Pakistan to invite ex-India PM Manmohan Singh to inaugurate Kartarpur Corridor

SecondSlip

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan has decided to invite former Indian Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh to inaugurate the historic Kartarpur Corridor on the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Sahib celebrations in November.

In a video statement on Monday, Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi said Islamabad has decided to invite Manmohan Singh after consultations with all stakeholders.

The foreign minister underscored that the Kartarpur Corridor opening was a special occasion and Pakistan wanted the former Indian prime minister to be part of the historic moment.

A formal invitation will be extended to the Congress leader as well, said FM Qureshi.

Kartarpur will be the first visa-free corridor between Pakistan and India.

It will provide millions of Sikhs and others the opportunity to visit the shrine of Baba Guru Nanak, located on the Pakistani side. The corridor is being opened despite current tensions between Pakistan and India over the Kashmir dispute.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2068827/1-pakistan-invite-ex-india-pm-inaugurate-kartarpur-corridor/

Don’t think Manmohan will accept the invitation. Won’t risk getting bashed at home.

Singh is 87, was born in Pakistan and had spoken about his wish to visit when he was PM - then 26/11 happened.

He has nothing to lose really - he’s already semi retired from politics. However, as with so many things in his political life the decision probably isn’t even his to make - he’ll need Sonia Gandhi’s permission first.

Clever move by the Pakistani side to invite him though.

It is a clever move and ever better if he comes for the visit, it will make sure Italian Waitress and her party never comes back into power ever, ever again.. Seems Pakistan really likes BJP

If he visits, whatever few years he has left and whatever little good legacy he would have had would be finished. The current media is unforgiving and stooges. MMS should just politely decline and live his remaining years in peace, don't want him to get a heart attack like Om Puri due to jokers in media.

Sad that a prominent Sikh can't visit a place that is sacred to him in fear of hurting the sentiments of the hysterical Hindutva brigade.

If he visits, whatever few years he has left and whatever little good legacy he would have had would be finished. The current media is unforgiving and stooges. MMS should just politely decline and live his remaining years in peace, don't want him to get a heart attack like Om Puri due to jokers in media.

So you think MMS should go to pakistan?

Sad that a prominent Sikh can't visit a place that is sacred to him in fear of hurting the sentiments of the hysterical Hindutva brigade.

Sad that pakistani attempt at dividing the two main political parties on the matter of national security is not working.

Wish he accepts the invitation, MMS the man would go but this is politics, present Indian government is fascist, Congress is weak and spineless, Hindutva brigade will use every opportunity to spread hatred against other communities. Sikhs and non-Hindutva Hindus too will be on their hate list, just that there are other communities that are facing the brunt of hate right now.

First they came for the Communists
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a Communist

Then they came for the Socialists
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a Socialist

Then they came for the trade unionists
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a trade unionist

Then they came for the Jews
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a Jew

Then they came for me
And there was no one left
To speak out for me

Seems very harsh to criticize someone visiting a holy site across the border.

Please Dr. Manmohan, visit Pakistan! Manmohan can only boost his honor and credibility by accepting the invitation from the great man Imran. Wow, Imran is really singling out BJP and it's fascist Hindu followers. Great times for the nation :inti

This would not have been a serious invitation from Pakistan, just giving more ammo to bash the Congress when they are at their lowest. For whatever reason, IK and BJP are feeding off each other. Not good for either country

We should also invite Siddhu for good measure. On the personal invitation of IK of course :sarf2

Harsh if we had good relations with the country across the border . Do you think the reverse would go down well with Pakistanis ?

Well, that's easy to answer. Pakistan is literally welcoming Indians into their country despite bad relations.

Is our official, mascot, comedian and hypocrite unavailable?

What causing your obsession with PTI, as you call them "The Cult", triggering tickle in you?

I thought you promoted peace with Pakistani neighbors?

Or are you upset that, "The Cult" is, promoting peace?

Please bless us with your view on how it is Pakistan's fault and primary "The Cult's" fault. Looking forward to reading to it.

What causing your obsession with PTI, as you call them "The Cult", triggering tickle in you?

I thought you promoted peace with Pakistani neighbors?

Or are you upset that, "The Cult" is, promoting peace?

Please bless us with your view on how it is Pakistan's fault and primary "The Cult's" fault. Looking forward to reading to it.

Do you actually think the Kartarpur Corridor is an olive branch?

Grow up [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], Kartarpur is one of the best things that PTI has done so far since they assumed power.

If you find it hard to praise PTI when they do something good, then its best to not say anything.

What do you think PTI’s intentions are and what are they trying to achieve? Do you think they care about Indian Sikhs?

That would be a stretch because they don’t seem to care about the minorities within Pakistan as well the Muslims in Balochistan and FATA.

What do you think PTI’s intentions are and what are they trying to achieve? Do you think they care about Indian Sikhs?

That would be a stretch because they don’t seem to care about the minorities within Pakistan as well the Muslims in Balochistan and FATA.

LOL.

And 'We' thought you were better than that to support your pretentious delusion-ism when cornered, I must admit, kind of disappointed at you after reading above comment.

LOL

It's a poor gesture by the Pakistani authoritiee to invite Manmohan Singh before the POTROI.

MMS must respectfully decline this honour in respect of the POTROI.

By doing so he would not be disrespecting Pakistani friends.

It's what is expected of any Indian leader, something NSS was naive enough to ignore previously.

It's a poor gesture by the Pakistani authoritiee to invite Manmohan Singh before the POTROI.

MMS must respectfully decline this honour in respect of the POTROI.

By doing so he would not be disrespecting Pakistani friends.

It's what is expected of any Indian leader, something NSS was naive enough to ignore previously.

I won't blame Manmohan for turning down the offer. Not a wise move to show up at the inauguration, especially now with everything that has happened in Kashmir.

What do you mean? That Pakistan should refuse to let Sikhs visit Kartarpur or that Indians should bash Sikhs for visiting Kartarpur?

Bit in bold. It's a good gesture by Pak, we have big hearts. :afridi

Manmohan singh is an indian puppet, they should've invited a true blooded Khaalistani. Manmohan serves the party that massacred Sikhs in '84, I wonder how they would feel about that.

In Punjab itself Congress is in power.. the young ones don’t care, your trick was tried by BJP and its allies but it didn’t work.

Captain CM of Punjab is the most famous Sikh leader after Manmohan in India.

Manmohan Singh should do what he feels to do, if Indian pilgrims can visit China that backs Pak to the core and smacked us in 1962 don’t see an issue here

So you think MMS should go to pakistan?

Doesn't matter he's 87+ years old about to die, if he wants to visit Pakistan or any country it's upto him now. He's hardly active in politics now as well. It's his choice and should be respected. He's not going as a representative of Indian opposition or government.

LOL.

And 'We' thought you were better than that to support your pretentious delusion-ism when cornered, I must admit, kind of disappointed at you after reading above comment.

LOL

I am asking a straight-forward question. What do you think is PTI’s motive (well, the military’s motive because they take the important strategic decisions) for establishing this corridor? You can either answer it or resort to ad hominem again. It is your call.

You meant "The Cult" motive?

It does not matter because for Sikh community in the world, particularly Indian, it is everything, and that is all it matters.

It is a great gesture and money spent well for those who believe in Sikh religion.

You meant "The Cult" motive?

It does not matter because for Sikh community in the world, particularly Indian, it is everything, and that is all it matters.

It is a great gesture and money spent well for those who believe in Sikh religion.

I agree that it is beneficial to the Sikh community, but I am questioning the motive behind this decision. We have agreed that it is not to please the Indian Sikh community, so what is the motive then? Looks you like want to continue to dance around the question. It is fine, I understand. Have a good day.

In the current climate Pakistan is still helping religous minorities from India to access their holy sites, shows what a great leader and party we have.

On the other side RSS and their supporters are upset Sikhs will be able to vist their holy sites. Dangerous party and dangerous extremist supporters. :sachin

Is Pak still getting 20 dollars per visitor? There was estimate of 36 mil USD per year revenue if they can pull it off

I agree that it is beneficial to the Sikh community, but I am questioning the motive behind this decision. We have agreed that it is not to please the Indian Sikh community, so what is the motive then? Looks you like want to continue to dance around the question. It is fine, I understand. Have a good day.

To please Sikh community.

It is one of the holiest location for them.

I am not dancing around the question, i am just not entertaining your obsession because it is a self explanatory question that you have asked.

You are trying to create controversy out of it because PTI aka "The Cult" (that is the label you have given PTI) is involved.

Is Pak still getting 20 dollars per visitor? There was estimate of 36 mil USD per year revenue if they can pull it off

The richest country in South Asia, which happen to be still a 3rd world country, should subsidize it.

Or the RSS inspired government should be true to their hate and prevent every Sikh from travelling unless they are to stay in Pakistan. I am sure Arnab can help spread the news.

To please Sikh community.

It is one of the holiest location for them.

I am not dancing around the question, i am just not entertaining your obsession because it is a self explanatory question that you have asked.

You are trying to create controversy out of it because PTI aka "The Cult" (that is the label you have given PTI) is involved.

Thank you. I really wanted to hear you say that we want to “please” the Sikh community. How wonderful and gracious of us. We continue to show the world the way when it comes to human rights.

LOL.

Well I am glad to please you by the words typed by on the keyboard.

Our Human rights record sucks and it has nothing to do with PTI, "The Cult".

yours truly, the supporter of 'The Cult".

The chief minister of panjab is going along with other Indian politicians.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Reviewed the progress of various works related to 550th Prakash Purb at Dera Baba Nanak. Happy & honoured to share that I will lead an all-party delegation to Sri Kartarpur Sahib on the opening day of the corridor on November 9th. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/550yearsofGuruNanakDevji?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#550yearsofGuruNanakDevji</a> <a href="https://t.co/03GbIjVUNP">pic.twitter.com/03GbIjVUNP</a></p>— Capt.Amarinder Singh (@capt_amarinder) <a href="https://twitter.com/capt_amarinder/status/1176865227758899205?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This corridor plays vital part in SC's future.

I pray that things go smooth and Insha Allah it gets opened as it should!

He should go in his personal capacity. There will be usual "criticism" in the media, but just ignore it. It's not like he will suffer politically either - he's at the end of his career.

I dont know if hes religious but if he is cannot deny him that. hopefully he doesnt care about opinion

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Manmohan Singh will be joining an all party team which will be visiting the gurudwara in Pakistan on the occasion of Guru Nanak’s 550th birthday celebration.<a href="https://t.co/QqjJACD6Ke">https://t.co/QqjJACD6Ke</a></p>— The Quint (@TheQuint) <a href="https://twitter.com/TheQuint/status/1179699851824529409?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 3, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Once again it has been proven Singh is King

Dr Singh, go to Pakistan and represent us the way a true leader should.

Checkmate Modi. I'm so happy that Dr.Singh has chosen to visit Pakistan. This is great news for the secular Indians and all Pakistanis. Modi and his right wing morons must be burning in their hearts right now :inti :asad2:salute

Manmohan Singh not going to Pakistan for Kartarpur Corridor opening ceremony, clarifies Amarinder Singh

Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh on Thursday ruled out a visit to Pakistan for the Kartarpur Corridor opening, making it clear that he would be only leading the first all-party Jatha to the Kartarpur Sahib gurdwara to pay obeisance.

Amid reports incorrectly suggesting that Dr. Manmohan Singh had accepted Pakistan’s invitation to go there for the opening of Kartarpur Corridor, the Punjab chief minister told mediapersons that he did not believe the former prime minister had any such plans.

“There is no question of me going (to Pakistan for Kartarpur corridor opening) and I feel Dr Manmohan Singh will not go as well,” he said, pointing out that there was a huge difference between visiting Pakistan and going to the gurdwara through the Corridor.

The chief minister’s remarks came in response to questions after a section of the media erroneously claimed that Dr Singh had accepted Pakistan invite and would be going across the border for the Kartarpur Corridor inauguration. The fact was that Dr Singh had accepted Captain Amarinder’s invitation to join the Jatha, to be led by the chief minister, through the Kartarpur Corridor, to pay obeisance at the historic gurdwara across the border on the occasion of the 550th birth anniversary celebrations of Sri Guru Nanak Dev ji, an official spokesperson pointed out.

As far as visiting Pakistan is concerned, the chief minister reiterated that he would not go there till Pakistan stops cross border terrorism. He said Punjab was the worst sufferer of Pakistan’s cross border terrorism and he cannot think of going there till it stops.

The Chief Minister had, earlier in the day, called upon Prime Minister Narendra Modi, President Ram Nath Kovind and former PM Dr Manmohan Singh to extend a formal invitation to participate in the main events organised by the state government to mark the historic occasion.

Both Modi and Kovind had accepted the invite, while Dr. Singh had also agreed to join the Jatha that would go to the Kartarpur Sahib gurdwara on the opening day of the Corridor.

Asked if Pakistan was playing a dirty game over the Kartarpur Corridor, the Chief Minister told the media persons to put this question to their prime minister Imran Khan. India, on its part, was fully geared to ensure the security and safety of the pilgrims, he added.
https://www.wionews.com/india-news/...ing-ceremony-clarifies-amarinder-singh-253534

LOL the indian media is probably misinformed and deceived media in the world.Both manmohan and the cm of indian punjab will come to pakistan for the katarpur ceremony in pakistan.Sikhs are not going sabotage this for the sake of MODI.

Great news for the Asian Bloc bhaijaan.

There is still hope after all brother.

Join hands Dr Singh and Niyazi Imran Khan and lead us to the path of development.

Modi being snubbed here which is although kind of।embarrassing and hurts me as a nationalist even though I am।no fan of Modi.

NDTV saying Manmohan is coming where as other Indian sources saying he has not. Either way Modi must be burning with anger as being overlooked. No need to invite him when he isn't a Sikh.

Former Indian prime minister Manmohan Singh has agreed to be a part of the all-party delegation set to visit Kartarpur in Pakistan for Baba Guru Nanak's 550th birth anniversary celebrations, NDTV reported on Thursday.

According to the Indian publication, Raveen Thukral, an aide of Indian Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh confirmed the development, which took place during a meeting between the two Indian leaders earlier in the day.

"Happy to meet former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh ji at his residence today. Have invited him to join us on the 1st Jatha to Sri Kartarpur Sahib Gurudwara and attend the main event at Sultanpur Lodhi to mark Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji's #550thPrakashPurab," the Indian Punjab chief minister had tweeted.

But Amarinder clarified that the group, which the former Indian premier will be a part of, will not go to the opening ceremony of the Kartarpur corridor.

"There is no question of me going (to Pakistan for the Kartarpur corridor opening) and I feel Dr Manmohan Singh will not go as well," he was quoted as saying by NDTV.

The government has signalled its intent to invite the former Indian prime minister to the opening of the Kartarpur corridor, due to take place on November 9.

“It has been decided after consultations that we will invite former Indian prime minister Manmohan Singh to the opening of the very important Kartarpur corridor,” Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi had said in a video statement released to the media on Monday.

It is unclear whether a formal invitation has been sent as yet.

The corridor, an initiative of the Pakistan government, is being constructed to commemorate the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak in November. The corridor would provide Indian Sikhs visa-free access to Gurdwara Darbar Sahib at Kartarpur in Pakistan.

There is scepticism if Manmohan Singh will accept the Pakistani invitation. The sceptics recall that Dr Singh, during his 10 years in the prime minister office, did not visit Pakistan. Moreover, Amarinder Singh, who belongs to Congress, had turned down the invitation for the groundbreaking ceremony.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1508777/m...or-guru-nanaks-550th-birth-anniversary-report

Great move by Pakistan, seperate the hate mongerer Modi and his followers from the rest of india, who we want good relations with for years to come

It works.

I hope all countries follow this so even Indians can realize that they if they want to function in a world where cooperation and services are bestowed upon Indians only conditional to who is in power then Indians will be forced to choose a government which is best ensuring liberal minded Rahul Gandhi could become PMOTROI

Good move by Pak on the chess board. This will put Indian tails on fire even more with Modi being ignored! Now if the RSS try to stop Manmohan the Sikh's will be very unhappy about it.

We support this decision by ex PM to visit the opening of shrine and majority Indians support this. It’s logical manmohan Singh being invited is because it’s a Sikh shrine and he is a sikh. What’s surprising here?

And modi government was responsible for kartarpur corridor and sikhs have thanked him so where is the question of opposition? Strange !!!

Good move by Pak on the chess board. This will put Indian tails on fire even more with Modi being ignored! Now if the RSS try to stop Manmohan the Sikh's will be very unhappy about it.

Modi doesn't give two hoots if he's invited or not. He has a lot of other important things to do. And no. RSS won't try to stop Manmohan if he wants to go. You are clearly overestimating RSS' reach and influence.

....but the Indian media is crying over him not being invited. Every PM has duties to attend to not only Modi. Of course I am not over estimating anything at all, RSS are the government in India.

It works.

I hope all countries follow this so even Indians can realize that they if they want to function in a world where cooperation and services are bestowed upon Indians only conditional to who is in power then Indians will be forced to choose a government which is best ensuring liberal minded Rahul Gandhi could become PMOTROI

Yeah, except barring for the small fact that personal accolades have been given to the non-liberal minded Narendra Modi around the world (not that they do or should mean much). If you are keeping a count, it's 1-something in favor of Modi.

A day after it was reported that Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu, who created ripples by attending the swearing-in ceremony of Pakistan PM Imran Khan, was not part of the first jatha to Kartarpur, Pakistan has invited him for the opening ceremony.

According to sources in Pakistan, the country has invited Navjot Singh Sidhu to the opening ceremony of the Kartarpur Corridor on November 9.

Earlier this year, Sidhu landed in a major controversy when he visited Pakistan to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Imran Khan and hugged Pakistani Army chief Qamar Bajwa. Sidhu came under a barrage of attacks both from the ruling BJP and also his fellow party leaders such as Punjab CM Amarinder Singh.

During his controversial Pakistan visit in January, Sidhu had said that he brought up the issue of opening of the Kartarpur Corridor with Pakistani authorities and his "friend" Imran Khan.

India on Tuesday shared with Pakistan a list of 575 people who will be part of the first jatha to Gurudwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan through the Kartarpur corridor.

The group will be led by former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh while Amarinder Singh, Union minister Hardeep Puri, Harsimrat Kaur Badal and MPs and MLAs from Punjab will also be part of the group.

According to a PTI report, Pakistan has denied permission for a composite delegation led by the Punjab government, along with representatives of SGPC (Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee) and DSGMC (Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee) to organise "akhand path" (recital of holy scripture) and hold "nagar kirtan" (religious procession) at Nankana Sahib.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...kartarpur-corridor-opening-1614177-2019-10-30

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wishing ex Indian PM Manmohan Singh a speedy recovery from Covid 19.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1384542505463599106?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 20, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Former PM Manmohan Singh admitted to emergency department of AIIMS Delhi: Sources​

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Thursday was admitted to the emergency department of AIIMS Delhi after his health worsened, sources told India Today TV.

The 92-year-old Singh's condition is critical, news agency PTI reported, while citing sources.

However, the reason behind him being admitted to a hospital is not yet known.

Singh, who served as the Prime Minister from 2004 to 2014, retired from the Rajya Sabha earlier this year.

33 years ago, in 1991, Singh began his political innings in the Rajya Sabha. Four months in the upper house, he was sworn in as the Union Finance Minister under the PV Narasimha Rao government in June.

Starting off with an impeccable academic record — topping the Punjab University in both BA, and MA, moving to Cambridge, and finally getting a D Phil from Oxford — Singh led India to privatisation and globalisation.

Known for his dedication, Manmohan Singh was praised by Prime Minister Narendra Modi earlier this year, who said that Singh "worked even in a wheelchair."

"I remember in the other House, during the voting, it was known that the treasury bench would win, but Dr Manmohan Singh came in his wheelchair and cast his vote," Prime Minister Modi had said.

Was a very good man ,under terrible leadership in UPA though but under amazing leadership of N Rao set Indian economy towards right path.

RIP Mr Manmohan, a reputable former PM​

====

India’s former PM Manmohan Singh dies aged 92​

Former Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who governed the South Asian country for two terms and liberalised its economy in an earlier stint as finance minister, has died. He was 92.

Singh, an economist-turned-politician who also served as the governor of the central bank, was ailing and admitted to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi late on Thursday.

His health deteriorated due to “sudden loss of consciousness at home,” the hospital said in a statement. He was “being treated for age-related medical conditions,” the statement added.

With profound grief, we inform the demise of the former Prime Minister of India, Dr Manmohan Singh, aged 92. He was being treated for age-related medical conditions and had a sudden loss of consciousness at home on 26 December 2024. Resuscitative measures were started immediately… pic.twitter.com/ZX9NakKo7Y

— ANI (@ani) December 26, 2024

A mild-mannered technocrat, Singh became one of India’s longest-serving prime ministers for 10 years, serving from 2004-2014, earning a reputation as a man of great personal integrity.

“India mourns the loss of one of its most distinguished leaders, Dr. Manmohan Singh Ji,” Prime Minister Narendra Modi said. He applauded the economist-turned-politician’s body of work.

Born into a poor family in a part of British-ruled India now in Pakistan, Singh studied by candlelight to win a place at Cambridge University before heading to Oxford, earning a doctorate with a thesis on the role of exports and free trade in India’s economy.

He became a respected economist, then India’s central bank governor and a government advisor but had no apparent plans for a political career when he was suddenly tapped to become finance minister in 1991.

During that tenure to 1996, Singh was the architect of reforms that saved India’s economy from a severe balance of payments crisis, promoted deregulation and other measures that opened an insular country to the world.

Singh’s ascension to prime minister in 2004 was even more unexpected.

He was asked to take on the job by Sonia Gandhi, who led the centre-left Congress party to a surprise victory. Italian by birth, she feared her ancestry would be used by Hindu-nationalist opponents to attack the government if she were to lead the country.

Source: Al Jazeera

Mr.Manmohan Singh passes away.

Om Shamti. One of the rarest gems in Indian politics with no major blemishes in his track record. The man who heralded the opening up of Indian market under Narasimha Rao Government.