Pakistan v New Zealand | 2nd Test - Day 2 | Wellington | 4/12/09

Vettori running back to his mark - Pak batsmen should slow it down

The best way to slow it down would be to ask for the sight screen to be moved. If that doesn't work then pull out a couple of times when the bowler is running in. :)))

one more over to go. This match is exciting. Hope we survive the day without anymore loss of wicket

No yaar - I understand your point of view completely - totally grounded in the way you say it.

About the success part - its about confidence.

The SL series debacle took out a lot of confidence from our teams. This is why its important to win games against semi decent sides - just to build that momentum - to believe in yourself.

That I agree with.

It's great for confidence no doubt. But we're not really known for our consistency are we? We could win this game. Confidence could be sky high and next thing you know we get hammered in the last test. It's not entirely unlikely with Pakistan involved. And to think some people love the fact that we're 'unpredictable'. :))

Yousuf is showing his age. The hand-eye coordination is just not there today.

Juggernaut said:
That I agree with.

It's great for confidence no doubt. But we're not really known for our consistency are we? We could win this game. Confidence could be sky high and next thing you know we get hammered in the last test. It's not entirely unlikely with Pakistan involved. And to think some people love the fact that we're 'unpredictable'. :))

:)) That is exactly what I was thinking just now....

NZ team standing behind Misbah....

Stumps

64/2

229 is the lead and Bob is your Uncle !!

They survived.

An excellent day for Pakistan. We really would have to bat poorly from here on to lose this match.

:)) just pulling your leg

The leg u r referring to is my "Nala". :D ... lol sorry bro, zada punjabi stage dramay dakh dakh ker yeh hal ho gaya hay.

An opening partnership of 49.

Faaaar-hat gets more than his average.

Butt is out and it's not a run out.

Misbha survives the last ball.

All in all a good day for our batters. :D

kingusama92 said:
They survived.

An excellent day for Pakistan. We really would have to bat poorly from here on to lose this match.

Don't give them any idea's bro. I don't want them getting all 'mercurial' on us.

Juggernaut said:
An opening partnership of 49.

Faaaar-hat gets more than his average.

Butt is out and it's not a run out.

Misbha survives the last ball.

All in all a good day for our batters. :D
I thought we we happy with 49 partnership. they scored there average, thats what we wanted.:)

I think I can safely say that Pakistan are on top in the Wellington Test.. :) ..with moyo looking for a 25th test century,things looking quite bright for Pakistan..

insaaniyat said:
I thought we we happy with 49 partnership. they scored there average, thats what we wanted.:)

I was very happy with the 49 partnership. Twice these opener's have done better than I expected them to.

Ofcourse on a personal level they both failed so two sides to every story and all that.

Well I posted that yesterday was a bad day for Pakistan, today was a horrible day for New Zealand. Really interesting Test series this one and Pakistan will go on and win this barring rain.

Even a massive collapse will still leave the Hobbits too many runs to get.

:pissed: can't believe I missed all the Pakistan bowling after Fulton got out! but what a superb effort, credit to the boys, they bowl well :inzi

49 run opening stand has put us in a really strong position, but of course, we always have to lose 2 quick wickets to make the match interesting again :(

but Yousuf bhai is out there with Umar and Kami to come, so Inshallah we will get a sizeable total and bat them out of the game...do9n't think the Kiwis can chase more than 250 in any case

Juggernaut said:
I was very happy with the 49 partnership. Twice these opener's have done better than I expected them to.

Ofcourse on a personal level they both failed so two sides to every story and all that.
you could be happy , I am not . If it was T20 and ODI, I would say yes. But in test cricket it is peanut. If we have 49 -50 opening pair partnership in Australia, we will not survive even three days of test match. Australia is not NZ and also remember Bond wasn't playing either. Thank you:)

Random Aussie said:
Well I posted that yesterday was a bad day for Pakistan, today was a horrible day for New Zealand. Really interesting Test series this one and Pakistan will go on and win this barring rain.

Even a massive collapse will still leave the Hobbits too many runs to get.
with the bowling attack we have now, of course sir. The kind of bowling attack we have , we can defend any total

insaaniyat said:
you could be happy , I am not . If it was T20 and ODI, I would say yes. But in test cricket it is peanut. If we have 49 -50 opening pair partnership in Australia, we will not survive even three days of test match. Australia is not NZ and also remember Bond wasn't playing either. Thank you:)

yes, it's a fun cricket

insaaniyat said:
with the bowling attack we have now, of course sir. The kind of bowling attack we have , we can defend any total

Sorry. Don't agree with that.Our bowling attack is good but I don't think they can defend meagre totals.

insaaniyat said:

49 runs bro! Thats 5 times more than I expected. And ofcourse 49 run opening partnerships and then two quick wickets won't do much for us against Australia. I know that :))) . But this is New Zealand. I can't bear to think what the Aussies will do to Malik, Misbah, Butt and Faaaar-hat. :31:

Juggernaut said:
Sorry. Don't agree with that.Our bowling attack is good but I don't think they can defend meagre totals.

I disagree...ours is one of the few bowling atttacks out there who is good enough to do just that

Juggernaut said:

49 runs bro! Thats 5 times more than I expected. And ofcourse 49 run opening partnerships and then two quick wickets won't do much for us against Australia. I know that :))) . But this is New Zealand. I can't bear to think what the Aussies will do to Malik, Misbah, Butt and Faaaar-hat. :31:
well let's say 200? we could defend that couldn't we?:) As to your second argument. comparatively 20 is better than 10, 30 better than 20, that we all know. But is that what we want in our openers? I think, Khalid Latif looks very good for us. Hope he gets selected. The fact is beside Yousef, YK and Omar our batting sucks

insaaniyat said:
well let's say 200? we could defend that couldn't we?:) As to your second argument. comparatively 20 is better than 10, 30 better than 20, that we all know. But is that what we want in our openers? I think, Khalid Latif looks very good for us. Hope he gets selected. The fact is beside Yousef, YK and Omar our batting sucks

200 and we're in with a chance.

But ofcourse it's not the bowlers that we should worry about.

I agree that 20-30 runs is not what we want from our opener's. (You should see my comments on Farhat and Butt in this thread to see what I think of them :)) ).

But to be honest as long as our selectors keep selecting these players what can you do. (Although I still think Faaaar-hat should do the right thing for everyone and just walk away, perhaps retire).

And as I've said many times before thier are only two batters in the whole team at the mo: Umar and Moyo.

As for Khalid Latif I'm gonna have to respectfully disagree. (I can't believe I'm being so nice. Usually if anyone else mentioned Khalid Latif as a potential test opener I would look to rip them to shreds :))).

Anyway, the point I want to make is that he has no footwork whatsoever, he has a poor first class record (I know I know ... our domestic structure is poor but still). He will dissapoint you, mark my words.

Unfortunately thats another disease Pakistani fans suffer from. Just bceause someone is a decent ODI player doesn't mean their cut out for Test cricket. Look at Salman Butt for instance.

Having said that I think there's a fair old chance Latif will play test cricket. Our selectors our idiots and if Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq can play test cricket then why not Latif. :))

Juggernaut said:

no far-ha-t,Malik in Australia plz..:31:..

NOt much since the West Indes Just scored 300 in a day

Imy said:
NOt much since the West Indes Just scored 300 in a day

You are not playing in Adelaide.

Are there any highlights of this match online? Cricketcrowd are letting me down and I have been working. Want to see some :aamir

Wonderful day for Pakistan.

I have to watch the highlights later on tonight oln Zee Cinema.

Brilliant performance from Akmal, Aamer and Gul with the bat.

Then the bowlers bowled beautifully. Aamer, Asif, Gul and Kaneria destroyed NZ.

Lethal said:
Wonderful day for Pakistan.

I have to watch the highlights later on tonight oln Zee Cinema.

Brilliant performance from Akmal, Aamer and Gul with the bat.

Then the bowlers bowled beautifully. Aamer, Asif, Gul and Kaneria destroyed NZ.

Look at the constants here...Gul and Aamer played a huge role with bat and ball

NZ got pawned...lol
Just woke up and saw the score.

Random Aussie said:
You are not playing in Adelaide.

Are there any highlights of this match online? Cricketcrowd are letting me down and I have been working. Want to see some :aamir
www.cricket-online.tv

I watched the 1st session - went to sleep & taped the whole of session 2&3 - and just watched it all!

Awesome!

Shame about the 2 wkts that fell - need another 200 I feel