being the bridge between the business operations and the technology department supporting the business (ie understanding the broad needs and functions of business departments and practices, along with having a fairly good understanding of technology as well as a comprehensive overview of the organisations IT systems and infrastructure) then .........

....... you need Indian engineers like Nadella or Pichai :)

I can bet that 75% of the so called IT experts from top 5 Indian companies won't be able to solve this fundamental equation.

Yes, of course... that is why IBM, Google, Microsoft, Accenture, Infosys, Cognizant etc. with their Indian workers dominate the industry.

I am talking about Indian origin services companies if you look at my post carefully. Majority sit and wait for a ticket to come so that they can put a fix to the problem. A large number of them have never developed an original piece of code in their lives, IT user / technical support is what they do.

It's also the reason why Bollywood can't produce a decent movie to save their lives, and why American films will rise in popularity with the income levels in India.

Your original post was to demean Indian IT grads saying that 75% can’t solve such a basic equation.. Which is far from the truth.. It reeks of a very poor troll attempt..

Then when you got called out you divert it by saying Indians offer support (which is true for some part) and not into development or R&D..

Apologise for your original post as it was factually incorrect and just shows your lack of knowledge about Indian education system or your biased hatred..

Coding is just one aspect in the technology side. I work for a Fortune 500 company and technology side that I work for, Indians outnumber the other minority groups who hold all positions from developers to business analysts, system engineers to quality assurance and then management positions like director, manager and Vp level positions. I myself manage a team of 5 white people on the team. I never had to code to start my career as I had an engineering degree and started out as a systems engineer and got promoted to manager a year later. Point is coding is not the only thing in technology.

The one reason I think Indians are better than most in this field is true work ethic unmatched by any other side and it's not about being the smartest person in the room, but knowing how to work with people and putting in the hours and just getting the job done. I've seen an Indian lady who became a Vice President from moving up the ladder from a quality assurance engineer position just because of her work ethic. Knowing how to speak English sets them apart from other minority groups like the Chinese for example. There's also a servant style leadership that most Indians have which other groups just don't get.

Not sure where you got that information from but let's not generalize.

Going back to my orignal point, Trump is just as bad for Indians as he is for Pakistanis and you know that. He would rather see hill billies and "liberal arts graduates" take jobs rather than indians. So no need to kick Pakistan and be joyful when you yourself have a big trump problem with thousands of your citizens at risk of deportation from the US and thousands more who won't be coming to US.

Trump is hardly good for India , but the bolded part is hardly a problem India would be worried about .

Your original post was to demean Indian IT grads saying that 75% can’t solve such a basic equation.. Which is far from the truth.. It reeks of a very poor troll attempt..

Then when you got called out you divert it by saying Indians offer support (which is true for some part) and not into development or R&D..

Apologise for your original post as it was factually incorrect and just shows your lack of knowledge about Indian education system or your biased hatred..
I fully stand behind my posts as I believe these represent the reality. I am an Indian and have worked in this industry long enough to know the truth. let's agree to disagree and move on..

It's also the reason why Bollywood can't produce a decent movie to save their lives, and why American films will rise in popularity with the income levels in India.
India have done a more than decent job at IT. To our credit, we created a totally new outsourcing industry which was unimaginable once. During this process, we also created a culture of IT which helped us establish a respectable brand for the country. However, I hate it when Indians claim IT stops at ‘us’, as it doesn't. Indian IT companies have struggled to move up the value chain while the global players have done a great job at moving downstream. The traditional Indian players hardly has any IP assets, as it has remained a people driven model. Unfortunately, trends like AI and SaaS are threatening everything by levelling the playing field from cost perspective which is forcing Indian companies to look around. Time will tell if we will be able to find an alternate or it may be too late. One last thing, Indian IT may not be the Hollywood equivalent but it still is better than Lollywood’s of the world ;-)

100% of Indians who have studied above 4th standard will get that question right.

I generally agree with what you're trying to say, but 4th standard is a stretch. Solving single variable equations is taught in 7th or 8th grade I think, not 4th. :)

Coding is just one aspect in the technology side. I work for a Fortune 500 company and technology side that I work for, Indians outnumber the other minority groups who hold all positions from developers to business analysts, system engineers to quality assurance and then management positions like director, manager and Vp level positions. I myself manage a team of 5 white people on the team. I never had to code to start my career as I had an engineering degree and started out as a systems engineer and got promoted to manager a year later. Point is coding is not the only thing in technology.

The one reason I think Indians are better than most in this field is true work ethic unmatched by any other side and it's not about being the smartest person in the room, but knowing how to work with people and putting in the hours and just getting the job done. I've seen an Indian lady who became a Vice President from moving up the ladder from a quality assurance engineer position just because of her work ethic. Knowing how to speak English sets them apart from other minority groups like the Chinese for example. There's also a servant style leadership that most Indians have which other groups just don't get.

Coding is very overrated , a lot of system engineers I have worked with moved from programming backgrounds ..its about doing what you love . Am a mechanical engineer ( took 6 years to complete lol ) whos first love is still finance ..worked in a call center , to tech support to Unix/DB support to App support to Perl/python dev to Managing Devops/Cloud teams , been exploring some AI past couple of months and after 12+ years Im pretty sure I can take any role in IT . I think am pretty average technically . you will find thousands of average Indians like me who can be flexible and adapt , we simply know how to find a solution . This is our biggest advantage . Not that we are better than others , but the point is there are areas where I would prefer an Indian employee over a local American .

I fully stand behind my posts as I believe these represent the reality. I am an Indian and have worked in this industry long enough to know the truth. let's agree to disagree and move on..

Nope it’s rubbish maybe the company you worked in was full of idiots but most of the engineers would solve that equation easily. Doesnt matter if you are an Indian or not your post is far from the truth..

If you have not mentioned engineers it would have still made sense and the ones who can’t afford education or some people who are pathetic at maths or humanities/arts students who don’t need to study maths to be successful might not know how to solve this equation but engineers can easily solve it, you do realise it’s a basic equation and not something even remotely complex?

Anyways no point arguing about it from your post it seems you won’t change your opinion so let’s move on..

I generally agree with what you're trying to say, but 4th standard is a stretch. Solving single variable equations is taught in 7th or 8th grade I think, not 4th. :)

Nope there are plenty of people who have finished school (passed 12th) who would not be able to solve this equation.. But then those people don’t need to know how to solve this equation to be successful in life..

It’s like alia Bhatt not knowing who president of India was, she still is more successful than all the online people trolling her.. But since he original poster said “75% of expert IT engineers would not know of this equation” his post was incorrect.

India have done a more than decent job at IT. To our credit, we created a totally new outsourcing industry which was unimaginable once. During this process, we also created a culture of IT which helped us establish a respectable brand for the country. However, I hate it when Indians claim IT stops at ‘us’, as it doesn't. Indian IT companies have struggled to move up the value chain while the global players have done a great job at moving downstream. The traditional Indian players hardly has any IP assets, as it has remained a people driven model. Unfortunately, trends like AI and SaaS are threatening everything by levelling the playing field from cost perspective which is forcing Indian companies to look around. Time will tell if we will be able to find an alternate or it may be too late. One last thing, Indian IT may not be the Hollywood equivalent but it still is better than Lollywood’s of the world ;-)

IT is as a mass job creator is history , the services providers like TCS /Infy will evolve into a different form but will not be companies which will hire 50K people every year , I see a big consolidation coming into the industry with some of them being acquired which again means more job loss . is this an indian problem alone , I dont think so . I work for a 100 year old US product company and last year we layed off pretty much everyone in US/Europe , but for a few guys who we need at this point and have more than doubled in India and will ramp up for next 3-6 months..for the very reason you mentioned (SaaS / Automation / AI ) . Cloud / AI etc does change things , but if you think it hurts only Indians you couldn't be more wrong , its not just my company ..a dozen or more have setup their captives in India in last 18 months , Lowes , JC Penny , Shell , Danske bank etc . So they will not outsource , but does that mean they have to hire Americans ? Not really . Thanks to how tech has evolved , where you operate does not matter , so this whole H1b is a non-issue . The jobs will continue to shrink , but you will still see more Indians taking up roles in new technologies may be not from boston but Bangalore ;)

The equation is really very easy, and if you really believe that "IT experts from top 5 Indian companies won't be able to solve this fundamental equation", then it says a lot about your algebra skills.

The two major kinds of Hollywood movies are super-hero action blockbusters, and the arty films about life like "Mother" by Aronofsky often produced by people like Harvey Weinstein.

While the first kind are mind-numbingly stupid, the second kind are moralistic and pretentious usually produced by hypocrites.

Bollywood may be stupid, but Hollywood isn't any different.

The two major kinds of Hollywood movies are super-hero action blockbusters, and the arty films about life like "Mother" by Aronofsky often produced by people like Harvey Weinstein.

While the first kind are mind-numbingly stupid, the second kind are moralistic and pretentious usually produced by hypocrites.

Bollywood may be stupid, but Hollywood isn't any different.

I feel sorry if Hollywood movies are only of those two categories to you. Not sure what tv channels you watch but you really are missing out on great film making and story telling. There's actually more non-action or non-artsy movie categories, but I'm sure if you wanted to know about therm you'd have figured it out.

I actually think it has a lot to do with language....desis who speak their native languages at home usually tend to do most of their thinking in the same language...and that is why English/Hollywood movies feel stupid to them while things like Tiger Zinda Hai....Raees...Toilet...etc. are fun and entertaining. I tried watching Kaabil on the plane last week and was glad I ordered a double Jack which helped me fall asleep in 5 mins..it was seriously cringe worthy.

A day after the Trump administration announced that it was suspending its entire security assistance to Pakistan, the Foreign Office (FO) issued a statement saying the country's officials were engaged with the US administration on "security cooperation" and were awaiting further details.

The plan to cut security assistance for Pakistan had come as the Trump administration sought more cooperation from Islamabad as part of its strategy in Afghanistan. On Thursday, US State Department Spokesperson Heather Nauert had said at a news briefing in Washington that the cut-off was not permanent and only affects military assistance.

The FO's statement, issued by Spokesperson Dr Mohammad Faisal on Friday, said that the "impact of the US's decision on pursuit of common objectives would emerge more clearly in due course".

"However, it needs to be appreciated that Pakistan has fought the war against terrorism largely from its own resources, which has cost over $120 billion in 15 years," read the statement. "We are determined to continue to do all it takes to secure the lives of our citizens and broader stability in the region."

Read: Trump’s tweet on Pakistan sparks war of words

The statement also adds that US-Pakistan cooperation in fighting terrorism directly serves US national security interests as well as the larger interests of the international community.

"Through a series of major counter-terrorism operations, Pakistan cleared all these [conflicted] areas, resulting in the elimination of an organised terrorist presence leading to significant improvement in security in Pakistan."

The statement also said Pakistan is awaiting reciprocal action from the Afghan side "in terms of clearance of vast stretches of ungoverned spaces on the Afghan side, bilateral border management, repatriation of Afghan Refugees, controlling poppy cultivation, drug trafficking and initiating Afghan-led and owned political reconciliation in Afghanistan."

Aid cut-off
The Trump administration had announced on Thursday that its security assistance to Pakistan would be suspended until "the country proves its commitment to fight all terrorist groups operating in the region".

State Department spokesperson Heather Nauert said that the suspension would remain in effect until Pakistan “takes decisive action” against groups such as the Taliban, which are “destabilising the region and targeting US personnel”.

Although Pakistan “certainly has been helpful in some instances,” she had said, “they are not taking steps they need to take to fight terrorists.”

Meanwhile, official sources had told Dawn that the proposed plan does not call for “a total cut-off”; instead, it suggests a “condition and issue-based approach”.

The aid suspension will include equipment and the transfer of security-related funds, with possible exceptions for US national security reasons.

“We are still working through the numbers,” Nauert had said when asked to give an estimated impact of the suspension in dollars.

‘Special Watch List’
The FO also rejected the US placing Pakistan on a special watch list "for severe violations of religious freedom" in the country.

A statement released by FO said the placement "is a new categorisation" and that Pakistan would seek clarification from the US "regarding its rationale and implications".

It said that "significant achievements" by Pakistan in the area of human rights have been overlooked and that "Pakistan is firmly committed to the promotion and protection of human rights including the right of religious freedom."

"The international community is aware of the incremental steps being taken by Pakistan that have brought about positive changes on ground," the FO said, expressing its surprise at "countries that have a well known record of systematic persecution of religious minorities" not being included in the list.

"This reflects the double standards and political motives behind the listing and hence lacks credibility."

It reaffirmed Pakistan's commitment to "continue to work with the international community to ensure that internationally agreed standards on religious freedom are observed in Pakistan and the broader region."

Pakistan was placed on the list by the US State Department on Thursday.

Pakistan, however, is not on the list of 10 nations that violate religious freedom in a “systematic, ongoing, egregious” manner. That 10-state list includes Myanmar, China, Eritrea, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

The US Commission on International Religious Freedom, which prepares the annual report on religious violations, has been recommending for the past several years that Pakistan be placed on the CPC list but the secretary ignored its recommendations.

Trump's tweet
Ties between Pakistan and the United States suffered a New Year setback when Trump — on the first day of the new year — accused Islamabad of being a liar, inviting a series of sharp responses from the Pakistani leadership.

At 4:12am, on Jan 1, Trump tweeted his warning to Pakistan: “The United States has foolishly given Pakistan more than 33 billion dollars in aid over the last 15 years, and they have given us nothing but lies & deceit, thinking of our leaders as fools.”

Trump’s tweets came a few days after Inter-Services Public Relations chief Maj Gen Asif Ghafoor said Pakistan had done enough and it was time for the United States and Afghanistan to do more. He was referring to accusations by the US and Afghanistan regarding the presence of militant bases in Pakistan.

His remarks during the news briefing in the last week of December were considered the strongest-ever reaction from Islamabad since Washington began alluding to the possibility of unilateral action.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1380964/p...rgely-from-its-own-resources-fo-on-us-aid-cut

Trump is hardly good for India , but the bolded part is hardly a problem India would be worried about .

You sure about that? Is that why your government won't sign free trade agreement with UK without getting more visas for Indians? And is that also why visa restrictions are on the top of agenda whenever Indian government meets with US officials?(followed by Pakistan ofcourse) I love the optimism but c'mon lets stick with the facts and face reality.

I feel sorry if Hollywood movies are only of those two categories to you. Not sure what tv channels you watch but you really are missing out on great film making and story telling. There's actually more non-action or non-artsy movie categories, but I'm sure if you wanted to know about therm you'd have figured it out.

Hollywood is different from TV network shows, which are also stupid. Why don't you give some examples of movies or TV shows you consider intelligent?

I actually think it has a lot to do with language....desis who speak their native languages at home usually tend to do most of their thinking in the same language...and that is why English/Hollywood movies feel stupid to them while things like Tiger Zinda Hai....Raees...Toilet...etc. are fun and entertaining.

If you think that my lack of appreciation of Hollywood movies is due to an insufficient grasp of the English language you are very mistaken. I am not going to list my various academic degrees from top US universities.

I tried watching Kaabil on the plane last week and was glad I ordered a double Jack which helped me fall asleep in 5 mins..it was seriously cringe worthy.

You are rambling. I already said Bollywood is stupid. Is it stupider than Hollywood? It is at best a close call.

All Trump has given is lies, deceit and thinking of his people as fools.

In 2017 he gave a speech at his rally about the tax cuts. Something along the lines of how he will be worse off and that his rich friends will be angry at him for the tax reform.

Then at his New Years Eve Party, at his Golf Resort in Florida, he tells all his rich friends how happy they must be with his tax reforms and how they will benefit from all the cuts...

Honestly, how can anyone take this person seriously??

What a bizarre war of words we have. On one hand there is Trump's undiplomatic tweet and on the other hand we have a number of Pakistani officials who are claiming they receive no aid at all from America (it's just payment for services) and they say that the American led war on terror is actually costing Pakistan billions of their own money every year. Which begs the question why engage with the Americans and take their money if it's causing Pakistan so many problems?

Also why is Abassi so quiet on this issue? There is lots of noise coming from other cabinet members but the PM himself has barely said anything.

What a bizarre war of words we have. On one hand there is Trump's undiplomatic tweet and on the other hand we have a number of Pakistani officials who are claiming they receive no aid at all from America (it's just payment for services) and they say that the American led war on terror is actually costing Pakistan billions of their own money every year. Which begs the question why engage with the Americans and take their money if it's causing Pakistan so many problems?

Also why is Abassi so quiet on this issue? There is lots of noise coming from other cabinet members but the PM himself has barely said anything.

The PM is just a peon who is keeping the seat warm for the Sharifs (as per them)

A conspiracy theory I read online is that all of this is a double game.. US is deliberately having a war of words with Pakistan (with Pak's consent) so that the Taliban begin to think of Pakistan as a friend again (sort of like my enemies enemy is my friend) and this may help get the Taliban on the negotiating table.

Trump trying to make fool US citizens and some other "nations" with these tweets.
Obama stopped the CSF aid last year about $300 mil. no one knw about it. now trump stopped the aid of $225 mil, and some security aid and few "people" from certain country celebrating it like a fool.

10,000 US soldiers are stationed in afghanistan. thats the leverage pakistan has. and they dont wana get US soldiers body bags. US knows it very well. people need to see the press conf of white house's spokesperson last nite.

they stated clearly that pakistan will get the amount if certain actions will be taken, (whether pakistan do it or not its diff matter) and its just a suspension, and pakistan has suffer far more thn other countries.
thre "tone" says it all.

so just dont fall on every single Trump's tweet. Its only for posturing. thats all.

Musharraf wrote about the phone call that forced him to support the war, it was something about getting bombed to the stone age.

Hollywood is different from TV network shows, which are also stupid. Why don't you give some examples of movies or TV shows you consider intelligent?

If you think that my lack of appreciation of Hollywood movies is due to an insufficient grasp of the English language you are very mistaken. I am not going to list my various academic degrees from top US universities.

You are rambling. I already said Bollywood is stupid. Is it stupider than Hollywood? It is at best a close call.

There's a thread on movies...I will not list you over 100 movies that are worth watching. Also, I'm not sure what kind you like...going by your sentiments sounds like you haven't seen a lot.

Lol...here we go again on how you've gone to top US universities. I'm sure this is the third time you've mentioned that on PP...It would be nice had you understood my post for what it was rather than assume I was attacking your English. I was basically saying if you think in your native language you'd want to watch movies in that language. Re-read and you might get what I was saying.

Stupider? Than Hollywood? Man you ought to know that almost every Bollywood movie has had something copied of Hollywood. Please...don't talk about movies...you seem to know nothing about good movies nor Hollywood.

Pakistan’s prime minister, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, has declared himself mystified by US threats to cut off funding, saying that US financial assistance was “very, very insignificant” and that Pakistan was “on the forefront of the war on terror”.

In an interview with the Guardian, Abbasi said that reports that the US was considering cuts of up to $2bn in security assistance were bewildering because the total aid Pakistan – civilian and military – actually received was a tiny fraction of that amount.

“I am not sure what US aid has been talked here,” Abbasi said in his office in Islamabad. “The aid in the last five years at least has been less than $10m a year. It is a very, very insignificant amount. So when I read in the paper that aid at the level of $250m or 500 or 900 has been cut, we at least are not aware of that aid.”

Donald Trump used his first tweet of 2018 to threaten to withhold aid to Pakistan because of what he called its “lies and deceit” over terrorism, claiming: “They give safe haven to the terrorists we hunt in Afghanistan, with little help.” The president has that the US had “foolishly” given Pakistan $33bn over the past 15 years.

According to the US Agency for International Development, the US gave $778m to Pakistan in assistance in 2016, of which 35% was military and the rest economic.

The threatened move – designed to force Pakistan’s military and intelligence apparatus to cut support for the Taliban and other Islamist groups – would include both US military assistance and Afghanistan coalition funding to Islamabad.

A senior official was quoted by the French Press Agency as saying that potential cuts could affect bilateral security assistance and funding that is channelled to Islamabad through the US-led coalition in Afghanistan.

The official said it was “approximately $2bn worth of equipment and coalition support funding that is in play”.

The official added that “all options are on the table” when it comes to further moves, including stripping Pakistan of its status as a “major non-Nato ally”.

Pakistani officials said that the amounts actually of aid money spent are much less that those quoted and they plan to publish their version soon.

Abbasi, who was elected prime minister last year, rejected Trump’s charge of duplicity over the fight against terrorism, calling his claim that Pakistan was harbouring terrorists a “fallacy”.

“Pakistan is a sovereign country and Pakistan has always abided by international conventions,” he said. “We are today fighting the largest war on terror in the world. We are fighting the world’s war on terror with our own resources ... That is something the world has to appreciate.

“We have over 6,500 [killed] almost 37,000 of the civilian population has been killed. There are tens of thousands of people injured. We have suffered a loss of over $120bn in our economy. So the world has to appreciate that. We just want the world to know that Pakistan is on the forefront on the war on this terror.”

“Today we are fighting terrorists. So if somebody says we are harbouring terrorists, there is no greater fallacy,” Abbasi said. “We have engaged US at every level from President Trump down. We have explained to them ... what Pakistan has done we have explained to the rest of the world also.”

“[It’s] the rest of the world failed in Afghanistan to control terrorists who today attack Pakistan across the border. Pakistan has won the war against terror on its own territory,” Abbasi said.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jan/05/pakistan-prime-minister-trump-funding-cuts

You sure about that? Is that why your government won't sign free trade agreement with UK without getting more visas for Indians? And is that also why visa restrictions are on the top of agenda whenever Indian government meets with US officials?(followed by Pakistan ofcourse) I love the optimism but c'mon lets stick with the facts and face reality.

India doesn't go after Us for any aid of any sort and yes they have mutual trade relations where both countries benefit for services exchanged. So no India doesn't care for the Us or run after the Us and hence why it never joined the war in Afghanistan and even after Trump announcing India needing to do more, India is just not going to get involved in that mess in anyway. India keeps a cordial friendly relationship with Us as it does with most countries except for maybe Pakistan and will not get involved in anyone's wars either to appease anyone.

Huh? India has received more aide than Pakistan from the west. Don't forget, it was and it still is one of the poorest countries in the world.

I actually think it has a lot to do with language....desis who speak their native languages at home usually tend to do most of their thinking in the same language...and that is why English/Hollywood movies feel stupid to them while things like Tiger Zinda Hai....Raees...Toilet...etc. are fun and entertaining. I tried watching Kaabil on the plane last week and was glad I ordered a double Jack which helped me fall asleep in 5 mins..it was seriously cringe worthy.

Not a bad choice! But are you even allowed to drink that?

Turkey's Erdogan slams US, Israel for intervention in internal affairs of Pakistan

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan on Friday blasted the United States and Israel for their meddling in the internal affairs of Pakistan and Iran.

The same intervention was also seen in countries like Iraq, Syria, Libya, Tunisia, Sudan and Chad, Erdogan told the press in Istanbul before leaving for France for a visit.

“Look, all these countries are Islamic countries and their peoples are all Muslims,” he said.

Since protests broke out across Iran last week, US President Donald Trump has voiced his support for the demonstrators, while Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu praised them for taking to the streets to protest against the government.

In addition, Trump has lashed out at Pakistan for not rendering enough help to Washington to hunt down Afghan terrorists.

In his remarks in Istanbul, Erdogan also urged Washington to reconsider “its sense of justice” as a Turkish banker was convicted in a US court for helping Iran evade sanctions.

“If this is the US understanding of justice, then the world is doomed,” said the Turkish leader.

Mehmet Hakan Atilla, deputy Chief Executive Officer at Turkey’s Halkbank, was accused of several charges including bank fraud and conspiracy to violate US sanctions law, in a New York federal court on Wednesday.

Erdogan claimed that the United States has been operating a process that includes “a serious chain of plots” against Ankara.

“Not only in law but also in economy as well,” he said, warning that bilateral legal accords with the United States were “losing validity.”

“I am sorry to say that but this is how the process will work from now on,” he added.

Turkey-US ties have been strained over an array of issues, including Washington’s military support to Syrian Kurdish militia, whom Ankara listed as terrorists, and its refusal to extradite Fethullah Gulen, a US-based Turkish cleric who allegedly masterminded the failed coup in Turkey in July 2016.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/160149...srael-intervention-internal-affairs-pakistan/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"I think we should be concerned about the tweeter rather than the tweet," Pakistan's former foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar tells me after President Trump accused Pakistan of “lies and deceit” in his first tweet of the year. <a href="https://t.co/AGYI71dqf6">https://t.co/AGYI71dqf6</a></p>— Christiane Amanpour (@camanpour) <a href="https://twitter.com/camanpour/status/953346167865188352?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 16, 2018</a></blockquote>