Pakistan v New Zealand | 3rd ODI | Abu Dhabi | 9/11/09 | Pak inngs

Aamer is chuppa rustum. He has a batting average of 21
Pakistan needs 2 more for 100

Vettori to Khalid Latif, OUT, it looked out, Vettori's struck immediately! Drifted in, landed on a good length on the off and angled in, he didn't get too forward while trying to play at it, missed and was caught right in front of middle

Khalid Latif lbw b Vettori 19 (17b 3x4 0x6) SR: 111.76
Pakistan 47/1 Salman Butt 24* (33b 4x4) DL Vettori 0.2-0-0-1

Vettori to Younis Khan, OUT, run out again, Butt has to go. Pushed off the front foot towards extra cover, Younis takes off but there's plenty of hesitation from Butt who is late in his response, Guptill flicks an under-arm throw to the keeper who takes off the bails to find him miles short

Salman Butt run out 25 (34b 4x4 0x6) SR: 73.52
Pakistan 51/2 Younis Khan 3* (15b) DL Vettori 2-0-2-1

Bond to Younis Khan, OUT, Younis goes! New Zealand have fought back, short of a good length on the off, just a hint of away movement, Younis moves back to defend, gets a thick outside edge and Taylor at a widish slip takes a good low catch diving to his left

Younis Khan c Taylor b Bond 3 (16b 0x4 0x6) SR: 18.75
Pakistan 51/3 Shoaib Malik 0* (0b) SE Bond 5.1-1-21-1

Mills to Shoaib Malik, OUT, Malik has been sent back! Tempted into playing the pull, it's a short one again, doesn't connect it well, miscues it straight into the hands of Styris waiting at deep square leg

Shoaib Malik c Styris b Mills 11 (21b 1x4 0x6) SR: 52.38
Pakistan 74/4 Umar Akmal 9* (14b 1x4) KD Mills 5-1-32-1

Southee to Umar Akmal, OUT, gone! Short and wide, goes for the cut, gets a thick edge and McCullum holds on to a straightforward chance

Umar Akmal c †McCullum b Southee 12 (24b 1x4 0x6) SR: 50.00
Pakistan 82/5 Shahid Afridi 5* (7b) TG Southee 3.5-0-10-1

Oram to Shahid Afridi, OUT, gone, another one! Afridi's thrown it away, bowled on a good length outside off and he tries to whack it past the bowler, a hint of away movement produces a thick outside edge and McCullum snaps a dolly

Shahid Afridi c †McCullum b Oram 5 (10b 0x4 0x6) SR: 50.00
Pakistan 84/6 Kamran Akmal 2* (2b) JDP Oram 0.4-0-1-1

Southee to Kamran Akmal, OUT, An atrocious shot! Pakistan are being abysmal here, short on the off and he tries to swat that needlessly over mid-on, doesn't time it at all and finds Vettori,who accepts it gleefully

Kamran Akmal c Vettori b Southee 4 (4b 0x4 0x6) SR: 100.00
Pakistan 86/7 Abdul Razzaq 0* (2b) TG Southee 4.2-0-13-2

Southee to Umar Gul, OUT, run out, Razzaq goes, what a mess! Full on middle, driven to mid-on where Vettori slides to his left and pulls off an excellent stop, Razzaq has already left the non-striker's end for a single but is met with no response from Gul who belatedly sends him back, Vettori returns an over-arm throw to the bowler's end, Southee collects and flicks the bails to find Razzaq miles out of his ground

Abdul Razzaq run out 0 (8b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00
Pakistan 86/8 Umar Gul 0* (5b) TG Southee 5.1-0-13-2

Looking at the descriptions of how the wickets fell, only YK and Latif actually were got out by NZ , everybody else threw their wicket away.

We need a Steve Waugh like character.

When I stopped watching the match because I had a class Pakistan had lost 3 wickets. So now when I checked the score Pakistan were bombed by NZ. Initially I had a feeling we will win by 10 wickets :(

adiabbasi said:
crowd slogging younis khan murda bad hahha

I really hope PCB takes notice of this and sack him from 1 day captaincy... I feel sorry for him because he's a good bloke, but he has to pay for his silly decisions in team selection

I really hope PCB takes notice of this and sack him from 1 day captaincy
That will be typical PCB. They said last month he is captain till 2011

Butt/Razzaq runouts were YK/Razzaq's fault completely... easy pickings. Malik & Kamran got out to brainless shots (skied high near circle). Umar/YK/Afridi went fishing... Latif was out to a good ball.

Ramiz on commentary "shot selection was poor, running between the wickets was CRAP" hahah :))) :))) :)))

Hey, guys. Just dropped in to say that I'm gonna retire from PP for a few days after this performance. :afridi

iQuit is almost a forgone conclusion...the question is how many will fall for it this time!!!

LG said:
Hey, guys. Just dropped in to say that I'm gonna retire from PP for a few days after this performance. :afridi
Don't do it yaar. Okay, just retire from the Cricket section. :younis

Is the team for money first, then country ? i dont think the players have got their priorities right....

cricket_fever said:
aint funny

It is funny!!

I saw you people laughing at other teams when they are in similar positions!!

What goes around comes around... :D

the only era we didn't collapse as much and as badly was the Woolmer era - we need a new coach!!

oh yaar...time to end this misery...im off 2 slp...4am. wanted to see it thru and listen to the post match comms

TAKE THE POWERPLAY!:po:

I know its kinda useless but still!

Everyone should get a nice phainty.Except for Butt,Gul,Ajmal,Aamir and Latif.
Baaki sab! :pissed:

I have plans of watching this game at home - it takes approx 20 minutes to drive there. Afridi better be around.... varna...

When will they take the power play? Where is Afridi and Akmal - whats happening here ? Why am I feeling so faint...

Bus Bhai mere sahaat yehhii hooraa haii

Murad said:
It is funny!!

I saw you people laughing at other teams when they are in similar positions!!

What goes around comes around... :D

Are you a Bangladesh fan ? if so enough said :)

Crowd have destroyed a teddy bear...is that the equivalent of an effigy burning ?

It is the feeling you will get at 12,000 feet up. Nice warm up

Crazy fans, they have broken the legs of the teddy.

I'm Sorry Indian fans, when I was laughing at when you were 27-5. :(.

asadee said:
the only era we didn't collapse as much and as badly was the Woolmer era - we need a new coach!!

Good point...but that was mainly because we had a very strong middle order. Our current middle order is hit and miss, and the most consistent and classy batsman....Yousuf.....gets dropped by our genious captian in a series decided.

It's OK to lose chasing 212 when the opposition play better, but it's when Pakistan play like idiots that it really hurts.

Poor Teddy Bear, what the hell did he do?

ace_allrounder said:

you dumbo its a team strategy, only take the powerplay in 45th over....WHAT EVER HAPPENS!! we have one powerful coach and kaptaannn!!!!

<< Rashid >> said:
Good point...but that was mainly because we had a very strong middle order. Our current middle order is hit and miss, and the most consistent and classy batsman....Yousuf.....gets dropped by our genious captian in a series decided.

It's OK to lose chasing 212 when the opposition play better, but it's when Pakistan play like idiots that it really hurts.

Rashid, the only player missing from those days is Inzi..the rest of them are still around and playing

The two openers have now lasted 8+ overs
14 runs, 8.3 overs, RR: 1.64 (Umar Gul 5, Mohammad Aamer 8)
Pakistan require another 112 runs with 2 wickets and 18.2 overs remaining
required RR just over 6

ace_allrounder said:

i wanna chase these ppl with a belan (rolling pin)

I think we need a coach, but keep Inti as manager........we tend to win a few world events when he's around....don't know why but we do.

DonJee said:
you dumbo its a team strategy, only take the powerplay in 45th over....WHAT EVER HAPPENS!! we have one powerful coach and kaptaannn!!!!

Oye! First stop writing in those huge letters.SECONDLY,dont call me a dumbo.I probably know more than you do!

Thirdly,I dont think they will last till the 45th over so take it now ,atleast it will save us some embarrassment.

12thMan said:
It is the feeling you will get at 12,000 feet up. Nice warm up

Nausaea and headache - sounds about right !

Atif said:
Are you a Bangladesh fan ? if so enough said :)

The problem with Bangladesh is that they lose so many hundreds of matches each year (for the last so many years) that it isn't even funny.

:ibutt

ace_allrounder said:
Oye! First stop writing in those huge letters.SECONDLY,dont call me a dumbo.I probably know more than you do!

Thirdly,I dont think they will last till the 45th over so take it now ,atleast it will save us some embarrassment.
yes pal....we are embarrased enough...matti paleet kardi sari!

I have now mentally turned my focus to the two T20 matches...

cricket_fever said:
i wanna chase these ppl with a belan (rolling pin)
Now we know that you are a pakki Desi :P
Whats going on? Would someone acre to explain? I've only just come back from school :(

well no need to take powerplay since all the kiwis are inside the circle anyway!

inthikab alam has grang grand son so u can imagine how old is he should quit now and pray for his last days of life and pray for the team as well

The problem with Bangladesh is that they lose so many hundreds of matches each year (for the last so many years) that it isn't even funny.

:ibutt

I was about to say something to that effect but I thought it wouldn't be ... very nice :P . Plus I'm new here so I thought wouldn't be able to get away with it.
but THANKYOU. THANKYOU SIR!

asadee said:
Rashid, the only player missing from those days is Inzi..the rest of them are still around and playing

It was the Inzi-Yousuf combination that made our middle order so strong....Inzi wasn't just one player, he's what gave our middle order that steely look.

I thought the Umar-Yousuf combo would address that, but.....

KhushbuHussain said:
Now we know that you are a pakki Desi :P
Whats going on? Would someone acre to explain? I've only just come back from school :(

Nothing unusual. Just a routine collapse :malik