Pakistan vs Bangladesh | 1st ODI | Lahore | 08/04/08 | Bangladesh Innings

OZGOD said:
Will they have to call the game off?
Some times the lights can take up to 30 mins to recharge. So I don't think so.

With BD batting lineup they would not need to field 50 overs anyways.

"Sources from the ground inform that it would take half an hour to start the game i.e 2100 hrs local time"

From Cricinfo

I call on BD fans not to be too down, things might pick up for you guys.

I still fancy BD to win a match somewhere in this series, Pakistan side can become very complacent when they are ahead in a match/series.

pakistan gonna win it 100% sure like bd is doing now... but how long will it be before i can watch because my cannel is is showing now ^^

LOL
The biggest cheer from the crowd, of the match came the moment the lights went off!

They just showed the moment when the lights went off, it was like the Undertaker was about enter the arena :D

What type of affect does the players have with this type of stoppages? Do they they keep them selves loose by stretching or sit around and gossip.

dblock said:
I call on BD fans not to be too down, things might pick up for you guys.

I still fancy BD to win a match somewhere in this series, Pakistan side can become very complacent when they are ahead in a match/series.

Good encouragement :-)

didnt this same happen when sl played aus in a wc final in pak in 1996??
same stadium wasnt it??

Commentators raving on and on about MoYo's innings.. I hope Lawson is listening.

It also happened in South Africa last year when we toured there before the world cup.

And has happened at premiership games in England.

Nothing to be embarassed about. These things happen. Just get them back on and get the game restarted.

By the way I don't think the lights went off in the 1996 world cup final.

It also happened in South Africa last year when we toured there before the world cup.

Nothing to be embarassed about. These things happen. Just get them back on and get the game restarted.

Always there to defend PCB and DNA!!!! Even DNA may not be able to do such a great job! :19:

well the lights did go off during the 1996 Wc final!! actually twice!

Is there another match scheduled in the same venue? Then PCB needs to make sure the supply of power is not interrupted in that match.

Breaking News from CNN, condi just said that, it might be a sabotage by the terrorists... any idea??

:-)

We again have a delay because the lights in one of the towers have gone off and the play has been held up

One of the towers has again flickered off, are we playing in the dustbowls of Kabul?

cricinfo can be funny sometimes!!

IIRC they went off for a few mins BEFORE the S Lankan innings

Blitzkrieg said:
We again have a delay because the lights in one of the towers have gone off and the play has been held up

One of the towers has again flickered off, are we playing in the dustbowls of Kabul?

cricinfo can be funny sometimes
!!

and also display schadenfreude :12:

Yes..... nothing to embarrass about guy... DB got their over reduced by SEVEN and runs reduced by 23 run...... we are should be fine..... who cares if BD players/team/fans got robbed!

Usman Sahib said:
How is this DNA's fault bhai jaan?

Who is SUPPOSED to make sure that NOTHING goes wrong with the lights - PCB and who is running PCB right now?

no wonder aussies don't wanna come....they might get picked off from field when the lights are out....imagine how scared symond must of been, if that was to happen on their tour....

Significant time has lost. Will the overs and target get reduced? I have heard enough of Sohail T already in this match he needs to be stopped.

W63L35 said:
Who is SUPPOSED to make sure that NOTHING goes wrong with the lights - PCB and who is running PCB right now?
So he's supposed to know every tiny little thing about the grounds? Come on yaar, DNA is a goon but you just want to bash him for fun :P

"Sources from the ground are unsure about the start time of the game"

From Cricinfo

EDIT: Nevermind

This is not funny anymore.

PCB in a complete mess, they should have ensured a smooth flow of electricity and checked the floodlights properly before the series.

If you can't ensure uninterrupted floodlight, why bother arranging day night matches?

Miraz said:
This is not funny anymore.

PCB in a complete mess, they should have ensured a smooth flow of electricity and checked the floodlights properly before the series.

If you can't ensure uninterrupted floodlight, why bother arranging day night matches?
PCB for the win eh?

Bangladesh required run-rate 8.80

cricinfo said:
Sources from the ground are unsure about the start time of the game

Thats ok guys.... at the worst case scenario.... game would be abandoned. So what...... our fan got some cricket AT HOME..... as opposed to playing Aus in Abu Dhahbi or Sharjah. At least DNA saved our "izzat" by saying no to neutral venue!

This is not fair.

Pakistan scored over a 100 in the last 10 overs.

11 overs got cut from BD innings. The target got reduced by 40.

OZGOD said:
What are YOU laughing at......???

We all agree .... this is normal!! I am sure it happens a lot in Australia!!!

Usman Sahib said:
So he's supposed to know every tiny little thing about the grounds? Come on yaar, DNA is a goon but you just want to bash him for fun :P

The buck has to stop somewhere. He is the one at the top so it is his job the whole organization is running properly. If someone else fails to do their job then DNA also has some responsibility to over see that things are getting done.

Isn't a principal responsible for his school even though it is the teachers who actually teach in the classes? People have to stop passing the buck and take responsibility.

BANFAN said:
Overs reduced further, now that's more than 20-20 targets. 226 from 25 overs

So.....??? At least all of Pak fans are OK with it! Have you seen a true Pak fan complain about the light or the R/R?

Its good that we have send the message to whole world that how pathetic life has become due to no electricity across the country

after 20 overs if the lights go out again then is that a match on D/L or is it abandoned? The lights go out in Pakistan naturally so it is not some special circumstance.

How is match result handled for something like crowd disturbance? Will Ban gets awarded this match?

Usman Sahib said:

I am sorry..... that you feel that way but honestly I do not get any amusement out of stating the plight of Pakistan cricket. Our Cricket is in DUMPS because of the poor administration of current PCB set up. If you can not recognize that then ..... I am sorry, either you can't see or don't love Pak cricket!

Its unfair with BD that they have given wid more stiff target.
Also unfair with fans as no electricity to watch the match to turn on Tv.

W63L35 said:
Always there to defend PCB and DNA!!!! Even DNA may not be able to do such a great job! :19:

I was head hunted by the PCB and offered to be the PCB Official Spokesman for Media and Public Relations. I said no ;-)

W63L35 said:
So.....??? At least all of Pak fans are OK with it! Have you seen a true Pak fan complain about the light or the R/R?

Good citizen, happy leadership !

First Aftab now Ashraful: from Cricinfo
Iftikhar Anjum to Mohammad Ashraful, OUT, on the off stump and slower in pace, Ashraful looks to pull it away on the leg side or rather more a swish and misses it and turns back to see the wood work rearranged. This is talent throwing it away, how many times did we say this about Ashraful and he needs to be accountable for all his silly shots

W63L35 said:
What are YOU laughing at......???

We all agree .... this is normal!! I am sure it happens a lot in Australia!!!

I just find it funny that the lights go on and off at random at a stadium full of people, that's all. Houses I can understand - but a stadium? :P

I was head hunted by the PCB and offered to be the PCB Official Spokesman for Media and Public Relations. I said no ;-)

If I was DNA..... I would have hired you at YOUR own price but then again.... DNA is known for making blunders! :D

I just got home now off out in 30 mins to watch the Arsenal V Pool game.. anyone know what chann the game is on in the UK ? might aswell watch a few overs before i head out !

BAN in deep trouble
66-5

p.s Why is Waqar so excited about Rao? i know he is a hard working cricket but doesn't seem to have much talent.

OZGOD said:
I just find it funny that the lights go on and off at random at a stadium full of people, that's all. Houses I can understand - but a stadium? :P

How can you find it funny when nobody on this forum is even embarrassed?

One of the greatest miracles in the history of mankind....in fact not even the history of mankind but the history of the universe.

Kamran Akmal has NOT dropped a catch. Yet.