Pakistan vs South Africa | 2nd Test | Lahore | 12/10/07 | Day 5

OK, we probably won't even draw now.... so we might as well lose trying to win.....rather than lose trying to draw

darkmoon459 said:
oh come on thats a bag full of BS.

Kidding me? Moyo has slowed us down greatly. When he came in the RRR was 4. Slowly it rose to 4.75...then5...then 5.5 and before you know it it was above run a ball. You could tell Inzi was thtere to push the run rate and go for it since he is a bigger hitter than Moyo. I wish he took his time to settle but he definitely was playing for the team and no doubt about it.

darkmoon459 said:
oh come on thats a bag full of BS.

Inzi was well capable of paddling the ball around for a measly 6 runs. I think he wanted to go out with a blazing innings for us to remember him by.

Mercenary said:
Inzi was well capable of paddling the ball around for a measly 6 runs. I think he wanted to go out with a blazing innings for us to remember him by.

remembered as a choker.

Inzi had to go for it, atleast he wanted a win for his country! Unlike Yousuf and Younis who were intent on beefing up their averages

Disappointed Inzi didnt get the record but at the end of the day its all about the team. Nevertheless, an amazing career we will never ever forget!

Inzi is the hero for me. He wasn't selfish and didn't care about the record. He took the risk, and he paid the price, but showed his intent. Just wish he batted longer, to see the great man bat for the last time.

darkmoon459 said:
remembered as a choker.

And what are Younis and Yousuf? These two have denied us a victory today! Atleast Inzi wanted to win the game for his country

Did any one see him chucking his bat in the changing room?

Anyway, it wasnt meant to be! gutted but still INZI is the man

Inzi wanted to win this playing an innings of a lifetime.... it just didn't work out.... he had his time....great player for Pakistan and will be remembered

Now it's time for Malik to come to the front and at least let the saffers take note of his intent even if we don't win

Amir said:
Its pathetic how some Paksitani "fans" can only think about how Inzi got out and how happy they are Javed kept a record when we need to win the game. On top of that, you may not agree with all of Inzi's decision but the amount od disrespect shown is absurd. The fact is, the man had a great career and many good memories. This is a time to win this test and remember Inzi for what he has achieved.

i dont care about javeds record and im a fan of pakistan cricket and pakistan doing well..i have no desire to see our team play a game around inzis attampt to break any records...he's gone he's history...if u were a fan of PAKISTAN cricket you'd realise what a stupid shot that was and wat a stupid idea it was to play him..review his career as much as u like...bottom line is his selfishness has affected this series..and derailed our attempt to square the series..

Usman Sahib said:
Inzi had to go for it, atleast he wanted a win for his country! Unlike Yousuf and Younis who were intent on beefing up their averages

Disappointed Inzi didnt get the record but at the end of the day its all about the team. Nevertheless, an amazing career we will never ever forget!

u for real..??
thats some spin on what he was actually doing!!

can't believe inzi went out like that but ah well something aren't just meant to be, we should still try to win this one, what difference is it if we lose 1-0 or 2-0? We need 6 an over, its not quite a 20/20 rate as yet.

iZeeshan said:
WOW! How do we deal with people like YOU! Remember the 1992 WC buddy?

yes and it was 15+ years ago and much has happened changed but people like you still living in the past.

I am interested to know who told Younis and Yousuf to play like they did after lunch. If it was our captain he needs to be hauled in for questioning. You cant just give up when an opportunity presents itself like that

JM doesn't matter, if it's not broken today. MoYo will take it in 2 years time if he keeps himself fit.

darkmoon459 said:
remembered as a choker.

92 WC.

Second to Bradman for winning average.

A huge percentage of the centuries he scored won matches, yes quite clearly a choker :20:

darkmoon459 said:
yes and it was 15+ years ago and much has happened changed but people like you still living in the past.
and people like you love to construct a nice little mental sanctuary for themselves by bashing Pakistani cricketers.

foojam said:
u for real..??
thats some spin on what he was actually doing!!

What was he actually doing? Care to elaborate rather than crying around like a little girl?

MYK/MoYo played terrible cricket after lunch. They have to be villified for such a negative approach. I dont have any respect for people who give up so easily

foojam said:
i dont care about javeds record and im a fan of pakistan cricket and pakistan doing well..i have no desire to see our team play a game around inzis attampt to break any records...he's gone he's history...if u were a fan of PAKISTAN cricket you'd realise what a stupid shot that was and wat a stupid idea it was to play him..review his career as much as u like...bottom line is his selfishness has affected this series..and derailed our attempt to square the series..

Stupid shot? He was trying to take the attack to the SA batsmen to up the run rate. YOu could tell he was playing for the team because Moyo wasn't planning to chase that target today (probaly saving it for teh sixth day yes?).

And its not him who lost us this test. Its all the batsmen, where were teh rest of them inteh first innings?

Theyre gonna leave themselves 170 to get the in the final session. They've blown a world record chance, and a chance to tie the series.

Great. What a session. Scoring at 2.86 RPO, terrible terrible terrible! If you cant play Harris, atleast attack the fast bowlers!

The embarassing thing for Inzi critics is that if he had scored 50 off 100 balls to save the match they'd say he was playing to extend his runs record.

There was nothing Inzi could have done short of a miracle 100 off 80 balls to win the match and that is what he looked like he was trying to do.

poor inzi the way he threw his bat after getting into the dressing room.

Mercenary said:
The embarassing thing for Inzi critics is that if he had scored 50 off 100 balls to save the match they'd say he was playing to extend his runs record.

There was nothing Inzi could have done short of a miracle 100 off 80 balls to win the match and that is what he looked like he was trying to do.
Don't sweat it Merc. Like I said earlier, some people just get some sort of personal satisfaction out of bashing players. Maybe it helps them feel like they aren't losers for a few moments.

impossible with MoYo there?
watch him go for them better then any other batsmen :) just watch after tea

Usman Sahib said:
What was he actually doing? Care to elaborate rather than crying around like a little girl?

MYK/MoYo played terrible cricket after lunch. They have to be villified for such a negative approach. I dont have any respect for people who give up so easily

firstly grow up...personal insults dont really endear you to anyone...i'll keep it simple for you..
it was a bad shot chasing a record..

Usman Sahib said:
175 runs to win from 26 overs. Impossible with MoYo there. Malik should just run him out so that Misbah can take centre-stage :P
I say we send Kaneria in next ;-)

come on Pakistan go for it after tea. I'd rather they went for the win and ended up losing, instead of playing out a draw.

Shahid A said:
impossible with MoYo there?
watch him go for them better then any other batsmen :) just watch after tea

Well so far he has been the main culprit behind us scoring at an amazing 2.86 RPO in the second session

TBH, Misbah should have come in before Malik. AND why can't Yousuf ATTACK? Is he incapable of it or soemthing?

Hope Lawson tells them to go for the win during the break, this final session could turn into a 20/20 match.

After tea;

We will know their intention for sure.

Or maybe they will take it easy for the first 12 overs(3.0) and SMASH SMASH(12.0) for the last 12. :D

iZeeshan said:
TBH, Misbah should have come in before Malik. AND why can't Yousuf ATTACK? Is he incapable of it or soemthing?
Inzamam got out attacking...its a fifth day pitch, hardly easy to bat on.

My respect for Inzi has gone up after one of his shortest innings.... Just for his courage and will. He had the mindset of a winner... Great Career Inzi Bhai. You will be missed.

It's time to move on. And someone should have a word with Malik.

I think it's too late now. I suppose Malik and the team will be looking at records now, not Inzi. they will be wanting to avoid defeat.

I thought maybe less because of the extended session...

Guys , relax .I think inzi showed a lot of heart and was trying to win the game...if he was thinking about his record he could have knocked it around for a few runs while pakistan slowly lost the game as the run rate got too high....someone had to try and hit harris and inzi took it upon himself...

I feel very sorry for him .....

Mercenary said:

merc..read it however you like..he shouldnt have been in the match..and because of that inzi critics cant really go wrong can they??
its a complete joke that he was allowed to play. and even you will know why...it was for his attempt at the record.

foojam said:
firstly grow up...personal insults dont really endear you to anyone...i'll keep it simple for you..
it was a bad shot chasing a record..

Look at your comments about Inzi and then decide who needs to grow up. What did you want Inzi to do? I am not saying his shot was the best but something had to give. MoYo wants to emulate Kallis and prove to the world that he is the slowest batsmen out there so he wouldnt budge from his negative approach, who else would have upped the run-rate other than Inzi? You do realize that the run-rate was around 6 when Inzi came in to bat...

I say spend the first 5 to 10 overs trying to go for a win, if we lose 1 or 2 wickets, then settle for a draw.

Inzi was obviously trying to win us the game, but seriously that was an Afridi type of innings.

WEll done Inzi ...Pakistan has just lost a great player today ..Thankyou so much for a wonderful entertainment of cricket you have given to all us Pakistani people and to all your avid follwers. I wish you all the success in whatever you decide to do.

You've been insperation to many young batsmen all over the world and you will be surely be missed. Thank you Inzi and allaha aap ko salamat rakhe..(May god bless you) Inshallah.

Usman Sahib said:
Look at your comments about Inzi and then decide who needs to grow up. What did you want Inzi to do? I am not saying his shot was the best but something had to give. MoYo wants to emulate Kallis and prove to the world that he is the slowest batsmen out there so he wouldnt budge from his negative approach, who else would have upped the run-rate other than Inzi? You do realize that the run-rate was around 6 when Inzi came in to bat...

we view the whole thing differently but i dont need to resort to personal insults..i wanted inzi to play like we know he can on his day..he copuld play the ball around the field without taking such a risk..problem is for people like you you fail to see why he was included..you cant get away from the fact that he was picked for his record and NOT for pakistan to square the series.

There are still quite a lot of overs left to get ourselves back into the game. We cannot lose this game, 6 batsmen left and 26 overs to play. Unless we have a super duper collapse, we CANNOT lose this game to the Saffies. Either its a draw or if Pakistan want it, a victory

foojam said:
merc..read it however you like..he shouldnt have been in the match..and because of that inzi critics cant really go wrong can they??
its a complete joke that he was allowed to play. and even you will know why...it was for his attempt at the record.
Do let me know which of his replacements would have been half as good as him...

I think S.A will take the new ball and try and win this...it's a gamble but respect to smith if they do this...

slix10 said:
I don't think Inzi gave two craps about the record...

UNBELIEVABLE!! so why the hell was he playing...u guys. get of this inzi cant do wrong crap..yes he was a great player but he should not have been there.

foojam said:
UNBELIEVABLE!! so why the hell was he playing...u guys. get of this inzi cant do wrong crap..yes he was a great player but he should not have been there.
Sure he's choosing to retire, and sure he cut a deal with DNA for an honourable exit, but he's still better than any of his replacements.

There are still quite a lot of overs left to get ourselves back into the game. We cannot lose this game, 6 batsmen left and 26 overs to play. Unless we have a super duper collapse, we CANNOT lose this game to the Saffies. Either its a draw or if Pakistan want it, a victory

2 wickets in the first 6 overs of the new ball...will leave your tail facing 20 overs of new ball.....trust me..you still CAN lose...

Just hope they don't start to go for the draw. that will be drawn out and boring.

When's tea ending?

Pakistan should come out now and give it all its got...We might as well go down fighting...

"Fortune favours the brave"

zaf1986 said:
Do let me know which of his replacements would have been half as good as him...

thats not the question is it..you tell me why he was included??
well i would have had asim kamal..but there u go..
how many did he score in both innings??

foojam said:
thats not the question is it..you tell me why he was included??
well i would have had asim kamal..but there u go..
how many did he score in both innings??

Who isn't played Test cricket for well over a year either...

Point is he's still a fine batsman, and a last game won't change that.