Pakistan vs South Africa | Lahore| 5th ODI | 29/10/07 |

Nazir gone swinging at everything...he will never learn and the merry-go-round that is the Pakistan opening slot continues...

as I said........any second now

still, 22 runs opening stand. That's 22 more than I hoped

Oh Nazir...you looked so good there, but just couldn't control yourself.

Sorry...the way nazir was batting is just too funny...showing ntini no respect...grow up .

(not to mention stupid)

Isolation said:
at least he didnt face 40 odd balls like hameed does and gets out

At least Hameed puts a price on his wicket. Doesnt gift it like a street cricketer.

Thats what Nazir is and he should stay there.

what is this obsession with hitting 4s?

why cant they get 1s and 2s?

That was such a ridiculous shot by Nazir. It looked as if he was trying to hit a back-foot cover drive for 6.

saffer said:
Sorry...the way nazir was batting is just too funny...showing ntini no respect...grow up .

(not to mention stupid)

Nazir will never grow up

He should be playing street cricket ideally.

Arshad bhai is back..i m surprise he hasn't signed a contract with ICL /ipl yet...

What do you think resides between Nazir's left and right ear???

Honestly after being dropped for the last two matches, you get a golden opportunity again and what do you after you have hit 4 boundaries already (so there's no pressure), swing at everything and get caught behind in the 4th over (in an over where you have already scored a boundary)!

Muddaser said:
At least Hameed puts a price on his wicket. Doesnt gift it like a street cricketer.

Thats what Nazir is and he should stay there.
He's a disgrace to street cricketers all over the country. Street cricketers rotate the strike, look for ones and twos, and always hit the gap. That's the opposite of what Nazir does.

Caved12 said:
pissed, she was like " how dare you missed my calls for a game like cricket", lol, you know women, and I went " honey I was taking a nap and somehow went in to a deep sleep, just woke up two seconds ago" :P

puttar, toon thumb ich daba hua hai :)))

In the context of this run chase, Nazirs little cameo was useful. It gives us some momentum, and face it hes never going to be one of those openers thats bats through the innings.

kami playing well here.....come on guys keep them cominng...another 200 runs partnership rq here...

Now If Nazir gets dropped for upcoming Odis, which he will, Would you guys still blame PCB for not sticking with the same openers?now somebody explain me what the Fcuk was he doing? Here you are, dropped twice, lucky enough to get a chance again, and you are capable enough to score a fifty, you throw your wicket away with some nonsense shot, which he already tried five times in that over. Sometimes I wonder if some of our players really have a brain.

That was a classy stroke by Akmal. I'm telling you he should play as a specialist opener in both forms of the game! Bring in Sarfraz Ahmed as the specialist keeper!

do people really watch cricket to learn or to have some fun?

why do these comms always have to "good ex for youngster"?

UJ said:
In the context of this run chase, Nazirs little cameo was useful. It gives us some momentum, and face it hes never going to be one of those openers thats bats through the innings.
Or bats past the 10th over. No more excuses, this guy should be thrown out of the team. The only time he should represent Pakistan is in the Hong Kong 6's.

38 for 1 after 6 overs. Very good start by our standards.

196 runs to win.

Akmal needs to score a 100 in every game to get a place in the team and even if he does that, he would then be playing as a specialist batter; The keeping gloves need to be given to someone else.

FAQ said:
Akmal needs to score a 100 in every game to get a place in the team and even if he does that, he would then be playing as a specialist batter. The keeping gloves need to be given to someone else.
i agree....hes a good batsmen but i think his keeping days should end

FAQ said:
Akmal needs to score a 100 in every game to get a place in the team and even if he does that, he would then be playing as a specialist batter; The keeping gloves need to be given to someone else.

To be honest I think he should play as a specialist opener. Someone else can keep.

Sheikh said:
That was a classy stroke by Akmal. I'm telling you he should play as a specialist opener in both forms of the game! Bring in Sarfraz Ahmed as the specialist keeper!

You may on to something there...however I remember Akmal fielding once and he was rubbish!

doesn't look like this pitch has too many problems, should be easy..

NeVerMind said:
You may on to something there...however I remember Akmal fielding once and he was rubbish!

he did alright int he 20-20 against SA.

Besides, his fielding cannot possibly be any worse than his keeping

NeVerMind said:
Whatever man, it's better than having him behind the stumps.

Sheikh said:
Or bats past the 10th over. No more excuses, this guy should be thrown out of the team. The only time he should represent Pakistan is in the Hong Kong 6's.

Yeah, when you select Nazir you know what you're going to get - maybe a quick 20 odd at most. If the selectors are expecting anymore, then they are clearly delusional because he will never change the type of game he plays. You take it or leave it.

Why is Younis doing an impersonation of Ijaz Ahmed? He keeps moving across the crease!

To be honest I think he should play as a specialist opener. Someone else can keep.
Probably the selectors are thinking the same, but they are a little too afraid to make the move, while opening he is better than Nazir/Hafeez/Hameed/Afridi.

I remember him scoring a good hundred down under against the WI

And then follows it up with a ugly heave across the line. If we had any luck (ala Gibbs and Kallis), the inside edge would have missed the stumps. Pretty innings, but that's not good enough.

ah well

still

43 for 2 is better than 10 for 2

Easa said:
doesn't look like this pitch has too many problems, should be easy..

which Pakistan do you follow? Akmal gone and it's the MoYo and YK show again...

Once again, it's left to the real batsmen to dig us out.

It's tiring having to say that again and again.

Bloody hell...what is wrong with these openers. Don't they understand the concept of building an innings!

Younis and Yousuf to put on 100 runs now plz.

shabbu1 said:
Bloody hell...what is wrong with these openers. Don't they understand the concept of building an innings!
these guys cant put together two lego blocks let alone an innings

FAQ said:
Probably the selectors are thinking the same, but they are a little too afraid to make the move, while opening he is better than Nazir/Hafeez/Hameed/Afridi.

I remember him scoring a good hundred down under against the WI

That was in the VB Series 04/05 opening the batting. All of his ODI 100s have come opening.

Oh God it's Zaheer Abbas again. I must say it's time to mute my t.v. No doubt.

43 for 2 actualyl a fantastic start by our standards.

If these two can put on 70 runs, we should be ok.

43/2, fantastic start by the openers, better than the usual display

RRR is only 4.3 so these two should look to get themselves in. Obviously that doesn't mean not score at all, but they can settle down.

Moyo coming in, had a chat with YK, I know what he must have said

Moyo, hisaab barabar hai bhai, toone mujhe out karaya 1 bar, aur Mene tujhe out karaya 1 bar, No more mistakes now.
Yk, But Yousuf, we don't do it deliberately, let's face the fact, we both are pathetic runners, probably the worst in this league, and some of our situations are inevitable, at least, I get run out in a proper manner, but what you did last time, you completely pulled an inzi
Moyo, yeah, I guess you are right, that was embarrassing.

Caved12 said:
Moyo coming in, had a chat with YK, I know what he must have said

Moyo, hisaab barabar hai bhai, toone mujhe out karaya 1 bar, aur Mene tujhe out karaya 1 bar, No more mistakes now.
Yk, But Yousuf, we don't do it deliberately, let's face the fact, we both are pathetic runners, probably the worst in this league, and some of our situations are inevitable, at least, I get run out in a proper manner, but what you did last time, you completely pulled an inziMoyo, yeah, I guess you are right, that was embarrassing.

Come on yaar ,let Inzi R.I.P .

Pathan007 said:
and tukh tukh continues. run rate will go up and pressure will begin to creep in.

I will still take that Pathan as long as they promise to stay on wicket.

Pathan007 said:
and tukh tukh continues. run rate will go up and pressure will begin to creep in.
What does it matter? According to you the game is over anyways.

50 for 2 after 10 overs in Bahawlpur. I must say that's a good is start by Pakistans the standard.

I would have taken this at the start of our innings.