Peer Sahib Culture!

tahaqureshi said:
Haha, bro I agree with most of your post.

But I think chilla is something different. As far as I know, it is simply going out on 'tours' with people like Tableeghi Jamaat to do dawah. It can be for as little as 3 days or as much as a year.

Maybe you are thinking of something else? or maybe I am wrong?

I may be wrong bro.. but my friend who's grandfather is a "peer saab" told me that his grandfather did chilla and this is exactly how he explained it. I'll research on that and let you know

Ayyub said:
i believe in peer .

peer can help u out to find whether black magic is done or not on ur family and they can tell u the name of that member and where the black magic is done and they give u taweez in which holy surahs is there in small paper which bring rehmat in your work .

peer are those who r close to Allah by praying and devoting their life to Allah fully.

i also had the same criticism of peers, but now i know that how to treat some patient is a matter of perception of the problem.

medical science is materialistic, invented by western world and focus that all the problems are in the matter that is body.

muftis, sufis, peers and alims etc are eastern and believe all problems are with the soul and they know how to treat it by experience.

a psychologist will say all problems are due to "self" or "false self"

baqi 2 numbri to har shobay main hai

Ayyub said:
i believe in peer .

peer can help u out to find whether black magic is done or not on ur family and they can tell u the name of that member and where the black magic is done and they give u taweez in which holy surahs is there in small paper which bring rehmat in your work .

peer are those who r close to Allah by praying and devoting their life to Allah fully.

A taweez?!?! oh come on ayyub bhai.. we know the prophet never did anything like that.. neither did he mandate his companions to do so either. Our best protection against anything is to pray to Allah for protection against all evil. Lets stay on the safe side and avoid Bid'ah

There were Pirs who were pious and on the right path. They were rare.

Now every Tom, Dick and Harry is a Pir. They have made a mockery of the true Pirs.

I don't believe in Pirs. My Family does and I find it hard to understand why. The Pirs today are scammers. It has come to a stage where people rely on Pirs more than ALLAH(SWT).

Lethal said:
There were Pirs who were pious and on the right path. They were rare.

Now every Tom, Dick and Harry is a Pir. They have made a mockery of the true Pirs.

I don't believe in Pirs. My Family does and I find it hard to understand why. The Pirs today are scammers. It has come to a stage where people rely on Pirs more than ALLAH(SWT).
There seems to be a contradiction in what you are saying.

You appear to be saying that you don't believe in Pirs because there are no more 'true pirs', as opposed to saying that you don't believe in pirs as a concept.

Would you like to clarify it one way or the other ?

javelin seriously if you have no knowledge about peers/khuda ke wali's (as u said in your earlier posts) than you better not go on giving ur uneducated views in here, for you are creating misconceptions/ignorance. you are going on about the fake pir's sure there are fake pir's and majority are fake, but there are genuine ones out there (and they dont claim publicity or promote themselves, like the good ol' days with the prophets, khalifa's) the way you are putting ur argument, the next time some idiot says muslims are terrorists than that would be true according to you coz we surely have some bad apples. so do all muslims become terorists bcoz of a handful? similarly just coz majority are fake/opportunists does that mean all are fake? divine powers do exist, what is all this ayatal-kursi protects you (when upon reciting it, it blinded the enemies to allow our prophet (pbuh) safely) and there are numerous other examples, perhaps you haven't got a good grip of islam.

I know its public forums and all, but if u don't know about a topic, its best to leave it to others who do, rather than looking like an idiot and continuously going on about it.

We need to think think and think

Did the prophet tell people to become peer sahibs?
Were the companions peer sahibs?
Did the Prophet ever tell us to perform some weird rituals to fix a problem?
or did the Prophet tell us to pray to Allah for everything?
Did the Prophet/Companions tell us to recite this surah/verse/name of allah/dua a certain number of times at a certain time of the day for a certain effect?
Did the Prophet say some pious person is going to chose you.. and you will have a connection with him?

KARAMAT OF MY MURSHID

WHEN I SEE HIM ,I FEELS I AM IN THE PRESENT OF RASOOL
WHEN I SIT WITH HIM, I FEELS I AM IN THE PRESENT OF RASOOL

MY MURSHID IS WATCHING ME,
NO MATTER WHERE I AM ,MY MURSHID IS DIRECTING ME
HELPING ME, EVERYTHING COMES TO ME ,ITS FROM MY MURSHID
I AM NOT WORRYING ANYTHING, MY MURSHID IS WITH ME.
WHEN EVER I HAVE DIFFICULTIES ,I TELL TO MY MURSHID ,I WILL FREE.
YA MURSHIDI

this is quoted by a person on another forum. what is this? IT'S SHIRK.. HARAM HARAM HARAM.. all caused because we LOVE to INNOVATE and APPROVE of INNOVATION. Celebrating the prophet's birthday, making the prophet's birthday into an eid, asking another person to make shifa'a (sifarish) for you (SURELY YOU MUST KNOW.. that NOT EVEN the prophet can do that.. only time he will be able to do that is at the Day of Judgement), asking from the graves, making tombs and **** near pious people's graves. you start off small but you end up BIG!

HAH they call them Wali Allah.. friend of allah.. how can someone be given such a high status just like that?? last time i checked only Ibraham was friend of Allah and he was the PROPHET.

'OH we do it because it is nice to do and we will earn thawab insha'allah".. i say astaghfirallah you do it because your forefather's did it and you are from amongst the JAHILIYA.. go research your deen and surely you will find that a lot of this stuff is shirk!

"When I am in the company of my Hazrat Sahib. I forget my connections with the dunya.
I feel at peace just by looking at them.
My Hazrat Sahib is very humble and dislikes talk of the dunya in their gatherings.
Hazrat Sahib dislikes anything which is against the Sunnah of Rasoolullah and the Shariah."

lol jahil aadmi your hazrat Sahib is for the sunnah of RasulAllah.. BUT YET he is something WHICH IS INNOVATED.. THE HIPOCRISY

"hazrat always present to write taweez after zohar namaz for those in needs"
a TAWEEZ? what is a TAWEEZ? did the prophet tell us to write verses on a piece of paper and keep it with us 24/7 or something.. or did he tell us to keep our tongue wet with thikr of Allah and to ask him for everything?!?!?

I can go rambling on and on.. but hell who is going to read the post and act upon it? they call me a pro-wahhabi and i call them jahil.

surely this is Bid'ah.. and as you may already know ALL Bid'ah goes to hellfire

*forgot to put SAW after the prophet's name.. pretend like it's there

The web page below is an eye opener for those who are blindly following fraud Pirs of modern times, and don't read/understand Quran themselves.

esnips.com/web/fake-pir/

Pir Syed Khalid Ali Qadri is a major Pir of Silsila Qadria in Bradford UK and one of his partners in crime / Pir brother (Zafar Anwar in Manassas, Virginia, USA) has been caught on phone asking for money for curing Black Magic and claiming to have powers to even kill people with just one taweez.

Pir mafia is nothing but money scammers and an innocent person can loose his/her iman, money and respect at the hands of such swindlers. Getting hands kissed is the least of my worries. They get their Mureeds to do them favors that even some politicians can't achieve.

When are muslims going to realize that this is the exact shirk Islam came to free us from? Humans worshipping Humans, humans worshipping jinns, and the list goes on and on. Why can't we just worship teh creator? why always run after some part of HIS creation?

May Allah show us all the right path.

Pir or shaykh is a teacher who teaches he's students path to get closer to Allah by following the Sharia and Sunnah.

Any pir or shaykh that goes against Quran & Sunnah then he is a fruadster and people should keep away from him.

6xafridi said:

Did the Prophet/Companions tell us to recite this surah/verse/name of allah/dua a certain number of times at a

Brother calm down some of the stuff you say it is true some is not so before you go on rant think what you are saying.

For example you said:

Did the Prophet/Companions tell us to recite this surah/verse/name of allah/dua a certain number of times at a certain time of the day for a certain effect?

Yes they did here is the proof.

Abu Saeed al-Khudr’i narrates that while on a journey we halted at a place. A girl came to us and said: “The chief of this tribe has been stung by a scorpion and our men are not present, is there anybody amongst you who can recite something upon him to treat him?” Then, one of our men went along with her although we did not think that he knew any such treatment. However, our friend went to the chief and recited something upon him and the chief was cured. Thereupon, the chief gave him thirty sheep and gave us all milk to drink. When he returned, we asked our friend: “Did you know anything to recite upon him to cure him?” He said: “No, I only recited Umm al-Kitab (i.e. Surah al-Fatihah) upon him.” We said that do not do anything until we reach Madinah and ask the Prophet regarding this (practice and reward-whether the sheep were lawful or not for us). Upon reaching Madinah, we narrated this to the Prophet (salAllahu alayhi wasalam), whereupon he remarked: “How did he come to know that Al-Fatihah can be used as a cure? (Rasulullah said this in astonishment) Distribute your reward amongst yourselves and allot a share for me as well.

[Sahih al-Bukhari]

Abu Mas’ud al-Badri (radiAllahu anhu) reported that the Prophet (salAllahu alayhi wasalam) said, “If anyone recites the two ayats at the end of Surat al-Baqarah (2) at night, they will be enough for him.”
[Sahih al-Bukhari 6.61 #530, Agreed upon]

The Prophet said to Muadh (radiAllahu anhu), ‘Should I not teach you a supplication which, when used to implore Allah, Allah shall pay your debt, even it be as huge as Mount Uhud? He then mentioned them (i.e. Surah al Imran verse 26 & 27)’
[Tabarani in Al Saghir 1/330]

There are many more examples of Surah's and Verses which can benefit us in this life and ultimately in the next life.

And the main thing which dissappointed me in your post was that you said

Subhan'Allah you can rant and copy paste but you could not write SalAllahu alayhi wasalam or peace be upon him once in your post come on brother get your priorties right.

sending peace and blessing upon the Prophet(SalAllahu alayhi wasalam) is a command of Allah and it is very virtous act so please in future do not leave it out it is one way we can repay our huge debt to our beloved Prophet(SalAllahu alayhi wasalam).

McBoom said:
[UTUBE]67Th0cDgLpY[/UTUBE]

Brilliant display of peeri mureedi. Check out the warning on not 'paaeing dhamaal'!

people dance in marriage parties and you dont have problem with it. If they are doing dance on a mazar then you have problem with it?? why?? even a child knows this act is not from shriat like namaz roza zakat hajj so why you have problem if someone does this??? tommorow you are gonna say khattak dance is not in shariat so stop that, punjabi pagg is not from shariat so ban it. thats why you guys say o ho ho islam is in danger islam is in danger we should not celebrate eid milad un nabi its a biddat. in the name of biddet you condemn anything you want. according to this ideology even creating an ideology of biddat is a biddat as prophet never did this campain as Mr mohamaad ibn ab ul wahab did.

6xafridi said:

tumhara kuch nehin ho sakta. you are brain washed from childhood. where did prophet said you cant become peer sahibs??? so you are following an ideology which prophet never taught. you are a biddati isnt it?? islam is love and peace but you have been brainwashed to hate people who dont follow your ideology.
tell me what do you think about nemat ullah shah wali??

On this tOpic, I suggest reading into the story of Owais al-Qarni (R.A).

Afridix6; you're very trigger happy as far as typing 'bid'ah' goes, aren't you ?

My two questions remain unanswered. Will some apologist for Peeri/mureedi please answer them?

1. On what basis does the Peer saahab accept baiyat?
2. What exactly is Peer sahab's role beyond that of a teacher?

Kia peer saheb aur kia mureed sabh aik jese.

This peer siddique whom I hate from the core of my heart is the biggest dhokay baz.He has build a medical college in Mirpur,called Moheuddin Islamia medical college.

My brother who is a doctor is doing temporary job there for only 3 months and he is just disgusted and doesn't want to day it for one more day.According to him all the employers there are peer's mureed and know nothing about there job.The lab assistant don't even know name of the apparatuses.
And If someone tries to ask them some thing they behave like the principal of college because the are peer's mureed.

some points ive picked up in this thread

*brain washed used for both parties
*go and learn some knowledge from both sides
*opinions and personal experiences

why isit any islamic thread goes into disrupt and ends up being locked thread. we lack something, to me aaram kay ssath sunnay aik doosray ki baatein, where atlest someone will learn something

pir-ism seems to be a thriving business, i'm thinking of becoming one part time over the weekends.

khan-92 said:
I reccomend you to read this article it explains the whole concept of science of tasawuf in Islam.

http://www.tasawwuf.org/basics/what_tasawwuf.htm
I asked two simple questions, and you, instead of answering them, have given me a link. It means you, although you are a supporter of this Peer/Mureed thing, can't defend it without the crutches of links.

I will just ignore the link (as I always do) and wait for somebody who can answer my questions himself.

As for the 'science of tasawwuf in Islam', there's no such thing as 'tasawwuf in Islam'. Islam is Islam, and tasawwuf is tasawwuf. Islam for us is what the Rasool Allah taught us, and tasawwuf was not in there. Islam, then, is the way of life the Rasool Allah left us with, and that is valid for all humanity and for all times to come. Anything that was added later cannot possibly improve that way of life, and is not part of Islam anyway.

You are of course welcome to dabble in whatever you like (including tasawwuf) but kindly don't present it as some 'category' of Islam. Because tasawwuf has nothing to do with Islam. Thank you.

6xafridi said:

Were the companions peer sahibs?
Did the Prophet say some pious person is going to chose you.. and you will have a connection with him?

KARAMAT OF MY MURSHID

WHEN I SEE HIM ,I FEELS I AM IN THE PRESENT OF RASOOL
WHEN I SIT WITH HIM, I FEELS I AM IN THE PRESENT OF RASOOL

MY MURSHID IS WATCHING ME,
NO MATTER WHERE I AM ,MY MURSHID IS DIRECTING ME
HELPING ME, EVERYTHING COMES TO ME ,ITS FROM MY MURSHID
I AM NOT WORRYING ANYTHING, MY MURSHID IS WITH ME.
WHEN EVER I HAVE DIFFICULTIES ,I TELL TO MY MURSHID ,I WILL FREE.
YA MURSHIDI

this is quoted by a person on another forum. what is this? IT'S SHIRK.. HARAM HARAM HARAM.. all caused because we LOVE to INNOVATE and APPROVE of INNOVATION. Celebrating the prophet's birthday, making the prophet's birthday into an eid, asking another person to make shifa'a (sifarish) for you (SURELY YOU MUST KNOW.. that NOT EVEN the prophet can do that.. only time he will be able to do that is at the Day of Judgement), asking from the graves, making tombs and **** near pious people's graves. you start off small but you end up BIG!

HAH they call them Wali Allah.. friend of allah.. how can someone be given such a high status just like that?? last time i checked only Ibraham was friend of Allah and he was the PROPHET.

'OH we do it because it is nice to do and we will earn thawab insha'allah".. i say astaghfirallah you do it because your forefather's did it and you are from amongst the JAHILIYA.. go research your deen and surely you will find that a lot of this stuff is shirk!

"When I am in the company of my Hazrat Sahib. I forget my connections with the dunya.
I feel at peace just by looking at them.
My Hazrat Sahib is very humble and dislikes talk of the dunya in their gatherings.
Hazrat Sahib dislikes anything which is against the Sunnah of Rasoolullah and the Shariah."

lol jahil aadmi your hazrat Sahib is for the sunnah of RasulAllah.. BUT YET he is something WHICH IS INNOVATED.. THE HIPOCRISY

"hazrat always present to write taweez after zohar namaz for those in needs"
a TAWEEZ? what is a TAWEEZ? did the prophet tell us to write verses on a piece of paper and keep it with us 24/7 or something.. or did he tell us to keep our tongue wet with thikr of Allah and to ask him for everything?!?!?

I can go rambling on and on.. but hell who is going to read the post and act upon it? they call me a pro-wahhabi and i call them jahil.

surely this is Bid'ah.. and as you may already know ALL Bid'ah goes to hellfire

where did prophet say that you have to condemn the people who are reading certain ayat at certain time?? so you are biddati youself?? pehlay apna maslak to theek kar lo phir doosron pay ungli uthana.. once you see all munafqats in your maslak then come and we will librate you from wahabi virus... dont worry..

Post edited by a MOD. Refrain from derailing this thread/accusing people without proof/strawman. Thank you.

I asked two simple questions, and you, instead of answering them, have given me a link. It means you, although you are a supporter of this Peer/Mureed thing, can't defend it without the crutches of links.

I will just ignore the link (as I always do) and wait for somebody who can answer my questions himself.

As for the 'science of tasawwuf in Islam', there's no such thing as 'tasawwuf in Islam'. Islam is Islam, and tasawwuf is tasawwuf. Islam for us is what the Rasool Allah taught us, and tasawwuf was not in there. Islam, then, is the way of life the Rasool Allah left us with, and that is valid for all humanity and for all times to come. Anything that was added later cannot possibly improve that way of life, and is not part of Islam anyway.

You are of course welcome to dabble in whatever you like (including tasawwuf) but kindly don't present it as some 'category' of Islam. Because tasawwuf has nothing to do with Islam. Thank you.

here is the thing. i hope you wont delete this. your ideology belongs to a maslak whose only task is "whats wrong with others" so people in this maslak are taught from childhood the problems they find in others books. i can prove that these people are not knowledgeable other than find wrong with others..

Well said! :14: :14:

Desire said:
here is the thing. i hope you wont delete this. your ideology belongs to a maslak whose only task is "whats wrong with others" so people in this maslak are taught from childhood the problems they find in others books. i can prove that these people are not knowledgeable other than find wrong with others..

Dude don't bring "maslak" into it......because if you do this debate will turn into a blood bath(verbal).........besides if you were to do so then I'm sure we could find just as many wrong things if not more in your "maslak"!.......I say let's keep this debate to personal opinions backed up by Ahadith without mentioning any "maslak"! otherwise this thread is going to go towards calling each other mushriqs and what not!

Desire said:
Again no answer.
I once went to my couson's local peer house he is a good person and no qalandri peer.
As we were going in light went off and he said it will come in 10 mins,I knew he was trying to impress me that he knows everything.
But I prayed in heart Oh Allah plz dont bring light for atleast half hour.
and thats what happened.
My cousins is his mureed and some more kharian k peer.
What he does he smoke and no namaz shamaz or anything.
Just oeeri mureedi

Desire said:
instead of pointing fingures at others maslaks, first look into your own maslak why they are creating suicide bombers??? is this not haram to kill innocent muslims like this?? no you will justify it by calling it a reaction.
where did prophet say that you have to condemn the people who are reading certain ayat at certain time?? so you are biddati youself?? pehlay apna maslak to theek kar lo phir doosron pay ungli uthana.. once you see all munafqats in your maslak then come and we will librate you from wahabi virus... dont worry..

I'd like you to back your statement up!.....I know Wahabis are hated here by almost every one but for you to make such a general statement regarding them is ridiculous.......especially regarding them "creating suicide bombers".....tell me how many Wahabis live in Iraq, Palestine, Afghanistan and Pakistan?.........In all these countries the Wahabis are extremely small minority.......except maybe for Pakistan where they are a minority but not small.........anyways my point is it is impossible for ALL the suicide bombers to be Wahabis when clearly they are minorities in most nations where such things are happening!... For instance are the Hamas wahabis? no they are not...yet they do promote suicide bombings!......how about the Shias and Sunnis(Mojority of them are non wahabi) of Iraq? they are both not only fighting and killing foreign occupiers but also each other!!

Desire said:
your maslak create hundreds of self created hadiths. no proof whatsoever of their validity and your wahabi molanas also admit that. is this not biddat ? go and check it.

I'd love to see some Ahadith that the Wahabis have made up........last I checked the South Asian Wahabis tend to Follow Imam Abu Hanifa and Maulana Ashraf Ali thanvi!.......unless you show me a clear cut hadith that has been made up and cannot be found in "Sahih Bukhari" or "Sahih Muslim" that can be attributed to "Wahabi Molanas", I'm going to consider your above comment as coming out of your back side rather than your mouth!

Desire said:
Maslak? Ideology? Again this post has everything except the answer to my two simple questions.

Look, this thread is on peeri/mureedi, and because you can obviously not defend what is so dear to your heart, you are throwing accusations right left and center. If you want to talk about terrorism, open a new thread and we can discuss it there. If you don't have anything to say on the topic of this thread, well then be quiet.

My ideology, by the way, is that the deen brought by Rasool Allah is the only deen worth following. I follow the deen of the Prophet. Not about the Prophet. And definitely not about anybody else (no matter how pious). And I have no idea what a maslak is. Neither do I care. For me things are right or wrong not because who is saying them, but because of their own merit. That's why I can talk about them. Your ideology is obviously that of blind following, hence your inability to discuss things on their own merit and resorting to diversionary tactics.

It's an absolute pleasure for me to be following a different ideology than yours.

desi_boy said:
I'd like you to back your statement up!.....I know Wahabis are hated here by almost every one but for you to make such a general statement regarding them is ridiculous.......especially regarding them "creating suicide bombers".....tell me how many Wahabis live in Iraq, Palestine, Afghanistan and Pakistan?.........In all these countries the Wahabis are extremely small minority.......except maybe for Pakistan where they are a minority but not small.........anyways my point is it is impossible for ALL the suicide bombers to be Wahabis when clearly they are minorities in most nations where such things are happening!... For instance are the Hamas wahabis? no they are not...yet they do promote suicide bombings!......how about the Shias and Sunnis(Mojority of them are non wahabi) of Iraq? they are both not only fighting and killing foreign occupiers but also each other!!

I'd love to see some Ahadith that the Wahabis have made up........last I checked the South Asian Wahabis tend to Follow Imam Abu Hanifa and Maulana Ashraf Ali thanvi!.......unless you show me a clear cut hadith that has been made up and cannot be found in "Sahih Bukhari" or "Sahih Muslim" that can be attributed to "Wahabi Molanas", I'm going to consider your above comment as coming out of your back side rather than your mouth!

bro its not worth debating with shias ..it has become part of there religon to blame everything on the "evil saudi salfi talibani wahabis "lol..instend of taking care of there own problems they have a easy way ourt "blame the evil wahabis"

Maslak? Ideology? Again this post has everything except the answer to my two simple questions.

Look, this thread is on peeri/mureedi, and because you can obviously not defend what is so dear to your heart, you are throwing accusations right left and center. If you want to talk about terrorism, open a new thread and we can discuss it there. If you don't have anything to say on the topic of this thread, well then be quiet.

My ideology, by the way, is that the deen brought by Rasool Allah is the only deen worth following. I follow the deen of the Prophet. Not about the Prophet. And definitely not about anybody else (no matter how pious). And I have no idea what a maslak is. Neither do I care. For me things are right or wrong not because who is saying them, but because of their own merit. That's why I can talk about them. Your ideology is obviously that of blind following, hence your inability to discuss things on their own merit and resorting to diversionary tactics.

It's an absolute pleasure for me to be following a different ideology than yours.

well said bro ..agreed 100 percent

I couldn't have said it better my self! :14:

I think its an accident at birth, just like we should thank Allah SWT for choosing us a muslim family, becuase it is very hard for a non muslim to convert.
we can use same ideology here, i was born in a barelvi family, and my opinion on this that i will always thank Allah SWT for his this great blessing.
we are tought the books and things which are in our libraries, we have such a good belief init, that it is almost impossible to go and read other maslaks books, but i did find some books where one particular maslak went so down the earth in their views on Holy Prophet SAW, that just disgust any muslim.

i have no Pir and never will, as our so big family has same views, that it can help you in many ways, it is in accordance to sharia, we belive taveez can help you but not even one of our family has ever worn a taveez. we have trust in Allah SWT and his Prophet SAW, that is more than enough for us.

even you people will fowllow some different aqeeda but on some points you will not get involved in and will not believe in some stuff.

If you do not like the word tasawuf fine do not use it but fact is that this science is part of Islam you like it or not.

Now since you are too lazy to click a link let me summarise what is the reationship of a shaykh and a mureed.
In the Quran Allah describes the mission of the Prophet(peace be upon him) in this verse

"He is the one who has sent amongst illiterate people an apostle from among themselves who recites to them His verses and purifies them and teaches them the Book and the wisdom. (62:2)

The mission of the Prophet(peace be upon him) is to teach the book ie Quran and wisdom he's sunnah and purify the believers souls which is tazkiyatul nafs.

We all agree that everything the Prophet(peace be upon him) taught he's compnaions(ra) was passed down by generation to generation.

So the book Quran was passed down how to recite and its laws etc the wisdom (Sunnah) was passed down to us well and also this science of purification of the soul was also passed down to us.

likewise when a person studies Quran and its rules laws etc he is given ijaza by he's teacher so he can teach others same with hadeeth.

Anf the science of the tazkiyaa of the soul also has been passed down like this as well so when a mureed(student) of the Shaykh reaches the level where the Shaykh feels he can teach others he will be given ijaza in this science which ulema refer to tasawuf.

This science teaches us how to become good muslims through getting rid of the ill and diseases of the heart which can destroy a person imaan and they are Pride, arrogance, selfishness and envy etc.

The true shaykh teach and monitor the progress of thier mureeds and tell them what they need to do to get rid of these diseases and become more closer to Allah.

And the true shayks practice this science through following the Sharia and the Sunnah of the Prophet(peace be upon him).

And I end with the hadeeth of the Prophet(peace be upon him) reagarding this science which can be called Ihsan,Tazkiyatul Nafs and it is also called Tasawauf by later ulema.

The hadeeth is

One day while we were sitting with the messenger of Allah there appeared before us a man whose clothes were exceedingly white and whose hair was exceedingly black; no signs of journeying were to be seen on him and none of us knew him. He walked up and sat down by the prophet. Resting his knees against his and placing the palms of his hands on his thighs, he said:"O Muhammad, tell me about Islam". The messenger of Allah said: "Islam is to testify that there is no god but Allah and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah, to perform the prayers, to pay the zakat, to fast in Ramadan, and to make the pilgrimage to the House if you are able to do so." He said: "You have spoken rightly", and we were amazed at him asking him and saying that he had spoken rightly. He said: "Then tell me about Iman."He said:"It is to believe in Allah, His angels, His books, His messengers, and the Last Day, and to believe in divine destiny, both the good and the evil thereof." He said: "You have spoken rightly". He said: " Then tell me about Ihsan." He said: "It is to worship Allah as though you are seeing Him, and while you see Him not yet truly He sees you".

Free Hit said:
I think its an accident at birth, just like we should thank Allah SWT for choosing us a muslim family, becuase it is very hard for a non muslim to convert.
we can use same ideology here, i was born in a barelvi family, and my opinion on this that i will always thank Allah SWT for his this great blessing.
Being born in this family or that (an accident of birth like you rightly said) is not enough. Every individual is supposed to verify for himself all those things that he 'believes' (because of his birth and environment). A Muslim is supposed to be able to give an account of the things he stands for, and not just repeat what his father told him (what in turn his father told him before that and so on). Islam means submission, and it is not the kind of submission that you do when a man holds you at gun point. Submission means you take a certain position. You verify for yourself what you believe in and stick to things that are satisfactory and discard the garbage.

Free Hit said:
we are tought the books and things which are in our libraries, we have such a good belief init, that it is almost impossible to go and read other maslaks books, but i did find some books where one particular maslak went so down the earth in their views on Holy Prophet SAW, that just disgust any muslim.
This is precisely the danger of obsessing about maslaks. That is you read a book and evaluate what is written in it not on the basis of Qur'an but against what your maslak believes in. That's how most non muslims (the more honest ones at that) read the Qur'an - not in the hope of finding guidance, but with a view to stop reading at the first place they don't see eye to eye with it. That gives them their excuse for not continuing. It seems to satisfy their conscience as well.

As long as we can't rise above these divides of us vs them, we will never be able to judge things on their own merit and will continue to judge them based on where they originate from. And if somebody cannot develop in himself the attitude of accepting the truth wherever he finds it, well then all he has 'done' is being born in a certain family. That's not much of an achievement if you ask me.

Success in the Hereafter according to the Qur'an is not based on which group of people one is considered to be from. It depends on one's own good works and one's own iimaan. Iimaan, though usually ambiguously translated belief, actually means to confirm for yourself whatever you believe in. Labels can be misleading because of this reason, and also because there is always a broad range of views held by people supposedly coming from the same 'group'.

Therefore I refuse to talk about issues in terms of "This maslak says this but that maslak ...". I couldn't care less which maslak does what. I will only talk about issues on their own merit based on Qur'an and reason, inshaAllah.

khan-92 said:
If you do not like the word tasawuf fine do not use it but fact is that this science is part of Islam you like it or not.

Now since you are too lazy to click a link let me summarise what is the reationship of a shaykh and a mureed.
In the Quran Allah describes the mission of the Prophet(peace be upon him) in this verse

"He is the one who has sent amongst illiterate people an apostle from among themselves who recites to them His verses and purifies them and teaches them the Book and the wisdom. (62:2)

The mission of the Prophet(peace be upon him) is to teach the book ie Quran and wisdom he's sunnah and purify the believers souls which is tazkiyatul nafs.

We all agree that everything the Prophet(peace be upon him) taught he's compnaions(ra) was passed down by generation to generation.

So the book Quran was passed down how to recite and its laws etc the wisdom (Sunnah) was passed down to us well and also this science of purification of the soul was also passed down to us.

likewise when a person studies Quran and its rules laws etc he is given ijaza by he's teacher so he can teach others same with hadeeth.

Anf the science of the tazkiyaa of the soul also has been passed down like this as well so when a mureed(student) of the Shaykh reaches the level where the Shaykh feels he can teach others he will be given ijaza in this science which ulema refer to tasawuf.

This science teaches us how to become good muslims through getting rid of the ill and diseases of the heart which can destroy a person imaan and they are Pride, arrogance, selfishness and envy etc.

The true shaykh teach and monitor the progress of thier mureeds and tell them what they need to do to get rid of these diseases and become more closer to Allah.

And the true shayks practice this science through following the Sharia and the Sunnah of the Prophet(peace be upon him).

And I end with the hadeeth of the Prophet(peace be upon him) reagarding this science which can be called Ihsan,Tazkiyatul Nafs and it is also called Tasawauf by later ulema.

The hadeeth is

One day while we were sitting with the messenger of Allah there appeared before us a man whose clothes were exceedingly white and whose hair was exceedingly black; no signs of journeying were to be seen on him and none of us knew him. He walked up and sat down by the prophet. Resting his knees against his and placing the palms of his hands on his thighs, he said:"O Muhammad, tell me about Islam". The messenger of Allah said: "Islam is to testify that there is no god but Allah and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah, to perform the prayers, to pay the zakat, to fast in Ramadan, and to make the pilgrimage to the House if you are able to do so." He said: "You have spoken rightly", and we were amazed at him asking him and saying that he had spoken rightly. He said: "Then tell me about Iman."He said:"It is to believe in Allah, His angels, His books, His messengers, and the Last Day, and to believe in divine destiny, both the good and the evil thereof." He said: "You have spoken rightly". He said: " Then tell me about Ihsan." He said: "It is to worship Allah as though you are seeing Him, and while you see Him not yet truly He sees you".
khan-92, you obviously possess that not so rare talent of talking a lot and saying very little. Such a long sermon and you have still managed to evade my two questions! Tazkia-e-nafs is of course crucial in Islam, but despite writing so much you still did not address how Peeri/Mureedi is necessary to achieve that (why a teacher-student relationship won't do for example, which was one of my questions to start with).

So I will list my questions again:

Try to focus on answering them instead of giving me a lecture on say the importance of tauheed in Islam (as that is not a topic of contention between us).

why people hate wahabis?
I think I am a wahabi because I Follow Quran and hadith, and not a religion of some peer.

Xohaib said:
why people hate wahabis?
I think I am a wahabi because I Follow Quran and hadith, and not a religion of some peer.
i'm a sunni and follow the quran and hadith. only some are mad enough to follow peers. it's upto them, i personally believe they're all frauds. no muslim is greater than the other and i can pray to allah directly or seeks help. don't need a diverted route to him.

Xohaib said:
why people hate wahabis?
The word 'Wahabi' has certain connotations associated with it. For example, being extremely self-righteous in their views. Declaring anyone who doesn't practice as they do Kafir. Basically being very judgmental about who is right and wrong and not practicing that basic creed that is "live and let live".

In particular in our part of the world, you have to consider that Islam's spread owes a great deal to scholars like Ali Hajweri, Moinuddin Chishti, and other famous Sufis, who came over from Central Asia and the Middle East. And they are extremely revered in our part of the world, by people of all faiths.

Now all of a sudden you have followers of this Wahab chap that come along and say that all this Sufi shrine business is akin to shirk and bidah, kill a lot of innocent people, and destroy sites that people consider holy. So naturally people whose heritage you insult and destroy aren't going to take too kindly to you.

(Note I'm not saying I agree with this Pir/mureed crap. Baalti's post #19 I think does a good job at highlighting the scams that these people pull, and how they exploit the uneducated.)

AAJ KAL KEY PIR BY TAHIR UL QADRI

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/2B-LtyTIGHo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2B-LtyTIGHo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

hadeeth dissapearing
<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/quFv_YqAhzY&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/quFv_YqAhzY&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

d0gers said:
The word 'Wahabi' has certain connotations associated with it. For example, being extremely self-righteous in their views. Declaring anyone who doesn't practice as they do Kafir. Basically being very judgmental about who is right and wrong and not practicing that basic creed that is "live and let live".

In particular in our part of the world, you have to consider that Islam's spread owes a great deal to scholars like Ali Hajweri, Moinuddin Chishti, and other famous Sufis, who came over from Central Asia and the Middle East. And they are extremely revered in our part of the world, by people of all faiths.

Now all of a sudden you have followers of this Wahab chap that come along and say that all this Sufi shrine business is akin to shirk and bidah, kill a lot of innocent people, and destroy sites that people consider holy. So naturally people whose heritage you insult and destroy aren't going to take too kindly to you.

(Note I'm not saying I agree with this Pir/mureed crap. Baalti's post #19 I think does a good job at highlighting the scams that these people pull, and how they exploit the uneducated.)

Indeed; Pir Mehr Ai Shah Gholarvi (A.R) devioted most of his life to defeating the qadiani fitna, and without him, maybe a vast part of Pakistan could have been infiltrated by it.

Try to focus on answering them instead of giving me a lecture on say the importance of tauheed in Islam (as that is not a topic of contention between us).

I wanted to prove to you that tasawuf is part of islam it can be called tazikiya nafs ihsan etc. just because you are not familiar or understand it you do not have to deny that it does not exist.

Now to your questions the Shaykh Accept the baiya which is an agreement with the salik(student) mureed call it what you like that the student will follow the Shaykhs instructions in getting closer to Allah in doing ammals like following sharia, sunnah zikr etc.

On this path the student will tell he's shaykh he's spritual conditions and the shaykh will advice him accordingly on what to do and how to get rid of these spritual problems and diseases of the heart.

The shaykh will advice according the Quran and Sunnah and examples of the pious predecessors.

Your second question the Shaykh is a just a teacher and spritual guide for the student nothing more then that.

Any shaykh who does not act according the Sharia and Sunnah is to be avoided at all costs. I reccomend you to read the book Ihya' 'Ulum al-Din to understand more about this subject.

khan-92 said:
I wanted to prove to you that tasawuf is part of islam it can be called tazikiya nafs ihsan etc. just because you are not familiar or understand it you do not have to deny that it does not exist.
You didn't even come close to proving tasawwuf was part of Islam. All you proved was tazkiya-e-nafs was part of Islam. And nobody disputes that.

khan-92 said:
Now to your questions the Shaykh Accept the baiya which is an agreement with the salik(student) mureed call it what you like that the student will follow the Shaykhs instructions in getting closer to Allah in doing ammals like following sharia, sunnah zikr etc.
One:

Don't we all give our pledge to Allah that we will follow his shariat when we accept Islam? Didn't we all give Allah our solemn pledge, before we were even born, that Allah was our Rabb? Don't we renew our pledge to Allah many times every day when we say our prayers (Al-Fatiha - iyyaaka na'budu wa iyyaaka nastaeen)?

If all those pledges with Allah are not enough for us to follow His shariat, how is a baiyat with a peer effective? Makes no sense at all.

Two:

And my question remains: How exactly is a peer qualified to accept baiyat? If the baiyat is that of deen (that is, following Allah's shariat), well then only Allah and His Rasool are qualified to accept that (we are already bound in that agreement). If it is a baiyat of loyalty, then only the head of our state or country government can demand a baiyat. The peer has absolutely no business taking baiyats from people.

khan-92 said:
Your second question the Shaykh is a just a teacher and spritual guide for the student nothing more then that.
There is clear contradiction in your position. There is a world of difference between a peer and a teacher (by your own admission): the peer demands and accepts a baiyat and the teacher doesn't. The teacher doesn't exceed his authority, the peer does.

The teacher-student relationship is dignified, logical, and Islamic; the peer-mureed relationship is undignified (for the mureed), illogical, and unislamic.

The peer-mureed thing is an innovation, and has no basis in Islam. Like I said earlier, if you want to practice it, be my guest. But don't say it is a 'category' of Islam. It is not!

khan-92 said:
I reccomend you to read the book Ihya' 'Ulum al-Din to understand more about this subject.
I recommend you to read that yourself. And then make a logical case for this peeri-mureedi concept. That's because in your present state, you are doing a pretty bad job of making a coherent case.

d0gers said:

Personally I disagree (and follow a similar stance to Momo on this issue), but its worth noting that its close to impossible to draw an accurate and dependable historiography of the religious experience of South Asians without the contribution of scholars like those mentioned above. They were without doubt important figures and deserve respect - but surely not worship!

You didn't even come close to proving tasawwuf was part of Islam. All you proved was tazkiya-e-nafs was part of Islam. And nobody disputes that.

One:

Don't we all give our pledge to Allah that we will follow his shariat when we accept Islam? Didn't we all give Allah our solemn pledge, before we were even born, that Allah was our Rabb? Don't we renew our pledge to Allah many times every day when we say our prayers (Al-Fatiha - iyyaaka na'budu wa iyyaaka nastaeen)?

If all those pledges with Allah are not enough for us to follow His shariat, how is a baiyat with a peer effective? Makes no sense at all.

Two:

And my question remains: How exactly is a peer qualified to accept baiyat? If the baiyat is that of deen (that is, following Allah's shariat), well then only Allah and His Rasool are qualified to accept that (we are already bound in that agreement). If it is a baiyat of loyalty, then only the head of our state or country government can demand a baiyat. The peer has absolutely no business taking baiyats from people.

There is clear contradiction in your position. There is a world of difference between a peer and a teacher (by your own admission): the peer demands and accepts a baiyat and the teacher doesn't. The teacher doesn't exceed his authority, the peer does.

The teacher-student relationship is dignified, logical, and Islamic; the peer-mureed relationship is undignified (for the mureed), illogical, and unislamic.

The peer-mureed thing is an innovation, and has no basis in Islam. Like I said earlier, if you want to practice it, be my guest. But don't say it is a 'category' of Islam. It is not!

I recommend you to read that yourself. And then make a logical case for this peeri-mureedi concept. That's because in your present state, you are doing a pretty bad job of making a coherent case.

I disagree with you it is not an innovation and is part of Islam. Your points to say otherwise are weak and vague.

I think we should bear in mind that we read (or recite) Surah Al-Fatihah during every performance of Salaat - and of course, at other times too. It is described in Surah 15 Al-Hijr, Verse 87 -

"And indeed, WE have bestowed upon you seven of the oft-repeated (verses) and this Sublime Qur'an"

As we know, Surah al Fatihah is expressed in the plural - wherein the Community of believers call upon Allah SWT's Help Alone. HE Is The Helper - An-Naasir -

Surah 4 An-Nisaa, Verse 45
Allah Knows best who your enemies are. Allah is a Sufficient Protector and Helper.

Allah SWT has conferred HIS Favour upon some of HIS slaves by granting them a degree of knowledge, wisdom and insight. This effectively means that HE has provided them with an Authority to convey HIS Message to humankind, be it through writings or other scholarly endeavours. However, no-one has power or supernatural abilities/qualities - human beings are mere particles of dust composed of water.

All invocations and supplications must be directed to Allah SWT Exclusively. Of course, it is most excellent for believers to pray for each other/everyone. But - it is Allah SWT's Prerogative to Respond in HIS Own time and in HIS Own Way in the Light of HIS All-Encompassing Knowledge.

Allahu 'Alam.

pak4life said:
I disagree with you it is not an innovation and is part of Islam. Your points to say otherwise are weak and vague.
And your arguments to say it is part of Islam are non-existant. In other words, why don't you demolish my 'weak and vague' arguments with your strong and clear ones?

It should be easy to do if my arguments are indeed that weak. Go for it.
:inzi

Desire said:

Post edited by a MOD. Refrain from derailing this thread/accusing people without proof/strawman. Thank you.

I'll answer your question. The Prophet NEVER said to to stop someone from reading a certain ayah at a certain time. If you make it into a practice, and you tell other people do to it as well then it is Bid'ah SIMPLE. I don't understand, how do you invite me to such fairy-tales? I don't even know how those guys go like "Paanch baar yeh paro, pir 2 baar yeh parho" and the list goes on and on. For example, reciting Allah hu Akbar 34 times, SubhanAllah 33 times, and Alhumdulillah 33 times is NOT Bid'ah because it is in the Sunnah of the Prophet. If it is not proven in the Qur'an and Sunnah, REFRAIN from doing it. Lets agree with you and say that it is ok to do it. What if I do it and at Youm al-Qiyammah, Allah will question me about this? Am I going to reverse time? Will I get a second chance? If I just stick to the safe side, will I loose anything if I don't perform any of this Bid'ah? If something is not in the Deen then reject it!

and chal bey wahhabi virus, you sound so ignorant

Yaser said:
On this tOpic, I suggest reading into the story of Owais al-Qarni (R.A).

Afridix6; you're very trigger happy as far as typing 'bid'ah' goes, aren't you ?

Brother, there's no other word to use. This is a concept that is widely accepted ONLY (or predominantely) in India, Bangladesh, and Pakistan. Why can't we just be on the safe side and just perform what is in the Qur'an and Sunnah. Look at these people's arguments "Where does it say you can't have peer saabs?" I can ask a billion questions like that. What we need to do is let the Scholars interpret the Qur'an the right way (Shari'ah).

I know I should be more careful when using that word and I apologize. May Allah forgive me if I'm wrong. (If I'm wrong then so is every "Wahhabi")

Don't you think Muslims in Pakistan have been very much influenced by Hindu customs?

khan-92 said:
Brother calm down some of the stuff you say it is true some is not so before you go on rant think what you are saying.

For example you said:

Yes they did here is the proof.

Abu Saeed al-Khudr’i narrates that while on a journey we halted at a place. A girl came to us and said: “The chief of this tribe has been stung by a scorpion and our men are not present, is there anybody amongst you who can recite something upon him to treat him?” Then, one of our men went along with her although we did not think that he knew any such treatment. However, our friend went to the chief and recited something upon him and the chief was cured. Thereupon, the chief gave him thirty sheep and gave us all milk to drink. When he returned, we asked our friend: “Did you know anything to recite upon him to cure him?” He said: “No, I only recited Umm al-Kitab (i.e. Surah al-Fatihah) upon him.” We said that do not do anything until we reach Madinah and ask the Prophet regarding this (practice and reward-whether the sheep were lawful or not for us). Upon reaching Madinah, we narrated this to the Prophet (salAllahu alayhi wasalam), whereupon he remarked: “How did he come to know that Al-Fatihah can be used as a cure? (Rasulullah said this in astonishment) Distribute your reward amongst yourselves and allot a share for me as well.

[Sahih al-Bukhari]

Abu Mas’ud al-Badri (radiAllahu anhu) reported that the Prophet (salAllahu alayhi wasalam) said, “If anyone recites the two ayats at the end of Surat al-Baqarah (2) at night, they will be enough for him.”
[Sahih al-Bukhari 6.61 #530, Agreed upon]

The Prophet said to Muadh (radiAllahu anhu), ‘Should I not teach you a supplication which, when used to implore Allah, Allah shall pay your debt, even it be as huge as Mount Uhud? He then mentioned them (i.e. Surah al Imran verse 26 & 27)’
[Tabarani in Al Saghir 1/330]

There are many more examples of Surah's and Verses which can benefit us in this life and ultimately in the next life.

And the main thing which dissappointed me in your post was that you said

Subhan'Allah you can rant and copy paste but you could not write SalAllahu alayhi wasalam or peace be upon him once in your post come on brother get your priorties right.

sending peace and blessing upon the Prophet(SalAllahu alayhi wasalam) is a command of Allah and it is very virtous act so please in future do not leave it out it is one way we can repay our huge debt to our beloved Prophet(SalAllahu alayhi wasalam).

Bro your proving my point?? If it is in the Qur'an and Sunnah then do it. This is a Hadith so it falls under that! But you can't just make up things right and say that ok recite this and that at this time etc when it isn't even in the Hadiths?

Yes I'm sorry for doing that, was in a bit of a hurry but that isn't an excuse. Will be much more careful from now on and thanks for point it out

Jo b ho peer faqeeri kuch bi nahi,Allah se direct relation ha humara aur Allah humare sabse kareeb hain.

Aur ajkal ke peer toh wese he corrupt hain but kou peer acha b ho usse kiun follow karain,If you want to follow someone follow aalim or muftis,jo jamat wagera nahi manatay.

6xafridi said:
Bro your proving my point?? If it is in the Qur'an and Sunnah then do it. This is a Hadith so it falls under that! But you can't just make up things right and say that ok recite this and that at this time etc when it isn't even in the Hadiths?

Yes I'm sorry for doing that, was in a bit of a hurry but that isn't an excuse. Will be much more careful from now on and thanks for point it out

My other point is that some actions if they are not in Quran and hadeeth it does not make them bidah.

Doing zikr so many times is not bidah because we have reference in Quran and hadeeth that we do zikr and how much we do is upto us it does not say in Quran and hadeeth it is bidah or haraam to do so many times or does it?

And Jazak'Allah khair for understanding regarding sending durood shareef.

6xafridi said:
Brother, there's no other word to use. This is a concept that is widely accepted ONLY (or predominantely) in India, Bangladesh, and Pakistan. Why can't we just be on the safe side and just perform what is in the Qur'an and Sunnah. Look at these people's arguments "Where does it say you can't have peer saabs?" I can ask a billion questions like that. What we need to do is let the Scholars interpret the Qur'an the right way (Shari'ah).

I know I should be more careful when using that word and I apologize. May Allah forgive me if I'm wrong. (If I'm wrong then so is every "Wahhabi")

Don't you think Muslims in Pakistan have been very much influenced by Hindu customs?

Brother if you do not like the word peer do not use it but do not say that it is only indo/pak thing.

Because some of our greatest scholars have been peers(shaykhs) I name a few one of the greatest scholars of this science of tasawuf was Shaykh Abdal Qadir Jillani(rah) Shaykh Hassan Basri(rah) just to name a few and they are many others. I reccomend you to listen to this lecture http://www.sacredlearning.org/audio/general/2009/fundamentals_tasawwuf_part6.mp3
because of the ignorant and fake shaykhs people are being kept away from the true shaykhs(peers).

Awesome Anjum said:
Personally I disagree (and follow a similar stance to Momo on this issue), but its worth noting that its close to impossible to draw an accurate and dependable historiography of the religious experience of South Asians without the contribution of scholars like those mentioned above. They were without doubt important figures and deserve respect - but surely not worship!

Of course to seek help and worship scholars is shirk and should be avoided at all times only Allah is to be worshipped and to only Him we seek help from.

I grew up believing in peers but from the age of 16 I started growing out of it.Some are proper thags One of our cousin was suppose to have gin and her husband took her to a peer sahab who had come from pak after dam/darood he tried to give him £50 but peer sahb got annoyed saying ppl give him £500/1000 although he does it for free.He phoned me saying what should he do I told him to get out of there asap.Later we heared he boasted to ppl that during his trip he paid off his sons morgage from all those shirnis.

saeed-sohail said:
I grew up believing in peers but from the age of 16 I started growing out of it.
Good job, s-s. I can tell you that not too many people are capable of shedding long-held beliefs. "How could I be wrong all along?" is too much for most people.

Well done! It's not important what one believed in. What is important is what one believes in now, and what attitude one has towards truth.

Bluntly...I hate Peers/Baba's or any other bearded prats who try and 'over do' the 'religiousness'.

khan-92 said:
Brother if you do not like the word peer do not use it but do not say that it is only indo/pak thing.

Because some of our greatest scholars have been peers(shaykhs) I name a few one of the greatest scholars of this science of tasawuf was Shaykh Abdal Qadir Jillani(rah) Shaykh Hassan Basri(rah) just to name a few and they are many others. I reccomend you to listen to this lecture http://www.sacredlearning.org/audio/general/2009/fundamentals_tasawwuf_part6.mp3
because of the ignorant and fake shaykhs people are being kept away from the true shaykhs(peers).

Bro, what I meant was that these TYPE of peers are only indo/pak. If i'm not mistaken, peers are supposed to be spiritual teachers or something of the sort. By that, there were MANY good peers and they helped spread Islam to Pakistan and India. Now the peer of today is totally different.

Yes doing dhikr is good and it doesn't matter what time or how many times you do it. If you make it into a custom though, and say that do this 100 times after maghrib salah then isn't this Bid'ah? (IF the Prophet hadn't told us to do so) Another example is how in many Pakistani masjids, after the Jum'ah salah they start singing ya nabee salam alayka. It is ok, to send peace and blessings to the Prophet is ok BUT to make it into a custom that wasn't present at the Prophet's time, neither the Sahaba's.. then it is wrong! I'll give you an example of how these peer people do Bid'ah. A long time ago my mom took me to a peer and told him that I annoy my mom a lot and what should she do. His reply was that take a branch of wood (i think that is what it was) and burn it after maghrib and your problem will be solved.

HELLO?!! haha i hope you get my point now bhaijaan

How about answering #87, khan-92? :)

First of all you answer my questions then I will know what is your understanding.

1) What is Tasawuf according to you?
2) What is your understanding of peer/mureedi to be?

6xafridi said:
Bro, what I meant was that these TYPE of peers are only indo/pak. If i'm not mistaken, peers are supposed to be spiritual teachers or something of the sort. By that, there were MANY good peers and they helped spread Islam to Pakistan and India. Now the peer of today is totally different.

Yes doing dhikr is good and it doesn't matter what time or how many times you do it. If you make it into a custom though, and say that do this 100 times after maghrib salah then isn't this Bid'ah? (IF the Prophet hadn't told us to do so) Another example is how in many Pakistani masjids, after the Jum'ah salah they start singing ya nabee salam alayka. It is ok, to send peace and blessings to the Prophet is ok BUT to make it into a custom that wasn't present at the Prophet's time, neither the Sahaba's.. then it is wrong! I'll give you an example of how these peer people do Bid'ah. A long time ago my mom took me to a peer and told him that I annoy my mom a lot and what should she do. His reply was that take a branch of wood (i think that is what it was) and burn it after maghrib and your problem will be solved.

HELLO?!! haha i hope you get my point now bhaijaan

These are Jahil peers and I am also against them they do alot of bidah and wierd stuff.

Is anyone here from chakswari area and familiar with sahibzada atiq ul Rehman of dhangri bala who has a brother in bradford as well and mian sahab dullar sharif?Please share your opinion.

Came across a BBC video which is some how related to this topic. Most of the so called 'muslim pirs' inherited their traits from the likes shown in video below...

[utube]Z2Kz8FzruvQ[/utube]

khan-92 said:
First of all you answer my questions then I will know what is your understanding.

1) What is Tasawuf according to you?
2) What is your understanding of peer/mureedi to be?
In other words despite being a supporter of peeri-mureedi you have no answer for #87. Okay. :)

I have the answer but your arrogance and pride will not accept the evidence.

I just proved that tasawuf is another name for tazkiya but you will not accept it and I ask you what is your concept of tasawuf and you are just beating around the bush and not answering my question

Like I said before the Duties of the Prophet Muhammad (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) described in Quraan are four:

1. To educate the Ummah how to read Quraan
2. To purify hearts of Sahaba
3. To educate about Hikma of the book
4. To educate how to understand the book

The responsibility of the first duty was taken up by the Qurra ( Reciters) of Quran who teach tajweed and laws of reciting the Quran.

The second duty was fulfilled by the Shaykhs who teach tazkiyatul nafs and people call them the people of tasawuf.

The 3rd and 4th duty was fulfilled by Ulema of tasfeer and hadeeth.

All these sciences were learnt by teacher student relationship all the way back to the Prophet Muhammad (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) with authentic chains.

The Quran was passed down like this so was hadeeth, Tafseer and the science of Tazkiyaa al nafs.

khan-92 said:
I just proved that tasawuf is another name for tazkiya but you will not accept it and I ask you what is your concept of tasawuf and you are just beating around the bush and not answering my question
You never proved that tasawwuf was another name for tazkiya. You never produced any evidence to back your claim. You just gave me a hadees and then claimed that tazkia and ihsan and tasawwuf are one and the same thing. Saying something is not proving it, khan sahab.

khan-92 said:
2. To purify hearts of Sahaba

The second duty was fulfilled by the Shaykhs who teach tazkiyatul nafs and people call them the people of tasawuf.
How do you think the Rasool Allah purified the hearts of Sahaba?

khan-92 said:
All these sciences were learnt by teacher student relationship all the way back to the Prophet Muhammad (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) with authentic chains.
How does the peer sahab purify the hearts of his mureeds? And on what basis he accepts baiyat? And why can't a teacher-student relationship achieve the same goal? I hate to repeat my questions from #87 (even before that) but you have been evading them all along.

Please try to address my objections listed in post #87.

6xafridi said:
I'll answer your question. The Prophet NEVER said to to stop someone from reading a certain ayah at a certain time. If you make it into a practice, and you tell other people do to it as well then it is Bid'ah SIMPLE. I don't understand, how do you invite me to such fairy-tales? I don't even know how those guys go like "Paanch baar yeh paro, pir 2 baar yeh parho" and the list goes on and on. For example, reciting Allah hu Akbar 34 times, SubhanAllah 33 times, and Alhumdulillah 33 times is NOT Bid'ah because it is in the Sunnah of the Prophet. If it is not proven in the Qur'an and Sunnah, REFRAIN from doing it. Lets agree with you and say that it is ok to do it. What if I do it and at Youm al-Qiyammah, Allah will question me about this? Am I going to reverse time? Will I get a second chance? If I just stick to the safe side, will I loose anything if I don't perform any of this Bid'ah? If something is not in the Deen then reject it!

and chal bey wahhabi virus, you sound so ignorant

so you saying on judgement day allah will punish you if you read allah o akbar 56 times and alhamdulillah 23 times now. :))

i will leave it as it is...

You never proved that tasawwuf was another name for tazkiya. You never produced any evidence to back your claim. You just gave me a hadees and then claimed that tazkia and ihsan and tasawwuf are one and the same thing. Saying something is not proving it, khan sahab.

How do you think the Rasool Allah purified the hearts of Sahaba?

How does the peer sahab purify the hearts of his mureeds? And on what basis he accepts baiyat? And why can't a teacher-student relationship achieve the same goal? I hate to repeat my questions from #87 (even before that) but you have been evading them all along.

Please try to address my objections listed in post #87.

Tasawuf is another name that people later on use for tazkiyaa just like tafseer, hadeeth and fiqh terms were used later on but were not in use at the time of Prophet Muhammad (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam)

Now to your question on baiyaa in Islam they are different kind of baiyaa and they are.

1) Baiya for Islam
2) Baiya for Jihad
3) Baiya for Khalifah(leader)
4) Baiya Tauba(repentence)
5) Baiya for performing good deeds

The baiyaa that Shaykhs take are the last 2 and this baiyaa is proven from Quran and hadeeth the verse in the Quran is

O Prophet! When believing women come to you giving you a pledge(baiya) that they will not associate anyone with Allah, and that they will not steal, and will not commit fornication, and will not kill their children, and will not produce any lie that they have devised between their hands and feet, and will not disobey you in what is good; then accept their pledge and ask forgiveness for them from Allah; surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful. (60:12)

So when someone wants to reform he repents from he's past sins and asks the shaykh to guide him to become good and pious muslim.

And from the hadeeth the example of this kind of baiya is

Bukhari and Muslim narrate that ‘Ubada ibn as-Samit said, "The Prophet (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) said, 'Give me your pledge and oath not to associate anything with Allah, not to steal, not to commit adultery, not to kill your children, not to backbite, not to fall into sin; and who keeps his promise, then his reward is from Allah, Almighty and Exalted.' And then we gave our pledge to the Prophet (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam)
and our oath."

Note these examples from the Quran and hadeeth are people who were muslims and not non muslims.

To your question how the Prophet (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) purified the Sahabah(ra) They were purified by sitting in he's company and following he's commands to do good deeds and keeping away from sin.

Likewise the student(mureed) becomes purified when he listens to he's shaykh and does good deeds and keeps away from sin.

Desire said:
so you saying on judgement day allah will punish you if you read allah o akbar 56 times and alhamdulillah 23 times now. :))

i will leave it as it is...

As a matter of fact, yes He will IF you make it into a custom. Islam does not need innovations. There's no harm in reciting Allah hu Akbar or Alhumdulillah any number of times at any time but to make it into a custom and then tell other people too to recite it at that time without any backing from Hadith or Sunnah is wrong! Allah will not punish you because you called for him, rather you will be asked of this innovation you made for Islam. After all, Allah has completed for us our Deen. I understand if someone is pacing themselves to lets say reciting some Surah 5 times a day, solely for the reason of pacing himself then I would guess it's ok. But to say that "hey bud, you should recite this Surah/name of Allah etc etc 5 times after Salah" is wrong.

Peace be upon those who follow the True Guidance

btw I simply love the fact that you like to laugh/be sarcastic on/about Islamic matters.

I am glad we are finally discussing something like mature people. :)

khan-92 said:
Tasawuf is another name that people later on use for tazkiyaa just like tafseer, hadeeth and fiqh terms were used later on but were not in use at the time of Prophet Muhammad (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam)
If tasawwuf was just another name of tazkiya-e-nafs, well then I would have had no problem with it. But you know it as well as I do that tasawwuf is not just another name for tazkiya.

Details below:

khan-92 said:
Now to your question on baiyaa in Islam they are different kind of baiyaa and they are.

1) Baiya for Islam
2) Baiya for Jihad
3) Baiya for Khalifah(leader)
4) Baiya Tauba(repentence)
5) Baiya for performing good deeds
There are only two baiyats in Islam. Baiyat for Islam and baiyat for obedience. Only Allah and His Rasool are qualified to accept the baiyat for Islam, and only Allah, His Rasool, and the leader (hukamraan or khalifa as you said) are qualified to accept the baiyat of obediance.

There is no such thing as a baiyat of tauba or a baiyat for performing good deeds in Islam. There two are only there in tasawwuf. And tasawwuf is not Islam.

In Islam, we are already bound in an agreement with Allah (we gave Allah our word before we were even born that He was our God, then when we submit we again renew this pledge, and then we renew this pledge and the pledge of following his orders at least seventeen times every day when we say, "Iyyaaka na'budu wa iyyaaka nasta'een).

Performing good deeds and repenting (tauba) when we make a mistake are covered by these pledges, and pledging these things to a peer makes no sense at all.

khan-92 said:
The baiyaa that Shaykhs take are the last 2 and this baiyaa is proven from Quran and hadeeth the verse in the Quran is

O Prophet! When believing women come to you giving you a pledge(baiya) that they will not associate anyone with Allah, and that they will not steal, and will not commit fornication, and will not kill their children, and will not produce any lie that they have devised between their hands and feet, and will not disobey you in what is good; then accept their pledge and ask forgiveness for them from Allah; surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful. (60:12)
This is the baiyat for Islam, and the Rasool Allah is qualified to accept it. Whenever he likes, and from whom he likes. This is the sole prerogative of Allah and his Rasool. It's no peer's business to claim he has that right.

khan-92 said:
So when someone wants to reform he repents from he's past sins and asks the shaykh to guide him to become good and pious muslim.
Like I said, who is this Sheikh to accept the baiyat of repentance? Repentence is between a man and Allah. A peer or sheikh has no business in it.

In other words, why should the mureed give his baiyat of repentence or doing good works to the peer? Why shouldn't the peer give his baiyat to the mureed? They both need to repent and they both need to do good, don't they?

khan-92 said:
And from the hadeeth the example of this kind of baiya is

Bukhari and Muslim narrate that ‘Ubada ibn as-Samit said, "The Prophet (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) said, 'Give me your pledge and oath not to associate anything with Allah, not to steal, not to commit adultery, not to kill your children, not to backbite, not to fall into sin; and who keeps his promise, then his reward is from Allah, Almighty and Exalted.' And then we gave our pledge to the Prophet (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam)
and our oath."

Note these examples from the Quran and hadeeth are people who were muslims and not non muslims.
Your claim and your evidence are not compatible. Your claim is, a peer can accept baiyat. And all your evidence shows is that the Rasool Allah accepted baiyats (which nobody is denying in the first place). The Rasool Allah is qualified, no other person is, if it is the baiyat of Islam. And if it is a baiyat of obediance, then only the Rasool Allah and the Muslims' hukamraan is qualified to accept it.

As for the people being Muslims when the Rasool Allah accepted their baiyat, well what difference does that make? The baiyat for Islam is not necessarily the baiyat at the time of accepting Islam, it is a baiyat of clinging to one's deen, doing good etc. The Rasool Allah is the only person who was qualified to accept that baiyat.

khan-92 said:
To your question how the Prophet (Salullaho Alayhi Wassalam) purified the Sahabah(ra) They were purified by sitting in he's company and following he's commands to do good deeds and keeping away from sin.

Likewise the student(mureed) becomes purified when he listens to he's shaykh and does good deeds and keeps away from sin.
The Rasool Allah purified the people around him by reading to them the aayaat of Allah (Qur'an). It was not by some mysterious magical messages that he achieved that goal.

If a teacher does just that (reading the ayaat of Qur'aan) which results in the purification of some of his students (with Allah's permission) well then there is nothing objectionable in it at all. I am all for that relationship.

But when it's a peer-mureed relationship based on this baiyat (which has no basis in Islam whatsoever) then I have a problem. That's because the peer is overstepping his authority, and the mureed is behaving in a very foolish manner by placing the peer on that padestal where he doesn't belong.

Tasawwuf thus is this man made system with all these flaws, whereas Islam is Allah's deen that was perfectly transmitted to us by his Rasool. These two are distinct things and must be kept separate from one another.

Like I said, who is this Sheikh to accept the baiyat of repentance? Repentence is between a man and Allah. A peer or sheikh has no business in it.
Exactly. Don't see how this repenting to a peer is any different to Catholicism!!

There is no basis for any of this Tasawaf hanky-panky in the Qur'an or in the authentic Hadeeth/Sunnah. Nor was this a way or approach followed by the Sahabah or the Salaf.

ShehryarK said:
Exactly. Don't see how this repenting to a peer is any different to Catholicism!!

There is no basis for any of this Tasawaf hanky-panky in the Qur'an or in the authentic Hadeeth/Sunnah. Nor was this a way or approach followed by the Sahabah or the Salaf.

Agreed.

It is also useful to look at historical context of when all these groups or when a particular ideology sprung up.

Interesting thread. There are alot of folk in Pakistani culture who believe in Pir and sheikh who claim to have divine powers. What I fail to understand is how do they manage to take control or dictate how people run their lives. Other day i was in the mosque and some Naqshbandi Sheikh ( Jumma was read late because of his late arrival) came for a speech for Jummah everyone in the whole mosque stood up (i stayed seated) and started kissing his hand ! I know of alot of people following peers who claim they all sorts such as your location and what you are doing. Many of these look wealthy judging them by the size of their bellys! Does anybody know what is chillah and why it is performed? If i was ever come in to direct contact with a peer how do I challenge them to verify and prove their 'peerage'.

Also could anybody shed some light on Barelvi Sect.. I for my self do not follow any sect as the Prophet or any of his companians belonged to one. I just believe in the Quran and then the Sunnah of the prophet.

It's only possible in a country like Pakistan where illiteracy of Islam and worldly stuff is very high, you will see people like peers, fakeers, sofiasm, harray parrots, deobands etc etc. They have messed it up badly with their own ideologies and teachings and every other person is getting infected. You won't see million of sects in other Muslim countries.

why people hate wahabis?
:))) It's called baseless hatred. I'm not a "Wahabi", but I follow the Quran and hadith, and shun pirs and their dirty, foul tricks

It's only possible in a country like Pakistan where illiteracy of Islam and worldly stuff is very high, you will see people like peers, fakeers, sofiasm, harray parrots, deobands etc etc. They have messed it up badly with their own ideologies and teachings and every other person is getting infected. You won't see million of sects in other Muslim countries.

Horrible situation