PCB release video on 25th Anniversary of the 1992 World Cup win without comments of Imran Khan

lonex

Tape Ball Star
Well how is this even justified. That they have not added comments of the captain of that team. Other missing personalities are Javed Miandad and Aamir Sohail.

Sethi sahab wrote an article before the 92 WC that IK is old and unfit to captain the side to the WC. What a massive slap on the face to that small, corrupt man.

Wow Syed bhai never knew about that. Will try to find that article and read it.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?201772

Get going, Imran
Posted on Thursday, March 5, 1992 in The Friday Times (Editorial)

The Pakistan cricket team is not firing properly on any one of its 11 cylinders, including the three in reserve. From all accounts, the boys seem demoralised, listless and wayward. Of the matches played thus far, we were badly mauled by the Windies and deeply humiliated by the English. As for the one against Zimbabwe, our exploits were nothing to write home about. What, in God’s name, is going on and why?

Even before the team left, it was abundantly clear that Waqar Yunus was unfit. He couldn’t bowl a single over during net practise. Where the expert doctor diagnosed a stress fracture, our selectors thought otherwise. In the event, he had a free ride to Australia and back.

Then, no one thought it worthwhile to import some white balls and give the boys a chance to check them out. The shine on the white ball lasts longer than on the red and it also seams more. As it is, our batsmen and bowlers are all at sea with it now.

The selection of the team was undoubtedly bungled. Saleem Jaffar and Akram Raza were declared non trata and sent back post haste. How did they change their colours overnight and become unsuitable for Australian pitches? Now we have two second-rate leg spinners and are sorely missing out on an off-spinner like Iqbal Qasim.

As for captain Imran Khan’s ‘fierce motivation’ to win the cup, we don’t like it one bit, Khan says that his motivation is of a purely private nature. He is concerned about the fate of his cancer hospital and has been advised to stay in the limelight if he wants to raise funds for it. No one has the courage to tell him plainly that his private motivation is adversely affecting the morale of his team. If every player were to follow suit and play for himself, as Imran is doing and as Rameez Raja did against the Windies, rather than for team and country, we might as well ask the boys to pack their bags and call it a day.

Then there is the issue of who should lead the team. Saleem Malik is properly in line to become captain after Imran and Miandad retire. When the team left,Miandad was thought a non-starter ad Malik was appointed vice-captain. When Miandad was desperately recalled, Malik lost his due and sulked. What a royal mess this is.

If both Imran and Miandad are ageing, unfit warriors, wouldn’t it have been proper to appoint star batsman Saleem Malik and star bowler Wasim Akram as captain and vice-captain respectively and tell Khan and Miandad to groom them in the jobs under their tutelage in the World Cup? A leaf from the Windies’ book might have been taken. After Vivian Richards voluntarily retired as captain, he said he was available to play in the World Cup under Richardson. Although the Windies foolishly didn’t take Richards up on his generous offer, Imran Khan could well have responded in the same spirit in the twilight of his grand career. After all, aren’t former captains Kapil Dev and Vengsarkar playing under Azharuddin in the Indian team? Isn’t former captain Botham playing under Gooch? Pity the Pakistani selectors who must eve now scrape and grovel before the whimsical Great Khan.

Imran Khan now says he won’t play in a match unless he can bowl also. This is ridiculous. Khan has an honourable place in the team as a batsman, not as a bowler. Why doesn’t he get off his high horse and stop farting about? As it is, he stands out like a sore thumb among his middle-class playmates who are beginning to resent his standoffish ways and authoritarian behaviour.

It isn’t too late to sort out things, have a determined go at the Cup and give us our money’s worth. The captain needs to establish a line of communication with the boys. What is missing is a sense of comaraderie. This should be followed by continuous pep-talks. Some important cricketing lessons, too, should be drummed into them after their private irks and kinks have been ironed out. (Did you see how the England bowlers fruitfully sacrificed pace for seam, swing and accuracy while Akram and Jawed were hopelessly panting in to the wicket and spraying their balls all over the place?)

Imran Khan is the greatest cricketer Pakistan has ever produced. He made a mistake in announcing his retirement some years ago. But he was wise enough to repair his error and return to cricket when his country needed him. His country still needs him, immediately as a batsman and strategist of high quality and later as a guiding force behind efforts to build a new team to take on England in the gruelling 5-Test series in the summer.

But Khan must put duty to Pakistan first and his private obsessions second. And this change of heart and mind must be immediately and clearly reflected before the team. Otherwise, he will have only himself to blame for a bitter end to a truly glorious career.

PCB has never really liked IK for his views of wanting the whole system revamped. They don't like string characters like Javed either.

Making a video is going OTT. Can't leech off that one victory forever.

However, if they went on to make a video, IK's comments should've been there first on the list.

Travesty and bordering on criminal is one way to explain this omission. Safe to say politics have a lot to do with this.

They say keep politics and sports aside . . but god damn it, this PCB organization is the most political organization ever!!

With Najam Sethi at the helm of affairs and his clear and ostensible association with the ruling government, specifically a few individuals can never let him be impartial towards Imran Khan The Cricketer!

I am sure Imran Khan doesn't care that he isn't in the video . . doesn't make any difference to him whatsoever . . but it sure as hell does make the board look like fools . . and not just Imran Khan btw . . also Javed Miandad and other key members of the winning team!

PCB has never really liked IK for his views of wanting the whole system revamped. They don't like string characters like Javed either.

I agree with you but IK's repeated derogatory comments against the PCB and esp PSL are below the belt. Agree that he hates Sethi but that doesn't mean that you keep abusing him on and on and on.....
I had great respect for IK but in the last two years have lost all that

This doesn't hurt Imran's stature one bit but looks extremely poor on the PCB bosses.

Making a video is going OTT. Can't leech off that one victory forever.

However, if they went on to make a video, IK's comments should've been there first on the list.

Oh really a video is going OTT while Sethi and SK wasting millions on their useless trips ain't? FYI yesterday was silver jubilee of 92 WC and nations do celebrate things like this. BCCI even after winning 2007 WT20 still organised a whole event in 2008 to celebrate silver jubilee of 1983 victory and invited Kapil and all others. You never forget your heros but well PCB is there to act as cheerleaders for the govt and Sethi is the biggest clown.

http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2008/jun/25ind.htm?print=true

Seems like Sethi was captain.
Shahryar vice captain.
Subhan man of the match.

Former Pakistan captain Aamir Sohail condemned the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for their video celebrating the silver jubilee of the 1992 World Cup victory.

The video notably omits captain Imran Khan, Javed Miandad and Amir Sohail, which has resulted in it being severely criticised from many quarters.

The video features PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan and PSL Chairman Najam Sethi, both of whom vow to build future cricket on the foundation of 1992 victory. But there is no mention of the captaincy of Imran Khan, which many believe was the driving force behind the World Cup win.

Khan, now the leader of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) is still praised for his leadership skills by the batch of 1992 World Champions.

Khan’s famous advice of ‘playing like cornered tigers’ is considered a part of the folklore of Pakistan cricket.

The video released by PCB video features Wasim Akram, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Moin Khan and Mushtaq Ahmad who cherished their victory and shared their memories from the 1992 World Cup.

Aamir Sohail believes the omissions are politically motivated.

“All the officials are being appointed by ruling party PML-N and Imran Khan is now head of major opposition party. So how can they go against the rulers?” Sohail said.

http://nation.com.pk/sports/26-Mar-...992-world-cup-tribute-for-omitting-imran-khan

Since we don't have any player like Wasim, Inzamam, Miandad, Malik plus Dynamic captain like Imran Khan its sad to say 1992 world Cup was the first and will be the last World Cup for us.

Sethi must have slept well after releasing this video. The war between Sethi and Imran Khan started in 2013 and it's still on.

Sethi got boeed in Lahore in the final that must have hurt him as well.

Nope. It's not nice to say these things but he didn't say anything that wasn't untrue.

And that was an off the record talk with journalists that someone leaked. We all talk like that in normal life when camera isn't on

I agree with you but IK's repeated derogatory comments against the PCB and esp PSL are below the belt. Agree that he hates Sethi but that doesn't mean that you keep abusing him on and on and on.....
I had great respect for IK but in the last two years have lost all that

IK attacking PCB is over how they deal with all Cricket related issues. I also agreed with him over the euphoria over the PSL final being held in Lahore. The whole thing was way over board as if the World Cup Final was being held. I never support him unconditionally however in Cricket related issues he is mostly correct. I have not seen him make any personal remarks against Sethi.

No personal remarks against Sethi? Are you sure? He didn't spare anybody in the dharna?
35 puncture

These are normal terms we have been using in gali mohalla and club/domestic cricket from decades...

Lots of other stuff is said in galli mohallah ckt; does that mean you should use these words for international cricketers who are risking their lives and coming to your country

No personal remarks against Sethi? Are you sure? He didn't spare anybody in the dharna?
35 puncture

What personal remarks did he make then? I remember him rightfully having a go at Sethi for not being a Cricket man that is 100% true.

Didn't hear that one by IK. In the heat of the moment such comments are made by everyone.

But abusing your opponents in front of thousands of people and being watched by millions on television is not the matter of being said in the heat of the moment.
Anyways it's not the matter to be dragged on... On the forum

What if the PCB asked Imran Khan to be a part of the video and he refused?? Could this be a possibility as well?

Maybe Imran said something like 'First ask Najam Sethi to resign, I wouldn't be part of a video that has PCB's name on it, its a corrupt insititution headed by a corrupt man etc etc'

Imran/Miandad and Sohail should be a part of the video, but if Imran is stopping others from being a part of it... then you will have to take Khan Sahab's permission before celebrating 25th March 2017 as the 25th anniversary..

Both Miandad and Sohail are omitted because they have ogled for the PCB in the past, after having been employed in top positions by their previous PCB regimes

But seriously who the eff are Sethi, Shahryar and Subhan in this video?? What did they do in 1992? Like seriously are we supposed to listen to these people talk while the man who made it happen is not in it... I think thats BS...

This video should only and only be about 1992 heroes... these PCB babas are the worst

What if the PCB asked Imran Khan to be a part of the video and he refused?? Could this be a possibility as well?

Maybe Imran said something like 'First ask Najam Sethi to resign, I wouldn't be part of a video that has PCB's name on it, its a corrupt insititution headed by a corrupt man etc etc'

World Cup is not anyone's Jaidad - If Imran can appear in a GEO special then he could have done video also.

No I'm just saying Imran Khan (the guy with incorruptible morals,) will never be part of a video that has corrupt cronies of Nawaz Sharif in the video..
it was the same reason he was never a part of Phateechar PSL, he will never shake hands of the people who loot and plunder the country

Stop making a fool of yourself with half baked assumptions...we all know why Imran, Miandad, and Sohail were not included re: due to their background, past record of criticizing PCB, and for Imran only: Sethi's ego is too big to be in the same video as the one who gave him the lovely name after last election!

As per reports:

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has dispelled rumors about removing Imran Khan's name from an enclosure at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Due to current political tensions, there were speculations that the 1992 World Cup-winning captain's name would be removed. However, a PCB official confirmed that no changes have been made to any enclosures, and the Imran Khan enclosure has remained unchanged since its establishment in 1992.

Doesn't matter - the World Cup is written in history.

Nobody cares about a social media video.

IMG_3270.jpegPakistan 🇵🇰 ODI XI from 1990s - Team that was responsible for the Growth of ODI’s Popularity in World Cricket 🏏 in the 1990s.

Today is the anniversary of Pakistan's famous 1992 World Cup win, a proud moment in cricket history for Pakistan where team showed great spirit and brought home Pakistan's first World Cup victory!

we won 1 day after Pakistan day? Seriously?

Never knew this.

heres an interesting fact, Pakistan day should be 24th March, because thats when the lahore resolution was presented. Dont know why its 23rd march :/
Lahore resolution was passed on 24th and officially made public. It was presented on the 23rd however and debated.

The idea of putting forward the proposal of a seprate state is accepted and not when the proposal was passed itself.

It was on 23rd March 1940 where the name "Pakistan" was born and first mentioned.

Hence the official birth of Pakistan is seen as its name which was stated on 23rd.

Lahore resolution was passed on 24th and officially made public. It was presented on the 23rd however and debated.

The idea of putting forward the proposal of a seprate state is accepted and not when the proposal was passed itself.

It was on 23rd March 1940 where the name "Pakistan" was born and first mentioned.

Hence the official birth of Pakistan is seen as its name which was stated on 23rd.
I know, 23rd is the date, but it should had been 24th.
Pakistan name was not in the lahore resolution.

Basically had we won on 24th that would had been interesting.

We are still living on the back of that 1992 victory whole other nations have moved a lot of steps ahead of us in the game... Gotta focus on achieving another WC instead of being happy on 90s victory.... Time to move on

Well, you did win the ODI World Cup in 1992 and is your prideful legacy and to the time you win your next one, that will keep reminding you of the time it’s been since you won. Regardless, I see nothing wrong in gloating on that achievement, it happened and nobody can take it away.

1992 was a special moment for fans. I was not born then but the way legacy of 1992 is shared, it must be special for those who witnessed it live or on TV etc...

Immense respect to Imran Khan’s sheer belief and outstanding leadership that made the dream of 1992 a reality. Remember Immy Khan was a shadow of the player he was once was. His howling wasn’t the same and he played as a middle order batter. Many people criticized him for playing the 1992 world cup and not handing over the captaincy to Javed Miandad. And after the disastrous start to the campaign no one one gave them a chance but Imran turned it around. For sure he had the stroke of luck going his way nd jest with the rained out match, then with Inzamam playing that blitzkreig to win the semi final which came out of nowhere. But Imran’s influence was all over that team. The belief he gave him teammates proved to be the difference eventually between the victorious Pakistan team and the rest.